National Magazine Exchangebig scam!

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I recently entered a 2 Million dollar sweepstakes by telephone from Clearwater FL [protected]. They stated that they would send me some magazines to preview with 90 days to cancel and if I did not cancel I would be charged 67.00 every 4 months. Within 2 days they charged my card 67.08, then another 67.08 within a month.

They also sent me a Value Plus letter for $40.00 in gas with a non existent website to claim the 40.00. Value Plus charged me $1.00. I called National Magazine Exchange and they we VERY rude!!! I kept telling her that I wanted to be credited and cancel these magazines, which I never received in the first place. She said I signed up for FOUR Years!!! What a joke. I kept telling her to cancel this and credit me my $134.00 - and her response was how much trouble it was to get the magazines & make the labels.

Finally after about 30 minutes she said she will refund my money, 'good luck on the sweepstakes', then slammed down the phone. I doubt if this will be this easy to get my money back--so beware of this scam.

Responses

  • Je
    Jessica Andrews Oct 07, 2006
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    By any change do you have that number. They same thing is happening to my and I was never given a number to cancel. Please let me know. Thank you

    1 Votes
  • Br
    Brian Lauer Jul 29, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Jessica Andrews [protected] is the number on the letter i received

    1 Votes
  • Id
    ida Oct 19, 2006
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thanks for sharing your experience. I got the same pink letter from National Magazine Exhange today and honestly almost make call to enter the sweepstakes. But i did research first, instead make call and now i find out the truth they are scam. Again ..thank you.

    5 Votes
  • An
    anonymous Dec 19, 2006
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow, really can't believe how incredibly stupid you people are--It isn't a scam, the swepstakes is legitimate. Strike it Rich IV is conducted on a two year duration and is run/monitored by two separate legal fims to ensure full compliance with the law, and no you don't have t buy the magazines to get into it, all you have to do is call th number on the mail peice. And by the way it says we are trying to reach you regarding your two million dollar sweepstakes....NOT We are trying to reach your regarding your two million dollars. God If you people pulled your heads out of your butts long enough to pay attention to wha is right in front of you then you probably wouldn't have agreed to buy the magazines in the first place. But you did! and who's fault is that? Before you can be in the Reader's exchange Program you have to give your credit card number to them, and then agree several times on digital recording in order to even be signed up for the magazines...They go over the billing many times. As fo the billing you have 48 months of service with the easy payment plan of 4 consecutive monthly payments of 67.08 each, and after the 4th payment you are paid in full for the entire 48 moths of service. With your permission we will autimatically bill the membership to the card you provided today Okay? It's your own stupid fault for not listening to what you were being told--Oh and Jessica says she was never given a cancelation number...well Jessica the cancelation number is in your membership materials, (which should arive with 7-10 days) and if you stop to read them you would see that. I am sick to death of you people not listening to what you are told repeatedly--and then complaining about it later because you made a mistake. First off if you give your card to a fast-food place, a convience store, wal-mart even you are automatically put on a list. Now that's how you end up with junk mail. Second of all I don't know about you but whenever I give out my credit card number I am all ears. I want to know exactly what is going to happen, because it is my money on the line...(and actually I do know about you because you clearly are complete idiots for giving numbers over the phone, without knowing the biling).
    I've said my peace....(Oh and I will probably never check this again so feel free to tare me a new one, in fact I invite people to try and discredit me....)

    -10 Votes
  • Le
    lestat23 Mar 27, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @anonymous LOL, who would have thought you worked for this scam company !

    10 Votes
  • Ha
    HateScammers! Aug 26, 2018

    @lestat23 LOL!
    Hey...when all else fails just call your credit card company, ask to get another card and transfer the balance from your old card, and cancel the old card that the Magazine scammers have on record. Tell your creditor you're disputing the magazine scammers, and not to honor any more charges from them to your account.

    3 Votes
  • Al
    alexandria Dec 26, 2006
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WOW!! Judy.... I think you might have misunderstood when we told you $67.00....its not $67...its $67.08
    And whats 8 cents?? You are on a recording... and you had to have said yes to being billed $67.08
    And you were on a recording to have 48months of service.. which btw is 4 years.. if you didn't want 4years you should have told the supervisor this. But its your own damn fault that you didn't. And now you want to whine and complain about how much we are rude. How about how you act? Its not our fault that you people don't listen.. and want to make it seem as though we are ripping you people off. Why don't you clean out your ears and listen closely next time.
    We are just doing our job, which is legit.

    -4 Votes
  • Al
    Allison Mar 19, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I called in to sign up for the sweepstakes, the ladies on the phone were very polite and talkative. I knew what I was getting in to, and a few weeks after making the decision to sign up for the magazines I decided to cancel. I called and the call was very short. I was very pleased with the response from the company. All in all, my experience with them has been very pleasant. I was given a cancellation number, and the woman on the phone (although sounding disappointed) was more than willing to cancel my account. She told me I would be credited my money, and within hours it was.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    M.A.T. Mar 30, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I called and signed up. I admit I was a little leary at first. But, after asking them several questions about their company, including where their offices were (if you ask someone who is sitting in another country, they will dodge the question and change the subject), so I felt comfortable about getting involved with their program. I also received 3 extra subscriptions and extra freebies from having a really nice conversation with the sales manager. So, for the money, I made out and completely understood what I was signing up for. Now if I just had the time to read all of them! I've even called and changed a couple of my subscriptions and found them to be very pleasant. The other posters are right - you should pay more attention to what you are doing, especially when you give out your credit card info! It's just plain common sense. There are too many people out there who never want to take responsibility for their own actions and rather blame their mistakes/misunderstandings on someone else.

    -1 Votes
  • Ad
    Adam Apr 04, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thanks for sharing your information . I got the pink letter from National Magazine Exchange today and they typed to me that "we were trying to reach you regarding your 2.100.000.00 sweepstakes" and they asked me to call them and they also gave me an ID Number.

    Really I don't believe that, it should be something else is hidden although they said there's no purchases required to enter or win.

    the puzzle is solved, they needed to get some money monthly by giving them your Credit Card Number. So I am not gonna sign up. Thank you that's so scam!!!

    2 Votes
  • No
    Norman Gomez Jul 20, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Adam I got the same letter today, the envelope was stamped " 2nd Notice" in BIG RED INK and "DEADLINES ARE ENFORCED" in BLUE. The contents of the letter gave the feeling that they were mad at me for not calling to get verified.
    OMG Failure to take this step and make the call will result in exclusion of my name from this group..blah blah blah OK? Well, $10, 000 a week for the next 52 weeks was just too tempting so I called. So this dude answers and starts with his shpeal...blah blah no purchase necessary blah blah what's your favorite credit card WHAT?... I said VISA as I picked up my tablet and quickly Googled them up, the first five links that came up had SCAM written all over, so I just smiled and kept him on the phone for 20 minutes, first I couldn't find my wallet, then I couldn't find my glasses, next I was having a hard time hearing him, then I forgot to shred the credit card my bank cancelled before sending me a new one, so sorry lol, then someone was at my front door finally I said, have you had enough? I have... He was like: "I'm not sure I understand" I said: I looked you up 20 minutes ago, you're a big SCAM GOOD BYE. Lol.

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    Aaron Tuttle Apr 13, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think that I fell into the scam to but I agreed to buy these worthless magazines that I still receive and haven't paid anything over a year. I paid my bill, at least I thought, until I received another bill in the mail about one full year after thinking I had already paid. I called the company with no talking to a human on the phone, I wrote 2-3 letters asking if I had any debt to let me know so I could take care of it, with no response. So assumed everything was taken care of. Until I had a debt collector calling me saying that it the outstanding bill was turned over to them. And still can't find out where to contact NME.

    If you can help me in anyway contact them so I can yell, I would appreciate it. I know it probably won't due any good, but I at least want my free 2 night stay in Vegas I was promised!

    1 Votes
  • Ji
    Jimmy John May 17, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    [censored] national magazine exchange!!! And everybodies money they took!!!

    4 Votes
  • Mi
    Mindy Jun 25, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I called them also about the sweepstakes. i agreed to get the magazines. They told me about 50.00 but when my husband came home we called the credit card company and they charge me 90.00 for the mags. I then call the company to cancel everything they said ok gave receipt # saying that the money would return to my money. Well they did not give back the money but instead sent another bill now for 150.00. So to all you people out there i would never buy from these people again. They talk way to fast on the line that you can't under stand anything they say. Will be calling again and try to get to a supervisor

    3 Votes
  • Ch
    christina Jul 03, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had the same exact thing happen to me. WHAT A SCAM!!! They never take no for an answer. They try to make you think that you actually WON something, but you don't win anything. and i told them I didn't want any magazines and they kept pushing. And the rep that called me said if i don't like it i would get a refund in a month. So i call there a week later and they said they can't do a refund.

    RIP OFF!!! Don't fall for it!

    0 Votes
  • Gm
    GMatthews Aug 11, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Me dummy. I was on my computer when taking this call, so I should have done the checking right then. Anyway, after reading all the posts, I called my credit card company and canceled the card. Man, they had already posted two charges! Tomorrow will call the cancellation number and see what they say. I won't have any more charges, and the two will be removed by cc company.

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    caca Sep 10, 2007

    Big Scam! You only need to know this: They cannot add this to your credit report, they cannot send you to the court but they send this to a collection agency. They are going to call you 3 times at with by law (Depends of the state, FDPA Federal Debt Collection Practice Art law) and they are going to send you several bills and letters. Don´t pay the bill, i work for a collection agency and i know about this business.

    3 Votes
  • Cu
    Current employee Sep 13, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please don't blame the people on the other end for not taking no for an answer. It's not our choice; we either keep pushing, or we get written up, or we could even lose our jobs over it. I would recommend that, before you give your card information out over the phone, make sure you understand completely what all the charges will be. You can also ask for the employee's first and last name, as well as the employee number, so if there is any rudeness on the part of the employee, you can report them to a supervisor.

    -1 Votes
  • Mu
    Muncherflesh Chalkwhite Sep 26, 2007

    I ordered "ONE" magazine subscription and have been receiving others I never ordered and got charged for the same. I have attempted to cancel having no results. I have absolutely NO intention of paying for anything I never ordered. National Magazine Exchange is a HOOK leading into false charges and an assortment of other misleading items than never pan out. Now I have a huge bill from NME demanding that I pay for the magazines I never ordered but received anyway. I will NEVER order ANYTHING of the kind EVER AGAIN!

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    LOL at current employee Sep 29, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Current employee---your company calls my cell phone every 2 hours M-Sat from 9AM-5PM. This has been going on for 2 weeks now. At this point, do you think I care if you lose your job, since your job is basically to harass people by calling them repeatedly on a daily basis? Nay, on the contrary, I hope that you are the one calling me and wasting your time every day and that your family loses their house, vehicles, and even starves because you have no tact. Calling somebody every 2 hours for days on end is NOT, repeat NOT, the way to do business. If your company was reputable, you wouldn't have to resort to this kind of low-brow drudgery to get customers. Hope you miss your quota because of me and are fired, sheesh even collecting unemployment is more honorable than what you people do. Have a nice day!

    3 Votes
  • La
    Laura Nov 05, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just quit the company, after finding a real job. Most of us workers get lured in by their sales pitch on US, but then we find out how unethical and stupid the script is, and quit. Those that stay are repeatedly threatened, harassed and attacked by bosses of all levels for not sticking to script. Oh, they don't call YOU, you call them. Nobody calls you unless you initiate contact first. There are duplicate promotions out there, so if you get called, it's another company.

    As for the sweeps, you have a better chance of landing on the moon or being crowned Queen of England, than winning that thing. If you cannot resist and enter, tell them to put you on the "no call" list, or your information can be shared with other companies.

    In my opinion, SDP needs to shape up or ship out. In training, we were taught "Some will, some won't, who cares ? Who's next?" With that kind of attitude, they produce cookie cutter reps, who, if they don't do as they're told, get threatened like crazy. Truth is, you'd have to be a total ### to actually be fired by this place. They don't want to pay for Unemployment so they just try to pressure people out. Nothing about this company is kind or merciful. I was a verifier (a level above the people who answer the phones), and it was the most horrific job I've ever had. It was just a bridge job until I found better..and actually, flipping burgers at a fast food joint would be better than this place. Just say "no" to calling and/or applying to work at this place. I am happy free of their tentacles, forever.

    Laura

    3 Votes
  • Ca
    carlos Jan 22, 2008

    I called to bother the people there a little and figure out how they got my name and address. After being transferred three times and being put on hold for a total of about 6 minutes, they told me to send a letter to the company so they can respond to me through mail.
    Peace

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    Jon Feb 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Do not, under any circumstances, deal with this company. Do NOT sign up for a magazine subscription, because in spite of whatever they may say to you, you can not actually cancel your subscription at any time for a refund. I have tried several times, and they say the same thing about supposedly "not taking cancellation orders over the phone." I did not believe this for a second so I kept trying and I was eventually told that they would cancel and refund my money, but it never actually happened.

    Do yourself a favor and give your money to a more legitimate business that actually cares about customer satisfaction.

    2 Votes
  • Yo
    Young and Nieve Feb 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    All these companies like NME want is money even when you lose your job. I was fresh out of High school and have problems saying no (inherited family trait) it took 5 times calling before they finally canceled my subscriptions.

    -1 Votes
  • Ro
    Roz Mar 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    HERE IS THERE PHONE NUMBER, LETS SHUT THEM DOWN

    [protected]

    4 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Apr 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You can find out who runs the company under The Secretary of State in Ohio

    http://www2.sos.state.oh.us/reports/rwservlet?imgc&Din=200802301844

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daphne Apr 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just recieved a sweepstakes letter it did not tell me what it was about just that I was going to need to send in to get entered in the sweepstakes so very glad i looked it up on the computer before i did anything with it. I now know where this peice of junk mail is going my birds sure do love junk mail lol

    0 Votes
  • An
    AngryInWhiteMountains Jun 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband is kind of gulliable, and he was litterally tricked into signing up for the crappy magazines at the National Magazine Exchange in early 2007. Well, I don't care for that smut, but to humor my husband, I let them send me some for a few months, then called and cancelled the order. They said that I have one payment left and that they'd stop sending the magazines. I paid the last payment of $60 (which is a TOTAL RIP OFF in it's self... $60 for a few mags?!!!) and they stopped sending me the magazines. Well, recently I recieved a notice that my account was grossly over due and that it was being sent to collections. I have attemped to correspond with some manager chick CASSANDRA NEW, but she ignores my correspondance, and now my husband is getting calls every day about up-grading, or re-newing, or whatever else they can think of to bug us. My husband has told them repeatedly that we nolonger wish to hear from them, to take his and my number off their call list, that they are harassing us... do I even have to say that so far they have not listened to a word we say? MY ADVICE TO ANYONE READING THIS OR CONSIDERING CALLING NATIONAL MAGAZINE EXCHANGE, BEWARE! THEY ARE LIARS, THEY ARE GREEDY, AND THEY WILL HARASS YOU TO DEATH! BEWARE!

    1 Votes
  • Ru
    RUBIE BARTON Jul 31, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    why did i get this letter and where does this sweepstakes money come from.our economy is too bad for a company to be giving out millions of dollars.just for future reference...if you want to buy magazines go to the local grocer...dont give your account info to some random person who you have never met.i wouldt even give my mom my account number...geeeeez

    0 Votes
  • Or
    orlanda Aug 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Everything is so true. I'm a teen and my wise mom told me that it was probably a scam and I had my doubts, but thank you so much. I would have had so much debt problems. I got the same letter yesterday!

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    luis Aug 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thanks for this information, I just received the same letter saying that I could win all that money too.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joann peak Nov 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i got riped off and cant cancel. what can i do?

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    CED Nov 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    MY WIFE WAS SENT THE SAME LETTER AND I DID MY RESEARCH TO FIND I. WAS RIGHT A BIG SCAM. DO RESEARCH GUYS PLEASE.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Erin Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband enetered a sweepstakes and ordered the magazines I called within the week period to cnacel and the lady basically told me I couldn't cancel I was bound to this I said I thought I had a week to back out and she said no. So I've paid some of the money already and haven't recieved one magazine, I called and they said they were on their way. That was 3 weeks ago. Still no magazines. I am not going to pay anything more. and if they start calling I will turn them in to the bbb, Etc. I just hope they can't put this on my husbands credit report. Erin

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    edboogie2004 Jan 15, 2009

    I'm not clear about what NME's terms are for cancelling. I heard 10 days, but I was told "anytime", but when I tried to cancel a couple years back, they hung up on me twice. And I can't figure out why their magazines are so expensive for anyway. There's no way in hell I'd spend $67.08 for some crappy ### magazines. They don't even have a good selection. There best magazine is probably Maxim, but even that isn't all that and a bag of chips. And for you people that think we're stupid for being gullible enough to fall for their scam, you're definitely wrong. First of all, I only even called them to enter my sweepstakes number.. I had no idea they were going to throw a sales pitch at me. The guy asked me if I had a credit card and i said "yes", but i was thinking "oh ###, they want to sell me something." I should've just hung up on them, but I didn't want to be rude and I was also naive, so I stayed on the phone... He told me that if i subscribed to two magazines at half price, he'd throw in four more magazine subscriptions for free as well as a men's and women's gold watch. So I was thinking... okay, what the hell! Doesn't sound that bad... boy was I shocked when I received my first bill. And like I said, as soon as I tried to call and cancel, they hung up on me twice. And for the record, not only could I not cancel, but they charged me full price for seven different subscriptions: ESPN & Maxim (my choices and supposed to be 1/2 off), Vibe, US News, Star, Blender, and Men's Fitness... most of which were for four year contracts. Does anyone know of a class action suit against this company. I'd be tickled pink to join!!

    0 Votes
  • Annie in KC Mar 15, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE

    For the past 3 years, I have renewed with NME. I take 10 magazines and pay $20+ for a 3-mth period, and that's it for the whole year. As you know, just one of the high-end magazines can cost $60 for a subscription, so this has been an EXCELLENT deal for me. Yes, I also received 2-3 that I did not order (Bass Fishing, NBA), but I just sent in the label and discontinued them. WHERE ELSE could I have gotten these high-end magazines for such a low cost -- nowhere that I know of.

    The reps I have talked to have always been very courteous, however, you can make all of your changes yourself online -- NME will switch out your magazines at no extra charge. So I am surprised to hear that others are having problems with NME.

    Originally, I took Architectual Digest, W Magazine, Yachting, Vogue, Unique Homes, Spa, O at Home, Gourmet, Veranda Magazine, Psychology Today.

    When I renew, I like to change it up a little, so I took Black Enterprise, Entrepreneur, Essence, Forbes, New York, Prevention Magazine, Country Living.

    Then I switched out and now take More, Tampa Bay, Travel 50 & Beyond, Smart Homeowner, Forbes, & some of the same ones I've already taken. All in all, I am very pleased with NME. -- Annie in KC

    -1 Votes
  • Di
    Dipthong Mar 30, 2009

    Well I'll remain neutral in the matter. I work for the company and don't agree with the backlash this person has received from former employees and current employees. I've seem some pretty nasty responses that are uncalled for.

    National Magazine Exchange doesn't specialize in scams and yes, we have been certified for a reason. I can understand the frustration that you guys are facing, but you have to realize that nothing is free. We sponsor our sweepstakes with the money purchased on magazines.

    Have you ever been told that, "Nothing is for free; someone had to pay for it." Well... it's true. We don't get "bail outs" from the government... we don't have some rich fat cat throwing us money. We make our money through magazine sales. It isn't a scam, nor are you being lied to. We are not scam artists, but average people earning a living in sales.

    People here are upset and blaming us and saying we're this and that, but the truth of the matter is, on your mail piece, it DOES say that there is no purchase or payment required to enter or win. All of you who bought magazines did it willingly because no one forced you to give a credit card number and when you did, you absolutely had to know you were making a purchase. If you didn't, that's really a sad thing that you would give that information to anyone at this day in age, without knowing what you're getting... That isn't a shot at anyones intellect or integrity, but I'm just trying to say, we are hired to be salesman. The sweepstakes is legit and has been for almost 30 years, but the truth of the matter is YOU WILL BE PITCHED a sale. No matter if you have a credit card or not. Other companies pay our company good money to find people with credit cards to promote for them...

    Our company gets paid for that... It's business all in the end, but if you TRULY feel you were mislead and not just "unable to say no because you're just out of highschool" which someone used as a pretty creepy excuse... you should have them pull your recorded call. In no sales business can we say that a salesman didn't lie or mislead you... not until we pull the recorded call. We have a quality department that listens to these calls all day long just to make sure you are not mislead. If it happens, it's something that can be fixed and we apologize... but it's like crooked policemen... You trust that they'll do the right then but the first time a particular officer crosses the line, you can discipline him and can even stop it from happening again, but you can't predict when it's going to happen.

    I understand the plight of the consumers who feel duped and to some extent probably feel like "idiots" for allowing themselves to give up their credit card information, but I also understand the frustration of my fellow employees because after all, while we're not doing anything unethical or illegal, by submitting all of these stories, you're really putting thousands of people out of an honest living. The best thing to do is dispute the charges with the credit card company because in the end, in most cases, the only person to blame is yourself and again I don't mean that to be harsh, but it's the truth.

    I can say with absolute certainty that most people we sell to enjoy what they are getting and understand pretty well how much it cost but see it as a small investment for so much.

    You guys are getting a great deal. For pennies a day, you get 10 magazines and you don't have to take all 10, but they are offered to you! Enjoy them! Give them as gifts to hospitals and nursing homes! I'm actually about to take advantage of the offer myself!

    Goodnight folks. I just hope you ALL realize how petty this is and ask yourself, "Am I really representing the company I work for to the best of my ability, " and "Can I really blame anyone other than myself for giving up credit card information over the phone?"

    P.S. For the original poster... Magazines can take up to 9 weeks to start being sent out. It's not something that gets transmitted over to the magazine company and just automatically sent. They run on circulation so 9 times out of 10, even for weekly magazines, It can be January first and they've already got labels ready for current customers up until April so when they get your info they can't just say, "Oh let's go and print one up for Jane Doe... she just signed up through NME!" It's a process... It's not our process... it's the magazine companies'.

    -1 Votes
  • Mu
    MusicIsEverything Apr 01, 2009

    In somewhat of a defense to the people that were talked into the magazine subscriptions, I have to say that these people are excellent at bombarding you with back to back questions about buying this and that and it's almost non-stop while in all actuality you're just waiting to hear about the 2, 000, 000 dollar sweepstakes. I don't know how they go about it now but I got caught up in this deal about six years ago and it just happened to be the 2 months I was out for a hernia surgery so the pain medicine didn't seem to help me negotiate the whole deal. I ended up with a ton of subscriptions which weren't bad. It was actually a good deal for the money. Now the cheap watch and electronic planner were bottom of the line worthless garbage that was thrown in the deal but the magazine deal wasn't bad. Just beware, if you decide to call the number, the questions will come at you like wildfire and I would suggest the word "No" be ready and waiting because they will try to confuse you and "no" can save you from buying something you don't want. I would have to say that these people are the best online salesmen I've come in contact with and the bombardment method of asking you to buy different magazines can be overwheming. I do not recall any rudeness but I also don't remember any personality on the other end of the line. The perfect type of situation that could prove to be an entertaining event. Have your way with the person on the other end of the line instead of letting them get a step ahead and lead you into agreeing to something you don't want. I never tried to cancel my subscriptions because I only got the ones that I wanted but I also am not afraid to just shut people down mid-sentence when I know they're trying to sell me something I don't want. But if you want a decent deal on numerous magazines for a long period of time then it may benefit you. Just listen as closely as you can when they're speakin a hundred miles an hour and don't be afraid to ask the person to repeat the question, more than once if you need them to or just plain out tell them to stop or slowdown. Oh, and I didn't win any money. I doubt that part even exists. Good luck friends. I hope my somewhat aggressive approach can help you with this situation and maybe even other situations in life. It's definately helped me.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    sweetberries Apr 09, 2009

    BBB Reliability Report for
    National Magazine Exchange

    BBB Rating C-


    Ratings Explanation
    BBB issues Reliability Reports on all businesses, whether or not they are BBB accredited. If a business is a BBB Accredited Business, it is stated in this report
    BBB Definition:

    report - A summary of activity reflected in a company's BBB file. Includes basic business background, BBB Accreditation information, and BBB complaint activity over the previous three years. Also reports may include any known government actions, advertising issues or other information that results from activity conducted by BBB.
    .

    Find out more about this business:
    BBB Accreditation
    BBB Rating
    Business Contact and Profile
    Products and Services
    Business Management
    Additional Locations and Phone Numbers
    Licensing
    Customer Complaint History
    Government Actions
    Advertising Review
    BBB Copyright and Reporting Policy

    Back to top

    BBB Accreditation
    This business is not a BBB Accredited Business.

    Back to top

    BBB Rating

    Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of C-.
    Reasons for this rating include:

    * Number of complaints filed against business.
    * Failure to respond to complaints filed against business.

    Click here for an explanation of BBB Ratings

    The company mails notices inviting people to call and enter the Million Dollar "Strike It Rich" Sweepstakes. There is no purchase necessary to enter the sweepstakes. The odds of winning are determined by the number of people who enter. The company estimates the odds at no more than 1 in 26 million. The sweepstakes promotion is used by the company to promote magazine subscriptions.

    Our file experience shows that the company has received complaints alleging billing disputes, misinterpretation of the sweepstakes promotion, and misunderstanding the company's billing terms. The company has addressed most complaints brought to its attention by the BBB by cancelling the consumer's account or responding to questions regarding the sweepstakes promotion or its billing procedures.

    In order to expedite handling of any questions, or if you have a complaint, the company requests that you call their customer service department at [protected] or email them at [protected]@nmemags.com.

    Back to top

    Business Contact and Profile
    Name: National Magazine Exchange
    Phone: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    Address: 16120 US Highway 19 N Ste 400
    Clearwater, FL [protected]
    Website: www.nmemags.com
    www.specialdata.com
    Original Business Start Date: August 1985
    Principal: Mr. Scott Brady, CEO
    Customer Contact: Mr. David Macey, Senior Manager of Customer Service
    Entity: Corporation
    Incorporated: August 1985, FL
    TOB Classification: Magazine Sales, Product Sales - General, Soliciting Organizations
    BBB Accreditation: This company is not a BBB Accredited business.
    Additional DBA Names: Agora Marketing Solutions, Inc.
    NME
    National Publishers Exchange
    National List Exchange
    Clearinghouse Magazine
    National Clearing Exchange
    Million Dollar Sweepstakes
    Strike It Rich 2 Sweepstakes
    One Switch
    N.M.E Magazine Services
    NME Prize Disbursement
    Fantasy Riches Sweepstakes
    Agora Marketing Solutions

    Back to top

    Products and Services

    This company offers magazine sales via phone and a telemarketing call center for
    various companies and products.

    Back to top

    Business Management

    Additional company management personnel include:

    Mr. William H. Hood - CEO (previous)
    Mrs. Suzanne Tortorice - General Counsel
    Mr. Thomas N. Lord - Vice President/CIO
    Mr. J. Michael Capito - Chief Financial Officer
    Mr. Jeffrey Fix - Senior Vice President
    Mr. Robert R. Moravek - Vice President of Operations
    Mr. Rob Paolillo - Vice President of Finance
    Pat Fung - Vice President of Software Development
    Ms. Deborah Pitt


    Back to top

    Additional Locations and Phone Numbers
    Additional Addresses
    PO Box 9084
    Clearwater, FL [protected]

    1320 US 10 North
    Clearwater, FL 33758

    Additional Phone Numbers
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]
    Tel: [protected]

    Additional Web Addresses
    www.specialdata.com


    Back to top

    Licensing

    This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

    Back to top

    Customer Complaint History

    When considering complaint information, please take into account the company's size and volume of transactions, and understand that the nature of complaints and a firm's responses to them are often more important than the number of complaints.

    BBB processed a total of 544 complaints about this company in the last 36 months, our standard reporting period. Of the total of 544 complaints closed in 36 months, 147 were closed in the last year.
    Advertising Issues
    BBB Definition:

    Advertising Issues - Claims alleging print or electronic media advertised claims or practices misrepresent the service or product offer.

    Resolved
    BBB Definition:

    Resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.

    13 - Company resolved
    BBB Definition:

    resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.
    the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.
    28 - Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.
    Administratively Closed
    BBB Definition:

    Administratively Closed - BBB determined that the complaint could not be satisfactorily settled using standard methods of voluntary dispute resolution

    1 - BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

    Contract Issues
    BBB Definition:

    Contract Issues - Claim of alleged failure to honor contract or agreement, work performed without authorization, or invalid contract.

    Resolved
    BBB Definition:

    Resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.

    13 - Company resolved
    BBB Definition:

    resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.
    the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.
    14 - Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

    Resolved
    BBB Definition:

    Resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.

    1 - Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

    Billing or Collection Issues
    BBB Definition:

    Billing or Collection Issues - Claim alleging billing errors, unauthorized charges, or questionable collection practices.

    Resolved
    BBB Definition:

    Resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.

    59 - Company resolved
    BBB Definition:

    resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.
    the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.
    1 - Company offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted.
    80 - Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.
    Administratively Closed
    BBB Definition:

    Administratively Closed - BBB determined that the complaint could not be satisfactorily settled using standard methods of voluntary dispute resolution

    4 - BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

    Sales Practice Issues
    BBB Definition:

    Sales Practice Issues - Claims of alleged sales presentations made in person or by telephone that contain misrepresentations of the product or service, high pressure sales practices, failure to disclose key conditions of the offer, and verbal representations not consistent with written contractual terms or agreements.

    Resolved
    BBB Definition:

    Resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.

    53 - Company resolved
    BBB Definition:

    resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.
    the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.
    77 - Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.
    Unresolved
    BBB Definition:

    Unresolved - The company failed to resolve the complaint issues.

    1 - Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.
    Administratively Closed
    BBB Definition:

    Administratively Closed - BBB determined that the complaint could not be satisfactorily settled using standard methods of voluntary dispute resolution

    7 - BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.
    1 - The parties could not provide sufficient information to support their positions nor were they agreeable to make reasonable efforts toward resolving the issues of the dispute.
    No Response
    BBB Definition:

    No Response - The company failed to respond to the complaint.

    1 - Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

    Delivery Issues
    BBB Definition:

    Delivery Issues - Claims alleging delayed delivery of ordered merchandise.

    Resolved
    BBB Definition:

    Resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.

    11 - Company resolved
    BBB Definition:

    resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.
    the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.
    12 - Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.
    Administratively Closed
    BBB Definition:

    Administratively Closed - BBB determined that the complaint could not be satisfactorily settled using standard methods of voluntary dispute resolution

    1 - BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

    Service Issues
    BBB Definition:

    Service Issues - Claims of alleged delay in completing service, failure to provide promised service, inferior quality of provided service, or damaged merchandise as a result of delivery service.

    Resolved
    BBB Definition:

    Resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.

    14 - Company resolved
    BBB Definition:

    resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.
    the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.
    26 - Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.
    Administratively Closed
    BBB Definition:

    Administratively Closed - BBB determined that the complaint could not be satisfactorily settled using standard methods of voluntary dispute resolution

    1 - BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

    Customer Service Issues
    BBB Definition:

    Service Issues - Claims of alleged delay in completing service, failure to provide promised service, inferior quality of provided service, or damaged merchandise as a result of delivery service.
    BBB Definition:

    Customer Service Issues - Claims alleging unsatisfactory customer service, including personnel's failure to provide assistance in a timely manner, failure to address or respond to customer dissatisfaction, unavailability for customer support, and/or inappropriate behavior or attitude exhibited by company staff.

    Resolved
    BBB Definition:

    Resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.

    15 - Company resolved
    BBB Definition:

    resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.
    the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.
    25 - Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.
    Administratively Closed
    BBB Definition:

    Administratively Closed - BBB determined that the complaint could not be satisfactorily settled using standard methods of voluntary dispute resolution

    3 - BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

    Guarantee or Warranty Issues
    BBB Definition:

    Guarantee or Warranty Issues - Claims alleging failure to honor the terms regarding guarantees or warranties.

    Resolved
    BBB Definition:

    Resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.

    1 - Company resolved
    BBB Definition:

    resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.
    the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.
    1 - Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

    Product Issues
    BBB Definition:

    Product Issues - Claim alleging a product does not meet the expectations of the complainant, including defective merchandise.

    Resolved
    BBB Definition:

    Resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.

    3 - Company resolved
    BBB Definition:

    resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.
    the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.
    6 - Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

    Refund or Exchange Issues
    BBB Definition:

    Refund or Exchange Issues - Claim of alleged failure to honor company policy or verbal commitment to provide refunds, exchanges, or credit for products or services.

    Resolved
    BBB Definition:

    Resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.

    38 - Company resolved
    BBB Definition:

    resolved - The company resolved the complaint issues.
    the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.
    33 - Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.


    Back to top

    Government Actions

    BBB has no information regarding government actions at this time.

    Back to top

    Advertising Review

    BBB has no information regarding advertising review at this time.

    Back to top

    BBB Copyright and Reporting Policy

    As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

    BBB Reliability Reports are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Reliability Report is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

    BBB Reliability Reports generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Reliability Reports are subject to change at any time.

    If you choose to do business with this business, please let the business know that you contacted BBB for a BBB Reliability Report
    BBB Definition:

    Report - A summary of activity reflected in a company's BBB file. Includes basic business background, BBB Accreditation information, and BBB complaint activity over the previous three years. Also reports may include any known government actions, advertising issues or other information that results from activity conducted by BBB.
    .

    ID: 10292
    Report as of April 9, 2009 18:10
    Copyright© 2009 Better Business Bureau

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    BOB12789 Apr 13, 2009

    I just got this scam in the mail what a joke, you could win 2, 100, 000.00 just call and register [protected]. This seemed like BS from the start dont call do some research and remember nothing in life is free.

    0 Votes
  • Op
    oprlvr Apr 21, 2009

    In these tough economic times, we all have to be smart AND be on our guard. Most of us have email accounts today, and are constantly 'slammed' with this bogus junk everyday. If you have decent email, then hopefully you never even have to deal with deleting this endless garbage --- it is automatically moved to your Junk/Bulk folder.

    But for those of you who don't, NEVER FALL for these "instant riches" or other "sweeps" or bogus money-making schemes. Everyone is prey to these scammers. They are just too savvy; creating a convicing 'website' with flashy graphics, etc. in order to lure you in. The old bait-n-hook technique. Many of these websites contain misinformation, or missing 'links', sometimes misspellings, or tiny-print info at the bottom that doesn't really make sense. And quite often you are frequently forwarded to a web page that may be filled with phony "testimonials", and ask immediately for your personal info. One dead giveaways to be educated on; "we've been trying to contact you". That's a no-brainer (no offense!).

    And obviously, e-mail does not always work, so the scammers will send you something in the mail, stating the same claimer, "trying to contact you regarding your sweeps entry". Obviously, if you haven't entered any sweepstakes recently - then ---- you didn't. I even had one try contacting me from a phony 800 number, attempting to disguise themself as a home service! After the opening garbly-gook, I realized just what their "call" intended and I stated 'not interested' and simply hung up. Moments later, these crooks called me back! (no, I let the machine take it).

    We all need to be wiser to the endless fraud sweeping around. Again, just be smart, and stay alert - online, where scammers are most prevalent. Don't become the next victim of fraud. Also, keep track of your banking activity. I was recently slammed by an online auction site I had never done any business with. Just how they got hold of my debit card number remained a mystery. Thankfully, my bank investigated and fully reimbursed the funds after detecting an online spammer. Again...be careful, and be SAFE!


    oprlvr

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cathy May 04, 2009

    I`m glad to have been able to read these complaints as to I have similar problems with this company. They called to enter me in a sweepstakes contest. I told them I wasn`t interested in any magazines at that time. They were very persistent and pushy. They asked me what magazine I perferred if I did wish to order. I told them the type of magazines I liked and all of a sudden I have a collection agency calling me and wanting money. They were very rude also.I did not wish to order. The collection agency told me I could cancel the subscriptions but had to pay the bill of 150.00! I`m not paying it. I`m going to get a hold of the B.B. B. and report them, I hope this will help.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    edboogie2004 May 13, 2009

    If this is such a legitimate company, why is there turnover rate so high? This company really needs to be shut down! And once again, I'd still like to know if anyone knows anything about a class action suit of any kind.

    Check out these two websites to find more information on these sociopaths:

    /URL removed/
    http://edumacation.com/MagazineSalesScams

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MAD AS HELL May 18, 2009

    HELLO, I HAVE A LETTER FROM NATIONAL LIEING ### MAGAZINE EXCHANGE TO AND
    THEY ARE ASKING ME TO SEEN IN 19.99 THAT MY IDENTIFICATION AWARD PAYMANT DATA RELEASE HAS BEEN FINALIZED AND APPROVED.THAT I HAVE A CHECK IS IN THERE OFFICE FOR ME, THIS IS NOT RIGHT I DONOT HAVE ANY MONEY TO BE GEVING AWAY.BUT MY ### DID SEEN IN THE MONEY, NO ONE HAVE CALL OR ANY THING, THIS NEEDS TO STOP WE ALL SHOULD GET TOGETHER A DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS EMIAL ME IF YOU FEEL LIKE ME.
    [protected]@YAHOO.COM
    THAT IS (F)UP

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions