Monro Muffler & Brakeemployee abuse

R
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

For the last four years, I have been a mechanic for Monro Muffler & Brake. The company pay plan is based on a percentage commission for work performed. Even though I have proven, (when given the chance), that I could be as productive as most of their other mechanics, I have been blocked from making money by unscrupulous managers, and assistant managers. As it stands right now, I am almost penniless from this unfair company's ridiculous pay plan, and the latest manager I work under, is a loud mouthed, abusive person with delusions of godhood, who threatens to fire almost every employee every day, and today, he robbed me of income. I ask all who read this to go elsewhere for service, if you have used, or considered using Monro for service. Please put this vile company out of business!

Responses

  • Th
    thela49 Aug 25, 2016

    Eddy from store 576... monro muffler and brakes is the worse store to work for. they complain about productivity but yea when you make them 16000 dollars in one month they drop your pay rate to 7.40 thats a bull ###. no matter what you do you lose for example a coworker of mine got drop also for not being able to pick up speed but its unfair for my payrate to drop when i have made them close to 80, 000 in 7 months that i been there... come on people lets keep up the complaints someone is going to hear us if not lets make someone hear us.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Senterstage88 Jul 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went to Monro Muffler in Hamden CT for a simple oil change. The next day after driving my VW Passat on the highway I heard a loud noise that I had never heard from my car before. A couple days later I had time in my work schedule to take my car to an autobody shop and found that the employees at Monroe had deceitfully and cleverly zip-tied the skid plate of my car in place... after they had broken the attachment. I was not aware of the zip-ties upon leaving Monro and by continuing to drive my car, I now have over $800 in damages to my car. I went to Monro to address the issue with the manager and I was met with disrespect and my claims were immediately refuted. Monro refuses to take responsibility for their careless and reckless actions that placed my-self and other drivers at risk. This issue will be brought up with the cooperation and investigated. This is unacceptable. They brag on their website of trust and confidence, I have no trust in their business or morals as people.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shawn62 Feb 12, 2015

    If you work to get paid like any American worker I have ever known, you dont want to work for Monroe Muffler Brake INC..My husband has not gottenhis paycheck ontime onmore than 4 occassions in the 6 months he has worked for the company.Most of the time the check is 2 to 3 days late (payday every other Friday but wont get the check till Monday).While waiting till monday is not the end of the world it is still not allowed.Monroe does not pay employees the rate promised and pay close attention to your overtime hours that the federal goverment requires all employeers to pay non exempt employess.Monroe likes to hide the unpaid wages in the deductions, inncentive, and subsidy in the employees paystub.This last payday for Feb.6 2015 has still not been paid to my husband .My family has been waiting for 1 week and still no money.Everyday a new excuse or lie is given followed by "there is nothing we can do for you".EXCUSE ME really nothing that your employeer can do for not paying you on time and after 7 days??? We have two young sons ages 2 and 3 who are going without and now our insurance, carpayment, and water bills are late and we are in danger of loosing our transportation because Monroe cant pay wages owed.Well I have news for Mr.Robert Glass ### whatever his lowlife name is ...there is something you can do that you are required by law to do and YOU BET YOUR ### I DID FILE A FEDERAL AND STATE LABOR CLAIM ON THIS COMPANY !!!The state of VA states that any wages unpaid are finable from 1, 000 to 10, 000 per occurance to the state and in addition 6% daily late fees payable to employee.Also be careful if you work there because they follow no OSHA laws and yes I Called and informed OSHA who was quick to respond 1 day after my claim why??Because Monroe has been introuble with OSHA many time but as seriouse as employee safety is to most it is not important to Monroe even after the unsafe practice of Monroe has caused many seriouse employee injuries and yes even dealth...WOW GAME on Monroe Muffler you messed with the wrong wife ill take your sorry unethical ### all the way to the bank...

    0 Votes
  • Gk
    Gkorb Jan 06, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I hear you. I will never go to a Monro again. Hamburg NY put in a front hub 2004 Silverado 4x and charged me $437.00 for the part alone. Part went to hell in less then a year. At that point they showed me the fine print on the back of my service slip allowed only a 30 day warranty. I found the same part for approximately $120.00... Con artists, crooks...never again!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angela Whitman Jul 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They treated my husband horrible not to mention forcing him to work overtime off the clock

    0 Votes
  • An
    anonymous1978000 May 04, 2013

    i was recently fired from monro after almost a year of working there for supposed theft of deposits and spark plugs. i started out working there as a technician mainly doing custom exhaust and engine work making $11 an hour and then was dropped down to $8/hr which i took in stride then started noticing that my hours i was working wasnt matching the hours i being paid for, my overtime was only being paid half of my hourly wage and not the time and a half it was supposed to be. well i took that in stride to because around here jobs are hard to come by and i have a family to support well about 2 months ago a job opens up at a parts store in my area and i applied well i get a call back about my application and it turns out that monro told the parts supplier that if they hired me that they would pull their contract with said supplier so i was unable to get that job and afterwards deposits went missing, but only the deposits that i signed. but the back story to all of this is i was promoted to assistant manager and was still only making $8.63/hr and the previous assistant manager supposedly was stealing deposits so our manager decided he was going to be the only one who took the deposits to the bank anymore well the problem there was the manager left everyday around 1 or 2 pm and i had to close almost everynight so he told me to make the deposits up and leave them in the bottom of the drawer so i did well after i got that call about the other job it turns out that 5 deposits went missing totaling $689 and suprisingly they were only the deposits that had my name on them. so automatically it becomes my fault and the district manager pulled me off to the side saying that if i signed this paper stating that i would repay the deposits because i feel that its my obligation that the company wouldnt press charges on me that the way it looks now is that i stole them so in order to stay out of trouble and to continue supporting my wife and disabled little brother i signed the paper well not even 2 weeks later a set of ngk spark plugs goes missing and since theyre for a ford the blame is automatically on me since i drive a ford but i even pulled a spark plug out of my car and showed them that it was an autolite from walmart and it looked as if the pug had been in there for awhile. i have never done a tune up on my car since i got it in february because the guy i got it from had done one not even 2 weeks before i bought it. so why would i need to steal spark plugs? well they terminated me for that... but the ironic thing is after they terminated me the manager bought a 2001 yamaha motorcycle and ive seen his paychecks and he doesnt make enough to pay bills and buy toys like that. and to top it all off the manager and district manager are buddy buddy at work and even after work. all of this began happening after i applied for another job and after i called the manager out on his drug use at work. is there anything that i can do about this?

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vicki Vail Mar 06, 2013

    Thurs - took Jeep in around 4:00pm. Me: It has an unusual problem - doesn't seem to be steering properly.
    Manager Richard Bertman: It needs new left/right, upper/lower tie rod ends, adjusting sleeves, steering damper, ball joints, wheel alignment. Total cost $1, 034.02. It should take less than 4 hours to fix.
    Fri around 5:00pm - Richard advised that there were some 'mix-ups' and the wrong parts were delivered so there were a few 'delays'. Jeep not ready yet - needs another hour, or so. Around 6:15pm - Jeep ready! Money due!
    I leave with my 7 year old son & drive down the street - the car is now WORSE than before. It is now scratching deeply against something. I call Richard & complain. Richard: Bring it back, we'll take a look. I notice the mechanic whisper something to Richard. Richard looks under the Jeep as the mechanic points under my right passenger tire. I can read Richard's lips, he says 'Oh ###'. He then steps back and lights up a cigarette. He begins pacing back and forth. He then comes into the lobby and tells me to 'come and take a look'. He showed me underneath my car & said 'we got the wrong shape tie rod on this one end, they gave us the wrong one. It might even be a defective part because it doesn't look like the old one. That is why it was grinding. It was rubbing up against your rim'. Me: 'Did it cause damage?' Richard: 'No'. (I later learned it did cause damage from the repair shop who actually fixed my Jeep). Richard: 'It will be fixed tomorrow. I will make sure we get the right tie rod for you'.
    Sat - Richard ' the car is fixed now. You can come and get it.' I drive out of the lot and the car was just as bad as the last time. Richard, 'let me take another look'. Later... 'Okay! It's ready now!'
    I get on THE FREEWAY WITH MY 7 YEAR OLD SON. The Jeep is NOW WORSE THAN EVER. It did not steer properly. I take it back. I handed Richard the keys & said 'YOU DRIVE IT ON THE FREEWAY AND TELL ME WHAT'S WRONG WITH IT!' Richard: 'Okay!' He comes back less than 3 minutes later and said 'I didn't need to take it on the freeway, there's definitely something wrong with it'. I'll come in early tomorrow morning to take a look at it'. Me: 'Can I have my check back since you didn't fix it right the first time?'. Richard: 'No, it's company policy that we deposit all money that we receive'. Me: 'But you didn't fix it!! Why did I write a check for over $1, 000 when it's not fixed??' Richard: 'But it's company policy'.
    Sun - Richard 'Well, I found out it is actually your steering column! Since the parts stores aren't open today, we'll have to wait to fix it tomorrow'.
    I get a rental car & eventually end up paying nearly $250 for 3 days of use.
    Mon - Richard: 'Well, I took another look at it and it is the Pittman Arm. I'll order one tomorrow'.
    Tues - Richard: 'Okay, I've called every parts store and there is no Pittman Arm within a 180 mile radius of Cleveland, Ohio. I'll have to order one from out of state. It should be here by tomorrow'. I call for a tow truck, went directly into this USELESS, WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY SHOP and demand they give me my Jeep. I have it towed to another repair shop. This shop fixed it that same day & it only costed $201.71. The ONLY PROBLEM was the STEERING PUMP. The car is now fixed thanks to THE OTHER auto repair shop! They also advised that my Jeep DID NOT NEED A NEW PITTMAN ARM.
    BEWARE OF MONRO MUFFLER!!! IF YOU GO TO THE BBB.ORG WEBSITE & USE THEIR PHONE NUMBER [protected] YOU WILL SEE THAT THEY HAVE OVER 1, 000 COMPLAINTS FILED AND THEY HAVE AN F RATING!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Wiskynov Sep 02, 2012

    I just started at monro it doesnt seem to be to bad im getting wat I was promessed Ive noticed the whole double dipping thing I want that ### to stop its cuz this guy cant keep up he saves all the good jobs for himself and leavea the rest of the crap for everyone else

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicole Van Dorn May 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have also had a negative experience working at Monro. I have worked at a few different tire store locations (Monro Tire, Tire Warehouse, Mr. Tire) selling tires and doing alignments. I have definitely been underpaid, specifically in my overtime earnings. The company doesn't count "spifs" as part of our regular earnings, which greatly reduces my overtime pay. Also we all have to shut down the computer punch out before I can do the cash out. As you all probably know, cashing out regularly takes from a half an hour to an hour and a half—and sometimes takes up to two hours if something goes wrong. Also if I don't punch out for lunch they just subtract a half an hour from my pay anyways. Has anyone else had similar experiences?

    I am asking because I have reached a law firm who is currently bringing a case against Monro, the parent company of all the tire stores. The law firm is drafting a court case and anyone who currently does, or has in the past, worked at a store that both sells tires and does alignments is eligible for compensation like me. If you'd like more information and want to get these guys back please feel free to respond to my post or email me at [email protected] If you want I can forward your information on to my lawyer.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    cristinah Mar 04, 2012

    I brought my care in for service on December 23, 2011 at Munro Muffler/Brake & Service (Shop 60) located at 1205 Erie Boulevard East in Syracuse to repair the cause of a noise when the wheel was turned. Upon retrieviing the vehicle, I paid $379.90 for rear shocks, sliders, pads and brakes, which I was told would address the problem of the noise when turning. After driving the vehicle that weekend, I noticed that the vehicle continued to make the same noise, so the work peformed did not address the problem. I brought the vehicle in to the same Munro Muffler location a second time on December 27, 2011. The vehicle was at that location for a week and was not ready for pickup until January 3, 2012. When I picked up the vehicle, I paid another $399.98 for brake shoes, hardware, backing plate, and front end bearings. After picking up the vehicle and driving it, I found that the car was making a new noise when driving straight and two dashboard lights indicating service were on. Additionally, my GPS, which was left in the center console of the vehicle, and a pair of sunglasses (left on the dashboard) had been stolen. I filed a police report for the stolen Tom Tom 340S Special Edition bundle pack (retail value approximately $140). The police report was forwarded to the regional market manager, Sean Lucas, via email. I have also sent several emails to follow up on this situation. Thus far, no response. They did not respond to the complaint I filed with the Better Business Bureau either.

    0 Votes
  • To
    topcat0422 Dec 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you want Justice against MONRO File a Complaint with the AG office In Ma Or R.I. I worked for them for 6 Months as ast Manager ( was Promised and Hired as a Manager.) I took Evidence with me when i Left, Like employees Working oFF the Clock to Finish JOBS. Due to the Fact they had aready worked over 40 hr and Monro does Not Like to Pay OVERTIME. I have daily and Monthly Reports. I knew they were going to Cheat Me Out of my LAST Weeks Pay and Vacation Time PLUS My Commission. I knew after running a store for 3 weeks i could not change the way Monro Ran things, I Did However Treat the people who worked for me Fair. GUESS who get the LAST Laugh ! ME Martha Coakley Is Coming after you MONRO!

    1 Votes
  • Bu
    bubba boss Nov 18, 2011

    iam a monro muffler employee i have worked for them for 2.5 years our shop really has no prblems with cutomers paying there prices now we 7 trust worthy techs and two mangers tjat are good at what they do and respect customers now i see what everyone says and its right about the assrattment on the managment but what are shop has is favoritizum where there is enough work to go around for everyone you will see 2 techs have 8000 each and the rest of us get the scraps which in the winter it sucks but these guys are that bad compared to some of the other poeple ived worked for but there times where you need too reminde them that they are the only people that have familys and this is a upper ny shop and we are uselly in the top 5 in the company

    1 Votes
  • Bb
    B.Bouchez Nov 17, 2011

    Monro here in Pittsfield, Ma is good for nothing, my check engine light was on and I was having car troubles, I have trusted Monro in the past and have been going there for 4 yrs now. My car now needed an O2 sensor, thats it! I get a call that I need both ignition coils replaced, 4 new spark plugs and the car would be fine. I picked the car up and the car seemed to be doing the same thing and took a day or 2 for the light to back on. I paid $479.56 for what was to be 1 part. So my car they said needed a new ignition modular, so they had the same car as mine sitting in there parking lot cause it had a blown engine, took the part out of that car and put that in my car!!! Are you out of your mind???? Now my car has been sitting in there garage for 4 days and they just switched to the new one just yesterday, its still doing the same thing and cant figure out what the problem is but want me to pay for the new part, not in your life, so Im currently battleing with corporate to A get my car back and B refund!! Im am NEVER bringing my car or any car to them every again!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    stephanieclifton1 Oct 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had my car serviced at the Monro Muufler/Brake store on East Main Street in Reynoldsburg, Ohio. I dropped the car off at 8:00 a.m and picked the car up at 12:30 a.m. in the morning not p.m. I paid $500 for services and my car was seen for a new brake lines, transmission seal leak, and brake replacements. When I left my brake lines still leaked and car was dangerous to drive. Called the shop back and they said to bring the car in and they would fix the problem with a charge of course. There is no way that my car did not have new parts put on and my brake lines still leak. Do not go to this shop I have filed a complaint with the company and am demanding a return of my money.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Monro Stinks Oct 20, 2011

    I was charged way too much to have my brake, and fuel lines replaced because they were both leaking (I did call around after the fact, and was quoted about half the price I paid). Three months and thousands of miles later I took my car back because it smelled like gas, and I needed an inspection sticker. The mechanic had the nerves to tell me there was no leak, but found another $1200 of "suggested" repairs, $366 of which was required to get the sticker.
    I got a second opinion somewhere else. They said I only needed to replace a part for $150 (all the other items quoted in the Monro's estimate were just fine), but there was a fuel leak and that the lines needed to be replace because they were rusted. I mentioned I had done it three months prior at Monro, and paid good money for it. When I told him the price, his jaw dropped, and he assured me the job had not been done.
    Monro put my family's lives in danger for three months, and I would still be driving around with the fuel leak, had I not gone elsewhere!
    This was at the Monro in Newington, NH.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    reallymadandbroke Oct 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I brought my ford pickup to monro muffler in oneida ny for a brake replacement. While there, they told me i needed a master cylinder replaced. When I brought the truck home, the brakes immediately started sticking and screeching. I ended up bringing the truck back 4 times, each time the brakes were grabbing so bad that I could only travel 20 miles per hour. They finally ended up replacing both the front and back brakes and then decided I needed rotors. So they put on new rotors(which I did not need) All in all the bill was over 800.00 1 year later, the brakes are sticking again - brought it to the monro muffler in rome, ny to be fixed. Turns out the master cylinder was never installed correctly, had to be bled and replaced, and now I needed new back calipers. Total charge over 500.00. These people should be run out of town. They have inept mechanics and try and cheat you out of your last dime. I will never speak well of them or recommend them for anything - not even an inspection!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nipsy Oct 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went in for an oil change on 11/21/09 on a used car I recently purchased. I asked the manager to also look at my heater as the heat was not working in my car. I am getting ready to move cross country in two weeks, so this was very important to me. He came back and informed me I had a badly leaking water pump, an oil leak on my valve cover gasket, and that I needed a new thermostat. The total estimate for repairs and labor was $479.97. I took the car to another mechanic immediately. They proved to me that the statements made were completely false. My water pump not only had no leaks, but was empty, a fact I was not informed of. My oil is NOT leaking, there was a spot of oil on the manifold. And my thermostat is not broke either, it was a knob inside that was damaged, one click and it was easily fixed. This manager preyed on the fact that I am a female and worried about my road trip, counting on the fact I would pay for these repairs on his word. I will NEVER GO BACK, and am informing everyone I know to not enter the business of a liar and would be thief.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mrpotatokong Sep 24, 2011

    Had one more thing to add... Why would you drag this publicly you are just slandering and draging. This guys name thru the mud... If you had or have a problem with him either confront him directly or speak to his boss regarding your issue.. or even contact the hr. Of monro... Obously. Monro. Feels he is doing a good job. So I seen either Handel it that way or walk.. but be a man about it

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mrpotatokong Sep 24, 2011

    I also use. To work at store 576 I was there about 6 months and worked under Chris Allen i think he is a great manager. And have never seen him destroy shop property or anything like that. Also what you guys don't seem to understand. That store 576 is a Fast pace auto repair shop. Which. On a normal day pulls. A good deal of money. And I know when I was there we were the 3rd highest ranked store in our district. Under chrises management. So in point it's hard and stressful enough. To run a normal shop. Let alone a fast pace shop... With opening techs calling out 5 MINUTES before thier shift and. The other various things that go wrong in a day so yea if he was a little pissed can you blame the guy. I think is a exelent manager also a exelent. Mechanic.. I learned a great deal about fixing cars from Chris and to this day I call him for advise on cars... Srry. About the spelling and punctuation I'm on my cell phone witch has autotext... John.P

    0 Votes
  • Xm
    X-Monro Employee Sep 03, 2011

    I also cannot agree so much with all of these complaints that Ive read. I, myself am another former employee of this dreadful company. I got sick and tired of the lies they told you. I ran a store here in St Louis for 6 years before Monro took over 2 years ago. Most of my business has been run off due to the enourmous pricing they have on everything. The shame of it is, most of the stuff they have is cheap crap, and they charge an arm and a leg for it. Im sorry, I wont rip-off a customer.
    Another thing that gets to me, is how RUDE the people are there from corporate. I know it is New York, but please. Its kind of scary to see the upper big wigs from there, all decked out in their solid black. Makes you want to think they are from some satanic cult or something, when you see them march into your store. And the office peole at headquarters, oh my gosh. That is an all together whole new story. The one payroll clerk is a ###-on wheels. Dont you dare ask her to explain your check to you, because she, like all of those other people there, do not care. She acts like it bothers her to answer the phone.
    You are nothing in this company but a number to Joe Tomarchio, and his gang up there. They want to work you to death, keep you from your family, lie to your face about some fake bonus pay plan they concocted, that does nothing but pad money in THEIR pockets, and screw you in the process, ..HELLO PEOPLE!! Monro, just go away. I wish you nothing but bad, bad, bad, you evil people!

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    SCAMMED SCAMMED Sep 02, 2011

    I agree with all of these complaints. I took my truck in for an oil change at Monroe Muffler in South Attleboro Mass next to BJ's. The Manager (Mike Donnelly) told me that I needed back brakes. I said really, I just replaced then 20, 000 miles ago. So, I decided to get them replaced. He is the Suppossed Professional. I told him I wanted the old brakes back so I could show my mechanic. My mechanic was on vacation. I asked him before any work was done how much was it going to cost. He quoted a price. When I received the bill it was way over the price quoted. There was actually a fee on there he never mentioned. A $15.00 shop fee. Really! I was told that was for rags and then I asked why he never stated the shop fee. He replied well it is posted in the shop. WHAT AN ###! NEVER AGAIN WILL I USE THESE RIP OFF, [censored] BAG, ###S CON MAN COMPANY. I showed the old brakes to my mechanic and he stated I could of gotten another 25, 000 miles on them. The mechanic cracked 1 of the old brakes with a hammer. It is clear as day it was cracked with a hammer. WOW! I also got an oil change there. A week later the oil filter was leaking oil. The [censored] Mechanic did not tighten the oil filter enough. I had to pay my mechanic to tighten it properly and clean up the excess oil. IF YOU WANT TO GET RIPPED OFF - GO TO MONROE. IF YOU DON'T TRY TO FIND A HONEST MECHANIC! I found out later the manager (Mike Donnelly) was promoted to another Monroe. WOW! RIPPED OFF ENOUGH PEOPLE AND THEN TIME TO RUN! MONROE MUFFLER SUCKS!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    microman Aug 21, 2011

    I am a manager for a store in Pennsylvania and have found the upper management intelligent and supportive. That's not to say that we don't always see eye to eye, but there is no Job anywhere that is perfect. I have had a very pleasant experience and as the Manager it is my responsibility to maintain a good profit margin as well as manage reasonable pricing for my customers. I have worked for Goodyear, Midas, Meineke, NTB and several other private garages and have found that a 65 to 80% profit margin is average for the industry just to be able to pay the bills. What no one has mentioned is that we typically make less than 10% profit on oil changes, Maintenance services are necessary to attract business as cars are getting older and being kept longer. There are unscrupulous employees and managers in each of the companies I mentioned, but there are also a lot more GOOD PEOPLE that are effectively and efficiently performing their Jobs in these companies. The general public does not understand the overhead involved in the industry that we are in and sees our profits as overkill. If you manage an average profit of 75%, you can pay all the bills and still make a small legitimate profit! (By the way, PROFIT is not a dirty word!) If not for profit, companies would not be able to invest in new equipment or training.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    jbfirebird Aug 10, 2011

    as supa said, the calipers rusting are very common. in fact, they seem to rust faster than anything else on a car.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Justathought Aug 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got a complete brake job at Monroe Muffler on Rt. 80 in East Haven, CT last August. I paid $1, 300 for rotors, calibers and brake pads. I was disappointed to see the calibers rusty after one month. The manager told me this was normal yet my old one never had any rust on them. Anyway I excepted his explanation of it being normal even though most of my friend's disagree.

    I recently broke my emergency brake cable. My wife took it to be checked out and after taking wheels off, they concluded my emergency brake cables needed to be replace for a cost of $318. Needless to say we declined and took the car to Firestone who replaced the one emergency brake cable (as only one needed to be replaced) for $98.

    This location attempted to take advantage of my wife and tried to replaced perfectly functioning equipment. They we're greedy and ultimately lost our business and others who we might have referred.

    0 Votes
  • Iw
    iwant my money Aug 01, 2011

    I was employed at this sh*t hole for 2years 6 months they lie about your pay and pretend they dont know what is going on.When you ask all you get is a run around and lies lies lies stay away from this place for a job the employees are good people but the corp. is

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dipset Jul 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    About 3 years ago I had this store put up a new exhaust system, everything from the cat back. The estimate was high, but being in a state I had just two days previously moved to with no tools and needing to be on my way I let them do it. I watched them drop the new muffler twice and then they incorrectly bent the pipes. I went to drive away and noticed how much louder the new system was went back to them and they tried to convince me that it was the sound of the new muffler. Not being up to argue any more I took it home to inspect it myself and found a number of leaks at the joints, and instead of using an adapter to joint the muffler to a differently sized tailpipe they just threw a clamp on and torqued it down until the tailpipe actually bent upon itself. The next day I went back and told them it was leaking, they told me they'd look at it. I picked it up later still leaking exhaust into the cabin. Brought it back the next day and after being met with attitude just told them to take it off and give me money back. They refused but agreed to again look for leaks. Day four I came back, still leaking with a bottle of soapy water to show them from where. Now three years later I'm having muffler problems call to make an appointment. The guy on the phone tells me that it's not the muffler. I've been working on and with cars now for more than half my life and diagnosing the issue was pretty easy on my end. I told him that I only wanted to redeem my lifetime warranty on the parts. He returned that it was going to be a while. I gave up and agreed to take an appointment. No sooner had the words 'okay 2 o'clock' come from my mouth did I realize he had already hung up on me. Called another location to see if there was anyone more human working there, but apparently work warranties are stored at individual locations so I have to try to find my old paperwork now. At least the guy up there stayed on the phone and tried to accommodate. I've just decided to buy a new muffler at work and do it myself this afternoon. Never again would I go to a monro!

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    ABUSED MONRO EPLOYEE Jun 19, 2011

    I feel the same way. Everything on here is so true! My shop was bought out 2 years ago and already most of our good people are gone from here, because they got smart and left this hell hole. In fact all of the shops around me have all lost their good hard workers, because they ton't want to put up with the ###. The pricing scale they use is out of this world!! Almost 140% mark up and cheap parts used to bat! This company cares about no one but themselves! They want money, more money, and more money; and nothing in return to its woeful slave-driven employees. ###, they can't even pay you for a holiday! I'll bet THEY get paid! This company is against family time or trying to have a family life while employed here. So sad, ...the lies they tell you. Maybe one of these days, as they say, what comes around, goes around.

    1 Votes
  • Pi
    pissed monro employee Jun 15, 2011

    I have read everything on here and cannot agree SO much. The Autotire stores purchased here in Missouri and Illinois, used to be a great outfit to work for, until Monro took over, along with their thievery, and lies to their employees. Mr. Ronsick had a waiting list of people who wanted to come work for him. You know why? Because he treated his employees like they were somebody, and it WASN'T all about the money, just like it reads over every damn work schedule that comes across our faxes here. Shame on you!! Mr. Van Heel mentioned at one manager meeting one time, how he just didn;t get it, why so many people are leaving here at Autotire. If i had to stand to guess, about 80-85% of the good hard-working knowlegdeable managers have left. Do you wanna know why?? Its the WAY you treat your employees!!! This is the midwest!! We believe in famly time here. We celebrate holidays here, NOT at work! It truly ISN'T about the almighty dollar all the time guys!! Get a clue! I hope only the worst for you and your company, and what comes around goes around. You cant keep hiring $100-120/day employees, or $8-10/hr techs and expect anything else, but what you get in return!!!

    0 Votes
  • El
    elorac123 Jun 08, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A year ago paid $700 for a muffler, yesterday the tailpipe fell off on the highway. Brought it in since this is not the life span of a new one. I was told it would cost$262 now to repair. When I complained that this is faulty equipment and tailpipes don't just fall off, I was told to complain to the parts supplier and given the number. I continued complaining and when I asked if this happens again in a year will it cost me $262 again, was told ya probably!!! Are they insane? This muffler now cost me $1, 000 and I have complained to corporate office to no avail also so they train their help well. Screw the customer and we'll do it too! They also melted my bumper by putting pipe right against the bumper when it was replaced a year ago.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slinger19859 Jun 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We went to monro to get our muffler fixed since it had to leaks in it. They called me and said that our car needed 2 new O2 censors, so i told them to put them in, Well the bill came to 700.00 and 5 minutes after I left our car started jumping and acting like someone learning how to drive a standard for the first time, we took our car back to monro 3 times, and told them your car never did this until you touched it, well we took it to a different auto shop, and they told us that Monro had cut a hole in the bottom of your car to get one of the O2 censors in, and they messed everything up, the O2 censor that we just had monro put in had to be replaced already just 3 weeks later, a new bracket put in, since monro striped the wires on the censor when they put it in, and had to have new plugs since will the O2 censor not firing right they got burnt, and we just had plugs put in 5 months ago, so after going to monro we spent another 1000.00 to get our car fixed from what they did to it so all in all, to total bill came to 1900.00 because of rental cars and all the parts and labor I reported them to the BBB and are in the process of recieving all our money back stay away from them, they wont do anything but make your little problem a huge one.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lone136 Jun 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I took my 1999 Dodge Ram into Monro Muffler and Brake today to have in inspected and the front end alignment done. I called them 8 hours later and asked if my truck as done and they told me I could pick it up at any time. I should add I had to take a day off work to have my truck worked on, but any way when I got there I asked if the alignment had been done and I was told yes and what a hard job it was. Well on the drive home it was driving just as it had done before I took it there pulling to the right. WHen I did get it home I got under the truck to have a look and it hasn't been worked on at all. The bolts still had the deart in the slip joint nuts on the ball joints and rust on the bolts. You can tell if it has been worked on and it hasn't. I did call and was told they were so sorry and to bring it back tomorrow and the job would be done. This just makes me sick to think that this same thing is being done to people that have no clues about work that is done on there car and or truck and lied too. This also means I have to take another day off of work to make sure the work is done this time around.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MonroMufflerisAwful May 20, 2011

    I was recently in a Monroe store in Connecticut and had a horrible experience like most here. I had the coupon for oil change, tire rotation, safety check etc. They came out telling me I had an exhaust leak I needed to get fixed, I said I know and that I would take care of it somewhere reputable. Apparently they did not like my denying their service and decided to make the leak worse. Now my car sounds like a go-kart and put puts when you let off the acceleration, this on top of not rotating my tires like I paid for. I went back today to ask about the rotated tires because I had one leaking that was mysteriously in the same place as before. The mgr said he asked me and I declined which is impossible because why would I turn down a service I was paying for. Then I mentioned that he expressed his concern over my exhaust leak and that now it was much worse. My intent was to ask if it was possible that it could deteriorate that fast but before I could ask he immediately said what you think we did something to it? I replied with no not at all, but thinking about it since that was your first reaction to my question it makes me wonder what really goes through their minds. Have they done this before? Is he paranoid because he personally has created a problem so they could fix it? How did he know I wasn't asking him because now I wanted it fixed there. Regardless Monro Muffler in Monroe, CT is now on my boycott list for life along with my entire family.

    Funny side note, while I waiting originally there was a two people in the room with me, the mgr came out and told one he needed a laundry list of things, maybe 5 or 6 different parts which he did not get. After the mgr came to tell me about mine, a young lady next to me says "it's crazy, it's like they always find something wrong I hate cars!" This woman had a relationship with the shop as they knew her by name when she walked in. I wonder if she is aware she has probably been ripped off every time she bought something.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MonroMufflerisAwful May 20, 2011

    I was recently in a Monroe store in Connecticut and had a horrible experience like most here. I had the coupon for oil change, tire rotation, safety check etc. They came out telling me I had an exhaust leak I needed to get fixed, I said I know and that I would take care of it somewhere reputable. Apparently they did not like my denying their service and decided to make the leak worse. Now my car sounds like a go-kart and put puts when you let off the acceleration, this on top of not rotating my tires like I paid for. I went back today to ask about the rotated tires because I had one leaking that was mysteriously in the same place as before. The mgr said he asked me and I declined which is impossible because why would I turn down a service I was paying for. Then I mentioned that he expressed his concern over my exhaust leak and that now it was much worse. My intent was to ask if it was possible that it could deteriorate that fast but before I could ask he immediately said what you think we did something to it? I replied with no not at all, but thinking about it since that was your first reaction to my question it makes me wonder what really goes through their minds. Have they done this before? Is he paranoid because he personally has created a problem so they could fix it? How did he know I wasn't asking him because now I wanted it fixed there. Regardless Monro Muffler in Monroe, CT is now on my boycott list for life along with my entire family.

    Funny side note, while I waiting originally there was a two people in the room with me, the mgr came out and told one he needed a laundry list of things, maybe 5 or 6 different parts which he did not get. After the mgr came to tell me about mine, a young lady next to me says "it's crazy, it's like they always find something wrong I hate cars!" This woman had a relationship with the shop as they knew her by name when she walked in. I wonder if she is aware she has probably been ripped off every time she bought something.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    boksh73 May 08, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a 2005 V6 Ford Mustang and have been driving it for 5 years, the car is in almost perfect condition except a minor problem with handbrake which I noticed 3 years ago – handbrake still woks but is very stiff and difficult to pull up – but this doesn’t affect driving at all. But a month ago my wife asked me to fix the handbrake anyway because she needed it for road test.
    Then I drove my car to Monro in March 2011 to have someone check the handbrake. They told me that the front brake pads need to be replaced, also they will lubricate the handbrake cable to see if that will fix the issue or not. And after the repair I noticed that the handbrake didn’t improve so I brought my car back in April 2011 to have them re-check it. The guy (probably manager) said the handbrake cable should be replaced but the cable is not in stock and will be available by late May. Since I still need my car for daily use I decided to drive it back until the cable is available.
    The day when I took my car back, right after I got into my car I immediately noticed that the handbrake is loosened (no resistance at all) and after just a few minutes’ drive I smelled brake rubber burning, I realized that they had done something wrong to my car and didn’t put everything back properly. I have to stop my car on the road side and called Monro (tel: [protected]):

    Me: ‘what is going on with my car, why rear brake is locked?’
    Monro: ‘brake cables need replacement… I don’t encourage you to drive your car’
    Me: ‘Then why you didn’t tell me in first place’
    Monro: ‘I told you that, your car is not drivable’
    I was pretty SURE that guy didn’t mention anything that my car has become un-drivable either in the phone or at the counter but I didn’t want to waste time quarrelling so I hang up and have it towed back to my garage.
    And the worse part comes – After one month waiting I called Monro wondering if they could provide an update for availability of brake cable, and apparently they have forgotten it at all.

    After reminding him (Manager Ralph?) he told me ‘the cable will be available in end of June’. Me: ‘but you said it should be available in May, I don’t want to wait for another month’

    Monro: ‘I didn’t say that, I said June’
    Me: ‘You said very clearly that the cable is in back order and will be available in May’
    Monro: ‘…I will check with Ford again and call you back’
    Nor surprisingly I never got call back, so I decide to go to the Monro auto repair shop again to talk to them face by face.
    Me: ‘Have you checked with Ford?’
    Monro Manger: ‘yes, it will be available by the end of June’
    Me: ‘I don’t want to have it repaired here anymore, please put everything back in my car and restore it to its original drivable condition’
    Monro Manager: ‘We didn’t do anything to your car, when you brought it here it was un-drivable’
    Me (don’t know how he would be so shameless): ‘I have been driving it for 5 years, when I brought it here it is in perfect drivable condition, the rear brakes are not locked’
    Monro Manager: ‘it was un-drivable’
    Me: ‘This is the second time I am here, the first time you guys replaced the front brake just a month ago, and how could you say it was un-drivable. I drove my car here for repair, not towed it here, and I have to tow it back after your Repair?’
    Monro Manager: ‘you have driven it for a month and put a few hundred mileages on it and it has become un-drivable after that …’
    Well, I gave up, had my car repaired by another Ford dealer, don’t want to talk to this Monro Manager guy who is totally without sense of shame and keep lying to his customers once and once again. He may look friendly but actually is dishonest and doesn’t even acknowledge what he has said to his customer. So be cautious if you ever consider get your car repaired there except very basic maintenance like oil change. They may damage your car and will never confess what they have done.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pissed at tw Apr 25, 2011

    i alao agree with eevery thing that formermonroslave has said, we have post machines that have been in service for 10 and 13 years, multiple people including my self have gotten hurt bad on these machines, boss answer, be careful. all we do is tires, and we work out side with jacks, no lifts, the want us to work as fast as we can, get as many cars in the air, we get written up if we use three jacks on a car yet they dont want to buy us enough jacks to do the damn job.

    1 Votes
  • Pi
    pissed at tw Apr 25, 2011

    i have worked for Tire warehouse (who was bought out by monro a little more than a year ago) for a year now. i have moved up from tech to key holder in less then a year, where there is no asst manager it means im second in command at the shop, and there are techs that still make more then me. not to mention the fact that i cant get my check on time. i ask my boss why my check is never on time, they blame the mail, or the holidays. its all bs. i hate working for them, they say they care about employees, bull the care about making money and thats it.

    1 Votes
  • Jb
    jbe172000 Apr 01, 2011

    I work for them for several years and when i quite they tried to Blsck Ball me with every company I interviewed with and they stole all my stock options that i earn but now took from me because they have no exthics> this the worst company i had ever worked for> they dont care about their employees or customers just the mighty dollar> this company needs a serious wake up call.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    thela49 Mar 30, 2011

    eddy same thing happened to me and im talking to someone about it.. sent you an email with all the info if you would like to contact him

    1 Votes
  • Fo
    formermonroslave Mar 29, 2011

    as a former store manager, i have discovered how the CEO, Robert Gross is the 143rd richest person in america...he steals from his employees and makes his employees steal from his customers. How can you justify paying $8.00 for a brake rotor & assigning a list selling price of over $100.00? How can your pay plan provide technician earnings that are roughly 1/3rd of a technician at a dealership or direct competitor? How can stores be allowed to operate with outdated and potentially unsafe equiptment? How can a manager be expected to protect his company's assets when the store does not have a functional alarm system? IT IS ALL ABOUT MINIMIZING COSTS AND MAXIMIZING PROFITS AT THE EXPENSE OF YOUR EMPLOYEES AND CUSTOMERS!!! Monro is the Walmart of the service industry! BBB, Consumer Affairs & OSHA should thorougly investigate Monro and hit Mr. Gross the only place it hurts - his wallet! The man & the monster he has created (including Mr. Tomarchio) is heartless & without concience!

    2 Votes
  • J da mechanic Mar 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I TOTALLY AGREE 576 AND IT S MANAGEMENT TEAM CARE ABOUT THEMSELVES AND THEMSELVES ONLY. WE'
    RE TREATED LIKE WE'RE
    NOT HUMANS (I GUESS AS EMPLOYEES WE ARE CONSIDER ROBOTS ) WE HAVE NO FEELING OUR VIEWS & OPINIONS DON'T MATTER AND WE DON'T NEED A LUNCHBREAK . SO MONRO MUFFLER & BRAKES NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR IT'S TERRIFYING ACTIONS

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.