Million Dollar Body Aka Beachbody FitnessSneaky credit card charges!

1

You will get billed first from "Beachbody Fitness" for their shape up program, and then they say in 30 days after you will get another bill. well, the DAY AFTER the initial bill, I got more charges! And they changed their name from Beachbody to Million Dollar Body.

First charge is $68.89, then day after is $29.90 then week and a half later another charge for $40.62 from Million Dollar Body! That wasn't 30 days later!!! So now i got stuck with these overdraft charges from my bank for this unplanned for expenses!

Responses

  • Ho
    Hollie Aug 18, 2007

    I ordered the hip hop abs video and was only supposed to be charged $29.95 each month and I got charged $144.50 the first month!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bh
    Bhakti Pandya Sep 05, 2007

    I completely agree with you. Have you guys done anything to get your money back? We're you able to speak to someone about this? Advise smb!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jason Oct 05, 2007

    Yes this company is a scam company at its best! Buyer beware of special online memberships and other offers the offer you when you call. The will charge you, and their return policy is a joke. they overlap order/ship times to make almost impossible to cancel anything in time to get your money back. Be careful!!! SCAM< SCAM< SCAM!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jocelyn griffith Nov 02, 2007

    I, also ordered the hip hop abs for the entire amount of $64.72, but the 30 days later, I got charged for $43.21. For $43.21 for what!!! I payed the whole entire thing the first time. This is definitely a total scam, scam, scam. Beware buyers!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rahine Boggs Dec 20, 2007

    I bought the hip hop abs also and it said is was gonna bill me 3 months for 29.99 and they took 9o dollars 3 days later. I didnt think anything of it at first maybe they withdrew it and then send me three months worth of murchendise. Then 30 days later i got 2 more withdraws of 32.21 and 38.41. I canceled my card right away...

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harry Ng Jan 13, 2008

    They have a great scam going together -- I bought a product from BeachBody and made sure to uncheck the 30-day free subscription into their online fitness program (having read about all the complaints) but a subsequent email arrived from MillionDollarBody offering me the same 30-day free membership. I ignored it since I did not sign up for the program; the way I see it is that it was an offer made available. Well, it was charged to my creditcard 30 days later. Upon calling Beachbody, they said they could not help because it was charged by a 3rd party, i.e MillionDollarClub; indicating that they're not associated. I don't see how I can be liable since I did not authorize BeachBody to give my creditcard info to MillionDollarClub but my creditcard bank will not work with me on this. Shame on you Barclays for not taking sides with your customer!

    From now on, I'll just buy these same items through Amazon -- unlike most other companies (and banks), they DO take care of their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeff c Jan 16, 2008

    I bought the p90x, it was supposed to be billed in 3 installments. They were suppose to be $62. $48. last and finally $40. mysteriously i had an over draft fee of $180. from checking. Also my account over drafted 3 separate times from little amounts being taken, smell fishy i think so too.

    0 Votes
  • De
    deb w Jan 22, 2008

    cant reach them by phone
    charge of 38.87
    paid in full months ago.
    credit card company said there is nothing they can (will) do
    if I don't reach them tomorrow, I am calling the AG's office

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danielle Burnett Jan 23, 2008

    I joined Million dollar body 4 years in 2004,when it was Wowy just to workout in their online room, and over those 4 years I have purchased 4 different programs at 4 different times and had no problems, I signed up to be a coach just two days ago and I have a habit of always checking my credit card because their is so much fraud out their, and MDB took out only what they were suppose to. Also my daughter in the past had purchased products from them and no problems on her credit card at all, but if we did I would definitely would be calling the companys' support line, here's the number for you that may not have it 1-800-470-7870
    MDB really is an excellent company and their tools are great with a purpose of helping you to achieve your health and fitness goals. I am going to report what has been going on because that has to do with the reps that are taking the orders. A suggestion I would like to make that I mysef have done because of so much fraud ie. at my bank a teller stole my checks, I had them go to the bank for security reasons get that! then she proceeded to write a check for $2000.00 and sign my name I had to go to the police, they had to put a trace on it but if I didn't stay on top of it then I
    would not have gotten my money back because when I checked back with the police it was pushed to the side, it took awhile but they finally traced it and eventually she was fired! Who was at fault? The teller! Yes, I was upset with the Bank and almost changed banks until I heard a worse case with another bank, so a suggestion for all of you! aA prepaid debit card for online purchases or any purchases, Ijust purchased my first one a week ago it, that way they can only take out what I put on my card. You can purchase them at Walgreens or a better one is through Money Mart. It is a shame but with theft identity you have to do what will protect you. if you have any questions for me you can email me, just go to my site at www.milliondollarbody.com/baracuda and click email me. By the way I do not work for this company, I am only a member.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carla M. Pasley Jan 23, 2008

    I completly agree! I am being charged for their Million Dollar Club, even though I cancelled. They say that they have no record of it and that I am still going to be charged, so now I am trying to get my back to charge it back. They have the worst customer service I have seen in a long time. Beware!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarah Abrams Jan 23, 2008

    I bought Beach Body for my teenage daughter, looked like fun. They sent fat burning supplements which I had told them not to and I did not agree to the online membership, by the way they do not tell you how to use it. I tried calling for days and was unable to get through. My bank can not stop it because i used my visa debit bank card. This has cost me hundreds of dollars more than the original $144 that I paid all at once. If any one has any suggestions please post!!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sherry Taylor Jan 26, 2008

    I purchased the PX90 and agreed to the quarterly online subscription to Million Dollar Body. I called and cancelled this prior to the end of the three months, on September 17th I even received a confirmation number for my cancellation. This month I look on my credit card bill and there it is, another $38.87 charge on December 13. I called to find out why this charge was made, since I had cancelled in September, and they told me that they didn't have any record of me cancelling this order. They said I had agreed to continue and would call and cancel later!!!!! So I cancelled again, got another cancellation number and told them I was very unhappy with their service and I was reporting them to the Better Business Bureau.
    Another life lesson, DON'T TRUST ANYONE!!!!!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kathy Jan 30, 2008

    they are TOTALLY FRAUD. I GOT SCREWED!! 3 easy payments of 20 was 1 lump w/drawal and then conveniently 1 week after my return period..i got aANOTHER bill and at the end of hte month ANOTHER BILL... i called to complain and supposedly theyre investigating...hvaent heard back from them.
    of course.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Moira Feb 04, 2008

    If you listen carefully on the phone they try to add things to your order very sneakily. I declined everything they offered. I had the woman read back the total which I was going to pay and made her read back every product that was included. You can't be dumb about things like this or you will get screwed... but if you pay attention to what you're doing and know what you want you'll be fine. Just say NO anytime they try to give you a "free" add on, because they explain that you won't be charged for the first 30 days, but then you will.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peeps Feb 12, 2008

    I just received a charge of $38.87 which I did not authorize. They changed their name from beach body fitness to million dollar body. I am really angry about this situation!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    cody hanshaw Feb 14, 2008

    I have recently started perchasing items from this company, I have gotten the P90X and the hip hop abs videos and fortunatly have not had any problems. I was wondering though; aside from the finacial problems everyone has had with them, did their product work for you or did you just put it to the side and not use it because you were so angry about the charges.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Kristie Kessling Feb 15, 2008

    I got cheated too. They have taken out way more money than I agreed to pay. How can we get our money back ? Who can we report them to?

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Gloria Mar 08, 2008

    I wish 'd seen all these complaints BEFORE I got hooked into their infomercial and the desire to workout in comfort of my home.

    I too was surprized by THREE charges made to my checking account one month after the initial order was placed. I then pulled out the initial shipping receipt and read the small print re: the 30 day free trial offer and subsequent billing as wel as the 30 day trial for the vitamins.

    I DID NOT mark these on my initial order. When they finally get around to returning call several days after emial messages sent notifying them to stop charges immediately, they state that I marked these on my initial web order. NOT! I have no confirmation emails to show what I did or did not order bacause they are fabricating this information. Other reputable companies always send a confirming email as well as tracking info for the orders. Not this one.

    Calls to the listed #'s meet with hold messages re: long wait times and that you may do these holds/cancels on line. On Line references you to call the #'s that do not respond. NICE SCAM!

    Buyers BEWARE!

    Gloria

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    gibberspetersonyahoo.com Mar 17, 2008

    This is a totol pyramid sceme! The whole company is set up like "amway" but worse! I am a million dollar body "coach" and the company is designed to screw coaches a dn customers out of money by slowly draining them. $40 sign up fee, $15 monthly fee, $50 monthly volume, $45 quartly fee for club memebership all with the promise of paying customers. The reality... pissed off customers that send you emails to straiten out though a customer (don't)care center. Buyer beware --- coach beware.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kim Mar 24, 2008

    Its sad to see all the complaints about BeachBody/Million Dollar Body here. As with ordering anything make sure you know exactly what you are getting before you get off the phone with Customer service. Anytime I order anything from anywhere I get a order #, name of Rep and I write down the date and time I placed the order. If you receive a shipment that you did not order or do not want you can do 1 of 3 things

    1. Contact customer support at 1-800-470-7870. Be sure to get the name of the Rep along with your Return Authorization number (RA#) as well as the date and time of call.

    2. Anytime you order Beach Body programs you are assigned a Coach. Call or email your coach and have them contact CS along with you to cancel or return and item. I'm a Coach and out of a couple of hundred customers I have I've only received 2-3 calsl asking for assisitance.

    3. Refuse the shipment. UPS will have no choice to return it and upon recieving the returned item back they must credit your account. I would then follow up with an call to CS.

    As for as the legitimacy of this company or it being a scam if it were it would have been shut down a long time ago. They have great products that people are using to change and totally transform their lives.

    As far as the coaching opportunity it is one of the easiest work -at-home opportunities out there. I've tried many things and this is working for me. As far as the charges that the other coach spoke about These are the fees that to automate and help you run your business and they are in fact way lower than most other companies.

    I am also willing to help anyone with any issues they may be having - email me at bestmdbcoach(at)yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • Ey
    eyerishangel Mar 27, 2008

    11/23/07 I joined Million Dollar Message boards. $38.87 with a 30 day risk-free full refund guarantee.

    12/11/07 I cancelled this membership, received written confirmation that they canceled my membership and that no more charges would occur.

    12/18/07 Yet another charge of $38.87 to my credit card and I overlooked this. I didn't even recognize this happened until the next time they charged me in March.

    So not only are they only supposed to charge you quarterly they have now overcharged me and did this to a credit card that has expired.

    3/17/08 Another charge of $38.87.

    3/27/08 Spoke to Sky, one of their reps. He did not have a record of my cancellation. I provided them with the correspondence of my cancellation. He stated he found 2 of the three charges and that I would have to provide them with proof of the third charge. So when I tried to fax to them all of this their fax machine is either busy or does not answer. I called back and spoke to Sky again, he started to say that he actually located the original charge and that it was not within the 30 day period so I was not entitled to a full refund. I told him he better double check because I canceled it within 2 weeks never mind 30 days. He looked further then admitted they prematurely charged me so he will go ahead and credit me back everything. I will be watching closely for these credits to appear on my statement.

    Both this company and the credit card company are at fault. The company should have never charged me and the credit card company should have never let the charges go through since they were using an expired card to do it. The new credit card didn't even have the same CSV number on the back of it.

    There definitely needs to be more regulations for these types of transactions. The credit card companies fix the problem but the companies are getting away with it and so all that fraudulent activity gets charged back to the consumer via fees and interest rates.

    0 Votes
  • Ey
    eyerishangel Mar 27, 2008

    11/23/07 I joined Million Dollar Message boards. $38.87 with a 30 day risk-free full refund guarantee.

    12/11/07 I canceled this membership, received written confirmation that they canceled my membership and that no more charges would occur.

    12/18/07 Yet another charge of $38.87 to my credit card and I overlooked this. I didn't even recognize this happened until the next time they charged me in March.

    So not only are they only supposed to charge you quarterly they have now overcharged me and did this to a credit card that has expired.

    3/17/08 Another charge of $38.87.

    3/27/08 Spoke to Sky, one of their reps. He did not have a record of my cancellation. I provided them with the correspondence of my cancellation. He stated he found 2 of the three charges and that I would have to provide them with proof of the third charge. So when I tried to fax to them all of this their fax machine is either busy or does not answer. I called back and spoke to Sky again, he started to say that he actually located the original charge and that it was not within the 30 day period so I was not entitled to a full refund. I told him he better double check because I canceled it within 2 weeks never mind 30 days. He looked further then admitted they prematurely charged me so he will go ahead and credit me back everything. I will be watching closely for these credits to appear on my statement.

    Both this company and the credit card company are at fault. The company should have never charged me and the credit card company should have never let the charges go through since they were using an expired card to do it. The new credit card didn't even have the same CSV number on the back of it.

    There definitely needs to be more regulations for these types of transactions. The credit card companies fix the problem but the companies are getting away with it and so all that fraudulent activity gets charged back to the consumer via fees and interest rates.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    Irene Gifford Apr 14, 2008

    I have attempted to cancel my program with Milliondollar "body" or whomever they are 3 times... again I have been given a confirmation number and been told they would be crediting my account... I don't not trust them... the higher ups in the company obvioulsy have no idea what is happening or they are encouraging it... eitherway be careful... there are a hundred ways to get fit and lose wait I suggest trying a route other than this company!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Schella Padilla Apr 19, 2008

    I was very seriously thinking of joining Million dollar body, but after reading all the complaints, I've changed my mind. I can not afford to have a company messing with my credit card. If the office people are messing up, then they need to train better or hire smarter people, but at least they should take care of the problems.

    0 Votes
  • B
    B Apr 29, 2008

    I haven't had horrible luck with Beachbody/Million Dollar Body. I was a former BB customer who somehow ended up with Million Dollar Body. I haven't been oversharged for purchases and I have been able to get in touch with customer service but really had to focus on times they were available.

    I did sign up for the MDB Club for a while, but canceled it cause it wasn't overly helpful to me. However, when I double checked to make sure it was canceled several months later (because I still had access although I didn't think I should) they said that it had been canceled and their had been a glitch that was giving me access.

    I like the suggestion of the pre-paid debit cards. As a person who's suffered fraud before with my card it would be a lifesaver. Where is a really conveinient place to get those?

    0 Votes
  • To
    tom May 20, 2008

    i ordered p90x from beach body and so far i have only been charged the first payment. does everyone end up getting overcharged? i have the receipt for 152.04$ so if they overcharge i will get to the bottom of it...

    other than the financial issue, did anyone have a problem with their products??

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Jun 07, 2008

    "133 days ago by Pierre"<------this guy in another post says that you need Java Script running for him to help you. Why do you need Java Script running? What exactly are you up to? Soounds like its to activate some program you send by email.

    As far as the complaint goes I got the same thing almost. Got on the site and like what I saw and put in my info but found out there were more things to buy. Well my credit card I had in my hand would not handle the xtras so i was going to wait till I got home and use a different credit card. So I canceled what I was doing and about 2 hours later here is the charge on my card. Called customer service and they said its to early that its not in there system call back in a few hours. Not in their system? then how did it charge my credit card? So dont have time to wait around to call so I sent an email. Well that was just as good as the phone call. Got a return of yes we can add things no problem and send as a separate order. I respnde with wont this be more expensive? Yep sure will but your order is already sent thru UPS so we cant add to it. But you told me you could. And of course everytime i send an email its someone TOTALLY different sending me back an answer, so of course you get some totally different answer and they have no idea what your talking about cause they dont read the rest of the email below. Customer service sucks. Guess I will have to do like everyone else and cancel my credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lori Jul 14, 2008

    I have never had an unusual charge from Million Dollar Body. They are a business opportunity; in selling the product to others and then to become a coach if you want to go that route. You will be charged the monthly charge if you want access to their "community"...no different than Ediets..Weight Watchers or any of the other myrad of things out there.

    MDB is about fitness; letting you know that working out is the #1 way to get fit and keep the weight off!

    Beware of certain things; but I have never had a problem with any product that I have ordered from MDB!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patty Jul 15, 2008

    I ordered Slim in 6, and paid in full. . 30 days later I received more vitamins and was charged for them. I called the company, spoke with a rep who cancelled the recurring vitamin shipment and charge. Offered to refund the money, but I chose to keep the vitamins. It was a simple and quick resolution of the problem.

    0 Votes
  • Md
    MDBCoach Aug 01, 2008

    This is from Carl Daikeler's Blog. He is the CEO.

    ...Two things about that: (1) We had system issues during our growth which a few times triggered transactions that were wrong. It's complex, but something that we fixed 100% of the time once we found out it happened. Of course, the people who it happened to figured "what's this scam?" But 100% of the time, we have fixed billing mistakes. My family are customers. If this company was simply billing people randomly on purpose, that would mean I was taking from them too. Not cool. Would never, ever do it. (2) We just overhauled our order management system with a shiny new Oracle system. It cost millions (yes millions) of dollars and took two years to complete. It launched a couple weeks ago and solvd many of the patchwork fixes that had caused issues in the past.

    So while we cannot erase the internet of negative feedback on past glitches, we can constantly improve (it's a core value at the company) and hope that our commitment to 100% satisfaction and track record with answering all customer inquiries by giving the customer the benefit of the doubt will give people the confidence to use our system to get fit and healthy.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michelle Aug 13, 2008

    Funny that all this money was spent on a new system, but I tried several times to call and each time was told their system was down and to try calling back in an hour. I am now trying email, so we'll see if that works. I didn't even sign up for the reoccuring shipment program to begin with! And its funny how each month my charge on my credit card is different even though they are shipping the exact same thing.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul Aug 21, 2008

    I've been reading about all you winers. Boo hoo. Look, got to E-Bay and buy this stuff for 1/2 price, get what you want and then shut-up, do the work-outs and get a life! Please. have you nothing else to do?

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melissa Sep 20, 2008

    Beachbody is an incredible company. Please don't be slanderous because of what was most likely a glitch in the system or a mismarked box. There is a genuine care from the CEO and his employees for the health of our Nation. If you are on the fence about giving their programs a try, please do. They are the BEST around and will absolutely help you reach your fitness goals!!! Turbo Jam Rocks! :)

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jessie Sep 29, 2008

    I wish i had seen all of this before. Their website is kind of sneaky in that they charge your credit card at the initial order screen, not the confirmation screen like most other websites. Once you get started, there is no cancelling. I ordered on Sunday afternoon and have an order confirmation and shipping email first thing Monday morning! Boy was I suprised! I call to rectify the situation and all they can tell me is to return the product once I get it and then I have to eat the shipping charge (not to mention the interest on my credit card and the time and effort involed with getting an RA# and shipping the package plus return shipping cost). What a rip off!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charline Oct 01, 2008

    Actually... I lost 75 lbs using BeachBody products.. they do work. I will agree that they have had some customer service issues in the past, but I know this company is a good company. they did change to Million Dollar Body when they started a new coaching program. Every customer gets a free coach to help you with your program. Unfortunately, when they started MDB, they were 2 separate companies. They have since joined together and became Team BeachBody. This is really a great company and do not want to take your money. Please email Pierre so he can help you with any issues related to being charged for something you didnt want or buy. Character isn't built when things go right.. it's how they handle things when they go wrong. Give them a chance. i'm not saying they are 100% right all the time... but I know this is a good company with great programs. The American Diabetes Association agrees and has endorsed one of their new programs by Kathy Smith. Hopefully you guys will email Pierre and let them help you get things straightened out.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john Nov 13, 2008

    sorry but you people are pretty dumb...i just downloaded my p90x for FREE online so MDB can kiss my A$$!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danielle Nov 18, 2008

    I happened to stumble across this website while doing a search on google. I have been involved with Team Beach Body for the past 4 months. I am glad to see that the last complaint posted to this site was 255 days ago. My experience with Beach Body has been nothing but positive. The fitness programs and on-line tools and resources are amazing. I have only ordered products on-line and not over the phone. The process has been flawless everytime. No unwarented credit card charges, excellent email communications, and the products are delivered accuratly and in a timely manner. The trainers who create the Beach Body fitness programs are some of the best, most reputable professional in the fitness industry and have been for years. I have personally participated in a conference call with Beach Body's CEO, Carl Diekler. He is passionate, dedicated, and inspiring. He is genuinely committed to providing state of the art products, tools, and resouces to help curb the obesity epidemic that plagues our country. I am confident that the company has taken the necessary steps to correct any previous issues.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marian Nov 19, 2008

    Unfortunately I got scammed as well. I know their product work because I have people that have done it. However, when I signed up with them I told them I wanted to make the three monthly payments they charged me the full amount. Then when I called they said they would refund the difference to me. They never did. Therefore I mailed the products back to them and still haven't received my money. The only thing I can think to do is call the BBB on them and my attorney general!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beachbody Messageboards Nov 21, 2008

    Hi everyone!

    I am just updated this thread to thank people who have reached out to me for my assistance.

    I encourage everyone else who is reading this to email me, and I will personally respond back to you within 24 business hours guaranteed.

    My email address specifically for you guys is [email protected]

    Thank you for your patience everyone, and I apologize for any inconvenience.

    Warm regards,

    Pierre

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tina biery Mar 25, 2009

    I have been working out with Beachbody products since 2004. I have NEVER been scammed or led astray by this company.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem