Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Travel & Vacations Marriott International employee complaint-guest relations

Marriott International review: employee complaint-guest relations

V
Author of the complaint
6:06 pm EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

On march 11, 2009 I attempted to stay at your residence inn marriott in white plains, westchester county, and was treated extremely rude upon my check-in by your front desk clerk, eddie.

I have traveled to white plains new york seven times per year over the last three years. Each time I have visited white plains I had a pleasant experience. This trip I was extremely displeased by the front desk clerk's rudeness when I arrived. First, when I arrived there was a line of customers waiting. The clerk eddie, was chatting with one of the other employees. He was chatting loudly enough that we could hear the conversation was personal regarding his new motorcycle and vehicle. This conversation extended at least ten minutes, even though there were several customers waiting to be assisted. When it was my turn to be assisted, eddie did not welcome me to the hotel, nor did he use any courtesies such as please and thank you. He scowled, appeared irritated that he had to assist me.

I do intend to contact the better business bureau to file a complaint. As a former chicago downtown marriott employee from [protected] I truly understand the "marriott way," of professionalism, courteousness, and ultimate guest satisfaction. Eddie (front desk) should be seriously reprimanded for his rude demeanor, attitude, and unprofessionalism.

Now that you understand my experience, I am sure you understand why I am upset about my recent attempted stay at your hotel. I will not stay at your hotel when I travel, and I will book my reservations with an alternate location, since I am a priority rewards (hotel) member since 2006.

Sincerely,

Vashon mcintyre

Cc: jim vahajii-food & beverage director chicago downtown marriott
Stephen g. Marriott-vice president

ADVERTISIMENT
Update by VASHON MCINTYRE
May 18, 2009 6:10 pm EDT

HE IS RUDE

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Marriott International complaints & reviews

Marriott International - treatment of employees
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Marriott International - confirm appointment letter true or false
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Marriott International - employment
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Marriott International - fake 100& dont send the money!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
8 comments
Add a comment
H
Jan 17, 2022 12:10 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I’m staying at the Marriott Hotel in New York at 148 E.48 Street. When I had enter the building I was selected out of the people that enter the building if I was staying here as I was swiping my key pad with the key card to my room. I feel very discriminated, violated, hurt, shamed, embarrassed, and outed. The lady also said “ I can ask whoever i want or choose if they are staying here”. That was very unprofessional and made me very uncomfortable staying here. If you can accommodate me in any way that will great on my behalf during my visit staying here.

O
Feb 03, 2021 11:56 pm EST

Dear Marriott Customer Care
As a Physician providing services in a Hospital during Covid 19 Pandemic,
the General Manager Rebecca Irwin of Residence Inn San Marcos, CA has treated me very rudely, poor customer service and abruptly cancelled my entire years reservation.
I would like to file an official complaint and grievance against Rebecca Irwin and would Marriott Customer Care to take investigative and disciplinary action against her.
I have sent numerous emails to Marriott Customer care about Rebecca Irwin and they refer back to local hotel management who do nothing as they are want to just support each other.
I would like some one honest and ethical to look into the complaints of Rebecca Irwin of Residence Inn San Marcos and her rude and poor customer service

She abruptly cancelled 9 nights of my hotel stay and my entire years reservation as I had expressed multiple complaints against her

Sincerely,

O
Feb 03, 2021 11:55 pm EST

Dear Marriott Customer Care

As a Physician providing services in a Hospital during Covid 19 Pandemic,
the General Manager Rebecca Irwin of Residence Inn San Marcos, CA has treated me very rudely, poor customer service and abruptly cancelled my entire years reservation.
I would like to file an official complaint and grievance against Rebecca Irwin and would Marriott Customer Care to take investigative and disciplinary action against her.
I have sent numerous emails to Marriott Customer care about Rebecca Irwin and they refer back to local hotel management who do nothing as they are want to just support each other.
I would like some one honest and ethical to look into the complaints of Rebecca Irwin of Residence Inn San Marcos and her rude and poor customer service

She abruptly cancelled 9 nights of my hotel stay and my entire years reservation as I had expressed multiple complaints against her

Sincerely,

Here it is in a nut shell, We planned to have a local vacation at yonkers raceway with me and my fiance. So quite natural when given a choice to choose a hotel we choose the Marriott first. we decided on getting a suite at the residence inn. we had planned on just bringing up some food and wanted to go to yonkers casino. The only way we could afford to stay at the marriott is to make a reservation, because of high pricing and reservations discounted. I know that I'm not alone and this happens to many people who miss calling to cancel an appointment the reason why it's unfair to keep money for a room that has not been used is because the only way for lower income people to afford there rates in this time of economics is through reservations, so why should Marriot rob a low income customers that patronize there business, that's an oxymoron today because of the economy people are planning more local vacations. So there policy has to be more friendly towards people who really can't afford there rates is it that there bellies are getting to big to fit behind desk and it prohibits them from seeing the real needs of the people in the community.

View 0 more photos
S
Feb 20, 2011 8:59 pm EST

Well since this I see Ressidence Inn Mariott is not only rude with the guess is rude to the employes too because the just trust people they don't know how to do their job but is really good to make problems bewteen the employes for example : leads should learn how to treat the housekeepers if they have something missing on the room or something she will dress it with the housekeeper not with the other ones why they have to do this if they don't know how to do their job

N
Aug 28, 2010 9:47 am EDT

Marriott Tharaldson Hotel Inc WORST COMPANY EVER!...The company is being SUED because Gary Tharaldson STOLE $500 million out of the ESOP Employee stock plan! GM at the BEDFORD TX Town place suites is an idiot, starts a Hostile work environment and LIES to employees and guest!

http://www.cmht.com/cases.php?CaseID=82

J
Jun 24, 2009 4:09 pm EDT

This person is an idiot. Eddie is nothing but professional at the White Plains Marriott.

B
May 18, 2009 6:37 pm EDT

Cool it with the all caps. It makes it hard to read and is considered to be the online equivalent to shouting and why would you want to yell at any of us.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

208 complaints
47 resolved 161 unresolved

Marriott International contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
2025 Convention Center Way, California United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT