MagicJack.commagicjack order

C
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I impulsively ordered a magicjack after seeing it advertised online via cnet, pcmagazine and cbs news but then I saw an article about a lawsuit against the company and then info about it sending ads to your pc so I realized I did not want it. The confirmation email I got for my order said I could reply to make changes so I hit reply and tried to cancel the order but the email failed so I did some more research and found an email address for Rikard.[protected]@ymaxcorp.com and emailed him trying to cancel the order. After further research I realized there is no true customer support for this service or help. I am convinced this is a scam.

Responses

  • Os
    Oscar Urcuyo Sep 28, 2011

    PLEASE NEED YOUR HELP :

    For some reason or another I am not able to retrieve my messages from my mail box; an automated voice keeps telling me that my passcode is not correct; I never used a code number before and instead the only one I have used is the one that it was provided as an example : 1234*, but it keeps rejecting this information; can you please tell me what to do.
    My magicjack number is [protected]
    Thanl you

    Oscar Urcuyo

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    rubygirl Jul 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i have had magicjack since december and it never worked properly always had calls ended or very chopping you can only hear every other word someone says. i thought it was the wiring so i had phone company come 0ut and change all the wiring inside and out and they sold me a upgraded modem and still it doesnt work. cant even get a call out. chatted online with tech and still not resolved. Now magicjack wants 48.00 to try and resolve problem.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Schwartz Jun 29, 2011

    I have my magicjack since last October and everything was O.K. with my overseas calls. Last week when I was about to call Calif. I received a message on my screen instructing me not to place the call, wait 60 sec. for an upgrade and then proceed. After waiting for about 7 min. with no results I closed the window and just then received a message that the upgrading was completed. When I tried to call Calif. again there was no dialing and no destination number ring sounds. Instead, I saw the time ticking away as magicjack tried to reach the destination number until it gave up and instructed me to call another number. The same happened with other overseas numbers that I tried to place. What do I do now?
    Joe Schwartz

    0 Votes
  • Va
    vanessajv Feb 20, 2011

    I purchase two magicjack only got one on the mail place order on nov of 2009 got order in jan so what lost out on my 30day frit nameee trial. magicjack haven't work for nobody I know yet their
    prdouct doesn't stand up for it's name it magic plug in and no
    respone will write the BBB this doesn't make since taking money from people [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paulinej Jun 28, 2010

    I disagree with the negative complaints. I have mine for one year now, and the only issues I've had is if my internet is giving trouble. Also, they do have customer support, it may take a while to get through to them, but that service is available. My usb on my magicjack broke, and it was replaced, and all I had to pay was shipping and handling.

    Philadelphia Resident.

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    JChaz Jun 16, 2010

    OK...This is what I've picked up after reading through these comments...
    IF you decide to order...
    Expect poor to bad customer service...
    DO NOT PURCHASE the product online or over the phone...
    DO NOT give magicJack your credit card number...
    Purchase the product at a store where you can receive a refund...
    Make sure your computer is compatible and that you have the 'know how' to work out problems...
    Have the attitude that cheap is cheap and be tolerant of glitches...
    My feeling is to just wait it out and see how this product fares. I have enough aggravation in my life without spending 39.00 for a year's worth from majicjack.
    JCM

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kenda8458 May 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a Magic [email protected] about 2 to 3 months ago, let my receipt run out.My problem is why won't the Magic Jack work on Windows 7.If I can't get my problem solved I just wasted around $50.00 Dollars for nothing.E-mail [email protected]:[email protected], need help.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    MCApodaca Mar 15, 2010

    I have magic jack and for what I need and use it for it works fine for me. My local calls are through my regular home phone and my cellular service. Although I don't use mj much, it does pay for its' self.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roy Haug Feb 27, 2010

    the magicjack does not work. I would like to have my money back. thank you very much. roy haug 7712 rosestone lane, roseville, california.

    0 Votes
  • Ko
    korona burkitt Feb 23, 2010

    my is korona burkitt my magic jack is [protected] my e mail is [email protected] i like to renew my magic jack my home phone is [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ez
    ezekiel Feb 19, 2010

    I have had magic jack for about 3 or 4 months now and i really only have 2 problems. one is that i dont see the callers id on the phone only on the computer. 2 is that if i call up any company and they say (ex.) press 1 for operator it doesnt work, no buttons can be pressed while i'm on a call pretty annoying but i am managing for such a low price!

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laura F S Feb 13, 2010

    This magic jack thing is about to cause me a stroke! I tried it twice. The calls were breaking up badly. The help online is a joke. They do not understand anything you tell them. I think they are from another planet (a much lower life form). I returned both devices to the store and did get a refund. My problem now is that I still get voicemail on the magic jack number. I keep telling them I no longer own the device and to cancel my account. They keep saying it is done. "Why do I still get voicemail? "I ask." Well that is because it is still activated", they say. WHAT? "Would you like to deactivate it?" OMG! "Would you like to also deactivate the number?" I'm not kidding, this is how the online chat goes. Then they ask me to try the number again and it should say the number is no longer in service. Well, of course that is not what happens. I keep telling them the voicemail is still there. I asked for a supervisor. I was told "this is a supervisor, your problem is resolved". Then my chat was terminated by the so called supervisor. How RUDE That was a couple of days ago. I just called the magic jack number and guess what? Voicemail still active. So I changed the greeting myself to say, this number is no longer in service. The problem is also I am worried that they will charge me since my account apparently is not cancelled. I am so so so sorry I ever bought this thing. Guess I'll file complaint with BBB. Can't handle any more online chats. Can't find any other contact info

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brown1666 Feb 03, 2010

    I ORDER THE MAGIC ON THE FREE THIRTY DAYS TRIAL.I SENT IT BACK BEFORE THE THIRTY DAYS PERIOD WAS UP AND WAS STILL CHARGE 43 DOLLARS, I WILL LIKE MY MONEY BACK TO MY ACCOUNTI HAVE PROOF THAT I SENT IT BACK, I KEEP CALLING BUT KEEP GETTING THE RE ANSWERING SERVICE ITS A BIG RIP OFF

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    florentino rojo Jan 20, 2010

    wish working-call the magickack, OK you is payment it 11/07/2009

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    florentino rojo Jan 20, 2010

    the magicjack is not Working on the computer-Which I do.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JOHN H LEASURE Dec 18, 2009

    I HAVE JUST INSTALLED "MAGICJACK"!! TYPED IN [protected] FOR A 911 ACCOUNT??? DON'T WANT THAT ONE I WANT [protected] AS YOU PROMISED IN YOUR AD!! "KEEP YOUR OLD PHONE NUMBER?? " HOW DO I CHANGE THIS OR IS THIS JUST A SCAM TO BE SENT ON TO BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU???
    CALL OR SEND EMAIL [protected] [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • 63
    6345789 Dec 03, 2009

    I had very good luck with my MJ until I missed my renewal, while in SE Asia. There is no real customer support. The customer support that they pretend there is was just some nit wits trying to provoke. However, upon my soon to return to USA, I will bite the bullet and purchase a new unit as if a new customer and let bygones be bygones. It saved me a bunch on calls back to the USA and the savings are the bottom line. I will get units for my friends in SE Asia that need low cost phone communications to the USA & Canada. We're building a world and it is better for us to overlook certain nonsense.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wangomali Nov 27, 2009

    Many people are not aware of what there internet provider should do in terms of support

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julio Check Nov 26, 2009

    my screen shows magic jack, however there is no dial tone. And when I call it from my cell phone it goes to voice mail instantly...help me...Julio V. Check ... [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    BobbyJack Nov 18, 2009

    I have used Magicjack for a year, it's OK at best. When my original year ran out I was offered a renewal rate of $19.95 for another year. When I tried to use the link provided-www.mymagicjack.com there is no such option or rate. I feel like a real sucker and there is apparently no method to contact them directly.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john m carroll Nov 10, 2009

    my magicjack cuts in and out, when it works it works well. it does depend on the time of day i use the phone. i think it has to do with teaffic when i use it, i will talk to their techs for now. posted by john m carroll e-mail:[email protected] ALOHA!!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lid Mic Nov 04, 2009

    I do agree with the peoplethat had there comments. What do you need to do to discontinue the services. I told them that I didn't want there services they told me all I had to do is unplug the magicjack. I'm still recieving e-mail that I'm using it.It has been a little over a month.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    conrad hanson Oct 21, 2009

    I want to use my old phne # do I have to cancel old service to use #. Please let me know asap so I can regester the phone and start using to see if I like the product

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    MullyBoy Oct 19, 2009

    MagicJack works fine as long as you have broadband speed and it is not filtered by your isp and your computer is at least somewhat modern and in proper working order. Good call quality and a working phone number with Free LD for $39, what are you complaining about? HOWEVER, if you need customer service or tech support, you are out of luck because they suck when it comes to these areas. Also, DO NOT buy online, just pay cash at a Walmart, CVS, Radio Shack, etc. When it expires, throw it away and buy another - DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD INFO. Also beware, they are sharing customer numbers with collection agencies and select marketing organizations, the calls will start coming about 60 days after you first turn one on. Don't believe me?? Just register a MagicJack in some name only you know, then wait about 60 days, you will start getting calls for that person from telemarketers. Surprise :) Don't worry, just one or two a week, it's not that bad really. Again, it's $39, what's the problem.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kenie Sep 02, 2009

    Like every thing in life we have good and bad up and down East and west agree and dsagree positive and negative. I have two majic jacks I bought from radio shack I went to my hotel room use the hotel wifi and boom start calling folks in Kentuckey Florida and so on I tried calling the Bahamas but couldn't get through. I chat with a rep and he ask if my jack was registered, I told him no and he ask me if i would like for him to help me register inwhich you know it I said yes. We set it up paid some prepaid minutes he told me i was set to go, went back on the jack dial Bahamas and yes there she was as clear as the night sky. i'm a happy kemper i will by jacks for all my family because when you call jack to jack the call is free. Thanks guys you will save me a bundle and a load from my ever digging phone company.

    Kenny Boy

    1 Votes
  • Te
    TEXASJUNK Aug 30, 2009

    THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR COMMENTS. AFTER READING ALL THESE I WILL CERTAINLY NOT CONSIDER BUYING ONE ! THE POWER OF THE INTERNET ! YEA. KEVIN---*

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ralph DeMaio Aug 26, 2009

    If I cant work this out I will bad mouth to the best of my ability The ball our handis now in y

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ralph DeMaio Aug 26, 2009

    ralph demaio phone 561`7490485 do not get incoming calls have tried all of your remedies to no avail

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marica Jul 27, 2009

    I have purchased, installed and love MagicJack... BUT, suddenly I cannot call certain people who have call block on private numbers. Of course there must be some setting that I need to change, but no clue how to go about this.. and DAMN!!! There is NO TECH SUPPORT!
    OK.. great product, but lousy service. I had been telling family and friends how great this thing is.. now, I will be telling them differently. No TECH SUPPORT.. This is JUST WRONG!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MagicCrap Jul 08, 2009

    Well you can add me to the list of unhappy users of this service. My phone works most of the times but my call get dropped after about 30 seconds. We also had a friend who was getting calls from our MagicJack number every 5 minutes. The software did not show that the calls were made but I cannot doubt that they were indeed getting these calls if they said they were. I have removed my MagicJack phone line and I am going back to VONAGE, they have never let me down while I had their service for several years. If I were you I do the same, drop MJ and go to VONAGE.

    0 Votes
  • Jx
    Jxczzq Jul 05, 2009

    Too good to be true!
    Too much advertising!
    Too ineffective.
    If they'd get some technical personnel they might get somewhere with this concept!

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Clorinda Leon Jun 20, 2009

    [email protected], my MJ [protected], order # TS00570403, I bought on 03-28-2009. I am not able to use it, when I dial the tone keep going on and I can not make any conection, if I do it, the sound is so bad that I have to hung up, please help me

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bryon Jun 13, 2009

    I've had this product for almost a year and I own two of them. I amvery happy with the product in general. But, after reading a few of these posts I think I may be one of the lucky ones. For the people that are complaining about poor line quality or the quality of the call that is more than likely your ISP not MagicJack itself. But, with everything I know about this product the biggest CON is if you have to deal with is their support. If you chat with their support I'd give you a 1 in 50 chance of getting your problem resolved. I''ll give you a 100% chance that you'd like to report them to the BBB after the chat has ended. They will make promises they wont keep they give canned responses... I'm convinced half of them don't understand the English language and they don't really care about the problem your having. They seem to act like they are one of Obama's new Czar's "The Phone Support Czar" lol.

    As I said, I have 2 MagicJacks and I gave one to my sister. The problem is that all of the voicemail goes to the primary email account and not the email account of the specific phone number. They have settings under my.magicjack.com that should allow you to allow a second MagicJack to be the primary email account for that phone number and receive voicemail to that account but it doesn't work. It took me 2 separate chat sessions to get them to undertand the issue (I'm still not convinced they know what I'm talking about). I was able to escalate this to a supervisor and here is a the end of that chat session (45 minutes)with MagicJack. You read it and come up with you own conclusion. Do you think I'll ever get an email from them (rhetorical )... I've only removed my personnal information from the thread and anything starting with (**** are comments I couldn't resists)

    Jaden: Thank you for waiting Bryon.

    Jaden: Yes, you are absolutely right.

    Bryon: cool, can we fix it?

    Bryon: or change it.

    Jaden: I am sorry but we don't have any updates on this issue yet, this is the first time we have encountered this concern however it would be my pleasure to forward this matter to our Admins and see if it would be a great idea, (**** for people to get their own Voicemail, sounds like a winner to me****) and if it would be approved our engineers would just update our website or you could make follow-up regarding this request..

    Bryon: Ok, that's great but, I gave this to my sister as a birthday present and now I feel badly that she can't use it. Can we send this one back to you all and you all send her a new one in its place?

    Jaden: We can only do that if the device is defective. We can't replace working magicjack.

    Bryon Squier: Could you check with your supervisor and see if you could make an exception to this rule. I am a very happy customer and have had many friends look at and purchase your product base on my recommendation. I would be greatful to you all if you could accomadate this request.

    Jaden: Bryon, I am a Supervisor.(**** obviously he's the appointed CZAR****) What we can do is to submit this as a form of a survey or request to our Engineers and we will wait for the result if they would grant you this request, however if it wouldn't be successful please don't feel bad.

    Bryon: ok, please forward my request and I hope they choose to either fix the issue or replace the MJ. How will I be kept in the loop as to whether or not they decide to fix this?

    Jaden: You will receive an email if not do chat us back for a follow-up.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joy May 15, 2009

    I have had Magic Jack for 6 months. The calls are clear but calls are dropped in middle of conversation. Then it takes forever to reconnect with my call. I have never gotten a person on chat or found a number for them. If anyone knows how to make any contact please post process. Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Bm
    Bmengstrom May 13, 2009

    I love my Magic Jack! I have had it for over a year. I have a cell phone and Magicjack. Somtimes the call quality is a little choppy, but not bad for 20.00 a year!! if you need a perfect call go pay 50.00 a month. but for me my home phone is my secondary. also noticed a choppy sound quality when using Memory intensive progrmans.
    Also though about putting MagicJack on a secondary PC, that is not used for memory intensive programs. Check out magicjacksupport dot com. the site has a bunch of Great resources!!!

    1 Votes
  • Km
    kmccartney May 12, 2009

    I just purchased magicjack, I have a dial tone but unalbe to dial out.
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Km
    kmccartney May 12, 2009

    I have just purchased magicjack and have a dial tone but I am unable to dial out.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Soigne May 10, 2009

    I've had MJ for almost one year. It has been the most horrific year. There in minimal customer service and the little that there is SUCKS! Unfortunately, when they were running the ad that was 19.99 for the first year and 40.00 for the next 5 years, I got bought the hype. Now less than one year later, they are sending me messages that my account is about to expire. Of course there is no customer service number to call and correct this problem. Additionally, I am unable to make calls out. This is a new problem. The problem I experience SEVERAL times before was that I was unable to make calls or receive calls. When I had problems before, I eventually was able to contact someone via a CHAT. This ignorant person gave me instructions that ended with my entire phone call history and contact list being permanently deleted. The idiot did not tell me before hand what the end result would be. Said he was going to send a letter of apology and of course he NEVER did. Even if a product is bad, having great customer service makes it bearable. I currently get pleasure in referring people to Vonage and telling them about my experience with MJ!!

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack May 03, 2009

    Well, My unit seems to work fine. I've noticed a couple of time a slight pause in the communication, ( a bit of a lag), but not very often. This usually happened when my kids were on the other computer playing games and using up some of my bandwidth I think.

    It seems to be dependable so far, and I like the low cost part, (since I'm basically cheap).

    I've had no additional charges to my account, nor any pop-ups on my computer either. I'm just running windows XP, and internet explorer.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    jennifer vanbuskirk May 01, 2009

    I want you people to give me your phone number. I have given you my e-mail address and name and my correct password and you claim my password is incorrect. It is not incorrect. my name and e-mail address and password works fine on other websites so it should be right on this magic jack website. My magic jack phone is not working at all. Send to me your telephone number. My address is: Jennifer VanBuskirk, 5109 Winterglen Way, Antioch, Ca. 94531. My e-mail address is [email protected] Send to me your telephone numbers so that I can call your company of Magic Jack.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.