Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Auto Insurance & Loan Liberty Mutual Insurance tv commercials
More

Liberty Mutual Insurance - tv commercials

F
Author of the complaint
10:49 am
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Does the "man" who participates in the tv commercials, wearing the yellow shirt and with a large bird (emu?) have ANY self respect? How anyone who has even a minor amount of self respect could participate in such commercials is beyond comprehension.

For years liberty has run some of the most "male bashing" commercials I have ever had the misfortune to view and hear. It has gotten to the point when I see or hear one of liberty's commercials, I either change channels immediately, or hit the mute button. In most of the commercials, the male is required to appear in clothing best suited to be worn while performing yard work, while standing next to a well dressed female. Then of course, the male has been required to act stupid or make some simple-minded comment.

I equate the quality of service/performance/product a company provides with the quality of its commercials, Needless to say, I'd never have insurance from liberty. What I can't understand is why they'd have such commercials. Males purchase the majority of insurance. Why go out of your way to offend half the population and the majority of your customers. Male customers of liberty insurance, WAKE UP. Are you going to continue to be humiliated by liberty and not even know it?

I don't need to submit any photos/videos. liberty knows its offensive commercials (all of them).

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply
13 comments
Add a comment
M
Jan 12, 2022 10:49 am

I have never really minded the Liberty Mutual commercials that much because while yes, they are annoying, they're usually over so quickly that I don't have time to actually get annoyed. This has become a problem with their most recent commercial, however, because it means I don't have time to look away before there is a closeup of a very large black spider being dumped on someone's arm. I know I am not the only person in the world who has issues with spiders so I do not understand why the production team chose to include the closeup. I believe that commercial should be pulled from the air not just because it could potentially cause massive problems for the people like me who have spiders as a trigger, but also because it could be viewed by an impressionable young child who will attempt to also have a spider bit them to turn them into a superhero and wind up potentially being sent to the hospital or even dying. I wish I knew which channels to go through to make that happen because this is a very serious issue that goes beyond being just annoying and into very dangerous.

Helpful?
0 0
L
Jan 01, 2022 10:49 am

You have reached a new low with your commercials. Your marketing team is turning people off with your ads. I would not even consider you because of your commercials. The most recent ad with the spider crawling on the annoying character's arm was the last straw. I turn the tv every time they come on now and when thinking about getting quotes to change insurance... the annoyance factor has made you not make my list.

Helpful?
2 0
M
Sep 16, 2021 10:49 am

To be fair, they're all like this. I realized years ago that for some reason, insurance commercials hopped right on the "intelligence insulting wagon" of local car dealerships in their advertising models. Apparently in the marketing expert's eyes, we are all child like and need to be entertained or amused in order to buy a company's products, and I honestly don't know why they feel that way. Insurance is an iffy subject anyhow; I have no respect for most and realize that after the kiss your butt and love everything about you while you're actually buying that policy, as you hang up or walk out that door, they're hoping to NOT see you at all until the next payment is due, and if you do, for heaven't sake, have a claim, they'll do anything and everything in their power to pay you as little as they possibly can. So, that being said, they are not scrupulous from the get go. Geico started it, Progressive is by far the worst, but yea, Liberty Mutual is quickly making its way up there with Progressive as far as insultingly stupid and childish ads that do make me change the station or mute. I'd NEVER buy from any of the above, or anyone or any company that insults my intelligence. Maybe this is just the way we as a country are headed though; the dumbing down of America is a real thing that I observe daily.

Helpful?
1 0
J

Liberty mutual have brain dead commercials. Wet teddy bears?
Emu half dead jerk.
Who authorises thede foolish commercials?
They must be paid a loooot of money to be stupid.
Come on liberty. Dont take for as stupid.

Helpful?
1 0
L
May 07, 2021 10:49 am

How about firing your ad agency, STOP wasting $MILLIONS on stupid TV commercials, and use the money saved to actually pay out legitimate claims & provide real humans for customer service interactions instead of a robot with a "female" voice telling callers to go online or send a text message?

Helpful?
1 0
E
May 04, 2021 10:49 am

My parents and I are here deriding the Liberty Mutual commercials and agreeing that the "wet teddy bear" is a new low. Heck, bring back Zoltan.

Helpful?
1 0
S

Are your ads written by kids in High School? When was the last time you sold a policy to an Emu? When and what state licensed a wet teddy bear kiosk? Wow, and then you have an arrogant middle aged male walking around with his Emu selling insurance, got to be High School!

Helpful?
0 0
K
May 02, 2021 10:49 am

Their ad campaign has so activated my oppositional reflex, I now have a permanent cramp.

Helpful?
0 0

It appears to me that Liberty Mutual Insurance company is trying to bring on board an Emu that never relates to the public. It is a poor imitation of what the Gecko is in the Geico Commercials. I love the Gecko but I despise the Emu. There is nothing that brings in the public like a character that we all can relate to. The Gecko is heartwarming but there is nothing about the Emu that does anything for me. The wet Teddy Bear commercial is so stupid that I wonder why the man behind the cart would even consent to do it. The best commercial that I have seen is the actor who messes up his lines and then has to have it overdubbed. The overdubbing didn't match the movements of the actor's mouth which made it funny. I usually say nothing about commercials because they usually are funny and entertaining. The up and coming actor was the best. The kid inside the telephone is another terrible commercial.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Sep 16, 2021 10:49 am

Yes, or, you know, we could just cut with the stupid attempts to entertain an already adult crowd all together and, you know, just have good insurance that is affordable and has actual people available to help when you need them? In fact, if all of them would just stop with the incessant and obviously expensive commercials that should be on at children's show time hours, maybe insurance wouldn't be as expensive, at least maybe, right? If I want entertainment or a laugh, I'll go to Netflix or YouTube or whatever. If I want to see animals? The zoo or possibly a nice park setting. When I'm an adult who's probably going to overpay for a service I may or may not need? I'll just take mature people offering me reasons why I should choose them, not have a variety show shoved down my throat just trying to watch a football game.

Helpful?
0 0
T
Apr 30, 2021 10:49 am

Totally obnoxious, idiotic, and uninspired commercials. Their pathetic jingle, "Liberty, Liberty, " shows absolutely no talent or imagination. Please STOP, STOP. These tiresome commercials are unrelated to insurance (auto or otherwise) and do nothing to make me want to know more about them. Nothing (clever) here. Will never purchase.

Helpful?
1 0
S
Apr 30, 2021 10:49 am

I WOULD never buy their insurance if they think these stupid commercials will get them business

Helpful?
0 0
H
Mar 25, 2021 10:49 am

To Whom it May Concern,
I have an observation regarding your latest T.V. commercial. I believe the premise of the ad is to promote the idea that auto insurance with your company is "tailorable" to one's individual need, (i.e. don't pay for coverage you don't need). However, the "wet teddy bear" ad seems to me, at least, to convey a message that is completely antithetical to that idea. Obviously the man in the commercial wants a hotdog. Instead he is handed a Wet Teddy Bear. Hence, he walks away seemingly completely baffled and with what he clearly did not expect and certainly did not want. Maybe I am just stupid, but can you explain how this promotes the idea that you only pay for what you need at Liberty Mutual. If the ad is intended to be funny, believe me it isn't and in my mind turns people off. I would suggest that your ad people can certainly come up with something that at least makes sense to the average viewer. H.M. Stine

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

164 complaints
24 resolved 140 unresolved

Liberty Mutual Insurance contacts

(added by reviewer)
175 Berkeley Street, Massachusetts United States
ADVERTISIMENT