The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Intelius.com24 hour protect

J

I used intellius to locate the owner of a property, which I have done a few times in the past, but this time Intellius signed me up to "24 hour protect". I was unaware of this until I found the charge of 19.95 on my credit card. I cancelled this service immediately but did not get my 19.95 back and am absolutely furious that I entrusted Intellius with my personal information and they sold it to the highest bidder. There are numerous complaints against "24 hour protect", but I blame Intellius for selling me out without my permission or knowlege. Beware.
Joanna in Ca.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • Intelius's response · Oct 15, 2009

    If you require further assistance, please call Customer Support at [protected] Monday – Friday 4:30am – 9:00pm PST. We will be more than happy to assist you with your account.

  • Intelius's response · Jan 19, 2010

    It sounds like you have accepted a third party company’s offer that is advertised on the Intelius website. If you no longer wish to be enrolled in that third party company’s service, please call [protected] Monday – Friday 4:30am – 10:00pm PST. We will be more than happy to assist you.

  • Intelius's response · Apr 09, 2010

    If you select a promotional price on the Intelius website, you will also receive a free 7 day trial of Identity Protect. After the 7 day trial, it will convert to a regular subscription and bill out at $19.95 monthly.

    However, there’s no obligation. If you determine within the 7 day trial that you no longer want Identity Protect, you can cancel your service anytime, online or over the phone with a customer support representative.

    Please call [protected] Monday – Friday 4:30am – 10:00pm PST. We will be more than happy to assist you with your account.

Responses

  • Hr
    Hrimex Nov 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WARNING!!! DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE. ALL THEY WANT IS YOUR CREDIT CARD NUMBER AND WILL BILL YOU FOR SERVICES YOU DO NOT WANT AND DID NOT SUBSCRIBE TO. THEY ENGAGE IN UNFAIR AND DECEPTIVE BUSINESS PRACTICES AND SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN BY THE STATE CONSUMER PROTECTOR.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Legal expert Aug 18, 2011

    Intellius.com all consumers should get together and file a civil lawsuit against Intellius.com for infringing on your intellectual property: YOUR NAME IS intellectual property and you have not consented to them charging for your private information, therefore, they should pay you for all the fee they made on your name.

    0 Votes
  • StevenArmstrong Jan 09, 2011

    Dear Intellius Fraudulent Customer Support Idiot! Nobody can cancel a service that THEY DON'T KNOW THEY'VE BEEN SIGNED UP FOR!!! Kiss my [censor] and I will be filing complaints with the better business bureau come monday morning!

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    want2hurtintelius Nov 28, 2010

    REPORT INTELIUS.COM TO THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION!

    1 Votes
  • Wh
    who did it Mar 29, 2010

    Specifically signed for one time look up address. I ended up with 3 - three charges of 19.95 each for services not asked for . When i called, they agreed to refund the 2 months ID protect but said the other 19.95 was not refundable. Rip off company.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beth D Mar 03, 2010

    I have asked Intelluis to remove me from their site due to relatives having financial issue I have no control or ability to help with and they keep adding me back so I keep getting harrassing phone calls from different creditors looking for my relatives who I have no idea where they are or how to get in touch with them. This has been extremely harrassing since they leave rude messages and if the phone is answered they refuse to believe I am not in contact with these people.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Gracieschaos Jan 17, 2010

    every time I use the Intelius service I get added to this 24proplus. 24proplus takes the info used to pay for Intelius to charge me for there services. 24proplus charged my account $20.00 for a service I did not ask for.
    I made sure the second time around that there was no mention of them adding their services. Yet they still charged me serveral months later. I will no longer use Intelius services. And will report both services to the Better Business Bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Raidy Dec 22, 2009

    I had the same experience, getting charged $19.95 for 2 months. I've filed a complaint with the sheriff's dept. of San Bernardino County, CA.

    Karen Raidy
    Crestline, CA

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reitz Oct 04, 2009

    Ineed to change my email address listed with Intellius. where do I go to do theat?

    0 Votes
  • Bm
    bmwgal2002 Sep 25, 2009

    WHAT A SCAM. I signed up for a 24-hour Pass service for a one time charge of $19.95 and the company also charged me an additional $14.95 for a monitoring service I did not order. I tried to get a hold of the company to find out why they charged a service to my card that I did not order and it took 3 days of diligent calling to reach them. When I did, they said they will "cancel" the service and refund my money. 21 days later I still had not been credited.

    I called again and got a service rep who told me my account was cancelled but that there was no notes about refunding my money and since "I signed up for it" (I didn't know I had the monitoring service until was charged for it) they were not going to refund my money. When I tried to explain that I have had a monitoring service for years and would have NEVER signed up for theirs, I was mysteriously "disconnected."

    I am livid and am registering a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. UNBELIEVABLE.

    The 24- hr pass service I DID signed up for was a complete waste of money, the information was out of date and contained less information than I found just by doing a Google search for FREE.
    SCAM, SCAM, SCAM.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    SLHib Sep 21, 2009

    I also used for a reverse phone lookup and know I declined a protection plan. However, 20 days later a 19.95 charge showed up. I called; they said "it is clear that with the .99 option for the lookup it automatically enrolls you and you have 7 days to cancel." It was NOT clear; on the second screen when the information appeared I declined that program...and they still charged it. They wouldn't take it off; I cancelled and will strongly advise against using this company unless you want the monthly service.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chathamtara Aug 28, 2009

    I used Intellius to see some one and paid the .95 charge and then cancelled within my 7 day trial period, and the next week they charged my account $19.95 any way, and then tried to tell me I cancelled on the 7th day and that the money was non-refundable. This company is a crooked company and should be expelled from the internet business line.


    Jamie Williams
    V.C. Kansas

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jacquie Apr 28, 2009

    I have learned to never buy anything online. THIS COMPANY IS TOTALLY BOGUS, USELESS, AND WHY ARE THEY STILL ARE IN BUSINESS? WHERE DOES THE LAW COME IN? DOESN'T AMERICA HAVE LAWS THAT PROTECT CITIZENS AGAINST THIS KIND OF THEFT?

    DISGUSTING! Our representives may think this is chump change but to us 'little people' these scam artists are stealing our grocery & bill money. I am disgusted! F**k them!!!---Jacquie Bockius Yuba City, CA

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charles E Riley Apr 07, 2009

    I tried the 95 cent 24hour trial. Three days later I found out that I was being charged $19.95 for a subscription that I never authorized. This is a scam and I want my money back!

    0 Votes
  • No
    not happy Mar 24, 2009

    Same here. Call [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mp
    m powers Dec 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened to me, I noticed a 19.95 charge to my credit card after using their service one time. I never authorized any "identity protect" service either. I called my credit card company and filed a dispute and luckily they took the charges off.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whitney white Nov 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    me too! im about to rip them a new one!

    0 Votes
  • De
    debi whiteside Nov 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    same thing happened to me today.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul Petrozzo Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I used the Intellius service for what I thought was a one time charge of 19.95 and never agreed to a monthly subscription. My account has been billed 19.95 monthly for the last 6 months and can not stop it.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Burton Nov 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I paid for one telephone number search that was unsuccessful. I had no need nor any intention
    to request any other service from Intellius. I have now had credit charges of $19.95
    for four months of non-service. I deserve to have those charges refunded to my credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David Arwin McGrew Oct 31, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I never agreed to sign up for 'Identity Protect' services, yet my credit card has been billed $19.95 per month for the past 3 consecutive months. I only used their service in August for a total charge of $15.27
    in an attempt to locate an old hih school buddy with negitive results.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    wilhelmine watts-thomas Oct 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i used intellius for a phone number for 2.99 and now they have charged my credit card for a subscription i didn't order

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dottie Smith Oct 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Another 19.95 charge has been taken from my bank account. If this happens again, the better bureau will be notitied. I had better receive a credit onmy account for 42.85. I have authorized by bank to no longer honor your debits.

    Dottie smith

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joann Newcomb Sep 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think when you get these many complaints against a company the government should do something about it.This kind of information being distributed to anyone for a few bucks no wonder there is so much identify fraud out there and I wonder if the government is behind some of it.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sandra herman Sep 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    how do i get my money back an how do i cancel

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Martha Aug 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also just discovered two charges including an unauthorized subscription charge on my credit card. How do these people get access to credit card numbers? How many are there of us?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mary ellen Aug 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To whom it may concern: said company intellius withdrew money from my bank account, unauthorized.
    Thank-you for your attention to this matter.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    William Kerkau Aug 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I discovered a $19.95 subscription fee from Intellius.com which I have not enrolled. This is an unauthorized charge from my credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Jun 18, 2008

    Intelius is full of none sense!!! Do Not Use any of the Services With Intelius!

    The information Intelius provides is in complete and unsatisfactory for the amount of money they charge. Also, the customer service personal is ignorant about the services they have. The only thing they know is to tell you that is the following: “I am sorry but the money we've charge is none refundable." I think that this company needs to be checked by government officials and be fined for undelivered services or they should refund the money back to the consumers.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.