The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Family Dollarterrible place to work in

Review updated:

I am a current assistant manager with a family dollar store so I can't include too much info. Believe me, if I could work somewhere else I would. Which is sad because I have almost 16 years experience with this company. I have even been a manager before. However, the way things are done at this company is unreal.

First there is the payroll issue. They expect you to be able to get a ton of things done in one day even though you are there by yourself till 12 some days, have to give your cashier an hour break and have to stop and straighten at 4. That only gives you maybe 3 or so hours of actual work time. And they expect ppl to support their families on 30 hours a week if you are an asst... and maybe, if you are lucky, 15 a week if you are a cashier. Starting pay for a cashier where I am is only 5.85. You can't support a family on that. The only ppl that can work for that is teenagers and we can't hire them if they are under 18. They give you these hours and then tell you also that it is against policy to have another job.

As assistants they try and give you 35 hrs a week, but then if you are lucky enough to get a pay raise they cut your hours down to 30. Secondly, there is the company policies issue. Which is a big one. Write ups in this company are a joke. NO one is threatened by them because you get one, you sign it, it then just goes in your folder and no where else. Policies are broken in my store every day and nothing is done about it even though complaints are made to the DM almost on a daily basis.

There are so many things, I could go on and on. I have been left in the store with no employees all day and no one cared. They expect you to work like dogs and they treat you like crap. If you are below a DM, they could care less about you. They have no respect for you at all. I am a very hard worker, matter of fact, I am depended on in my store to get most of the work done even though I am only an assistant.

This company needs to start thinking about the people that are in the stores every day, making the money for them and start showing them respect.

Responses

  • Pl
    Platoscloset Nov 05, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ok, so I have to add my two cents because this what I see everyday. I am an assistant manager, have been for about 4 months or so. I was on the remodel team starting in March for 3 of our district stores. Mine being one of them. When I was on my last remodel, the manager of my current store whom remodel I had just finished called me and asked me to be one of her ASMs when I was done. I Agreed. Luckily she is someone I have grown close to and care for as a parental figure or I would have quit quite some time ago. Anyway moving on...This store was a mess when I came in to do her remodel, people had spray painted everywhere in the party section, stuff everywhere. The demographic is predominantly lower class to poverty areas mostly Hispanic. I had heard bad things about the quality of the store when doing the remodel, but after talking with the manager, there seemed to be a clear sky up ahead. In my 4 months of being here have noticed one particular employee (who was useless when I was around her for the remodel) steal company time, piddle fart around forever or disappear, call out numerous times or not come in when needed, mind you she is also an ASM. She doesnt have a car and she cant go to the bank, she was made an asm for whatever reason I have no idea. Long before my manager though. She was making more than us other two, and she did and does nothing. Just found out she was trying to buy drugs while on the clock, from a customer. She always comes up short on the deposit when it happens. She always has some drama going on, she is rude to the customers, and writes nasty things about them on the task list as excuses for not doing her work, or just to complain. She has been witnessed by corporate, at the times of their visits, and even mentioned by them, about her being useless, she has been written up 4 times and the last for insubordination. She can get away with murder, eat and drink stolen merchandise throughout the store, try to buy drugs on company time, doesnt do anything and makes me and my store manager and now( a decent ASM that we have) have to work harder than we did before and pick up her slack. She cant fire her because we have been through like 10 cashiers and an ASM in the last few months. They go through the process, get hired, then quit?!?!? Are you kidding me?!?!?! I dont know what to do, I cant leave my job because there is nothing for me at the moment but its just insane. We are one of the biggest stores in our district and have roughly anywhere from 800+ piece trucks to 1500 weekly, and they expect us to get all of that worked, plus push these stupid candy bars or else..., plus all of the regular things we have to get done, short handed as everyone has stated, all these hours but probably having to be on the register and being called up every five seconds to check someone out with maybe 5 items. I cannot believe the work load with the expected time of accomplishment. I have worked for retail about 10 - 12 years and this is by far the most insane one thus far. The amount of work they want you to cram into a 8 hr work day or less with the crazy, drama, technical issues we have at our location on a daily basis?!?!? Someone is smoking some crack, seriously.

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    Jmfsaldana Feb 03, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I worked for Family Dollar in Abilene, Tx and ended up quitting. . I was hired as a cashier. There was only 2 of us running the store. Myself and my manager. I worked 17days straight before i got a day off. And that was only because she decided to hire another cashier. We had asst managers from other stores coming to work as well. Several of them had suggested that i apply for asst manager. Spoke with my manager about it and she was all for it and said iwould be great for the position since i do almost everything that the asst would do. She also said that she guaranteed me the position. Two weeks went by and im beginning to hear that her and our DM hired an outside asst manager. Yes i was very pissed. Why say one thing and go back on it and not tell me anything. I know that onne of the things she told me before i had started working was that "We here at family dollar hire from within. If a position is available and you r interested by all means do talk to me about it and we will train u if needed for the position " That was obviously a lie. On top of that i was still assisting with unload of the merchandise truck because apparently the asst manager they hired could not lift anything over 25lbs. Also i was closing every night with this asst ans at that I had to train her as well!!! What in the hell!!! And still making cashier wages! When my son had to have emergency surgery i called to let her know what was going on and her words were "so you're not coming in"... Um really? The following day i called to let her know i would be running behind since my son was being released and she said "well ok" I get to the store to clock in and the asst manager tells me "Cxxxxx said not to allow u to clock in. Im sorry. I guess go on home and she'll call you later" Apparently my sons surgery and well being is suppose to come after a job. Um no not happening!!! At least not with me! Anyways after the asst told me that i was beyond pissed. She could have just told me "dont come in" when i first called instead of me having to leave my ill son and go up there for nothing. Well i called her at the store the following day before my shift and no answer. Mind you.>>>>>>"WE DO HAVE CALLER ID AT THE FAMILY DOLLAR I WAS WORKING AT" i called 4 times ten minutes apart. Finlly i decided to call blocked and this time wait 20 minutes before i called back. Well what do u know she answers. When i asked what the deal was she tells me she feels that i and our asst are up to something but she just couldnt say what. Lmao um ok lady. Anyways i started to notice that the work our manager was suppose to have done was not getting done and she would tell us before she ended her shift. "I need these things done TODAY" It was a pretty good long list. And when we couldnt finish up boy she would write us (myself and asst) up. It was crazy. The woman herself was crazy. This manager has been reported several times yet nothing has been done about. Not only is she hateful and rude to employees but to customers as well. As of today i heard from another asst who has been working at that store that Cxxxxx has no workers. The other ones she had all quit because they were tired of her bs. She really took advantage of not just myself but the other as well!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    BlackShay Aug 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My 12 year old son asked to use the rest room at the store. The manager told him that the bathroom door was locked. Upon checkout my son still hadn't had the chance to use the restroom. I asked the manager why and she said that she had to moniter the cash. But there was another employee in the store. So in retrospect the manager chose not to let my son use the restroom. I am very upset about this incident. I feel as if my son and I should recieve the upmost respect.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Natalie Roberts Aug 01, 2016

    She never took the phone. The gentleman thought she forgot the phone and she told them it was not hers.

    -1 Votes
  • Na
    Natalie Roberts Aug 01, 2016

    Oh never mind. It is hard to understand what this person is saying. However go easy on them. This person is obviously young and you can tell.

    -1 Votes
  • Je
    Jenias Aug 01, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    OMG and folks wonder why bad things happen to them. How dare you people talk like that. You are pretty uneducated yourself calling someone a ###, who even uses that term anymore? Who knows what the full story is but dang go easy on a person, you don't know her that way. Read your Bible folks, God doesn't go easy on those who judge.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mamma deroe Aug 01, 2016

    I was when to check out, and the rude cashier told me that she was close and to go to the other side, so I did.. And when I, she then said, to step back because, A another customer was before me. So, I started to play with my cellphone. So, finally I was next and put my phone on the counter and then in my pocket, cashed out and started to walk to the out until I saw some sunglasses. I looked at them for a few minutes and then head out.. When I was outside the store a young man, said accuse me miss, but here is you phone you left on the counter.. I told him it was not mines and I will take it to Sprint, so they can find the owner of the phone. I went back to that same store to purchase some seasonal salt and one of the workers approach me and said I sold her phone and I tried to get it activated, so I ask them to please let me see the tape, and the said no. I asked them to call the police and they said they have already made a report. So, I decided to call the Sprint store where i dropped the phone off and the Sprint sales person, said nobody has called in for the phone or called to andy Sprint company and report it missing... I SAID, WOW. Then I ask the family dollar personal, why did they lie, cause they never called the police nor any Sprint store or company... Then she said, O, my dad call not me, Wow, another lie. So, I am catching them in one lie after another lie. And when I told her she was not being honest, she then said, I don't want to talk to you anymore, cause they have to watch out for black people like me who steals, and she went in the back store room and close the door in my face. 0

    0 Votes
  • Iu
    Iuturna May 02, 2016

    Family Dollar is the WORST company to work for. I worked there for almost 2 years. I started as a cashier and ended up as an assistant manager. This company could care less about their in store employees! I was frequently left to work 8-10 hour shifts alone with no other employees in the store to relieve me for a break, all under the excuse that there was not enough payroll for more employees. Our store only had 5 employees! We had constantly changing management both in store manager and district manager. We couldn't keep any regular employees on staff because many would only get about 12 hours a week.The managers left all the work for the assistant managers on staff and rarely showed up. The assistant managers ran the store with barley any training, we were all self taught! Corporate is also VERY paranoid about employee theft. They are constantly thinking employees are stealing from them. If we scan too many coupons, the EMPLOYEES are somehow committing fraud, if there are a lot of customer returns the EMPLOYEES are returning fake items, if inventory is off the EMPLOYEES are somehow stealing the stuff. Yet the company is surprisingly lax on customer theft, ALL cameras are trained on the employees areas there are no cameras on shopping areas, we are openly trained not to keep an eye on suspicious customers, they somehow think saying hi to customers and anti-theft tags will deter them! In the end they will find a reason to fire you if they want. I was one of the last full time employees and they told us that our store had SUSPICIOUS inventory levels and ended up letting us all go and hiring all part-timers.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer36628 Nov 19, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The whole staff at the Family Dollar store keep complaining about the Manager who is Spanish to young to Manage the store and she doing Hard Labor during Manager work hours.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer88439 Oct 17, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    the cold foods have a time limit which is about15 minutes.but was out 2 hours or more.it was covered up by mangers higher up

    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • We
    Wendi Cowing Glenn Sep 20, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I sincerely hope this gets read. I'm a new employee. Twice already, when my drawer was counted down it was short, once by $13 & also by $80. The $13 my mgr found in his Petty cash which I'm not allowed to touch, the $80 was found stuck in the dropbox. Although, all monies were found, my mgr reprimanded me cuz the correct amounts weren't entered into the computer & threatened my employment with the company. I've been there 2 weeks only part-time. Perhaps that's why the Manton, MI store has lost 5 employees out of 9 in the past couple months... Plus the Mgr calls 3x's in half hour mad cuz I wasn't available to answer his call on my day off. On my return to work, I was rudely asked if I was still an employee of the company & I'd better start answering his phone calls. One night I was at Ladies Bible Study with my phone on vibrate, my phone went off FIVE times in 3 hours. It was my manager, he so mad cuz I didn't answer his call & that if I wasn't available at that number, I had better provide him with an appropriate number that he could reach me. This is Very unexceptable for a part time job & extremely rude behavior. Not a very good role mode as a manager or a person to look to for guidance. I'm very disappointed because I really enjoy my job as I have over 15 years of retail experience. I hope this situation gets addressed. Thank you.

    -1 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer99572 Sep 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    No help from "help". I ask where are razors? She points in general direction. I'm in aisle, still not noticing, same "associate" walks past me and still no help. Why are family dollar store employees so rude? Been that way along time

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer42582 Aug 22, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I walk in the Family Dollars Store in Rayne Louisiana and I spoke Good Morning and not one of the cashier or workers spoke back to me they kept on talking they also been buying up all the new food item The customer do not have a chance to by the new Item.I think it was very rude.I like shopping at family dollars store and I love their prices it is very reasonable all my children love shopping at Family Dollars Store.
    Sincerely a concern customer.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruth and Kevin Jan 17, 2015

    That won't work if they got the dollar store cookie. I have a feeling that is what they got the dollar store brand of their imitation of Oreo cookies.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruth and Kevin Jan 17, 2015

    I am sorry your cookies did not have a lot of "felling" in the middle. You get what you pay for though. Also those are not Oreo cookies they are just cookies with "feeling" Oreo is a brand name.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruth and Kevin Jan 17, 2015

    They probably won't give it to her, i have a feeling she bought their cheap dollar brand cream cookies, not the same as oreo, they are made like oreo's but from their own company so they basically got what they paid for.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mommabeeps Jun 18, 2014

    I worked at family dollar for 3 months as a cashier. It is my understanding that the managers are supposed to have the schedules done and put up by Friday. So when I went to work on Friday the schedule was not up yet, went to work Sat. still no schedule up, Sunday same thing. I usually have Mondays off so when Monday came I did not go to work, figuring I was off as usual. No one from work called me saying that I had to work or if I was off, nothing. I called my manager later on that day and she told me I was suppose to be in the store working. Wow! I guess I'm suppose to be able to read minds now too??! So I asked her what days I am working for the week, she told me to come in the following day ( Tuesday). I went in Tuesday, got there 10 minutes early in fact, only to be told by her that it was my last day! When I asked why, she told me it was because I was taking too long at close to do my money count. Sounds kind of ###ty to me. I think the REAL reason I was "let go" is because she wants to cover her ### for not having the schedule up on time. If it was because of the money count being too slow why didn't she tell me before now? Why lie? I guess I'm glad I'm done there, yes I liked my job but an employee should not have to guess and call in from day to day to see if their "suppose" to be working or not. It is the managers job to get that schedule up. I was just trying to work and make a living, I tried to do the best I could. Maybe I was slow at the money count, I would rather be slow and sure than fast and mess things up. Whatever, live and learn! My advice to anyone that is considering a job at Family Dollar, look elsewhere! Its not worth it.

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    schickie Feb 03, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Does a little snow keep your store from opening in the morning? I walked down in light snow and waited along with 10 other customers to open, no one came to open the store. Your store sucks. I had to leave and go to rite aide in town. Why didn't they build a different store then yours like a wawa

    0 Votes
  • L0
    L007 Nov 17, 2013

    They are very unethical they will change one's hours on a whim without notice.

    0 Votes
  • Dl
    Dlynn01613 Sep 16, 2013

    Today 9/16/2013 I went into the Family Dollar store in Hemphill Tx. It was a disaster. You couldn't get down the isles. There were no buggies cause the employed has merchandise in all of them be cause it was there delivery day. And the blue carries were all over the store down isles and blocking isles so it was hard to shop. Then to make matters worse there were open empty boxes everywhere. Iv been doing business with this store for the last 10 years and in the last year it has really gone down. When I use to go in there I was always greeted and even on truck day the employees would ask if they could help find something or if I found everything I needed. Not anymore. The manager is always outside it on her phone and there's usually only one cashier. When you ask them to call for help, they look at you crazy and tell you the other ones there are busy. From now On I think I'll do my business at Dollar General or make the drive to Pineland to their Family Dollar.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Wilfredo velilla Jul 06, 2013

    I got fired for stopping a shoplifter and someone call the companies and made a complaint they family dollar didn't even back me up after eigth years of service no loyalty.ill broke my back for that company at store 5305 in Albuquerque New Mexico .The RVP ken didn' t even care I'll didn't get my vacation paid Thank you for taken my comment.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Wilfredo velilla Jul 06, 2013

    Family dollar doesn't care about any body only the money it being in.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kimmy smith Jun 13, 2013

    well, where do i being. there is a new "boss" & DM. the boss is well, u get write up for this write up for that write up, write up, my god get off the freakin write ups. she thinks she is to good does NO WRONG & comes in with an attitude so big that so many CUSTOMERS have complained about it to the DM, HR & yet the only thing they can say is that someone must be setting her up.REALLY are you REALLY that BLIND. but i guess the only way you can be in this company is a>>>>>> so be it but i guarantee it u will loose a lot of customers due to the CUSTOMER DOES NOT LIKE >>>>>> employees starting from the DM ON down. the boss TREATS the employees like they are 3 yrs old, REALLY she puts them down in front of the customers, calls them liars to there faces but when she was called a liar from the DM well that was ok they were just singling her out. REALLY do you think oh i don't know MAYBE because she is one. she wants the employees to show her respect well the way i was touch growing up was you HAVE TO EARN IT & i don't see that with her. oh ya then there is the DOUBLE STANDARD RULES i was in there the other day when the BOSS was chewing out the asst. mtg.in front of customers saying you can not eat, drink, etc. on the floor any more but then turns around & DOES THE EXCITE same thing she told the asst. not to do. WOW i just couldn't believe what i just saw. so just to say if you loose the few good employees you still have then when they go there will be a lot of regulars going with them because WE WILL NOT PUT UP WITH ATTITUDE EMPLOYEES we will take our business elsewhere & i'm in the store everyday spending $50.00 +, but i guess your so called company don't give a flying rats butt ( putting it nicely) what your REAL CUSTOMERS REALLY THINK.

    1 Votes
  • Be
    Beja' Mar 02, 2013

    I have a question is there a Company policy book that an employee is to read to know all of the do's and don'ts? My daughter worked for Family Dollar and they wanted to clean house. She was told by her manager as she was unloading the truck at 6:00 am that they could get water or a bag of chips and pay for it later as they were working. Then the LP guy comes in and says I'm sorry you are fired for grazing which in fact that she had paid for the food and drink just not paid for at 6:00 am. Another thing is that they told her that they had just made up the rule the day before she was fired that no employee was allowed to get drink or food until it was paid for. Now I'm sorry but I do believe that they got the cart before the horse. In my opinion if you want everyone to be on the same page then you should have a policy procdure book for all employess have them read and sign it and then if you catch them doing something wrong it's not because they didn't see it in black and white for themselves. I have alot of problems with this establishment and definitely think they should take the name Family out of it as they could care less. Luckily she has family but there are so many people that end up on the streets for jerks like this.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    daisy s Dec 19, 2012

    Entre las 11.30 am y las 12 .00 pm(medio dia) en el store 8365, situado en la 108 sw 72 ave. fuimos acosados y maltratados por una empleada en la caja registradora. La empleada no dio su nombre, pero es joven, rubia, de acento dominicano. El video muestra que esa grosera empleada no esta elegible para trabajar com publico, es agresiva, violenta y carece de educacion minima. En esta oportunidad no tomare mas acccion. Mi nombre es Daisy Spengler, mi # de telefono [protected]). Muchas gracias, ! Feliz Navidad .I

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Miss Clarke Dec 12, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't feel bad employees have to get checked ever time they clock out I hate it from the service to the discrimination I to am pregnant and I quit I hope Family Dollar lose business there very unprofessional

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Luis Miguel Nov 12, 2012

    Family dollar in 401 NE 125th street Miami FLorida provide poor customer service . customer stealing from the store and there is discrimination on the store

    0 Votes
  • Me
    mercenaryace91 Nov 03, 2012

    Family Dollar sucks. Everything everyone said here is true. I wasted my life for a year in that store to be fired on stupid ###. I had low transaction average for two days in a row. Loss prevention came in and accused me of sliding or stealing basically. Never did. I told him what had happen that the store was slow those two days and at most my sales were $15 each. No he was dead sit on accusing me of stealing. Told him if there was a hidden camera over the register that he should review it and he would see I have not stole. Nope he just ended the interview as he called it. Then 5 minutes later my manager fired me. She said there was nothing she could do. I slammed the store keys down and went out the store but not before telling that district manager and customers to go f*** themselfs. f*** Family dollar. Now I don't have a job cause of ###.

    2 Votes
  • Ki
    Kirbeke Oct 31, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Family dollar on mercer-columbus road in macon, georgia is very unprofessional. I shop in family dollar nearly everyday. And on this day the manager walk up to me and said please don’t do nothing crazy cause i can’t stay in this area. I say what you mean she say you know. I say what steal she say yeah. I told her don’t try me like that i am a grown woman and there is nothing in family dollar i can not pay for and i would appreciate if she get out my face. She said i am not trying to be rude its just that you have a big pocket book and i can not make you leave it at the counter and walked away with a nasty attitude. She liked to got her but slapped thank god i am mature. But family dollar need to train their staff correctly cause that can get someone hurt and because of that family dollar has lost my business.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Becca R Oct 04, 2012

    It isn't your place to tell the manager how to run his store. You have the ability to shop elsewhere if you don't like it.

    I do find it funny when people say they are loyal customers but one incident and they are quick to slam the store, the management and everything about it. Loyal customer, I doubt. Fair-weather friend, more like.

    The store was obviously fine and fit your needs until you decided to get into an altercation with the manager. The merchandise in the aisles, the mess etc never bothered you before. Why now? And why over react in such a way?

    4 Votes
  • Brenda's Mom Oct 04, 2012

    My precious little Brenda is not a dog. She is a human being. Or as Bill Croelick puts it, "just plain Brenda".

    -7 Votes
  • Ju
    Jules C. Dante Oct 04, 2012

    I WAS a frequent shopper at Family Dollar # 835, spending between $40 to $80/week. I had a rather full shopping cart -- pet food, snack food, candy, gum, etc, , last week. I was fourth in line at the only open register. The manager(?) and his entourage of workers were behind the other register; he could not avoid noticing that the line was backed up, yet he chose to ignore that fact. Finally, I pointed out to him that he SHOULD open another register. He told me that he was capable of managing HIS store. Of course, I retorted that apparently he was incapable, judging by the way he ignored us. I shall not go into the details of what ensured, except to say that I no longer feel welcome at this store. I might also add that usually the aisles are unkempt and often crowded w/ unopened mdse. Add to this the fact that very frequently, the store is out of daily items we wish to buy. Now! I have vented; the "ball" is in your court. Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Mz
    mzme91 Jul 12, 2012

    f*** family dollar I put in over a year of my life with these ###.I worked at store 33192.I was technically fired over stupidness.I told my manager of a specific problem I was having with a coworker he brushed me off..I told him over 5 times what was going on and he still proceeded to brush me off.So me and this specific coworker got into alittle disagreement (it wasn't big at all)..my manager warned me, wrote me up 5 minutes after, then sent me home.The next day 10 minz into my shift he suspends me for it and in the middle of my suspension he calls me in and fires me.I will never work for this company ever again.I was at one point a csm until they took the position out of fd they promised me my 30hrs n my lil 7.40 well they lied.I started with 30 then it was 20 and lower.My manager tried to get me to sign a blank termination slip..I could go on for days but I do tell y'all to stand up for yourselves.These people never gave breaks or anything ..f*** FAMILY DOLLAR AND EVERYTHING THEY STAND FOR!!

    3 Votes
  • Id
    Idocare Apr 06, 2012

    What did the cats eat?

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    tricia1965 Apr 06, 2012

    The Family Dollar located in Newark, Ohio on East Main st is always messy and dirty with stock sitting all over the store waiting to be put on the shelf. The manager is always walking around with the phone or standing there with his arms folded like he has no clue what needs to be done. I have been a long time customer of this store and now go clear out out of my way to go to the other two stores or just go to dollar general. The managers name at the East Main St store is Marshall and I have never seen this stor look like this until hge became manger there. The brand of cat food that I buy at family Dollar was not on the shelf for an entire month! I hope this matter will be looked into. someone just needs to stop in the store for an inspection with the manger even knowing. Hope it happens soon before the healthe dept has to become invloved.
    Thank you for Your time,
    a family dollar customer

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    babyjane22 Aug 10, 2011

    Hey guys, any information is very helpful, thanks. I only worked with a mgr. and a 3rd key. I'm not sure why the mgr.lied we all got along great.Quality control guy came in on a Tue.nite and i was terminated that weekend, maybe it was because she hadn't written me up! I don't know.I was a closer every nite, they should have let me know at the end of my shift if i was over or short.The reason i need the handbook is it will help me fight for the answer i need, not only for myself, maybe others too. Something dirty went on in that store.I may not win the war but i will sure fight the battle.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    babyjane22 Aug 05, 2011

    This mgr. lied and said she had written me up 3 times and i wouldn't sign them.[that just did not happen] I need someone to tell me why i can't get them to give me a copy of the termination paper. Three letters to corp. Had them to investigate, but you know how that turned out. I'm not going to stop until i get the answer i want. Anyone out there in Macon Ga. that can help me get a DG. handbook. Please, e-mail me at [email protected]

    -1 Votes
  • Wh
    where is the Family in FDS Aug 02, 2011

    DM can go to another store talk about another store manager or employee that is not any ones bissness but the DM and who ever she/he talked to about their PIP's.But if you talk about company policies you get in trouble.So really who can talk and who gets wrote up us the employees .DM's are nothing but two face troublemakers, liers, ect.And another thing how many of you get discharged, fired ect and you go to get unemployment and the fight you for it don't we work for this and FDS fights you for it.Really do we have rights can we get on with a real life without DM's and CORP. fighting us to get on with our lives.Who many of us been thur this BS. I use to love FDS but being a store manager then an asst. manager you work your ### off for more BS after they fire the good ones and keep the ones that don't do nothing but come to work just for the pay check.

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    babyjane22 Jul 28, 2011

    I worked for DG for 2 mo. and was terminated for over/short policy.No verbal or written warning.Dose anyone know the policy procedure? Can't get any paper work from them. Babyjane22

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sonja1 Jul 19, 2011

    This is so true about Family Dollar. I worked there 18 yrs and one day LP came in and decided to just up and have everyone fired. No reason other then inventory didn't look good. Tell me how employees did anything with cameras taping the front and back doors. It's just their excuse to get rid of you and hire someone in cheaper. Anytime they want to replace someone for whatever reason they use the excuse inventory was bad. Everyone that was fired was there many yrs. 18 for myself 14, 11, 10 for the rest. This is a well known tactic that they like to use. Also since we got fired we did not get our vacation pay since H.R. said we did not give a 2 wk notice or leave on good standards. I asked how do you do this when you get fired? We now collect unemployment which they tried their best to stop. They tried appeals after appeals and loss them all. Unemployment knew they didn't have a reason to up and fire all of us like they did. Everything I have read on here so far is true that ppls are posting. Family Dollar does not care about their employees at all.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.