Etsy.comgrow up etsy admin. and start behaving like professional adults

U
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

There are random, unpredictable rules being applied, sometimes with dire consequences, creating an extremely tense and stressful atmosphere. A jealous competitor can report your items on whim causing admin to close your shop and ban you from the site without warning. There is rampant copyright infringement by handmade sellers going on all over the site but Etsy is preoccupied with the relentless harassment of the vintage sellers and turns a blind eye. If you go to Etsy and put Chanel, Fendi, Hermes, Prada, YSL, etc. into search under handmade you will see what I'm talking about. Make a category for items that are not vintage or handmade and put an end to all the ridiculous nonsense that goes on over there once and for all. We are all sick to death of hearing about it. I can make a tee shirt and write Chanel on it, list it with Chanel in the title but if I sell a purse that someone reports as being 1 year shy of being vintage they will close my shop. Grow up Etsy admin. and start behaving like professional adults.

Responses

  • Gi
    Girsone Sep 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ETSY has no support for sellers. They send lots of messages remind you to pay bill ... but when it comes into HELP ... no reply.

    ETSY loves to suspend sellers's shop without any message ... but if seller complain about buyer, they said they cannot help/

    Poorest selling site ever used. I rather stick back to my ebay(although a bit expensive), and Dawanda.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Glimman Jul 23, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There are random, unpredictable rules being applied, sometimes with dire consequences, creating an extremely tense and stressful atmosphere. A jealous competitor can report your items on whim causing admin to close your shop and ban you from the site without warning. There is rampant copyright infringement by handmade sellers going on all over the site but Etsy is preoccupied with the relentless harassment of the vintage sellers and turns a blind eye. If you go to Etsy and put Chanel, Fendi, Hermes, Prada, YSL, etc. into search under handmade you will see what I'm talking about.

    You can buy a blank tee shirt, write Chanel on it with a sharpie, list it under the handmade category, put the trademarked name Chanel in the listing title, and even though it is illegal, it's fine with Etsy. But if you list a purse that someone reports as being 1 year shy of vintage they will shut you down.

    Make a category for items that are not vintage or handmade and put an end to all the ridiculous nonsense that goes on over there once and for all. We are all sick to death of hearing about handmade vs vintage vs mass produced. Grow up Etsy admin, start behaving like professional adults and run this site like a business instead of a kindergarten.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Namilien Apr 29, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Not very happy with this site. Lots of merchandise that looks like you can find in a store.

    0 Votes
  • In
    InTheRouch Apr 17, 2012

    I checked this shop out when I saw your complaint.
    They have 1 negative due to the buyer's mistake in thinking their item was in certain Disney characters fabric, instead of an outline.
    If you were so unhappy with the item(s) you purchased, where is your negative feedback?

    I can only guess that you either didn't leave any negative feedback because you:
    A. Didn't buy anything
    B. This is a competitor and you want to ruin them
    C. Both A and B
    Sour-grapes from someone who doesn't tell it like it is.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jewelrygal Mar 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Correction to second sentence: ...for their own shop...

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jewelrygal Mar 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a seller on Etsy, and am among over 800, 000 sellers. Each seller is responsible for our their shop and the items in it. Why would the seller, who can prove that they shipped the item, refund anything to a stranger who claims they did not receive it, even though the post office agrees with the seller in that they did ship it? These items can be tracked through USPS or whatever carrier they may have used to send your item, so it's not just someone's word they are going off of. as a seller, how do we know that someone hasn't received the item, is saying that they didn't and are just out to get something for free? If it were me, and I really did not get my item, I would take it up with the post office or whatever carrier the seller used, and track the item. They may have it some where waiting for you.

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    Plumber Mar 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered fabric on Etsy. I did not receive the fabric. One would think that is a clear cut case. Etsy sided with the seller because the seller could prove that they shipped the fabric even though I never received it. The seller did not insure the package so I was out the money. This is not the way real businesses are run. Plus when you ship something, it is between the seller and USPS, not the buyer. I could not have filed a claim even if it was insured. The seller still refused to do anything. Etsy's response was that it is between the buyer and seller and Etsy is not legally responsible. Apparently you agree to these terms when you sign up for the site. I do not believe this as it was Etsy's rule that the seller used so that they could keep my money. Paypal also sided with the seller even though their own rules state if you don't receive the package, not if the seller can prove they shipped it. I do not recommend using Etsy or paypal. Stick to reputable businesses.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Halbaide Feb 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't buy from SWEET DIAPER CAKES the product you will receive is POOR the presentation EMBARRASSING this seller should be a shame of the poor work put into their gifts.. and want to talk about price GOUGING this shop definitely dose that if you want to throw money away, then buy from this shop..If you want a great quality gift with nice presentation and worth your money DO NOT I SAY DO NOT buy from this shop!!! Beware of SWEET DIAPER CAKES the images of gifts in sellers shop are ok the product you will receive are more hideous then the photos..I actually bought from this seller because I felt sorry for this seller as I seen seller doesn't sell to often I SEE WHY.. My own fault for trying to be nice..

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Senalide Mar 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with the warning. If you have a problem with a seller, you are on your own. Here they have made all this money from you (the fees that seller's pay on every transaction), but they don't do anything to help you if you have a problem with a seller. There is no protection at all. In the end I feel totally burned by Etsy. According to them, it is their policy" to have the buyer and the seller work it out themselves". Boy, do they take the easy way out or what. EXTRA WARNING: Never do lay-aways with a seller on Etsy, always pay by Pay Pal and make sure the transaction goes through the payment system, AND BEWARE OF SOME SELLERS SHIPPING POLICIES. With some of the sellers, if an item arrives broken, it is YOUR claim with UPS. You don't get your money back until the seller gets the money back from UPS. The only thing is - they drag their heals in sending in the claim, and dangle you on a chain waiting. I could go on...

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.