The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Discover Cardscam and cheating

B Review updated:

Opened a zero percent account. We've paid the bill every month on time. Out of the blue on the most recent billing statement they assert that we didn't pay the bill. We did pay the bill and have record of payment being made and subtracted from our bank account. Discover immediately raised our interest rate through the roof and nailed us with hundreds of dollars of penalties and fees. Their customer service department refuses to look into or fix the problem. DO NOT TRUST these lying, cheating ### and above all do not even THINK about doing business with them. Their zero percent deal was absolutely 'too good to be true.'

Responses

  • Ja
    jackorjill Jul 27, 2019

    Hows this for you.
    I wen't thru the pre-qualification process, and Discover Card returned two cards from their portfolio for me to decide if I wanted to apply for either Card, I selected one of the two, that I felt best suited me.
    After applying this time via an expected hard pull, it returned Congratulations your approved.
    3 days later I get an email from Discovery's security, requesting additional information.
    I understand that some extra information may be needed, but I do not agree to provide the extra information after I have already been approved. Since twice, once under a soft pull, and secondly under a hard pull everything checked out without any problems.
    I contacted Discovery Card customer service, telling them of my concerns, this communication went on for 3 hours, and was told the situation would be escalated 3 times.
    I told them during discussion perhaps I should just close the account out, seeing at this point we most likely will not see eye to eye on the matter. And was told "No don't close your account, we value you as a customer".
    Meanwhile I received my Discover Card, and was allowed to create a Discover Card account for access.
    Then the account was locked out because of security. Then the account was unlocked, and I added banking information, and auto bill payment. Then I was sent an email from Discovery Card security stating because I did not provide to them the requested information, they were now closing the account, and report it as closed by creditor.

    Of course everyone knows that a creditor closing an account is far worse than closing an account by a potential debtor/account holder.

    Anyhow it doesn't end here, because out of the blue I'm told the account has been unblocked, so Discover allows me to sign into my Discover Card account yet again, however when I wen't to pull my FICO score it returned, "Were unable to complete this action, as you have placed a fraud alert on your credit report, you must contact the credit agency to remove the alert first".

    However I never did such a thing, But I also already have an account for Discover Card FICO monitoring, prior to applying and being approved for a Discovery card.
    So I sign out of my Discovery Card account, clean the browser etc, and signed into my Discover FICO, guess what? no problems, it gave me full access to my FICO score without any problems.

    There's some whacky, tacky, fishy, sticky, stuff going on from that group of people, and to be honest as my opinion is it's because too many departments think they are in control.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Madsavage Feb 10, 2017

    DISCOVER IS SOOOOOOOO DISGUSTING. THEY WILL HANG YOU OUT THERE. THERE IS NOTHING TO SAY NICE ABOUT THEM THE HAVE DISCOVERED HOW TO SCAM YOU BECAREFUL☹️☹️😠

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    just plain angry Jul 23, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @kaylaharding108 NOT SO THEY ARE THE MOST DISHONEST COMPANY THAT EVER WAS!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    kaylaharding108 Feb 16, 2017

    @Madsavage lol completely not true haha you probably just don't look at your bill and blame them for things that are 100% your fault. they are definitely the easiest nicest company I have ever dealt with.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark A1 Aug 03, 2016

    Discover card increased interest rate two weeks prior to the new cedit card laws took effect without any justifiable reasons. the interest rate they charge is three to four times as much as the other companies.

    1 Votes
  • Po
    pobarjenkins Aug 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So your due date stayed the same and you have a problem with it?

    3 Votes
  • Ac
    Act98 Aug 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I HATE DISCOVER AND ANYONE ASKS ME I WILL NOT RECOMMEND THEM. I had signed up for payment plan because I had gotten behind in my bills due to a divorce. They reduced the payment and reduced the interest. They did not tell me that they did not adjust the due date so each time I made a payment IT WAS LATE. They would toggle between charging me $25 and $39 in late fees. I did not catch this as I thought everything was okay, the payments were automatically deducted. MY FAULT. I INCURRED OVER $500 in fees they won't adjust.

    2 Votes
  • Oi
    oitension Apr 30, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Throughout several transaction disputes, I quit Discover in my life. They always stand on the side of the evil enterprises. They always believe the scam people, not the customers happily using the high rate cash back. Discover never cares about their customers. For the future safety, I stop all their services. I dispute the same cases through VISA, and VISA always takes care of my cases carefully. They keep tracking and figuring out what happened and happening. VISA does listen to their customers.
    If you meet any fraud transaction, do not expect you will get the money back since Discover will not help you at all. They will reverse your dispute whatever proof you provide to them.

    1 Votes
  • El
    Ellen Waller Sep 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Discover Finance called me and told that I am approved for a $6000 loan. They asked to pay me $200 processing fee. Then they asked me to pay another $400 as secure money. Then another number of 600 appeared and etc. I think I will never get the loan but how can I return the money I already paid?

    1 Votes
  • Is
    I. Szabo May 17, 2011

    I have received an offer from the DISCOVER Card Services in February 2011. They offered 0% APR for 15 months, $0 set-up and maintenance fees for the life of the card. They also offered in their letter $100 reward as soon as I make $1, 000 in purchases within 3 months on my account. I called the DISCOVER on the [protected] from my Brooklyn home on March 31st and I made a contract with them. I got $2, 500 credit line. They tried to convince me to sign up for their payment protection plan. I refused them. A week later I got my card, set-up my online account and made $1, 000 in purchases. Weeks passed and when I checked my online account on May 16th I was unpleasantly surprised when I saw a $49 Annual Fee charge on my card. I called them in order to inquire about the charge and only the third customer representative, a supervisor, could answer to my questions. She told me that someone decided at the DISCOVER card services, after the contract was made over the phone on March 31st, that I'm ineligible for their offer and as a result -without my approval- they decided to alter the terms. They just “forgot” to let me know about the changes. I was told that I had to pay $49 Annual fee and I cannot get the $100 reward even though I made the $1, 000 in purchases and paid the balance. I had $0 debt. I was told that they could cancel the $49 Annual Fee if I close my account within a few days. This was a typical case of bait and switch! I was mad as hell! I was supposed to get $100 reward from them however they want me to pay for them $49 a year! How ridiculous is that? I cancelled my card in a heartbeat! I will never make another contract with them! How can someone trust a credit card service company if it alters the agreement without letting know the customer about the changes? DISCOVER Card Services is like a SCAM ARTIST. STAY AWAY FROM DISCOVER!

    2 Votes
  • Pa
    partenope Jan 15, 2011

    i had a similar occurrence. i paid my bill every month (online), and it showed up as paid on the website. turns out they weren't applying the payments to my account, claiming i had changed my checking account info. (i hadn't -- it's been the same for years. no reason to). when i finally confronted them, they gave me a $100 credit but didn't apply the new payment either. i am now over 120 days delinquent on my credit report due to their scamming ways, and the matter is still not resolved. i've asked them to un-report the non-payments (as i have proof that i made them, and the website says i made them), but they refuse. BEWARE DISCOVER!!!

    2 Votes
  • Ce
    Cecil J Jun 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    we borrowed from local bank to pay discover credit card balance, local bank cut check for balance stated on statement, and wired to discover, now discover wants us to pay more finance chargers on balance of $344.94. this is unfair, they should except the balance they have on the statement. Cecil J. Green

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    CreditVixen Dec 07, 2009

    Any bank or credit card company cannot determine your credit worthiness until you apply for credit, which involves a hard credit check. Pre-Approval is based on vague information. That is the entire basis for credit and credit checks in the first place. You should focus on improving your credit score rather than damaging Discover Card's reputation. Discover has no affiliation with Shell anyway, so perhaps you have confused Discover with another creditor???
    One credit check will not majorly affect your credit. More than likely, you have applied for many credit cards or loans recently. of course, like many of the complaints on this site, you are not telling the entire story. Good Luck!

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
    cheri70 Jul 09, 2009

    Waatch out for Discover, They change your due date and then charge you a fee for a late payment, then they up your interest rate at least 7% more!

    2 Votes
  • Ra
    rappy Feb 07, 2009

    I got the same message from Discover at the same time. It seems the good paying customers are getting stuck with the paying more because of the ones not paying their bill and defaulting on the credit card. It is the same when thieves steal from stores, everyone else has to pay more for the losses. I don't like it but is it what it is. I plan just to pay it off the balance every month to keep balance at zero. That will teach them...instead of some income Discover had coming in on interest, they will get none.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rose7150 Jan 28, 2009

    i received notice from discover credit card about my credit card(s).
    The notice was not due to late, overages or anything i did.
    Notice of CHANGES TO YOUR STANDARD RATE FOR PURCHASES.
    MY RATE WILL CHANGED BASED "ON THE HIGHER COST OF DOING BUSINESS DUE TO THE CHALLENGING ECONOMIC ENVIRONMENT"
    IT WILL NOW BE P R I M E PLUS 8.99%
    BESIDE BREATHING, THIS IS MY ECONOMIC REWARD FOR TRYING TO KEEP MY CREDIT INTACT?

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melissa Dec 09, 2008

    Perhaps you are confusing the Shell credit card with Discover, they are NOT the same creditor, duh, get your facts straight before you post a complaint

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Sep 19, 2008

    I have also filed a complaint with the FTC #[protected] regarding this incident. I am a Stroke survivor, and when I applied for an unsolicited application on what was portrayed to be 0fee low interest rate balance transfer card/combo Shell Gas Card it sounded good on the onset. The sales Rep.(Larry) wouldn't reveal his last name took my information and I upon answering questions made mention before anything else was mentioned that I had one blemish on my CRA a BK7 in 2002 brought on by medical expenses. He assured me that if my payment history since then had been fine that would not impact me. I had checked my FICO score 24hours prior and at 702 felt good about my standing but I expressed my concerns of inquiries counting against me and impacting my score. But the offer of a 4% 0 fee balance transfer from my Wells Fargo in Good Standing sounded attractive. They declined due to Bankruptcy in my past contrary to what the Rep. stated and caused me to gain a black mark (inquiry) that will stay for 2 years. These People are Snakes.

    Quite frankly after reading some of this feedback it may be a good thing I never got involved with them. However, the fact that you can disclose information upfront before someone commits to a Hard Inquiry on your CRA Report that will stay with you for 2 years is just underhanded business practice.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.