The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Direct TVfraud

M

Direct TV decided after being told to terminate service instead to place it into their "suspended" category.

They have since then charged me for 3 months of service I never received.

I had to call my credit card company and not only object to the charge but terminate the current credit card number and get a new one issued.

After speaking with two Direct TV representatives I was told that's just the way it is. There was nothing they could do about it.

This is absolutely illegal, immoral and unethical.

I will be filing my case in small claims court this week.

Responses

  • Df
    D. fustrated Nov 08, 2013

    I agree totally; I've had Directv for about nine years. After the hurricane Issac's flood; I was grossly mistreated by that co. from being accused of having nine recievers as apposed to five; never getting a call back as promised, when I called them back; going through so many channels before I could get someone to listen. Now; for the last two weeks, every evening the television with the HD receiver goes out. the televisions with the regular recievers plays with no problems. tonite when I called- I have to listen to a menu that tells you how to pay your bill on line.WOW! I have toally had enough of this DIRECTV---D. fustrated

    0 Votes
  • Em
    emilyaidensmomma1012 Aug 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They did the same thing to my husband. Did they tell you that it says they can do that in the agreement? They can't. I just sent an e-mail to the president/ceo of direcTV.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Just Do What is Right Apr 18, 2013

    My Wonderful get a job

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    J.MASON Apr 17, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DISH AND DIRECT TV NEVER GIVE THESE STUPID ### NO GOOD ROTTEN S.O.B"S ANY CREDIT CARD OR BANK INFO THEY WILL TAKE WHAT EVER THEY FEEL YOU OWE TO THEM WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION, AND THEN WHEN YOU TRY TO CALL THEM TO FIND OUT WHO AUTHORIZED THEN TO TAKE MONEY THERE PIECE OF CRAP AUTOMATED SYSTEM HANGS UP ON YOU, NEVER RECEIVED THE BOXES TO RETURN MY EQUIPMENT, ITS STILL SITTING ON MY TABLE, THEY TOLD ME I DONT HAVE TO RETURN IT NOW, AND BEFORE THEY WANTED IT BACK NOW THEY DONT, SO I ASKED DO I THROW IT AWAY, THEY HAD NO ANSWER EXCEPT TO RETURN THE CARDS THAT ARE IN THE HD BOXES, ALL I CAN SAY IS SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL CABLE TV COMPANY AND TELL DIRECT TV TO KISS YOU A$$!!!

    0 Votes
  • Im
    imdav2u Jan 26, 2013

    2 years ago I was promised by Direct Tv free HD channels for life if I agreed to automatic bill pay.Last month I started getting charged an extra $10 on my bill.When I called customer service, I was told that offer was only good for 2 years.So now I am stuck paying for something I was promised for free.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Renee Funderburk Nov 05, 2012

    I paid Direct Tv with a check card Wed. Oct. 24th around 9am. I spoke with a young lady telling me while paying she was experincing some technical difficulties However at the end of the conversation she stated the bill was paid in full and everything was fine but there would be an additional charge of $5.00 charge due to dealing with a person and not paying by computer. That was fine. later that evening my cable was disconnected I called back around 7pm the customer rep I spoke with was very rude. She stated I need to make a payment there were no payments made since August. I had explained to her I had just made a payment earlier in the day. She then stated she had no refrence to any phone calls to my acct. that I was mistaken. I then checked my bank account and there was a pending amount on my statement for Direct Tv. I called back again and explained to the custoemr rep. she told me the same thing. Still I was being told no phone calls were showing on my acct. I called Thursday, Oct. 25th at this time the money had been pulled from my account for Direct Tv, Still no assistance. I wsa told to send a copy of my statement and I did. I ask for a an e-mail to be sent in confirmation to the phone call with the Reps name since they were having a problem with not having refrences to my phone calls and they refused. However they make it mandatory to have your e-mail I don't understand why if they can not send e-mails out with refrence to conversations or confiramtions of any kind. I sent a copy of my statement showing where the money had been pulled from my account. I called back to verify they had received the fax. Still no phone calls being returned. The have taken my money applied it to the wrong account and continue to tell me I need to wait thirty days to see if i have more money pulled from my acount to see where the money goes and be without service. I had a party planned for the UGA vs Fla game Sat. and had thirty people showing up someone at Direct Tv placed my funds on the wrong account my cable was shut off. I had to change those plans and still doing without because someone cannot do their job. The customer Service Reps told me I did not call its my opinion thats the same as calling me a liar. Now I have to worry about the safety of my Visa cards ID.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michaelgb Mar 08, 2012

    I had been with direct tv for many years. Just recently they both raised their prices and took away channels from the group I have been subscribed to years. In short they changed the terms of the contract. When I called up to inquire what was going on (I could not get a channel) I was treated very rudely and told it was their "right" to do what they wanted to do. I dropped them and then when I got my bill, there was a 180 disconnect fee. They stated that since I received a new dvr, that my contract started again from that day. I was NEVER told about this, and they glibly lied that I had been told.
    In short, their shoddy business practices should be enough to keep you far away from their company, and Dish charged me half of what directtv was charging me for the same thing. Their advertisements are totally bogus, and they treat their customers like peons.

    Be warned, stay away from them.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Victoria Hower Feb 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a Direct TV customer, Direct TV attempted to charge my account 3 times in December one attempt went threw. I have not paid my bill since December because i wanted some answers as to why and who was charging my account. They told me that they would contact me in 7 to 10 business days in with that did not happen. Today is February 7th i call Direct TV again after i don't now how many times and they told me that one of there customer by The name of ------ bill was paid and that have credit my account back. That's a joke. Now They are going to turn my cable off because i am afraid to give Them my card information again. This is a inconvenience for me because now i have to change my card information and i have to call all The people that i use this card to pay bills with for years. I am going to file a police report to have this person arrested. The only answer that i got from Direct TV was this will not happen again, Now i have to try and find another cable company. I feel like Direct TV owe me a lot more then cutting off my cable. What kind of people do they have working for them because i don't let no one have this information other then the people that i use to pay my bills.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    S. Carr Oct 27, 2011

    Only if i had checked the reviews before trying to order this crap I would not be one here today. As of today, October 27, 2011, Directv still has my money, I have no service, and I have spoken to customer service and haven't gotten any results! I ordered the Directtv service on September 25, 2011. It seemed like a good move. Once my order was placed, and my money was taken off my card, I was given an installation date of October 21, 2011 nearly three weeks later. On the installation date, the technician came two feet into my home and stated "I most likely won't be able hook your dish up through Directtv because you are on the wrong side of the building. But for $75, I can come back on my own time and install a dish." Ummmm huh? That seems like a damn SCAM to me. So immediately I told him thats ok and to cancel the installation. He then called Direct tv and put me on the phone with a representative who stated that my order was cancelled and I would be receiving my refund in 3 days. I waiting four days and called Direct tv inquiring about my refund. The representative stated " your order was never cancelled it will be another 3-5 days". Excuse me my order was cancelled on Friday, its now thursday and now I have to wait another 3-5 days for my refund. I asked for a supervisor and was told she was busy and she would tell me the same thing. After speaking to her, she did tell me the same ###. I asked for her supervisor, who also told me the same ###. They didn't even want to give me the information to file a complaint, I had to research it for myself. I think the whole company is a fraud and I hope it flops. How can you run a company based on fraud and ###. Direct tv give me my refund and you will never have to worry about me again in life! People remember to take the time out and file complaints and let others know about your bad experiences. Sincerely, A pissed off never to be customer Baltimore, Maryland

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    winnfield1923 Jun 23, 2011

    although i am in louisiana, i would love a class action suit against directv. they also debited my bank account without any authorization because i cancelled my service. i have been in a dispute with them since the very beginning because they offered me a bundle service (cable and internet) and then after i agreed to the contact, i was told they COULD NOT EVEN OFFER ME THE INTERNET IN MY AREA. I AM FURIOUS AT HOW THEY HANDLE THEIR CUSTOMERS AND IT HAS GOT TO BE AGAINST THE LAW FOR THEM TO TAKE MONEY OUT OF PEOPLE'S ACCOUNT WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION.

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    cce26 Jun 21, 2011

    I was told by the bank that Direct Tv took $284.27 out of my checking for someone else account. I called Direct tv and was given the run around until i kept calling and one lady told me what had happened. I had done a friend a favor by paying his bill one time and since he didnt pay i got charge for it. I dont even have an account with them. My card was expired at the moment of the charges. I then proceeded to call the bank and dispute charges and i also was told by directv that i needed to wait 10 business days for them to look into the charge. UGH it makes me so mad that they have such a screw up system and they take advantage of other peoples bank card. They have no right charging a card let alone an expired card. I see i am not alone in this problem and something has to be done with this company for gods sake. Any one in Michigan that is possibly doing a class action lawsuit against this company? I would like to join in. I want this company to go down and be reprimanded for all the wrong doings.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    fraud alert!! May 22, 2011

    I have been with Direct TV for 2 years now and since day 1 had nothing but issues with service, quality of the equipment, customer service and billing. You call the customer service number get bounced around from one person to the next then after hours of holding and trying to get your matter resolved, you get disconnected. Finally I decide to email them and their response is always the same "sorry your having trouble, complaints like yours are rare and we do take this matter seriously" LOL - ya okay did you read your reviews, seems my problems are very common!! They need to be shut down and stopped from scammer customers. How do they keep getting away with these practices? Going to the Dish to take my chances.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joanne24 May 22, 2011

    i am going thru the same thing, for the past month, i have been getting signal problems thru there garbage satelite dish. I am still unable to get a picture, now these bastatrds want to me to pay 49, bucks for tech service. so i wll wait, and see, but better believe im going to get some credits for the service not working, and see what they say. If not I'll make a letter complaint to consumer affairs.

    0 Votes
  • No
    nostradamus2012 May 21, 2011

    Direct TV is a scam, if you get an error message on any premium channel saying " searching for signal" you won't be able to reset it. They want you to pay $49 for a service call to fix the issue or they want to offer you an extended. You would think that if there was a signal issue it would be with all the channels right, no, it only happens with your favorite, coincidence? Not, scam.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    boater657 Mar 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    not even sure where to begin, 1 st they showed up 12 hours late for installation, installer did over $500 worth of damage to our surround sound and entertainment center Promised us $100 in credits. None of this has been done or resolved! on top of which they charged us for a service call that we were told was going to be no charge since the equipment was defective. This has been going on now for 3 months and we are done with them. Have filed a civil complaint against them and am contacting our local news media for assistance as well as sending this to the Today show to see if they can get this resolved. We are canceling Direct TV and going to go with Time Warner. Let them try and charge us an early termination fee! Good luck to anyone who would ever use this company, I am certain you will be ripped off and lied to!

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    run5150 Mar 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On February 23rd I recieved a letter stating that my directTV account was past due. Since I had canceled my account, after the full 24 months of service, and sent back the receivers that were required of me I called Direct TV and stated that I should NOT be billed for them. I was informed by their agent (Jeycee) that the receivers had arrived on February 9th and that I would not be billed for them. On February 24th I received an e-mail stating that my account was past due and that I would be charged for the equiptment I had already sent back. Again I called and was informed by their agent (Doris) that I would not be charged for the equiptment since it had arrived on February 9th.

    On March 1st, 2011 my credit card was charged $319.96 for the receivers that they had already received via the USPS on February 9th, 2011. When I called again, to complain and refute the charges, I was lied to and told that the receivers hadn't arrived yet. I called their agent (Anne) a liar and told her that I intend to persue a class action lawsuit against Direct TV. She assured me that there had just been a mistake, and that I would be refunded the money they had charged to my credit card within 48-72 hours.

    96 Hours later my credit card still has the charges against it and I am looking for the name of a corporate lawyer that might be interested in persuing a class action civil suit against Direct TV at this time.

    If anyone knows of a lawyer, in Missouri, who might be interested in this case please have them contact me at the address and/or phone number listed above.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Greedynessnish Dec 12, 2010

    Sorry, DTV has crappy policies but they do inform customers thoroughly. The paper work that you sighned before the technician left is the customer agreement and he leaves you a copy. I would be ticked also but believe or not Directv hides nothing and wants their employees to make sure that there customers are informed.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Red wine Dec 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Direct TV told me if I moved to a place where I was unable to use there service that I would be let out of my contract. I have just reviewed the FCC rules and I have no Common areas at my new address. It is in the middle of downtown, no patios or anyplace to put a dish! Thursday night they fraudulently accessed my bank account for an amount over $300 dollars of which $200 was an early termination fee. I have never given them access to my account but my bank says this is a legal transaction. I can't wait to see the paperwork I supposedly signed for that! I have filed a complaint with the FCC and am waiting to hear. I am also going to complain to AARP as I am a senior on a fixed income and $300 is a lot of money to me. Stay far, far away from this company.

    0 Votes
  • Rh
    rhampton Nov 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Direct TV fraudulently withdrew $948.04 from my account on November 15, 2010. I did not authorize Direct TV to withdrawal any funds, nor did I have a contract with them, or was receiving services from them at the time they took my money. I originally contacted Direct TV in late April or first of May 2010 in response to an ad received through the mail. At the time the bundle was to be $86 for all the movie channels and the internet and there was no contract, I specifically asked that question and was told no, it was month to month. Upon installation the workers broke the meter box and left two satellite dishes in the yard and left cut wires exposed. I called Direct TV to complain about that, they took my information asked that I send pictures to an address, which I did but have never been credited or contacted regarding the complaint. The electric company had to replace the meter which they destroyed and bill to my account. Additionally when I paid the initial payment of $197.00 I questioned why I was given a price of $86, I was told that my account would be credited the difference. That was never done. I also called to complain that one of the receiver’s boxes was not working and we did not have cable on that TV, this was about a week after services were installed. I was told someone would come out to fix it; the first time that someone did come out was about after 3 or 4 calls later. They fixed the box so some channels would appear, but no less than three days later the same problem still existed and no channels were available. Again I called and was told someone would come out to repair it, they never showed up. I also complained asking that we get credit for the box since we were paying monthly for something that was not working. Again I was told they would credit the account, and again that never did happen, likewise they said they would fix the box, they never did. Furthermore the internet services which were supposed to be part of the bundle was never installed, was told on three occasions that they would be out to set it up, they never showed. There was a rebate as well that was part of the special they were running, although I filed online for the rebate, I was told that it never went through and therefore I would not be receiving a rebate. Each month I was charged $186 for TV only. Each time I called I was told my account would be credited, it never was. Therefore given the shady way business was conducted, the inflated cost and the lack of consistency with Direct TV, I canceled the service in late July/early August 2010. I was told I would need to return the boxes in the return package that would be sent to me. I did not receive a return package until November 16, 2010. At no time were they given authorization to debit my account for any amount. However on November 15, 2010 my account was debited $948.04. I had to go to the bank and file and affidavit to get my money back. My debit card had to be canceled and a new one issued, which I will have to wait 3-5 days to receive. The other bills I have pending will likely cause my account to be overdrawn because of this. At no time was it disclosed to me that they would ever charge my account for any reason, other than when I called in and made a payment over the phone. However, that was not the case when they stole this money from me. They used the credit card information they had on file from previous payments to commit fraud and take my money. Direct TV should not be allowed to take hardworking consumer’s money because they feel like it. I called to complain about this and demand my money back, at first they told me to call the bank because it would be quicker. Then we spoke with Jamal, a supervisor who said he could credit my account for $600.00, and that all of it would be credited to the account if we reconsidered having Direct TV for a service provider. Again this is unacceptable and we demanded that all the funds be returned immediately. The end result after a 1 hour and 20 minute conversation with several different people in customer service, Jamal agreed that the funds would be credited back to my account, but it would take a week or so and again suggested that I contact my financial institute because it would be quicker for them to do credit it. Given the history of deceit displayed by Direct TV it is highly unlikely that they will be crediting my account back. This has been a big hassle; my bank is making me wait while they investigate before they are able to return my money. Meanwhile I still do not have my money and the whole matter is unfair to hardworking honest consumers like myself. I do not have an extra grand to throw away to a company who clearly commits fraud. This should not be allowed!

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    phester Nov 10, 2010

    This is a last ditch effort to get some kind of customer service. I am so disappointed and disallusioned with Direct TV, and I don't know what else to do. I have been being jerked around by Direct from the moment I switched.

    To begin with I was a customer of DISH, and I was some what happy with them, but I had inquired about about Direct after seeing a flyer that advertised better service and lower rates. I called and talked with a representative and asked 2 questions that made my decision to switch to Direct. I asked if I could bundle my services like I was doing with DISH, and I told them I was already a customer of Windstream, they said "No problem, we bundle with Windstream." The next question was could I continue to have internet service, but do away with my landline phone. They said, "Absolutely, that is not a problem." I was very surprised to hear this because DISH, (honestly) told me it could not be done with their service. Well, thinking I could do away with a bill, this sounded good to me, so I decided based upon the answers that I received from Direct TV employees that I would switch. I did not know these people were lying to me.
    Windstream does not bundle with Direct, and I can not do away with my landline phone. I was lied to twice and now after having argued with many Direct reps., no one is willing to help me. I don't know what qualifications are needed to work for Direct, but I'm thinking they are not very high. The only answers I get from these people are, "I'm sorry", "I understand your frustration", "I don't understand", "But, we do bundle with Windstream", this is the type answers I'm getting.
    To put the icing on the cake, I never gave my permission for autopay, but the first month of billing, the money was taken out of my account. Upon calling I find out that Direct took it upon themselves to take my money, without my permission. I told the lady I spoke with that I don't do business that way, that Direct is to bill me and I will send a check, that this is to never happen again. This month I received the bill sent the check, and on the same day that Direct cashed the check, they also deducted the same amount again out of my account. Now, I will probably bounce a check, (thank you very much), which will cost another $35.00 that I don't have.
    I wanted out of this contract from the first month, when I realized I had been HAD. I signed based on lies that I had been told. I have talked with numerous people in your organization and have been treated rudely, and basically told that this is not their problem. They are so sorry that there was miscommuinication but tough lady, your stuck.
    Please help me, I am so frustrated and aggravated with this company. I want out of this contract, I am very dissatisfied, and I don't feel that the contract is valid when it was based on lies.

    Thank You for any help I can get,
    Pam Hester
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lemm Sep 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Direct TV used my SSN fraudulently to access my presonal information without my permission. Gave service to someone who stole my identity and then is totally uncooperative in finding out this fraud. When contacted by police, they never returned phone calls and were uncooperative with law enforcement. I sent police report numbers, notarized statetments, copies of my appraisors site showing I never lived where they are tryiing to collect but Direct TV does nothing to investigate, just continues to bully me, and even tho they are aware this is fraud, they sold this to a collection agency a second time, they are stealing for that agency too...a company with no moral leadership.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gaishirui Jul 09, 2010

    We pay 29.99 and only have 43 channels and 14 channels have never worked and at least 10 of the remaining chanels are sporatic. Their service is extremely poor and the said we were supposed to have 150 chanels... One of the worst companies I have ever seen and it amounts to legalized theft by deception. Yes, we will cancel and go elsewhere however this company needs to be shut down period!!!

    0 Votes
  • direct tv added 3oo dollars to my bill for early termination fees and we did not have a contract they could not furnish us with any paperwork and refused to credit my verizon telephone bill they hung the phone up in my ear and i am so furious i dont know what to do i do not know how this company can get away with their deceptive practices which are fraudulent

    0 Votes
  • Rp
    RPfneisel Oct 21, 2009

    I am looking to sue Direct TV. My complaint is not much different than everybody else on here from inaccurate billing to the wrong service package to no service at all. I have spent countless hours dealing with customer service and have received no resolution. Please contact me if anybody else is also looking to sue or has already moved forward. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Eh
    ehooks Oct 15, 2009

    I have just experienced the same fraudelant charges from directv. They just took $473.00 out of my bank account with no authorization for receivers that their paperwork said I had seven days to return. FedEX picked them up on the second day but the hit my bank account for the money anyway. They debit card they used isn't even valid anymore so I have know idea how they were able to do this. I have to dispute the charges with my bank to hope to get my money back. Meanwhile my account is now overdrawn and my bank is hitting me with fees to top it all off.
    I would never recommend signing up with Directtv. They are a bunch of crooks and I cannnot beleive what they can get away with!

    0 Votes
  • Ps
    PSULLENS Oct 09, 2009

    HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS WITH DIRECT TV. OFFERED A BUNDLE PACKAGE AND THEY INSTALLED TV THEN TOLD ME THEY DO NO OFFER BUNDLE PACKAGE IN MY AREA. THEN DEDUCTED THE CANCELLATION FEE FROM MY CHECKING ACCOUNT WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION. HAS ANYONE THOUGHT OF FILING A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT FOR FRAUD AND MISREPRESENTATION OF SERVICES IF SO IF WOULD DEFINITELY BE INTERESTED. PLEASE CONTACT ME AT [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Darla Leiann Giffen Oct 07, 2009

    They were sending out, weekly, fliers advertising 150 channels for 29.99. I signed up for this package. The terms were that you had to do a online survey to actually get this rate. I did the survey. This was back in May of 2009. To date (October of 2009) they have been charging me 59.99 a month. I call every month only to get the run around. Either they tell me I did not do the online survey, which I did, or they tell me they do not have this offer. I have gathered numerous fliers (that I continue to get) showing that they do offer this package. There retort is that the 29.99 package is only for 57 channels.

    MY NEIGHBOR IS ALSO HAVING THIS EXACT SAME PROBLEM!!!

    PLEASE BE AWARE DIRECTV IS NOT WHO THEY CLAIM TO BE. NOW I AM STUCK IN A 1 YEAR CONTRACT, BEING CHARGED A PRICE I DID NOT SIGN UP FOR AND IF I CANCELL THEY WILL COME AFTER ME FOR EVEN MORE MONEY FOR MY NOT HONORING THE CONTRACT. WHAT A WORLD WE LIVE IN THAT BIG BUSINESSES CAN RIP OFF THE LITTLE GUY.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    pedro33 Sep 16, 2009

    somebody name Nestor Cabrisas with phone number [protected] is selling illegal satellites boxes and installaions maybe works for you

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tony Rig Aug 05, 2009

    After moving and transfering my service OF MORE THAN 5 YEARS, Direct TV changed my package of channel selections without notice or authorization leaving us with NO LOCAL TELEVISION STATIONS, NO LOCAL NEWS, NO LOCAL SPORTS OR WEATHER! This was done 4 days after installation! We are not happy and this is totally unacceptable. Direct TV refuses to cancel service without us paying a penalty. If Direct TV had held up their end of the deal there would be no need to cancel service.

    Very poor service with a even worse attitude. They sell you one package and then change it without notice!

    BEWARE, BEWARE, BEWARE!!!

    tr

    0 Votes
  • An
    annie24 Jul 10, 2009

    When I ordered Direct TV through Expert Satellite they told me that my first month including tax would be 49.99 with HBO and Showtime. I discovered later that this deal wasn't in effect for 3 months. I would owe $100. each month, then 64.99 for the following months. Originally I actually called two different representatives to confirm this price so this scam is clearly well organized. They were reading from a script.

    Also, I was told that cancellation was only $200. when it is actually $480. I found this out after 3 months when I wanted to cancel. The service was so horrible that I was willing to pay 200. but not 480.

    I am contacting the BBB tomorrow.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seattle_sports_guy May 10, 2009

    This number does not go to anyone in particular. Waste of time, wouldn't even bother.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sarah04 Apr 06, 2009

    Direct TV is aweful!! I had scheduled installation and they never showed. Now they are telling me that they are coming tomorrow since someone had cancelled my service by accident. I can't take off tomorrow as well to sit here all day and wait for them to be a no show again. They are out of controll! There is NO sence of customer service at the company at all and the supervisor I spoke with (Who was obviously reading a script) tried to convince me that she was as high up as you get in the company. Absolutly unacceptable! Oh and it is their policy not to give out last names for when you file a complaint. GREAT!!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ratz Apr 06, 2009

    Based on your comment, "I am appauled as if I cancel they will be charging me $350.00 for cancellation. I am on a very small fixed income and only budgeted in the original quoted price. I can not afford to pay what they are now asking, " it sounds like time to prioritize.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frustrated Mar 15, 2009

    For three consecutive months I've been on the phone trying to get the price I was originally quoted. That price required sending in a rebate but that was never mentioned on the phone or prominently noted. So I missed that. But the real issue was that I was sollicited soon after installation by a Direct tv agent offering all the channels for free. I was suspicious and asked every question because my priority was to keep things cheap. I did not care about all those channels. I was assured there were no tricks nothing I had to do - I did not even have to call to cancel. Never were the words NFL Sunday ticket mentioned. But thats what I got signed up for and it was not free. And there was a no cancelation, no refund policy. As soon as I saw that on the bill I called and spend an hour (no Exageration) trying to understand what this was. Last call was just short of 2 hours! I figured out I was scammed by a 3rd party telemarketing agency in their employ and though they would not admit it, many people had been scammed similarly but they were not admitting it or taking any responsibility. Therefore I see them as complicit.
    It cost me an extra $120. After the agent had sworn it was not going to cost me anything. That's fraud. Their refund policy is to offer as little as possible till you exhaust all possibilities. All I could get was $50 refunded after 2 hours of argueing. They actually used the fact that I had called on this issue before as a reason to not refund. WHo can stay on the phone for an hour during a working day to try to get someone to handle your issue? I was cut off as other complaintants mentioned. Returned calls promised and not made. They could care less about customer care since they have their contract. When I downgraded to the package I was planning on maintaining they had changed it drastically in content and also raised the price. The contract covers their interests only. Their policy is to mislead, confuse and frustrate the client. Here's a voicemail number that supposedly takes you right to a resolutions supervisor or so they say - [protected].
    DONT DEAL WITH DIRECT TV YOU WILL REGRET IT.

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    ccyswim Mar 13, 2009

    I live on a hill it is very windy and I barely get service. I called to cancel they told me I am undercontract for 2 years. That I would have to pay a $269 cancellation fee. I have emailed them requesting them to not charge the cancellation fee. They said it doesn't matter if I get service, people have service in hurricanes. If I choose to cancel I will have to pay the cancellation fee. What can I do? HELP> I would def love to file a class action law suit. What happened to the consumers right to choose?

    0 Votes
  • ... Mar 07, 2009

    I am currently pursuing action against Direct Tv regarding the "early cancellation fee" being charged without our consent. I would like to get names of individuals with a similar complaint who would be interested in a Class Action Lawsuit. Please email me at [email protected] if you are interested.

    Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Ur
    urgedameron Mar 03, 2009

    As the gentleman in the first complaint mentioned about the "upgrade" Direct TV"s so called "nice gesture" is bull crap!! My wife and I are dealing with the same thing. We were not happy with the service through them and we were moving into a new home and just wanted to cancel the service. That is when they told her the same freakin thing about accepting the upgrade locked you into a 2 yr contract. She was not told that she would be in another 2yr contract, did not sign something stating (hell even in fine print) that it would be a 2yr contract. That is totally fraudulent.

    Now they are telling us the same dang thing that we will be charged a cancellation fee. I now have a vendetta against them to make them eat the cancellation fee due to shear negligence on their part of not producing a signed contract or a recording to us that had the CSR explain that by doing this locks us into a 2yr contract. Anyone up for a class action law-suit against Direct TV for this matter? If so, please contact me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbidoll Feb 24, 2009

    CANCEL your card FIRST!!! I cancelled my service with them and was told by TWO of their representatives that my cancellation fee would be $37.50. I then got a charge on my "final bill" for $212.50. I called to dispute it last week and was told I had to send a letter (via snail mail) to their Billing Dispute department. Today, the charge of $212.50 was deducted from my checking account WITHOUT my authorization. I was on the phone this morning for 45 min with a "Resolution Specialist" who did NOTHING to resolve my problem. He insisted that the charge was valid and he would not refund it. I asked to speak to his supervisor, who conveniently was on another call, but he would leave a message and they would return my call in 24-48 hours. He also told me that the billing dispute department will take 14-21 days to get in touch with me. I was relatively happy with Direct TV, but from this day forward, I will let everyone I come in contact with to STAY AWAY FROM DIRECT TV!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mourdrid Feb 18, 2009

    I would like to file a complaint against Direct TV for Fraud. I was having problems with my service and as a gesture on their part they offered to upgrade my service at no cost to me. I never wanted an upgrade I just wanted my service fixed so I could watch what I had already paid for. They sent out an updated dish and receiver and within 2 months I had problems again and tried to cancel. They are now trying to tell me that by accepting the upgrade I locked myself into a 2 year contract extension and would have to pay 400 dollars in cancellation fees. I informed them I was aware of no such contract extension, never signed a thing nor did I ever get an e-mail informing me of the contract change.

    They then threatened to charge me the early cancellation fee and if I disputed the charge they would simply bill my credit card. I will be cancelling the service and I will be notifying my credit card company that I do not authorize this charge but someone needs to come down on Direct TV very hard for this fraudulant activity.

    0 Votes
  • Ct
    cthefuture2058 Feb 15, 2009

    I phoned Direct TV to install new service to my address. They quoted me a price of 39.99 per month gauranteed for 13 months starting December of 2008. After not recieving the first bill I called to request another which took over a month. After receiving the bill it showed a monthly charge of 57.99. After already having much trouble with Dish Tv I was shocked to see that this company also uses fraud and deception to get people hooked up! I finally got somebody that said I have to go online to apply for a "rebate". I was not told anything about any rebate when I ordered the system. I informed them that I do not have a company at my ready disposal and that I was disabled. So when I finally got somebody to check online for any rebates there were none! I have now spent much time, hours with several people from Direct Tv who say there is nothing they can do! I am appauled as if I cancel they will be charging me $350.00 for cancellation. I am on a very small fixed income and only budgeted in the original quoted price. I can not afford to pay what they are now asking. This again has showed me that these people and companies are predators and will do and say anything to get people like me signed up under very questionable means. Now what can I do? There must be a legal complaint that I can file somewhere to stop these kinds of practices. I had even more severe issues with Dish Tv. I'll deal with that complaint on another form! Please advise me on a remedy for my situation if possible? Thanks..Dan

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.