SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

DELLbad service

1
P Review updated:

Dell computer corporation
Pennsylvania, USA

My husband ordered a computer from Dell while he was abroad on a short term business assignment. Our regular laptop was almost 5 years old and not working reliably anymore so we wanted a new one. I was going to visit him and take the computer for him to use once it arrived. SO I had a plane ticket booked. The computer was ordered July 12 and the estimated date came as July 31st. Seemed kind of odd as Dell we heard usually ships very quickly. Upon contacting them, they said it would be shipped early but that the extended date was there just as an estimate. I contacted Dell many times before the 31st and they told me there was a shortage of parts but it should be shipped by the 31st. he 31st came and no computer. I called again and they said it would be delayed by 1 more week until August 7th. I changed my ticket again hesitantly. They reassured me it would ship on the 7th. I called a few times during that week to see if there was any more progress on the computer but they could not provide me with any more info than the website gave me.

On the 6th of August, they actually called me to tell me it looked like it was going to ship the next day. I told them it had to since my ticket was for the 8th of August and I couldn't change it further without giving 30,000 more airline miles. On the 7th, I checked the status of the computer online and saw that the new estimated date was the 28th of August!!! I had no choice but to cancel the order and visit my husband without a computer. I didnt have time in that 1 day to go and buy the kind of computer he wanted. So he ended up buying a Sony Vaio abroad. When I talked to Dell to cancel my order, they admitted the shortage of parts crisis began in early July, much before we even ordered the computer. If I had known that, I wouldn't have ordered from them. They made no mention of the fact they were behind on orders. I will never purchase from Dell and would recommend others do not either.

Responses

  • W
      Sep 12, 2006
    Dell Multi Function Printer - Don’t buy Dell!
    United States

    I purchased a Dell multifunction printer and within 3 months I was having problems I called customer service at Dell who promptly replaced my printer. My new printer turned out to be in worse condition than the one which was replaced I called Dell again they said I could not possibly have a printer with the tag number that I gave them although it was sitting in front of me, to date they have not honored their warranty and I am left without a printer. Don’t buy Dell?

    Many thanks

    W. (Bill)

    0 Votes
  •   Feb 16, 2007
    Dell, Inc. - Free express upgrade to Windows Vista is a rip-off!
    United States

    On January 21, 2007, I ordered a Dell Dimension C521 Desktop which was advertised in the USA Weekend section of my local newspaper.

    The advertisement, which I still have, offered a free express upgrade to Windows Vista. This was also promised to me when I called in my order (which, by the way, took no time at all compared to contacting Dell for my "free" upgrade). When I received my computer and logged onto www.dellvistaupgrade.com, the web site given to me by Dell to accomplish the upgrade, I had to put in information regarding my new computer, but ended up with a section asking me for credit card information (very confusing considering this was advertised as a free upgrade). When I called Dell at their Customer Care number, I got the royal run-around. It seems that nobody there knows anything about the free upgrade promised on the advertisement and at the time of the sale. I was told that it would cost $45.00 for the upgrade. I intend to pursue this but wonder whether anyone else has had a similar experience. The ad appeared in the January 19-21, 2007 issue of USA Weekend.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jun 20, 2007
    Dell Notebook - Dell King of crap service!
    Canada

    It feels like since the moment I made that ill-fated decision to purchase a Dell inspiron 6000 I have run into nothing but frustration and anger over my decision.

    Upon first placing the order for a system... wait for it not once, not twice but at least 3 times I was finally able to speak to a rep to correct the "mistake" and actually get the system.

    Granted the system worked for the first year and a half the problems began not long after... good thing I got that extra Complete Care Warranty right!?!?! Hardly... after several calls stemming from small things like the screen freezing or the possessed touch pad the calls started to get into bigger problems like the Blue screen which says your hard drive is corrupt. Repeatedly and stupidly I went through the Rinse and Repeat steps: Call, hold, system check, hold, reboot. Being a computer illiterate I could even tell them that the hard drive needed replacing but to no avail. What do I know I only work on the [censored]box day in and day out! Oh lets not forget the reminders that I had the Complete Care and wanted to send the system for "Complete Care"!!!

    Then one day Surprise... the system crashed altogether. Not only did I lose an important work document I was told to go out and shill out $200 to have my files, whatever was left, retrieved. In the meantime wait for the hard drive to be sent in and replace it. Of course this was not so easy. The system still did not work... when asked to speak to a manager about what would be done to compensate for the frustration I got 2 mins with a nonchalant manager who kept repeating that they would send me a way bill to ship the whole system for repair. I have the system back, but the latest there are no software applications on the system. Just getting off the phone with Dell yet again... being told that they sent me Wordperfect with the system and though my system upon initial start up had Microsoft Office installed. Dell can not do anything about it.

    Here's another thing Dell can't do anything about, me telling every contact in my address book that not only does Dell not care about its customers, but if you're lucky enough to get your order through on the first try you'll still have several years of problems to look forward too! Dell can rest assured no future PC purchase I make will be with them! Congrats Dell another customer happily walking away.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Aug 17, 2007

    I have bought a Dell Laptop INspirron E1405 from United States o America about 18 months back. Since last months it gives problems in keyboard keys. Keys 7, 8,0,f,g, not functioning. Moreover battery life has reduced to 15 minutes. Dell India is not giving any support on this problems. I had written emails to them no reply from their side.

    Now I am very much confused what to do with these problems.

    0 Votes
  •   Sep 17, 2007
    Dell - Ac Adapters - Poor performance!
    United States

    I really thought it ironic that DELL "gave me" an opportunity to rate a recent purchase. This happened to be the second AC adapter I had to get from DELL, the first was sent no charge and I paid for the second. I have been very unhappy with my DELL purchase. Refer to CASE # [protected]. My computer would overheat even with the fan on and I was told that since the 1 year warranty had just expired there was nothing that could be done. This on a computer that was barely one year old! My calls to DELL got nowhere. I was given no compensation and was told there was nothing the company could do. I am still convinced my overheated computer had to do with the batteries DELL had to recall. I recently purchased a TOSHIBA and will "badmouth" DELL any opportunity I can get. Your so called customer service was "customer no-service" in my opinion. I personally know why DELL stock deserves it's poor performance.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Apr 07, 2008
    Norton / Symantec Dell - Double billing
    Norton
    P.O. Box 164
    Huntington
    United States
    www.cmc.net

    I ordered a computer program from Norton/Symantec over my computer and paid their fees. The tech refused to have it installed because I am on dial up and she didn't want to be bothered because it would take too long. (Had never heard of such a thing before and have had a computer for over 28 years). Said she would return my money which has never happened and now have to have my credit card company go after it.

    0 Votes
  • N
      Apr 11, 2008

    Worse than a loan shark, , it has been 2 years paying dell each month still I owe more than 75% of the total loan amount. That’s ridiculous amount of interest rate 29.99% and now recently they have increased the rate to 30.48% now. Imagine that ???
    will never buy dell again, not a good experience. THEY ARE A RIP OFF!

    0 Votes
  •   May 15, 2008
    Dell Computers - Do they ever work
    Dell Computers
    United States
    www.dell.com

    My new $4200 dell computer does not work. I have spent countless hours with Dell trying to resolve the problems. Each time you call them you speak to a different person who has a different idea. I have reinstalled twice which means I have lost all my data twice, not counting the time when they replaced the hard drive which did nothing. Dell will not replace the system under any circumstance it seems nor will they give any timetable for replacing the further hardware. Now they do not return my attempts at contacting them. I paid extra for what I thought was a 2year at-home warranty which now is totally flawed.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Jun 05, 2008
    Dell Computer Corporation - I bought a camera that dont work
    Dell
    Florida
    United States

    I bought a Sony Cyber-shot camera from Dell on 6-3-2008. I got the camera on 6-5-2008 and it will not work. I called Sony and talked with them and the man talked me through everything to try to get it to work but then he said it was the camera and not the memory stick card. I called Dell back and he told me they could not help me. I ask if they could replace the camera but he said no that it don’t come with that option. So now I am stuck with a camera that cost $117.67 and it will not work.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jul 11, 2008
    Dell Dimension 4700c - Bad efficiency
    Dell
    Japan

    I bought the Dell Dimension 4700C 2 years and a half ago, from the very first moment problems came up. Sudenly the computer was broken (3 weeks after I purchased it), I mean it went off without any possibility of doing anything, they repaired without any logical reason written in the receip.
    One year and a half later, the problems with the disc drive begin, such like a blue screen appearing everytime y copy something to a disc, and destroying the disc contents completely. They required me to repared by my self with very complicated operations which honestly I had no idea how to do, finaly the disc drive was broken completely, and they accepted to come, pick it up and repair it. This was the first time. It is already 2 years and a half since I bought it and they have came to pick it up and repair it 5 times in total!, asuring me each time that is was going to work well, formating the C drive already 3 times, and the most important thing, making me lose a lot of time, because I need the computer because of my job.
    Even you you take care I lost a lot of data everytime they format my computer.

    I also studing computer graphi design and I very need the computer, so the delay in my studies means a delay in finding a new job at the time I estimated. This last week they asured me it was going to be the last time and is not working well again, and I have to prepare many things for interviews that I have next week.

    0 Votes
  •   Aug 14, 2008
    Dell Store - Fraud
    Dell Store
    United States

    A few months ago, (I am not sure of the exact date, because I don't have the paperwork in front of me.), but The salesman at the Dell store in The Galleria Mall in Cheektowaga, NY, told me that a Western Digital "My Book" external drives, which have a big half-dollar size button in a lit-up green circle, would completly back up my Dell laptop's drive every time the button was pressed. Amazed, I asked about this backup-by-button several times and was reasurred that it was true. The salesman said that he had one and told me how easy it was to make backups by just pressing a button. After buying it, I find out that it can't back up anything at the push of a button, because the button in the green circle is the POWER button, and anytime it is pressed, the unit shuts off! The Dell store said they could not give me my money back. What a fraud!

    0 Votes
  • D
      Aug 15, 2008
    Dell - Poor tech support
    Dell
    India
    www.dell.com

    Dell service is horrible in India.I have a very bad time with Dell XPSm1530 laptop. D0nt believe the award winning service rubbish on their web site. I had a flickering screen within 3 months of sparing use. They changed the mother board and now it is completely blank. No support for last 10 days. No response from the dell bangalore office. The service reps in Pune and Mumbai do not pick up the phone. All in all I think it was one of the biggest mistake in my life to buy this over advertised laptop. Why don't we all get together and sue in the consumer court for misleading consumers and false advertising about product support.

    0 Votes
  • P
      Aug 22, 2008
    Dri'symantec Dell - DRI Seymantec Dell Master Card charge 7-10-08
    Kansas
    United States

    This company has charged my mastercard account $86.95 and I do not remember authorizing them to do so. When I look for this company on the web site shown on mastercard bill this month (www.myord.commn) to find out what this charge is for it is not clear whether this charge is fraudulant or not? I do not want DRI symantec Dell to make any furthur charges agansit my mastercard account without an explanation. Also, I want a refund unless DRI can confirm I authorized to it to make this purchase on July 10, 2008.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Aug 25, 2008
    Norton / Symantec Dell - Double billing
    Norton/Symantec Dell
    United States

    I have already paid a Citi AAdvantage World MasterCard bill on 8/22/08 for $49.99 for Norton Annual Renewal (Ref. HF1XD500). Today I received a statement from FIA Card Services (MasterCard from Edward Jones), which includes a charge of $69.98 from DRI Symantec Dell. This is the same anti-virus service and I should not charged for both. Please advise.

    [protected]@bellsouth.net

    0 Votes
  • K
      Oct 07, 2008
    Dell - terrible tech support
    Dell
    New Orleans
    Louisiana
    United States

    I bought a laptop in the summer of 2006 to use for school. I had to have the unit serviced the following year because the screen refused to turn on. After arguing with tech support in India for an hour and telling them I just wanted to send the unit in for repair, they agreed and I was out $600. Inconvenient, but not the reason I will never buy a dell again.

    I got a virus on my computer in the middle of August 2008. I took it to best buy to get it serviced and they said I needed a system restore disk because they couldn't repair.

    I called Dell. I told them I needed a system restore disk because my computer had a virus and I wanted to start from scratch. They told me they did not have system restore disks (wtf?) but I could purchase an operating system upgrade that would do essentially the same thing for the low low price of $100. I agreed to the extortion because I needed it fixed. Dell sent me an XP home upgrade. My computer already had XP home.

    I called back. The next person I spoke to told me they did not know why I was told Dell did not have system restore disks, of course they had them and they would ship me one for the low price of $35. I agreed. That time I was sent a backup utility to save my files, which I had specifically told the rep I did not need.

    Three weeks later, I was no closer to finding the right disk. I called Dell for a return, and the customer service rep treated me like an idiot. Why did I want to return the products? Why was I sent these items? Maybe because an operating system upgrade and a backup utility ARE NOT SYSTEM RESTORE DISKS.

    I dread calling Dell customer service. The waits are always so long and the reps obviously do not understand what I need. Thanks to their incompetence, I missed out on three weeks of law school notes. I shelled out the money and got a Toshiba.

    Dell sucks. Their products suck but their real downfall is their customer service. I realize it is cheaper to use call centers in Bangalore, but I paid a lot of money to have someone competent answer my complaints. At least I got my $135 back

    0 Votes
  • T
      Oct 23, 2008
    Entertainment (Movies / Tv / Modelling, Etc.) - connection not available
    Hollywoodprofiles.com
    California
    United States
    Hollywoodprofiles.com

    THIS COMPANY IS A SCAM, A FAKE, OFFERED WHAT THEY COULD NOT DELIVER. LYING ABOUT THEIR BUSINESS. FOR THE THIRD DAY, TRIED TO LOG IN AND I GOT IN, BUT THAT'S ABOUT ALL. I COULDN'T GET INTO ANYTHING, MY MESSAGES, CASTING CALLS, NOTHING!! I GOT CONNED. THEY CHARGED ME @31.90 ON 10/14/08 AND LET ME LOOK INTO CASTING CALLS FOR A FEW DAYS. NOW IT'S OFF.

    THERE SHOULD BE A LAW THAT CHECKS AND CLOSES COMPANIES LIKE THIS. OR MAYBE IT IS NOT EVEN ANYTHING. JUST PRETENDING TO BE ONE.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Nov 07, 2008
    Dell Ac Adapter - Never Received Item
    UnitedSale.com
    34 Garden Street
    Valley Stream
    New York
    United States
    Phone: no public phone
    unitedsale.com

    I ordered an AC Adapter form my Dell laptop computer. Normally they sell for around $50-$60. UnitedSale.com had it for $22.99 so I went ahead and bought it using my credit card.

    I waited and waited for the AC Adapter to arrive, but it never did. I waited for almost a month for a shipping that was supposed to take a few days for $13.42. I went back on the site looking for a phone number but they had no phone number. I finally emailed them and they responded right away with a generic email - [protected]@unitedsale.com - but no one placed their name on the email or any phone number. The email said that the item was shipped and that it was on it's way! "Yeah, sure, " I thought and I called my credit card company to charge it back to them. No goods, No deal!

    Don't waste your time with a company that doesn't even have the business ethics to have a customer service phone number or can't even sign their emails with a name.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Dec 10, 2008
    Dell Computers - No quality
    United States

    I purchased my Dell Inspiron E fifteen zero five (I can't type the numbers b/c my keyboard is going bad) about 2 and a half years ago. Within 18 months, the battery was completely dead. A replacement costs around $ 240 and when I contacted Dell's technical support, they said that's average for a battery. I refused to buy a battery! Then, shortly after the battery completely died, the power cord shorted out and wouldn't work. Dell wanted around $80 for a replacement. I went on eBay and only paid $28 for the cord. Now, my keyboard keys are going bad. I can't use the five, six, CTRL, or Fn...so far.
    I am so disgusted with these problems that I will never buy another Dell product...PERIOD! I have told all of my friends as well and I participate with all blogs that bash Dell products. My husband has had his Apple Mac for 8 years and no problems.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Dec 11, 2008

    I agree with the people who have complaints with Dell computers. I too have spent over 3, 000 on a new XPS Laptop and almost the same in repairs. I have extra warranties on top of other warranties and my computer was purchased in last spring of 2008!

    What can we do as a group to get replacement computers that are new? I think we need to team up in order to get satisfaction! Who is interested and has ideas on how to proceed? We need to do something!

    What are the boards rules for this? How can we team up? Kembra

    0 Votes
  • L
      Dec 15, 2008
    Dell Computer - I was told i would recieve free gifts and my credit will build up
    Bluehippo Funding
    7000 Security Blvd.
    Baltimore
    Maryland
    United States
    Phone: [protected]
    bluehippo.com

    I purchased a computer over the telephone with Bluehippo around Oct. 2006 after i heard a radio advertisement, it was a great bundle: a flat screen tv, a$300 mail- in rebate, free software and more, that is why i participated and gave all the needed information to recieve my merchandise and to began building up my credit, well things did not turn out the way i planned it, soon as they had recieved my bank information they withdrawaled the amount of $124.19 which was 3 payments of $41.33 for a down payment than thereafter they began taking $106.64 by weekly for atleast 5 or 6 it had not dawned on me until my account was overdrawn and i had a fee to payof $25.00 to my account and a $20 fee to Bluehippo than i realized i had to say or do something inregards to this matter, i know in the agreement i should have arrived to me sooner, so i was forced due to no response to visit the BBB websight to see if there were any complaints filed against their co. and i was told they had several complaints, one of the agents from the BBB mailed me some complaint forms to pursue action against them if they did not respond to a written letter i was told to write to them on behalf of my merchandise or founds, before i could take legal action against them they sent me a computer lest than a week it really amazed me how quickly they delivered it, i latter found out the whole price changed, the price for the Dell computer in full is $2203.28 and the contract i should only be making (28) payments, this one cost more than the original i one alone with the gifts, i was thankful to recieve the computer since i did not recieve anything else exspecially because all the payments that was tooking out of my account so that is why i decided to keep it, now the issue is i think that i am being well over charged, my point is that i should have been paid in full . Later, maybe a few days after the computer was delivered i called Bluehippo and asked them about my free stuff that comes alone with the computer, one of their reps. told me i no longer qualified for them after all i had gone through waiting on my computer i purchased from them, that really disapointed me even more, so i questioned one of their rep. over the telephone once again to find out why i could'nt recieve my gifts, i was told because i had no fundings available in my account a couple of times that was not in the contract but due to a misunderstanding on not getting enough information about the dates i would have had it in there, accurate information was not clearly given on what dates it was to be in there so it could be withdrawn out of my account, each time i called to get the dates correct so my account can stay at a possitive, i also apoligized to the person i spoke with eventhough it damaged my account each time the fondings were not available i had to pay the fees on both ends which i was'nt very pleased with. I feel they are ripping me off because as of 12-15-08 they are still getting paid but i am losing a lot of money and not establising good credit nor recieving my gifts so whomever this reaches i hope you can take it to heart and help me out of this terriable situation.

    PS IF IT IS LEGAL I WANT
    TO STOP MY PAYMENT !

    0 Votes
  • M
      Dec 29, 2008
    Dell Plasma Tv - No Picture
    Seattle
    Washington
    United States

    I Bought a 42" Plasma TV less than 2 years ago $1756.20 - Now has no picture and cannot be fixed?? How rude. Cannot get any help from Dell. I have to pay to throw it away.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jan 15, 2009
    Dell Dimension 4600 - Customer Service
    Dell Inc.
    United States

    I recently (October 2008) needed to upgrade the storage capacity of my Dell 4600, which I'd purchased in 2003. I turned to Dell for two reasons: up until now I'd received good service from them, having bought three systems from them over the years, so I felt I'd get good service now; and I trusted that they would know what I needed, as I am not a hardware guru, and so I would not have to worry about making mistakes. Unfortunately this was incorrect on both counts.

    When I spoke with Dell sales, I said I wanted a 1 TB SATA drive. The rep said my system was not SATA compatible, and I would have to go with EIDE, and the largest available was 500 GB. I took her word for it, and as time was of the essence (I am a grad student, and had assignments due that required massive amounts of drive space and my original 120 GB drive was near capacity) I had the drive overnighted. The drive arrived the next day (the only thing that was to go well in this affair), but when I contacted tech support to have help walking through the installation, I found out that I needed an IDE cable, which did not come with the drive and was not available in my machine. This was my first surprise. When I called Dell sales, they told me they'd be happy to sell me a cable, but it would be several days before I'd receive it. Upset that, if I'd been told about it, I could have purchased the cable at the same time as the drive and therefore would have had it then already, I opted to try to locate one locally. Little did I realize how rare IDE connectors had become... I had to go to a specialty store that was not open on weekends (I found out Friday, late). Once I had the cable, I contacted tech support again and began the installation... when I had the cover off, and was trying to locate the bay into which the drive would go, I discovered that my original drive was a SATA! I had never seen a SATA connection before, so did not realize what it was until the technician told me... that was when I began to feel REALLY upset. That began my adventure with Dell customer service.

    The more I ruminated, that day, over Dell's mistakes, the first being told my system was not SATA capable, the second not even being told I needed additional parts to make my second-choice drive work, the more I felt they needed to make this right by offering me the SATA drive I'd originally wanted at the same cost as the one I'd been told was my only choice. I sent them a complaint to that effect, and waited... and waited... and waited. They then sent me a letter saying no. I complained to a supervisor, adding comments about how I have been a loyal Dell customer for years, and would like to continue to be (when I graduated I would probably be buying a new, high-end system). And waited, and waited... in the meantime my original drive began to make sounds, and I thought I might need to replace it; I also thought it was becoming less and less convenient to simply return the drive I'd mistakenly been told I needed (but which did work) - so I changed my proposal to this: I would buy a new 1 TB drive at the cost of the EIDE drive I'd bought, and Dell would ship it overnight at no additional charge. I felt this was equitable, especially since the cost of 1 TB drives continues to fall rapidly, and this was dragging out so long that the prices had fallen appreciably, making Dell's "discount" to me even less.

    Dell didn't see it that way.

    I just got off the phone with their "supervisory staff". He tried to tell me that there were no internal drives offered on my system's "upgrade path", so they would not sell me one (although if I wanted to buy one locally, I was welcome to). When I pointed out that, if his assertion was true, the sales staff that had sold me the internal EIDE drive was doubly wrong, he tried to tell me it had been an issue of availability at the time...

    Basically, he was giving me rationalizations that made Dell's position for denying my request seem appropriate, and when I pushed to hear Dell's final position he finally said no. I clarified that Dell was denying a long term customer a discount that amounted to $20.00 at this time after having been given bad advice under urgent circumstances and then gone through a four-month run-around trying to resolve the matter, and he repeated no. He tried to add that Dell was noting my concerns, and would review the events to be able to provide better service in the future, but I interrupted him by replying that I had no interest in what Dell did in the future as I would not be doing business with a company that valued $20.00 over loyal customers.

    The final summation is this... caveat emptor. If you have a Dell system, you need to learn its technical specifications yourself and do your homework before calling them. If you don't, and a mistake is made, even if it is Dell's, you can expect absolutely no contrition or even regret on their part. But they will be happy to sell you something else to make it right. Oh yes, and don't forget they'll ask "Is there anything else I can help you with today?"

    0 Votes
  • T
      Jan 15, 2009
    Dell Inc - Lost my computer and data
    Dell Inc.
    Texas
    United States
    Phone: [protected]
    Dell.com

    Sent my computer in for repair. When they shipped it back, they shipped it to my old work address, not the address they picked it up from. When I found out that my system was miss shipped, I contacted Dell (1/12/09). I was told that there was nothing this team could do and that I would get a call back in 24 to 48 hours. On Wednesday (1/14/09) I called Dell and talked to a different manager. He said my case had been assigned to the executive team and that I would get a call back and that he would send another request to call me. On Thursday (1/15/09) Shobhit (ID 55196) told me that I will yet again be getting a call back today. The entire time (one full week), the system with all my personal data has been at a different location then mine.

    0 Votes
  • I
      Jan 16, 2009
    Dell - Lack of support
    Dell
    LaVergne
    Tennessee
    United States
    dellcomputers.com

    I ordered a dell computer and I had to under go a serious surgery and I am not sure when I can return to work. So I contacted Dell for 5 days finally got a hold of someone and they told me not to refuse the computer. and that under these circumstances should not charge me the 15% restocking fee. When I finally talked to a customer service they said not only would I have to pay the restocking fee but also pay so have it shipped back. If only had refused the package I would not have to pay that back, but worse then that they refused to take the 15% off. It's really nice to know that I'm doing business with a company would really could care less about people and more about the dollar. they even said they would give me a 35.00 discount if I keep the a computer. It's very sad when the dollar means more than anything else. also by the way it was a basic computer no add ons so there was no special things added to the computer just a basic model.

    0 Votes
  • I
      Feb 18, 2009
    Dell Computers - Terrible company
    Dell Computers
    United States
    dell.com

    I purchased 2 laptop computers from dell 3 years go with full replacement warranty covering everything on the laptop. I called dell to replace my battery and they are saying it is an consumable part and the warranty does not cover the battery. If you sell someone a warranty that covers everything on the machine is the battery not a part of the machine or warranty? I will never buy dell machine and will discourage everyone who ask me about computers from buying dell. Over the last few years I have purchased 8 computers from dell including a server for my company but never again will i buy a single dell machine. I hope others will stop buying this machine also. They are all criminals and don't care about the consumer.

    DON'T BUY DELL WARRANTY OR COMPUTERS, IT'S A WASTE OF YOUR MONEY.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Feb 19, 2009
    Dell - No service at all
    Dell
    United States

    be aware dell has no customer service. save yourself lots of aggravation and don't buy anything from them. i received a dead computer from dell and entered dell hell. once they realized i wouldn't be willing to keep an expensive paperweight around my call was routed to india. this is a black hole but i'd much rather be in a real one. i was put on non-ending hold, sent from person to person and disconnected many times. it took hours and i felt helpless and completely ripped off. it's called the dell run around. i asked for a supervisor and that was refused. finally told one of them i'd be disputing the charge on my ax since they weren't interested in providing any customer service. they said go ahead. i did. funny how there was lots of customer service when they were trying to sell their junk. the agent at ax tried calling for me and she got the same treatment. now i'm going through more time wasted disputing the charge. i'm having to pay out my pocket to ship the piece of junk back. also, the bar code on the bottom of the dead computer had been rubbed off with an eraser. it was pre-owned and sold as new. save yourself some grief and buy from compaq, hp, ibm, or apple. funny but i help people by fixing their screwed up computers. i don't charge them as i feel sorry for them. most people are clueless. when a computer is unsalvagable i help them buy a new one. i use to use dell. ha. not anymore. i have a 90's era cheap little HP laptop that's still working great. i got it for $25 at a thrift store. just needed a little work. guess i'll be recommending them from now on.

    0 Votes
  • I
      Feb 19, 2009
    Dell / Xps 16 - decieved by sales reps
    Dell
    United States
    dell.com

    I purchased my laptop yesterday. I bought it only because I was told by a sales rep i would get my laptop by sunday or she would cancel the order. I spoke to another rep today who said neither was possible plus it is not possible to either change my shipping to overnight (which initially I was told this option does not exist) or to cancel my order. I feel lied to! Every rep I have called since has hung up on me!!! I have asked to speak with the manager more then once and I got different people every time claiming to be the highest manager around.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Feb 24, 2009
    Dell - Terrible service
    Dell
    United States
    dell.com

    When you order a computer from Dell. Everything from the sales representative goes smoothly. But when I went to return the computer (They sent the wrong one), I was transferred 6 times and not once did I speak to someone who understood English very well. After returning the computer, Dell charged me a 15% restocking fee that they never told me would happen. (Nearly a $100 profit for them sending the wrong computer). When I questioned the gentleman, he simply said "it's all on our website." (I ordered by phone!)

    I don't think I've ever been more frustrated with a company.

    And I'm a pretty easygoing guy.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Mar 23, 2009

    $4, 200 and countless hours waste!!! Yes I'd be LIVID!

    In previous yrs I've bought 5 Dell desktop and laptops for my family. And in the past I have sold many friends on Dell. NO MORE!!! I've recently spent 2 months and $$ researching a problem with my Dell laptop. I've learned many, many formerly loyal consumers believe Dell uses inferior components and doesn't tell customers when they know of 'SERIOUS DESIGN FLAWS' in their products and components. Rather than do an open recall or find a permanent fix to an extremely common and frustrating problem with their laptops, Dell decided to keep the design flaw quiet. Forcing loyal customers to buy new components, new adapters, new batteries, new motherboards, extended warranties AND whole new laptops is sooo much more profitable!

    Spread the word. Become a consumer advocate against Dell. There are many outraged by a frustrating, time consuming and expensive design flaw Dell has KNOWN about for years. Go to getsatisfaction.com to see a movement of angry formerly loyal Dell customers.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Mar 24, 2009
    Dell - Computor is Junk
    Denver Casto
    Lorain
    Ohio
    United States

    My wife bought me a new Dell Inspiron for Christmas in 2007. The computor came with CD and DVD burner. I had to have the DVD burner replaced in May of 2008 when a dvd stuck and jammed the dvd recorder. I made a call and it was replaced, later an issue came about and I contacted Dell support and had to pay $140.oo to have the Dell Tech fix after a call to customer service. Another issue came when more problems with the computor in March of 2009 after a call to dell tech another $190.oo was wanted to fix computor. When I asked about the warrenty I was told it was only good on the hardware and not software. I had computor fixed and wanted to burn dvd when I discovered there was no dvd burner only a cd burner. I contacted Dell and was told there was no burner in the computor when purchased and if I had a dvd burner in the computor when it was purchased it was Dells fault and there was nothing they could do. Should this be Dells way of doing business then I would like to have my money back or a computor that works and has what was promised. My advice is to stay away from Dell and buy something where people stand behind there work

    0 Votes
  • S
      Apr 02, 2009
    Dell - Laptop
    Dell
    Ontario
    Canada

    In May 2008 we ordered a Dell Inspiron 1525 laptop as a high school graduation gift for our daughter who has since gone away to university. It finally arrived in July and although it was late, we did not complain. She called home absolutely frantic on September 26, 2008 because her laptop had stopped working - she is in the first year of a Bachelor of Commerce program and most of her course material is online and she is required to write weekly quizzes online as well. Obviously all her essays and case studies must be professionally presented and can not be hand written!

    She MUST have access to a working computer at all times!

    She called the Dell service number and after navigating the voice mail found someone in technical support that had her run hours of diagnostics - she had to stop to go to class and then had to start the entire process over again when she could get back to her room. Finally the Dell person agreed that it was in fact a hard drive failure and told her to remove the hard drive so she could tell him where the unit was made. She is a seventeen year old girl in a dorm room - she does not have access to tools!!!

    At this point she called home again and we agreed to drive the two hundred + miles (with gas prices over $1.00 per litre) to bring the laptop home so that I could deal with it.

    I called Dell and went through the whole rigmarole again and because I had a screw driver I was able to remove the hard drive and report that it was made in Korea. This process took hours!

    The technician said that he would send a replacement and I should have it in a few days. Several days later a new hard drive was delivered. I was stunned to see that is was made in the same place as the faulty one and even more stunned when I realized that the hard drive was completely empty and that I was going to have to spend hours re-installing all the software that we purchased (installed) with the laptop.

    We then had to pay to have the laptop sent FedEx overnight as my daughter had already been without it for more than a week!

    When she got it back she had to spend hours re-installing her own programs and files, re-registering her anti-virus, setting up her iTunes etc.

    I had already decided that I would never buy anything from Dell again when she called yesterday (January 27, 2009) to say that once again her laptop would not start!

    This time I left work immediately and drove the 200 miles (round trip) to her school to pick up the laptop. I called Dell as soon as I got home and spent two hours on the phone running repeated diagnostics until once again the technician conceded that it was in fact a hard drive failure!

    He started to give me the spiel about sending a replacement hard drive and I demanded to speak to his supervisor. His supervisor tried to give me the same line and I told him that I wanted the laptop fixed properly and that I was not going to waste my time again.

    Finally he admitted that there was a repair depot in Newmarket, Ontario (approximately 20 miles from our home) and my husband agreed to drive over to drop it off this morning. The round trip took over two hours as we are in the midst of severe winter snow storm.

    Hopefully the repair depot will fix it properly and not just replace the hard drive again!

    When we get it back we will once again have to send it back FedEx overnight and incur another $40.00 charge!!

    Why should I have to incur cost because your product is defective?? When I asked the four different Dell employees that I have spoken to in the last 24 hours no one could give me an answer.

    I called Dell customer service and spoke to one gentleman who said he could not help me and when I spoke to his supervisor and explained about the hours we have wasted and all the money we have spent because your product is defective he said “that’s too bad” and refused to reimburse us.

    Do you actually consider that to be “Customer Service”????

    I have never written a letter of complaint before but I have never experienced anything like this – trying to deal with Dell is frustrating beyond words!

    I would like all costs we have incurred (approximately $250.00 Canadian to date) refunded. If we experience any more problems with this laptop I want the entire purchase price refunded and we will buy a laptop from someone other than Dell!!!

    0 Votes
  • A
      Apr 02, 2009
    Dell Computer Co. - Scammed
    Dell Computer Co.
    United States
    dell.com

    In June of 2008 my mother, who is 80 now, saw and add in our local Bakersfield Ca newspaper. She called Dell's 800 number and although she could ask NO questions or even answer theirs. The great company took the order, built a Inspiron 530, and sent it to her. I come out of the box and there it sits. She doesn't know who to even turn it on. Had I been here in Bakersfield this would not have happened.

    Now every month she pays $33.00 and dust the computer. I have called and called and spoken to INDIA and the Philippines. No one can help me and I can even get the account number. I did however get the ADDRESS to send a note to DELL. They but really be n HARD times when little OLD ladies are talked to about building a compute. I know most of her answers were..I DON'T KNOW. I have NO IDEA what that is. What is the color...COME on Dell. YOU need a good lawsuit to make your year.

    I have NOTHING on this computer and since I have moved back to Bakersfield and my mother is NOW living with me...I have tried to RETURN this piece of crap back to them. I'll bet IF I stop paying for this hunk of junk...they get in touch with ME. That day is coming. HOW dare you Dell computers build and sell this thing to a person WHO could not even tell you what they wanted. MORE like you said you NEED and HAVE to have this and she said...I guess...I don't know.

    I'm not 80 and trying to help my mom out. I want her to live the rest of her life without crap like DELL COMPUTERS scamming her. h yea, did I tell you this computer has never been turned on...she didn't understand that when you took it out of the box and plugged it in...what other things were needed to make it function. But it is past their return policy...Does anyone know IF I can turn this around for her...get it back to Dell and get her money back? HELP I guess...what a RIP OFF Dell Computers is!!!

    0 Votes
  • K
      Apr 02, 2009

    you can teach your mom how to use it if you can't return it

    0 Votes
  • D
      Apr 03, 2009
    Bluehippo Dell Home Computer - got no computer nor refund
    denise stingley
    13110 kuykendahl
    Houston
    Texas
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    i started paying my money with bluehippo last year in may . I've been calling about my money or the computer at the end of the year in Nov 2008.I've been calling ever other day i even told them that i don't wont them to take out anymore money. Know they tell me that they have sent a note to shipping a ask for number to shipping or manager just at get pass the person on the phone . I even called Dell to see if they can help me but they say they can't. I've made several calls attempting to get a refund. I believe bluehippo is a scam an a fraud.!

    0 Votes
  • K
      Apr 11, 2009
    Dell Inc - computer has never worked properly
    Dell Inc
    1 Dell Way MS 8210
    Round Rock
    Texas
    United States
    dell.com

    • Immediately after purchase/delivery of this computer [protected]), it would go to a blue screen. This could happen 5-6 times a day. We contacted Dell and they had us run diagnostic tests. The decision was that the hard drive should be replaced. Dell sent a new hard drive and installation was completed with the help of a Dell (telephone) technician. The operating system was also reinstalled at this time.
    • The blue screen (full page screen that locks the computer and has to be restarted) continued.
    • Next I was told that I needed additional memory (RAM) to operate Vista efficiently. We purchased 2 sticks of 2GB memory and installed them.
    • After that we were told to update the drivers. We did and still got the blue screen.
    • Next we were told that we needed to remove one stick of memory. We did that and still got the blue screen.
    • I’ve e-mailed pictures of the blue screen to Dell representatives. Next I was told that we should re-install the operating system.
    • Operating system was re-installed 12-29-08.
    • Computer worked fine for 6 weeks.
    • Computer crashed (lost everything) Feb 09.
    • Feb 2009, Dell technician and his supervisor both said that computer would be replaced if there were any additional problems.
    • 4-3-09, called each of the people I spoke with on 2-17-09. Left messages including case number. Neither has returned my call as of 4-11-09.

    Documents showing numerous phone conversations and case numbers, letters to Dell HQ, and online chat can be provided.

    0 Votes
  • P
      Apr 16, 2009
    Dell Inspion - power sulply
    pat fox
    110 everett lane
    Byrdstown
    Tennessee
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    i brough a new dell desktop at walmart a week later i take it to be repaip it blew a power suply. it took 3 day to get the part from dell pay over a hundred dollars!!! well took it home four day later guess what? it did it again this time it been in the shop over a week ill, never get a dell again and would not recement it to my dog let along anybody else dell sucks

    0 Votes
  • T
      Apr 16, 2009

    I took mine back and told them it didnt connect to the internet. They said go grab a new one and that was it? Maybe you gave them to much info?

    0 Votes
  • G
      Apr 29, 2009
    Dell Computer - No software support
    Dell Computer
    United States

    Two days after buying a top-of-the-line Dell desktop I encountered a Windows Vista problem dealing with installation and removal of programs. The problem was with the Windows Installer program, part of the operating system. After talking with their level one tech, no nothing level 1 tech Agent (Rahul_195657): to supervisor (Sup_Bondada_56363): and finally a level 2 tech, (lost his name) each offered the very quick solution. I should contact Dell On-Call. It is a paid service that starts at $49 per incident as a minimum. When I threatened to publicize their actual response, the level 2 tech made one effort to solve the problem. He then explained that any slightly complicated problem needs to go to their paid service, even though Dell sold the Windows copy and Microsoft has no responsibility to support that sale. It was clear they felt no responsibility for this problem. This purchase of a Dell computer is probably my 12th purchase personally and countless purchases I have influenced. Rest assured that this is the last Dell computer I will ever buy!

    0 Votes
  • K
      May 14, 2009
    Dell 1525 Street Embedded Laptop - Misleading advertisement
    The vodacom store 4u
    South Africa

    The laptop that i purchached on a my meg 250 package in april 2009 was advertised with features 2048 mb memory and 250 gig hard drive, but the laptop i recieved only had a 1024mb memory and a 120 gig hard drive. Since i started questioning vodacom as well as the vodacom 4u store manager in Brits North west province, it seems that no one wants to help me in this regard. The business practice of vodacom is unethical and the advertisements and after sales sevice (if any) are corrupt and misleading. This case has already been submitted to my lawyer to take action. Shoul anyone in the vodacom company be willing to help me in this regard, i would appreciate it. My cell no. is [protected]

    0 Votes
  • R
      May 18, 2009

    just when i got the dells latitude laptops itscreen flushes black, cpu hangs i am very much frustrated with dell

    0 Votes

Post your comment