SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Dairy Queengive us a fricken break!

1
T Review updated:

I really need to get this off my chest.

I am so sick of customers complaining! Mistakes happen. # happens, and sometimes we can't do anything about it. Deal with it people! Do you think we wake up every morning thinking "I will deliberately make sure that I make a customer's day a living hell and mess up their order on purpose?" of course not!

I've been working at dq for a while now, and it pisses me off when someone complains that we didn't put anything in their blizzard, or that the shape of the ice cream does not look right. You're only going to ruin the shape anyway with your fricken mouth! I find it annoying when people ask how much calories, fat, cholestrol, etc is in our ice cream, and then get mad at us for telling them the truth. You should all know that when you go out to any fast food restaurant, there is bound to be tons of calories, sodium, etc in their food!

I just hate the people that complains about the littlest things. Reading this site, I read a complaint about one single broken highchair at mcdonalds, and they are demanding free food. Over a effing high chair??? Did they even bother to tell the people working there that it was broken? Maybe it had broken that very day, and the employees just didn't know yet! Did they consider that?? Probably not.

Let me be clear here though. I have had bad customer service before, but I do not make it a goal to tell of the employers and make them give me something free. You think i'm a wimp? Think again. Maybe I actually considered what it was like in their shoes? Have any of you who have had bad service even considered being in the other's shoes?

Not to say that every customer that complains is stupid, but once you get to experience working customer service, you'll understand what goes on behind the scenes.

Responses

  • Ch
    Charlie Severson Sep 23, 2007

    Amen! I worked at DQ for three years in high school. Most of the time, it was pretty fun. But sometimes people just say the dumbest things.

    We had a sign there CLEARLY posted in LARGE lettering ON THE COUNTER that stated that we do not offer refunds and that if the manager feels you should be reimbursed, you will be given either a new product or a gift certificate for the value of the product.

    By the time I was 16, I was often left as the manager on duty. People would stand there and SCREAM at me about this policy as if I was the one who invented it. But if you go and tell a customer that you're just following the rules, then they tell you you're being rude. You can't win sometimes. I actually had to resort to telling a lady, "Ma'am, I am just following the rules my boss has told me to follow. If I don't follow those rules, who knows, I could get fired."

    Her reply? "Well that's not MY problem."

    Ugh.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Mar 07, 2008

    I've been working at DQ for two years, and I'm well on my way to becoming a manager. The hardest part is dealing with the newer, younger employees that haven't a clue how to deal with customers. My second day on the job I had a bag thrown at me because the kitchen had not seen that the burger was plain and therefore dressed it as normal. Dealing with hard customers is part of the job. And if you can't do it with a smile on your face, it only makes it worse. I'm not saying I'm always smiling. I've had a spat or two with customers that just don't seem to understand that we are trying our hardest. When the store closes at 10 pm and the customer arrives at 9:55pm and orders a few burgers, its so upsetting when you have to hear them complain about how long its taking. Do they realize that you have to get up in 7 short hours and go to school just to return the next night and do it all over again? For those customers reading this, I beg of you, consider our feelings, we will do the same for you.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Doug Perry2 Aug 03, 2017

    @Mary Your personal problems have NO place at work. If you cant do the then quit

    -2 Votes
  • Ki
    Kitty4844 Apr 10, 2008

    With your attitude you should look for another job, get out of the food service industry! Seriously, with your mouth you should not be working ANY job requiring customer service. I have worked for Dairy Queen for over ten years and I am ashamed of you for working at DQ. Shut your filthy mouth and learn some manners.

    Yes mistakes happen, and when they do you fix them! You want customers to return, without customers you wouldn't have a job.

    -2 Votes
  • felt the same way when I still had my job and will still feel the same way when I get another!! totally agree with yah man :)

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    mark bowlen Jun 06, 2008

    this complaint is aimed at the cartersville ga store as of lately the bbq they sell is not the real thing they probably are getting it from a grocerie store or something if you want the bbq that makes dairy queen you have to go to the dq in the surrounding towns the still sell the bbq thats make dq famous you wont get it in cartersville ga theres no use going there anymore you can go to the grocerie store and get bbq better than what they sell now someone please explain this to the foriners that run the place

    0 Votes
  • Mm
    m mcn Apr 04, 2018

    @mark bowlen Cymraes's Corner "The Crotchless Knicker Lady" Lesley Jackson ...
    https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/complaint-c983309.html
    1 day ago - https://www.ebay.com/usr/lesleys-lingerie?_trksid=p2047675.l2559 your company on ebay is a scam! Crotchless knickers were "worn" dont use this company run by lesley jackson sheffield formerly of mold in wales. The Crotchless Knicker Lady lesley jackson is a scam. Do not send this woman a buck!

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Jun 16, 2008

    You know what. I've worked at DQ for 2 years now. I'm now an assistant manager. To be blunt. It's the truth.
    You, whomever said that they worked for DQ for ten years. And you know what you're talking about? Ehh... No. And the ones saying that customer service is acceptable sometimes. Eh... Definitely No.

    You know what though. I dont believe in bad customer service. I do though, believe in stern customer service. Some people are just plain asking for it. Sure. I'll greet ya with a smile. But me being hispanic, if I'm looked at condescendingly or talked down to. You know what. The customer will be talked down to as well. Always maintaining your good posture and straight face and giving off no bad comments or suggestions. You can pull it off. While i dont treat every customer this way. Some people are just asking for it.

    This isn't something I teach my employees. But whenever they run into a problem. I get called. Bad Customer service though. is never an option. I believe in Stern customer service. And honestly, I wish there wasn't even a need for that. But ya know what? There always is, because. There is always those extremely rude customers.

    As for the products. They must be done to the upmost quality available. If not done right. No. The customer isn't receiving this bad order, You remake it. You dont wait for them to complain. No exceptions.

    So. all in all. youre all a little wrong. It's all about providing the best customer service available. But in order to do that. There must be a willing customer. And sometimes. There isn't.

    joe.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Misslady22 Jun 22, 2008

    I agree that mistakes do happen and everyone is human. But some "mistakes" should never happen. My son had a hunk of metal inside his blizzard. I am so thankful that he did not choke on it or get badly cut. This is unacceptable. I can understand giving me the wrong order or not enough napkins. But this is totally different. I am glad that my son is alive today, no thanks to the people who work at this dairy queen.

    2 Votes
  • Fa
    Fast Food hater. Jul 05, 2008

    The best is when customers threaten us employees with the "We'll never eat here again!!!" line. As if that matters to a corporation that is already making huge profits. Seriously. People need a reality check. It's pretty pathetic when some lettuce on your fish sandwich ruins your entire day, or something to that effect. Really? Lettuce. I just want to shout at every fool customer that screams in my face about menial things as if I were purposely trying to mess up their order. But it's ok, it's not like fast food employees are human beings, right? We clearly are just people that take ### Dairy Queen jobs to serve calorie-loaded food to pissed off fatties for the fun of it.
    Screw Dairy Queen. Buy food from locally owned businesses that actually are concerned with the food quality, customer satisfaction, and employee rights.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doug Perry2 Aug 03, 2017

    @Fast Food hater. Hey idiot DQ is a franchise AKA locally owned business Don't worry someday you will grow up and quit being such a libtard.

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    mrs sassy Jul 10, 2008

    I CAN'T BLEVE ALL THE STUFF I JUST READ. EVERY1 HERE THAT SAIDS THAT THEY WORK N CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THAT IT'S OKAY 2 TREAT CUSTOMERS NE KIND OF WAY. WHERE DO U PPL COME FROM? YES I DO AGREE THAT PPL CAN BE WORSOME SUMTIMES, BUT U KNOW DARN WELL THAT WHEN U GET LOW PAYING FAST FOOD JOBS, THAT THIS KIND OF STUFF IS EXPECTED. DEAL WITH IT!!! THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS N CUSTOMER SERVICE. THAT'S Y IT'S CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE. WAKE UP PPL!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    John Melus Aug 01, 2017

    @mrs sassy Please learn how to spell before you write anything ever again.

    3 Votes
  • Ka
    katie baggett Jul 15, 2008

    i agreee...but umm wats up with yall not serving cotton candy blizzards anymore??
    Im mad.
    =(
    PLEASE PUT THOSE BACK ON THE MENU
    kitty hawk north carolina

    3 Votes
  • Me
    Meagan Aug 10, 2008

    What you need to understand is that working any job where you deal with people, you are going to get complaints. True, mistakes happen and there's nothing you can do to change that, but with the attitude you have, it's no wonder you get so many complaints. Working in the field you are, you really need to learn how to deal with people. It isn't that hard; if a customer is upset, ask them why and do what needs to be done to correct the problem. Smile and be friendly and most of the time people will do the same back.

    2 Votes
  • Wa
    wayne Aug 15, 2008

    sorry tiff, that's your job, shut up and start DOING IT!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Wa
    wayne Aug 15, 2008

    oh no, sorry!!!, you're LONG GONE...

    -3 Votes
  • St
    studentnurseanika Aug 21, 2008

    Get over it and do your job thats how fast food is if you dont like it dont do it people complain about their food!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cameron Moore Aug 23, 2008

    I just started working at Dairy Queen 3 days ago and it is sooo hard to make every thing perfect! I hate mizing the blizzards and shkes and all of that stuff cause i had 3 blizzrds explode on me today cause I didnt hold on tight enough. I lik working at the cash register and doing nothing else cause then people wont complain about the food to you.

    0 Votes
  • Fd
    fdfdfd Oct 23, 2008

    Yeah.
    i totallyy agree, costumers need to light up ALOT.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Doug Perry2 Aug 03, 2017

    @fdfdfd customers also

    1 Votes
  • De
    Dena Oct 25, 2008

    terrible service at window and inside. sometimes even out of ice cream

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marsha dugan Oct 25, 2008

    allow other customers ahead of those already there, , , , , , , idiotically managed...as expected of such a business...!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    andre Nov 20, 2008

    my onion rings were burnt, i didnt find out until i got home about 7 miles away.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    treythomas Jan 26, 2009

    i want to turn my dairy queen in because their cheating me out of my money. they pay me cash every week and dont take out my federal taxes. ive been there two years and thats how they have always done it and there messing with my taxes and its bugging me. if any wone on this web site has a similer problem then they need to tell me who to talk to get this problem fixed all i want is for them to do my taxes right! why is that so hard? i mean ive been there two years and ive gotten no promotions im not a shift lead and the pay hasnt gone up that much either. i mean i could understand if i was complaining if the job sucked or i didnt like my managers but i feel like there taking my money and honestly who would be ok with that? because ... im not.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jacksmith Feb 06, 2009

    I have a complaint on a guy named Dave Warren he owner of the Dairy Queen on 70 columbus rd in Athens Ohio.He is very disrepectful to his employees and to the customers.The store is falling apart little by little and i think is it un fit to even eat in.He is rude to the customers and if i had not got out of there before he got hit in the face.i will never eat there again.just to let you know something has to be done

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brandy hill Feb 06, 2009

    I have a complaint on dairy queen 70 Columbus Rd.Athens, Oh.45701. When ever I go in to the dairy queen there is always one or two girls working the last two weeks its been one girl I don't know her name but she has a tattoo on her neck.She is very nice and works hard to take care of everyone the best she can.The owner is there but walks out to the front line an does not even up her out.I have been in to get my lunch a few times and I have decided not to return to the dairy queen because I have seen him being rood to the girls for the last time.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annoyed May 19, 2009

    I agree with the comments saying you should look for a different job. If you make a mistake there should be consequences. People are paying for a product that they did not get. Imagine someone getting peanuts in with their order, and having a reaction. In my case I ordered a blizzard and the one I got was totally wrong. I did not discover it until I was two miles away when I pulled off the lid. You might say that that is my fault for not checking before I leave. That is true, however if my assumption at a drive up window is that the order is always wrong then why do business with that company. When the guy at the window calls out the correct item I purchased, and I open it later and it is wrong...is that my fault? I should not have had to pay for the wrong item. If you feel that getting wrong merchendise is ok, then how about you take some substitutes next time you go shopping. It is fraud. Get a clue!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lilyx Aug 18, 2009

    Hah so true, and for the people who are saying to get another job, ### off, if you tried working there, I doubt that you would say still say "costumer service is everything". It's all a load of crap. Alhough I work there...dq is seriously messed up, where I work, prices are way too high, the owners really ###, and some employees have a lot of atittude, especially the managers, which is why I can't even ### at them.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Raina Aug 29, 2009

    Yea... I agree with you. You need to shut up and quit your job. If you complainin and you workin as a customer service you need to find a different job. That no customer. Last night i went to DQ and tryin to order the cashier already giving me attitude. I was so nice and saying please and thank you. I dont respect for that kind of customer service. I work for a customer service before. Customer bringing us food on the table if you want to work to this kind of job. Give yourself a favor and quit.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    morghan3 Nov 13, 2009

    You shouldn't get bad service, but it's not our fault when we run out of ice cream. This happens at all fast food restaurants. I once went to Taco Bell and they were out of beef. I think you need to have lower standards for fast food restaurants.

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    RippedOffGirl Apr 10, 2010

    OK smarty pants. It's true MISTAKES HAPPEN, but if a customer has a problem and you DID make a mistake, why not CORRECT the mistake by offering free food or something? Everywhere I go lately its MISTAKES MISTAKES MISTAKES or the food just tastes like ###. Fast food prices are rising...6 bucks for a fast food MEAL ARE YOU SERIOUS??? RIP OFF!!! Yeah, I don't have to buy it but when I'm in a rush I do and our orders are always wrong, we tried Dairy Queen twice this week, two different ones and the food was nasty!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Hu
    hurtbyDQ Apr 27, 2010

    I have worked at my local DQ for close to 3 years now...and I have heard every complaint, cuss word and ignorant comment that can be thrown at you! I have personally NEVER receiven a complaint and I am the ONLY one in my whole store who gets continually satisfied customer remarks! I have 12 college credits in business management, I was the director of a homeless shelter for 8yrs and I managed a bar for 1 1/2 yrs...I found out recently that my store is hiring an outside assistant manager...without offering me the position or even considering me! I work my ### off for DQ...literally hundreds of hours off the clock for the betterment of the store...and I get overlooked! I agree with most of you on this site...there is no improving DQ...the few of us who strive for betterment are forgotten...f*** DQ!

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    jrocha3 May 31, 2010

    I usually don't complain. But before I do let me jus say the DQ Chill N Grill located in Russellville, Arkansas is one of the best DQ's i have ever visited. The service is always awesome and the food as well. Now the DQ Brazier #19484 located in Conway, Arkansas now this is a different story don't take my word for it just drop in and order something off the menu that is supposed to hot, you will get luke warm at best.
    I ordered an ice cream cake for my daughter, called in yesterday they said it would be ready today at 11AM
    Monday, May 31. The ice cream at this DQ is usually good and the ice cream cakes are as well. Today that was not the case.. NOT only did I have to wait for the cake, but it looks like a 4 year old decorated it...

    I suppose the girls there were having a bad day... I guess it's hard when there is little management or NO management in this particular store #19484.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    [email protected] Jun 30, 2010

    I depends the type of person who is giving you a hard time. It may be a person that does not like you and they do it on purpose to bother you even more. Customers think that they have the right to say whatever they want to you just because you are an employee and you are taught to treat them right and that the customer is always right. But customers need to learn how to have manners as well if they want to be treated with excellent customer service. And if something is bothering them, they should just ask NICELY about whatever the problem is. If you want respect, GIVE respect as well please. What do people even learn at school ? to be rude to others to begin with? nobody is going to let anybody else humiliate them whatsoever. So please, start from below and work your way up: this goes to both customers and employees.

    0 Votes
  • Js
    jshdd Jul 15, 2010

    People should not be in the hospitality or food business if they don't like dealing with the public. The should get some back room job or some office job sitting in a cubby in front of a computer. I have found through years of working with the public, that if you treat them right and don't give them a reason to complain, they are usually happy. Most people are out to have a good time and don't appreciate rude and unpleasant servers that try to ruin their day.

    0 Votes
  • As
    ASS_DQ_MANAGER Sep 12, 2010

    Fat [censor].

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carolina Buscaglia. Feb 28, 2011

    I agree with Tiff, almost completely- I currently work as a prep-cook at DQ, and am training on cash/front-end now, though I've been in customer service for nearly 10 years and am still shocked by how poorly customers treat the employees. I believe in stellar customer-service, and in killing the nasty ones with kindness, but there comes a time when enough is enough!

    Yes, we are paid to serve you; if a mistake is made, all someone has to do is let me know, and I will fix it. Still, if someone treats me in a manner that is condescending or unnecessarily-rude, then it all goes out the window- whoever said that "the customer is always right" was a [censor], because it's not true. I can understand being frustrated, if your order is wrong or the food is not to your taste, but treating the staff like dirt- for doing their jobs, no less- is wrong, regardless of the circumstances. To anyone who complains about the prices- YOU ARE PAYING FOR LABOUR. If you don't like it, you can go to the grocery-store, pick up a box of hamburger-patties, and SUCK IT UP!

    The only part I disagreed with was the part about the high-chair- in this case, a child's well-being is in danger, and is a totally-legit reason to complain, even if the employees didn't know about it previously. If a potential hazard is not brought to our attention, then how will we know to fix it?

    I'm not saying that all customers are bad- just that there are a few sadistic jerks, who exist for the sole purpose of torturing CSRs into insanity. Needless to say, I am looking for another job- I was once a so-called "people-person", and customer service ruined me, so I don't feel sorry for the people who complain about every, little thing, from the colour of the sky to the fact that there's one less carrot-rind on his/her chicken salad. All I ask is that, before you complain, you work a shift in fast-food- contrary to popular belief, it is NOT an "easy" job. It's stressful, and I hope you'll take into consideration that our staff are people, too.

    1 Votes
  • St
    Student. Apr 01, 2011

    Well, today I went to DQ to get an application and I asked someone and they were really nice about it and then this other worker walked over and was like "So you are getting an application?" I said yes and he said "You don't want to work here, it sucks." That kind of put me off and after reading all of this im not sure I want DQ to be my first job... I was thinking about volunteering or something first, since it's not absolutely necessary to have money, but it would be nice. Any advice?

    0 Votes
  • St
    Student. Apr 01, 2011

    Edit: Have money right now. Also, if there are any places anyone has volunteered or worked for that was really great, let me know! =]

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    Whataburger Aug 22, 2011

    stop your wining. if the customer complains its because you suck at your job. I work at Whataburger and hate it when people complain but I know it was our fault. if you can't admit it just quit. I try to help each costumer with a smile. there's a reason we get paid way better than minimum wage. can't say the same for you though

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whatagurl Oct 11, 2011

    I agree with Tiff as well... I worked at Whataburger for almost 2 years and no matter how nice you are and no matter how you try to fix the mistake, even if it wasn't your mistake people still treat you like ###! It's not like the server has any control over the grill and board workers. I'd never personally had any complaints against me, that I heard about anyway... but I pretty much came to the conclusion, most customers think just because you work fast food you are an idiot and that they have the right to treat you anyway they want. And, I'm not gonna lie, I made my share of mistakes, but I always owned up to them. People are just cruel and they don't care if you treat them with all the respect in the world, if then feel they have been wronged they will screw with you... even if you didn't have anything to do with it. That's one of the main reasons I left, and I had sooo many great customers, but those few who are ###s really ruin it for you.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    TakePride Aug 17, 2012

    Wow! Pathetic! If you don't like customer service for all it's worth, go to school and get a job where you don't have to deal with it! Anyone who has worked at DQ and has defended their stance on customers who are disappointed are just plain stupid. I have no respect for anyone who doesn't show pride in their job. Unless you're a teenager, you are a lame-### losers who couldn't get a job anywhere else because you couldn't pass a drug test. Just try to look at it for all it's worth. If you really can't get a job anywhere else, try to appreciate what you have. People expect quality and you don't care enough about anything bigger than yourself to deliver. If the high chair is broken, someone's baby could be hurt or killed. You're just too self-important to realize it! The parents aren't trying to make your tiny life harder! It has nothing to do with icky, little you. they are trying to protect their child and pay it forward. Grow up!

    -1 Votes
  • Rr
    RRoyce Sep 16, 2012

    DQ Complaint

    On 9/16/12, I purchased a DQ Blizzard from the Dearborn Heights, MI. location, (8316 N. Telegraph Rd. 48127). When I received the product it was presented in two cups and was 3/4 full. The DQ employee stated: "Have a Nice Day", prior to consumption, I noticed that the ice cream had a pasty look and the chocolate syrup appeared to be excessive. As a faithful customer, I recognized that their was an obvious quality problem. To correct the matter, I informed the DQ associate that the product was unacceptable. Thereafter, I asked if she would re-make the order. From a distance, a young woman stated: Ask him what's the problem? I stated that there's a problem in presentation and quality. The DQ associate stated that her store receives high ratings and that there was nothing wrong with the presentation of the product. The young woman then informed her associate to refund my purchase. I asked to speak with the store manager, she stated that she was the manager. I then asked for her name and the owner's phone number, she replied: no problem, my name is Missie and the owner's name is Rick. After being given the following phone number, 313-561-9333; Missie sarcastically stated, "Have a Nice Day Sir". Five minutes later, I telephoned Rick so that the issue could be properly addressed. At which time, Missie answered the store phone and stated that the owner was not available.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris4848 Sep 25, 2012

    OMG! what is wrong with you people?!?! If you work there DO YOUR JOB! That is what you get paid for! I work hard for my money and when I go eat lunch and a lil snot nosed high schooler gives me attitude or screws up my order you can bet your last dollar I will complain to the manager! As for the person that said do you think one person taking their business away is going to hurt a big corporation? Dairy Queen has lost all of our business and my son's business and everyone else I tell about their "customer service"
    What would you do if you are allergic to tomatoes and someone serves you tomatoes after you just ordered it without? I am SURE all of you would just eat it with a smile and NEVER complain! GROW UP! If you hate your job that much quit and go to work for someone that lets you do whatever you want to do for 8 hours a day! oh yeah that job does not exist!

    1 Votes

Post your comment