SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Yahoo! Mailextortion scam emails

Review updated:

Since September 6, 2018, I have been sent 19 emails that try to get me to deposit money in a bitcoin account. Each email gives a different account. They have my old password to use as a threat. These are the originating email addresses and they go right to my spam folder. What is Yahoo doing about this stuff?

[protected]@yahoo.jp [protected]@yahoo.jp
[protected]@yahoo.jp [protected]@yahoo.jp
[protected]@yahoo.jp [protected]@yahoo.jp
[protected]@yahoo.jp [protected]@yahoo.jp
[protected]@yahoo.jp [protected]@yahoo.jp
[protected]@yahoo.jp [protected]@yahoo.jp
[protected]@yahoo.jp [protected]@yahoo.jp
[protected]@yahoo.jp [protected]@yahoo.jp
[protected]@yahoo.jp [protected]@yahoo.jp
[protected]@yahoo.jp

An
Sep 25, 2018
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • 9w
      Sep 25, 2018

    block the user in options ( settings I think) can block email address
    type in yahoo.jp and that will stop all those from that address
    its a phishing scam much like others

    0 Votes
  • Sk
      Oct 01, 2018

    The phishing part was already done and sold off, as they are showing passwords that have been used in the past or recently. What the OP is complaining about is that yahoo is supplying this perp the tools they need to now use Extortion. Yahoo might have the ability to blacklist users based on their MAC, which is what needs to be done and why this complaint is posted. "just block them" doesn't keep them from hitting thousands others in the name of YAHOO.
    We have also received 8 emails from this "Aaron???[protected]@yahoo.jp" in the last week, thankfully in O365 I have japan 100% blocked so it only hits my admin quarantine to sift through.
    This morning alone they used:
    [protected]@yahoo.jp
    [protected]@yahoo.jp
    [protected]@yahoo.jp
    The good thing about this is I am seeing who is leaking their passwords so I can get them training on email security.

    There are several different worded versions, probably different for each email account, but they want between $1, 000-$7, 000 from the 8 I've seen. Thankfully their platform is crap, I deal with better threats from a McDonald's cashier.

    Here's one as an example:
    I do know XXXXXXX is your pass. Lets get straight to the purpose. You do not know me and you're probably wondering why you are getting this e mail? There is no one who has paid me to investigate about you.

    Let me tell you, I placed a software on the X video clips (porn material) website and there's more, you visited this website to experience fun (you know what I mean). While you were viewing video clips, your web browser started out working as a RDP having a keylogger which gave me access to your screen and also web camera. Just after that, my software program gathered your entire contacts from your Messenger, FB, as well as emailaccount. After that I created a video. First part displays the video you were viewing (you've got a fine taste haha . . .), and second part shows the recording of your web camera, yeah it is you.

    You actually have only 2 options. Let us check out these solutions in details:

    1st choice is to dismiss this e-mail. As a result, I will send your videotape to just about all of your personal contacts and imagine regarding the humiliation you will get. In addition in case you are in a romance, precisely how it would affect?

    Number two choice would be to give me $4000. We are going to name it as a donation. Consequently, I will instantly eliminate your video recording. You will go forward your way of life like this never occurred and you never will hear back again from me.

    You'll make the payment via Bitcoin (if you don't know this, search for "how to buy bitcoin" in Google).

    BTC Address: 1NibCiTS2jmwkuzZCMivgi5QnZDPHYxgQD
    [CASE sensitive copy & paste it]

    In case you are planning on going to the cop, okay, this message cannot be traced back to me. I have dealt with my actions. I am just not looking to ask you for money so much, I simply want to be paid for.

    You now have one day to pay. I've a specific pixel within this e-mail, and at this moment I know that you have read through this e mail. If I do not receive the BitCoins, I definitely will send your video to all of your contacts including friends and family, co-workers, and so forth. Nonetheless, if I receive the payment, I will destroy the video immediately. If you need proof, reply Yea! then I will certainly send your video recording to your 12 friends. This is a nonnegotiable offer so please do not waste my time and yours by responding to this email.

    +2 Votes
  • Du
      Nov 09, 2018

    Lol, they have now upgraded to spoofing my email so appear as if they hacked my email account and messaged me from myself. Email details lead back to the same guy.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Dec 04, 2018

    @dudison Same here, got two messages from aaron smith @ yahoo.jp this morning telling me they'd hacked my email and the proof is that they sent emails to me using my email address.

    If it wasn't for the fact I get dozens of emails a day apparently from myself trying to sell myself little blue bills or with invoices for services that I have supplied to myself and not paid for, I might nearly believe him/her.

    BTW, does any one need any cheap viagra? (joke btw)

    0 Votes
  • Ya
      Dec 11, 2018

    This is an official response by Yahoo. Very sad.
    ________________________________________
    Thank you for contacting Yahoo Customer Care.

    The ID you are reporting belongs to Yahoo.jp (Yahoo Japan). Yahoo and Yahoo.jp are two separate entities.
    Yahoo is now part of "Oath", a digital and mobile media company with more than 50 brands globally, and a member of the Verizon family of companies.

    Since Yahoo.jp is not part of Oath we can't address your concern as it's not about an Oath product. You'll need to reach out to Yahoo.jp (only in Japanese). They're the experts on their own stuff and can better answer any questions you have about their products.

    Thank You,
    Jai Surya
    Yahoo Customer Care

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Dec 20, 2018

    [protected]@mail.yahoo.co.jp send to complain,

    or report to Domain Administrator

    0 Votes

Post your comment