SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Uhaulbad customer service

Review updated:

Very Bad customer service!! Never rent UHAUL. Use other companies. I was double charged, it took me 2 days to get in touch with Alburn, Al location and the manager - Wes, was supposed to call me in 30 min to resolve this issue. Well, I'm waiting for his call about 3 days already. Noone called, nothing is resolved. I can't get in touch with them because line is busy or I'm on hold for 1 hour. I can't quit my job and just be on hold all day long. Noone works in that location, noone does their jobs. Just couple stupid guys up there including manager.

Vi
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  •   Aug 07, 2008

    I will not bore you with my details of my experience with uhaul. Just beware it will not be pleasant. Read the others experiences with uhaul and believe it is that BAD. Here is a web site dedicated to how to sue uhaul.

    0 Votes
  •   Oct 17, 2008
    Uhaul - bad service
    Uhaul
    Toronto
    Ontario
    Canada
    uhaul.com

    I reserved a truck with a credit card and the day of pick up they didnt' have my truck. No explanation, no apology. They said they would call back and didn't. I tried calling customer service for hours - spoke to 3 people. I hung up on me because she didn't want to deal with me. The other 2 were useless idiots that did nothing but waste my time.

    on top of everything they wouldn't take my complaint - said my "order" had to be closed. Now my credit card info is out there in who knows who 's hands!!!

    0 Votes
  • Un
      Jan 22, 2009
    Uhaul - general info
    Uhaul
    230 west 230 street
    Manhattan
    New York
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    People that have made complaints about Uhaul have a right to be upset uhaul will do anything to get ur money, if u own a storage and u owe them, they will charge credit cards, checking accounts and debit cards it has happened to me when I did a friend a favor and paid their storage once, also when u rent a truck from them they also charge u for a piece of paper in the truck I was charged $25 they considered the truck dirty, I had the truck for 5 hour rental I was charged 2 days with the truck for being 15 minutes past due not only that I was charged for gas meanwhile I was given the truck at 1/4 of gas I brought it back at half a tank, then they wanted to charge me almost $408 for someone elses rental they claim someone else returned the truck but it was never checked in, like that was my problem, the customer service there was very rude and intolerable they stand behind their counter and hold a whole conversation about their love lives, and getting married to even talk about sex mind u I have my 4 yr old daughter there! This Uhaul needs a whole new staff, even a new manager I wanted to speak to him and he's rarely there it seems I called the cell number at the door and he hangs up the last time I go to that Uhaul center at Riverdale

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Feb 28, 2009
    Uhaul - terrible company
    Uhaul
    United States
    uhaul.com

    My husband and I were moving to Tucson. We went to Uhaul to have a hitch installed on our Cadillac Sedan De Ville 2017. When the work was done, and we were ready to drive out, we found two of the windows were not working.

    We approached the man installing the hitch, he denied he has anything to do with it but one fact is clear, we drove a perfectly good vehicle in and after the installation of the hitch, found two windows not working, unable to be rolled up.

    We drove to a carshop and was informed the regulators of both windows were broken. His estimate was $1125.98. We drove back to Uhaul. The manager until then very friendly was hostile and cold. She denied responsibility for it and walked inside, leaving my husband and I to wait in the store. We waited and waited and waited for well over an hour. I knew she wanted us to go away and I was as determined not to go away. One of the employees told us to go to the Cadillac agency in town, they can fixed it less. We left, with me threatening to bring it to the top.

    That must change the manager's attitude because she phoned us when we were at the dealership and told us she filed a claim with their insurance company. I was naively and greatly relieved, the insurance will cover the repairs.

    I phoned the number given me and was told to go ahead with the repairs, keep the papers and file it with the file number given me. I did that and waited. Nothing. Finally I phoned, and was put to the supervisor who told me our claim has been denied because Uhaul said installing a hitch has nothing to do with broken windows. But the fact remain, we drove a perfectly good vehicle into their shop and drove out with two broken windows which costs us $1189.31 to repair.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
      Aug 02, 2009
    Uhaul - storage space problem
    UHaul
    New Orleans
    Louisiana
    United States

    After Katrina, I stored what I had left in a storage unit at St.Claude Ave. belonging to UHaul storage. I noticed some water damage to a few books and reported it. I had insurance on the unit and did not worry about it. When I came back to move out, as I finally had housing and was no longer moving around. The space now had more water, and insects everywhere. I was told there had been work done on the second floor I was on the first. My insurance policy had been changed without my knowledge, most likely after I reported the first time I noticed slight water damage. My trust has cost me the lost of item I cannot replace and 1300 dollars. Do not trust this company with anything. I feel sure I am the 1st person this has been done to and I won't be the last. I am now dealing with their insurance comp. and they are insisting I never had insurance to begin with, of course they won't release the paperwork my atty. has requested however. I have been better off burning my own property.
    Wanda Releford

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 25, 2010

    My name is Maria Palmisano and I am with U-Haul International. I first want to offer my apology to you for the inconvenience you experienced while dealing with our Auburn, AL U-Haul location. I would like to personally research your concerns you provided, however, I need additional information from you. Please contact me at [protected]@uhaul.com and provide with the name of the lessee listed on the rental agreement and the date of your rental. Also please update me if your concerns have been resolved locally. We appreciate feedback from our customers to help prevent situations such as yours from repeating itself in the future. I hope to hear from you soon.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Feb 15, 2010
    Uhaul - left out in cold with kids for 4 1/2 hrs
    Uhaul
    United States

    I rented a 26 ft. uhaul to move in state. Got the truck loaded and pulled out to leave and my son noticed a buldge in the back inside tire. We were stuck on the road for over 4 hours waiting for someone to come change it. If the people renting had done their inspection like they were required to we never would have had the problem. It was cold, we couldn't use the restroom or get anything to eat because we had to stay with the truck per Uhaul. After I contacted customer service they got me into contact with a man named Troy who said he would reimburse 1/2 of the fee and he would process that as soon as he got back to the office. One week later I hadn't heard anything so I contacted him again. He said he had been busy and said he was only allowed to refund $75.00 which was less than 1/4 of the fee. As of today I have been to his manager and he is still saying the same thing but offered $75.00 in coupons to use Uhaul again. I will never use this company to move nor will I ever recommend them to anyone. Their business practices are unethical and demean the customer.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
      May 12, 2010
    Uhaul - I was very disappointed with the way my reservation was handled
    Uhaul
    United States
    uhaul.com

    I was very disappointed with the way my reservation was handled. We reserved almost a month in advance and were told the day before the move that equipment was unavailable because the "reservation was pulled." We were depending on this company and they let us down. As a result, we have found another company and want to warn others about this incident with u-haul so that they can choose a different service as well. DO NOT DEPEND ON UHAUL !

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Jun 19, 2010
    Uhaul - offensive language of sexual origin used with me at peter st. u-haul in atlanta
    Uhaul
    United States
    uhaul.com

    If you like being spoken to with offensive language of sexual origin go to Peter St. U -Haul in Atlanta. I went to Castleberry Hill's Art Crawl last Friday night (May 14th, 2017) only to be verbally assaulted by a man U-Haul leases their parking lot to for evening events in this area. The offensive and crass language this man used with me in front of U-Haul customers and my colleagues was unforgiveable. I immediately reported this incident to the manager on duty at the time and was promised it would be reported to the operations manager Mr. John Bricks and that he would be giving me a call. Four days later I still had no call from Mr. Bricks so I attempted to reach Mr. Bricks and was told this message was given to him the day after the incident. This which tells me nothing other than this behavior is condoned by U-Haul and Mr. Bricks. This location is accepting money from an individual who is profiting from their property and no regards to the manner he speaks to women. The profanity he used with me was of sexual origin and in no way acceptable behavior. Is U-Haul so desperate for money (from a local parking lot guy who doesn’t even appear to have a real company) they are now allowing this type of behavior on their property during their open business hours? Not only are they allowing it but they are getting paid by this individual to profit from them! This supposed parking attendant’s parking lot receipts had no company name nor a phone number listed on the ticket. If your car was damaged or towed who would you call? The answer is you would call U-Haul. U-Haul is going to have to accept some sort of responsibility here.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Jul 05, 2010
    Uhaul - tired of the rates and the dangerous condition of some trucks
    Uhaul
    United States
    uhaul.com

    I've used U-Haul and other rental trucks for previous moves, but I'm tired of the rates, the dangerous condition of some trucks, having to drive the damn things in small neighborhood streets, and waiting in long lines every single time I try to rent a truck (even ones I've reserved in advance). My neighbors just moved in with Door To Door Storage, one of those companies like PODS that puts containers our front, and they said it was super easy. One thing that was great for them (although a bit unsightly for us), was that they could unload the containers pretty much at their leisure, not having to rush the truck back.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Aug 11, 2010
    Uhaul - said we didnt fill up truck charged us $55.00
    Uhaul
    4861 S TAMIAMI TRL
    Sarasota
    Florida
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    We rented an uhaul truck from Brandon Florida. The sales person that rented the truck to us showed us a fuel gauge on the computer screen. The gauge showed it was 3/4 full; we drove the truck straight to Sarasota. After removing a dresser and twin bed we went to Hess gas station, and put $16.00 in the truck. The gauge read a hair above 3/4 full; I then drove the truck to uhaul five minutes away. When I arrived at uhaul it was 7:15 and the gauge showed 3/4 full. I put the keys in a drop box while a person closed the door. He directed me to drop the keys in the drop box; he would not take the keys himself. A few days later my wife checked her card and there was a charge for $54.00 on our card. When we called them to find out what the charge was for they stated that it was a fuel charge for not returning the truck with the same amount of gas as when we took off from Brandon. The employee insisted I was lying and was trying to screw them. And that they were not going to refund the charge of 54.00 to our credit card.

    0 Votes
  •   Jan 27, 2011

    Did you elevate your belongings on pallets or blocks? Concrete floors transfer moisture directly to whatever is touching it. That is one reason why furnaces are elevated off the floor in basements.
    Did you take photos of the damage and send it to 'the representing' insurance company?'
    Cardboard boxes act like sponges...especially when on concrete.
    Sorry to hear about your losses.

    0 Votes
  • Jk
      Mar 29, 2011

    Did you just ask them to hold it for you or did you have a firm reservation that was put on a credit card? If money was not put down, first paying customer always wins.

    +1 Votes
  • Br
      May 11, 2011
    Uhaul - hitch & trailer brake - bad operation manager
    UHaul
    United States

    I had Uhaul of Middletown, Ohio install a trailer brake and hitch. Within 24 hours the Trailer plugin port fell off the hitch. After inspection of the hitch i noticed they didnt even put on the correct hitch. I wouldnt mount to the frame. After calling the store they knew right away the installed to wrong hitch. They offered to remove the hitch free of charge. But wouldnt work with me on on all the fees to install the incorect hitch. So now i have NO hitch that i paid to have installed with a warreanty for 2years. COME ON UHAUL Total price for no hitch on my 2017 ford F150 $568.36 STAY AWAY FROM UHAUL.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 14, 2011
    Uhaul - do not trust them - check everything before your drive the truck out
    UHaul
    United States

    Revently I rented a truck from Uhaul - in addition to the very rough customer service they have, they printed me a wrong initial odometer millage reading in my receipt, and charged me for many more miles. My fault, infact was, trusting them and not cross checking the millage of the car with the print out - when the guy walked out and checked the truck, I assumed that he made sure of everything- but not - he deliberatly let that happen to take more of my money. SO DO NOT TRUST THE CRAPPY CUSTOMER SERVICE PERSONNELS. ALWAYS D ONT TRUST THEM, AND CHECK EVERYTHING BEFORE YOU DRIVE THE CAR OUT OF THEIR LOT. OTHERWISE YOU WILL BE HARASED AND HARSHLY TREATED BY THEM!!

    0 Votes
  • Ab
      Jun 23, 2011
    Uhaul - poor customer service
    Uhaul
    Georgia
    United States

    This is a complaint that I wrote about Uhaul in 2017. At the time, I didn't know about this website, so I didn't post here. Just this past week, a co-worker had a similar experience with Uhaul, so I dug up my old letter to share it here. Nothing was ever done about my complaint.

    Iam writing to express my disappointment with the services that I received from Uhaul within the past week. On Friday, June 1, 2017, I called to reserve a 26’ moving van. This being my first time renting from Uhaul, I was not aware that it may take several days for the equipment to become available. This did not cause an immediate problem, but the problem is that Uhaul does not make it clear that it could possibly take days to locate equipment.

    The reason for my move is that I was starting a new job on Monday June 4, 2017. Had I known up front that it would be Monday before I got a moving truck, I would have paid extra to rent from another company that had plenty of trucks on their lot. Because I wasn’t able to get a truck until Monday, I was forced to start my job two days late, which did not go over well with my new employer.

    More importantly, I would like to make you aware of the incident that occurred on the Sunday prior to me receiving the equipment. Since it was imperative that I move as soon as possible, I drove around town looking for Uhaul store that had a 26’ truck on their lot. When I found one, I called the regional office at [protected] and informed them. The operator told me that she did not have particular truck in her computer, so it must not have been checked in. As I walked inside the store, I met the attendant outside who told me that the truck was not reserved by anyone and that she would rent it to me. She told me to come inside and wait in line.

    As I waited, I learned that the four customers ahead of me all wanted to rent smaller trucks, so I was sure that I would be able to begin moving that day. Unfortunately, the attendant rented the 26’ one-way truck to a customer in line ahead of me who was only moving locally. I reminded the attendant that she had told me that I could have that truck and that I have a reservation. She told me that that customer’s reserved truck had not yet been turned in and that she had called her manager, who told her to rent the 26’ truck to the customer. She then checked the computer for my reservation and told me that it had not yet been downloaded to her computer. I offered her my reservation number, but she said it didn’t matter because it wasn’t in the computer at all.

    The problem with this is:
    The attendant rented the truck to another customer AFTER it was promised to me.
    The attendant did not even bother to tell me “Ma’am, I will have to rent this truck to someone else, because her truck is not in. I apologize for the inconvenience, but my manager says this is what I have to do.”
    There were other trucks on the lot that she could have rented to the customer, but she chose to rent the one she had promised to me.
    She lied and said that she had called her manager and the manager advised her to rent the truck. At no point while I was there, did she speak to a manager on the phone. I was watching and listening the whole 45 minutes that I waited in line.
    I understand that it is Uhaul’s right to upgrade a customer to a larger truck if a smaller one is unavailable, but when this is done at the expense of another customer, it becomes unethical.
    My reservation was not in the computer. Was this an oversight? Why was my reservation not in the computer?

    Upon leaving the store, I called the 800# again. I believe I spoke to Sharon . I explained the situation to her, and she stated that the customer’s reservation was made before mine and even though the 26’ truck was promised to me, they still had to give it to someone else. I asked for a number to call to make a complaint and was given the number to Uhaul International [protected]). After remaining on hold for 17 minutes, a male representative came on the phone and asked for my name, reservation number, and phone number, and asked if my problem was “unavailable equipment”. He took no other information from me and informed me that someone would be calling me back within two hours. No one called me back at all, in reference to my complaint.

    As I sat in my car feeling helpless and mistreated, I decided to call the regional office back, to see if something could be done to rectify the situation, because it was imperative that I move immediately. Again, I believe it was Sharon that I spoke to. I explained to her that I did not feel it was right that the store clerk rented a truck that she had verbally promised me, and that I did not believe that this was Uhaul’s standard practice and procedure, taking a truck that was promised to one customer to give it to the next. I understood that the other customer’s truck was not available, but since there were other trucks on the lot, I did not think that it was fair since I was present in the store. I also did not feel like I should have to suffer because my reservation was not in the computer. At this point, Sharon began to raise her voice at me and told me that I could “…either wait, or she could cancel my reservation!” I asked her, “Why are you raising your voice at me?” She said, “I’m not raising my voice, YOU are the one who’s trying to talk over me!” I said, “No, I’m not.” She said, “Have a nice day, ma’am.” She then hung up the phone in my face! Again, I was left feeling helpless and in tears, in the presence of my child. I understand that the representative may have been frustrated with me calling, but this is absolutely no way to treat a customer, or any other human being. This was totally unprofessional. Moving was a big deal for me and Uhaul made the experience a nightmare.

    I implore you to PLEASE go back and review the tape of this conversation. You will find that your representative was completely out of line.

    I then called the international number again, to make another complaint. I spoke with Francisco and Diane. They told me that I would have to call the regional office in order to speak to management directly. They gave me this number: [protected]. This number only connected me to the person that I was complaining about. I did speak with her again. She told me that she was the reservation manager. I stated that I did not wish to discuss reservations and that I would like to speak with someone who manages the reservation managers. She gave me the name of Virginia Romo, but stated that she will not be in the office until 8:30am Monday morning. Later that evening, I received notice that a reservation had been made for the following morning, so I did not proceed to contact Ms. Romo, as I needed to go ahead and move as soon as possible.

    I am extremely disappointed with the service that I have received from Uhaul. To me, the name Uhaul was synonymous with professionalism and excellence. When I needed to move, Uhaul was the first company that I called. Initially, I was impressed with your rates and mileage allowance, which gives you an edge over the competition. On the contrary, the service that I received has tainted that image, making it worth the extra money to go with another company. I will never use Uhaul again. As a result of my experience, I also will not recommend your company to anyone else, and will more than likely share this horrible experience with many others. A friend has suggested that I post my complaint on www.planetfeedback.com, as well as other venues, and I am seriously considering it. Uhaul has made a very bad impression on me and has ruined what was supposed to be a fresh start in a new city .

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Sep 20, 2011
    Uhaul - horrible customer service
    UHaul
    United States

    On Sunday afternoon I looked up uhaul's that were opened to transport items from Georgetown to Mt Pleasant. Drove to Daniels Island to find out you can't take a trailer more than 50 miles unless it is one way, although the website did not clearly state this (I was going 60 miles). Called the Uhaul in Georgetown, gas station attendant stated she didn't know if they even had trailers since she could only see trucks from the window. She was extremely rude and states the person handling the uhauls would not be back for a few hours. Then I drove to Downtown CHarleston, King street after calling to make sure they had a trailer and arrived at 4:57. They stated they closed at 5 and would not help us. After 3 attempts and 2 hours we were not able to get a trailer. I will not be using uhaul again and advise others to find somewhere else for their moving needs.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Jan 06, 2012
    Uhaul - drop off points and rude customer service
    self storage depot
    Coconut Creek
    Florida
    United States

    I have never been treated so ugly by an individual. I was told to drop off a truck and flat bed at the self storage depot and had a man who claims he was the owner rudely telling me he was not going to take the u haul truck and walked away. I had u-haul, who did the paper work incorrect tell me I had to find another drop off location (in a town I knew nothing about) U Haul and Mr. Mangone at the self storage depot did not make it at easy to drop off this vehicle, customer service didn't help either. (very rude). This is a company who did not apologize or care if they inconvenience anybody as long as they got there monies. They were quick to take the funds but hard to help when needed. I will not use u haul again in the next few months and again in 8 months. I always thought this would be a company I would always use but never again.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Mar 29, 2012

    My name is Maria Palmisano and I am with U-Haul International. I apologize for the rude treatment you experienced with our U-Haul dealer in Coconut Creek, FL. Please be advised this U-Haul dealer is an independent businessman. We do have a regular program for counseling with dealers to give them the benefit of our experience in successful U-Haul service. As independent businessmen, they are free to accept or reject our suggestions in accordance with their own independent judgment. I have forwarded the information you provided to our Area Field Manager in charge of the Coconut Creek area for further follow to see that our standards are understood and observed. In an effort to keep you as a customer, I would like to send you some VIP Certificates that can be used toward a future purchase or rental on the many products and services U-Haul has to offer. Please contact me at [protected]@uhaul.com and provide me with the date of your rental along with the name of the lessee listed on the rental contract. I will also need an email address to send the Certificates. Thank you for your time and I hope to hear back from you soon.

    -1 Votes
  • An
      Jun 29, 2012

    I worked for this company for 6 weeks and busted my ###, went above and beyond, got GREAT reviews from customers and co-workers, and was never once late or absent. I was trained at at sub-par level, at warp speed, and I STILL managed to get by without screwing up...that I knew of. Basically, they hired me on, didn't train me properly, and then fired me without notice because I had made mistakes I didn't know I was making. I didn't even know I didn't have a job until 2 weeks after it happened and I only found out because I went in and cornered the manager to find out why I hadn't been scheduled. This caused 2 utilities to be cut off and my children to go hungry because I didn't have time to find other employment before my bills were due. I also turned down 2 other jobs during that 2-week period that could have saved me financially.

    Also, they promoted themselves during the interview by telling me about how they're the 11th best company in the country to work for part-time because of their great medical benefits. In reality, the medical benefits are crap, and the only reason they rank at that level is because they compensate by pay you peanuts for the ridiculous amounts responsibility they place upon you with little to no help from the managers. The job responsibilities DO NOT match the insulting pay. Not even close. I've been paid twice that for half the work.

    Also, the managers that run the store make the schedules and they usually schedule themselves off for the high-traffic times. My managers decided to take the busiest week of the entire year off for vacation, which was 2 weeks after I was hired, and had only had 30 hours of employment under my belt. I was left alone to run the store that week with one other employee who was hired after me and was a complete idiot who screwed up so much that I don't even know how he still works there. The only reason that store wasn't run into the ground during that week is because of my extensive experience in retail, and as a manager/supervisor. I was the viewed as a "rock star" by the other employees during that time because I took on the role of manager and played damage control for the other employees who had been there longer DURING MY OFF TIME. I was sure I was on a trajectory to be promoted within 6 months. Boy was I wrong. It's clear that I was only hired to hold down the fort while the managers were on vacation because I was fired when they came back. I think everything that happened to me was completely planned by the managers and I think they seriously felt threatened by my performance, work ethic, and ability to learn the job at warp speed.

    0 Votes

Post your comment