SUBMIT A COMPLAINT
Closed
Telecommunications

Time Warner Cable / scam charges

Ro Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 214-7425892

I was using AT&T and was happy but decided to try TWC for the single billing. They came out to install but didn't have all of the parts needed so had to set another appt. They were supposed to come out at different times but never showed & I couldn't get a hold of them to verify. I have to be at work at 6:45 so I go to bed early. The tech called at 9:00 after I was in bed ready to come out & finish the install.

At this point I had been stewing all evening but getting me out of bed at their convenience was the icing on the cake. I told him that their service was lousy and that I was going back to AT&T but I guess he never called in that information because they have been billing me for almost 2 years telling me that I still owe them.

I have been receiving letters from collection agencies & finally phone calls telling me that my credit will be ruined if I don't pay. So in lieu of bad credit I bent over and paid the money. Granted the amount is less than $300 but it's the principal & their lousy service that has put me in a high state of positivity for too long. They are supposed to be a communication company - well COMMUNITATE!! Also their web sight brags on how they service the customer at THEIR CONVENIENCE. I don't think so.

The real kicker is that I moved into a new townhome & AT&T doesn't service them & I don't want the 'cosmic dish' look so my only choice was once again TWC. I had my roommate put the service in her name since I was still under their microscope. There was also multiple problems with their installation but finally got resolved. One of the things I learned was that they sublet installers or as I called them 'slice & dicers.'

Truely someone needs to do something about this lousy company. Not meaning to sound like a Judge Judy litigant but there was a lot of mental anguish during that time & still is since I got ripped off.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Bi
      Mar 05, 2008
    Time Warner Cable - Poor product delivery and customer service!
    Time Warner Cable
    United States

    I signed up for one of Time Warner's Cable and Internet bundles about a year ago. Several times during the year I connected my aerial just to be able to watch a quality image for a change. In all fairness to TWC, the Internet portion never gave me any trouble. I have taken two days off of work in the past three weeks so they could come out and troubleshoot. The first time I was scheduled, the tech was almost a no show during the window scheduled by TWC. I had to call and threaten to file a complaint with the Attorney General before TWC realized they could shuffle the job sequence of the dispatch tech. TWC decided my cable needed to be replaced and that work was scheduled for today. I took the day off and their contractor is a no show. After sitting around for 8 hours waiting on this guy I got bored so I called TWC and canceled my service. I feel better now.

    I have been a Union member for several years now, but TWC would greatly improve their efficiency, customer satisfaction, and service by outsourcing their Call Center operations to a non-english speaking country.

    0 Votes
  •   Apr 23, 2008
    Time Warner Cable - Beware
    Time Warner Cable
    United States
    www.timewarnercable.com

    I can truly relate to the previous complaints on Time Warner customer service! Last Wednesday, 4/16 I called because my internet stopped working. They ran diagnostics and found that I had to have a service appointment. Of course, the earliest possible date is Monday, 4/21/08. Someone called me Saturday to confirm that I was still having the internet problem - I said Yes! On 4/21/08 my service appt. is between 1pm - 5pm. I called around 2pm to see when they might be coming. I was then informed that my appointment was cancelled by the Technician who reported that issue was an outage problem and it has been fixed. However, no one bothered to call and ask. They put me back on the service appt. list for 4/21/08 by now it is 4pm so I have to wait now until 8pm. The technician comes an hour after I get off the phone. He comes and informs me the issue is with my neighbourhood - no internet lines working and maintenance have to come fix the lines. Great! I call back later on that evening to see if that was done yet or when it would be done. Customer service has No Idea about what the technician told me. He said he would take all information down and schedule a maintenance call first thing today. Now it is 4/22/08 Time Warner rep calls me this morning to schedule confirm a service appointment. So then I had to explain to him that it should be a maintenance call not service call. He was supposed to call me back when completed. It is still not done. If this is not resolved by tomorrow I will be cancelling my services. The lack of communication between technician centre and call centre horrible. I am telling one centre what the other told me. It's like being the go between for two arguing kids.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Aug 21, 2008
    Time Warner Cable - Horrible and Slow Customer Service
    Time Warner Cable
    Brooklyn
    New York
    United States
    Phone: (718) 358.0900
    timewarnercable.com

    My husband and I just moved to a new apartment. We scheduled a service call for the internet/cable/digital phone service to be transfered to the new apartment. After we moved in, my husband connected the cables and all the services were working including our phone number. We called TimeWarner to confirm if we still needed the scheduled service call to hook up our connections since everything was working. The customer service rep said that since it was working, we could cancell the appointment for the next day. Today they cut off our service, no phone, no internet or cable! The next available appointment is in 6 days! That is completly ridiculous. How can they justify telling us we don't need the service call and then cut off our service! Now we have to wait six days for our service to be turned back on. Obviously since it was working, they can turn it back on anytime that they want and not to have someone come to the apartment to actually turn it back on. I hate Time Warner Cable! We're now thinking of switching to Verizon. We can probably get them to schedule an appointment before TimeWarner will.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Aug 28, 2008

    My God, dealing with Time Warner is worse than just bad... it's a total nightmare. Never in my life have I dealt with more lying, uncaring, callous, rude, incompetents. Even worse than that... you STILL don't get anything done. My advice... go to the FCC. I did.

    0 Votes
  •   Oct 09, 2008
    Time Warner Cable - Awful company
    Time Warner Cable
    United States
    timewarnercable.com

    Time Warner seems to think that by using their telephone operators the Supervisors and CEO's can hide behind them, only to have the clients not getting great service and yet take our money.

    I am tired of getting disconnected from my internet sessions and not getting my TV working properly there for all my "tapings" on their DVR are not taping because there is no signal. Then it comes back all by it self within a few minutes at the most an hour or so. When you call they always want to set up an appt, Meaning YOU cannot be out of the house for an entire half or full day waiting for them and then they don't show up...

    0 Votes
  •   Oct 17, 2008

    I have had time warner cable for less than a year, and twice my cable has gone out for the day. Both times this has happen on Mon. night football, Angles playoffs, and Pres. debates. The lack of service is one thing, but the lack of communication and lack of answers they provide are insulting. After being on hold for 25min. I drove down to the orange county office while still on hold and know one has any answers for me. The customer service is horrible. I was told a supervisor would contact me but no one ever called to let me know what was wrong with the service in my area.

    0 Votes
  •   Oct 31, 2008
    Time Warner Cable - Horrible customer service
    Time Warner Cable
    New York
    New York
    United States
    twcnyc.com

    Time Warner Cable takes advantage of the fact that they basically have a monopoly in NYC and they provide a horrible customer service. I had an appointment to have cable installed and they never showed up, when I called they told me that I had called to change the appointment but I NEVER CALLED. They hanged up on me, put me on hold for over half an hour to speak to a Supervisor. At the end, they said that since it was on their record that I had called, they could not do anything. This implies that their systems are bad or someone is changing the appointments without specific authorization which means that they are breaching privacy and confidentiality agreements. I cancelled the service all together, for the time being, I rather not have cable than give my money to Time Warner.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
      Nov 10, 2008

    I absolutely agree due to what happened to me today. I scheduled internet intallation on 11-2-08 and comfirmed with TWC again on 11-5-08 because TWC left me a message on 11-4-08. I asked for leave to stay at home today, but nobody came to installt he service. I called TWC to find out and was told TWC changed my schedule to 11-11-08, they even said someone talked me yesterday on the phone for this change, what a big joke because my home phone doesn't work since last Saturday, even today I can only take voice message and can't talk by that phone. After this, TWC customer service changed what he said and told me there is nothing he can do.

    Besides, I've been forwarded several times before above phone converstion. TWC's explaination each time were different. I don't know who I should believe. What a mess! I am going to cancel my order.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Dec 16, 2008
    Time Warner Cable - My 1501 channel is not functioning.
    Personal
    United States

    December 16, 2017
    I have been trying to pay my cable bill via the 1501 Channel, for the last 4 days, despite
    numerous attempts, no dice. Up until this month I have had no problem paying in this
    manner . I do not wish to revert to paypal or some such agency to do so. So if you would rather
    wait for your payment which as you will note, upon a review of my account has not varied
    more than 2 days after due date.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Dec 18, 2008

    All in one service purchased. initial purchase no mentiuon of DVR service and recorder were addtional costs and without warning was part of delivered package . sopnt months trying to getscheduled for removal. service tech never showed up.

    phone stopped working and when it did full of static, tech arrived of course phone was working and all fine. tech leaves phones dies and returns but full of static.

    The big gothcha last straw. Never told during purchase of service that any calls internationally required a $150 deposit and monthly recurring bill charge for right to access code whether you use or not. Find this all out months after install. Trusting aren.t they not like the old days of AT&T and just phone away.

    Time Warner is clearly a deceptive poorly trained nickel and dime business that either intentionaly fails to inform for added revenue at customer expense or simply misleads by design.

    Can.t wait to get rid of again.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Dec 24, 2008
    Time Warner Cable - misplaced bill payment
    carmen c. clinton
    109 west 112th st., #51
    New York
    New York
    United States
    Phone: 2127491435

    On November 28 net spend process a payment for my NY account made in Inglewood/Hawthorne California. This transaction is in the amount of $201.35, upon clearing on November 30th, the charge was taken from my account using a netspend vendor. However, the payment was never posted to my new York city account. Since then I have been trying to decipher what procedures are in place to locate this payment and reapplied to the correct city and location.

    Please I am beat, please email me with this information as my account activity from the November is overdue! Please have someone call me regarding this account.

    0 Votes
  • Mm
      Feb 07, 2009

    TWC is the worst, the techs never show and when they do they are 2 hours late, rude and do not provide any service (3 times they brought the wrong cable boxes). customer service is pathetic, they keep you on hold for over a half hour to then provide no help. both customer service and the techs show no interest in their jobs or the people they are servicing.
    i am happy that we now have other options, stay away from TWC, save yourself teh grief!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Mar 09, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - rebates for service sign-up not paid
    Time Warner Cable
    Brooklyn
    New York
    United States

    When planning to move in December 2017, I called my cable company (Optimum on line) to switch my service. I was told that my new address was not in their area and I would have to sign up with Time Warner Cable. I called time Warner and was told I needed to sign up on line and was privided with an e-mail address, which I used. I was promised two different rebates - one of $50 for the phone service and the other for high-speed internet service. When I attempted to follow-up on these rebates, I was eventually given the name of the retail accounts supervisor whom I called. The voice mail at that time said it was best to try to reach him through an e-mail message. I sent two explaining my situation and received no response. I made additional calls to customer support, and eventually had someone tell me that the rebates could only be made after six months of service and that they would be automatically applied to my account.

    Nothing ever was credited.
    I sent an e-mail to Time Warner again explaining my situation and received a phone message from the same retail accounts supervisor whom I had e-mailed a year ago. His explanation was that a company named Leapfrog Online had been the company I signed up with --working for them to obtain subscribers, and that I would have to contact them at support.broadbandoffers.com. When I entered that in my search engine, not suprisingly I found several complaint sites about this company (support.broadbandoffers.com).

    Doubt I'll get anywhere with Time Warner - their customer support up to now has been less than stellar. Just wanted to put this out there for others to be aware of.
    Rowland Laedlein

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Apr 01, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - Stay away from TWC
    Time Warner Cable
    North Carolina
    United States

    I would like to consider myself a good Christian man however I have to admit that I have despised TWC for many years now. There is probably not a single person working at or for TWC who really truly cares about customer satisfaction or even offering any value to their customers. When I purchased my home in Dec 2017 I had to have a new cable line put underground so that my digital cable and HS internet would work correctly and they destroyed my back yard several times over the course of several weeks trying to get it right. I had fluorescent orange lines spray painted on my grass and yard for months it seems. After they finally got the signal strength to the house corrected the cable TV worked 'OK' but my HS internet still did not work so they had to send out a contractor to install a new line to my upstairs office where my modem was. When the contractor arrived I told him the line needed to be replaced and I showed him the cable outlet on the wall which ran to the modem. I left him to work on things for a while and when I checked back with him a few minutes later I found that he had drilled a 1/2" hole through the interior and exterior wall which was in the middle of the wall you first saw walking into the room and in the middle of the exterior face of the house. He had started to run a new black cable through the hold when I found out what the drilling noise was and yelled at him for not asking before putting a huge hole in my house. I asked him why he did not simply fix the existing cable outlet and he said it would be too hard to run the new wire through the wall. When I showed him that there was a crawlspace which allowed easy access to the cable line in back of the wall outlet and which he could use to easily run the line very close to the wall above the junction box on the outside of the house he just stood there with a puzzled look. I told him my house is light gray and I could not believe he was planning to run a solid black cable line from the middle of my exterior wall (visible from the road by the way) across to the corner and down the corner to the ground. It would have looked absolutely horrible. He said he would not have looked that bad and I was ready to slap him at this point. I have to admit at this point I think my anger got the best of me and I called him an idiot. I told him to gather all his tools together and get out of my house now. He said he could come back to fix the hole and I told him I did not want him in my house ever again. I did have him silicone the hole from the outside to keep the rain from damaging my house but I demanded that TWC send a different person which a brain to fix the inside damage. As you can imagine I prompted canceled all my services with them and have not paid them a dime ever since. If I need a reminder of why I will never do business with TWC again I need only look at the hole in the middle of my exterior wall and remember when... there are also countless times I have had to deal with incompetent ###s at TWC's customer service departments but I will spare you the details as I'm sure most of you have had the pleasure of experiencing them for yourself. I guess one could argue that TWC is helping our society by offering employment to people with an IQ only slightly higher than the range for mental ###ation; then again they probably could flip burgers at McDonalds and cause less stress for the rest of us.

    0 Votes
  • Av
      May 20, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - Fees
    Time Warner Cable
    New York
    United States

    I had to change bank accounts, and there was a lag time before I informed Time Warner Cable of my new account (for the purpose of paying my bill). In the meantime, Time Warner tried to withdraw money from my old account 3 times, and each time charged my account $15 fee, because it failed to withdraw money.

    It would have been more reasonable, had Time Warner placed a call to me to tell me about the problem, or canceled my service. Instead, Time Warner generated $45 in fees on my account. I called and asked that the fees be canceled, and was told that Time Warner cannot cancel the fees without a letter from my bank saying it's the bank's fault.

    A lag time in informing Time Warner of a change in bank accounts is probably not unusual, and probably happens to a certain small percentage of Time Warner customers (perhaps 1%-2%) each year. Because Time Warner has tens of thousands of customers, generating fees from this small segment of their customer is probably very profitable.

    I think Time Warner's actions are wrong, and not consistent with their commitment to customer service. Again, it would have been more reasonable had Time Warner invested in a system that calls customers from whom they had problem collecting their monthly subscription. I want Time Warner to apologize for charging my account $15 in fees three times in a short period of time, and credit my account.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
      Jun 18, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - New Connection
    Time Warner Internet Service
    Overland Park
    Kansas
    United States

    I was using SureWest for my internet, cable and phone service and recently I saw an advertisement from Time Warner Cable where they are offering same package of service for a lower price. So I decided to switch to Time Warner. They switched my telephone and cable but internet is not started yet. They have such a lousy and rude staff that if I had known about this before switching, I would have continued with SureWest.

    The field technicians/contractors of Time Warner cable are liers. They did not even ring bell to my house and just called my wife's phone and left a message that they came to the house and found no body at home. Actually, my wife and my mother-in-law were present in the house and waiting for the technician.

    Now I have to call them and set up another appointment which will be after 2 weeks. To reach their tech support and speak with a live agent, it take for ever. You are on hold for atleast 1 hour.

    Can this web site help me to escalate this complaint?

    Thanks - Sukumar

    0 Votes
  • Cy
      Jun 25, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - service
    time warner cable
    Troy
    Ohio
    United States

    For the last 4 weeks I have had numerous problems with my cable & internet service. I have made numerous calls to TWC customer service with little results. the problem is fixed for maybe a day or 2 then it happens again. I lose channels, lose internet service & was told that the tap on the pole connected to my house is bad however we have yet to see anyone check the tap or fix it. I am no longer a satisfied customer of TW. it is unreasonable to have to pay for a service I do not get. . If this problem does not get fixed within a day or 2, I will no longer be a customer of TW. Cyndi Gee troy Ohio 45373

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Jun 30, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - Lies and trying to change my agent.
    Time Warner Cable
    Garfield Heights
    Ohio
    United States

    I started my service back in March. And the next day I had to go to one of there office to get a new box, because my internet was not working. For the 1st two months I was calling everyday or every other day two or more times in a day. Then a worker was schedule to come to my house and never came.

    On one of my calls about my internet service the agent Jason I.D. # 1254000 offer me free HBO for 3 months and CMAX free for 6 months. Told me that nothing was going to change on my bill. All I was to pay was $4.99 each to install. So I went with it. About six ago now I called Time Warner Cable about a problem with my phone to find out that they are say that I have in out standing bill for $400.00. Would not connect me over to customer service then just a few hour later they turn off my service.

    I took three day to get someone to talk to me and they just kept telling me that my service charge every month is and all was have been about $170.00. When I have paper work saying that my bill is $89.99 a month for all my services . I even called the guy I started my service with. An at first he said I was right and someone did something wrong. Then soon after that he was not return my calls. Not even the women who called me, because I tried calling Time Warners 1-800 number again for help.

    Six day later no help 3 days ago they turn back on my phone & internet. Now they are change there stories my bill was not $89.99 a month and they do not see any thing wrong with my bill, but also said they where doing to give me a credit for a little over $40.00 . And there was never installment fee for the HBO & CMAX, but on that 4th day everyone was saying my bill was $89.99 . But I would have to pay $65.00 to get my service turn back on. When I just paid $100.00 on the 16 of March.

    They are saying now that my bill that HBO & CMAX is what changed my bill, but there is a recording of that call. Which was 05-09-09 between 11: 10pm to 11:15pm.

    Break down of my bill from what they are saying that one of my serivces was not part of $89.99 . In which my papers I signed does not say that. But even under that now being stated. That would make my bill $89.99 + $19.99 for that service + $6.85 total in taxes. Leaving me now in out instanding bill of $47.41 with $29.72 from movies I ordered.

    And my bill to which I signed my name to $89.99+ $6.85 in taxes plus the movies I ordered. Time Warner Cable will have pay me/ or just a credit of $31.69

    And both are total with both credits of $18.67 and $20.00 for my internet problems.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jul 08, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - Really Horrible Service
    Time Warner Cable
    Flushing
    New York
    United States

    I use time Warner high speed internet service for years.

    My internet could not be used since last Tuesday morning (6/30/09), and I called customer service and tech support at the same day, the TSR could not help me to fix though the phone and then made an appointment for me on this Tuesday 7/7/09. I have to work and my boyfriend needs to go school on that day, but that's the earliest time that I can get, so I ask my boyfriend to cancel the class at the afternoon and stay at home to wait for that TSR comes to fix my internet, because we don't want to miss the appointment and we need it to do project and homework.

    My boyfriend stays at home from 12PM, but no one come to my house until I back home at 6PM. He called customer service, and the representative told him, maybe the TSR is busy and has not finish the previous customer, and she promised that the staff will come to my home before 7PM.

    OK, then we continue waiting for that TSR who promised to come. 7PM, still nothing happened. I called tech support again, and a lady picked up the phone, after I told her all the situation, she told me that, my appointment has been cancelled, due to the staff called us and left a message before he comes, and no one pick up the phone, or maybe the cell phone number is incorrect. That's RIDICULOUS, I ask her which number that he called, and she said she doesn’t know. We stay at home to wait for him for the whole day, and the cell phone never ring even it’s with the good signal, No incoming call, No voicemail. No message.
    Come on! Is that the service that you provide to your customer? I told them many times that we need the internet before today and we have homework which has to be hand in before this midnight.
    Then, we request to cancel the service, the TSR transferred us to cancellation dept. A guy picked up the phone and transferred us to their supervisor. I asked why that Technical staff didn’t come to us, she told me another story: The staff came to your home, but no one at home! And she told us the next appointment will be 7/15/09 if we need, and she will give us some credits back. Come on, we lost time, we missed the class, and we waiting for help!!! Credits? How much she can pay for that? Only few dollars? It’s even not enough for a lunch. We leave in the apartment, and we have a door bell in front of the building, even it doesn’t works, a lot of people go though from the door, and also as that TSR told us, he can call us if he comes. That’s a stupid story, is it? First one said he called but no one pick up the phone, so he didn’t come, second one said he came here but no one at home. I cannot believe that all Time Warner staffs and supervisor only know how to deceive to their customers. And customer should be an idiot to believe what they lay?

    There is no service with this stupid company, and they don’t even know how to do their business. I won’t use time Warner any more, and I will tell all of my friends and people who I know, how bad it is!

    0 Votes
  • Kk
      Jul 08, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - changing montly bill amount w/out notice
    Time Warner Cable
    Ohio
    United States

    I entered a verbal contract w/ Time Warner Cable. The agreement was for a term of 2 years and part of that agreement was that my price and service would remain the same for the duration of the contractual time period of 2 years. Last month I recieved my bill from Time Warner cable and my bill was for for $300. My usual bill is for $122. I called time warner cable and they said that the rate had gone up about $60 a month per my contract and that the bill was doubled because they sent out a bill and notice of the change a month prior and it was not paid. BULLCRAP, we pay our bills within a day or 2 upon recieving religously, My wife is a very miticulous person when it comes to finances. We never recieved no bill or notice for the month prior from Time warner cable. My contract also stated that my bill would not be adjusted, I told them that is false. The sales rep. that did my verbal contract on the "recorded" phone call stated that and advised Time Warner that they are the ones in violation of the contract and if they had a problem with this they needed to go pull the recorded conversation for proof. They advised me that they would forward this to their supervisor and he would get back with me after he got the recording. It has been 2 weeks now and I have still yet to hear a single word from them. I even called them back and after being on hold for 20 minutes someone else finally picked up and said they had no clue what I was on hold. This company is unbelievable, no wonder they were rated top 5 for worse customer service last year.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Jul 14, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - KIDNAPPED STATIONS
    Inglewood
    California
    United States

    AFTER HAVING CSPAN, CSPAN 2 AND CSPAN 3 FOR MANY YEARS, TIME WARNER KIDNAPPED CSPAN 2 &3 AND ARE HOLDING THEM FOR RANSOM. TWC CANCELLED THE TWO STATIONS BUT DID NOT REDUCE MY MONTHLY CHARGES. I WAS TOLD THAT IF I WANTED THE TWO STATIONS THEY WOULD GIVE THEM BACK TO ME FOR A TOTAL OF $5.00 PER MONTH. HOW CAN THEY TAKE SOMETHING WITHOUT REDUCING CHARGES AND SELL THEM BACK TO YOU AS INDIVIDUAL STATIONS OR ADD THEM INTO A HIGHER PRICED PACKAGE. THESE GUYS ARE EXTORTIONIST. OVER THIS SITUATION I WILL TAKE MY "BUNDLED SERVICES" (CABLE, INTERNET AND LAND LINE) ELSEWHERE.

    0 Votes
  •   Jul 19, 2009

    Before I upgraded to FIOS from RoadRunner, getting 50% more bandwith and 100% less problems, I canceled the phone portion of my account.

    I recommend you shop around for a VoIP (voice over IP) phone provider that has the features- and price you want.

    Some top rated providers, some of which I have personally tested include:

    viatalk
    voicepulse
    future-nine
    callcentric

    TWC is offering the same phone "feature" set as available from the Bells in the late 1970s. That's yet another way they gouge you.

    0 Votes
  •   Jul 19, 2009

    Ask them to reimburse you for the usenet feed they silently canceled out from under you June 2017.

    0 Votes
  •   Jul 19, 2009

    You MUST deal with TimeWarner in writing. Do NOT rely on phone calls or email.
    Yes, on paper, sent via USPS, UPS, FedEx, or your favorite flavor.

    You MUST deal with TimeWarner in WRITING.

    If TimeWarner were a person it would best be described as a pathological liar: They will say one thing and do whatever is most convenient for them.

    Follow EACH phone conversation with a snail-mail summary of your conversation to the place you send your bills. Include your name, address, and account number.

    I have made a hobby out of rescuing people from TimeWarner. They screwed me out of $1000 so I plan to cost them orders of magnitude more in customer loss.

    Send ALL letters to "the office of the president" for your territory.

    If you continue to be defrauded by TWC file a FORMAL complaint with the "Public Utilities Commission"

    ...

    remember you CAN also sue them in small claims court. In most jurisdictions the filing fee is about $60. WHEN you win your case you will recoup this investment.


    I recovered most of my money from TWC and you can too. I have since upgraded to FIOS. I hope it is available in your area. :)

    0 Votes
  • Sk
      Aug 28, 2009

    First, I had the phone/Inernet/cable TV package after THEY approached ME. The special was $99.99 per month for all 3. I agreed in December. THEY could not come out until January. My first bill did not reflect the special. They told me I had it installed in January, AFTER the special - well, whose fault was THAT? I was wanting it in DEC., the month THEY apprached ME. I had to go to the local office that was unwilling to do anything. I don't cry much, but I told them they can KEEP their package and diconnect EVERYTHING & broke out in tears. A manager saw me & made a deal - if I come in THAT location every month, they will adjust the cost. That was inconvenient, but is what I had to do. The extended the $99.99 for four of my friends past the year, but not so for me - I was to pay $129/month, now.
    The phone never worked when it rained. Problem not resolved, so I cancelled it and all cable except the $8.95 package that gave me the 1st 25 channels. The Roadrunner kept acting up, so I cancelled it because, AGAIN, problem not resolved.

    THE WORST came when I went on auto pay and lost my credit card twice. I forgot to change my information on-line, but did so as soon as I was notified. Then my card was stolen. THIS TIME I did what I was SUPPOSED to do. I called T.W. telling them NOT to use that card. They told me to be sure and go online. I did. I canceleld the card, but my computer crashed without knowing if it was canceled or not. I got back online and checked TW site and saw credit card information now BLANK, so I didn't worry about it.
    When my card came, I entered the new CC # on their site & paid the bill. I got a notice as soon as I paid (was a couple days AFTER I canceleld the card online) that my CC did not go through. Thinking there was a problem with the NEW card, I called the CC company - no problem. Called TW. They had my OLD CARD. They had no payment information. Apparently my confirmation # meant NOTHING as I didn't get a confirming email.
    They said I had to pay in cash the rest of my life -or by money order.

    I canceled the cable TV, the only remaining thing I had. Their cable, after digital, was not that great, anyway. Picture kept breaking up as well as the sound. It breaks up worse without the calbe, but I dont' have to deal with TW, anymore. I could NEVER get through to biling. They REFUSED to talk to me. They REFUSED to give me even one more chance. Now, I ALWAYS paid them WITHIN the month bill was due. I see no reason, after being a customer with NO BILLING PROBLMS for over 15 years WHY they would not give me one more chance. BY THE WAY - they NEVER infomred me in the mailings I had to pay in cash from now on. In fact, the mailing I HAD said, "You onl8ine payments option has NOT been affected at this time."

    STUPID COMPANY!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Nov 30, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - Awful automated customer service
    Time Warner Cable
    United States
    timewarnercable.com

    Have you ever...EVER experienced anything more frustrating than the customer service at Time Warner Cable . Three CSRs. three fix it opions, none of which works. Want money back for interupted service? Sure, wait 1/2 hour for a supervisor who tells you you are out of luck. Running a home business and the old model modem they supply breaks...wait a few days until a tech can get there while your business revenue flies out the window. Frustrating, inconsistent, awful automated customer service... BOOOOO.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Dec 08, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - Terrible experience
    Time Warner Cable
    United States
    timewarnercable.com

    I am a Time Warner Cable customer (I have no choice). They have the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Whenever, they don't know the answer to the problem, they either say one of two things, 1. They will send a Technician down or 2. They put you on hold and NEVER comes back. Some of them are trainees that don't have a clue. Calling them is one of the most terrible calls a person can make. The Supervisors are good decent people, but you have beg to speak to one. When they create a problem, they don't know how to get out of it.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Dec 11, 2009

    Two months ago I signed on to Time Warner NEO. I purchased a bundle that was advertised DVR included, you can still go to their website and find that it is still advertised with DVR. I found out, well after the fact that it wasn't included. They've been charging me DVR (2x) and its service. This is really only the iceburg when it comes to them. When I last called and told them to explain this to me, as well as change a portion of my package, they said, no DVR was never included (apparently they don't know what they put on their site because the CSR was ignorant to it). They also told me that I couldn't change any part of my service (which when I originally signed up they told me that I could both change parts of my package as well as switch packages entirely). To make matters worse, when I originally signed up they charged me for paying at the time of set up. I wasn't told this. I only found out because I looked closely at my bill. Anyway, I asked to speak to a manager when the CSR didn't seem to want to help. The CSR, after making me hold for a long time - at first listening to him and the background and then on actual hold until he located the manager, transfered me to a supervisor's line only to put me through to voicemail. I left a message. I never received a call back. Their a fradualant company that looks for multiple ways to charge customers extra to build their bottom line.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Dec 14, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - bad practices
    Time Warner Cable
    Brooklyn
    New York
    United States

    I moved and needed to close my account before leaving the state.
    I returned my cable modem in person and got a receipt that stated that I was to be given a refund.
    Instead, for the past year, I have been getting a bill!

    They claim that the modem was not returned and that I owe for it...even though I walked into the office myself and have a receipt.

    I have mailed, faxed and called the company (with a copy of the receipt) for over a year and it is still not resolved.
    When I just called again about this, I was told that it would be best to come back into the office with my receipt.
    ??? The cost of the flight wouldn't be worth such an inconvenience.

    Very bad customer service and very unorganized. It is scary to think about how much money people give to this company when they can't be trusted.

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Dec 18, 2009
    Time Warner Cable - Poor cable service
    Time Warner Cable
    United States

    In 1966 my wife an I had a 13 inch television with three channels. Now I have a 42 inch television with digital cable and more channels than I can count and I still can only count on three channels. I have a number of channels called "Unavailable At This Time". Since Time Warner Cable changed to their new digital system my service has gotten progressively worse. For a hundred dollars a month the service should be better. I would go back to an antenna, however the Government (and undoubtedly the cable industry)in their infinite wisdom decided we could no longer use them.

    0 Votes
  • Nm
      Jan 15, 2010
    Time Warner Cable - Service tech
    Time Warner Cable
    Yorba Linda
    California
    United States

    DO NOT get Time Warner Cable if at all possible. I've had it for 3 years, it always goes out in bad weather, and then they take a week to get out and fix it. Well, I decided to try and get AT&T, but after they installed everything, it was decided our area wasn't picking up the signal so it would not work. All the while Time Warner HAD NOT been cancelled yet, they just needed to come plug it back in. The guy came out and argued with us for an hour that we needed to move all our living room furniture (2 girls that can't move furniture) and we told him he just needed the plug behind the TV, no one had touched the other plug. Low and behold, we were right! He was then trying to tell us we couldn't get a signal, when we'd had it for years. While he was here we called the company to complain and told them to send someone else out who knew what they were doing, they said no. And he kept complaining that whoever wrote up the order didn't put that we needed all this done and he was going to miss his other appointments. We flat out said "Too bad, it's not our fault they told you the wrong thing." So all he had to do was plug in 4 TV's and connect them to our VCR's. He said he wasn't required to do that and didn't know how to put it through the VCR. My mom figured how to do one on her own but couldn't get the others. One of the TV's was all fuzzy and he just shrugged his shoulders and left. For three hours he non stop argued with us over every TV. We called to complain and now someone else will be out tomorrow. We specifically told them he better know how to hook it up right. This will now be the 5th person in 5 days. If I could get anything else I would, I will be leaving them as soon as possible.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Jan 19, 2010

    I was over my daughters house last night for dinner and she brought up exactly the same problem about agreeing to a verbal contract for 2 yrs that now means nothing. They wouldn't talk to her because the account is under her husband..what a load of BS.
    I am going to have them put me on the ' allowed caller ' list so i can get involved. They will not be able to push me around like they did my daughter.I think our Local News might like this one since Time Warner announced a rate increase of 6-12% just a short time ago.
    They seem to go by their own rules . They are really taking advantage of people so i might contact some local lawyer friends to discuss Legal Action.

    good luck
    mrt

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Jan 28, 2010
    Time Warner Cable - Avoid at all costs
    Time Warner Cable
    United States
    timewarnercable.com

    I moved into a new apartment in October. Instead of transferring my existing service with Time Warner Cable, I was told by a rep I had to completely close out my account, return everything, and then start a new account to take advantage of the special offer TWC had with the complex. This was inconvenient and expensive. Since I moved in, I have had constant Internet failures and they have had to sent a tech out FOUR TIMES in less than four months. Each time, my Internet mysteriously stops working, I spend an hour on the phone trying to get through to a live person, am instructed to try and reset the modem which I have already done, and then told they will have to send a tech out as my modem is mysteriously offline, and my network has disappeared. Each time a tech has come out, they give me a different reason for the problem. Most recently, a tech came out on January 1 and told me my whole modem had "blown up" and was completely dead and he had no idea why that happened. On January 7, the Internet stopped working again. After spending the customary hour on the phone with TWC customer service on January 8, I was told again they would have to send a tech out AGAIN. I was told someone could come out on Friday the 9th. I explained to the person I could not take any more time off work to deal with this. The rep then asked if they could send someone Friday afternoon. I became agitated and told the rep that I was an attorney and had to be in court for a hearing on Friday and could not be available that day, after giving him a piece of my mind about my constant internet problems which I know he could care less about. He told me he would send someone out on Saturday the 10th from 10-12. On Friday morning, my phone started ringing over and over---the same number each time. When I was finally able to excuse myself to answer it, it was a tech from TWC asking me if I was at my apartment, that I had a service appointment. I explained to the tech that the appointment was supposed to be Saturday, not Friday, as I had gone into great deal explaining to the person I talked to on the phone. I have no doubt that the person I spoke with deliberately misscheduled the appointment because I was hostile at the end of the call. So friday I call to complain which is no easy task. After being transferred several times, I was again transferred to the tech department to complain. I told my story and was offered a month of free Internet. As I attempted to finish talking, the rep hung up on me. I also believe this was deliberate, as had it been an accident, the person obviously had my number and could have called back. I called TWC back again and was transferred to a different person. He assured me that I would have a month of free Internet. Well, I guess something is better than nothing. But after all the work I've missed, time I've wasted on the phone, and dealing with these people who obviously fear no repurcussions for their actions, I think I deserve more like 5 years of free Internet. We'll see how long it stays working this time. Unfortunately, because TWC has a monopoly on my area they are the only internet service provider I can use. This is what happens when a company can circumvent competition!

    0 Votes
  • Hs
      Feb 02, 2010

    We were with TWC for a while, only because it was all we could get. When we had them at our apartment complex our internet was ALWAYS down. Well, we moved to a house, and thought that maybe it was just because of the complex. NOPE. Our internet would go down about 5-6 times a day and ALL of our digital channels would go out at least once a day. After 4 different cable boxes and 2 different modems, we were able to get ATT Uverse finally. And so far I love them. Plus, the 400 dollars cash back is always good! And when we moved out our entertainment center to unhook our TWC stuff, we had 18 feet of spare cable stuffed behind there! Not even connected to anything. ARGH!!

    0 Votes
  • Cs
      Feb 09, 2010
    Time Warner Cable - Disgusting customer service
    Time Warner Cable
    New York
    New York
    United States

    If anyone is considering another company over Time Warner Cable -do yourself a favor and do it.

    I was so shocked to check the BBB and see Time Warner CAble is highly rated with a 'small' number of complaints - about 200 complaints.



    Well, here is mine and if I can save someone else the waste of time and the endurance of hassle then maybe some benefit will come out of it - although not to me.



    I'll keep it brief:

    - for the installation they were so late (outside of their 'time window' which was already set to be a few hours to avoid them being late) that the installation had to be rescheduled. And then they were very late a second time.



    - They overbilled me every time until the month I canceled my service - that bill was finally the right amount. But the best part was I signed up for a discount package I saw on tv, when I did not see that reduced figure on my bill, I called and the rep actually laughed and said 'guess what they forgot to apply the right discount code when you signed up' and still after admitting their mistake (and laughing about it- the nerve!) they did not fix it. I kept getting outratgeous bills.



    - I spoke with several managers, all of whom dropped the ball and did not follow up with me.



    - the only manager who finally gave some decent attention was when I called to cancel. and it took over half an hour which finally resulted in me yelling at him to stop overcharging me and he actually did rectify my bill - again that was the last bill.



    - every now and then the signal was poor (I should not have to pay for that) which really sucks if you are counting on watching a particular program



    - also I discovered in reading the fine print that they WILL sell/share your personal information to other companies, even though I asked the rep about this when I signed up. The rep assured me they do no such thing. When I later read the fine print and saw they did sell/share customer info I emailed customer service saying their rep was downright misleading, and had that forwarded to a training manager who said they count on comments like mine to improve their customer service.



    overall regarding customer service- it is one of the worst of any company I have done business with.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Feb 28, 2010
    Time Warner Cable - Horrible company and the so called customer service is non existent
    Time Warner Cable
    United States
    timewarnercable.com

    We have had one episode after another with this company and I just want to cancel service so that I do not have to make weekly calls to this rediculous company!

    It started 9 months ago and has not stopped! We moved and it took 5 attempts before anyone showed to install our new service, come to find out they had been sending the reps to a address we had 5 years ago! We have had constant freezing making it impossible to watch anything. After speaking to a rep in Costa Rica with very poor english who advised there was nothing they could do for us I'm just wanting out!!! I had a UFC party planned for tonight but must cancel because guess what????? My 6th cable box in 6 months is no longer working, just continuously re booting!!! They cannot get a rep here until sometime tomorrow!! I'm done!The only compensation that has been offered was a $5.00 credit...Are you Kidding Me?? I have had to increase my monthly minutes on my cell phone because I talk to TW soooo much. Time Warner Cable Is Horrible and the so called customer service is non existent!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Mar 13, 2010
    Time Warner Cable - Everything they offer
    Time Warner Cable
    Austin
    Texas
    United States

    I have had my cable since September of 2017, and every experience I have had is awful... missing channels, more than 15 missing channels, channels with no sound, Channels that black out and come back and black out again. This cable is no good. So we had someone come and change out our box. They changed it out and then approx 10 minutes later came back and woke up the baby. They said something was still wrong. They went back where the box was and did something then left. Still the cable was crappy. Still all the same issues. So then we had another appointment for 3/13/10 from 3 to 5. We were not told to keep our phone on us because they would call first. so we were in the back yard and did not have our phone with us. I went in the house at 3:10 and saw I had a missed call. I checked my message and the message said that the repair guy tried calling us and that we would have to reschedule and the time was 3:26. That was a lie. It was 3:09 when I checked my message. They would not come out on the scheduled day. SO we cancelled our service and asked for them to come get their equipment and they told me that we would have to turn it in. That is ridiculous. They brought it they should come get it. So then I was told they would come get it but it would cost me 40 dollars, but they wont pay me for my gas to deliver. So Now i have to take off work which I hope I don't get in trouble for, but none the less i guess have to make that trip because of their crappy service. They don't know what customer service is, they only convenient for the company. I should have know because of all the horror stories that i have heard but i have learned my lesson. Good luck to all because you will need it and remember, if you have a scheduled appointment, make sure your phone is at your side if you want them to keep their appointment.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Mar 24, 2010

    These people are certified idiots. A simple move from within a 5 mile radius has turned into a nightmare. Nobody can help. Nobody knows what's going on. You can't speak to a live human being who has a brain and can comprehend a simple move from one location to another. You can't speak with a manager. You have to give your information over and over and over again, because you are either put on hold which rolls you into a que to speak with a new rep or you get "disconnected" or if you beg to speak with a supervisor, they will take your name and number but won't call you back. It's insane. I have spoken to no less than 10 people in the last 48 hours, spent a minimum of 4 hours on the phone, followed today by waiting 3 hours for a technician to not arrive. Still no service. I don't understand how these people are even in business. I have missed two full days of work, plus it has taken away from the time I need to spend actually moving.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Mar 28, 2010

    CS reps aren't able to shoot magical fix-all beams to your home, they can only give you credit for time out of service. we know right down to the hour what you pay daily, even hourly for the service. its up to the techs to fix the issue. if its a node issue then they would have to get a maint tech out.

    0 Votes
  • Yi
      Apr 01, 2010
    Time Warner Cable - They simply lie to you
    Time Warner Cable
    United States
    timewarnercable.com

    Noticed that my bill was more than usual. Called TWC to ask why. They said I have 2 DVRS. NO! I only have ONE and TWO other cable boxes. I have had their service for about 2yrs now so why all of a sudden. They said they had to have a tech come to house to verify. Tech came and took one look at box and said "it is not a dvr, they don't know what they're talking about". He called in and talked to someone and said the problem has been taken care of. I made sure it was ok in their system so we wouldn't be charged for 2 dvrs again next month. He assured me it was taken care of. I called TWC after that to make sure I was credited and guess what??? They said there is no record of his call into the company to take care problem. Now they have to send someone out again!!! We will look into changing to ATT.

    0 Votes

Post your comment