[Resolved] Getaroom / customer service, prepaid payment, other charges by the booked hotel
Incidents occurred Aug 3 & 4, 2017. The night before my trip, I called the Holiday Inn in Torrance to confirm my reservation and to confirm whet they had received payment in full from GetARoom for my two-night stay. Although they confirmed my reservation, they had not received payment, even though the money had been previously deducted from my account several days prior. With this information, I called GetA Room Customer Service to inquire why the hotel had not received payment for my visit the night before my arrival, particularly since I was required to prepay my visit at the time of booking several days prior. I was transferred, disconnected, kept on hold for more than 15 minutes at a time, and hung up on. In the process, I spoke to at least five different people (La Shonda, Debra, Kenisha, Caroline, Michael, and Diego) over a three-four hour period before getting my issue finally resolved. Caroline is identified as the supervisor who hung up on me--extremely rude. Upon arrival at the hotel, I was informed of unanticipated expenses that were not mentioned at the time of booking by GetARoom: 1) A $50 deposit was required, even after receipt of payment confirmation from GetARoom; It was refunded at the time of checkout. 2) A Daily Parking Fee was charged by the Hotel. On the hotel confirmation I received from GetARoom, none of these charges were mentioned anywhere. GetARoom's website was misleading, had to search and search for a legitimate telephone number to contact Customer Service, the website did not answer all of my questions, and had the Holiday Inn's photos all over the website. I thought I was dealing directly with the hotel's official website, not a third party booking agent. None of the issues I have identified at this writing were covered on the GetARoom website. The only positive thing I can say about my experience using GetARoom is that the accommodations at the hotel were wonderful. I have stayed there many times before this trip. Of all the representatives I spoke to trying to resolve my issue, Diego was the one who really hung in there with me, confirmed that the hotel had actually received payment for my reservation, and assured me that I would not be charged by the hotel for my accommodations. My greatest fear was that after having prepaid the cost of my hotel to GetARoom, I would have to pay the Holiday Inn as well, since they had no record of payment confirmation from GetA Room Diego was able to transfer me to the hotel so that I could personally speak with Anna at the front desk to reconfirm the payment from GetARoom.
Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.
Getaroom Customer Care's Response, Aug 13, 2017
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for contacting Getaroom.com. We strive to provide you with the best possible service, and when you feel that it fails to meet your expectations, it's important for us to know. We're sorry that you received service that prompted to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you. We understand from the complaint, you stated she found the site online and assume you were booking the hotel directly. The site you located online was through one of our affiliates of Getaroom.com and reservations are booked and managed by Getaroom.com. Getaroom.com offers an affiliate program that allows affiliate websites to place product advertisement such as texts links and banner ads on their own site.
Our bookings are prepaid. Please again accept my sincerest apologies that you had a negative experience.Time to time, issues will arrive that may cause you to have to contact us to resolve the issue with the hotel. As stated in our Terms on our site, you agreed that you have read and understand, Getaroom facilitates your booking. We are not responsible for any addtional fees that a hotel may or may not collect. All or most hotels require an incidential or deposit that is refunded upon your checkout. All fees along with tax, service and recovery fees as well as cancellation policy are listed. Prior to booking, you agreed to those terms. We regret that we provided you a poor customer experience—it is the exact opposite of what we pride ourselves on. We value our customers and understand how important it is to offer exceptional service; we want you as our loyal customer and appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
More Getaroom Complaints & Reviews
- [Resolved] Getaroom.com - wrong room trickery 
- [Resolved] Getaroom.com - no refund 
- [Resolved] Getaroom - tax recovery charges and service fees
- Getaroom.com - I will do everything within my power to prevent anyone else from becoming a victim of this scam 
- Getaroom.com - getaroom.com is horrible 
- Getaroom - Hotel Reservations
- Getaroom - charged credit card and no reservation
- Getaroom - booking of a room at travelodge vancouver airport
- [Resolved] Getaroom - booking app glitch
- [Resolved] Getaroom - hotel reservation