SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Dollarama / 1 gb tech 1 flash drive

port alberni, BC, Canada Review updated:
Contact information:

After buying 2 Tech 1 flash drive for $3 each at Dollarama, I tried to load them on 2 different computers. As the package states 1gb capacity at 2-4 mb/sec write speed and 9-12 mb/sec, I expected a reasonable load speed...but after 2 hours++ write time I was of course a little choked! When I tried to read, I was given a corrupt data warning.
I have brought back the 2 drives expecting some recourse, but was told that there is a "no refund/no return policy!
I am partially concerned about the $6+ tax, but more overly concerned about how many other unsuspecting shoppers will get " ripped off "
Must be nice to sell crap, and have no backlash!!!

Ph
Jul 05, 2014
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Td
      Jul 30, 2014

    I bought one of these as well thinking it would be great for a few important documents as opposed to using my other one that I use for school that holds more. Unfortunately, this doesn't work. We tried it on 2 different computers and tried copying over a few different items and it took forever and nothing loaded. Although, it was cheap, it was also a waste of my money. Guess I got what I paid for. But I will know next time not to buy anything like this from Dollarama EVER and will warn other people about it too. It's a shame we can't get a refund or exchange over faulty items.

    +2 Votes
  • Bo
      Dec 12, 2014

    I have 2 that work fine and recently bought 2 more that don't.
    I don't expect much from a 3 dollar purchase but where I come from it should work out of the package.
    I'll try to stay away from Dollarama electronics from now on.

    +2 Votes
  • Ma
      Dec 30, 2014

    I bought 10 of these thinking it was a great deal, they generally work but the transfer speeds are always well below 1mb/s and the data often gets corrupted. I only ever use them as a last resort for documents and I make sure to use 2 of them for redundancy as they are completely unreliable pieces of ###...come to think of it, I can't even believe they are still on the shelf as this is false advertising at it's worst.

    +2 Votes
  • Te
      Mar 06, 2015

    I bought one of these to make a bootable USB stick and wasted 3 days of my life before figuring out it was the stick that was faulty all along. It behaves like the knockoff SONY 256GB stick that were for sale cheap on Ebay a few years back. They were actually 256MB formatted in a tricky way to make them appear larger to your OS. Data would get written over and over again on the same locations causing corruption and loss just like others here (including myself) have experienced. I hope someone starts a class action suit; I'll willingly participate.

    +2 Votes
  • Ca
      May 16, 2015

    Me too, bought 3 Dollarama 1Gb USB flash drives, they appeared to work while writing, but slow. Then I find that only 2.1Mb of each of 2 100Mb files was actually written. All 3 were tested on both Windows and Mac and all 3 failed the same way.
    I think Dollarama got ripped off as well as us, I can't imagine they would do it deliberately.

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Jun 11, 2015

    my son just bought one. pc says it is only 8mb and it wont even let me format it as it is to small. I f'n hate dollarama junk.

    +1 Votes
  • Cl
      Jun 14, 2015

    3 dollar for a 1gb is the full normal price for a USB and you must expect a good product. This dollarama USB flash drive garbage is not worth more than 50 cents, it should be 2 for one dollar or at most two for $1.25 plus tax. Dollarama became very rich with all kinds of garbage scams that people ignored because it was less than a dollar for a item, but today to be scammed for 3 dollars for a small s hit it is a big deal, and government are crooks too because Dollarama collect tax for them after they, Dollarama scam people.

    +1 Votes
  • Ta
      Jun 15, 2015

    I fell for this, but fortunately only bought one. I did talk them into an exchange, but the second one was no better. Any more than a handul of files failed to load without corruption. They corrupted each time the stick was removed and replaced. Whole folders with all their contents vanished! Properties showed a big chunk of memory used even when nothing was left. The sticks, in other words, were complete and total, useless junk. I would only recommend them to people I hated and wanted to see lose their data! I immediately composed a graphic warning people not to buy Dollarama USB drives and posted it everywhere on Facebook I could, then wrote to Dollarama's complaint page. If anyone can tell me where the CEO lives, I'll go there and let the air out of his tires! It may only be $3, but sell a million of them and that's $3 millions worth of fraud!

    +1 Votes
  • Du
      Aug 20, 2015

    I bought 3 of these useless plastic sticks that don't work in any computer or device, ...have been totally ripped off.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Sep 29, 2015

    Same thing here. I am now the owner of a piece of junk. Tried to reformat it to fix it, but cannot - returns failure.

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Oct 12, 2015

    I am unfortunately experiencing the same problem. It seemed to work to get files on it but will not work to open the files I stored there. I am really disappointed. I believe that if you are going to sell something it should work as promoted. My bad for expecting any kind of service from this company.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Oct 14, 2015

    Total waste of money. Purchased 11 to distribute some files on, only 1 of 11 worked. Returned them and learned of Dollarama's no return/no exchange policy. Asked for them to replace them, they wouldn't budge. Poor kid behind the counter sort of admitted these weren't the first ones. Counted 45 drives still left on the shelf, easy way to get rid of defective junk, package it, sell it cheap and don't return it.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
      Oct 23, 2015

    Same here. POS is slow and does not work. I do not know why Dollarama sells such junk.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Nov 07, 2015

    Dropped by Dollarama today and noticed all the drives were gone from the shelf. Looks like they removed them as there were 3 racks empty, but everything else was full around it. Hopefully they weren't purchased.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Jan 20, 2016

    In English: Dollarama refused to take back or refund any of the 20 drives we bought (10 unopened). Out of the 10 we tested, we had 100% failure, if not immediate, after a few hours of usage. Dollarama seem to know the problem and refuse to acknowledge it.
    We lost irreplaceable data and hours of work on the 3 first USB stick we used, unfortunately they are the exception that did not fail right away...
    As a corporation, it seems that Dollarama did not act in good faith, did not remove the product from the market immediately. The real cost in our case was not the USB key cost but the data and the hours of work lost... The store manager laughs at us when we suggested to remove the USB drive from sales and to return them to their supplier ...
    What would happen if it was not a USB key failure? What If it was a dangerous toy for kids or a contaminated food? Would Dollarama have the ability to respond fast and efficiently to such problem, would they have the procedures and the culture to empower their manager to quickly and safely control such situation?
    En Français: Dollarama a refusé de reprendre ou de rembourser aucune des 20 clefs USB que nous avions achetés, 10 étaient non- ouvert, Sur les 10 unités testé 100% étaient défectueuse, si ce n’été pas immédiatement, c’était après quelques heures d'utilisation.
    Dollarama semble au courant de ce problème et refusent réagir promptement, Nous avons perdu des données et des heures de travail avec les 3 premières clefs USB, malheureusement exceptionnellement ces 3 première clefs semblaient fonctionner jusqu’à ce qu’au moment de les relire
    En tant que société, Dollarama ne semble pas agir de bonne fois rapidement, Dollarama aurait dû retirer le produit du marché immédiatement. Pour nous coût réel n’est pas celui des clefs USB, mais celui des données et le travail perdu ...
    La gérante du magasin se moqua de nous, quand nous avions suggéré de retirer ce modèle de clé USB de la vente et de le retourner à leur fournisseur.
    Que se passerait-il, si demain au lieu d’être une clef USB qui ne fonctionne pas, mais un jouet dangereux ou de la nourriture contaminé, Dollarama aura-il mis en place les procédures et une culture de compagnie nécessaire pour réagir rapidement?

    Aladin Gaston VP Engineering VideoLAtitude Inc, Ville Saint Laurent, Québec, Canada 514-5951719

    0 Votes
  • An
      Mar 30, 2016

    The problem with these is that they are horribly slow. It takes 30 seconds to write the smallest file. A 1.4Mb file (the size of a floppy disk) takes 2:27 (yes, 147 seconds!). It is actually slower than a floppy disk because I'm sure a disk would write in less than a minute. I don't have the patience to test and see if the capacity is really 1Gb, because to write that much data would take 27 hours. The write speed appears to be around 80kb/s (10 kilobytes per second) which is barely faster than a dial up modem at 56kb/s. I'm pretty sure Dollarama were taken for suckers here, but they clearly didn't do any testing at all.

    +1 Votes
  • Ka
      Feb 23, 2017

    1 place you can complain: office de la protection du consommateur.
    The more complaints they get, the more probable the OPC will have them take off the floor the product.
    Without complaints, they can continue to sell the product.

    0 Votes

Post your comment