The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Dollaramaselling lighters

C Review updated:

I went up to the register and started to pay for my stuff when my 5 year old daughter grabbed a lighter off the counter...

You tell me what is wrong with this picture. I tried to have lunch with my daughter the other day and wanted to take her and eat at Smitty's on the patio. They told me my daughter wans't 18 so I couldn't take her out there to eat. You go to any gas bar or safeway or anywhere that sells cigarettes and they have to sell them behind a closed door so children can't see them. Yet you can walk into dollarama and instead of trying to get your kid not to take any of the candy from the impulse section that just happens to be from the floor up four feet and instead of chocolate bars, , hum what color lighter you want. Everytime I ask them why they sell lighters where any child can grab them and they look at me funny and they never have an answer for me. My friend has three kids all under the age of 5 and she has the same problem with them grabbing at the only ting right beside the cash register and that is...LIGHTERS.

Responses

  • Dj
    djunus Dec 07, 2019

    If IT is listed on the item as a certain price then they get there superviser to over ride Cashiers do not put in the price it's by code that's scanned .sometimes prices get chaged on item and no one has been notified or some one has not gotten around to putting the new stickers on

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    JustARegularPerson Jan 05, 2013

    I have a problem with dollarama they ripped me off by $10. They i purchase several items listed on the box as $1.25 but charged me for everything as $1.50. Those dumb clerk said it's not her fault and called her supervisor and the supervisor told me it's "my" fault. I didn't even leave the store yet and had turned around to let them know. They didn't apologize, they were rude, racist and unethical. They're out to steal your money. Don't you see, if they keep stealing .25cents here and another from there, it all adds up. And before you know it they're stealing thousands of dollars from innocent and hard working people. They have yet lost another customer as of today. I hope the worst karma upon the racist ###s who treat other people like ### and take total advantage of them.

    -1 Votes
  • Ke
    kenzoh Aug 22, 2012

    Instead of complaining about something that the average person would have no problem with, you should try keeping your children under control and teaching them some manners about not grabbing.

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    RichyRich2011 Mar 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I hear ya just was badly ripped off in domo in falconridge by a chic working there named emily, me first time my wife next two, It seems the need for proper work ethics is going out the window and most they hire let the power go to their heads .

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    ceejtank Mar 12, 2011

    Lighten up on the parent. Kids grab things. End of story. Its hard to watch three kids and keep them occupied, while reaching for your exact change, or typing your pin into the debit machine. Its true, the only thing at dollarama checkstand to grab at is their colorful lights. Most have safeties on them.
    And ya cigarettes are kept behind the gas station glass cases because people are thieves, and its an easy item to pocket. Altho I have been asked on more than too many instances, when purchasing a lighter from 7eleven and domo to provide ID for just purchasing a LIGHTER. Wtf is that about?? I'm well over 18, and i am sure as hell not about to go and smoke the lighter. And hell, even if I wanted to, i suppose I could, considering I have a valid ID and all.

    -1 Votes
  • Mikon8er Sep 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Big deal, a dollar store selling cigarette lighters, how awful!!! <SARCASM EMBEDDED>

    1 Votes
  • Wm
    wmb66 Nov 08, 2009

    Any gas station or convenience store has them in the same place are you complaining to them too? You should be worried about about your kids stealing not what there stealing and you should be watching your kids. The reason lighters and other stuff like that is there so teens or kids cant steal it from the aisles. Because i know kids in my 8th grade class that buy and sell fireworks at school if they were in the aisles they would just steal them instead they do what i do and get a parent to buy them for them.

    2 Votes
  • Fu
    FumingCustomer Jul 27, 2009

    um its your damn kids, your resposible to keep an eye on them. Do you think the employees like having your kids playing with everything they can reach. Have some respect.

    11 Votes
  • Ja
    jammybeumer Mar 16, 2019

    @FumingCustomer I agree with you. I have a daughter and I taught her from a baby that she is never is to touch a lighter and she won't. If you teach your child that they are by no means allowed to touch something then they shouldn't. I have never once had a problem with my child grabbing random things. She knows she is not allowed to do that and that it is not ok to just grab things that aren't her. Teach your children to respect things that aren't theirs and tell them lighters can burn and set them on fire. If you teach them properly they won't grab them. I also have a lot of friends with children and their children won't go and just grab things that aren't theirs.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.