The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Direct TV / refund

1 6665 WHISPERING, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 336-775-6635

Earlier this year my nephew need me to use my debit card to help him get Direct Tv for a one time charge of $25.00. Since then his service was disconnected and a cancellation fee charged to my checking account for $786.19. This was on November 12th which was not authorized by me. With that being done my account also occured NSF fees for items that are automatically debited from my account on a monthly bases(car insurance etc. etc.)they are tell me it takes 30 days for this to be fixed.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Da
      12th of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    Here is a copy of a letter I sent Direct TV. I filed a complaint with the attorney general and the FCC.
    I recently moved to a new home and called Direct Tv to have my service transferred. At that time I was told that you had a special offer and would give me Starz and Showtime free for 3 months. The installation person came out and said that I had too many trees on my property and would not be able to have service. I called Direct Tv to have my subscription canceled because I could not get reception.
    A few days later I asked my neighbor if I could connect to his satellite and he told me it was not a problem. I called customer again to have the installer to come out. He made the connections required for the TV to get the signal.
    Last week I called Direct Tv to make a payment and found out that my balance was over $700 for the cancelation fee and the DVR. I didn’t cancel my subscription and I’m still using the DVR. Customer service took off the cancelation fee and the DVR and I made the payment of $193.31. I didn’t see any credit for Starz and Showtime. Why did your company tell me I would get them for free when you don’t follow up with your offer?
    On August 8th my checking account was deducted $214.50 for the cost of the DVR. I called customer service again and was told I would get a refund. Today I called again and was told it would take several business days and refund check would be mailed.
    This is unacceptable! I was told on several different occasions that the DVR was not going to be on my bill and I was still charged for it anyways. I want the refund returned the same was it was taken out of my account.
    I’m writing the FCC and posting on websites about the bad business practices Direct Tv has. I’m also going to change all account numbers associated with my account with you if a refund isn’t in my account by the end of the week. When I send your payment it will be in a money order. I’m afraid to let you have any of my account information!
    I’d like to know how this is going to be resolved in a timely manner,
    Darla Conley

  • Mr
      19th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    I cancelled my service bc we are like most americans cutting back bc we cant afford it. I sent my receiver back and paid my bill in full. The very next day 297.00 was drafred out of my acct without my authorization. It has been close to a month since this happned and I still havent received my money back. I keep getting the run around that it being processed. I have had to call three times. The first time I called the request for my refund was never even put in and requested. The customer service is horrible. I asked to speak to a supervisor and she wouldnt even come to the phone. I keep getting the run around but no refund. This has messed up my checking acct. and caused other checkes to bounce and Im being chared 20.00 per action on my acct. I wished I had never chose them.

  • Be
      12th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    I signed up for services with DIrect TV and they came to intsall and told me that they couldnt because I had too many trees around my house. So I asked for my money back and every since they havenot refunded my credit card back its charges. They have yet to give me my money and they told me that even though it says Direct Tv it doesnot mean its them, it was an independent dealer whose number they dont seem to have on file. All they have is the dealer number (WDSL). All I want is my $47.

  • Ma
      18th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    well, it has been 3 montha and Direct Tv still hasnt mailed my refund. I have called numerous times and have been told diffrent things. I called the first time a month after i disconnected and the rep said i would receive a refund check soon. SO i called 2 weeks later only to get told that my check was in the mail and if I didnt receive it within a week, to call back. Well, a week later I called back and the guy I spoke to said I never made a request and there was nothing else he could do for me or tell me and hung up on me. SO i called back again and this time was told it would be six to eight weeks from the first time i requested it which was 6 weeks prior and to wait till the 8th week to call back if I didnt receive it. Well lo and behold, the 8th week has come and gone so I call back and get told no one ever finished processing the request so the rep said she would it and that I would receive it in a week. well, it really bugged me so I called 4 days after the last phone call and was told to call back at the end of the week because they needed time to see why it hadnt processed. What????? I said no, and of course they said they would send the request to the financial dept so they could look at it and that would take 8 business days and then another 3 to 4 business days after that to get mailed. My last bill was paid on Aug 14, 2008. It is now Nov 18, 2008 and I am told to wait till Dec 4th to call them back to see whats going on. I always paid my bill early so why cant they just send me my refund? Why do I keep getting told different things? I know there has to be a cut off time on when they hae to send my refund check by. Direct Tv is a horrible company. The resaon I disconnected is because they came three different times to "install my satellite" and I never got one. They ran a wire from my neighbors and when she moved she took it with her so that left me with no satellite. When i called Direct tv, they said I should have a satellite and they were gonna charge me for installation and satellites which i had already paid for but never received and that it would be more than a months time before they could install. I will never refer anyone to Direct Tv. They just plain suck

  • An
      28th of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    I too have had a disasterous experience with directv. They have messed up my account, made me return a reciever I purchased from Best Buy and gave me incorrect information regarding a move to Texas when we go for the winter. This winter I had nearly 3 months without serviced, got no refunds, and few agents knew anything except the script in front of them. I wanted to cancel and was hanging on until my contract ended in 10/09. The install agent in Texas recommended that i get a second reciever since the tech that originally put the unit in my RV and when I asked about cancelling I was told that because I leased a new reciever through Walmart I should have known it extended my contract out a year. That of course, increased my cancellation fees and penalties. Plus I have been told that I must return this purchased unit or be subject to fines and penalites.

    I agree with someone earlier who are looking to file a class action suit for those of us who have been duped by this company. When I was on hold the last two days with them the feed for the hold line the recording tauted the integrity and honesty of Direct tv - that statement in and of itself is false advertising in my experience. Time after time they toss out hooks without concern for anything but their pocketbook.

    How do we get a cancellation of our services?

  • No
      25th of Aug, 2009
    0 Votes

    Signed up online for service, during this process an online representive popped up to answer any of my question. My question was it is asking me for cc card, but hasn't told me what I am being charged for. He replied, " Nothing will be charged to your account." Finished process and found that I was charged for the 2nd DVR box and the plan I signed up with was more than I wanted to pay! I then contacted customer service, they said they refunded it back would take 2-5 business days. Lets just say its been 3 weeks, nobody can help me, I don't have service nor my money back. Transferred to 6 different people and none of them knew how to get me my money back, not counting how many times I was just put on hold and hung up on! So here I am don't know what to do, finally given and address to write a complaint but they still have my money!!

  • Gm
      19th of Oct, 2009
    0 Votes

    • The week of 8/17/09, I went online and signed up for Direct TV - $29.99 special
    • Installation took place on 8/22/09 (Saturday)
    • 8/23/09 – Customer less than 24 hours - realized I did not have as many channels as I wanted
    o Attempted to upgrade service online but could not get one of the special prices that had been offered the day before, so I called customer service
    o Spoke with a very rude male who told me I could not upgrade to the next higher package at the online price because I had already made my decision on what I wanted. I should have thought it through before I chose my package, because I was locked in for 24 months. This customer service person and I did not get along on the phone. I asked for a supervisor and was told no one could do anything differently. I hung up.
    o I called back and got a female who tried to figure out how to upgrade me at the special price but was unable to do so since I had signed up online. I told her I wanted to cancel my service, so she transferred me to a supervisor/cancellation specialist.
    o The cancellation specialist named Miguel miraculously figured out to give me a discounted package since I was a customer of less than 24 hours; however, by this time all I wanted was to go back with Bright House. Miguel said any early cancellation fees would be waived and gave me a confirmation # of 417445. I was sent packages and instructions to Fed-EX the equipment back to Direct TV.
    • On 9/1/09 I went to pay a bill online and saw that my checking account was down by $521.90. Direct TV had charged me this amount for early cancellation.
    o I called again and spoke with a male who said this was normal to make sure the equipment was returned, and the money would be “charged back” after the 8th day. I was given requision #50968061698.
    • On 9/10/09 when the money was not back in my checking account, I called again. I was told that I could not count Holidays and weekends in the 8 days and my money was with their Finance Department until 9/11/09.
    • On 9/15/09 I called again. Spoke with Akex. He told me my money just got credited back to Direct TV today and it will take 30 days for it to go back in my account (Visa account). I asked for a better explanation and was told there was no one within their organization who could explain the process. I would have to wait 30 days for my money.
    • Today – 10/16/09 – money still not in my checking account. I called and spoke with Donna in the Customer Service Department. She said something had gone wrong in the process and my $521.90 had not been credited back to my Direct TV account; therefore, there is nothing on my account to refund to me. She said she would put in a request witht the Finance Department and the money will be on my Direct TV account on Monday (72 hours). I made sure 72 hours could include the weekend. I was told to call back on Monday, ask for Customer Service and they will “ESCALATE” the refund to my Visa account, which will take at least 8 days.
    o This is the same story I started with on 9/1/09, so I asked Donna if this was a script they went through in hopes I would give up. She said no, we don’t want you to give up!
    10/19/09 - I just got off the phone with Leslie at Direct TV who laughed at me when I read my above notes to her after she told me it would a minimum of 6-8 weeks longer before I could have a refund because the money was not yet on my direct tv account like Donna said it would be.
    I have contacted my local TV stations and an attorney this morning. In addition, I'm posting my complaing everyplace I can figure out.

  • Ma
      5th of Feb, 2010
    0 Votes

    I am 69 and my husband is 79 and in poor health.. we have a small
    farm and my son's house in larger town with hospital..We signed
    up for Direct TV through Verizon Bundle Package..
    one year later, my husband had a stroke and additional medical
    care.. I cancelled Direct TV as we were going to be gone many months
    for his extensive health care..
    When I received my credit card there was a charge for almost $700.00
    with was not authorized by me or anyone else.. ( How can they do this?)
    I disputed it, was taken off, the next month they put it back on again.
    I found out they said it was for the equipment I had at this home/farm.
    I was not sure when we were to return, I agreed to allow the $700 to
    stay on Capital One and I was told it would be returned when I
    resumed service. all would be returned..!!!
    I called 1/12/10 all they had to do was click on a switch and I was
    back to service.. I was told by Jesse that the refund would be
    within 3 days.. received my Cap One bill yesterday.. NO REFUND.
    a charge for $21.60 for DirectTV "hardware".. I didn't get any
    hardware. and NO refund..
    Called yesterday 2/4/2010.. one said 21 days.. another said that
    was wrong.. I should have sent the equipment back..I mentioned
    the saving to them of returning ..then they had to return to me,
    send out a tech and I saved them a lot of money.. I thought they
    were honest.. they are not.. the final person said it would be
    refunded on March 3... I am sure they will make up another
    story..
    We are senior citizens and there are laws protecting us.. Why
    is this not one of them..?? they should protect others also.
    to take m0ney out of your account without your knowledge
    is criminal..
    Why are they not regulated? I paid interest on $700. for almost
    a year.. my husband has been in hospitals and nursing homes
    since Thanksgiving.. the charges are high. I needed the $700
    to help pay the expenses of his health care..
    after reading the other complaints I wonder if I will ever get
    it back ???
    DO NOT USE DIRECT TV.. THEY LIE TO YOU, AND A DIFFERENT
    LIE EACH MONTH.. CONGRESS DO SOMETHING TO HELP US..

  • Ke
      17th of Jun, 2010
    0 Votes

    Please stand up together we can make a right thing
    We will open a campaign to force Direct TV to provide their services to consumers rightful and Direct T V should obey the fed or/and state regulation that should protect consumers. Direct TV, They are running a big scam right now by giving out misleading information and flyers all over Medias. By many and many scams from Direct TV’ false advertisement, wrong billing, poor and incompetent customer service, Unauthorized over charge, cancelation fee and 24 hours only policy for cancelation, Harassing calls, scam selling, roof damage and more to notice. It is ridiculous for consumers that are allowed only 24 hours to cancel the services from the first day installation if consumers are not satisfied.
    We need stand up together to ask our Congress representatives, our senators, our local force law force, our State General Attorney to sent a clear and strong message to Direct TV. We want State and Federal open investigation on all over Direct TV misleading services to our consumers for many years. We should not allow this happen in our society today.
    We will collect all the problems you have, are facing with Direct TV and we will sent letters to all official agencies and Congress. Please have your name and address if applicable.
    Best Regards
    Kent Phh
    408-930-1040
    [protected]@yahoo.com

  • Ho
      13th of Aug, 2010
    +1 Votes

    I signed up to get Direct TV last month. It took them 2 weeks to show up to install it. The guy walked up to the house and said, " The trees in your back yard are blocking the signal.". I pointed to three Direct TV dishes on houses nearby and told him those dishes are pointing in another direction than you are. Then he said, "I can't do it anyway, cuz I can't get up on the roof without another installer." So I asked why he even bothered to show up? He told me that the boss will be by in 72 hours to let me know if they could get a signal. If not, I would get my equipment fee refunded. 70 hours later, he showed up and said they could install it that night, and he left. I got a call later that night from Direct TV and they said they had another installation date available in 2 weeks. Two weeks later, I waited from 4 PM to 8 PM, they never showed up. I called Direct TV and after being put on hold numerous times and talking to everyone in India, I got a call from Direct TV in Richmond, Kentucky.( I live in Dayton, Ohio) They told me he was busy, and might be able to be there by 9:30 or 10:00 PM. Around 9:00 PM, a Direct TV van drove right past my house, never stopped. I called Direct TV again, talked to the rest of the population of India, and was hung up on. If that"s what Direct TV calls service, I'm glad they never put that dish on my house.

  • Ed
      16th of Dec, 2010
    0 Votes

    Hey Gloria, I may be able to help. What were the fees for? Email me at [protected]@gmail.com and I can try to help you work this out. Thanks, Eddie.

  • Di
      29th of Oct, 2012
    0 Votes

    On 10-18-2012 they drafted $764 from my checking account if I returned as a customer. Brittany promised $534.75 would be returned to my account within 3-5 days and transferred me to billing, telling me to make sure I requested the refund go back to my credit card. The confirmation number for this transaction is 174558100. I have called numerous times since then with no resolve and conflicting information. I have spoken with supervisors and “Office of the President” with no resolve. I have returned my boxes and any other equipment belonging to there company. This has been a huge inconvenience for me. I stressed to them the fact I have children and other bills and can not afford to have this amount of money out of my pocket unexpectedly. I spoke with Nancy #285920 on 19th she advised my money would be returned in 6 days. I spoke with Cindy #R5962 from the "Office of the President" on the 22nd. Nancy stated neither Brittany nor Nancy #285920 ever processed the refund request. She spoke with the "accounting manager” and my money would be returned in 3-5 days. She also provided me a contact number 800-254-3809 pin #2257 that would last for 7 days if I needed to call back again. On 10-26, I dialed the number and spoke with Nancy #1006230 and was told my check was mailed and it would take 10 days. Nancy #1006230 was not at the number provided with the pin. The experience has been absolutely horrible and it is apparent that Direct Tv does not care about the financial burden they’ve placed me in. There is NO ONE in that company that will accept responsibility. I am disgusted and would like my money back immediately

  • Pa
      4th of Aug, 2014
    0 Votes

    Hello my name is Pamela Jambrosek, I am filing this complaint because I went on line to make a payment on my Direct TV bill on their website, well the double the amount, the payment was for $100.00 and they took $200.00. I made them aware of this on the same day I made the payment, and the told me that I would have to wait 7 to 10 days before they can put it back on my card. Well I am on a fixed income and because of this I could not pay my phone bill or electric bill. Its in my lease that if I get my electric turned off then it is a violations of my lease and grounds for being evicted, so right now I am on pins and needles hoping my electric doesn't get turned off because if that happens I will be homeless. I don't understand why it should take them so long to get my money back when they want there money they want it right away, why can't they give me the same consideration?

Post your comment