SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Comenity Bank / harassment and lack of information

PA, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I have been receiving harassing phone calls from a Mr Mosley from Comenity Bank stating that a troubling issues has come across his desk and in order for there not to be legal action I must contact him before end of day. I called and Mr personality was rude and ignorant and refused to explain to me how he got my name and number, what company he was calling about. He would not tell me until I told him my social security number. I do not know who these people are, I have never heard of them and I am sure if I owed them money I would remember their name. It is very upsetting and unsettling to receive these phone calls. Has anyone ever heard of them???

Ka
Mar 19, 2013
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Li
      Jan 30, 2014

    I received the exact same message and phone call today! I am so glad you posted this because Mr. Mosely had me quite scared, but I had my father with me to encourage me not to give any information. (I tend to crack under intense pressure.) He said to me the exact same thing that he said to you which makes me sure that this is a scam. We didn't even get to the social security question because he became instantly irate when I refused to give him my address to "verify who I was" after HE had called ME and BLOCKED HIS NUMBER! He ended the phone call by telling me that even worse action is going to be taken against me and then said, "Good luck to you. Good luck to you." and then he hung up on me. I see that your post says that you had received phone CALLS, which I take to mean that he did not stop at just one call which concerns me. But the fact that he said the EXACT same thing to me that he said to you puts me at ease. I'm so glad that you shared.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Jun 18, 2014

    This is almost exactly what this unethical bank did to me. Mr. Callaway made me provide my entire Social Security number before he began berating and threatening me.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Jun 18, 2014

    695 7444 1227593
    800.888.1726


    To Whom it May Concern:

    On 06.June.2014, a voicemail message was left on my mobile phone by a Mr. Callaway from Ohio (he would not provide his first name although I was forced to disclose ALL of my personal information (including my full Social Security number, which I was EXTREMELY hesitant about, but did so because he was threatening and I was frightened). I did not check my voicemail until around midnight of last night, 16.June.2014. However, I returned his phone call around 2:00 or 3:00pm today, Tuesday 17.June.2014. During the conversation, Mr. Callaway was rude, overbearing, disrespectful, discourteous, and all-around threatening and insolent.

    Mr. Callaway made no mention in the voicemail as to the nature of his call. I called him to ask what his call was regarding. Immediately, he began treating me as a thief, running up a charge of five-hundred dollars then failing to pay the balance. Without giving me any chance to explain that I had been in the hospital and quite ill, not to mention, I had never even heard of the bank, he immediately launched into threats of attorneys and the like. I was taken completely off-guard by the entire conversation regarding the entire situation. Has this man never been informed of credit card fraud?

    Instead of treating me respectfully, as I am the victim of this insidious crime, I was treated as a suspect. In retrospect, I realize I should not have provided him with any of my personal information (ie my SS number). I was, however, frightened and had never experienced this before.

    Now, I must undergo a fraud investigation in order to absolve my name.

    A cursory search on Google revealed that quite literally THOUSANDS of others have filed complaints of fraud against Comenity. I was always taught that in the USA, people were innocent until proven guilty. i am innocent, and yet, I was berated as a criminal would be when this man had zero proof that I had done anything — which I absolutely did not. he had me in tears by the time the conversation was over. This man's behavior was despicable, to say the least. When I attempted to speak, Mr. Callaway began to speak over me (this continued to be the case) and when I said, "sir, I am now speaking", he became (more) agitated and said he was "going to proceed with case". Meaning: he was threatening me with lawyers.
    This entire issue is so ridiculous, I am incredulous. This company should be investigated.

    Apologies for the long post, yet, it is to let people know to stay away — far, far away — from this deplorable Bank and the credit cards it issues (Pottery Barn, Dress Barn, Victoria's Secret, Express, and so forth). Please do your homework, or better, stay away from store credit cards issued by the unethical Comenity Capital Bank.

    0 Votes
  • Jj
      Sep 05, 2018

    @PalmBeachGirl No one from any collection agency/bank should be asking you for your personal information, especially your social security number and its illegal to make any type of threatening calls to scare you. make a log and keep the recordings and contact legal consult to seek damages for the laws that they are breaking, check your local laws, but I know in California, this cannot happen, so no fear, fight back and stay strong!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Sep 05, 2018

    @PalmBeachGirl Same thing happened to me only I did have a VS card from this awful bank! I had closed my account with them since they thought I was going to pay the 6600.00 in fraud charges. I just received 2 new credit cards from them? What a stupid bank. And they expect me to send all of my private info to them via the mail to prove who I am. No way I will do that. This is still in my bank account and 3, 300.00 is a lot of money for them to take out of my account. I have since filed fraud of my own via my bank and the police dept. These people are nothing short of criminals.

    0 Votes
  • Ck
      Jul 27, 2014

    Many states have laws that protect people from this type of harassment. If they don't give their full name and the debt or company they belong to as well as other qualifying info, threat any forceful legal or damages against you as well as demand your personal info, you then need to contact you state Attorney General and file a complaint. Do jot give them your info.

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
      May 20, 2018

    AnxietyNJ 20th May, 2018

    Due to various reasons, a rel and other fees. ative stealing my debit card and taking 1-1/2 months of my fixed income, my bank of 15 years fraud dept credited my checking with all of his transactions. I asked if I could pay the overdue bills with it and was told yes. Two months later to my surprise, the bank debited all credits by keeping my Social Security check. They said my acct. was over drawn, of course. Due to all the credits reversed and deciding it was my fault. I told them from the start I authorized the first transaction, not the next (15). I also believe it is against the law for a bank to keep a direct deposit Social Security check. I am in my late 60's, have lived alone for (10) years and this meager amount I receive is my only source of income. Of course, it was like a snow ball affect re creditors. Late fees, double, triple bills. When I tried to pay the bills it did not go on the principal, the amounts due kept increasing with late fees, interest, etc. I called Comenity from the beginning, as well as all my creditors and others. Explained the situation, as if they looked back, up to that point, my bills were always paid and I had credit. I filed a police report as it was criminal and a felony. I offered all a copy of the Police Report, copies from the fraud dept at the bank, even a copy of a reward letter, showing my income amount. Then the letters started. Now for weeks I am getting calls from Comenity, with so many different phone numbers, even one being "Spam? Comenity 720-456-3720", then they have "Spam? Washington XXX...". They begin calling 8 AM, everyday, all day until the night. Today is Sunday, from different numbers, so far I have received between 8AM and 11:15 AM (5) calls using different numbers including Spam? Washington and recordings. There has been days where I had to turn my phone off. I could not take it and my small dog, who never howled, sat by the phone and would howl. I believe this is beyond harassment and also against the law for the bank to keep my Social Security check. However, I don't know where to report them.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Aug 29, 2018

    @Carol Petervary Call SS right away! It is most definitely against the law for them to keep your direct deposited SS funds! They are a terrible bank and should be shut down. Don't ever give them permission to take any funds from your bank account. They will take what they want since you authorized it. They actually called ma a fraud and told my bank the same. My bank accounts are blocked. I am going to my daughter, who is a detective asap. Hope you get your funds back. You should be able to.

    0 Votes
  • No
      Aug 15, 2018

    I am currently getting these harrassing robo calls from Comenity Bank 3-5x per day. They keep changing numbers after I block the calls. I reported them as harassing calls to the FCC. I am now calling the BBB. My carrier told me about a website nomorobo.com. I am trying to set that up now.

    +1 Votes
  • Jj
      Sep 05, 2018

    @Nora Ryan Nora, is this on your cell phone? what state are you in? I know in California and they are calling your cell number, you have a case! keep the logs and the recordings, if any and contact your local legal agent. Check your local laws about this, I know here in california they can be fined for every call, so check it out! stay strong!

    0 Votes
  •   Oct 28, 2018

    Comenity is the WORST financing company EVER!! They never post your payments on time, so they can charge you a late fee. Their supposed "same as cash" financing is NOT the case at all! They charge you interest right from the beginning, even though they aren't supposed to, and then tell you that you didn't pay the correct amounts, so they switched you from "promotional" to "revolving", to cover their butts on why they are charging interest on a "12 months-same as cash" deal. (and then have the nerve to charge you $400 for THAT!) They make it almost impossible to get caught upon your bill!! Even when you pay on time, it's not enough. I don't know HOW they get away with this crap!! Stay FAR, FAR, AWAY, from Comenity Bank, and all of the cards that they finance. Some of their stores are: Gardner-White Furniture, MOST of the Jewelry stores (Kay's, Zales, Charles Warren, JTV, etc...) Pier1, Meijer, Abercrombie & Fitch, Bed, Bath, & Beyond, Big Lots, Crate & Barrel, David's bridal, DSW, Fashion Bug, Forever 21, Game Stop, HSN, JCrew, Marathon gas, Pottery barn, and SOOO many more! Just beware, and pay them off COMPLETELY as SOON as you can!! If they tell you that your balance is $300, then send them $350, because if you are short even a PENNY, they will charge you a $35 "late fee", for EVERY MONTH, that you let that penny slide!

    +1 Votes

Post your comment