The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Clarks ShoesDisintegrating shoes

P

The soles of my partner's Clarks blue suede shoes completely disintegrated as he was putting them on last week. I took them to the local Clarks shop who more or less told be that as he does not wear them often this is NORMAL!!! We both have shoes which are more expensive, cheaper and older [which we look after properly] and this has not happened to any of them. I was told they would send the shoes back to Clarks for analysis and was given a £10 voucher.
I telephoned Customer Service this morning to complain about the situation and was given the same feeble excuse - that is was our fault. She also said that the shops NEVER send the shoes back to them and they always bin them at the shop so I was lied to by the shop.
Such lack of respect for the Customer. They treat us all like idiots. We will NEVER shop at Clarks again and I am now publicising the problem to as many people as I can.

Responses

  • Ca
    California Sunshine Girl Jun 05, 2018

    I first purchased Clark's sandals for a trip to Italy in 2001 (I live in California in the US). They were comfortable and light and held up well and I wore them constantly so I kept purchasing Clark's sandals over the years. Beginning about 10 years ago, I began to experience the soles coming apart after fewer than 10 wearings -- literally having large chunks come off or having gravel or other surface stones getting stuck into the soles and when I tried to remove the stones, the soles came with them. I don't know why this has occurred but Clark's has definitely done something to change the content of their soles and I have stopped purchasing their shoes. The last pair I wore literally fell apart at a meeting that I was conducting; I was walking on carpet and chucks began to fall off of the soles so badly that I had to take the shoes off. I don't trust Clark's to make a quality shoe, especially after hearing the comments here about Clark's not standing behind their faulty product.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melenie Jun 11, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had two pairs of Clarks springer sandals disintegrate on me. I too found it difficult to walk back to the house - only 200yds - as pieces of sole fell off at every step. The second pair I had only worn a few times as they were kept for 'best' and only taken out in good weather. The first pair had been worn more often but not a lot. Both pairs were several years old and kept in the original shoe box between airings. They are stamped 'made in England'. I obviously can't take them back to the shop now, but I have learnt two things from this complaints board - It's a waste of time to return to the shop and Clarks do not respond to ANY complaints on the board! So Clarks are not the great firm they used to be and I will not be buying from Clarks from now on.

    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Ld
    LDSRJS May 01, 2015

    I was at a conference center and wore my Clark Mary Janes. I was about 2 isles in and I tripped on the carpet, looked down and saw a seam had come undone. I thought no more about it. As I was walking ahead of my friend she said my shoe was coming apart. I looked again and the trim was hanging and the seam had separated more. Because I had only been there for about 30 minutes I thought that, so long as it stays on my foot, I'll keep walking. It soon became apparent the walking would have to stop or I had to do something with the shoe. I found an exhibitor that had some packing tape which he wrapped around my shoe. I was good to go. I figured this was all taken care of. NOT, not a half hour passed and my other shoes started falling apart, seams, trim, heel, everything. I went to the maintenance people and they found some tape and did a job on this shoe. Now that I was taped together I enjoyed the rest of the expo. I tried to forget about the taped shoes I was wearing.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris J A Jan 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I will try to attach a photograph of my expensive Clark's mens shoes showing how the soles have detached from the shoes.
    I have repaired the shoues usung a commercial glue and using six 15mm self tapping screws from the inside of the shoe into the heel.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    loggon Nov 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow I love Clark's shoes and I have some that are about 6 years or more old. The 6 year old pr is sandals and I wear them all the time.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    claude34 Nov 13, 2013

    Below a pair of Clarks shoes purchased in January 2010, in a Clarks store, moderate use, which dropped me during a trip to Singapore! in the city ... thank you! The sales department and was told that it was normal? What do you think? thank you.
    Claude

    0 Votes
  • Le
    levinj Oct 01, 2013

    clarks sole should all be wax not part of the heel some sort of rubber, that's not nice at all

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maggsie Barbour Jan 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree, I have had three pair of Clarks shoes (2 pair of clogs and 1 pair of leather crisscross top shoes) that have all split vertically across the ball of the foot. They were also a size 10. When I sent Clarks an email twice I did not get a reply. Where did you send your complaint? I used gorilla glue!!!

    0 Votes
  • To
    tomfrom66 Jun 21, 2012

    Clarks courier - YODEL - well known to me for other delivery failures, sent the shoes I ordered to the wrong depot.

    The wrong depot were too lazy to send it on to the right depot, instead they were returned to Clarks.

    Without contacting me, Clarks proceeded to cancelled the order!

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    Swany Jan 26, 2011

    Clarks shoe sole falling apart, love the comfort of the shes...to bad I can't wear them anymore.

    1 Votes
  • Mm
    Mmack Mar 26, 2010

    I bought a pair of 10M Clarks shoes in March 09. The soles on both shoes have developed a long crack perpendicular to the length of the shoe under the ball of the foot.

    I called Clarks and they are sending me a free replacement pair. Hopefully they last longer than 1 year.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Francisco Corea Jun 15, 2009

    I used my clarks only four times in two years and the soles are all torn apart. can someone tell me where can I complaint so that I can send them and they can give me a new pair. Thank you,
    Francisco Corea molina

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Badclarks Dec 06, 2008

    A new pair of Clarks woman shoes is sloe broken. It is the problem of the aging of rubber. This bad quality shoes of Clarks was made in Brazil. Clarks China company does not agree to change this pair of Clarks free. I can't believe it is the service of Clark!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.