Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Money & Insurance FISGlobal.com / Certegy declined checks!
L
Author of the complaint
12:00 am EDT
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

My wife tried to cash a $22.00 check at Albertsons Grocery store and the check was declined. Upon talking to a manager in the store I determined that they are using a check verification service called Certegy. I located a phone number and called them with a response that there was no derogatory information about my checks and that I was declined due to my check writing profile. We are retired and hardly ever write checks since we do all our purchases by credit card. This experience of being turned down in a store full of people was very embarrassing for my wife. Albertsons gave her a $40 gift card in an attempt to get her back into the store since we are regular customers (she still will not return).

I am a member of the Board of Directors for America's Credit Union and there was never a question of available funds to cover my check. In talking to our Credit Union CEO his wife was turned by Certegy for the same reason when writing a check at T J Max . I was unable to contact a real person at Certegy but he CEO was able to get to a real person by continually punch numbers that did no exist on automated menu. He was told that he did not have sufficient funds to cover the check and he told them they were liars since he was the CEO and new that he had more than sufficient funds to cover his check.

I am still being ignored by Certegy and we are afraid to write more checks due to the embarrassment that we might endure. We need a class action suit to prevent these folks from doing what they are doing to honest hard working American citizens.

ADVERTISIMENT
618 comments
Add a comment
A
Dec 21, 2021 5:01 pm EST

I went to both walmart and kroger only to have my WU money order declined via certegy no valid explanation given I called the number on the back of the money order and was told that it's perfectly valid...is Christmas coming again this year...what am to do with the other ones...bogus declines...

K
Sep 24, 2021 7:29 pm EDT

If anyone wants to talk to an actual person a Certigy call: [protected]

C
May 15, 2021 10:51 am EDT

This Atrocity with Certegy has been going on for some time. I went to Tops Market and had a perfectly good check declined only to have to use my debit card out of the same account. I was charged $.80 more because of using my debit card.
I am filing a complaint with the NY Attorney General and Better Business Bureau.
The manager refused to override.
Why is Certegy still in business?

S
Jan 30, 2021 1:03 pm EST

Went to dollar general today and wrote a check for my purchase since I did have debit card for 109.62. It was declined. I have only lived here for 5 years and never write checks but use debit card. Called and they said it was because of no check history. Are they serious? Will never return to dollar general as long as they use this service.

D
Aug 14, 2020 12:00 am EDT

I tried to cash my unemployment check at Wal-Mart in portland Oregon. Totally embarrassed when I was denied due to Certegy! There is no reason I should have been! Went to my car and called the number provided just to get an automated recording trying to sell me crap. Couldn't talk to a live person !
Ridiculous. I need the money today. Spent too much time waiting in line at Wal-Mart and on the phone. Im angry as hell and dont know what to do

S
Mar 15, 2020 6:15 am EDT

A bank sent me a cashier's check for an IRA account I closed, and for some reason it was declined I can very much understand a personal check, but NOT a bank drawn cashier's check. Walmart is loosing aloy of business because of this machine or could it be the cashier putting in the wrong information?

Walmart denied my 401k check
Denied a payroll check

T
Sep 25, 2019 5:22 pm EDT

Certegy is such a joke. I went to JC Penny and wrote a check that was declined. I called my bank and I had more than enough money to cover the check. Needless to say, before I do any business with any store, I will ask them if they do business with Certegy. If they do - they have lost my business.

T
Aug 06, 2019 9:21 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have tried to cash my payroll check and it gets declined! It is a payroll check! The number they give you to call never tells you the actual reason it is declined. People need the money they work for and when you get off work after banking hours there should be a place to cash it but this company runs every place around me! What a joke!

B
Oct 29, 2018 11:19 am EDT

These 3rd party check verification services get away with this because ultimately it is the merchants decision to take a customers check or not. Certegy provides insurance by paying a merchant for the checks they approve so merchants seemed to have adopted blanket policies to only accept checks Certegy approves. The kicker is the "risk assessment" algorithym certegy talks about is designed only to keep Certegys risk at a minimum. So they only allow for a specific number of checks to be approved and total dollar amount to be approved in a 24 hour period. They absolutely do just arbitrarily block perfectly good checks as a safety measure for themselves and they dont care about the loss of sales to their clients(i.e. the merchants) nor embarrassing the consumers who are held responsible regardless of whether or not they are actually at fault. This is called a DDoS, or a direct denial of service attack upon consumers but since certegy is such a piece of [censored] THEY cover their [censored] by only "recommending" to the merchant in question to deny your check. But most cashiers and even store managers have zero understanding of what is actually happening and are ignorantly following a corporate policy that discriminates against their customers. I have been working on putting together a lawsuit that could hold certegy responsible because i do think they definitely bear responsibility but if the merchants stopped blindly following these stupid companies self serving recommendations the problem would fix itself. Basically certegy is guilty of maliciously spreading the defective information that caused the merchant to deny your check. Possibly slander or libel maybe or perhaps they could be even guilty of computer trespass since their defective information does interfere directly with a consumers ability to make legitimate purchase of goods and services using legal tender? Its just wrong regardless tho.

K
Oct 01, 2018 5:18 pm EDT

I am in the same boat as most of you. I had purchased a Western Union money order from a Fry's grocery store. I sent the M.O. off only to have it returned due to a change in the organization's change in policy regarding money orders. (looking back, I wonder if this issue is why they no longer accept money orders?)

The M.O. was returned to me at which time I returned to the same Fry's grocery store in attempt to refund it. It was declined. I attempted to contact CERTEGY per Fry's recommendation. After NUMEROUS attempts of going through the automated system, not given the option of speaking to a live customer representative, I was finally given that option. When I spoke to the person, she looked up my information and verified that the M.O. was valid and should be able to return to the store and cash it.

This was not the case as when I tried to do so was again denied. I have still yet to speak to anyone, including Western Union, that is able to help me with this situation. All suggestions that I've gotten all turn back to contacting CERTEGY.
While this is nearly impossible, I have a M.O. with money on it that I cannot cash due to the lack of cooperation on the part of CERTEGY. I just don't know what else to do...

V
Apr 12, 2017 10:56 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Yesterday I went to JC Penney and wrote a check for less than $200. it was declined. Called the bank from the store, knowing that my account had plenty of money. The bank said there is nothing wrong on their end. Funds were there. The bank even spoke with the cashier at JC Penney. They ran the check two more times with the same results. I called Certegy, A company I never even heard of, and they were asking for all sorts of personal information.
If a class action suits does come up, I want to be a part of it. Apparently from the difference in dates, this is a long on going issue with this company. I don't know why they haven't been shut down.

K
Jan 27, 2009 3:21 pm EST

I wrote a check for $243 to Enterprise Rental which was declined by Certegy. I asked why and was told Enterprise only receives a declination (code 2 in my case), but no reason why. I asked for a phone number to call Certegy and was told that they didn't have a number. I knew I had money in my account, but I double checked on line when I got home and found that I had plenty of money to cover the check. I ended up using a credit card to return the car.

Even though I usually use a credit card for this kind of transaction which means it would have gone through, I will never use Enterprise again. This is not customer service!

C
Aug 02, 2011 1:52 pm EDT

I purchased a mattress from Mattress Firm in Knoxville Tn and paid in full with a personal check. Almost 3 months later I received a letter from Certegy stating for me to make payment to them immediately for the same amount I paid Mattress Firm plus $30 service charge because my check I used to pay Mattress Firm was returned unpaid. I took the letter straight to my bank and was told that there had not been a check presented to them for payment. The bank suggested that we contact Mattress Firm and ask for a photo copy of the front and back of the check in question and they could only tell us that we needed to speak with Certegy that they were unable to give us any answers. I have written to Certegy and ask them for a photo copy of the check to be faxed or mailed to me with no response. My money was in the bank when the check was written and is still in the bank with plenty of proof showing this to be true. Certegy has threatened me with denying my checks through their merchants if I don't send them money. I have reported both companies to The Better Business Bureau and The Federal Trade Commission. My next step is to talk to an attorney and I would recommend that everyone report this company. Consumers who do business in good faith should have some protection from this scam.

D
Apr 16, 2012 2:37 am EDT

This morning I purchased two tires for my daughters car at STS Tire in Old Bridge, NJ I have used this service center on several occasions and have either paid via credit card or cash. Today, I wrote a check for $ 281.27 on check number 8337. The significance of the check number is it is my original checking account opened in 1983, beginning w/check # 001. The manager returned my check saying that he could not accept it, and handed my an index card that stated "Although no unpaid check information is on file, Certegy did not have sufficient information available to approve the transaction, or this transaction exceeded a per-established limit". I called Certegy, and spoke with "Joel" who read from a scripted pitch sheet basically repeating the language on the index card. This, despite having in excess of $ 3K in my checking act., along with overdraft protection from my savings in the event I had insufficient funds. Because of this, I WILL NEVER USE STS TIRE AGAIN, despite it being the closest tire service to my home.

T
Oct 26, 2007 12:00 am EDT

I went to Limited Too today. My $114 check was refused. The Certegy rep said "you wrote a $126 check earlier today, and Certegy doesn't have enough information on your check history, so your check is being refused." I was horrified that a company could decide whether or not I can spend my hard earned money. I am searching now for a list of companies who use Certegy so I know who to boycott.

J
Oct 18, 2010 1:32 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i went to Walmart to cash my payroll check and go denied. when i called Certegy to find out why, they said the the identification information that i gave the store clerk did not match the information they had. i have had the same SS# for almost 48 years, lived at the same address for about 18 years had the same name on my SS card for 44 years and my new name for 3 years. i was married for 15 years to my first husband but never changed my name on my ss card. i dont understand how they can have different information then the information i have on myself. when i asked what information was wrong they couldnt tell me. now i am stuck getting payroll checks drawn off a bank that does not have a branch in the state of NH. the nearest one to me is in Conneticut. i have no idea how i am going to cash my checks now. i dont beleive in checking accounts cause i dont like the fact that you have to pay fees for banks to hold your money and that alot of banks want to have at least 1000.00 dollars in your account or you pay a penalty.. Certegy check services has made my life difficult.

N
Nov 29, 2007 12:00 am EST

I've had two checks refused recently from Office Max and Target. Both places couldn't give me an explanation, only gave me Certegy's info to call to find out why. I have contacted Certegy, because I have always had enough money to cover the checks and I have good credit, they ended up sending me a form to fill out that looks like a credit application. It asks for yearly income, SS#'s, etc. all information I don't feel comfortable or necessary to release to this company. I have checked with my Credit Union that the checks were written from and they have received similar complaints and questions from other customers wondering why their checks are being denied from this company. They didn't have an answer for me either.

I understand places verifying money in an account, but they seem to have known that there was money to cover the checks, but still denied them. They seemed to be telling me that it was to protect me from fraud, They are the ones asking me for confidential information, not my bank or the stores. They could have asked for ID, if that's what they needed to verify. It doesn't seem to make any sense. I have never had this problem before and twice in the past two weeks I have been embarrassed standing in the checkout line because my checks are being denied for no good reason. I have submitted complaints to the Better Business Bureau and to the Federal Trade Commission in hopes to be able to change this company's procedures.

M
Nov 07, 2008 2:09 pm EST

Payroll checks from a large corporation being denied weekly. Have not been able to cash a payroll check in 3-4 weeks. This is a huge inconveniece and when you call the number they only tell you they have no idea why it is happening but it cannot be reversed.

N
Jun 20, 2007 12:00 am EDT

In writing a check to Staples for $350 off an annuity account just because I don't usually carry regular checks with me they denied my purchased based on ? I spoke to a rep no one there could actually tell me why my check was denied other than the computer said the account did not meet their standards? Anywhy I cannot see how anyone with a new account can ever get established if Certegy denies your payment. I also will never purchase any more office supplies from Staples because of this, I for one do not have a negative credit history, have never written a bad check and own a home and am a president of a company that write checks for a lot more than $350. If anyone here is looking into using this type of service use someone else. There customer service is terrible and they cannot answer any questions aside from saying you check being denied is not a negative reflection on you. Tell that to the 10 people in line behind you that think otherwise. You will lose business using Certegy, just as Staples...

R
Dec 17, 2008 10:23 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I welcome myself to the long list of Certigy victims. Having never written a worthless check, imagine my surprise when I went into the local Sally's beauty supply to have my check denied. Not denied due to any negative info but due to a "profile" given me by Certigy. This company is ridiculous. I believe (as a merchant myself) in not letting people continue to write bad checks./ But to stop a ligitimate consumer who never has is insane.

L
Aug 24, 2010 12:25 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I also have have a terrible experience with Kmart, to Certegy and Trident Assest Management (who pays checks from Certery). Back in December of '08 and know has started up again!

The point is that they are not willing to listen, work with you and do anything about what's wrong! All three of these companies just want to say the other one has to take care of it nothing we can do until it's taken care of on their end! It took months to get an issue resolved and tied up my checking - AND IT WASN'T EVEN ME! Which I was able to prove and they still would not clear up the matter without it being a night mare! I will also say that not one person was polite to work with! EVEN THOUGH THEY MADE MY LIFE A LIVING HELL and now it has started again and they won't even pick up the phone and speak to one another - quote on quote "we don't have to" "you know you get more bee's with honey! and then HUNG UP ON!" THIS KEEP IN MIND has nothing to do with me but IS tieing up my checking account!

The point is no one has the right to tell you how to pay for something - have you forgotten this is AMERICA!? Then not be willing to listen and correct thier mistake! Maybe some of you should put yourself in our shoes?! It's not just about being embrassed in the store it's the treatment that you have to tolerate from bolergerate business owners and supervisor's that don't give a crap what they've done to you! and or how long it takes to get it resolved! How would you like to spend hours, days and months being able not only to write a check BUT clear your DRIVERS LICENSE NUMBER from someone's else's name AND the police can't help you either!

I'm forwarding this information to the Better Business Bureau -as there should be something done about these two companines! Have you gone on and read the long lists of complaints that comsumer's have had to deal with?!~ There are not just a couple of upset consumers about treatment of these companies! In my case it wasn't even my check that was BOUNCED! HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH MY ACCOUNT! and still they could of cared less!

S
Feb 04, 2012 11:12 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

My brother has a credit union account and the only means to access it is with a check. I went to a local Walgreen's in Dallas (not the one I normally use) and his check was declined. I called the number [protected] to find out why and via an automated system was told that they declined the check not because of available funds, but because of their policy. Something about check patterns and fraud. I was furious. My brother is Downs Syndrome and I do all his personal care. I am the one that signs his checks, etc. and have never had this problem before! Not only was it embarassing, but ridiculous. I am getting ready to write them regarding this policy, but I see others have registered the same complaint. Something needs to be done about this random decision making policy. Anyone want to file a Class Action Suit?

V
May 08, 2008 2:50 pm EDT

I'm filing aganist Certegy. Whatever checks they ordered without my permission caused me finacial hardship. I'd like to file aganist them.
Vanessa

R
Jan 23, 2010 4:36 pm EST

Used check jan-22-2010 about $74.00, next day, today jan-23-2010 bought about $86.00 worth.
check now refused, but have plenty of funds.

L
Jul 14, 2008 1:10 pm EDT

We wrote a check to a "Shoefitters" store which uses Certegy. The store scanned the check in wrong and when it was presented to my bank through certegy it was declined because the store had not properly entered the account number. Subsequently, checks for Albertsons' and Dillards were also declined because Certegy would not process them because of the first check. They are playing telephone shuffle with me now and want me to Western Union them money to cover the check. Their client screwed it up, not me.

G
Jan 21, 2013 1:44 pm EST

I have been trying to resolve disputes with Certigy since November, 2012. I have a called their Customer Care Line multiple times. They were going to mail me out a detailed statement in early, January, 2013. My accounts are all in balance and my overdraft has been resolved. I have been able to settle two disputes with two merchants on my own, I can't seem ti get a straight answer from these people.

M
Mar 21, 2009 5:58 pm EDT

I, too, had an unwelcome encounter with Certegy declining a check I had written to Macy's. Plenty of $$ in the account, no fraud flags, no negative reports. I was actually told that Certegy would not tell me the basis for the decline, but that I had engaged in "suspicious activity" (writing checks) and that they existed to protect ME! I don't remember hiring Certegy to do anything on my behalf. Despite three additional phone calls, I could not get any explanation of any sort concerning why the decline occured or how to prevent it from happening in the future. I was told it was a computer-generated matter over which the employees had no control. I was told it could happen again or not happen again or happen twice and not for three times, and blah, blah, blah. Every person I spoke with was reading from a script. The ultimate solution was to use another form of payment. Can you believe it?

I don't even understand why Certegy is involved in non-credit transations and why rights under the Federal Fair Credit Reporting Act are cited in the blurb on my Macy's receipt. The last time I checked a check was a negotiable instrument, not a credit card application.

The best way to attack the problem immediately, I would think, would be to inform the retailer that you will not do business with them until they sever their relationship with Certegy, and put it in writing. Maybe if enough of us complain the retail industry will catch on.

In the meantime, is anyone interested in exploring the feasibility of a class action lawsuit?

F
Aug 26, 2016 2:35 pm EDT

Today I try to paid $13.43 with my personal check at Sedano's Supermarket located at 10720 West Flagler Street Miami Fl 33177, and my payment was rejected. I ask for information and the cashier was not able to give me any explanation why my check was rejected. I call my bank, Continental Bank of Miami, and they can't give any explanation because my account have enough funds and in good standing. I'm a customer with Continental for over 35 years, and is the first time that a check of mine have being reject. The Sedano's employee was not able with give an answer, but Certegy Check Services, Inc that rejected my check, is full responsible for the action and I request a FULL explanation why this action has being taken. My name and address are as follow;
Francisco L. Nunez
3631 SW 105TH Court
Miami, FL 3316
e-mail: panchitoco [email protected]
House phone: [protected]
Cel: 305 342 7690W
Waitin for a full and satisfactory explanation,
Francisco L. Nunez

D
Jul 15, 2016 7:50 pm EDT

My wife was declined while purchasing eyewitness at America's Best. I wrote America's Best to let them know I will no longer shop there. I tried to contact Certify online but could not get any response. I know my check was good and I have never as long as I have been writing checks had a check returned for ISF. I can see no reason for any business to use this company's service. I hope someone files a class action against them. This list of complaints has been going on for quite a few years.

K
Jun 19, 2016 7:20 pm EDT

I'm interested in finding out if anyone is interested of opening a class action suit against Certegy, I'f yes please contact me I'd be happy to join, kenneth boyles.

K
Dec 10, 2021 9:00 pm EST

Yep my husband and I both

K
May 31, 2016 9:43 pm EDT

I just experienced my check getting declined at Lowe's. I called Certegy and waited about 40 minutes to talk to someone and explained I had never had this happen. I was told I didn't meet their guidelines. I have never written an insufficient funds check and have been doing business with Lowe's since they opened. My husband spoke with the manager at Lowe's and was told they could not override Certegy. Needless to say I won't be back!

D
May 28, 2016 11:59 am EDT

My wife and I just got home from Lowe's in Midland well we tried to pay for some appliances for our house but our check was declined buy Certegy. There is a toll free number to call so I called and they said that they could not really give me an answer as to why it was declined but put me on a VIP list and told me to try the purchase again and so we did after 10 minutes as they told us and was declined again so I called the number again and got someone else that I could barely understand and told him the same runaround and that I was already on the VIP list but that did not necessarily guarantee that my check would be accepted. I asked them if they were checking the verification of the funds and she said no we can't do that we're not a bank we just are a third party company who decides whether the check is declined or not. How in the hell can you decline the check if you don't even know if the damn things good. Now it's the weekend so we called Lowe's and told them our predicament and they said well we can't really hold your appliances if you haven't paid for them yet so now we have the risk of losing the appliances that we picked out and they only had one of the refrigerators left. Certegy Has Not Heard the Last of Me and if there is a class action lawsuit I can jump on to you better bet your ### I will. Don't screw with people and their finances if you have no idea who they are and how much money they have available. Certegy should be put out of business after they pay back everybody they have screwed. What an embarrassing and humiliating experience to stand there and have your check declined in front of other people when you know damn well there's money in there to cover it.

N
May 26, 2016 11:17 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The same thing is happening to us, my husband has be declined 3 time now, at Walmart and at K mart. We have never written a bad check, and have an excellent credit rating. When we called about this, this person told us there was not enough activity to use a check, What the h..., we spend alot of money at Walmart, but I usually use my debit card. My husband doesn't use or want a debit card. Anyway I really want some justification as to way this is happening.

D
Jun 09, 2011 5:48 pm EDT

Went to Walmart to cash State Unemployment check and Certergy declined my check which I have cashed there consistently and shopped at Walmart afterwards. I have filed a complaint with Walmart and they said this is becoming a nusiance over and over again at all locations and they are losing customers over this companies inability to communicate with people that need the service of checks being cashed. Bank of America has been communicating along with other services to rectify the situation and issues. Hopefully we get this non communicating company out of the system and get some people to talk to as in the old school of ettiquette.

S
Sep 28, 2009 2:09 pm EDT

We have a continuing on-line deduction from our checking account for Go Daddy. com and has been on going for over a year now. All of a sudden the monthly deduction from our account has been declined as Certegy feels it is a fradulent claim. I spoke to Certegy in person and said monthly payments are still being declined. Now Certegy wants my company to fill out an application and send a voided check. There is information on the application I do not feel Certegy should have access to and I refuse to do so. I hope other businesses are paying attention and quit using this flawed service.

J
Mar 23, 2011 8:43 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Filled up my truck early in the morning and paid by check no problem. Then when we got back in to town had to fill up again. This time my check was refused. when I called to 800 # all I get is a text about joining the group for $9.99 a month. This is very embarrassing. I have the money in the bank and even if I didn't I have overdraft protection. If a company is refusing your check then they should at least have a person answering the phone to explain why. If there is a law suit I would like to be listed.

S
Jun 30, 2011 5:02 am EDT

On the last Sunday of January, 2011, I was the victim of a break-in. The thieves stole some checks and tried running up some bills. I visited my bank and took the appropriate action. Within the next couple of months, had a nightmare as various collection companies tried to collect. With the majority of them, a faxed police report and phone call, and that was it. Not Certegy...they wanted personal info, notarized copies, the works. Sent in the paperwork, still not satisfied. Fed up, I finally even had my bank type out a notarized letter, on top of the PD report and other paperwork. Have yet to hear from the jackals. Also got the runaround when it came to getting a live person to talk too...had to play number tag. On top of that, they harassed my mother, even though they had MY number on file. Have no love for this company.

M
May 08, 2011 12:39 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Went to Eastern Mountain Sports to buy my wife Mother's Day gifts totaling $421. Much to my surprise my check was declined. When asked why, they said they didn't know, they go though Certegy. Furious and embarrassed I asked for the number for Certegy. Certegy said there was no reason for my denial - no bounced checks, no fraudulent activity with my license number - NOTHING! They said the model their computer system uses, calculates the risk factors and I was a high risk...WTF. Nothing to base their denial on except a computer model! Very disturbing and aggravating to say the least. I walked out of the store feeling and probably looking like a loser. THIS COMPANY NEEDS TO GO!

W
May 06, 2008 12:54 pm EDT

On 4/4/2008 I went to Staples to purchase a new copier and some other items needed for use in my company.
The amount was over 1, 000.00 and the check was checked by Certegy Check Services. Needless to say I was embarased for no good reason when the check was not approved by this company.

I asked the cashier to call the company back so I could find out why the check was not approved, and she did.

I was tossed around from one person to another, and never given a justified reason, in fact I was told that it did not have anything to do with my checking account or credit.

I repeatly asked why, when I knew that the check was ok.
Then I ask for the persons name and he refused to give it to me.
The next day I called my banker and asked her to look into it for me and she did not understand why either.

My business is rated with D & B and we have a good rating.
This was not nessary.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

219 complaints
94 resolved 125 unresolved

FISGlobal.com / Certegy contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
601 Riverside Avenue, Florida United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT