Home Hotels never give your credit card details to  -  never give your credit card details to

Author of the complaint
6:28 am
Review updated:
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The company left an official comment on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I had been(!) using for years and during this time I felt comfortable about giving my credit card details to them. However, I realized that this was a big mistake because I understand that they just pass your credit card details to the hotel and feel no responsibility about it, they dont care if the hotel overcharges you or even charges you for nothing as in my case . For a booking at Etap Hotel Paris, I canceled my reservation timely due to a change in my travel plans, it was an early cancellation and it was clearly stated thatI would not be charged for this cancellation. But now I see the hotel charged the full fee, when I call this the answers I get: yes you they shouldnt ahve charged you but we didnt receive the payment so we cannot guarantee you the refund, it may take months(!), a few days is a very little time to solve this issue etc.
So never trust, find a trustworthy hotel yourself


The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

More complaints & reviews - scam
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The company left an official comment to this complaint. - bad service
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The company left an official comment to this complaint. - to cancel hotel reservation
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The company left an official comment to this complaint. - defamatory review
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The company left an official comment to this complaint. - bad tactics regarding non refundable rooms
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The company left an official comment to this complaint. - fraudulent invicing
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Add a comment
Mar 17, 2022 7:05 pm

DON'T GIVE THEM A DIME! I had a problem with the hotel I stayed at & they issued me a 20% refund. They gave me a printed receipt for the refund & LUCKILY I looked closely at the details. It got refunded to a DIFFERENT CREDIT CARD than mine! I caught it & asked the hotel clerk. She did some research & found that uses THEIR OWN CREDIT CARD to make your reservations! So in this case, my refund went to them. The hotel clerk advised me to call directly to advise them that I received a refund & want my money! I called & was actually told by the em0loyee, that they DO NOT MONITOR anything for refunds & proactively return them to you! If you don't make the call, you won't receive your money. In my case, I made the call & was assured my refund would be sent to me, not surprisingly, it wasn't! Fortunately, I followed up to see if I received the credit! I called again & was told they were waiting on a call back from the hotel confirming that they issued this refund. I advised that I have a printed receipt from the hotel showing that the money went back to a credit card ending in3723 on 2/19, so you've had my money for 28 days now, so why do you need their permission to give it to me? It certainly wasn't meant for you to have! He tried repeatedly blaming the hotel, but they did their part by telling me that I needed to call directly to ask for my refund! He then checked with their internal credit card department to confirm they received the refund. They had. Then he had to email the Finance department to ask them to issue my refund! WHAT A LOAD OF CRAP! I told him that I can't imagine how much money they've made off of people who didn't catch this & they got to keep the money! I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THEM AGAIN, EVEN IF IT'S 1/4 THE PRICE OF ELSEWHERE!

View 0 more photos
Feb 24, 2020 2:37 am

A credit card is different from a charge card, which requires the balance to be repaid in full each month. Cleaning Company Dubai

Feb 23, 2020 11:53 pm

The suit of coins is in reverse order with 9 of coins being the lowest going up to 1 of coins as the high card.

Jan 17, 2020 8:42 am

Grate article, We at Addhunters shifted this service to a level much higher than the broker concept. you can see more details like this article Property for sale propert finder doha

Jul 01, 2019 4:10 am

Booked with for a guest house in Cardiff. Paid £67.50 for a room. On arrival could not get into property digital lock on front door, were not given the code. By the look of the place it did not look anything like the picture we had seen on the computer. By phone we did get the codes for front door and entry into the room. AND WHAT A ROOM FOR THE PRICE WE PAID. CRAP. A cat would have found it hard to live in. Décor looked as if it had been done with a knife & fork, nothing in the room but a tatty wardrobe, sort of double bed. Door handle came away in the hand. View from window had the proverbial scaffold poles sticking out across the window. Need to say that this is the worst guest.. ha ..ha sorry, doss house we have ever encountered. Made the long journey home instead of staying the night.
Have taken pictures of our experience and will be taking this to the small claims court for the money back. need to get their facts right about what is a Guest House and what is a Backpacker Room. We did rely on for this stay and we feel we have been let down in some order.

Jun 30, 2019 5:56 pm need to get their act together about what is a Guest House and what is a Doss house. They should also show the correct picture for the said Guest House. When we booked the Richmond House Guest House in Cardiff we were expecting it to be of a good standard as we had booked through It only showed 4 pictures on the advertisement, we saw what we thought was the accommodation. Boy what a shock when we reached the property. Have never been to such a dive in our lives. If this is what stoop to, then we will never book with them again. We have actual pictures of what the guest house looks like both inside and out including the scaffolding as viewed from our window and the state of the room and shared bathroom. Needles to say we did not stay at this place and decided to go the long journey home. We will be expecting our payment back if not we will be taking this to the small claims court.

Feb 10, 2019 8:37 am

credit card hacked through website 2 weeks ago. No more - absolute travesty that they cannot get their sh*t sorted from a basic security perspective and reading all these (and more comments/news reports etc). It has been going on for so many years too. They're an online service -- can you believe it... and yet they are full of sh*. Anyone and everyone, avoid like the plague...

Jan 31, 2019 2:55 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

please don't use booking. com, I have had 3 credit cards hack by using them, their site is not secure and often times you can get a better deal by approaching the hotel and asking for a discount. There is a constant confusion with the price and they never tell you if the hotel accepts credit or cash until you book with them. I have travelled all over south and central America and have used them a lot but never again!

Dec 20, 2018 5:07 am shares your credit card information with the hotel this is the secret main problem every one like us facing with .This happened to me recently and i nearly lost more than 158USD, because the hotel charged me for 3 rooms even i cancelled during the free cancellation period the full payment, after i called booking the hotel refunded me and stolen 158USD,
i called booking again and waiting for an action !

Dec 09, 2018 8:30 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more shares your credit card information with the hotel. All it takes is one employee to use your credit card to purchase stuff online or to sell your credit card information .This happened to me recently and i nearly lost more than 1000 USD, luckily the credit card was blocked for fraudulent activity but i ended up loosing 150 usd approximately, and i doubt that anything will be done even if i filed a complaint. Avoid this website at all cost, you can end up loosing a lot more than the few bucks you save.

Nov 24, 2018 2:46 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I not use falsely advertise FREE CANCELATION, on all 4 pages making my booking for the Novotel Airport Hotel with On every page it said NO Risk...Free CXL. When I completed my booking I received a confirmation and on the confirmation email AFTER my booking it read No Cancelation. This is called, "Bate and Switch". 2 days later and 4 weeks before my reservation I tried to cxl my reservation and get a refund with no avail.
I presented my case with photos of each page saying FREE CANCELATION in green highlights. I even received an email directly from the Novotel which states they have a 48 hr cxl policy. So, it is that is the lair to all of us. This website should be shut down it is fraudulent.

Oct 22, 2018 9:09 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Sent a total of 25 emails... took hours and several Trac-phone calls. Third e-mail to Booking com giving me the run around on their add being falsely advertised. See all below' I have removed my phone numer and address. Sat, Sep 29, 2018 09:11 PM
Hi Dustin, the below was sent Friday. I received an e-mail back from a Molly Saturday that read:
Embarcadero #138 Yaquina Bay View said:
Hi Warren,
I apologize for the confusion. I was looking at the listing and it does not mention anything about a jacuzzi. You do not have to worry about starting any laundry. That is for homes that have laundry facilities in the house.
Please let me know if you have any other questions.
That was in response to my complaint below:

Problems with room not as advertised. Said cottage... in room jacuzzi... washer and dryer in cottage. Agreement says to start laundry if you have time before you go. This is connected to other rooms. No Jacuzzi in room - shared by everyone a long ways from room. Laundry shared a long ways away. You were not supposed to charge my card and is was being charged before Labor Day. This room was falsely advertised. We paid for an in room Jacuzzi and washer and dryer. Talked with Gary Grant the manager of Embarcadero who will be contacting someone there on Monday. We will be checking out on Tuesday... so it's a little late. Vacasa is over this room and Gary said and Vacasa are responsible for advertising and any problems. Thanks,
Please keep reading all to the end!
---------- Original Message ----------
From: Embarcadero #138 Yaquina Bay View via
To: [email protected]
Subject: Need to reach us during your stay?
Date: Fri, 28 Sep 2018 19:54:23 +0200
The accommodation provider takes full responsibility for the content of this message, sent via
Hi Warren,
I'm the Local Manager for Vacasa LLC in Newport. It's my job to ensure you have a great stay while here! I have you checking in on Friday, September 28 at 4:00 PM to Embarcadero #138 Yaquina Bay View, Reservation #1356478.
If, for any reason, you need to make a change to your reservation or need assistance with directions to the home or similar, you can reach guest services at [protected]. The guest services team is available 24/7 to assist you.
My goal is for all of my guests to have a 5-star stay! I am available to assist you with any questions you have about the home. You can give me a call at [protected], so please let me know how I can help make your experience great.
I hope you have a great stay, and let me know if there's anything I can do to help!
Molly basically blew me off, , , she saw a washer and dryer... I tried to attach a update and it would not attach right, so I will forward it to you. Click on View Booking details box, , , read down to where it say it's a home - not a condo. tells about washer and dryer in home and a Hot Tub... in home. Also states that the credit card will be checked, but will be paid at check in. Was not kept either taken out right after we confirmed our reservation weeks ago. I have since found three different things that say it's a home, house or cottage. All say Hot tub or Jacuzzi in home, washer and dryer. We paid EXTRA for that, sorry for the misunderstanding does not GET IT! I did Space Planning for ODOT and was doing their Leasing, which included writing them up. You can get into legal problems very easily if the wording is even slightly in error. I have heard that you web pages need to be updated... they do... that does not help me now or do me in the least any good. Look for that Forward from me.
Warren could see what was advertised and does have places like that at the Embarcadero, but #138 is not one of them. Each time I got a reply from a different employee who did nothing. Nothing said about my credit card being charged two weeks before we stayed there! Vacasa who handles the condo gave us $150 refund... not even the cost of one night there. Over priced as did not get what was promised in ad. We did not take extra clothes as we thought we could wash them in the House. Now a couple of adds have been updated, but that did not help me.

Sep 03, 2018 4:13 pm

I was charged over €250 by saying it was spent on a hotel in Amsterdam even though I stayed in that hotel 18 months ago and paid for it. Is there a way I can get my money back?

Aug 21, 2018 11:13 pm

I used for the first time 3 weeks ago. A few days ago my credit card was fraudulently used to the value of $2200.00 by amsterdam. They were very dismissive when i called & was told I had to contact my card issuer. Not interested in helping me at all

Sep 21, 2018 12:15 am
Replying to comment of Johnnaten

I m on the same boat now! been charged aggregatedly over EUR15, 000 today by ams NL, which I ve never booked any hotels through with that credit card over a year! Obviously they never care about our credit card info at all.

Jun 07, 2018 6:02 am

My fiance and I stayed in a b&b in Siracusa which we booked on We paid by cash upon arrival at the property. A couple of weeks later, I checked my credit card statement and there was a charge for £100 from a DIFFERENT b&b - Camere Cavour, Ortigia - which we had simply VIEWED on before deciding to reserve the other place. I checked my email for any booking confirmation, wondering if I had clicked in error or something, but there was nothing regarding Camere Cavour, only the property we actually stayed at. After reading all the reports of fraud from, I went directly to the bank and reported the theft, avoiding the run around from these scammers. I will never use again if they can store your card details and pass them on to properties you have no contract or connection to.

Feb 13, 2018 12:08 pm is definitely a scam. I reserved a hotel on a Monday, that online, perfectly high lighted in green, said, "free Cancellation until 11:59 the night before." 4 days before and the morning following the day I reserved it, I called and the hotel, to cancel it. They were both rude and refused to cancel, stating I had a no cancellation policy. On my first complaint, through my credit union, they created false, handwritten documents, stating no cancellation policy. Their site still shows the same cancellation policy that I trusted and it also states your card won't be charged until you are at property. They charged my card 2 days before I was to arrive. Our gvt. needs to put a stop to these scammers. I will continue to warn people not to use any of these sites; as they are all owned by the same company. Even Trivago sold out to them.

Dec 13, 2017 10:13 am

I work in a Goevernment Department in Central London. I have had problems with this week and I have had problems getting them to respond to my emails. I will be asking for Government to look into the processes and procedures of and ask if their guidelines fit in with UK law. I suggest everyone who is having or has had problems with Booking .com contact their local MP's on mass. Get this company investigated. Let us set up a petition on the government website to ask people who have been ripped off or have suffered bad exepriences in any other way with this company to sign it to have this company removed. We pay good money for bad service, its not acceptable. I have read some of the responses from staff at, disgusting customer service. People dpn't make complaints unless they have good reason too. If you can't listen to and respond to your customers politely then you should not be in business. We make you rich, you treat us poor!

Set up a petition here...

Nov 24, 2018 2:51 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Replying to comment of cda2212

Is there any way we can launch a class action lawsuit?
[email protected]

Nov 27, 2017 11:43 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Never book with! They are the worst choice. I lost a few thousands dollars because of them.

Oct 19, 2017 5:01 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

We use twice now, and both times we didn't get what we booked online. The last B & B, didn't even look like the room be booked online, they took us to a total diverent room, no clean towls, no soap, dstv didn't work, we a couple we couldn't even sleep on the bed as it was 2 single bed matttresses next to each other that wasn't even. So there were this hump between us. No staff member in sight to assist us.
Really not the money worth. We considering never to book with again and considering taking this matter further. Unfortanatly we didn't take pictures. We were so upset.

Sep 29, 2017 8:35 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I booked a 2-bedroom condo on and canceled the reservation after the rental company took the full amount of 5 days on my credit card instead of the deposit of $500. $3100 on my credit card is definitely not $500. after cancelling the reservation 6 months before the actual travel date, well within the 30 day return guarantee, I am still disputing the charges. $3100 and 6 months of interest is what I got for booking with you can be well assured that I will never use and I will continue to spread around the actual truth of this site and its falsely claimed "assurance" and their fraudulent choices of rental companies allowed to post on their site. should have a "fraud' detection of rental properties that steal money. brhospitality is the rental company who scammed me $3100! stay away

Sep 02, 2017 4:45 am

I am very very dissapointed after my last booking on

Are they really out to con people? I don’t think/hope so.

I have used a lot (also with other logins for my sons and daughters travels), this is the first time I am hit in my face.

2 days ago I came to rikkeshoeve and he showed me his booking paper where
1 person was stated instead of the 2 I had booked.
He said : check your email and indeed only in the email I saw you had send me a
1 person booking? while I never asked for 1 since I was planning all along,
Clicked all along that my daughter was coming along!

At 15:30 he promised me to ”open the booking again on, so that if he got a new booking, he’d refund me” (i’ll be honest in that, were his exact words)
Only to tell me the next morning when I asked wheter he had succeeded ”no, sorry, I close all bookings at 14:00, since I have to know what to expect”

Numerous messages and phonecalls to didn't bring a solution (I just need 70€uro back) for I actually can read and did book for 2

Just try to make the same booking :
Search for 2 adults
Choose the 2 man icon room
Choose 1 room
Etc etc
You'll see everything will be showing 2.
Than you have your booking nummer (so you do not read the email) and than... you're cheated bigtime

View 0 more photos
Aug 19, 2017 2:02 am

Hi. my credit card was frauded. on 18 of august at 17:19. I contacted the bank they declared that the details of my credit card were hacked from 8th of august booking reservation. that hackers took card details from
Please assist in returning my money.

Aug 12, 2017 9:40 am

I confirm give full details of credit card (numbers/expiration date/cvv!), I booked in a resort in vn in mũI nè, once arrived there, I saw on a paper during the check-in that the hotel printed out my credit card information from (there was the logo of on the top). this is a big security problem. I advice everyone not to use for this basic security failure.

Aug 11, 2017 10:35 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reservation [protected]
I made a reservation for 2 adults and 4 children through the BOOKING.COM's booking system on 20/04/2017. Total to pay: 1050, 00 Euro for 7 nights.
The same booking mistakenly reported 2 adults and 2 children and I contacted the rent taker to confirm that the children were 4 and not 2. Following a written reply through Mr BOOKING.COM by the rent taker "Ok, there are no problems, " I called to the aforementioned to confirm the willingness to welcome the 4 children. He confirmed the availability without any hint of any extra charge.
On 15/07/2017, the nightmare starts: the house, which from the description appears to be a self contained property, is actually located within a small area which includes a small building and two cottages inside the garden. The pool is in the garden but it does not appear to be fenced and no specific regulation was ever given to us (as described in the notice the swimming pool is for exclusive use).
The house was very dirty, unprepared beds, damp towels in the chest of drawers, cleaning supplies (scope, buckets and rags) scattered between home and garden. A large amount of dust and cobwebs at the windows. Vases in the garden stuffed with cigarette butts.
The wi-fi was not working, the washer did not work (flooding the floor at first commissioning), the kids’ bunk beds had no protection and the house was infested with mosquitoes. (42 bites the following day on my 7 year-old child)
Despite comments made by the person in charge, no action has been taken to at least comply with the description of the ad on BOOKING.COM.
The first evening, without notice, the rent taker appeared personally at the veranda of the house and sat in the table in front of the entrance with the following additional and absolutely unexpected costs:
• 15 euro / day per child for a total of 210 euros per week
• 80 euro transfer from Palermo which is mentioned on the ad to be free.
Upon request for explanations for the additional child charge the rent taker repeated that the reservation was made for 2 children and not 4, not reminding of the clarification call and the message sent via the BOOKING.COM site some time before.
The following morning, the rent taker appears again within the property without notice and is once again reported by the guests:
• wifi not active
• poor cleaning of the property
• Infested mosquito home (we asked for fans to hunt mosquitoes, without success)
• No operation of the washing machine (which does not centrifuge, flooding the bathroom when in operation, this request is not taken into account by the person)
The house taker, after long negotiations agrees to bill one child only instead of two (105 instead of 210 euros per week), for the rest of the requests there is no will to improve the situation.
The third day, a gentleman entered the property while guests are in the pool and presents himself, only after explicit request, as the owner of the home. He complained of the noise caused by the children in the water and informing us that from 14.30 to 17.30 the children must observe the silence because he and the other guests who should occupy cottages in the garden the following day cannot rest and might complain. The pool is announced to be an "Exclusive swimming pool". We were replied that what is written does not count, only his word should be taken into account. The so called landlord also forbid us to receive any friends in his property (although he rent taker saw that our friends were accompanied with children…). He said the area was monitored by cameras in case we tried to cheat. He concluded saying that if we were not happy we could move out and he would generously reimburse all the non-used nights.
Bearing in mind that the accommodation does not reflect the features described on the BOOKING.COM site and we are no longer safe since at least three times the rent taker and the so called landlord have entered the property without notice and without any minimum respect for privacy (we should remember that we were two women with 4 girls); Considering also that the rent taker gave his word that he would refund the nights not taken advantage of, we decided to leave the house as soon as possible to find with the girls accommodation for the night.
The situation has created great stress and tension for both us and the girls.
We left belongings and food and when we wanted to get back to collect them the so called landlord replied these were of poor value and we should stop bothering them for that.
Following the bad experience and before issuing an absolutely negative review, we would like BOOKING.COM to take an active part in resolving the conflict, claiming first that the description of the property does not absolutely reflect the reality of the conflict.
We therefore ask the owner of the property for an immediate refund of the 5 nights not used for an amount of € 855 (€1197 for 7 nights in total: €1050 initially paid+€105 extra fee for one child paid onsite+€42 tourism tax).
Contact numbers owners
Vito Di Girolamo [protected]
Renzo Di Girolamo [protected]

Jul 09, 2017 3:10 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more has NOT gotten in touch with us regarding our booking # [protected] . We had exactly the same issue with a hotel that was booked at hotel Carla in Levanto, Italy - it was canceled Well in advance on the same day of booking, but the hotel still charged us over 600 euros! We even called both the he hotel and to be told our credit card info was given to the hotel and the hotel can charge it if they feel so fit to do so. His is unacceptable to just hand over the credit card info with no responsibility. We asked for a full refund but the hotel proceed to still charge us and has done NOTHING to help and said it's out of their power - absurd!

Jun 28, 2017 7:48 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Shame on you Booking.Com. We had booked a trip to Ireland and used you to book our hotels. We were supposed to fly on Thursday but on Sunday we learnt my travel partners Mum had got Cancer. We called the hotels in Ireland and told them of our very upsetting news and asked if we could postpone our booking. The reply from the hotels was Yes but just clear it with Booking.Com as they are who we booked through. The hotel was very sympathetic. So we called Booking.Com and guess what people of Britain...THEY SAID NO ! but as a "sweetener" said if we could go through the process of getting the medical documents they MIGHT consider but is not 100 % Guaranteed. Great compassion, very upset and disapointed

Jun 27, 2017 12:34 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more is a staggering rip off. They trick you with what appears to be the rate for the dates you select. When you 'confirm rate" they don't list the rate you are paying on the page, they slip it on a pop up menu that in the previous page is used push other travel related purchases like car rentals. To see clearly, you have to "x" it out of the way. When you reflexively do the same thing on the confirm page, you've clicked away the small print real price they are charging you. When you confirm payment, it jumps you to a screen that give you the full real price. When you call customer service as I did immediately, they refund your money minus their $14.99 fee, after saying "prices change all the time" even when their own site has the dates and the rates clearly displayed. This must go on all the time and be a nice revenue source for This site is clearly designed to trick people, not help them get good prices for hotel room. Just look at these photos. I was able to "backtrack" (too late to save the fee) to see the sidebar with the price. This site is a serious rip off. Avoid like the plague.

View 0 more photos
Jan 20, 2017 6:08 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I used to book hotel bella vista Langkawi, Malaysia in August 2016. Hotel staffs can easily charge to your credit card without even swiping as already passed information. I was wondering how it's happening. And the receptionist was so casual in handling the credit card details. Day before yesterday I got an SMS from my bank that Rs.3362.92 was spent on ur HDFCBank CREDIT Card ending 6039 on 2017-01-17:14:50:48 at BELLA VISTA LANGKAWI. Card is with me and I've not done any booking in the hotel on the said date. I already sent a mail regarding this to hotel and but they've not yet replied. All I want to say is that it's not safe to give the credit card details to

Jun 13, 2013 4:24 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I booked two rooms in the Merchants Hotel in Manchester at a cost of £204 for two nights for three people. I requested a double room and a room with twin beds, which we didn't get - they told us when we arrived that they couldn't give us a room with twin beds. The hotel was dirty, old and needed a complete refurbishment. The carpets were stained, the walls were splattered with something - not sure what that was. The bathroom and shower cubical was old and flaky paint and grime was everywhere including the shower head and around the bottom of the cubical. The photographs on website were much superior to the actual inside rooms and the outside entrance. The entrance was down an alley and was full of water - it smelled of urine and we were suspicious that it was being used as a toilet. We complained at the time that the fire alarm was covered by a plastic carrier bag and was told that the rooms had been recently fumigated. The bag was not removed during our stay. In Manchester on that particular weekend there were at least two events - one was the Bupa 10K, which was the reason for our stay, and the hotels were quite busy. We arrived and on seeing the state of the place and knowing that we were unlikely to get our money back and that the other hotels were full, we decided to stay. I have since written a review and sent it to, which does not appear on their website, although they assure me that it will. I have sent them photographs which on two occasions they say they haven't received and I have now sent them a third time. I have asked for a complete refund and they have offered me 10percent. The hotel is a fire hazard and shouldn't be allowed to get away with continuing to take people in. I can send photos to you if necessary.

Jun 03, 2013 3:53 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I was taken into hospital after suffering a miscarriage at 5 months on the morning of my stay at West Beach as you can imagine calling to cancel the hotel wasn't on my list of priorities whilst receiving a blood transfusion and lead in a hospital bed. Once i was home from
hospital I called to explain the situation and to ask for help and asked for them to contact the hotel and ask them to kindly consider refunding the money taken from my card, due to what had happened I wouldn't be at work for a good few weeks and wouldn't be paid and £140 was a lot of money, all I received was an email back refusing to refund the money and quoting t&cs.
I am disgusted and so upset with the way this has been handled and unless together with the hotel find some humanity and offer me a refund I will never consider using them again.
After all this wasn't just a "guest that forgot to cancel their reservation" situation have some kind of decency.

Mar 10, 2013 2:28 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have been using for last six months and find that it is a simple booking process. However when it comes to resolving issues they are very quick at referring to the Terms and Conditions on their website. Out goes any desire to understand and empathize with the customer. No interest in understanding the customer issue or how to assist the customer. They seem only interested in their commission from the booking.

I recently had a case where I flew 24 hours from Sydney to Manchester with my son only to find the property that I had booked was not what it was made out to be on the website. There was no one there to receive me and security guard at the property told me there was no such hotel at the address. I had a confirmed booking at the premises and had informed them of my arrival time. When I called the contact number for the property there was no answer.
The agent was very helpful but when I was put to her supervisor he threw the book at me. I incurred approx USD200 in roaming costs trying to convince the Supervisor that they had responsibility to find me another accommodation and for the additional costs that I was incurring as a result of the property not being there. He kept on referring to the fact that they were not liable. I am very disappointed in their attitude and I could carry on about my experience. They agreed to find me alternative accommodation 30 miles away from Manchester. However they told me that the travel costs to and from the hotel to Manchester will be my costs. It was the night of the United Vs Real match and according to them there were no properties available in Manchester. I had taken my son to watch the match and had booked the so called hotel three weeks in advance knowing how difficult it would be to find a hotel. I requested the supervisor to find me a non listed hotel but no luck. He kept on referring to the property 30 miles away. Not sure if Liverpool is 30 Miles away or further as the hotel was in Liverpool. I walked around Manchester with my son from 9am to 1:30pm calling into all the hotels until we found one.
My expectation was that they would find me alternative accommodation, pick up any additional costs to travel from that property and also my mobile roaming costs while on the phone to trying to resolve the issue.

Jul 20, 2012 12:53 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Made reservation today for 3 nights which will be 14 days from today (August 3-6 2012). Made the mistake of giving them my credit card on the internet. Immediately they charged my card the full amount plus a cleaning fee - that was not clearly stated before i gave them my credit card. Called my barclaycard and they said the amount of 330.00 was pending. Called whispers resort they said if i cancelled i would be charged the full amount of 330.00. The original amount was 239.85 and they have added 12 percent tax (Which is correct) and then a 95.00 cleaning fee! This was all made through - we are world travelers and have never heard of this kind of service or treatment - i then find out they are out of england. Please help if someone knows how to stop this charge from happening. we find out has horrible reviews!

Oct 30, 2016 9:44 am

I just booked with On their page it gave you a choice if you didnt want to prepay. I chose to wait since it was four months away. When i got my confirmation, it said the hotel can charge you 100% of charge anytime after confirmation. So i check my bank they immediately took the money out. They pissed me off so i cancelled. Then to make it worse, it says it can take up to 20 days to get the money back. I usually go straight to hotel to book but because of their policy of paying later, i made the reservation. Stay away from

Aug 07, 2011 8:33 am

I booked Comfort Hotel CDG on Aug. 22 check-in and Aug. 23 check out. Now I want to cancel this booking. But I am unable to contact with
Booking Com on line although I checked spelling address very carefully.
Please cancel the above booking and confirm with me.
Your kind cooperation would be appreciated.
Thank you
Yoji Hamawaki

Oct 04, 2013 1:55 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

they stil think they are right they are charging all their customers tax in case of no show. and is it really submitted as tax to authorities ?Authorities don't expect tax in case of no use of service so where all tax money is going collected on behalf of tax department
of every country.
they claim they know danish law but i wish they know what is right what is wrong

they collect from every customer in case of no show the room rent and tax.
In world every body knows that tax is paid only when services are used.
so they collect tax assuring customer that they pay to tax department and they dont
pay. i am chasing from long time and now i have already collected the information from associates of hotels in case, if guest no show they charge room rent only to booking .com
So where is the money collected as tax ?

now my next steps is to contact tax departments in thw world.

they have done for me in shalimar hotel of sri lanka

i am holding all their emails.

so i request all, proper address and email of tax authorities of their respective countries to clarify the issue.

thanks and best regds
[email protected]

Sep 21, 2016 6:52 am

In August 2016 I've booked a room with for one night in Barcelona. I gave the hotel my credit card no without my CVM. Arrived there, this is not a hotel, is a room in an apartment in a block of flats. The room is small, two persons hardly fit inside, the bathroom is glued to the bed, the walls are thin and the noise from the other 5 (I think there were 5 or 7) rooms of the apartment can be heard easily. The room is far far away from what they showed on their Booking page. I said to the housekeeper I cannot sleep in such condition and that I cancel my booking due to the non adequate accommodation conditions. I cancel the booking online. sends me a message on my Android app saying the cancellation was done free of charge. I check my account and notice the hotel took 155 E from my account for this improper room where I did not sleep. I contact Booking and they blame the hotel. But the hotel did not have my card details. Only booking had them and my data are not registered and not available automatically. So, aside the fact Booking gave my card details to this ''apartment company'' without my agreement, they promote this hotel which is totally lying about what they offer and Booking is telling me they take no responsibility for the hotels advertising on their site.
Booking sustains the fraudulent policy of this ''hotel''. is aware of all this and does nothing. They told me they are only an interface of the hotel and they do not respond for what the hotel is advertising on their site. BUT THEY CHARGE THE COMMISSIONS SO THAT THEY ARE SERVICES PROVIDERS AND THEY SHOULD ANSWER FOR THEIR DEEDS. is an accomplice to this fraud.

Aug 10, 2016 12:34 pm

Yeah, it is bad. I want utilize them or Priceline again. I have a company and we book rooms for our team members when they are working out of town. Our team showed up at the hotel in Dallas and were turned away. Even though their ID matched they did not have the credit card with them. So the hotel turned them away and then we were charged for the rooms anyway because we did not cancel soon enough. What a laugh, they can charge the card for the rooms for not canceling in time, but they cant charge the card so the guys can get some sleep before they go back to the job the next day. Their customer service rep. was not concerned. I have owned my business for 20 years and would never think of turning away a customer and then charging them for the service that I denied them. What a racket!

Aug 09, 2016 1:01 am

I had same experience, I had been using for years and booked the hotels through it for US trip during July 2016 for almost 20 days as well. In May I ever booked the hotel of "SpringHill Suites by Marriott Las Vegas North Speedway" with check in on 19 Jul and check out 21 Jul, due to location concern i cancelled the reservation on 25 Jun 2016. However, it's quite interesting that the hotel of SpingHill charged the full fee usd300.16 on 20 Jul 2016. When i returned from US and called to booking customer service team, almost 10 days past, there still have not any conclusion. I will not use for the reservation in future as well.

Aug 02, 2016 8:51 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
hasn't the possibility to cancel/ refund a reservation/payment .
When people made a reservation to an hotel we must pay on spot. And we have no possibility to receive the pay back or simply the contacts to cancel the reservation and have the refund.

Not ethical at all!

Jul 10, 2016 6:20 am

I booked with them and was charged $13pp, per day for a breakfast that the hotel provides for free.


Learn how the rating is calculated

1176 complaints
122 resolved 1054 unresolved contacts

(added by reviewer)
Herengracht 597, Netherlands