SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Bluegreen Resortsgetting out of contract

1
C Review updated:

We were suckered into "purchasing" a weekend in Pigeon Forge, TN at Bass Pro Shops for 100.00 if we listened to a sales pitch one morning of our two day stay. First, the motel we stayed at was a dive in Pigeon Forge (guess that is so that their presentation and going thru their models look so much better)...then we spent not one, not two, but 4 plus hours listening to a sales pitch and ended up purchasing a 7000 point time...which we PAID IN FULL on that day to tune of over 10, 000.00. Then we were ushered into another office to sign more papers and be recorded. We immediately regretted the decision. We NEVER purchase things on impulse like this. We were under the impression that there was NO way that we could get out of this. We even paid part of our maintenance fees and then started getting bills, for maintenance. The fees far exceed what our points can even get us. There is NEVER anything available to use...and we were politely told by BlueGreen that we could sell our points and they gave us the name of a broker. That broker said our points were worthless unless we bought more. Yeah, right. So, Bluegreen ripped us off of over 10, 000.00 and now is threatening to turn us over to collection because we refuse to pay the maintenance (now over 1500.00) for something we have never even used nor want. I think they are a very slick operation of people that have attorney's that love to rip people off.

Responses

  • Lo
    Lord Mankinholes Jul 13, 2012

    just a small point but the MF for 2012 came to $635 for your 7000 points so if they are over $1500 then you must owe 2 yrs MF which would be $1270 with the rest in lat fees because you have not paid.

    Pay what you owe and do not put the burden of paying you MF onto happy owners

    Take responsibility for your own actions DO NOT blame somebody else

    Once you have paid your MF and your account is free then give your points away on eBay and since you only have a very small number of points you will also have to pay all the transfer cost . Transfer costs make it unrealistic to buy small point packages when you can get in excess of 30000 points for the same transfer cost

    Do this and you will be free

    -4 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandy Rk Mar 23, 2013

    Samething happen to us misleading in every way!!! They are even nice enough to read our contract to us after 4 plus hours!!! Yes we found we were stupid because we bought this crap!!! They are rip offs !! I will just ruin my credit before I pay another dime!!! Please tell me how I'm hurting other owners!!! If there so happy with this company they won't mind at all!! I two find it funny how they told us there company's so awesome if we didn't want it they would buy it back!! Epic fail!!! They are a bunch of liars!!! Look on eBay people have tried selling there's for one penny!!! No one wants it!!! So please tell me how much you love this company again and buy my points!!! Oh don't forget the follow up where your stuff is only good if you buy more!!! They put no stop to it !!! We didn't buy into the next line of crap!!! Seriously if you want to get blue green you can buy it for a penny!! Some people are trying to give it away!!! So no need to tell me how great your blue green is show me the money and you can have it!!! But why buy when so many are giving it away!!!

    4 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandy Rk Mar 23, 2013

    @ lord mankinholes people try giving it away you idiot!!! They can't lmao!!! Hey I could always get a job like yours and pretend to love something that is crap!!! There are even people who have been customers for years and complain about not getting a place!!! If only we knew what vacation we would like to take five years from now!!! Wait that's way to early to plan!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert McCurry Mar 30, 2013

    You would think that OUR GOVERNMENT would would have swindlers like this shut down.
    They are a rip off from day one.
    No different than Berny Madoff.
    When you try to make a reservation, the time is not available. if you chenk the motels, they have rooms available in catagories... MONEY (which is first) then timeshare or BLUGREEN which by the way is HIGH RED so you dont have enough points...
    People looking at this that is thinking about buying "DON'T DO IT"

    2 Votes
  • Km
    K M Scott Apr 06, 2013

    EVERYONE! Write the President, your U.S. Congresspeople, and the Attorney General’s Office! LIFETIME CONTRACTS SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED!!!

    Sign the petition at

    https://www.change.org/petitions/president-obama-u-s-congress-u-s-attorney-general-allow-timeshare-owners-to-get-out-of-their-lifetime-contracts#

    and post this to as many boards as you can!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dana Fryman Jul 23, 2014

    My maintenance fees keep getting higher every year. I can never get a booking and they don't answer your calls. What a rip-off. I will sign it over to anyone for a penny.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    SandyHatesBluegreen Feb 05, 2017

    Bluegreen told me they would buy back or help me sell if I ever changed my mind, "no problem." Trust me, it's a problem. Cannot sell, have paid companies to sell it and still not one single speck of interest. Tried to give it away, but don't want to scam my friends and family. Bluegreen is like the mob. They force you to pay them for protection from them (in the form of ruining your credit). That's all you get for your maintenance fees--they won't beat up your credit score. Are you seeing it now...very similar to the mob or any street gang...same principles, right? I can never get a reservation to any place I want to go. When I use points to schedule one weekend in a place I don't want to go (just because points expire...like a dozen eggs they apparently have to be kept fresh), it uses up my whole allotment of points. I'm paying nearly 1, 000 per year for a weekend in a place I don't want to go just to avoid "wasting" points or having the "expire." This year, my nephew died on the day that I was supposed to check in. I called to explain the death in the family and was told, "That's too bad. There is nothing we can do." Didn't even offer condolences for the sudden death of my young nephew. Bluegreen could not have cared less or been any more callous toward me. The mob. They are operating on the same principles as the mob.

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    TravisT Feb 01, 2018

    @SandyHatesBluegreen Well it looks like you were told the same thing as we were. I don't know why we don't all get into contact with each other and file a lawsuit if we were all told that they would buy back out memberships and they would help sell then we were lied to. I was also told that since its like real-estate that it will go up in value and that is why they would buy it back. This is a lie. 10, 000 points a year back in 2005 was a lot now its nothing .

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SalinaB Dec 06, 2018

    @TravisT Sounds as if we should all open a class action suit!

    2 Votes
  • Su
    Susan OB Nov 19, 2017

    This is all true. Do not buy. You are told you can sell it later or. Luegreen will take it back. This is not true. Now that people are finding out about this scam, Bluegreen needs to Really take back property for people who have owned at least 15 years. They made double the money off us and we should have the opportunity to leave. No one will buy in the future with the truth coming out so Bluegreen change your ways.

    1 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy withers Dec 10, 2017

    This is by far the worst contract I've signed. Every time I try and book my vacation using my points the tell me they are all booked up. So I choose other cities. Once again I get rejected. This has been going on for 5 years. Yes maitence fees for what. I pay mortgage on a place I have no idea where or what it is. I call and ask and they will not answer me. They lie and tell you we are going to make your vacation the best one. So they transfer you to the lairs that are suppose to make your reservations only to get told sooty every thing is booked up.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    SalinaB Dec 06, 2018

    @Cindy withers Are you still paying maintenance fees

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SalinaB Dec 06, 2018

    This company is a total total scam! If you have read the comments prior to mine, all the reviews are very accurate and true. Please save yourself the headache and money

    1 Votes

Post your comment