Bluegreen Corporationlies and deceptive sales practices

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Numbered statements are quotes straight out of Blueturds membership module word for word followed by the experience my family and I have had with Blueturd.

Twenty lies and deceptive messaging straight word for word from Bluegreens membership module. These can be used when consulting an attorney. This is in violation of the Lanham Act of 1946.

1. There are more than 35 Bluegreen resorts to explore.

Bluegreens gives potential purchasers the impression that it owns thirty-five or more resorts in which club members can chose from. But through attempting to secure vacation reservation in Alabama we were told that Bluegreen does not own resorts in Alabama but only has an interest in them. The sales module list thirty-six resorts individually with a 2-3 page description. Judging by a small indicator in the lower right hand corner of some of the resort descriptor pages it states ?A Bluegreen Vacation Club Resort.? Of the thirty-six descriptor pages listed fourteen has this indicator. So in my opinion, at the time of this module publication Bluegreen in reality owned fourteen resorts, not more than thirty-five.

2. In the meantime, you and your guest will have wonderful vacations at your choice of Bluegreen Vacation Club Resorts-because as a Club owner, you can create your own vacation, tailor made to your unique preferences.

It sounds and reads well but my family cannot have any kind of satisfactory vacation when someone else chooses where and when we spend our vacation time. Our choices were rejected four times, two rejections in Alabama and two in Florida. In our experience thus far with Bluegreen it works in this manner. We can choose a particular location where we would like to visit but not when we can visit. Or we can choose a particular date of which we can visit but not choose where to visit at that time. We have found that it is impossible to create your own vacation, tailor made to your unique preferences through Bluegreen program. We can choose when but not where or where but not when.

3. We believed if we just gave people the facts about what we were offering, success was inevitable. We were right.

How on earth does one address this claim? Through our experience with Bluegreen they are in fact very fact challenged. We did not discover the true facts of Bluegreens program until our initial attempt to utilize our membership. This was a full year beyond out purchase date and well beyond ridiculous ten day recessionary period of which you may reclaim your money for dissatisfactory service. It takes Bluegreen forty-five days just to process your paperwork. Nice timing on the part of Bluegreen and definitely in their favor.

4. We took the same approach we had back in the late sixties: be honest and deliver a great product.

Again how does one address such a statement? Bluegreen has been nothing but dishonest with us from the time we were approached on the streets of Gatlinberg and talked into this scam. We have received no product or service from Bluegreen and from our experience so far with Bluegreen we never will. We have however discovered that we have received much misrepresentation of facts and much withholding of important information by Bluegreen sales representatives in order in an obvious attempt to secure revenue for the company by whatever means deemed necessary at the time right or wrong.

5. When you're an owner in the Bluegreen Vacation Club (?the Club?) you can go anywhere within the Club network without paying an exchange fee.

This statement does have some truth to it. My family and I can go anywhere within the Bluegreen network but what we are finding out is going where and when we want is basically impossible. We can decide where without when or when without where. We can't apply both for one vacation. If we choose where and when to vacation we will have to go outside of the program and pay all of our own expenses plus Bluegreens maintenance fees and membership dues of which they are very adamant about receiving.

6. You can choose the size of accommodations that suit you.

This has some truth but it is a worthless option when incorporated with the fact we can't use it when and where of our choosing.

7. Flexible accommodations mean, when you want to you can travel with family and friends. Travel when you want to.

This has some truth to it, but if Bluegreen had been honest and not withholding pertinent information, a continuation of the statement would have read something like;
Flexible accommodations mean, when you want to you can travel with family and friends, but Bluegreen representatives will choose a resort location or the date for you.

8. For one thing, unlike most vacation ownership programs, you're not limited to specific vacation time at a specific resort. You've purchased ?Points? that can be used at any Bluegreen Vacation Club Resort.

Here again our experience with Bluegreen is if my family and I have a specific date in which to travel our choice of locations are very, very limited through Bluegreens Vacation Club Program. If we have a specific location we would like to travel the dates available to us are very, very limited or non-existent.

The following is probably one of Bluegreens best and most misleading statements used in the module and by sales representatives.

9. Going where and when you want can be as simple as picking up the phone and calling our Owner Reservation department at 800-456-CLUB (2582).

Going where and when is very complicated. Going where and when has turned out to be impossible for us through Bluegreen vacation program.

10. Essentially, you purchased a certain number of Points that are tied to deeded ownership. This means you own your vacation just like you own a house or a car.

Like you own a house or a car? No one drives or enters any of my vehicles unless I am asked first, unless of course they steal it. No one enters my house or stays in my house unless my wife or I first grant permission. Unless of course they break in or forcible drive us out. How can they claim that we own our vacation when we have little input on where and when it is used? If my family and I owned our vacation as described by Bluegreen in this statement my family and I would be staying at the Shoreline Towers resort in Gulf Shores, Alabama in June or July of 2007. We may own title to something for over fifteen thousand dollars spent on Bluegreens Vacation Club but we have little input in how we can use it.

11. Simply call and we'll roll out the red carpet.

At this point I just added this to humor myself as it is such a bizarre statement. I am not sure how they arrived or how they see their definition of ?roll out the red carpet,? but it doesn't match with any definitions of roll out the red carpet that we know of. It's more like ?we'll pull the carpet out from under you? or ?we'll pull the wool carpet over your eyes.?

12. Even though your Points are tied to a specific unit-week, you can use them to stay at any resort in the Bluegreen Vacation Club.

In our experience with Bluegreen thus far we are being allowed to use our points where, when and if at the discretion of a Bluegreen representative. I would rate our, ?stay at any resort in the Bluegreen Vacation Club? option as non-existent to extremely limited at best.

13. You can spend your Point balance any way you want.

I have a balance of fourteen thousand points. This should be equal to about two weeks of vacation time through Bluegreens program. Any way we want to me again would mean my family and I would be staying at the Shoreline Towers in Gulf Shores, Alabama in June or July of 2007. In reality Bluegreen makes the decision as to where we go or when we go. We have no choice.

14. Throughout the year, you can use your Points as you see fit.

Again if I were able to use my points as I see fit throughout the year, my family and I would be staying at the Shoreline Towers in Gulf Shores, Alabama in June or July of 2007. Our decision as to how we use our points is extremely limited to non-existent. Bluegreen dictates how we can use our points.

15. Remember that all reservations are made on a space-available basis, so it pays to think ahead.

We did think ahead. We attempted to reserve accommodations at four resorts along the southern coast of Alabama and Florida. We attempted to reserve accommodations using the maximum allowable time by Bluegreens rules of eleven months. We were turned down which led me to believe that these accommodations would never be available or were being saved in some way for possibly a more elite cliental under Bluegreens standards.

16. One of the best things about Bluegreen vacation club is that you'll never have to pay for resort accommodations again-your vacation is already paid for.

I will never have to pay for resort accommodations again only if I participate in the vacation club program which means a Bluegreen representatives choose where and when my family and I go for vacation. Otherwise we pay all of our own expenses and go where and when we want but still pay Bluegreen around six-hundred dollars annually for maintenance fess, taxes and membership dues. They are very adamant about getting their fees even though they don't feel in any way obligated to fulfill what they claim to have offered in their sales presentations.

17. Finally, it makes sense to own a vacation-just like you would a home or car.

Since this is a redundant statement it must be one of Bluegreens cherished axioms they like to repeat. It is also a ridiculous statement if you think about it. Using this analogy if Bluegreen were a automobile dealership and one purchased a vehicle from them each time before you drove that vehicle you would have to contact them to gat permission where and when you could drive it. Or if they were a realtor that sold you a home you would have to contact them to see when you could stay in it or who could stay in it.

18. Your Maintenance Fees are also used to pay property tax.

When we are billed for maintenance fees one line is described as maintenance fees. Below that line a description and additional charge of R.E. taxes. This in all likelihood is property tax. Which as stated by Bluegreen is supposedly paid from maintenance fees.
In discussing this issue with realtors in my area the way this statement is leads to the possibility of Bluegreen or some of the resorts they claim to own may somehow be double charging on taxes or passing a tax on to consumers that shouldn't be passed on. This needs some deep and serious examination and may need involvement from the IRS.

19. Part of the vacation experience is making it fun and easy to be an owner.

Fun and easy couldn't be further from the truth. For my family and me dealing with Bluegreen has been nothing but an unending nightmare.

And finally;

20. If an owner calls with a problem, it is tracked until the matter is resolved.

I have been through the BBB (a waste of time), phoned, e-mailed and left messages to a variety of Bluegreen offices. I have gotten everything from construction problems, we are unaware of the specific of the matter, you signed these papers, and we've done nothing wrong and so on. From my own experience thus far in dealing with Bluegreen on this issue I have come to this conclusion. If a conflict can't be resolved in a manner that is in the best interest of Bluegreen they will refuse to talk. Right now I am being ignored by Bluegreen. They likely are taking the stance that in time the problem will go away. If one pushes the issue Bluegreen their recourse is to wave legal documents that have been signed by Vacation Club purchasers. To them this is conclusive to conflict resolution. This should be no protection for Bluegreen due to the fact purchaser's sign under false pretenses and verbal and literal communications are littered with an array of lies, deception, misrepresentation and a practice of sales representatives withholding very important information.

Responses

  • Dy
    dynasty Oct 07, 2007

    You might be advised to complain to Bass Pro Shop about your complaints. They do receive a great deal of money by having their booths in the Bass Pro Shops. If you tell them you are going to boycott them, they may refuse to allow their booths there.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin G. Nov 26, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You are off on some crazy tangent buddy. I own with bluegreen and I go where I want when I want. Maybe you should spend a little more time pre planning your vacations and a little less time writing long, drawn out, poorly spelled complaints about your "mistreatment". Oh by the way last year when I took my family to Shoreline Towers in AL during the second week of August it was one of the best and most relaxing times I have ever had. Some people alway try to ice skate up hills.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cannonmom Nov 26, 2007

    We bought into Bluegreen, had great credit for being 21 and 25. Everytime we tried to go somewhere, there wasn't anything available. We were pressured into buying it. I called and talked to a lady in Branson and told her my situation and she said she would try and get me out of the agreement. I received the best phone call in my life a few weeks later stating that we would be able to get out of our agreement, with no refund (which we never asked for) and that it wouldn't affect our credit. We tried to get a home loan to get a house since our family had since grown and where told that our credit score was to low. I called the Branson office and the lady had retired and they gave me the number for Corporate. I talked to a guy named Jamie. Told him we just wanted out of the contract and explained what went on. He said they never make deals like that and that I had been lied to. We continually tried to get out of the contract since we have paid thousands and never have went on a vacation. He said if we paid up to date they would fix our credit and that we couldn't get out the contract. I paid them a thousand dollars and they started taking money out monthly. They stopped taking the money out in May, I haven't seen any withdrawals and our credit was never fixed. Our credit scores of above 700 are now 560. We were aware of the maintenance fees but weren't aware of the yearly fee. I am sure it is all written in the fine print though. We were shown something that wasn't true.

    1 Votes
  • Pm
    P. Morgan Feb 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Blue Green is a joke , they promise you the moon deliver nothing. There nothing but liers. We were told when we bought that this was a investment to earn us money if we chose not to vacation. They would happily rent our points out for us how soon they changed that policy. Well you know that is against the law to say that When you have a time share license and they do say that. We went to a meeting not long ago just to get updated Well heard the same old crap wanting us to buy more points. You know I asked the sales person alot of questions this time that she kinda could not answer duh. And I took a tape recorder and recorded all the bull that was told to me. Blue Green will not be in business very long with this non ethical business practice. I think we all need to stick together take this joke (not a business) down. I cant believe Bass Pro Shop would put there name on something like this, I would never shop there either, It would be my luck to buy a boat from there put it in the water and sink in 3 minutes and then they tell me I did not put the boat in the water at the right time. I would love to hear from other people like me that had a moment and now is paying for it.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Linda McLean Mar 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Two years ago on vacation, my sister & I were duped into this and are so sorry we ever listened to these people. The part about maintainence fees is near the bottom of the 11th page of paper work so of course you are tired of reading by then and they just sluff on by it. It keeps going up and we have never been anywhere and used our membership because the points we have are not enough to do anything. We are both retired and would love to know if anyone knows how to get out of this. We really would come out better just saving our money for short vacations. We have done nothing but help these guys get rich.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dalia Chauveau May 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am still hitting myself for getting caught in this ripoff artist scheme. It is a nightmare. I lost 18000$ in this and don't use it (can't) my holidays are the same dates as everybody else's.. And now I still have to pay 1000$ yearly for all the club fees for nothing..and I was charged 400$ late fees, collection fees because I didn't within 4 months. I don't want to pay another dime for this and I am stuck because you can't sell the points (lies they told us they would buy them back whenever we wanted ). The points are worthless and we have to keep paying, I am furious and these people are crooks and they are still in business it is appalling. I am canadian, and in Canada they would be out of business already. Please let me know if there is any action I can take to stop paying and to stop these people..thanks,
    Dalia

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Singingsister Jun 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a Blue Green Owner and this complaints describes what my family has been through with with. Somone please tell me what I need to do in order to get out from under this nightmare. At this point, I don't want to pay them another dime, but I also do not want my credit report messed up either. What recourse does a consumer have. I would really like to correspond with the person who wrote this email. Please have them to contact me if possible at the above email address.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nasvhille TN Jul 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We just got back from Gatlinburg, and a 3 and a half hour Bluegreen Tour. This is the third and last time I'll waist my time listening to timeshare thieves. We were chosen out of the group for a special film presentation, and then after visiting a unit, we still had to sit at the dinky table with 50 other people crammed in the room shouting their sales pitch. I think they did a credit check when we first arrived, and decided to pounce on us. The joker who tried to sell us, was a dead give away. First off, during our conversation, he said his kids were devils, and his Mother In-law isn't allowed to come over to his house. Basically he is a real loser of a father and husband. I love my kids and will never keep their grandmother away. His wife sells for Fairfield and he claimed she hates working there and that Bluegreen is much better. So I ask him, is she being honest with people she sells to by not letting them compare Fairfield to Bluegreen? (You cant leave, go home and think about it and come back even the next day. It's buy it know or never!) He had no answer for that.

    Finally after giving him hours of uninterrupted sales pitching, I gave him this scenario. I see a great house for sale but there's no price listed. The neighbor tells me he owns one like it and loves his, but you have to sit through a 90 minute talk to find out the details. I say O.K. and make an appointment. After finding out the price I want to go home and think about it, and shop around. Is that asking to much? (No it shouldn't be)

    So while at Bluegreen during the 90 minute (about 200 minutes in) presentation I explain that I would never buy property without a legal representative looking it over to protect me. He tells me that because I've already done the "inspection" today, the great deal they've offered will be gone if I don't buy today. He then calls over the "sales manager" and he offers us a reduced package. Instead of $30K it's now only $20K. I kind of chuckled to myself. Then he went away and after talking to someone in a "back room" he offered us a package for $11, 700. And then they offered us the Trial package. Which is basically give us a $1, 000 and we'll give you nothing. Pay for a full year, but the first 60 days are not available during porcessing, and June through August are blocked out. To make a long story short, he said, "What is keeping you from securing a lifetime of great vacations and savings for YOUR FAMILY". I said, "Its just that you won't let me have the time to read the fine print and look it over myself. I can't make a decision like this in this short amount of time with no professional advice." His final words were, "YOU ARE MAKING A DECISION TO NOT GIVE YOUR FAMILY the vacation they deserve." That's when he convinced me of what a total ### he is.

    The good news is that we weren't ripped off by them, and the number we gave him, after he begged for something from us, was bogus. I also told him I wouldn't be comfortable giving out friends names and numbers, in order to snare them and pay for my membership fees. The "do not call" has all but eliminated their telemarketing so they ask you for names and numbers. He said it doesn't matter if your even know the people, "just look up name and numbers in the phone book, and give them to us." So its a bonus package, you get thousands of vacation points you cant' use, and you become a secret telemarketer.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melissa Aug 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow--am I glad I dodged this bullet! We attended a Bluegreen presentation last week in Myrtle Beach, admittedly to get free passes for us and our kids to the new Hard Rock theme park. I was actually interested in what the program had to offer, but we refused to make such a decision in one day, as dictated by Bluegreen's high pressure sales tactics. So we took our freebies and ran--call us mooches, but it looks like we made the right choice. Now that I'm home doing research, I have found numerous complaints like this one all over the web. I am so sorry about those of you who were roped in. I wish you all the best.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Aug 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My experiences with Bluegreen Vacation Ownership have been more than wonderful for almost 6 years. My family would never have been able to afford such luxurious accommodations without our membership. We had been on many other such presentations with many big name resorts, Fairfield, Sunterra, Diamond, Wyndam, all with high pressure and big $$. The folks we dealt with at Bluegreen Big Cedar Lodge were more than professional, fun, and friendly. We bought in and never have regretted it. So far we have been to Gatlinburg, Daytona Beach, Myrtle Beach, Hawaii, Big Sky Montana, and Branson 5 times. We always get more value for our dollar every year. No problems going when we want to go. I think Bass Pro has a large stake in all this and they are one of best retailers we have ever shopped. From my own print shop business, I know there are some people you can never please no matter WHAT you do for them. We have referred all of our extended family, friends, church associates and professional contacts to Bluegreen. They all thank us continually.

    -1 Votes
  • Cr
    Crystal Aug 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    my friend Donna first told me about Bluegreen and my husband and I bought a getaway from our local Bass Pro Shop in Memphis. We used it, loved what we saw and immediately joined in the vacation club. That was either in 2002 or 2003 and we love the flexibility, all the choices of use and have never experienced any of the problems listed on this site. When Donna told me about the complaints I had to log on, I guess for curiosity sake, but I do know that there are thousands of members now all over the country. We have just returned from the Fountains, the Bluegreen resort in Orlando, and it was unusally impressive. Every year the ownership benefits get better and better. It is hard to believe that some people can be treated so differently ? sure makes you wonder where they are coming from. I would encourage everyone to see for themselves. If you work or have ever worked in a service oriented industry, you understand that some will never be satisfied. I checked with the TN BBB this morning, and they list Bluegreen with an AAA rating.

    -2 Votes
  • Da
    Danno Aug 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife and I retired 5 years ago and while on our first RV trip, we were offered a 2 night stay at a Bluegreen resort to view their properties. We became members and I can tell you that we take advantage of all the resorts available. We have 2 left to visit, have stayed at 33 different ones to date. Each point covered by the original complaintant are unfounded based on our personal experience. They DO roll out the red carpet, we do have much flexability, and go anytime we want. The only challenge we had was trying to book during the 4th of July, last minute. We didn't expect to get in, so we were not disappointed, but they did accomodate us on July 6 that year. Perfectly understandable. We plan in advance now if we need to arrive on a holiday. I won't go through each point like the earlier poster did, but I did want to say that we love our membership, and would do it all over again. Our membership is for LIFE and well worth it. Our kids will enjoy it long after we are gone.

    -2 Votes
  • Fr
    Frances Graff-Welch Oct 01, 2008

    I would definitely like to get out of my contract with Bluegreen.
    One of the first questions I asked was: Will I ever have any trouble making reservations in San Diego at the place of my choice, and I was told no, as long as I make the reservations within a 48 hour notice. I called yesterday Sept. 30, 2008 to make reservations for next May, and was told there is nothing available, and that anytime I want to make a reservation, it would have to be one and one half years in advance in order to get anything available. WHAT. This is not what I was told by the two men at Big Cedar in Branson where I purchased this contract. So what good is a timeshare if you cannot use it, and who has $22, 193.42 to spend on nothing. I am a nurses aid and only make 14.00 an hour. I also am 66 years old now and retired this year in January thinking I was going to have a very nice retirement. I want to sell my timeshare NOW and never get involved in anything like this again. If you want to sell your timeshare I was given a number to call which I am going to call today. 1-800-458-5632 . If any of you want to write me about this my e-mail address is: [email protected] I live in Massachusetts and go and visit my grandchildren every year, and we went to Branson this year and was interviewed at Big Cedar where we stayed for the weekend. I was told that this contract had just come up at a very reasonable price, with 15, 000 points. After reading some of these complaints, I was sold a contract that cost more then most people are paying. Odd that there are different prices on each one. And the interest rate is 15% . That should be called usary. There are laws against this.
    Frances Graff-Welch

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lord Mankinholes Oct 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Frances,
    Bluegreen do not have a resort in San Diego. Why did you buy from a company that does not own in the area you want to go ?
    That was sheer madness, every year you would have to pay an exchange fee to RCI

    0 Votes
  • Po
    Ponchatoula resident Oct 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bluegreen tries to tell you that you don't care for your family if you don't purchase this wonderful opportunity. We knew we were not going to buy a timeshare, but honestly listened to the spill. Right, it is not 90 minutes, more like 180. After asking questions (who wouldn't), told the salesman that we do not make on the spot decisions, and would decline. The salesman went from nice to almost yelling, "you mean you would put a price on your family's happiness?" I was furious. After being thrown several more offers, which we kept refusing, The salesman said "Go get your free stuff and leave!" Beware of staff at Mountain Loft!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RobinAnn Collins Nov 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Do you know why Bluegreen has a AAA rating with the BBB? It is because they have paid a hefty price for the endorsement- that is why! Why does everyone think the BBB is the end all beat all in the consumer world?
    That assumption is just WRONG!!
    The ratings supplied by the BBB depend on the amount of $$ the company in question is willing to pay and has absolutely NOTHING to do with their outstanding customer service. Like I said, the companies have paid dearly for the BBB's seal of approval.

    Nothing more.

    Personally, I think that it is wrong when consumers look to them for peace of mind when making a purchase and they basically get nothing in return.
    If a company pays their dues to the BBB on time, then, yes they will show a AAA rating with the BBB.

    If you are unhappy with your purchase you can file a complaint form with your local Attorney General. Every state has an AG with a website. Or you may also go to :

    bluegreenlawsuit.com

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    biddybo Nov 08, 2008

    Hey Folks,
    For a little in-sight just look at the ratio of horrified consumers to pleased ones. There is no comparison!! And it's not that they don't know how to use their points, it's that they don't have enough points and probably can't afford to buy anymore! What with the maintainence fees and the dues and on top of that the payment- WHO WOULD??

    I think that Blueturd has taken enough from all of you people and it's time that they were STOPPED. NOW, only you can do this people. Do as the people in PA did.
    Pretty soon- they will go BANKRUPT and noone will have to pay out any of the money that they were scammed out of!
    Did you know that all of you people pay the CEO of this company 1.6 MILLION $$$ yearly. Talk about being taken advantage of- geezzz people wake up and smell the stench that is Blueturd.

    I SAY WE ALL BANKRUPT THEM AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. Every dog has it's day- It's now time to pay for all of your evils Blueturd.
    YOUR DAYS ARE NUMBERED BLUEGREEN-ENJOY IT WHILE IT LASTS!!

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    biddybo Nov 08, 2008

    One more thing I forgot to mention,

    While your waiting for the Bankruptcy to kick in, I say we all go( and tell every single person we can find to go ) and listen to their stupid, lying, crappy presentation and take as many free gifts as you can get your hands on. If you sound like you are even slightly interested or if you appear to be wealthy enough, they will promise you way more gifts for attending.
    Make them pay for your hotel, your dinner, your gas etc.. etc.. Then when you get there- show them a big stack of complaints that you printed out from this website and /link removed/ Ask what their opinion is of them all?? Talk loudly enough so that the entire room will hear you. Make a fuss - go ahead, you've earned it!!
    They will be so anxious to get you out of there you won't last 10 minutes. There you go, free gift cards, free hotel, etc..

    BEAT THEM AT THEIR OWN GAME- But before you leave give them some names of people who most probably would be interested (NOT) And send them over to do the same thing.

    Lies, deception, bullying is their strongsuit. NOW YOU CAN MAKE IT YOURS TOO.
    Play by their rules. It won't get you any of the money back that you've lost but it sure does make for an interesting, profitable evening.

    Plus, it gives you something to do while you're waiting for the bankruptcy to kick in!!

    And while you're laying in your hotel bed that evening, courtesy of Blueturd, you can have a good laugh at their expense.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    RobinAnn Collins Nov 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You Go Girl!!
    I couldn't have said it better myself!!
    You're a HOOT!!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    billy Nov 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Me thinks that Bobbie and Robinann be the same person

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RobinAnn Collins Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bite me, ###.

    -1 Votes
  • Bi
    biddybo Nov 12, 2008

    Bite me, ###!!

    -1 Votes
  • Ro
    RobinAnn Collins Nov 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    me thinks you ###.

    -1 Votes
  • Rl
    RLB Nov 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have to wonder what these people were doing during the presentation. It was clearly stated verbally and in writing that there are annual maintenance fee's and club dues. So far we have been thrilled with our purchase.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Mar 11, 2009

    I have been a Bluegreen owner for several years. The first year, my wife and I tried to make Spring Break reservations in Florida three weeks before Spring Break. We were upset when everything was booked. WE were the ones that did not think things through. It was certainly not Bluegreen's fault. The following year, we took the kids to Charleston, SC. After that, we went to Orlando twice.
    Do I think the maintenance fees and dues are fair? Not really - I think they are high. But, the accommodations we have always had are far and away better than if we had stayed at a motel! Do I enjoy the "annual member update meetings"? Not especially. They always try to sell us more. We are already Silver members. We do not need any more. But, we have learned to say no.

    I think Bobbie/Robinann needs to grow up. Name-calling is just infantile, and accomplishes nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    former employee Mar 22, 2009

    As a former employee of Bluegreen, I have to agree that their salespeople are ###. If you have a complaint, call the corporate offices at 561-912-8000 and ask for the legal department.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Judy S. Mar 25, 2009

    I bebame a Bluegreen member in 2005. Went to the meeting, they talked me into buying, didn't know exactly what is was getting into, but I could go on vacation (out of Michigan) somewhere warm... after being able to go to a resort here in Michigan twice. Boyne Mountain, the maintenance fees were getting harder to pay and the yearly clubs dues were outrageous. I got behind. $1, 661.00. I'm thinking, I can't afford these fees and I really haven't been out of Michigan to vacation. I think I'll sell my Timeshare. I put $17, 000.00 into it, I'll just pay the dues out of the sell. Well I contacted a Timeshare seller. He wanted $ to sell it (advertizing). I never did get that going (for some reason) I just contacted Bluegreen this week letting them know that I was trying to sell my timeshare and that I would pay the fees and dues when I sold it. They responded by saying, my account has been terminated. I no longer own my Timeshare and I am no longer a member of their club! What about my $17, 000.00 that I paid and they're crying over $1, 661.00???? Yes Bluegreen IS a ripoff and a scam. I like the comment about getting people to go to a meeting, taking the gifts and then showing them all the complaints about their company. What a Hoot! They have not heard the last of me yet. When I set my mind on taking care of something I don't stop til I GET ER DONE. By Judy

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet_J Aug 05, 2009

    I think timeshare/vacation clubs etc CAN work for certain people. Honestly, if you don't ask questions and don't bother to give them even an inkling of interest in what they have to offer than they won't have an opening to pursue. If you truly don't want timeshare then don't ask ANY questions. It's about just saying no. But if you give them even a small opening OF COURSE they are going to try and sell and pitch their ### off...why? because that's their JOB.

    They make their living from sales so it'd be stupid not to try and sell to people even if they only show the smallest amount of interest. Yes questions do count as interest. Besides, if time share won't work for you and if you DON'T want it. Don't invest. Easy as that. No one grabs your wallet/pocketbook and forces a credit card off out of it. YOU pull it out YOU fill out the paper work. I say if i was making a THOUSAND dollar investment I'd take my time. By law they must disclose the "fine print" if you don't bother to read it or understand it and asks relevant questions about it when you sign up then you are at blame as well as the sales person.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    newlyweds102909 Nov 01, 2009

    Yep! We about got suckered into this one. My husband actually stopped and talked to reps after breakfast at the Woodgrill Buffet in Pigeon Forge. He's not gullable, he just wanted the coupons and free gift. But I could have really kicked his butt when he handed over a $20 deposit to hold our spot for the presentation! Who asks for money for you to see their product? Scammers, that's who. I was the one coaching him in the car before going in to the presentation that "should last about 90-120 minutes." Well, after more than 150 minutes later, walking around with some poor salesman telling us sad stories about his disability (I'm sure there was some strategic planning on their parts for that one - young couple, bleeding hearts), we finally got ourselves out of there. Couldn't have been soon enough because they almost had ME, the biggest skeptic in the world. I was all for it. The presentation was entertaining, and I was looking forward to all the great vacations we could start spending together.

    Thank God they they were asking for an absolutely ridiculous down-payment of $2700! I had been to a Uniway presentation in my early twenties, so I was already kind of expecting something like this. But had it been something more affordable on our budget, we would have been one of the sad souls buying in to it. Then, because of my Uniway experience, I expected them to pull out the financing application after we told them we didn't have that kind of money to put down. So basically, had we applied for financing (which we didn't), we would be making payments to BlueGreen for the down-payment ON TOP OF the payments for the points (plus any other fees we didn't really investigate). I'm glad my husband and I learned from our financial mistakes we made in our twenties and finally snapped out of their "dream vacation world" before it was too late. Too bad I'll never get those 2.5+ hours back in my life. I am surprised we got our $20 back...well, it's a check we haven't tried to deposit yet. And I'm glad they upheld their end of the deal, giving us a sweet $75 visa gift card...but then again, we haven't tried to use it yet.

    Geez, I really think this crap should be illegal. I think Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge should protect their patrons and start banning these vultures. THEY'RE EVERYWHERE! BEWARE!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cakz Dec 10, 2009

    If you don't want a timeshare, don't attend a timeshare presentation! You fault the salespeople, but take no blame in trying to get something for nothing...Who's scammimg whom?

    0 Votes
  • Da
    day tripper Feb 08, 2010

    They are absolute scam artists in the purest form. I have been part of the organization for over 10 years and I was given the speech about when you are ready to sell we will buy it back. That was a line of crap like everything else, I have been trying to get rid of my timeshare for a couple of years now and no luck.

    I told one of the managers at a meeting in Gatlinburg that I was willing to just be happy and get my money back ($20, 000) for my 16, 000 points and you can turn around and resell those points at a huge profit. Wouldn't it make good business sense to to that, his answer was they are not in the business to buy back points. We are now basically forced to use our time that we are paying for. The governments should be stepping in a dealing with these scams becuase it is obvious the BBB isn't doing anything to protect the consumer.

    They are a joke and the establishments that allow them to use their space should be told about the kind of corporation they are and they should be boycotted.

    0 Votes
  • I0
    I'll never tell Feb 15, 2010

    Here's the deal...each and everyone of you that ended up buying a timeshare and is now all ticked off because I can't use it because of this or that or the maintainance fees or club dues...TAKE A LOOK IN THE MIRROR !! most of you were trying to get something for FREE WHEN THEY (the marketing company) CONTACTED YOU ON THE STREET, OR IN THE RESTAURANT OR ON THE BEACH. ultimately, YOU were thinking how slick you're gonna be and get everything for free..and I'll make sure and take or relatives and friends so they can get FREE stuff (and fed)...well GUESS WHAT ? You ran into a SALESPERSON !! I'm sorry, they did unto you what you were going to do to them in the first place...now shut up and take a vacation

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shu Mar 30, 2010

    I find it laughable that Bluegreen sales concubines like "I'll never tell" (rest assured he/she won't) waste their time here trying to run down all these people that are desparate to save you from the Bluegreen nightmare...AND IT IS a nightmare.

    Please, listen to DAY TRIPPER, NEWLYWEDS, FORMER EMPLOYEE, AND JUDY S.

    Bluegreen is a nest of vipers looking to steal your hard earned money with legal "got-cha"s like "Subject to Availablility", and "we are not responsible for representations made by our sales staff".

    Bluegreen employees are nothing less than ###, and human trash...every last one.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jaysings1978 Apr 08, 2010

    I need some advise from someone who has tackled bluegreen's deceptive ways and won. My wife and I were talked into upgrading our package and promised that they would rent it for us through the year to basically pay for the upgrade. Once we paid $8, 000.00 more out of pocket and then stuck with a $350.00 payment we quickly watched bluegreen back out on the deal to rent it for us. The guy who sold us the deal within 2 months no longer worked there. bluegreen put a $14, 000 lien against us when after 6 months of me trying to get them to let us go back down in package because we couldn't afford the payment without help in renting it, we finally just cut the rope and figured it was a very, very expensive lesson. Well, now as we try to re-finance we are staring at a lien from 8 years ago. Can anyone give me some help on what to do? Jay email me at: [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mb
    mbeth3000 Apr 14, 2010

    I was told the same thing! That the Timeshare was a Real Estate Deed and that it was increase in value! 5 years later, I am still paying for the thing, never used it because I am not allowed to until the HOA's are caught up, and (which btw if you don't pay you can't sell your propert to pay for the HOA's) - now I find out that becuase I own real estate (shocker to me! I thought time shares were a vacation club) if I had written off the interest from the mortage on my taxes, I would NOT be eligible for the first time home buyers's Tax Credit of $8, 000!

    PEOPLE DON"T BUY A TIME SHARE!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shu Apr 15, 2010

    HAHAHA...WHAT A LOAD OF CRAP!!!

    These BG lovers are BLUEGREEN EMPLOYEES!!!

    Why...WHY! if you are so in love with your bluegreen package would you be here at Complaintsboard.com????

    You wouldn't. These puss trolls are Bluegreen minions that come here to post rebuttals to LEGITIMATE complaints. Bluegreen does that crap on EVERY complaint web site. That YAHOO site they advertise is nothing more than a den for these snakes to steer consumers to buying more points. "Upgrade to gold...that's what you need to do..." WHAT A BUNCH OF ###!!!

    Bluegreen will tell you you'll get lots of wonderful vacations at lots of wonderful resorts then, after they've got you roped in tell you "We're sorry...you signed the contract and initialed on line so and so that you understand its all SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY"

    Liars and Thieves. There is a special place in hell for these septic dwellers.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shu May 19, 2010

    Well...I discovered the deal with these Bluegreen cheerleaders.
    Ever wondered why someone would come to a consumer complaints site and cheer on the bad guys, the rip off artists, scamsters, crooks and thieves (Bluegreen). I just didn't get it...until I did some research. These guys are paid "REPUTATION DEFENDERS". Companies pay these dirt bags to scour the internet and DEFEND thier practices.
    Proof: Google the following words "reputation defense".

    [censor] working for [censor].

    0 Votes
  • Sq
    SQIRMY Jun 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So your headed to Big Cedar. Well let me entice you with this fantastic view of construction. 4/ 2010 The B.S. has gotton so deep they had to refund my entire trip. The V.I.P. services actually told me that if I did not care for construction I should sell my timeshare. And as if this wasn't the most ridiculous thing I had to listen too the office manager actually stuck his tongue out twice like a little kid to try and taunt me. This entire organization is a Scam filled with one excuse after another. I wish for some sort of solution as to what if any tactics I can retaliate with. I want legal chaos to reign down on this business. Running away would be too easy. I hate bad business and this bluegreen/ Big cedar and any business affiliated must be accountable. I also have video that shows construction from 6:30 am To 6pm Thanks to all that have taken the time to speak out.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Get Even Jun 06, 2010

    GET EVEN

    I too feel ripped off and unable to sell. I have a feeling Bluegreen, Pinnacle Realty and Pinnacle Recovery are all the same. So instead of beating my head against the wall EVERYONE should try this; Since it is impossible to sell, Why not everyone who feels ripped off, as a gester of reward for good behavior send parolees and recovering drug addicts on vacation to you favorite Bluegreen resort! See if that gets their attention!

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thrilled2death Mar 11, 2011

    I was RIPED OFF by BLUEGREEN in 2007 They promised everything, gave nothing except a headache. They say I now owe them 34, 000.00 ??? have not used or gone on a vacation using them. Call 11 months ahead of time, all booked up, OK lets try Anyplace in Virginia, ALL BOOKED UP, OK lets try any place in Tennessee, ALL BOOKED UP. They said how about Hersery PA? I said where? and why would I want to go there. Don't want go to PA and what could be in Hersery (chocolate) ? No I don't want PA How about any place further South. ALL BOOKED UP. By the way, don't forget to pay your maintenance fee. Never once received a BILL for payments. Don't even know where to send them. They put forecloser on my credit report. I had called, faxed, and written them with in the dead line for back out. They stated they did not get in time. I even had hand delivered a copy in person to one of their reps and told him I was cancelling. No change 3 years later it is still on Credit report. Marc

    0 Votes

Post your comment