Avisextend car rental

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

To extend rental car at AVIS, required the driver's personal credit card info. or other personal info. (the one who picked up the car); this put an assistant job in difficult... would anyone be willing to leave their credit card or other personal information to their assistant? I tried to use company credit instead to extend my VP's car rental but not be accepted by AVIS.

Recommand not to rent a car from AVIS

Responses

  • Dr
    drequil Aug 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm going to have to agree with these old posters: Avis does not excel. I do not feel that they try "Harder".

    Adding $10 a day to a rental as an "reorganization charge", not cool. This is not some Price.com cheap rental: this is the corporate, full rate. Expensive. And now they want even more? Not cool.

    I made a mistake and used Avis. I will stick with National from now on.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amlalone Mar 25, 2011

    ya, no charges are made on reservations, so stop making lies and or complaints that obsolve yourself from any responsibility.

    0 Votes
  • T0
    t0m3k1 Mar 18, 2011

    $3.90 sounds like the pre pay fuel option. You purchase the full tank up front at #3.90/gallon, and then you can return the car as low as you'd like. Unfortunately with this option, you do not get reimbursed for any unused fuel. I typically take this option when I have early flights and won't have time to stop at gas stations to fill up.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amlalone Sep 22, 2010

    get a signed contract stating unlmiited mileage, did you? no? your fault for taking the car then

    0 Votes
  • Be
    betty boo Oct 22, 2009

    Avis and Budget rental car are the same company. we all should file a class action suit again them

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trina Apr 13, 2009

    i made a reservation 3 months early for a mini van, with unlimited milage to be picked up April the 6th 2009. i had my paper that i printed from my printer stating that it was unlimited mileage. when i get to the counter in Lithia Springs, Ga the lady handling the RESERVATION Cynthia told me that i would be charged 22 cents a mile. i told her that was crazy as hell. i am going all the way to canada. IT WAS LIKE WE HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO GO AND DEAL WITH IT WHEN WE GET BACK . i told her i will go home and get the papers, i brought the paper and she said she would take it ofF. and the reason that i would be charge was because it is spring break 2009 week. i told her that i maDe this reservation on Jan 8 2009 and that this has nothing to do with spring break. she still claim that she would take it off. SHE CLAIM THAT WE MADE SOME MODIFICATIONS THE DAY BEFORE LIKE I WOULD BE THAT STUPID TO THAT SO THEY COULD CHARGE ME A EXTRA $ 375 IN MILES when my fiance' and i gOt back she refuse to take it off. it is long story. i am so angry at that ###!!! our bill was to be $361 plus tax.the rental was for 8 days we brought the van back a day earlier she would not take the extra day off either. she cHARGEge us $685. i am ###ing angry because she then told us to get out of her store... i call the 1800 number and i was told that she could take it off, she says that avis themselves has to take it off. i will never, never, never, never ever rent from AIVS ESPICALLY FROM AVIS ON THRONTON ROAD IN LITHIA SPRINGS, GA WITH THE VERY RUDE AND NASTY UNPROFSSIOAL CUSTOMER REP NAME CYNTHIA. STAY AWAY FROM HER STORE!!! SHE IS VERY HARD TO TALK TO AND REASON WITH!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fred Aug 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had a similar experience twice in the past couple of weeks. first time, I picked up a car from a DC office and returned to them at the air port the same day. The tank when picked up was at 3/4 full so i refilled up to (and more), however at the time of return although it said righ on the contract that either pay $14 or reill and bring the recipt. I showed my recipt at the time then I realised they still charged me that $14.

    After complaining abit they removed it from my invoice (dishonest)

    the second time the same day I picked up another car from Vagas Airport (It was all pre arranged) the attendent there told me that I could buy this option that I do not have to refill the car and AVIS will fill it up for me at 3.90 per gal for a top up. However at the time of return they charged me for a full tank as if it was empty. I still had more than 1/4 of the tank and 1/2 full. They told me that I should talk to customer service when I return. Which I did, and was told that there is nothing they can do about it since I had signed the agreement. They gave me a local number to leave a message for the local manager to complaint on mis information. I think this is a way for AVIS to milk people for more money.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alex Jul 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Filled the tank (overflowing) 18 miles from the airport. Was charged $13.99 for fuel service.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbara May 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If the car rental was for business purposes and was booked by someone's assistant, the company credit card should have been used for this very reason. If a boss expects his/her assistant to take care of personal matters for him/her, by all means the assistant should have knowledge of their personal credit card number. The issue here is with the boss and assistant arrangement, Avis is not at fault. I certainly wouldn't want just anyone to be able to call up and extend my rental reservation without my consent, and the only way Avis can determine consent is to speak to the renter or someone who obviously is speaking on behalf of the renter.

    To Harold: reservations aren't charged to your credit card until you have picked up and returned a car. The only way they would have charged your credit card ahead of time is if you had a special non-cancellable rate and agreed to having the inability to cancel. That would make it your problem, not theirs, if you wanted to cancel the car.

    I've had problems with Avis before as well (most recently this morning!), but it's not fair to blame them for something that is clearly not their fault and/or is a common business practice designed to protect the agency from fraud and loss.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HAROLD RAMSON Mar 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I MADE A RESERVATION WITH AVIS BY MIS-TAKE AND I COULD NOT GET A REFUND. I CALLED THE MAIN OFFICE AND WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS POLICY THAT NO REFUNDS ARE GIVEN. YOU WON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT ME DOING BUSINESS WITH AVIS AGAIN.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.