The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
AT&Tworst customer service ever

Let me start by giving you this address for complaints. This is the ONLY way to file a complaint with AT&T.

AT&T Recourse Department
308 S. Ackard, Ste 3700
Dallas, TX 75202

Early in January 2010 I contacted AT&T to pay my DSL bill since web-pay never seems to work. After paying the bill, I agreed to talk to someone about U-Verse. The salesman talked me in to a plan and we set an installation date for about 2 weeks later. I was told that my DSL service would remain active until the technician arrived to install the U-Verse.
The morning of the installation date, my internet did not work. I called customer service and was told that it was disconnected so U-Verse could be installed. Ok, a small inconvenience. The installer arrived and was not able to find a good signal. He told me an engineering specialist would need to repair the line and they would come out in a day or two, but I did not need to be there. He then told me my DSL should be back on in about 15 minutes. Never happened.
I called AT&T after 30 minutes and spent 45 minutes on the phone being transferred and was then told a new DSL order would need to be placed. Fine. But it would not be live for 4 more days. When I asked why, since I had DSL until that morning and it was working fine, I was told there was some trouble on the line and a repair person would need to come out. Fine. Frustrating, but ok. So I went out of town for the weekend, planning on returning Tuesday and having DSL.
Over the weekend I called to find out about the status. The first rep could not find my account. She transferred me (without telling I would be transferred) to a spanish speaking rep (I do not speak Spanish). That rep transferred me to someone else...and then someone else. I finally said just cancel my account and was sent the the "account retention" department. They managed to talk me in to waiting.
On Monday I called again to find out approximately what time Tuesday my service would be live. After 45 minutes, and threatening to cancel my account once again, an "account retention" rep told me it would be on between 2 and 3 pm on Tuesday.
I arrived home just before 3 pm Tuesday, no service. I called and spent another 45 minutes on the phone with customer service. After asking to cancel AGAIN, the "account retention" rep actually did some research and discovered 2 open orders, one for DSL and one for U-Verse. She told me the system would automatically cancel at least one of the orders. So, I canceled the U-Verse order. She said ANOTHER new order had to be placed for DSL and she would expedite it so I could have service Wednesday. Not happy, I agreed.
Wednesday...no service. I waited until 7:30 pm and called customer service. They close at 7 pm.
Thursday, the "account retention" rep from Tuesday called me to make sure my service was on. Nope. She told me to call tech support and re-register my computer. So, after work I called tech support and spent 45 minutes troubleshooting and running a line test. No results, so a trouble ticket was opened. I should receive a call back within 24 hours!! I did receive a call back in about 20 minutes, reported no resolution, and was transferred to a live person. The live person told me that since U-Verse repair had been done the line would not support DSL. A tech would need to come out Friday morning and come in to my apartment. Of course, I could not take off work for this and asked if a technician could please come out today. The tech could not authorize this and transferred me to a supervisor. I never caught his name but he was probably the rudest person I have ever dealt with. He spoke very loudly and did not even wait for me to explain the issue. He transferred me to U-Verse customer support. Remember...I had canceled my U-Verse order so this was completely unnecessary!
I hung up and called back. I was transferred to another supervisor and was told that the latest a tech will come out in Texas is 4:30 pm. I would have to wait until the following day.
Somewhere in all of this I have been promised no charge for January DSL and 2 months of free service. I'm not holding my breath.
So, I canceled the trouble ticket and called the local cable company. I will have internet service on Sunday. Then I will call AT&T next week to verify that I will not owe them any money and cancel my account.
By the way - the ONLY way to file a complaint is through the US Mail. I plan on mailing a 5 page complaint and urge you to do the same. The address is shown at the beginning of this post and below as well.

AT&T Recourse Department
308 S. Ackard, Ste 3700
Dallas, TX 75202

Good luck!

Responses

  • Pa
    paulbede Dec 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Documented 14 times in 16 months dealing with at&t customer service, mostly with broken promises of prices and service. It's very frustrating to be told one thing just to appease you then bills and confirmation letters reflect something entirely different. So why stay with them so long, they were cheap. I'm am now gladly paying twice as much for internet service just so I don't have to be frustrated with AT&T's incompetent employees. I will never for the rest of my life deal with this extremely frustrating company, be it a service or product, and I will go out of my way to tell every one I know.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SHANE AND ANGELA May 07, 2011

    you aint kidding! AT&T is hands down the stupidest, worst affliction on the consuming public that the society for the damnation of Common sense ever concieved. AT&T is NOT a company but rather a secretly well planned attack on the serenity, sanity and harmony of the American family. AT&T CEO's should be scourged and inprisoned followed by the systematic public stoning of "customer service" and "tech support" agents in the U.S.A and abroad.

    0 Votes
  • Lk
    LKDD Mar 31, 2011

    Is the address provided to send a complaint just for Texas? I am in Wisconsin and am having all of the problems I see on this message board. I need to send a complaint but from Wisconsin. I think I will probably just drop this service, it looks kind of hopeless to ever get my service problems solved. Thanks for the info.

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    I hate AT&T Jan 25, 2011

    AT&T is consumed with idiots. I am so sick of AT&T that if they would provide their service for free I would tell them NO THANKS!!!
    My Problem started when a door to door salesman sold us on U-Verse. Of course the salesman and the guys who came to hook up our bundle package : T.V. Internet and home phone where very nice and polite. After about a week my t.v. serice began to lack. The programming would freeze every night for about 10 mins. When it did not freeze the pixels where all jacked up, when the pixels were not jacked up we had no sound. This problem got worse and worse to the point my t.v would freeze for hours on end along with the internet and home phone . So, I called to get some help and this is were the nightmare begins. First call was dec 3rd 2010 . Last call when I finally cancelled was jan 13th. within that months time we had 17 serivce techs come out. At&t would send a inside guy, he would say it was an outside problem and leave and left it up to me to schedule another tech, which meant going thru all the automative props and being on hold fo 20-30 mins at a time. At&T would schedule a outside guy sometimes they would show up and sometimes they did not . No call to reschedule or anything. Which meant another round of calls all to explain my problem from beginning to end. AT&T actually no showed twice when we took off work just to be there. When the outside guys would show up, they would tell me it was fixed and to call if there were any problems, 5 mins after they left I would have the same problems. So back on the phones I would go to set up another appointment. At&T would send another inside guy and I would have to explain the WHOLE situtation all over again. of course they could not fix my problem. so, back on the phone I went. I did this 17 different times. Finally I called to canceled and the customer service begged me not to and give them one more chance. I did. a week later I had been thru two more service techs and hours and hours on the phone talking to Tier 2 people explaing all the problems and my problem was no better, I was in the exact same spot I was a week ago and a month ago for that matter. So I had enough . called and cancelled and went back to DSL and a home line, that was on the 13th, AT&T rep told me I would have internet on the 18th and it would go smooth and I would NEVER be without phone or internet during the switch. Well, they cut off my internet and phone on the 18th but have not hooked up anything and today is the 25th. Once again since the 18th I have been on my AT&T cell phone trying to simply get some service. by the way my cell will be cancelled as well. and I think I will just cancel my internet and phone and get a different provider. If I ran my business the way AT&T has treated me I would be out of business. AT&T will never get another dime from me.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Garcia Bus co. Nov 29, 2010

    I tought I was the only one frustrate with ATT&T services. My bigest question to any one is, what happen to local offices, where you can talk to a real person. Where some one can acttualy take your complain and do something about it. What happen to At&t phisical address in your local area. And if At&t claims to be the bigest phone servives provider why not hire more pesonel to inprove the terible services the corporation has.

    0 Votes
  • Rw
    rwhidbee Aug 25, 2010

    Yes Thank YOU for the address!!!. I have a business account with them and it's been about 3 weeks and the Uverse still hasn't been installed. I might add DSL was working fine but because of a billing error on AT&T side the line was cancelled. I was then told they are no longer supporting Ethernet and my area, so I had to switch to UVerse. Great great.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    ABBrown Jun 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I need to find out who I can file a complaint with AT&T's customer service and get some type of response. About 4 months ago, AT&T switched my personal account that included my personal social security number under a business account. I did not authorized the transfer. I have spend 4 months trying to get this resolved. When I walked into a retail store, they refused to speak to me telling me I was a business customer. When I call customer service, they refused to work with me to get the account switched over to a retail account. I do not work with the company they switched me under so I have spend 4 months trying to get this resolved. I have not had one person in customer service to be helpful or even friendly. I don't understand how they can take my personal account with my social security number and transfer me to a business account with my authorization. Then offer no help in transferring the account back once I tell them I did not authorized the transfer nor do I work for the company (have never worked for the company) who authorized the tranfer. I have spend minimum 5 hours on the phone with RUDE customer service reps. Once I get resolved, I will never do business with AT&T again. Any suggestions on how to get this resolved.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Dream921 Mar 02, 2010

    I understand what you have to face every day i was not happy with my cell phone service with at&t and my matter was not been solved so i had to call in for about a week like everyday to get the run around and then now i have a case worker calling me telling me i have to my issues and she gone have to monitor my account for 6 to 8 months like am a child and not a human being and she is nasty with me and so i just feel like when i had the issue instead of giving me the run around handle my issues and then let me be but anyway my account is monitored for the next 6 months for sure and she calls me everyday to harass me so at&t are low down and they don't care about the people they just care about there money !

    0 Votes
  • El
    ElleBeaurue Feb 24, 2010

    THANK YOU for the address. I have a big ol' letter to write to them about a similar dispute. U-Verse is the biggest ripoff in the world, and AT&T will hold your phone number hostage if you cancel.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.