AT&T DSL Equipment Rebaterebate offer is a rip off!

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

AT&T High Speed DSL Equipment Rebate SCAM - Holland, Mich. Back in February 2007, I signed up for AT&T's High Speed DSL in answer to a promotion you were running. The deal was that you paid up front for the equipment and you would receive a rebate in the form of a $50 cash card or checking 10 to 12 weeks. You're supposed to be able to check the status of your rebate online. I mailed in the necessary rebate information immediately upon receipt of the equipment, Approx. Feb 21, 2007. On April 16th, 2007, I went to check the status of the rebate online, (www.attequipmentrebate.com), and it showed no record of my rebate application. I called the number posted on the rebate website, [protected]), and spoke with "Brook". She stated that my rebate postcard had been received by AT&T but had not yet been processed. She then told me that she would "petition" AT&T to get the processing underway so that they, the rebate center, could get the check sent out within the next one to two weeks. It is now June 6, 2007. I went online AGAIN to check my rebate status and there was STILL no record of my rebate. I called the rebate center AGAIN and this time spoke with "Angie" who told me that there was no record of my previous call to Brook but that my rebate postcard had been processed "today" and that they, the rebate center should have an answer in 1-2 weeks. "An answer to WHAT?" I asked. "I'm not asking them to approve anything". At this point i asked to speak with her supervisor and was told that the supervisor didn't take calls but that I could be put on a "supervisor call back list". I asked when he might be calling, fully expecting her to say, "In one to two weeks". To my surprise, her answer was, "Within 24 to 72 hours". Needless to say, I'm not holding my breath waiting for this person to contact me. After all, By AT&T calendars, one to two weeks equals 1-1/2 months and 10 to 12 weeks is quickly approaching the 4 month mark They promised a rebate in 10-12 weeks and I expect them to honor that agreement." She then changed her answer and told me it had been processed the day before. She actually forgot her lie within a span of about a minute. I didn't ask for a line of BS when I called your alleged "Rebate Customer Service" department. I just want you to do what was promised in your promotion. I'm no further now than I was a month and a half ago. The two weeks promised by "Brook" has turned into a month and a half. As if that's not bad enough, "Angie" told me it would be yet another two weeks before I could even find out WHEN my rebate would be sent out. Just a hunch, but I'm guessing that I'll be told my check will be sent out in... ready, Let's all say it together, "ONE TO TWO WEEKS". If I didn't know better, I'd say that your entire customer service plan is that no matter what the issue, just tell the customer it will be resolved in "one to two weeks" and hopefully the customer will forget about it or just give up.

I decided that talking to your drones at the rebate center was getting me nowhere so I decided to contact another AT&T Customer service department. This was yet another disappointing experience to say the least. This time I spoke with "Natalie" who told me that she could do absolutely nothing about it because it was a Rebate Department issue and she knew nothing about the policies or practices of the Rebate department. It soon became evident that she knew nothing about customer service period. I then asked who I could talk to to file a complaint about the practices of the Rebate department and she told me to talk to the Rebate department manager. When I told her that it made no sense to complain to the very people I was complaining about, I was told by "Natalie" that the nine minutes I had spent talking to her could have been better spent waiting for my "supervisor call back". In other words, "quit wasting my time because I'm not going to do anything or suggest anything or direct you to anyone that can help you in resolving this issue." She then had the nerve to ask if there was anything else she could "Help" me with. Totally disgusted with the entire AT&T Customer Service experience, I hung up.

Fifty dollars is nothing to a billion dollar company like AT&T, but I would guess that if this is happening to me, there are probably thousands of others out there having the same experience that are just as frustrated as I am and that would love to see this issue brought to light. I can see the headlines already, "AT&T Equipment Rebate "Scam" investigation". You might even make it onto 20/20. I know the local TV stations in Grand Rapids love doing pieces on huge corporations that are caught ripping off consumers.

Just so you know that I'm not alone in this complaint, I've included a couple of the other letters from your "customers" that I've found online which, interestingly enough, describe unusually similar experiences with you and your rebate promotion.
Incidentally, I just checked the status of my rebate claim one more time and here's the standard message that pops up...

"We're sorry, but we were unable to find any rebate claims matching the information you provided. Please make sure the information you supplied is correct and try again. Note: It takes approximately 10-12 weeks to process your claim. If you were unable to find your rebate claim status and you submitted your rebate form more than 4 weeks ago, please call [protected].

Thank you for choosing AT&T Yahoo! HSI Service!"

WHAT HAS TO HAPPEN FOR ME TO GET MY REBATE??? And please don't tell me it'll be sent out in (one more time) "one to two weeks".

Joseph C.
Holland, Mich 49423

From: Carolyn
Date: Wednesday, 15-Nov-06 08:57:30 CST

Beware when it comes to ordering a DSL service kit from AT&T/SBC. They promise you everything. The rebates and gift cards and all kinds of good stuff. However, collecting what they promise can be frustrating . I can testify to that! I signed up for the DSL promotion in June 2006, I promptly received the installation kit in the mail. I installed it... no problem there... everything is working fine. But where is my $50.00 cash rebate? It's now November 2006, and longer that 10-12 weeks. I've had to argue for every little thing. First the $50.00 visa gift card, I finally got that this week, but I've still not received my $50.00 cash rebate. I've called and spent a total of about 6 hours on the phone at different times talking to customer service people. I finally got the gift card. But still no $50.00 rebate. I contacted my local Public Utility Commission and they said they would check into it , but DSL lines is not something they current regulate, although they get plenty of complaints about them. I've also sent a letter to the AT&T chairman, Mr. Edward Whitacre, Jr., but I probably won't get an answer from him either. I was also referred to the FCC to file a complaint. I've never spent so much time trying to get what AT&T/SBC promised me. $50.00 is not a lot of money to a "BILLION DOLLAR" company. I've been a customer of theirs for over 40 years. I've always paid my bills on time. Why can't someone just follow through. You should here the stupid evasions answers I get when I ask about where is my rebate.

From: Robert
Date: Friday, 01-Dec-06 18:21:38 CST

AT&T (SBC Yahoo DSL)

I activated phone service and high speed internet service on January 4, 2006 and was promised a $50.00 rebate. I mailed my rebate activation sticker on 1/26/2006 and have not received my rebate, yet. I have spoken with AT&T representatives at least 4 times during the past year. I spoke with Merrill on 6/2/06 & was given case #92230, I spoke with an unknown representative on 10/10/06 and was told she was activating another case, but it would not have a case number & that she was forwarding this to her supervisor - she told me that if I called again just mention the word ESCALATION. I called on 11/4/06 and spoke with Bertha who could not find any notes from the unknown representative. I uttered the word ESCALATION and Bertha did know what that meant, but she said ESCALATION had not been done previously. Bertha promised she would ESCALATE this for me. I called on 12/1/06 and spoke with Crystal, she was shocked that a second case was not given a number, she did see the notes taken from Bertha and assured me my claim had been escalated, but she advised me to call back in a couple of weeks because the escalation department is a bunch of slackers and probably had not done mine yet. She said if she did another escalation that would mean I would go back to the end of the line and have to start over again. Crystal told me I might want to call billing and maybe they would give me a credit. I told Crystal that if I had to tell my story again I would just as soon tell it to complaintsboard.com.

Please let others know what a crook these people are. Thank you, Debra
Barber, Escalated Consumer.

Responses

  • Gl
    Glenda D Roberts Oct 15, 2014

    aI was a customer with telephone number [protected] for many years and I sincerely believe my bill was overcharged. What can I do?

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lenore from Chicago Aug 09, 2013

    Received a$10.00reward card in the mail. I entered the proper cite, filled out my account number and entered the sweet perk reward center . Was then informed an error occurred and the offer was rejected. Also told I have no reward credits. What kind of scam is this?

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pat Draper Mar 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    dang it, they got me too only for $100.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nobody'sFool Oct 29, 2009

    File a complaint with Better Business Bureau. I had rebate problem with ATT DSL service since October of 2008. I filed a complaint with BBB and ATT contact me 2 days latter (just this morning). Before this, ATT kept saying that they've sent me my rebate, but I never received anything from them. They suggested that I might accidentally threw it away. I gave them my PO Box address and still nada. I asked them if there's any other way they can give me my rebate, like credit my account. They were very sure that they can't and that they have nothing to do with customer accounts. After I filed a complaint, one of ATT rep called me this morning and offer to credit my account. If this is not a scam then what is. They were just waiting for me to get tire and forget about the rebate. So you people out there: Don't let them get away with this!!! Not with just ATT, but any other corporation. I know some rebate are not much, but a few thousand of us will amount to a fortune!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mimis9 Oct 16, 2009

    I wish I had read all of this before I switched from cable to AT&T DSL. I have experienced EXACTLY the same problems. When I call it takes forever to go through their robot and get to a person. Then the billing department tells me to call the awards department and the awards department tells me to call the billing department. Once I was even assured that I would be mailed the $70 rebate in the form of a VISA card in 6-8 weeks. I never received it, of course. I was supposed to received $125 for switching from cable and $70 rebate on my modem because I ordered it online. They said that I didn't qualify for the $125 because I had signed a year contract. I finally saw that disclaimer in teensy letters at the bottom of the website. I had clicked on their "learn more" and it said nothing about that. So, I thought, ok I will give them that, even though I feel it is very deceptive practice. However, there was nothing that I could find anywhere that would disqualify me for the $70 modem rebate and they WILL NOT SEND IT. I am glad to see that it helps to contact the BBB. I will try that. I wanted to write them a letter but I cannot find an address anywhere. I am sure they don't want all the mail from their unhappy customers. As soon as my 12 month contract is up, I will be cancelling all business with AT&T including my home phone. BUYER BEWARE!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    camille reynolds Oct 04, 2009

    Same here. It's been 4 months. I did exactly as instructed and got an e-mail about the date (estimate) I would get my $125.00 rebate, by or around 8/31/09. This is OCT!!! I am disabled and could use the money. I left COX CABLE to go to AT&T. What a mistake.

    They lied straight out. Now, I have poor DSL service, (they don't tell you you must pay extra for security.) And the take 75.00 for this stupid box.

    I AM NOT LETTING THIS GO UNSETTLED. We disabled have certain rights and this was a BAIT AND SWITCH. IT IS ILLEGAL IN MANY WAYS. They sold me a bogus deal.

    YOU SOLD ME A BOGUS DEAL. NOW, YOU SAY MY REBATE IS NO GOOD. hHEY ma bell, YOUR BRATS AND THEIVES ARE SHOWING. AT&T is a SCAM!!!jerks

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dangerzone Sep 12, 2009

    hi...sir i want to tell u best idea for sale a product...
    its my our invention i share with videocon...my id is [email protected]
    my no.[protected]...

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nani56 Jul 24, 2009

    OK, I love the high speed wireless internet but the att service SUCKS! I to am waiting for my rebate of $50 and I have not gotten anywhere with them. It's been 2 months and I haven't even got a rebate card or anything. They don't seem to know anything about it at att.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    fr33domfightr Jul 22, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Long story, like everyone else. I helped my gf get dsl service from AT&T in Nov. 2008. She was promised a $79.99 (check) rebate for her dsl gateway modem.

    We got the dsl setup, we filled out the paperwork properly, and she mailed it in Dec. 2008. At about the end of January 2009, I looked online for the status. It showed she "Qualified 12/22/2008, " and "Reward Redeemed 1/20/2009", but that was all. I figured her check would be coming soon.

    After months had passed and nothing came, I figured something was wrong. I checked the status again, only to see the same thing as before, no progress had been made. I called in the middle of May, and spoke with an agent there. They saw the status, just as I had, but didn't know why it was hung up. They told me they would forward the case to her boss and to give them 2 weeks to resolve the issue. They told me, if nothing happens, then call back again. Well, I waited a good 3 weeks to give them plenty of time. I checked online and the status was the same, no change. This told me I needed to call back again.

    A few weeks later, I check online again, just to see before calling. Damn, the status had indeed changed. It now said, "Reward Mailed 6/19/2009." By this time, however, it was past that date, already the beginning of July. I asked my gf if she had received any check. She said, "no." As the days went by I kept asking, "any check, " but she kept saying, "no."

    I decided to call again, since obviously something was hung up or something. I called today, and now everything is totally weird. I spoke with someone on the phone who said there were 2 addresses attached to this dsl service. That's impossible. They said I had to call an ATT office in Texas and conference call back to the reward center to resolve the matter. I did just that. I got the run around. In the end, I got some rude [censored] that wouldn't listen. I told her about the status online, etc. etc., but she insists that my gf's rebate had expired, her number belongs to another address, that the status online is not for her phone number, blah, blah, blah. All along, during this whole process, no one ever said her rebate had expired. That is total BS!! She followed their rules, explicitly!!

    Now, this has left me feeling very angry. If this isn't resolved soon, in her favor, I will switch her dsl service somewhere else. The gall of these people!!

    I'm going to pass what I know about this on to her relatives and see if they can get her rebate. If not, I'll suggest the CEO route, FCC, BBB, and FTC.

    If that doesn't work, then I'll convince her to switch the dsl service to dslextreme and switch her long distance service too!! They will lose money on this. I know they don't really care, but at least I'll feel some satisfaction, that they aren't ripping off my gf anymore!!

    0 Votes
  • Dv
    Dvae Jun 03, 2009

    If AT&T's reward system isn't set up to systematically default on the terms of their agreements with customers regarding the rebate moneys promised to them, then it might as well be. After reading the replies to the original posting, it's apparent that their "Reward Center" couldn't possibly have a large enough population of well-meaning but incompetent supervisors to result in breaches of trust becoming this commonplace. Personally, my $50 modem reward was listed on the Rewards website as "redeemed" on 12/15/08, and the status became "processing" in mid-January. I just got off the phone after my fourth conversation with them (two of which involved supervisors, earlier) trying to get the status to move to "shipped", and I was assured that if I check back in a week, such will be the case. If it isn't, I'm not sure what I'm going to do, but if it is, I will take that as an indication that it's finally time to bid AT&T adieu in the internet department, the landline department, and the wireless department.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul Jay Apr 05, 2009

    I to have not received any rebate information or money back from AT&T. I ordered service in October and it is now April. I think they just wear people down to the point you forget or become so frustrated you stop trying to get it. I was thinking of getting three iPhones for my family but since the only service is with AT&T it's unlikely I will do that. I will just stay with Verizon to avoid more trouble with AT&T NON-SERVICE.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sonny Garcia Mar 22, 2009

    I posted my like complaint as all of you have here on this board about 3 weeks ago. I'm happy to report that since then I read about a site called the consumerist that lists email addresses and even phone #s for presidents & CEOs of companies-google for it, it is worth your while as you will see-and found the direct email address for the President of AT&T. I figured I had nothing to lose and so I emailed him about a week and a half ago and told him of my complaint and about the fact of the many complaints like mine on this and on many boards from people taken for a ride by AT & T. I'm now also very happy to report that last week as a result of this email, I got a call from the executive secretary for AT & T's president looking to resolv this matter and to resolve it that week. She assigned one of her assistants to it and after a minimal amount of research verified what I was claiming and credited my account for the rebate that I had coming to me and that I had been given the runaround about. She also apologized for AT & T having dropped the ball and having caused me this problem. My point is that if you skip all these do nothings, promise you the world underlings and go straight to the top that hopefully you too will get what you were promised and what you have been shorted.

    I want to share this method of leading to a successful resolution with all my fellow complainees so here is the email addreses of the AT & T president:

    [email protected]

    [email protected]

    I'd email your complaint to both addresses as I did and I hope you will all have the same successful and prompt results as I did. Good luck to all.

    P. Garcia

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amtrell Mar 11, 2009

    I, too, cannot believe that this large company is getting away with this! What a shame! I am fighting for our modem rebates for the business I work for. It has been one year and we never received the $49.99 rebates that we were promised. Our story is just like all the others posted here. If I had any advice for other consumers, it would be "don't trust anything AT&T tells you about rebates - you will never see that money coming back to you! After what I have read here, I cannot believe how many other people have been scammed by this company! I am tempted to cancel every service I have with them! It's ridiculous!

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sonny Garcia Mar 07, 2009

    I, too, have been duped by ATT's rebate runaround and scam.After threatening to drop them after many previuos run-arounds, lies, and very poor service, I let them talk me into giving them another chance and offering a discount on the service plus I was also promised a rebate by mid-December 2008. Now it is now coming up on mid-March 2009 and several calls and promises later, still no rebate. First I was told back in late January that it showed it was mailed out in mid January and that it had been redeemed and when I said I never redeemed it as I never got it, they conveniently and matter-of-factly said that maybe it was sent to the wrong address and asked what my address was. I, as matter-of-factly told them that it was the same address 'where they had been sending the bills to and which had never been lost or sent to the wrong address before' to. How convenient and how strange that they had not sent those to the wrong address, I'd have to say. I have gotten testy over this and I do not trust or believe them anymore due to the frustration that they have caused by the many failed promises, continued run-arounds, and out and out lies. We all need to write to our Attorneys-General in our states and our Better Business Bureaus and start a class action lawsuit and/or individual lawsuits to get ATT's attention and some satisfaction for all of this frustration and games that they've played on me and as I see, many others. I, myself have been looking around and I plan to drop them here pretty soon, as soon as I decide on an alternative. Here locally Warner Cable's Roadrunner offers a similar price for much faster, more reliable service as several of my friends have their service and compliment it quite often. They don't seem to have the disconnect problems and slow service that I experience often with ATT. So for me, fine they can shove their rebate, but they've lost me and I won't let myself get talked into giving them another chance again. Good riddance to the frauds and the liars. This kind of service, or lack thereof, tends to catch up to people after all as in an economy like what we currently have, they are the first ones we drop and not continue to tolerate as we have, and they wouldn't be the first giant compant who was undone by its own poor practices, negligence and abuse of its customers, and lack of attention and repair of its reputation. Maybe a loss of its customer base will send the message to get results. It has to start somewhere.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Japopeye Feb 20, 2009

    ATT DSL is a total rip. Got my ATT DSL Dec. 2007 and its not Feb 2009 and I have not recieved a rebate. First time they messed up my address they canceled the service and said they would re activate. Well to my luck it was not reactivated and i waited a week for nothing. Second time the package was sent but still they had the wrong address the package was being sent to a place no where near me. i literally had to go claim it at the UPS warehouse. I opened the box and everything was there but a rebate form. I called and complained about it and they said that i did not recieve a rebate because i had canceled my service. #1 They canceled it and #2 so what if it was canceled i couged up the cash so now i want it back.


    ATT is a rip off and im still fighting for my DSL modem rebate.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joanne Feb 08, 2009

    I also am having problems getting my 125.00 cash back from switching to AT&T on line from Time Warner. What a nightmare! I wish I had not done it! AT&T is rude and won't honor their own rebates. I can't find a higher up management phone number to contact. Ihave complained to BBB also. I will never trust them again!!!
    Horrible company. Not happy here in NC :(

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Visionprdx Jan 21, 2009

    Wow, , I didnt realize everyone was going though all this att drama.. Its odd because the first I signed up they gave me my rebates but then when I signed my folks up they gave me drama... My parents fought and struggled with att and was tempted to canceled the services.. So I decided to call on the 3 attempt I succeed..

    I put them in stand by saying

    ok.. I ordered an DSL box on the 18th of Dec I believe and when I spoke with the guy he said that I was suppose to get an 50 buck rebate for the box.. Now I am being told that I was lied to and I will not received a rebate knowing that you guys are the largest phone company and I know you keep all of our recorded phone conversation in a vault, I was wondering if you could go back listen to the conversation and verify what I was being told so I can indeed receive my 50 buck rebate for dsl box...

    They issued me a rebate that moment I said that.. she said she was sorry and would transfer me to the reward center so I can get my money!!

    So I say remember the dates and times, save the names and number codes of the agents you speak with so you can to back and track them down to verified things and have proof.. Or if you are deaf save copy paste your whole conversation which is what I did. Or ATT can get sue for false advertisement!

    We are the victims of att and together as a team we can hinder ATT.. So I say to ATT be careful not to screw too many people because they will come back and hunt you!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joy Dec 30, 2008

    I purchased the Pro DSL service with the wireless Gateway ($79.99). I checked the website shortly after I installed the Gateway in early September and the website said that there was no need to do anything to get the Gateway rebate. After 3 months of not receiving anything, I've checked the website again and found different instructions. I had to go to https://rewardcenter.att.com/Default.aspx#%7B%22__s%22%3A%7B%22Checkbox2%22%3Atrue%7D%7D

    and fill in my phone number, which took me to the Gateway Rebate form. I filled in the Gateway serial number and noticed in the reward "more info" section that now it says that the rebate must be postmarked within 90 days of installation of the Gateway. Since it's been over 3 months since I installed the Gateway, I wonder if ATT will mail me my rebate. They are so sneaky. 3 months ago they said that you don't need to do anything to get your rebate. And now they want you to fill out an online form to get the rebate. There are very few people who would go back and check to find out that ATT pulled one over on them. If they deny me, I'll file a complaint. Did anyone actually print out their earlier webpage saying that there was no need to do anything to get the rebate. This would be great to submit as "proof" of their earlier promise. Thanks in advance!

    0 Votes
  • Kd
    kdeva Dec 18, 2008

    Update to my previous comment:

    I complained with the Better Business Bureau and within 10 days I got a response from AT&T and they said they were going to refund my cash and I will see it in my billing cycle soon :)

    0 Votes
  • Kd
    kdeva Dec 09, 2008

    I ordered the AT&T internet service (FastAccess DSL) in August, 2008. I was told that if I switch from my current cable service (comcast) provider to AT&T I will get a $125 cash back. I am attaching the terms and conditions of the program from my coupon
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    To be eligible for the $125 cash back reward, customer must switch from their current cable high-speed Internet service to FastAccess DSL (Ultra or higher) between 1/2/07 and 9/20/08. The customer must be a new subscriber to FastAccess. DSL. Valid for only one FastAccess DSL account per local service address. Customer must return the coupon with a cable modem service bill for processing within 90 calendar days of FastAccess order date (postmark deadline). Services must be active at the time of reward redemption processing. Checks will be mailed 4-6 weeks after completion of redemption to eligible customers who retain qualifying service(s). --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have met every condition put forth in the terms and conditions. It has been more than 3 months since I sent out the coupon and I have not got any response from them. I called a month ago and I was asked to send my comcast bill and I sent that. I called again today and I was told that I need to have a local phone service also with AT&T and only then will I get my reward. The terms and condition only says I need a local service address and when I purchased AT&T internet, I was told that my local service address (phone number) will be the same as my DSL phone number. It does not state anywhere that I need a phone connection along with my DSL Internet service. The representatives at the AT&T reward center were very curt to me and out rightly rejected my case. One lady even yelled at me! This is fault on AT&T's part and I am thinking of switching back to Comcast since I never had any problems with them.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    SYREIDER Nov 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I finally recieved my $49.99 rebate after waiting 6 months. I had call several times but they kept giving me some story of what to do or connecting me to all these different department then I would have to tell why am I calling all over again

    0 Votes
  • De
    del Nov 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I give up after 2 months of fighting for all my reabtes, going back to cable, just canceled all my service with att

    0 Votes
  • La
    Lana Nov 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been waiting for my ATT rebate for the last 12 months...and still waiting!!!

    0 Votes
  • Dl
    D Landon Nov 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You won't receive your rebate from att, I was lied to 3 times, no one will do anything about it, I was disqualified for the 125 for switching from cable why who knows, still fighting with them going back to cable 1st of the year, GOOD LUCK

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Nov 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had exactly the same problem with AT&T. They are liars and scam artists . I am on my phone right now canceling the service. It is not so much the amount of the scam rebate, but the way they must regard their customers to treat them like this. I will cancel all my AT&T accounts. Try canceling, and really listen to some bull

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim Nov 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Diddo. I have been trying to get my rebate for 19 months. Recently I was told by someone ([email protected]) over the phone that my case is too old and I should forget about the rebate. I will give it a little longer before cancelling my service all together.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Oct 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here's one better on my rebate. I checked online for the status of my rebate. It stated that the rebate was redeemable after 9/1/08, but on expired rebate section this rebate had expired after 9/1/08. Go figure. Can't redeem until after expiration date. There should be a class action lawsuit. AT&T is crap. Since they took over my Cingular cell service, I don't get calls, I get drop calls on most of my conversations, voicemail doesn't trigger for days after message was left (some of which were very important that I get back to), but of course i'm stuck in contract for a few more months.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    FERNANDO FAUSTO Oct 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They should change ATT Company to Jesse James Company.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lola Scott Sep 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    can anyone tell me how to received my rebate from order internet service it is $100.00 dollars.

    Lola Sc0tt

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Andrus Sep 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    AT & T rebate card came but many places wouldn't accept it. It finally expired with half the $50.00 still on it. What a ripoff.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    SYREIDER Sep 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I signed up June 2008 for dsl and never received my rebate for $49.99.I called several times and still nothing happen yet.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danielle Aug 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here is just a little of what I have been through and they keep asking me if I want a cell phone from them I guess you know my answer!!
    I have tried getting my rebate many times for my equipment and no such luck!!!
    I have spent 20hours alone last month just talking to At&t I have documented every time I call what time it is when I call who I speak to ect…I have a very huge file on this…Every month there is a prob and on avg (no exaggeration) an avg of 3 hours per call…last month they made a $500 error and the bill comes this month and is still not correct…I have had a problem ever single month with them since I signed up last Sept so basically a year…I can NOT get another service right now because I live in a rural area. They have tried to trick me into signing new contracts and threatened that if I didnt they would come and take all my equipment…I have talked to supervisors that do not help or when I ask a customer service person to please have a supervisor call me back (which is supposed to be within 48hours) sometimes has taken over a week to leave me a message to call their same customer service number and thank you for calling ect
    I cant get anyone to truly help me and I am so tired of calling every month and getting notices that I am going to be disconnected if I dont pay a wrong bill that I have made the payment on (the correct one that was figured out after the 3 hours) that I could just scream or cry>>dont know which!!
    I wish there was an office that I could go to in person…I do not care if I had to drive a ways just so I get someone that will actually help me!! My favorite is when I supposed to have this all resolved the bill may not show the corrections (that are still wrong) for like three months which then the cut off notices show up in the mail…then I call and its starts all over again!!
    I also tried to write their complaint center and you could guess>>there was an error in sending my complaint after I filled everything out!!
    IS THERE ANYTHING I CAN DO TO MAKE THIS HORRIBLE CYCLE STOP????
    I HAVE TO PREPARE MYSELF EVERYTIME I CALL EACH MONTH BECAUSE IT RUINS MY DAY! FROM GETTING THE RUN AROUND TO BE HUNG UP ON DURING “TRANSFER” YOU SAY DONT TRANSFER AND THEY DO ANYWAY AND THEN YOU HAVE TO CALL BACK AGAIN!!! PLEASE HELP ME I LIVE IN THE CHICAGO LAND AREA AND IF THERE IS ANYWHERE I CAN GO IN PERSON PLEASE LET ME KNOW!! PLEASE!! THANK YOU!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Aug 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here is another story about the AT&T modem rip off. I signed up for the DSL Pro service and sent in the completed $50 modem rebate form right away. Similar to the experiences of many before me, the online tracking system did not show my rebate submission. A customer service representative asked me to wait for 12 weeks before contacting them again. A call placed 12 weeks later revealed an issue with my mailing address. This was fixed and I was asked to contact them again in 12 weeks. This next call was unbelievable. I was now told that since it had been more than 6 months since I submitted my rebate form it had expired. There was nothing anyone could do. Have a nice day! I immediately went online and discovered that this was widespread scam run by AT&T. I filed a complaint with the FCC and after 6 months they are looking into the matter. I got a call from AT&T rep who left a message on my voicemail asking me to call them back. The best part is that the call back number does not exist!! I don't have any solutions for others facing the same problem but just wanted to add my story to the list so that others can be warned. I can't believe that Ma Bell is being resurrected with AT&T gobbling up the competition. Worse times for home telephone users are sure to come.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dee Aug 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We recently signed up for a triple pack (DSL, home phone and dish) through AT&T and the rep at AT&T store helped complete all the rebate forms. I received a letter from AT&T yesterday denying the $50 wireless rebate saying "HSI Service speed requirements not met". I called the 866 number listed in the letter and the rep asked if we had U-Verse account. I told her to explain U-Verse acct and she said if I didn't know what it meant then I probably didn't have it. I told her we complied with the rebate requirements and there is no mention of U-Verse acct on the form so why did she need that info. She said it would help her direct my call to the right department. I told her I'd call her back after checking with my husband. Called back in couple of minutes and got another rep. After she couldn't answer why the rebate was denied, she passed the call to her supervisor. The supervisor herself said the system was not allowing her to enter the info in the system, confirmed the system showed we had high speed internet but couldn't do anything. She said to call back in 7-10 days to check on status. I asked what if after 10 days, the system still didn't allow them to update the info, she said there's nothing she can do. This does not look promising and it appears I am going to be in a long battle with AT&T.

    0 Votes
  • Es
    Esther Aug 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been chasing my $75 rebate since April 19th! I call every few weeks and get the same lies about receiving the rebate. What a total scam AT&T is!

    I have also been reading about how difficult these rebate cards are to use once you succeed in getting one!! Taught me a big lesson about AT&T and I'll never sign up for another service of theirs again!

    This is yet another example of the corporate irresponsibility running rampant since big business bought out the White House and Congress. There used to be something called consumer protection in this country but starting with Reagan, it has disappeared!

    0 Votes
  • Hv
    hv Aug 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I signed up the att internet and paid up front for the modem then they promised to rebate $49.99. I called 5 times and the people at ATT reward are rude. They told me that I have to make a 3 ways call from the ATT service center. The last time I called and did what I'd asked. Still, no rebate. It's a big SCAM.

    DON'T TRUST ATT REBATE and THEY ARE RUDE!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Storm Aug 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought AT&T high speed internet over a week ago and the modem was suppose to be here within 3-5 days..it's been over a week and the Order Status of my Moden is still "Pending"..it's stupid that I paid it in full and my phone bill in full and they're not doing anything.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dawn Jul 31, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had basically the same experience, the only difference being that it actually took the 9 months to get the actual rebate form to be sent to me and of course upon arrival I read the Terms and Conditions and much to my chagrin found that the rebate had expired almost 3 months prior to me receiving it. I unfortunately will be moving in two weeks and was told by a "supervisor" (not the actual person, just the a message relayed through the individual on the phone) that she suggests I call back daily to see if they have received it so they can take the expired tag off and process it(I sent it back immediately, which was 3 weeks ago), unfortunately though if I do suspend my service they will not be able to process it and I will not receive the rebate. I'm just so fed up and Lord knows I have better things to do than talk to the rebate center 5 days a week...

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rita H. Beaulieu Jul 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It will be a year this August since I installed AT&T DSL and I'm still waiting for my rebate. Many, many hours on the phone being transfered around until I got back to the original phone number I originally called.
    E-mails are not acknowledged and I even copied our CT Attorney General. I will never, never sign up for any mail-in rabates no matter how attractive. I'm fed up with AT&T and their poor customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shamir Jul 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Rebate for High-Speed Modem
    When submitted: June 2007
    Current date: July 2008
    Times called in the past 7 months: 4 times
    Result: Always given the run-around, very similar to the scenarios described above.

    How I got it resolved:
    Called Customer Service [protected] and they fixed it immediately. I am awaiting next month's bill to see if it comes through.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.