The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
American Cash Awardsis it a scam?

S Review updated:

I had a girl come to my door very bubbly and believable after much hesitation I let her in and ended up giving her a check for a magazine to go to the marines and diabetes foundation also getting something. Didnt feel good about it and when I called to cancel coulnt get ahold of anyone at the number. Global marketing is also on the receipt. Am I dumb or is this legit?? HELP!! Never again!! ftft was who I made check out to.

Responses

  • Ro
    Roberta Franklin Nov 09, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also received a message saying I won $600, 000 dollars I am elderly I didn't even return the call because I knew it didn't sound right! However I do believe people such as this should be stopped to protect the elderly that fell for this! GOD BLESS Vengeance is mine thus saith the Lord

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    JuanRV Aug 04, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Was asked to send a check for $2500.00m to a Mr. Douglas Sanders 7600 Hiram Jenkins Rembert South Carolina 29128. Not sending it because I don't think I can trust these people.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NA??? Jul 17, 2017

    I have left voice message from atty Miller @ 3247.239, 1374, peter @ 775.964.4418 or 929.251.6267, Tony @ 225.238.3415 and agent Bryant @ 202.866.7097
    all stating I have won over 2 million dollars and need to have a receipt showing I have pay 1% of the winner when someone comes to the house to present my check. when I call backed all just answer the phone, Hello. first sign. Calls from amer cash award, atty office, national gaming.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Theresa T Jun 09, 2016

    I ordered a magazine but decided to cancel. I followed the instructions on the back of the reciept to cancel. I couldnt reach anyone by phone so I faxed the cancellation over with all of my information as was instructed and it is 5mo later and still no refund. I can not reach the company by phone and now can not leave a message because their mailbox is always full. I wonder why? I feel violated and ripped off in the biggest sense of the word. I am not going to forget about this and the next time young adults come to my door selling magazine subscriptions no matter how legit it may be I will NEVER, EVER again order my magazines thru them.
    A very disgruntled customer
    Theresa In Arizona

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jessica Jun 09, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The door to door sales are a rip off: they never deliever any magazines but they do cash your check. The company is a scam.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    KaceyMath Jun 09, 2016

    Avoid anyone that comes tries to sell you magazines for American Cash Awards. Family Subscriptions is the name of one of the companies that works for them. I was scammed out of $102 because I was trying to help a college student, which I also am. I just bought a house and that money was promised back to me however I have yet to get it, even though a representative from American Cash Awards told me I would revcieve one in the mail over two weeks ago. These people are cold-hearted and don't believe a word any of them say. I hope this keeps a couple people out of this scam!
    KC

    0 Votes
  • zoloftn151 Jun 09, 2016

    Yeah Randy Minks, FU.

    0 Votes
  • De
    debbie screwed Jun 09, 2016

    I realized that I was just screwed out of a cash deposit of $20 by a young man, aka Randy Minks. FU

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angie Jun 09, 2016

    I was told that i had three days to cancel my order...i placed my order on April 21st, 2009 and canceled on April 23rd, 2009 and the money was still taken out of my checking account...i want the money put back!!! Thats false advertisement...if anyone from this place comes to my door again trying to sell these magazines i will call the police department and have them removed immediately.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer10433 Jan 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is a BIG SCAM!! They want you to send them 395.00 to western union as soon as I could. I said I think it is a scam and you don't have to send money to get money. People don't do it.

    0 Votes
  • Nh
    Nhgranite Jan 22, 2015

    I got several calls from a Florida number. They kept saying I had won $5.8 million. Well, of course that gets your attention. They asked if I had filled out any forms; I think they mentioned Publisher's Clearinghouse ... a few other "buzz" words related to winning money. They wanted to know if I'd like the media involved when my award arrived or if I'd prefer it private. First, however, I was directed to go to a Family Dollar Store (big red flag) and purchase a "Green Dot Card." Never heard of that kind of card before. I went there and talked to them and told the store manager what was going on and I mentioned a "Mr. Fletcher." The store clerk said "oh no! he's the one who called here last week claiming to be from our headquarters and telling us to do something with the green dot cards." So ... enough said. I did call my local police but they explained there is nothing they can do as the crooks will not answer the phones if they call. Watch out for this scam!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary D. Howard Jan 15, 2015

    This company says I won sweepstakes and wants me to send them a money order and want stop calling when I tell them no. There phone number is [protected].

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Copydonut Sep 05, 2014

    The new number for scam [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Copydonut Sep 05, 2014

    [protected] is the new number

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phyllis Cobb Jun 25, 2014

    I received a FB message from William J. Turner who said that US Cash Awards had been tryng to reach me to tell me I had been awarded $15500 Million dollars, and I questioned him. He originally had just asked to be my FB friend. After I accepted him, he began to tell me about the great news of this money just waiting for my acceptance. I questioned him further, and he said he would personally call me, so I gave him my phone number foolishly. He had someone else call me, a man named Jaime Alexander, who claimed to be from England, but who had some strange accent and used poor grammar. He verified that I had an award of $15 mil waiting for me. I was learly and asked what I had to do to receive it, and he said I would have to pay them $1, 500, so that they could take care of the taxes to the IRS before releasing the money to me. I told him I did not have $1, 500, and he told me they would hold the money for me until I could get the money. I stalled him, and he has called me back once. The so-called Mr. Turner sent me a message that the award was being held for me. There is indeed a Wm. J. Turner on FB and with information regarding US Cash Awards, and a photo of some kind of business meeting which is too small to identify anyone. I need to know what to do at this point. It seems to be a scam. To whom do I report this?

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Lukaide Playz Apr 18, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Phyllis Cobb Lol this is 5 years later, but last night some dude friended me on Instagram then he messaged me how are you doing i said good asked who he was and he said youve won 3.5m dollars a mercades Benz and we will forever pay all your bills. Ik its a scam cause I don't enter in lotto or anything cause im 13 and im not even american its a huge bloody scam .

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lorenzo Richards Jun 01, 2014

    Peter phillips call me and ask me to go and buy a green dot money card 500hundred dollars had won 3, 500, 000, 00millons dollars is this a scam his phone number is [protected] my number is [protected] my name Renzo call me back

    0 Votes
  • As
    ASP ONLINE INVESTIGATOR Jan 12, 2014

    Contact a scam investigator for Genuines of the lottery promo Email:[email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AllyV Jan 10, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just received a call from American Cash Awards with a cell # of [protected]. A Jamaican man called himself David Anderson. He said I won $100, 000 because I paid my bills on time. He asked if I would be home at 4:00 today so that an agent from the bank and an attorney could deliver my check to me. He told me to go Walmart or Walgreen and purchase and "register" by getting a Green Dot Money Pack Scratch Card and put $199 on it. Once I had the card, to call him back and number he called on extension 4 and provide him with the number of the card then he could transfer me to an agent with the bank in order to get my prize winnings delivered to me. He told me to take this seriously and said "this is not a scam". "this is legit". I immediately knew this was a scam but I just stayed on the line with him to get as much information about this scam as possible. I asked him what country he was calling from even though I already knew the cell # was from Jamaica, per my iPhone caller id. He said he was calling from the New York area but immediately went in to explaining that he was using an "offshore Magic Jack" number. Please don't fall victim to these people.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Emmitt Nov 26, 2013

    I am Dave Emmitt, and I have lost over $600K to scammers in the last 5 years. I was tested as a child to have a 165 I.Q., but you sure wouldn't know it from what has happened to me. I have run a successful business here in Colorado for the past 30 years, and now it's all gone. I filed bankruptcy last year, my business went under and I almost lost the home I was raised in and I raised my children in. Most recently, I was approached by David White, who has a Jamaican number [protected]. He promised me $2.5M and a BMW Convertible from American Cash Awards in Las Vegas. Why the hell I fell for this is beyond me. I have now sent him over $16K in Green Dot Moneypack Cards, and yesterday he told me he was in Colorado (for the second time), and was delivering my car and the money. He called an hour later saying he had a flat tire. It was the same excuse he used last time. I didn't hear from him until today, when he called to say that "Mr. Washington" called and the State wanted $4K of taxes. I am finally fed up, but once again, wonder what took me so long. If anyone has any idea how we can get these people behind bars, I would help any way I can. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kiffin A. Garrison, Sr. Sep 11, 2013

    I got a call from a man that said he was with the American Cash Awards and that I had won $2.5 Million $, But I had to pay $400.00 for delivery and Taxes up front to receive it. Is this a scam? I think so.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    TAS1985 Jun 06, 2013

    I received a phone call yesterday from a James Nelson stating that he was an agent with American Cash Awards registered through the better business bureau in washington, DC. I had supposedly won $350, 000 and a brand new 2013 mercedes benz that e would ship today to my house by UPS. They covered 99% of everything, all i had to do was pay 1% which was $299. I had to Wester Union the money to them and he asked me not to tell anyone. He gave me a code and told me not to give it to anyone and anyime he called my phone to ask him my code. He said he was located in Washington DC but called from a Jamaica number 876. He then asked do i have long distance calling so that we can communicate back and forth. I asked how did i win this prize and he said because i am a frequent shopper at Walmart, Kroger and CVS. I told him to take the money out of my cash prize and he said that he couldnt. I currently live in GA because im in the Army but Im from Wash DC. So i asked him could i come there to get the prize instead since i dont have the money. He said no, that they had to delive it to my house to confirm my identity and to ensure that i live at the address. When i said i didnt have $300 to give, he said well i can hold the prize until you get the money but i need a date of when you will have it. Once i got off the phone, i goggled them and saw all kinds of scam reports. And i checked bbb.org and theyre not registered through them. He called me later on that day and i gave him a piece of mind. He hung up and called 15mins later as if the previous conversation never happened. I will not be sending them any of money and i hope you do your research before you send them anything

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dishhome May 14, 2013

    If everyone would just Yahoo the business before you pay anyone you would be better off.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anonomouslady May 14, 2013

    Just got a call. new number is: [protected] they are offering 2.5 mil and a bonus mercedes benz

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr Edp Apr 11, 2013

    Same scam 4/11/13. Caller said he was Jams Monroe (like our 3rd President). Phone number he gave was [protected]. He wanted $3000 up front on my credit card for delivery of $2, 500, 000 prize money. I told him my credit cards were all over-limit...and he replied he'll send money to pay them off, then I could charge his fee to my newly freed up credit card. He actually gave me a routing number and an account number at a small bank in Louisiana, and directed me to call my credit card company to pay off my credit cards with money from this account. I declined to do this. He still continues calling me, but I do not answer the phone.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anonluvers Feb 11, 2013

    I just received a call on my cell from an unknown number, the guy says, "Today is your lucky day sir, you have won five hundred million dollars!" I asked, "who is this?" He states he is from the American Cash Rewards Assn, then ask if I'm John Brown, and I say, "yeesss?" Then he says"Are you still a resident of Louisiana?", to which I respond yes. Then the phone gets staticy and cuts off. How in the heck did they get my name, number, and where I live? All I got to tell them is they don't want to make the mistake of telling ME they know where I live, like they told someone else posted above. I'm a Constitution loving American, if you follow my drift...

    0 Votes
  • De
    de4 Jan 05, 2013

    he has new number

    0 Votes
  • De
    de4 Jan 05, 2013

    some here he his new number now

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jamie O'Toole Apr 30, 2012

    Just received a phone call...I am a third place winner of $350, 000. The reason I won this money is because I pay my bills on time. The name of the company is American Cash Awards! They wanted me to pay them $400.00. Seriously! And they will come to my house to deliver my big check! Yes, they sound Jamaican and claim to be from Vegas. Here is the number they keep calling me from [protected]. Too bad it wasn't Publishers Clearing House! Don't Be Fooled!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shivers Apr 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The american cash awards co is a wide spread group with many different names this one was located in jamaica the callers had jamaican accents probaly usin fake names like detective williams gen mgr. was Bob Billiah They pretended to help me find the people who had scammed me before . THey would call and say they had some information for me and please call back at [protected] and iasked was this ajamaican number they replied no they were in Las Vegas at 3000 las Vegas Blvd much to my dismay I recieved a letter from AT&t thretning to block my Long D9istance Service due to the enormous amount of charges to Jamaica [over 1000 dollars] how can I get these charges charged back to their tel# [protected] they also requested 2 Money Pak cards for 10000 dollars each I am devaststated I am a widow on a pension they claimed I had won two and half million dollars to be sent to me by UPS . What a fool I was but they were very convincing.

    1 Votes
  • Jr
    jr_guru Jan 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just paid over $50 cash to a couple "pre-college program" guys who shoved all kinds of glossy, laminated lists of super expensive magazines at me. After reading above comments re: cancellation & refund nightmares, I'm not sure what to do. And BTW, I believe the company was listed in St Petersburg, FL in this particular instance. The "sponsor" name in my encounter was the same: American Cash Awards. Has anyone found valid contact info on this place's website? AFAIK, the first line of defense in such cases would be both the consumer's local and the company's local BBB. Next would be the consumer's state Attorney General's office. However in this case, I believe a lawsuit may be warranted.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Russchelle Wilson Aug 25, 2011

    I received a call today from a Michael Angilo and he told me that I have had a check there in their office for over two weeks. I had won 2.5 million dollars along with the 2.5 million dollars I would receive a brand new 2011 Mercedes Benz and would receive $50, 000 in one hundred dollar bills. The thing I would have to do is pay the taxes of $250 and then my funds would be delivered within 45 minutes of me sending the money. I asked him what the name of the company was and he said American Cash rewards. I asked for the address there and the telephone number, he said to me "why are you asking all thses questions. I told him that I had been scammed before and I can not take the risk of being scammed again. I then asked him did they have a website and he became angry stating that I should not be worried about that but worried about how I will receive my winnings. I told him I did not have that kind of money and he said well the company can put the winnings on hold until I have the money available. I again asked him for the website address he became angry again and said "why do you have to keep asking me all those questions and that was not important." He said the check is written off of Wells Fargo Bank and that he could send me an email with a copy of the check that made out ot me. I told him yes I want an email. He said the email would contain a copy of the check and it would explain about the taxes and that he will do a follow up call after the email. When I got the call there was no number that showed up it just said incoming call.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katy_Decker Jun 29, 2011

    same..He’s been calling us for over a month from the number [protected]. When we finally answer he tells us the same thing that we have won $550, 000. Then asks us what is 1 percent of the $550, 000?...(he’s telling us if we can tell him the percentage, why wouldn’t he already know this!) Anyways so we told him its $5, 500 and he says that’s all he would need from us to send the money. We told him that he could just take it out of the check he wants to send us and continues to ask for our bank # so he can send us the check... he then tells us we know where you live and says our address out loud on the phone...which was a little creepy. So we continue to say if you want to send it you can, where not going to give you our information. Then he hangs up! He calls back again as if nothing happened and goes on pushing for the money. So we hung up, he still calls every now and then to say the same thing. After our interesting phone conversation I looked up the company they where claiming to be "American cash advance" and also found these similar stories. I then called the FBI who said there was nothing they could do to help and because we didn’t give them our info it wasn’t a big deal that these people are calling. This upset me very much these people are pretty much harassing us with calls and trying to swindle us out of our hard earned money and there’s nothing our FBI wants to do about it!

    -KD

    1 Votes
  • Me
    megared Apr 12, 2011

    Well, low and behold! I received the call also and it was from a Jackson Garvey who wanted me to do a wire transfer through Western Union for the amount of $145.00 to go to a Lue Ann Coleman
    listed at 1518 Sunset Village Dr. in Ducan, TX 75137. He stated I had won $850, 000.000 dollars. I knew it was a scam when he told me to send money and he was verifying the state I lived in and could not say Oklahoma and stated that he was not famaliar with the state's name. He also did not want me to kid around with him about doing the wire transfer because he was sending someone to my home around 1:00 pm to hand me the check, but I had to pay for the fees that were involved first and call him when I had done it. He also warned me that he did not want me to waste the time of those coming to my home, he did not want me to fool around with him about sending the money. Can you believe the audacity of this person? I have turned this information over to the police maybe there is some type of bunco squad to handle this
    problem. I do believe our only protection is people sharing this info with others.

    megared

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    ravenXrouge Feb 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My Nana has sent 30, ooo to this scam! If u answer the phone and its a guy with a Jamaican accent that says his name is John Davenport, its a scam. I tried to go to the phone company to get him blocked but they wont do it w/o the police getting involved. They told her they were bringing her 3 million dollars and that they would come eat lunch with her. DON'T BELIEVE ANYTHING THEY SAY! PROTECT YOUR ELDERLY! THEY WILL FALL FOR THIS SCAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Gordon Petrie Feb 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got the same scam phone call this morning. I actually hung up and called the number back (it is in Jamaica, and the number is [protected].) When I called them back, they had no idea who I was, but insisted they were legitimate. I asked for their address, and they gave an address in Las Vegas that does not exist. I asked for the address again, saying their address doesn't check out and they would not give it to me. I asked for the phone number of American Cash Awards in Las Vegas and [Surprise, Surprise] they said it was down and that is why they are using the Jamaican number. I asked then where are you? and he said Las Vegas . . . I said, but your number says Jamaica . . . He slipped and said, "Oh no mon, I am in Las Vegas. Time to hang up! IT'S A SCAM!

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Fenthem Feb 16, 2011

    [email protected] please email me if someone is actually suing I would love to get my friends money back to him as well.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frann Feb 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The company American cash awards: called me and said I have a check for 2.5 million and all I had 2 do was pay 1percent of the shipping and handling which was $250, then UPS would bring the check to my house!!! I told him I thought it was a scam and I would not be sending the $. His reply was that my check was at The Bank of America and I could call [protected] and speak. with Bruce Clark he could assure me tht it was not a scam. my next? was y do I have 2 speak 2him? and y come they just couldn't take the $ out of my check b4 I get it? after talking to bruce I still was not covenced so I called the actual bank of America and I was told tht it just don't sound right it had 2 b a scam and the only way she could check and see if I had a check at tht bank I had 2 have an account (which I don't) but Bruce said that he was checking and he did see that I had a check. for the amount of 2.5 million. just not believable for me so I want b sending anyone any $ I don't have $ to give away and if thay where not scamers then I guess I'm out of 2.5 million!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    puggizzy Dec 28, 2010

    Reading the other complaints, my encounter happened in July of 2008. After the seller left, I too felt uneasy with the transaction. After repeated attempts to call and fax my cancellation request to the numbers provided I finally got through. I scanned and attached my cancellation request along with my order. Received an email from the person I spoke with that I would receive refund in 4-6 weeks. Repeatedly calling back, asking for a supervisor all with no results. I was told once they received the money (they are a clearing house only) they would send me the check. Of course I never received it. They are now operating as Monitoring Services Network with the same phone number and address in Denver. Better Business Bureau has logged their complaints as well.

    1 Votes
  • Fn
    FNajera Dec 23, 2010

    I guess I'm not the only one I wrote them a check to for like 65 dollars but felt kind of weird after the kid left the house. So I immediately did everything to cancel the transaction so they wont take the money out, but they still did. That was 2008 didn't get my money and it bothers me a lot. I even got an Email from a KRISTEN HANSON. That i"ll be receiving it but pure BS. never heard from her again she said they were in the process of changing to a different banks and grate lakes were working hard. Hard to keep our money. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • In
    inarich Oct 23, 2010

    their new scheme is, send $450 by western union to joan morgan
    331 ogden mill plaza, cohoes ny 12047. this will give a confirmation number to give to person who comes to you to deliver the 1, 000, 000
    dollars. [email protected]

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.