Menu
CB Other Xoom Cancelled my Account
Xoom

Xoom review: Cancelled my Account 8

P
Author of the review
4:04 pm EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

This terrible company provides high fees to send money abroad same as Western Union. I used their service despite their outrageous fees, then one day they decided to close my account without explanation. I email them. No response. Then I called their "customer service" number. Of course I was connected with someone in India who wouldn't give me any information and kept citing laws that allowed them to withhold any information from me. What wonderful customer service. Use Moneygram or Western Union. This is a lousy company with high prices, awful customer service, and poor security measures.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

8 comments
O
O
Onlythebest679
, US
Apr 20, 2023 5:20 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Same situation here. I've been sending money to the Philippines for 4 years and now they close my account for no reason. I appealed the decision and received an email saying they would not answer any more emails and for me to not contact them anymore because my account is closed. Why why. What a pain in the [censored]. I really like xoom because it was so easy to send but WTF now I don't get it. Violated their terms of service by sending money I thought that's what they were in business for! Oh well

C
C
cal-krk
, US
Nov 04, 2016 10:26 pm EDT

These guys are horrible! I opened an account (using my paypal profile) and sent a small amount. The transaction was completed and then they close my account without any warning stating that I had not given all the information. When I called they said that my information was incomplete and that they are closing my account for security reasons per government requirements! If they are concerned about security, they should have done this before the transaction was done..I had to call to keep my account open, I don't understand this company and I don't know why I should even bother keeping my account here. Good thing they closed and lost a customer!

A
A
ANONYMOUSS8
Franklin Park, US
Jan 24, 2011 6:13 am EST

FOR THE PAST 9 DAYS, XOOM HAS BEEN DOING THIS. DOES ANYONE KNOW WHY ? I AM GETTING NO EXPLANATION, AND HALF THE TIME I HAVE TO SUBMIT EXTRA DOCUMENTS, & THAT ME ALREADY DID 4 TIMES: DO THEY NOT SCAN & KEEP THE INFORMATION AS PART OF USER PROFILE, SO THAT TH USER DOES NOT HAVE SUBMIT THE SAME INFORMATION AGAIN. &, WHAT IS THE PROBLEM TO TELL PEOPLE WHY TRANSACTIONS BEING CANCELLED ? WHAT IS TH PROBLEM ?

A
A
ANONYMOUSS8
Franklin Park, US
Jan 24, 2011 6:09 am EST

SAME EXACT THING HAPPENED TO ME ALSO SOME DAYS AGO, THAT XOOM WOULD NOT TELL ME WHY MY TRANSACTIONS WERE BEING CANCELLED & AMOUNT PLACED AS PENDING IN MY CREDIT CARD: NOW WAITING FOR PENDING TO COME OFF OF MY CREDIT CARD TOLD ME THAT XOOM HAS TO TELL MY CREDIT CARD COMPANY TO REMOVE THE PENDING CHARGES. AND, I'M NOT SURE IF MY ACCOUNT IS TERMINATED OR NOT, BECAUSE I CAN LOG IN, BUT NOT ALLOWED TO SEND MONEY.

S
S
shoppersplace
, US
Jun 08, 2010 3:43 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Same thing just happened to me. I live in New York, been sending money to the same girl in Manila for years, now, they sent me an email like yours, about compliance, and no explanation.
Too many terrorists in the Philippines disguised as pretty young girls?

L
L
Larry Young in NY
not disclosed, US
May 06, 2010 12:09 pm EDT

I just had the same problem .. I used them with no issue for months, then suddenly they cancelled with no explanation except that I violated terms of use ... no mention of which of the clauses ... and the same litany about patriot act. I inquired, and they said they are not obligated to explain.

I thought their service was great until then. But I am very annoyed now. I have no idea what they could be objecting to. They said their compliance rules are proprietary and secret.

Charming

J
J
jurassicpork59
Selma, US
Apr 29, 2010 11:36 am EDT

I just went through the same ### with these ###s for the last week. Today, everything came to a head. They cited National Security reasons, as well as invoking the USA PATRIOT Act and the Bank Secrecy act by way of explaining why they canceled not one but TWO accounts. They told me, too, after a lengthy wait on the phone and listening to their 70's porno music that they were under no obligation to share their reasons with me or even to tell me how I'd violated their user agreement.

Sounds like what people go thru when they suddenly find out at the airport that they've been put on No Fly Watch lists. These people are like something out of Kafka.

C
C
Cocoachip
Winchester, US
Apr 22, 2010 9:18 am EDT

I had no problems with them until recently; Xoom canceled my account without an explanation citing violations of terms. Calls and email gave no answers as that the customer service personnel on the phone basically told me the same thing that was on the original email that canceled my account, however she did give me an address to write so that I could ask for the reasons the account was canceled. The email that I sent to them requesting an explanation is still unanswered.I thought this was a quality organization, guess I was wrong.