The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Xoom.comXoom is not safe. Dont ever put your bank account info

X Review updated:

DONT EVER USE XOOM unless you want your bank account to be hacked. I have used xoom around 5 times and there was no problem first. Then today, I got a bank alert that an electronic draft was deducted from my bank account and it originated from xoom for 1000 dollars. What the ###. I did not make a transaction and I am only using one computer.

Someone was able to steal my bank account info from xoom. It must be an inside job. There were no transactions recorded for my xoom account. Someone must have used my bank info from their database and setup a new account.

Where the hell is the confirmation calling the actual bank account owner!! ### XOOM. Dont use it ever. Anyone can get your information. May even be an inside job.

I just got ripped off 1000 dollars and my bank told me that they cant do anything about it.

I called them several times for the span of 4 hours at least and nobody answers their hotline.

Nobody responds to my emails...

I hope nobody else is ripped off by this ###ing monkey business


Dennis

Responses

  • Ma
    Manuel Costa Jan 24, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Guess what, since I already provided my bank account details to Xoom, and they did not deliver the transferred money, only writing back an forth to me with all kinds of excuses about their partner failing to deliver etc. and ignoring my other questions. So what I did I opened a new bank account and am closing the old one, so that Xoom no longer can try to steal more money from my bank account.

    Boycott XOOM!

    0 Votes
  • Mw
    M.w. Pier May 25, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife accidentally resent a payment to a gal she bought a purse from. We called within minutes to cancel the send but they would not even lift a finger to do anything about it. Crap customer service. Also they should have some security. My wife did it by accident they don't even have the "Are you sure" button . Totally crap service.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tofi1 Jun 18, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Tried to send money using Xoom.com but they ask for too much information, and want me to send it via open, unencrypted email. I told them I’m PayPal verified and have been doing business there for almost 20 years I was told that they don’t get any support from PayPal and they operate independently. I offered to mail them the documents but they wouldn’t have it. They claim they are regulated by the banking industry and federal govt., when I informed them that the banking industry dictates all personal information to be sent using secure methods they had no answer.

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    Bob-USA Sep 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Agree - Xoom is a BADly disreputable company, and with their employees asking for copies of personal government id cards, as well as bank account information (especially when paying with credit card) it is not much of a jump to suspect that the insiders (which all seem to have indian accents) are involved in scamming.
    They allege to be owned by Paypal and a US company - probably for purposes of the PR (PRopaganda), but with that type of unmitigated nerve asking for such personal info under the pretense of confirming a transcation, I suspect that are simply some 3rd world operation which their American owners choose to ignore for purposes of nothing else than corporate greed. Stay FAR FAR away from Xoom.

    0 Votes
  • Iz
    Izzy1010 May 05, 2016

    So if I don't put any info in would I be fine

    0 Votes
  • Sr
    srinivasak Nov 06, 2012

    Don't use doom unless you want to distribute your personal info to some unknown persons. It's a bad experience for me..after my first transfer...I saw some other transactions in my bank account. Please don't believe Zion...doom account is not a secured.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    adones10 Jul 02, 2012

    i honestly wanted to tried this service and it looked great but something about giving my bank account or credit card made me search if it was safe. surely all this comments helped me to decide not too. thanks everyone for their opinion and preventing others for getting scam.

    -1 Votes
  • Pu
    pulseps Jun 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    why our bank not liable for this fraud transaction made by xoom or others?
    i made transaction thru xoom last week. after reading this i talk to my bank. they told me i am not liable for any fraud so dont worry. they have some cases for xoom fraud. and they are dealing with investigation. however, they always wins over xoom.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Wisegal May 26, 2012

    Was looking at other funding/receiving sources. THANK you everyone for your imput. Did you also file on /link removed/ ?? I agree with someone above about bbb being a joke anymore. Online reviews are what saves me from alot of mistakes. If there was more justice in the world these thieves would be put out of business. I cannot believe this is a few years later and they are still in business !!! Have any of you complained to interpol? This does seem like a worldwide hack scam where FBI/ police reports are justified but need quite a few collective efforts to shut their outfit down!

    0 Votes
  • El
    elev2 May 13, 2011

    DO NOT USE XOOM, IT WORKS, BUT IT IS NOT SAFE. My credit card was compromised right after using it (for the first time). Fortunately, I only got test charges from - allegedly - apple store, netflix, some credit report company, and a sexy site, all for 1$. The credit card company stopped them pending my authorization, so no harm beyond having the card reissued

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jawadh555 Oct 27, 2010

    absolutely ! guys thanks a lot, i was just about to transfer 700 usd. just i filled all my bank info and was about to click 'send' button, before that i read this complaint. BETTER BE FAR FROM SUCH SITES. Thanks once again guys !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bambi nee Jul 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've been using western union eversince. since i find xoom.com "cheaper" as it may on d first glance, i planned to send money just today. But I'm about to go to their site when this blog appeared on the list of my search! Thank you so much for the information. This helped !

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    keepitreal Jul 04, 2010

    What's the big deal about foul language? allow people to vent their annoyance; if you were the one who had lost such an amount of money I am sure you will not be blessing the crooks!

    2 Votes
  • Mn
    MN2010 Jun 30, 2010

    I appreciate the information but do NOT appreciate the foul language used in some of the comments. Does that not get cleaned up before being published?

    0 Votes
  • Mn
    MN2010 Jun 30, 2010

    I appreciate the information but do NOT appreciate the foul language being used in the comments.

    MN2010

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dontGETscam2 May 30, 2010

    IT IS A SCAM!!! DO NOT USE THIS SITE! JUST A SCAM

    2 Votes
  • So
    Solmate Feb 18, 2010

    Unfortunately I did not read your site before becoming involved with these crooks. Approximately 7 weeks ago I began a transaction that as of this moment has still not been completed. It involves over $4500 usd. The representatives of the company are all either incompetent or liars and I tend towards dual diagnoses. They are a constant put you off and not answer questions group of jerks who do nothing but get my blood pressure up. I have filed for a termination of the transactions and a full refund and have so far gotten no where. These folks make the BBB look stupid by giving them an A+ rating given all the complaints that the BBB has received. I may get on the "the BBB is a joke" platform very shortly if something doesn't happen. UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES SHOULD YOU DO ANY BUSINESS WITH XOOM.COM unless you are prepared to lose all your money.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cargoman Nov 27, 2009

    I am so glad I found this page - I was about to use them - after a horrendous experience with my own bank - a transfer I had made from US bank to a UK bank was mishandled.
    Not only that but I paid 40 usd for the transfer then an intermediary bank took another 20 dollar charge - and the final exchange rate was not particuarly competitive. The transfer should have been overnight and ended up taking 14 days - this is dealing with big name banks.
    For any UK readers - I strongly recommend moneycorp look them up on the net -
    I have used them from the UK worldwide and they are excellent. Unfortunately they do not work in the USA. Regarding Xoom there customer support is spread out between Dominican Republic and the Philippines- both countries known for high crime.
    DONT USE XOOM - No way am I going to give them my bank account details

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    Smart Pinay Nov 17, 2009

    I agree with most of the complaints here. People didn't realize that xoom has the lowest exchange rate. It really is not aligned with prevailing rates. Customers should realize that Xoom is charging too much in their service because aside from lowest exchange rate they charge extra fee. If you'll choose US dollar on how you want to send money, they charge a lot because they're not making any profit from it. If you'll send $2999 they'll charge you $60 fee (that is if u want to send money in US dollars), if you'll choose peso, they'll only charge $7.99 (which is very low) but you should realize that they making a lot of profit because of lowest exchange rate... and therefore, Xoom is not cheapest way of sending money. Xoom is actually one of the expensive. Western Union will only charge $45 for sending $3000, Xoom charge $60 if you'll send it in US dollar. This is the fact... think twice and realize how you loose money using Xoom.com.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bonzkie Kid Oct 02, 2009

    When I started to use Xoom.com everything was fine until I needed to send money for an emergency. Xoom delayed the transfer of the money. Everytime I would ask for somebody to help me from thier customer service I was refered to 7 different employees who gave me 7 ifferent expalnations to the cause of the delay. Until I was forced to avail of the express service which cost me more than $ 30. WHAT A SCAM!!! After that I have stopped to use Xoom.com. Also XooM.com has a very Low conversion (exchange) rate which is not aligned with prevailing rates. Everytime you use XooM.com you are being short changed.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MIMISKY Sep 19, 2009

    The fraud department there is most likely a bunch of undocumented citizens trying to steal your identity with no real education, certificates, or special training to be in that line of work! Maybe we should all visit their headquarters and see for ourselves who is running the show over there...lol!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MIMISKY Sep 19, 2009

    Internal scammers is exactly right!! Is xoom.com really under investigation?? If not how can we get one started? I will put up some of the money to make this happen...anyone else with me on this!! Seriously!

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    MIMISKY Sep 19, 2009

    Hey everyone,

    Actually if you all want to know what is going on I will tell you, most of the employees that work there have no education and on top of that one employee that works there like's to work in jobs where he has access to peoples banking info, and social security numbers. Im sure there are a few well known reasons why. As far as not being able to talk to an actual live person, thats because they are all behind computers and not going to pick up the phone knowing quite well that they are mentally uncapable (uneducated) of handling customer complaints or issues orally. For all the people who may or may have dealt with xoom, many of them dont speak english very well either (another reason why they don't pick up the phone) Most of their phone numbers do not go directly to a person and if they do the employee will 10 times out of 10 NOT PICK UP!! Advice to all when it comes to your hard earned money, stick with a company who has been around for a very long time! For such a small company with one headquarters they sure have alot of customer complaints. How do these people sleep at night, really!

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whos watching Aug 12, 2009

    I've never used the company in yet my debit card info was used in a $ 160.00 charge never authorised, what the hell is this!!! My bank stopped the transfer but it will still take 7-10 days to get the money back.

    My question is how if I never used them did they get my info!!!?

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    hougsy Aug 05, 2009

    xoom has problems with internal scammers and they are stealing details of your bank accounts cc etc..
    also approve transactions that are false, not authorized. Consumers beware xoom is not a company anyone should trust as they are simply ripping everyone off. I have had over 200, 000 complaints internationally so [please beware, xoom is currently under investigation and will be prosecuted.
    regards

    0 Votes
  • Or
    oruga Jul 27, 2009

    WARNING!!!
    DON'T USE XOOM!!! I used my credit card to transfer money to my ccount in Colombia. The money was never deposited into the bank account. I called several times and they said "It will be transfered tomorrow" and so. Then, after many complaints, the cancellation process started but I'm still waiting for my refund. I lost my money. Don't trust this system!!!

    1 Votes
  • Al
    alen.93 Jul 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i used my credit card for 6 mouths with this. and never ask ID till now, my ID expired resantly, now im blocked i use this many times (have like 4 friends there) never had a problem till the ask for copy of my ID at random with no warning, i dont drive, no place has ever ask me for my ID, i guess it worked ok for me while it lasted, it was just $20 servral times.

    -1 Votes
  • Av
    avictimofxoom May 04, 2009

    [censored], wish I had read this information earlier. we have just been hacked $1000 too... by a Fillipino Woman !!! WTF !!!
    P/s: I have asked my friend in the Fillipine since I got the receiver's real name, and I found out it was a woman ... now we are trying to contact the police there to arrest her !!! Better run away for your life ### !!!

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    peedoff Mar 20, 2009

    The same thing has just happened to me. I was using xoom successfully for several transactions of $2500. Yesterday I noticed a fraudulent transaction of $2500 to Carlos Lopez in Mexico. I have only ever sent money to a UK bank. Xoom customer service is useless, you only get to speak to someone in the Phillipines.

    DON'T USE XOOM!!! BEWARE OF XOOM.

    1 Votes
  • To
    TOTTO Mar 14, 2009

    no way dude, i just did a $30 test and gave wrong secret code after noticing the scam, then when i went inside looking for the cancel button which used to be there, now it's gone so i emailed and called them and they quickly processed money or stole it, i am sure now they work with scammers especially from the new nigeria the philipines...beware people NEVER USE XOOM, SCAMMERS PARADISE...

    0 Votes
  • Tj
    tjbrooks Mar 01, 2009

    I had the same problem on around the same date - it appears they were doing site maintenance and an earlier transaction had been duplicated. After dealing with the fraud department (the original department I spoke to were useless) the funds were deposited back into my bank the next day, and they also refunded me my overdraft charges by check within a few days.
    I was more pissed with my bank who claimed they were unable to stop a pending transaction even when they know it is fraudulent.
    I still use xoom am am still happy using their low cost service.

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.