The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Wells Fargo Property Losswells fargo holds insurance repair checks hostage

W Review updated:

Complaint: Wells Fargo Mortgage holds mortgagors insurance check hostage while needed repairs to roof go unaddressed due to mortgagors inability to pay for repairs without insurance funds.

9/1/2009 – Fed Ex with Mortgagors insurance check for $18, 263.73, Property Loss paperwork and a return Fed Ex Self Addressed envelope arrives at Wells Fargo Property Loss Address.

9/8/2009 11:35 AM – Liz Salemme from Wells Fargo Property Loss Department faxes mortgagors a copy of contractor form for additional mortgagors signature.

(Takes 4 business days for someone to look at paperwork and figure out that one of the mortgagors signatures is missing from the contractor form – there isn’t even room for two signatures on the form. Someone at Wells Fargo should be opening the packets and checking in all docs immediately and if something is missing the mortgagor should be notified within 24 hours.)

9/8/2009 11:45 AM – Mortgagor returns fax of contractor form with husband mortgagors signature to Liz Salemme. Fax is confirmed received and completes all requirements to begin processing.

(7 More business days to review paperwork and cut a check?)

9/16/2009 – Date on Check and letter to mortgagors and contractor.

9/21/2009 – Storm hits Atlanta with record rainfall – roof on mortgagors property still not fixed due to contractor waiting on funds from insurance proceeds sent to Wells Fargo 3 weeks prior. Additional damage may have occurred to roof during this period due to state of roof from prior incident – will not know until contractor can get back on roof to fix original repairs.

9/24/2009 – Check for $9, 131.87 is received by mortgagors via USPS (WHAT HAPPENED TO THE FED EX ENVELOPE THAT WE SENT SO THAT THE CHECK COULD BE EXPEDITED SO WE COULD GET THIS ROOF FIXED??)

This is ridiculous that it should take us this long to get the money back for the repairs we need to make to our home. Your procedures need to be changed so that you return mortgagors insurance funds back to them in a more timely manner. It is ridiculous that you get to sit on the funds for this long. And we are outraged that we sent a Fed Ex envelope in with our paperwork and that it was NOT used. Your paperwork says that if you wish to send a self paid Fed Ex in that the check can be mailed back in that. This is a ROOF repair – funds are needed quickly to fix this! We can only hope that the second half of the funds will come back faster than the first.

Please look at your procedures and reduce the time that the money gets back into the mortgagors hands to fix the needed items at their properties. You are taking advantage of the insurance check funds of your mortgagors! This must stop!

Responses

  • La
    Laina Hall Nov 01, 2019

    Another victim of the Property Loss Division at Wells Fargo here.
    Took a month of almost daily calls to get first third of homeowners claim check released, with repeated confirmation that the second installment would be released at 50% completion of repairs as deemed by an inspector and the final amount released at 90% completion as deemed buying inspector.
    Inspection approved at better than 90%, and surprise surprise, I'm now told that no money will be disbursed until repairs are at 100% completion. Not once in two and a half months did any of the multiple representatives' I had conversations with ever state that figure! And all they can say is they're sorry that all the rest of their co-workers screwed up and either lied to me or were completely incompetent at doing their job!

    0 Votes
  • My
    Mya Lemon Gutweiler Nov 18, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I totally agree with all of these comments about Wells Fargo and how they holding MY money hostage. My home here in Louisiana flooded 3 months ago and dealing with this company is a complete nightmare. My insurance company (Allstate) and our adjuster were great and very thorough. It's now dealing with WF and the 3rd party they have handling the property loss checks. I foresee an attorney in our future.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    ROBWATCH Apr 23, 2015

    ; ABUNCH OF CROOKS, KKEPING THE PAYOUT MONEY FOR SANDY RECOVERY BUNCHING A PAYOUT TOGETHER TO
    CRETE CONFUSION, SWITCHING UP DOCUMENTS HIRING PEOPLE TO AB=NSWER THE PHONE THAT ACT DUMB, OIT=R ARE REALLY DUMB, SO, YIUR REEMBURSMENT TAKES LONGER IE THEY GET THE INTEREST, BECUSE THEY SEND THE CASH OVERSEAS EVERY NITE! WHY SHOULD THEY PAY U AND IF YO DEFALUT WHICH THEY WANT THEY GET PAID
    THEY AR SERVICING MY MORTGAGE TAH=KEN OVER FOM ORIGINATOR, WAS FINE TWO FAMILY BILLS COVERED HUD LOAN COVERED BY RENTAL APT, 1100.0 AGAINST 815 AMONTHALL TAXES ANDISUANCE INCLIUDED, ND THEN SANDY HIT
    THA INSURANCE MPANY AND FEMA SABATAGED MY RECOVERY, AND THE BANK IS TRYIG TO FORECLOSE CAUSE THEY WANT THE MORTGAGE INSURANC, SCREW PAYMENTS! FROM ME I ANT GOING DOWN SO AEASY I WLL SUE THEM FEMA AND THE II=NSURANCE COMPANT ROBERTG THEY HAVE A HOME PRESUVATION DEPT THREE SHIFTS TO DO FORCLISURESM], , WATCH OUT FOR THE COMPANY THAT WORKS FOR THEM TO SET UO THE FORECLOSER WITH TILTED HOME INSPECTIONS IN THE MDDDLE OF THE NITE E ESPECIALLY IF YIUR IN A DISASTER AREA THETYY TARGET TEACH THE WLLS FARGO STAFF TO SIDE STEP COMPLAINTS AND KEEP THE PUBLISITY DOWN YELL AND TELL EVERYONE WE WANT 20 / 20 TO INVESTIAGTE THERE GOING DOWN I KNOW MANY PEOPLE THAT WILL SPEAK UP SO BE VERBAL T= AND LET ME KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON I AM BUILDING THE FACT TO PRESENT A CASE ROBERT [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    Who the Hel Aug 05, 2014

    Oh boy - Wells Farto strikes again! That's is, never stops scamming people. If you want those feckers to tow the line - file an on line complaint against WF with the OCC (federal office of Comptroller and Currency). Your problem will be solved within 3 working days - trust me!

    A few years back WF - unilaterally - and arbitrarily - opened an escrow account in my name - without my permission - w/o my signature. If you or I opened an acoount in someone elses name without their permission we would be put in jail.

    WF then added the escrow account amount to my subsequent mortgage statements saying I owed them 4 grand - then it was 6 grand - then it was 8 grand - and to pay up - or foreclosure proceedings would be instituted. WF bought my mortgage from Wachovia who bought from World Bank.

    I have NEVER had an escrow account and have ALWAYS paid my taxes and insurance directly because I just don't trust these people. Anyway - after 4 MONTHS of the run around - and not being able to talk with an actual person - and faxing info over and over and over again - finally filed an online complaint with the OCC - and let me tell you - the problem was fixed within 24 hours of them receiving the complaint - which was served on them by the OCC the day after i filed it. Hmmmm

    I just made a damage claim - the adjuster came out - the check was in the mail all within a week. When I saw it was made out to myself and Wells Farto - my heart sank. I thought - trouble's definitely a brewing! I may just send the check back to my insurance company and do the repairs myself. Either that or the headache of dealing w/those feckers - which I know will only cause me grief and will only be resolved by filing another complaint w/the OCC. Do I want that headache? I don't think so.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    regaus Jul 15, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    While searching for Executive Response Team contact information I found this thread. Wow, nearly seventy stories which all share a central theme; "We can't release funds until you have completed the repairs. But, now you've completed the repairs so we're not able to release funds." These people are a special kind of stupid.

    I, too, am stuck in this cycle. And while I would gladly join in any Class Action status, I feel it's something which will take a long time to bring about. In the meantime, is there any governing agency with which a formal complaint can be lodged? Has anyone contacted their states Representative(s)? For reference, I am located in FL.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Class Action NOW Mar 09, 2014

    We are also victims of Wells Fargo's Banking fraud and racketeering conspiracy. Our home was damaged due to freezing/flood Dec. 8th. Our insurance company, First American Casualty, has been nothing less than PHENOMENAL in taking care of us, truly. We were forewarned by the insurance adjusters about Wells Fargo and this nightmare.

    I called First AM Casualty and requested that we send them back the checks and that THEY disburse the funds as needed, and we would provide them all invoices and receipts and cancelled checks to account for the expenditures for repairs, and that they could send out their adjusters to inspect and verify the work and workmanship done. I was told they had never done it that way before, and that under insurance law, amounts over a certain dollar amount required the insurance company to put the mortgagee as a "co-endorser" on insurance funds. Before ever finding this website and seeing this corroborating evidence to my suspicions, we were faced with not endorsing the checks and doing nothing as the insurance company offered no help or solutions to get the funds to us and the work repairs completed, or endorse the checks and see what comes of it. My suspicions have been confirmed in spades. We (and the local WF branch managers, who have been very courteous and helpful to the extent they can be) were told the first disbursement of three was mailed last Wednesday. It is now Saturday, TEN DAYS LATER, and still no check. There is a term for this: DEADBEATS and CONMEN!

    The evidence thus far seen, suggests Wells is engaged in a racketeering conspiracy (RICO) to defraud victims of insurance funds that they are legally entitled to and are owed them for a specific lawful purpose, which purpose is being deliberately undermined to cause further and irreparable harm to them for the purpose of profiting illegally from interest realized on the monies improperly withheld.

    We will immediately exhaust all legal remedies to resolve this matter, and are doing the legal research now to pursue a class action lawsuit as the number of victims on this one website alone give CLEAR evidence that there are more than enough victims to certify a class action status to our lawsuit and obtain damages for all victims and hopefully obtain treble damages for Wells Fargo's egregious and deliberate tortious conduct and scheme. It will be interesting and enlightening under discovery to determine the extent and the amount of the money improperly withheld from plaintiffs, AND THE INTEREST WELLS ACCRUED ON THE MONIES. The unjust enrichment through fraud and racketeering Wells has amassed should rightly be forfeited to plaintiffs.

    MANY victims have expressed their desire to participate as plaintiffs in a class action lawsuit to be made whole and recover damages and, most importantly, to end this egregious fraud and abuse. If you are a victim of Wells Fargo involving property loss claim fraud, PLEASE contact me at: [email protected]

    Thanks to everyone who've posted their Wells Fargo horror experience. Very enlightening for all.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    sks1014 Oct 17, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    And the beat goes on, it is 2013 and they are still holding checks. They have had my son's insurance check for damages in a hail storm for 3 years. They call every three weeks wanting to know we are going to do about finishing the job. Can't finish it unless we have the money which they will not release. A person can't talk to the same person a different one each time, You send them info and they can't find it. Someone needs to do something so they get their act together.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Git'erdone Aug 24, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes, I too am having difficulty getting my funds released. Our town had three devastating tornadoes hit on May 15, 2013. I submitted approximately $20, 000 to escrow according to their instructions (I have, btw, found someone with Wells Fargo who will endorse my checks for me in the future should something else occur). I fought with the property loss department for over a month trying to get enough money released to have my roof fixed but the amount I asked for was over the 1/3 policy. I got online with Google and found the President of WFHM who is Mike Heid and sent him an email...I believe that email is [email protected] so feel free to contact him personally. I heard from someone in the Executive Complaints department later that same day and was at least able to get my roof funds released...we will see what the future holds. Oh, and maybe it will help to give you that Department's phone number as well...[protected] ext 45569...I may just be ready for a class action.

    0 Votes
  • Pc
    P.C.S. Inc. Jul 23, 2013

    Federal Reserve Consumer Help and/or the 07/23/2013
    Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
    State Representative Mike Fasano and the
    Office of the Florida State Attorney General

    CC. Wells Fargo Corporate Governance
    John Stumpf, Chairman and CEO

    Hello,
    My name is Russell Vaughn, General Manager of Professional Construction Specialist Inc. (PCS)
    I am having an issue with Wells Fargo Bank, National Association that I cannot get any traction on at all.
    We did a Sinkhole Remediation Repair on a home in Hernando County, Florida that has a mortgage lien with Wells Fargo. Our Company has been paid From the Insurance Company the sum of $29, 964.00 as an initial down payment for work to be performed at the address 8392 Gallup Rd. Spring Hill, Fl. 34608 and these funds were sent to Wells Fargo for endorsement and disbursement of the funds. The project is complete and we cannot get our 1/3rd down payment ($29, 964.00) released from Wells Fargo. This money has been in Wells Fargo possession for a very long time and we now have an estimated $70, 000.00 that is due and going to be coming into the possession of Wells Fargo that we anticipate the same issues with.
    We have been doing business for 11years in Hernando, Pasco, Pinellas and Hillsbourgh Counties in the State of Florida operating as John Cavalier Homes Inc. On 04/05/2013 we changed the name of our Company to Professional Construction Specialist Inc.
    Wells Fargo claims that when they pull our EIN number it shows as John Cavalier Homes Inc.
    So they asked me for supporting documentation (which is understandable) and I sent the documentation needed four times. I am experiencing the run around and being given a multitude of lies and excuses why they have not released the funds that they are illegally holding.
    As you will see by the illustrations below our small business is being bullied by a Big Banking Corporation that is not concerned with our existence and certainly not threated by us.

    06/26/13
    Sent articles of Incorporation showing the legal name change as per the state of Florida also IRS Tax Form 1120 stamped and sealed by the IRS. (As per Wells Fargo request)
    06/26/13
    Called Adjuster Sharon Baker with Citizens Insurance to have documentation of the 1/3rd down payment sent to her. (As per Wells Fargo request)


    07/09/13
    Wells Fargo could not locate check and said they had not received it. I checked the routing number and it had been signed for. Called Wells Fargo back and they said it would be 24-48 hours before it would post.

    07/11/13
    a. Called Wells Fargo talked with Sheila Mozingo at Wells Fargo and she said that the EIN did not match. I explained that I had sent all the Information needed to overcome that issue.
    b. She said the form I used was outdated and it was from 2011. I called the IRS and it is the same form used in 2013.
    c. Called Wells to tell them it was the same form. They said they knew that!
    d. Re-sent the W-9 IRS Form along with Articles of Incorporation and IRS Form 1120 (As per Wells Fargo request)

    07/11/13
    Supervisor Damon White was supposed to call me and he did not.
    07/12/13 Called Wells Fargo and spoke with Dakota Mclean. She put me on a very long hold and did nothing to help. She acted like she had no power and couldn’t get anyone to help but she said she would have Supervisor Damon White call me.

    07/14/13
    a. Spoke with Iesha Green…Said she would talk with Supervisor Damon White and call me back before 5:00 pm
    b. Re-sent IRS Forms, Article of Inc. 12 pages of information (As per Wells Fargo request)
    c. She did not call back
    07/16/13
    a. Spoke with Laqisha Bell…Same I know nothing.
    b. She said she would have Supervisor Damon White call
    c. He did not call
    07/18/13
    a. Spoke with Natisha Brown…Knows nothing
    b. Transferred to Deedra who ask me to submit a letter giving permission to have the check cut in the homeowners name only.
    c. Letter was sent giving that permission
    d. Sent Articles of Inc. and IRS Form again (As per Wells Fargo request)
    07/19/13
    a. Lee Paul transferred me to Specialist Evon Mahom
    b. Evon Mohom told me that they were overnighting a check for $19, 976.00 on Monday instead of the $29, 964.00 due
    c. Check will be sent in the next 24-48 business hours $9988
    d. She said she was going to submit the balance to upper management for approval (Supervisor Damon White)
    e. She told me she would call me back
    f. SHE DID NOT SUBMIT/ SHE DID NOT CALL BACK/ NO CHECK ISSUED

    07/22/13
    a. Called Wells Fargo talked to Antwania Allen
    b. At 12:27pm She said she would call Supervisor Damon White and call me back at 2:27pm
    c. She did call back and told me she was working on getting the funds released but she would need to call me back by 3:00
    d. She did not call back
    e. At 3:15pm not expecting that she would call back…I called her and was able to locate her.
    f. She put me on an extended hold while she was to get Supervisor Damon White on the phone.
    g. She asked to give me a call back and I asked to get this resolved
    h. I asked if she had an extension that I could ask for, she said there was no extension to her phone
    i. I asked about Departments above the one I was speaking with. She was very protective on giving names or department that might be able to help. She insisted that she didn’t even know where the text, messages, phone calls, etc. went to.
    j. While she had me on hold for Supervisor Damon White…She hung up

    07/22/13
    a. Called back to Wells Fargo asked for Antwania Allen
    b. She was unavailable and would not take the call
    c. Talked with Latoya who would not give her last name and was rude
    d. She said she would call me back and she did
    e. She called Sharon Baker (Citizens Ins.) and asked for documentation that would show that this payment was to be paid. This was already done on 06/26/13

    07/22/13
    Payment is still in the same mode it has been in since the start.

    07/22/13
    Called Sharon Baker at Citizens Insurance. She stated that she is not offering any further documentation to Wells Fargo and she doesn’t have the time to hold on the phone waiting to speak to multiple people only to get the same run around that I am making you aware of here.

    Phone numbers:
    Sharon Baker with Citizens Ins. [protected] Ext. 6297
    Wells Fargo [protected]
    Homeowner:
    Brian and Jennifer Fitzpatrick
    8392 Gallup Rd.
    Spring Hill, Fl. 34608
    Ph. [protected]

    They (Wells Fargo) keep revolving around the same canned responses and stalls over and over. You can never talk with the same person and none of them seem to know what they are doing. The money that they are holding belongs to us and Wells Fargo has no right to it at this point.
    We are finished and we are still waiting for our startup funds to be released.
    One thing that seems to be apparent other than the fact that they are deliberately trying to hold the funds is that Supervisor Damon White seems to be the ringleader that all the other people answer to and he is not concerned in the least with a small business in Florida.
    Supervisor Damon White has never made contact with me nor has he given this its deserved attention. I can’t help but think if Damon Whites family and the families of his co-workers pay checks were dependent on this check being returned how he would view this differently.

    Please look at these other people that are being bullied by Wells Fargo.
    Wells Fargo Property Loss — wells fargo holds insurance repair checks hostage

    Any help you can provide is more than appreciated.

    Thank you,

    Russell Vaughn

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    gioggig Jul 03, 2013

    go lawyersandsettlements . com learn how the illegal lotterygambling and the ponzi scheme works.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John de Beck Jun 19, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    my experience is similar to all of the above. $48, 000 plus is in these guys hands and I have yet to get a dime.. Thats after spending over 10 k of my own money to get much of the work started. Now no progress payments and no credit left. Let's sue as a class action, or get a congressional action including exemption from any federal bail out money, OR BOTH!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John de Beck Jun 19, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I WANT TO FIND OTHERS WITH DELAYS LIKE THIS TO JOIN IN A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT... I don't object to a loss payable clause in a mortgage, but cannot find a place in mine that says the lender can hold up repairs by establishing unreasonable requirements for owner reimbursement and getting all the insurance money that was jointly issued to them and the homeowner to hold without providing interest for the time of delay...my claim is a month old and no money yet! I sure would like to withhold my payments this long without penalty... john de beck, email [email protected]

    The employees at their service center must be paid by the number of apologies they are forced to give for their broken system! I couldn't work there and have to lie as often as they do!

    0 Votes
  • As
    Assurant Apr 13, 2013

    Well you call Wells Fargo Property Loss Dept. you are not talking to Wells Fargo employees!! When you call the property loss dept. you are talking to a 3rd party administrator hired by WELLS FARGO to handle their property loss claims, LPI and Insurance claim reporting!!! WF hired Assurant Specialty Property and clearly does not monitor its claim processing or homeowner complaints with the repair process. Assurant hires the staff through staffing agencies. They go through (sometimes) 2 or 3 week training before taking calls however the training forces them to learn a process they do not understand and cannot provide empathy because many have never owned a home. The training is put together by Assurant for their client Wells Fargo. I knew right off that something was wrong with this process because I own a home and have been through a disaster.
    Assurant provides the same service for Chase Property Loss however Chase customers complained to CEO's and Board of Directors which forced changes on how Assurant was handling their claims processing, complaints and CUSTOMER SERVICE. NOW CHASE oversees all complaints and ensures they're resolved.
    Wells Fargo Property Loss is horrible and will continue to be that way until the Wells Fargo is made of aware of the issues. When you ask to speak to a manager you will never get a manager they have several procedures in place before you can even get one to talk to a homeowner so normally you will get a Team Lead with no authority acting as a Supervisor, their are none! The Loss Draft Specialist talk to homeowners like it's their money and they have all the power and control!! OMG forget about getting any money released if your loan status is delinquent you will send in 50 million documents before they release money! When I pull up a claim and its delinquent I feel sick to my stomach because I know they have about 30 to 50 documents posted to their claim file and NO money has been released. They purposely do all they can not to release the money!!! But it's even worse when the Loan status is delinquent! Someone needs to do an audit of on Wells Fargo's Claims. People are not being treated fairly!!! AND this 3rd party needs to be held accountable for how they're processing property loss claims.

    0 Votes
  • As
    Assurant Apr 13, 2013

    Listen people!!! you are not taking to Wells Fargo employees/STAFF!!! when you call the hazard insurance precessing center you are talking to a 3rd party administrator hired by WELLS FARGO to handle their property loss claims, LPI and Insurance claim reporting!!! WF hired Assurant Specialty Property. So the Associates/Reps work for a company this company. Assurant hires the staff through staffing agencies. These folks do not own homes they do not care about you! They go through training before taking calls however the training forces them to robotically learn the process Assurant has put together for their client Wells Fargo.
    Now listen Assurant provides the same service for Chase Property Loss however Chase customers complained to CEO's and Board of Directors which forced changes on how Assurant was handling their claims and CUSTOMER SERVICE. NOW CHASE oversees all complaints and ensures they're resolved.
    Wells Fargo Property Loss is horrible and will continue to be that way until the Wells Fargo is made of aware of the issues. When you ask to speak to a manager you will never get manager first you will get a Team Lead with no authority! The Specialist talk to homeowner like it's their money!! OMG forget it if your loan status is deliquent you will send in 50 million docs before they release money! They purposely do all they can not to release the money!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    ChrisnBeth Mar 27, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife and I had our home hit by a drunk driver on Christmas morning of 2012. The battle with the insurance company was hard enough, but what Wells Fargo did was much worse. A check in the amount of 21, 000.00+ dollars was sent to us. The contractor and my wife had to endorse it along with Wells Fargo. When it came time for Wells Fargo to endorse it, the check went over to their property loss department who sent us a thirteen page letter with a checklist of things they wanted from us and the contractor, and multiple signature slots. We provided everything we could and more. We were very compliant. Our compliance was met with a stone wall. Wells Fargo held the check for approximately two to three months more. The individuals in their property loss department lied to us multiple times, once they even told me they weren't allowed to speak to me because my name wasn't on the account (we had signed and turned in multiple documents that made me the primary contact), I let it go at a mistake of the individual at first until I spoke with another representative who said that it's obvious and one of the first things seen when they pull up the account. I then proceeded to file a complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Within 24hrs of receiving my complaint, Wells Fargo called us and had a check Fed-Ex Shipped to us, in the wrong amount. Fortunately for me, my contractor is willing to work with this. In the future any insurance checks I receive will be written in amounts smaller than 10, 000.00, that way I can keep Wells Fargo out of the process. I will certainly be taking all of my business away from Wells Fargo, no matter what the personal cost. To me, it's worth whatever penalties I have to pay to hurt their business as much as I can individually. I will also be spreading the word about them and hopefully saving others the despair that my wife and I have experienced.

    0 Votes
  • Wf
    WFH Mar 19, 2013

    Hello
    Wells Fargo's Loss draft department is a mess. I just started working for the department! I'm astounded by the process in place that we have to tell homeowners. I am a homeowner! WF call center for Loss draft is similar to a collection call center. How they advise you to deal with the claim process is just like collections. The claim process is repeated robotically with no common sense what's so ever. The people they hire are majority non homeowners so they do not understand.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Doreyb Jan 07, 2013

    I just went through a nightmare with WF also. I recommend calling the executive complaint line for help. The more complaints they get maybe they will start helping and not hurting their customers. [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ld
    LDunc Dec 28, 2012

    Wow, I would like to say I'm in shock, but I'm not! We just went through this a few months ago with their home modification department, almost exactly! It was always one excuse after another, drug out for over a year, then at 3pm the day before the Sheriff's Sale they approved the modification and cancelled the sale; however, to comply with the rules of the sale, we had already moved all of our belongings to storage because we had to vacate the house by midnight. So, we moved everything back in - thanks for the mental and physical torture Wells Fargo!

    Now, just three weeks ago, we had a house fire that destroyed out house and everything in it. We are already barely getting through each day, now I see what we are up against, it makes me sick. Also, anyone have any experience with getting "approved to self contract" with them? My husband and father both have worked construction and fire restoration their whole lives - but have always worked as subcontractors, so neither is licensed. I can pull all of the permits, being the homeowner, but WF says I have to write a letter asking to be approved to self contract. I'm thinking that will be a big fat N-O!

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    TreeFell Dec 19, 2012

    I am also having a problem with Wells Fargo refusing to endorse a check for $16, 000 from my insurance company due to damage from a tree falling in my home in June 2012. Every person that I speak to at Wells Fargo, whether in the branch offices, or on the phone with the loss damage department tells me something different. I have not seen a shred of competency from Wells Fargo. What can I do to get them to endorse the check? Has anyone had any luck with this?

    0 Votes
  • St
    StayawayfromWellsFargo Oct 04, 2012

    Going through a similar situation ourselves. Our property was damaged in June 2012 here in Hastings, Minnesota. Met Life first sends the checks to our previous home address they had also insured. After we wait and wait we begin to wonder why on earth it's taking so long. We call and they of course stop payment and reissue. The checks arrive a few days later. They must have better mail service from Charlotte, North Carolina than from Springfield, Ohio. First mistake, at least handled promptly by Met Life once they were advised.

    A few weeks pass while we figure out what we're going to do with regard to repairs. After meeting with several contractors we decide to spend more then the insurance claim and upgrade both the roof and siding. We call the local Wells Fargo office and are advised that all we need to do is bring the check with Wells Fargo on it in and they'll happily endorse it immediately. We bring it in the morning we're meeting with our contractor to finalize the details only to be told that this cumbersome and time consuming process must be used. I understand their need to be certain their security interest is protected but this is crazy. We're advised that a packet of documents must be completed and sent to them and that this packet will be sent to us by regular mail. I protest, as our contractor is ready to go and has scheduled our roof and siding to go on in a few days. Wells Fargo Property Loss then tells me they'll have the documents emailed to me but it may take a few days because they use a third party to email. A week passes and I receive no email nor packet of documents. I call and finally go to the local Wells Fargo Bank to see if someone there can intercede on my behalf to expedite this. After being told initially that the property loss department didn't permit faxes I am provided a fax number. Why they try to hide this I'm uncertain. I return home and call the property loss department to confirm I am sending everything they need. Once again the person I speak with tells me they don't permit faxes until I advise them the fax number I was provided which they then confirm. Here we are in October, four months since our roof and siding were damaged to the point of needing complete replacement. Pieces of siding are missing from the back of our home! It's been a week since Wells Fargo Property Loss said they sent the check by regular U.S. mail. We still haven't received it. I just got off the phone with Wells Fargo Property Loss inquiring whether it's possible to stop payment and electronically transfer the funds as we're long time Wells Fargo bank customers as well. "No. Your recourse is to wait 7 to 10 business days and we'll stop payment and reissue. Wait another 7 to 10 after that for it to get to you by regular mail." You'd think one arm of Wells Fargo could transfer the funds to another arm instantly. If the check isn't received by tomorrow, October 5, I think it's time to document everything and send in a complaint to the Minnesota Attorney General's office. After financing several homes with Wells, never being late with a payment, we're done. Our credit rating is in excess of 850. Although our equity has certainly been reduced due to the real estate market collapse, we've spent well over $50, 000 on improvements to the property since we financed the home. Although insurance only paid for a portion of the siding to be replaced, we're replacing it all and with better quality. We're upgrading the shingles as well. A contract with our contractor and the insurance adjusters worksheets have all been forwarded to Wells Fargo Property Loss documenting this. Now we're only hoping that we get access to the funds to get this project going before it has to wait until next spring as winter weather moves into Minnesota today.

    This is worse than the time that Wells applied our first mortgage payment to our previous mortgage that had been paid off. We hadn't received a coupon book yet and wanted to be sure they had it so we just walked it in and provided the teller with our new loan number. It took forever to find and get those funds back but that's another story...

    0 Votes
  • Ky
    kyrynjewel Oct 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are having the same problem with water damage to our house that happened back in APRIL! It's October and we're still fighting to get the $6000.00 check to get the floors, ceiling and carpet replaced!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jorge Moralas Sep 29, 2012

    One solution is to have your contractor to cash these checks for you. They can perform a bank-to-bank transfer and this bypasses having Wells Fargo to endorse the checkd. Once the work is completed, the final check and final invoice can be sent to you and you can go directly to the bank to cash, once again, avoiding Wells Fargo.

    0 Votes
  • We
    wellshater Sep 27, 2012

    Same ole story! We had a hail storm and need a new roof, paint job and windows. Wells is holding our money and making every excuse in the book as to why they are not sending it to us. I am in the process of looking for an attorney. Wells Fargo does not pay my mortgage insurance, therefore should not be DINKING (to put it nicely) around with MY money that MY insurance company sent ME. Will be refinancing ASAP. What a joke of a bank. Selfish pigs who want to make interest off my insurance money. There customer service department doesnt know their ### from a hole in the ground...totally useless.

    0 Votes
  • Tc
    tcfrommt Sep 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't bother working your complaint up the chain - it's the old anecdote about 'don't waste your time trying to teach a pig to sing - it's a waste of your time and the pig just ignores you'. Just file a complaint with your state Attorney General's office. That seems to have gotten their attention. One week later I got a letter from the Wells Fargo Office of Executive Complaints (and a copy of their reply to the Attorney General). I'm still waiting for a final resolution but at least they'll have to explain themselves to the Attorney General's office.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beerfuzz Sep 25, 2012

    I can tell you what the process is. The process is to ask for one item at a time from you. Each time telling you that it's the only thing left you need to process your claim. Each process will take 3-5 days or more. My inspection alone took a week to process. I talked to the inspector who came to the house and she turned the paper work in that evening on a Monday. I called them on Thursday and they said it should be in that day. I called them on Tuesday. They said they just got the report yesterday. IE Monday. So A WEEK to process a simple report that should say that all the repairs were completed. This house is a rental house. Every day it's not filled cost me money. All the money that I had to put up myself cost me money (Credit card). The Electrical cost me money. The water cost me money. I lost my tenants it took so long. Cost me money. I'm going into month 3 now. Still no check. I will loose more than 2k because they sat on my money and made interest on it. I have 4 mortgages with them. I will have none shortly.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    SICK OF ITT Aug 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WF property loss is run by Assurant Specialty Property. They are a subcontractor. If you are having troubles try running up the management chain with that. You can try overloading Bev. Freemans voicemail box at [protected]. She is in “escalation” but has never ONCE called me back.

    0 Votes
  • Tc
    tcfrommt Aug 13, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had extensive damage done to my house from a hail storm in May. Contractors are EXTREMELY hard to come by now so when a LICENSED contractor was in the neighborhood, I had him do the repairs. I called my insurance company and was told my check had been sent 2 days earlier so when the check arrived, I wrote the check to pay the contractor. Several days later - after the contractor had cashed my check - I find that I have to send the check to Wells Fargo and they will 'disburse' the money as appropriate (from all I can gather, the paperwork will take weeks). In the meantime, I AM BROKE!!! I counted on being able to deposit that check to cover my payment to the contractors and replentish my checking account but now I have no money and everything will be overdraft until at least the first of next month. Not happy with Wells Fargo...

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    gail.smith Aug 13, 2012

    I am attempting to schedule my final inspection. So that we can receive the funds WF is "holding". Wish me luck

    0 Votes
  • Dy
    D yglesia Aug 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Like so many other here, we had an insurable loss at our residence in April 2012. We have been out of our home since then. Once we finally were able to receive funds from the Insurance carrier, we sent the check to Wells Fargo as directed along with all the requested documentation. Once they received the endorsed check, they have been reluctant to release ANY funds - citing different excuses each time I call. They are not cooperative and instead of trying to help me resolve this issue, now appear to be intentionally hindering my efforts to recover from our loss. Each time I call to check on the status they give me a new excuse as to why they still are not releasing any funds. The biggest problem seems that no one takes ownership of OUR problem. Each time you call, you have to go through the call center. Each time you get someone new to the case and they just rattle off the next excuse as to why they are refusing to release any funds. Each time you ask for a supervisor they tell you none are available. I have left messages for supervisor with no results.
    My family and I have been displaced since April. Now with Wells Fargo lack of customer service or care, it is very apparent that we are not going to be able to get back into our house anytime soon. Thanks Wells Fargo. So much for Relationship Banking!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mic/jim Jul 13, 2012

    I also am having a nightmare experience with them. We had water damage and sent in all paper work and contractor information, so they could review it. The first check was sent out to us and the contractor. Then we found out our contractor was not truly licensed and not legally able to pull permits or able to finish job; and even if so his work was awful; so now that WFHM has been informed that the city building officials and police department will be trying to pursue charges of fraud on him. And his contract is the not legally binding. WFHM will not let us fire him and hire someone else. Our choices are 1) have him agree to quit in a written letter, which he will not do 2) send him 2 certified letters that he will not accept, which he did accept them 3) wait for a court resolution. This could take months and cost money I do not have. I do take responsibility for not doing a more thorough background check on this contractor, but what the heck was WFHM checking out about this contractor for a month before they sent out the first 1/3 of the money. I told them I will take the loss of the first check just please let us hire a new contractor to start our kitchen. I have 3 kids and have been living without a kitchen since 04/11/12, just a plywood floor, no electric or water. And after countless attempts to plea for help; I hear the same thing from them, I am sorry but this is our policy.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shale77 May 25, 2012

    My wife and I are having the same problems. They tell you one thing over the phone and then wait two weeks to tell you that you are missing something on one of their forms. We were told that as soon as they received the general form and a copy of the bid they would send out the first check. After two weeks still no check and we were told that the contractor forgot to fill in a line on the lein form. IT TOOK THEM TWO WEEKS TO FIGURE THAT OUT! They are making money off the interest of our insurance check. What horrible customer service!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    biff77 Apr 30, 2012

    The process, and the people at WFPL are a joke, cannot be believed, and lack brains. I am considering a lawsuit against them for additional damages to my property and my company as a result of their broken processes, and the lies they tell to cover up their failures. As a bank, and financial institute one would think that they would work hard to maintain consumer confidence.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spudsmatilda Apr 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am having the same problems with Wells Fargo. Has anybody found anyone that can help speed this process up .

    0 Votes
  • Me
    mecarter Feb 27, 2012

    I too am frustrated with Wells Fargo. They are going to hold my insurance disbursement hostage until repairs are completed and until they can do a final inspection!! I'm going to be forced to pay for the water damage repairs out of pocket and fortunately selling the house in a week. I will then present closing documents and demand an endorsement of the check. My new loan is NOT with Wells Fargo. As the principal of a successful real estate team, I always deter buyers from seeking a Wells Fargo Mortgage. I now have first-hand knowledge of their ineptitude.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Les/Pat Feb 25, 2012

    Our loss was covered by two separate checks from our insurance company. The first for 14851.42 which I was able to get Wells Fargo to sign off as theey were also listed on the Pay To Line. Great... then the second check for 7536.30 was issued. I like a dummy ran back to the bank to get it released also. Not so fast. The total was now over their imposed 15000 dollar limit and we needed to get the Property loss section from Ohio involved. This was back on the 12th of Dec 2011. Originally we were told just a few simple routine checks of all the paper work and they would allow an okay to process this check within 5 days. This check included payment for the mitigation company for their work. We were then told back that all work had to be completed and an inspection had to be done by a assigned individual. Since the clean up company would like their 4304.52 I had our insurance company reissue the amount in 2 checks, one for that payment and the other for 3357.77 for us. Here it is 24 Feb 2012 and our work is completed and we tried again to get the okay. OOPS, more paper work is needed. Going to close acounts and refinance when and if this is ever completed.

    0 Votes
  • No
    novots Feb 25, 2012

    I like the others on this post have had nothing but questions regarding the nerve of Wells Fargo being able to hold on to money that I should be controlling for my own repairs. I recently had a claim for roof damage in the amount of $18, 100.00 sure enough the adjuster made the check out to myself and Wells Fargo, first question, , why? since when does the Mortgage company have to be involved at all? Next question, I have a $395K mortgage with these yahoos and they trust me with that amount, they trust me to make my payments every month but they don't trust me to take $18K and make the roof repairs on my own??please, something is definitely wrong with this picture. They say they will not endorse it unless I follow their rules and fill out all this crazy ### paperwork allowing them to basically put that money in an escrow account and then as the work gets done, they will make partial payments!!! wrong, I swear if I have to I'll refinance just for this reason alone to get rid of these guys. It is ridiculous that they need to control every step of this process. Don't get me wrong, I know there are people out there that would go out and spend this check on something other than the main purpose but that is exactly why Adjusters give you a ACV( Actual Cash Value) check and then once the work is completed you get the RCV(Replacement Cash Value) . This entire system is messed up to say the least. As I mentioned I am now looking at the possibility of getting rid of this loan. Not that losing one little loan for $395K will impact WFM, but maybe if half of these people who posted on here did the same, then they may just get the picture and finally realize they have a system in place that is broken and needs repair and fast!!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daniel in Houston Feb 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I totally agree. I've just started dealing with them. I sent them all the paperwork they needed and even the "privileged" court docs and still they are not satisfied. They keep losing documents and requiring paperwork that they shouldn't be seeing. All they should care about is that the damage is repaired. Reading all these comments I see this is going to be a major fight with them. I for one, I'm going to seek refinancing with a local credit union.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Combest Jan 23, 2012

    I have had same problems as all. They are HOLDING MY money and since the process takes so long, my contractor has moved on to other jobs that the people could pay.
    Now almost ONE YEARlater I have my roofer waiting on me to tell them when I have the money to pay. And Wells Fargo says ok, turn in an exception, wait 2-5 days, let us review it then send it to so and so (another 3-5 days). Its riduclous!!!

    Its MY House and MY money and THEY are holding up my repairs!!!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beccatx02 Jan 06, 2012

    We had a water leak in our home in Aug of 2011. We are now in January of 2012 and I can not get Wells Fargo to release ANYTHING past the initial 1/3 of our check. Our claim was over 15k, so we had to send it in to the property loss division. This has been a NIGHTMARE. They told us it would take 1-2 business days to review all of the paid reciepts and order a check. The processing of the check takes another 1-3 business days. Well on business day 7, NOTHING had been done. Everytime we try to send them what they ask for its like it goes into a black hole. Not only are they RUDE as hell on the phone, they are full of misinformation. This is UNACCEPTABLE. We have a mutli-year mutli-level relationship with Wells Fargo and will absolutely take our business else where after this is finally done.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jacque Neal Jan 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are in favor of a class action suit against Wells Fargo! Our insurance company issued a check to us for $30, 000.00 in June 2011, after a big hailstorm. We needed new roofing of house, garage, barn & out-buildings. We have our mortgage payments auto paid, out of checking, never missed a payment, ect. We hired a local, trustworthy, roofer, who had all the work done in Sept., and we still haven't been able to pay him, as Wells Fargo has had numerous reasons for holding our money! I would like to just have the interest that $30, 000.00 would have accrued in our savings for the last 6 months! After 15 yrs. with WF, we are going to someone else for the remainder of our mortgage payments.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.