Menu
Waste Management [WM] company logo
Last seen 24 hours ago
Waste Management [WM]
reviews & complaints

Waste Management [WM]
reviews & complaints

Learn how the rating is calculated

347 complaints
251 resolved 96 unresolved
File a complaint Table of contents
Claimed
This account has been claimed by Waste Management [WM] customer service / representatives through our verification process.
Click here to get notifications about new complaints of Waste Management [WM]. We promise not to send you any unrelated messages
Share
ADVERTISIMENT
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - Waste Management container removal

We are a property management firm and had used Waste Management (WM) at 14 different facilities for more than a decade. In that time, spent thousands of dollars with them to the tune of well over a quarter-million -- approx. $2,000 / month for 120 months. In February, we received invoices stating that yet another price increase of 17.5% to 20% would be implemented. Paying the bill would indicate consent. Due to the verbiage on the invoice, "If you do not consent to this increase, you have the right to terminate your service agreement..." We did not pay and proceeded with terminating services. In order to retain our business, they immediately began to negotiate quoting decreased costs. This in itself was disconcerting as they were trying to increase the costs by burying the increase notice in the invoice hoping it would just get paid and that the increased amount would then be under a new contract term. We were just fortunate that our Accounts Payable department noticed this and brought it to Management's attention. I cannot speak to how other companies operate, but in ours, A/P department is different than the contracts division and the fact that WM did not reach out to their loyal customers to work with them on this. During email communications with the WM Rep, there was never disclosure as to the container removal fee. In looking at the agreements, I did not see any amounts disclosed. We were shocked to receive exorbitant invoice amounts for the container removals; a grand total of $4,805.18; approximately $345.00 per facility, many of which are in close proximity to one another; one small site was charged $676. This feels like extortion, or at the very least retaliation for discontinuing their service. I was expecting to pay the removal fee of perhaps around $100 for each facility, based on past experiences. These amounts are ridiculously excessive. After years of faithful patronage, I feel that this is extremely poor business practice and WM has no appreciation for the thousands of dollars they have already been paid.

Desired outcome: I understand there are costs involved in container removal and feel that $100 for each facility, each invoice, is more than fair -- that is still a total of $1,400.00

Read full review
Hide full review
A
4:02 pm
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - Unauthorized automatic payment

April 1st I paid my quarterly bill, 106.61. April 6th they charged my checking account 106.61 as an automatic payment. Auto pay is something I never do as a matter of principle. It has caused headaches in the past and I just do not do it. I called and after ten minutes of voice prompts and recordings repeating I could go to the website, a representative finally answered. She said my overpayment would be refunded. Two weeks later I call again because the 106.61 has been posted to my account giving me a credit of 106.61. So I call again and after the same frustrating series of voice prompts and recordings I talk to another representative. She said she would put through the returned payment. I should expect it in four to six weeks, she says.

Desired outcome: I would like the money they took from me returned as fast as they took it.

Read full review
Hide full review
K
2:37 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Waste Management [WM] - Waste management is a scam! Corporate greed at it's worst!!!

STAY FAR AWAY FROM WASTE MANAGEMENT! @WasteManagement Our small business had been customers for years. We noticed our bill had gone from $153 a week in 2017 to $400.00 a week this year. An ex-employee was handling accounts payable and did not let us know how much it had increased. That is a reason to not use these thieves. This is for two of their can...

Read full review
ADVERTISIMENT
D
12:46 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - Rate hike

My rate goes up every year, but when I call they will come back down to earth. This year, tho, my bill went up $244.11. It was $478.45 last year and now they want $722.56. It's due on 5/6/22. I called and was told it was because of the price of gas. I could see a little hike, but this is criminal. Looks like price gouging because of the pandemic and the war in Ukraine. They're taking advantage of the situation. A lot of people are still suffering because of the pandemic and don't have that kind of money to pay this ridiculous amount. We're retired and we don't have it to pay. They're pretty much the only game in this area, so they know they have us. If the gas prices go down this year, will we get a refund? Not on our lives. This company makes billions. It's one big scam after another. Waiting for a manager to call me back, but not optimistic about the call back or the outcome.

Desired outcome: I want an acceptable bill.

Read full review
Update by Donna Gabehart
Apr 28, 2022 11:04 am

Just talked the the WMCARES office and they won't do anything to lower my bill. It will also cost at least $200 or more to cancel. Lots of excuses, but still price gouging at it's best.

Update by Donna Gabehart
Apr 25, 2022 12:21 pm

I was never notified that I got a response, so I didn't know until I checked today. I just sent the email as requested. I never heard back from a manager and when I called I was put on hold three different times and ended up with a very condescending rep who refused to help me. He wouldn't have talked to me that way if I was a man, so not helpful.

Resolved

This complaint was NOT resolved. My rate will not come down for the year and it will cost at least $200 or more to cancel (for pick up and sanitation). That's a lot of sanitation...What a racket.

Hide full review
L
7:13 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - Removal fee

I cancelled our service because they kept going up on our services. I found another company that does cheaper every six months than WM does every quarter. WM came and picked up the container on March 31 today April 18 I get a bill in the mail for 124.12. So I call and they say that was for cancelling and picking up the trash can along with fuel and environmental charges, a bunch of BS! Why are they charging me to come get their property when we paid dearly for “renting” it every month! Getting a lawyer. I’m sure they would have a field day with this. Taking advantage of people hoping they don’t pay attention to their bills!

Desired outcome: Total and full refund for this!

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
T
2:28 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - Trash pick at Dunkin Donuts 1903 Taylor ave 21234

Dunkin Donuts 1903 Taylor ave Parkville MD 21234. Trash is being pick up as early as 4:15 am on Saturday morn WAKING the neighbor hood with some homes not 50' away . We have a 6;00am noise ordnance in Parkville and would ask you to respect it , we will also contact the owner of this store if this continues , Thank You for your help in this matter , Tom, HPCA

Desired outcome: No pick ups before 6: am Gerbers doesn't have a problem with this and works with us

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
K
1:12 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Waste Management [WM] - Repetitive trash not being picked up

I am very frustrated because my trash can on several occasions is not being picked up on the schedule days. This has happened to me several times. I follow the procedure of contacting Waste Management chat online technician and they always respond with " We will be there by the end of the day today or by the end of the day tomorrow to pick up your garbage...

Read full review
A
10:32 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Waste Management [WM] - Billing and contract

We are some residents living on 5219 N Potawatomie, Chicago IL 60656. Our HOA is called Park View Condo Inc. In march 2022 we decided to change our board association being dissatisfied with many unjustified expenses and a bad management. Then we discovered that we are ripped by Waste Management every single month being charged outrageous amounts. Every...

Read full review
W
4:35 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - Recycling not picked up

On Thursday morning, March 31,2022, I heard the recycle truck and went out the garage door to retrieve the bin. It had not been emptied. My neighbors bins across the street and to the right and left of my home were emptied.

I waited for your truck driver with my bin opene The driver got back in the truck without emptying my recycle bin and went two doors down and emptied their bin. My next door neighbor's had already been done.

I requested to have a supervisor contact me. Never happened.

I later received a call from Waste Management stating "a truck will be back by 6:30 this evening to empty the bin. Nothing happened the bin is still full.

Desired outcome: For the next few weeks a supervisor should drive around the neighborhood after the truck as made it's run and have him come back under his supervision to make sure the work he's getting paid meets common standards expected.

Read full review
View 0 more photos
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ADVERTISIMENT
D
4:17 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Waste Management [WM] - Termination last bill

Cancelled in Jan with written notice due to prices increasing monthly, WM was unable to meet a competitors price and did send over a counter offer which I denied as it was still high and I have every believe that the cost would go up monthly as it had for 3 years. paid last bill. Today I get an email for a bill due for $341.99. Cart removal fee of $215...

Read full review
D
3:23 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - Truck driver

I was driving on I75 south when one of your trucks truck # 415435 rode pass and alot of debris was falling from the truck. Some hit my window and now I have a huge Crack in my windshield. I have called with no dismay.. so I am writing this email in hopes someone will contact me. My name is Danielle Williams my phone # is 2488186156 or contact me through email.

Desired outcome: Windshield fixed or replaced

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
K
1:10 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - consolidated utilities billing and service division Wendy

I have had no issues for over 10 years. I got made at wells fargo and changed my banking to citibank and then gave all my auto payment bills the new account. For some unknown reason to this day Citibank froze my new account which caused havoc that I am still paying for. I had to contact so many people and I am not young. After a long trip to visit and help my ill father I had a letter saying my bank declined my payment. I had thought I took care of it but it could be possible I forgot my trash bill. They don't take credit cards without a 3rd party $5.00 charge which I really can't afford. I called to see what, if anything, I have done and make sure the correct banking information was on my account. Of course I sat on hold for some time and then Wendy answered. She was the most unhelpful person I have spoken to in a long time. I tried to keep it short and started to speak and she told me my account was up to date and there was a reversed payment. She kept asking me if i changed my online information and of course I did not remember if I did or not. She told me to stop speaking and listen. She was telling me things I knew and not telling me what I needed to know. Finally she stopped in mid sentence and asked what she could do to help me. I was so upset I told her she was of no help at all and I hung up. All I wanted was to know if my account has the correct bank number, on auto pay and make sure I would not get a $53 dollar charge for my banks error. I was afraid my payment was going to be returned a few weeks ago and gave a credit card and paid the extra money to make sure. My letter said they will attempt to withdraw a payment again which is not necessary as my account is currant. Also telling me to resolve this issue quick. How do I do that when the agent won't listen or be a little kind?

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
K
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Waste Management [WM] - Attempt to charge a fee for service cancellation

Waste Management is attempting to charge a fee for cancelling their overpriced service. I received an email today (3/24/2022) with an "invoice" claiming I owe them money. They are attempting to charge me $101.29 dollars to no longer use their service. The company makes it difficult and time consuming to cancel the service in the first place. Nobody should...

View 0 more photos
Read full review
G
2:51 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - false info and overcharges

I called WM in mid January to initiate new service at my new home starting 1/21. On this call, I told the agent I'm likely to have more recyclable cardboards than usual due to me moving into this new home. The agent was understanding and told me I can just have the excess cardboards outside of the recycle bin and it would be collected at no charge. That's exactly what I did. I cut and aligned the cardboards neatly to my recycle bin if i cannot fit them into the bin. Now fast forward to today, I received my first WM invoice and was hit with $76.50 for "extra pick-up recycle". That's contrary to what I was told when I initiated the service. I called customer service again and was told anything outside of the bin there's a fee, when I responded saying that's not what I was told, the agent brushed me off and said I should've known better. Another trash comapny serviced my previous home, and they do not charge extra for cardboards that do not fit in the bin. It's not like I did not confirm this with WM. In addition to being overcharged for recycling, I also had no trash bin for over 8 weeks. My trash bin was supposed to arrive on 1/21, however it did not get delivered until 3/11th. During this time, I called Waste Management at least twice asking about my trash bin and also telling the agent about the excess cardboards from the move, they weren't able to help with the trash bin but did tell me to just fold and leave the cardboards outside the bin, I won't be charged. One even suggested I leave a big enough cardboard box next to my recycle bin and put my trash in it to use it as a trash bin. I did exactly that, but the cardboard box was gone along with the trash, it appears WM was charging me extra for that box too. This is my first experience with WM, I'm throughly disappointed at the incoherent responses I got from its customer service reps and the lack of respect/empathy from the latest agent when I called to discuss the overcharges. I'd respectfully ask WM to do the right thing and adjust my bill accordingly.

Desired outcome: I'd respectfully request that WM refund me the "extra pick-up recycle" fees charged from 1/21 til now and also refund the prorated amount of my trash service from 1/21-3/11 since I did not have a trash bin delivered until the 3/11th.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ADVERTISIMENT
B
5:15 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - Billing for removal of dumpster after end of contract

Removal of empty dumpster after end of contract

Charge $288.49

End of contract 1/1/22

Last pick up 12/22/21

Pick up of dumpster 2/14/22

WM not willing to adjust charges

I will be submitting a bill for storage of their abandoned dumpster, WM agreed to remove dumpster 3-5 days after end of contract

I will submit charges to the North Dakota Attorney General for review of billing practices, he has addressed billing charges with WM before and hopefully he will not allow WM to charge these ridiculous charges

Desired outcome: Eliminate or reduced bill due to storage of dumpster for failure to remove when agreed upon as per email

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
K
12:04 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - Garbage pickup in my neighborhood

Hello,

I live behind businesses where your dumpsters pick up. We are subjected to your garbage trucks 6 days a week. We have one garbage truck from your company that shows up EVERY morning between 6 and 6:45 am. They pick up in the 13500 and 13600 blocks of Ventura Blvd on the North side of the street. For the longest time, your truck picks up at 13613 Ventura Blvd and empties the dumpsters in that block at the very early morning hour. An hour and a half later around 8 am or so, a second truck of yours comes to the exact same addresses and picks up empty dumpsters. Are you kidding me with this? And yes, we know, because we can see them from our bedroom windows which face the alley. This is inefficient, wasting gas, creating more noise, more pollution and more lack of sleep for the residents of the area. The noise and incessant back up beeps has become a nuisance and the biggest complaint of the neighborhood. We can hear your trucks within a 2 block radius. CANCEL the first truck that comes between 6 and 6:45 am, and let the second truck pick up all the dumpsters. We do not need multiple trucks in our neighborhood picking up the few dumpsters in this area and coming to pick up empty dumpsters that have already been emptied. Let the second truck pick up for both the 13500 and 13600 block of your dumpsters. We would appreciate being able to sleep uninterrupted. Thank you.

Desired outcome: Receiving a response and remedying the problem as stated above.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
T
11:22 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - service cancellation

We have used WM for many years at my church and this Jan. 1 we cancelled our service because a competing company was 1/2 the price. I was appalled to discover they are charging us $800 to remove 4 trash cans and a dumpster. These are things they own and maintain and I'm sure the cost is included in the many thousands of dollars we have paid them over the years. They claim we agreed to this in the fine print of the service agreement we signed - pretty lame!

This company is making a big mistake with this short sighted scam.

Desired outcome: cancel this charge.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Waste Management [WM] - Residential waste pickup

On February 7, 2022, the truck picking up my can utilized a clawlike feature to lift and dump the can. When it was finishing, it slammed the can to the ground resulting in the wheel cracking and falling off the can. I called the customer service line who assured me that the can would be repaired within 10 days. After two weeks and no action by WM, I...

Read full review
C
10:25 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - service and fees

I signed up for WM service with two cans for service and they only delivered one can so I went to lowe's and bought a second one only to have them leave it full on the street on my first day of service. The following week they picked it up and then left it full again the week after. I called them and they said I only signed up for single can service and they would add another can but would not use the can I already purchased and dropped it off only to after a couple of weeks skipping my service completely after weather delays and said they would come pick it up after the weekend and then decided to not show up and said they would not be able to come until the next scheduled pickup day. So i called and cancelled my service and now the think that I am going to pay some kind of $75 can removal fee. Please

Desired outcome: remove all charges since I paid for service that was never performed 50% of the time.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Waste Management [WM] - Garbage and recycling can location for pick up

Received a citation on February 28,2022 saying that our garbage can and recycling cans were too close together for pick up. We have been putting them out in the same spot for over 17 years without having any issues about pickup or location. We have limited space to put the cans out on our driveway so the options that we were given to resolve this issue will not work.

Desired outcome: To be able to put out the garbage and recycling cans in the same exact spot we have for the past 17 years

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free
ADVERTISIMENT

Waste Management [WM] contacts

Website

www.wm.com
ADVERTISIMENT

Waste Management [WM] representatives

WMCares
Waste Management
ADVERTISIMENT