The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Valerobad gasoline

K Review updated:

I filled up my car today with gasoline from a valero gas station. When i got to do one of my errands and i went back to the vehicle. My car would not start. I had my car towed to the nissan dealership. They told me that the gasoline in my vehicle was bad. I had to pay for the repairs and want to be reimbursed by valero.

Thanks, elida

Responses

  • Va
    ValerieShulder Apr 06, 2009

    I had the exact same thing happen to me. I'll tell you my story.

    The gas I got from Valero had too much water in it. At least this is what I was told by the mechanic. So, I siphoned out a gallon of the gas and kept it, the rest the mechanic disposed of. It cost about $1100 for all the repairs to get my car running again.

    Of course, Valero is no help, as they wont just pay out money on your say-so. So I contacted the Dept of Weights and Measures, who took a complaint and said they would get back to me. About a week later they said they had gone out, and tested the gas and of course now the gas is fine.. I asked them if they would test the gas I had saved from my tank and they declined.

    So I just soldiered on ahead and took them to Small Claims court. The judge said, there is no way of knowing if the water came from the gas at the pump or if water got into my tank from some other source, so my claim was dismissed.


    Anyways you should definately contact your local dept of weights and measures to complain and have them test the gas at the pump, maybe they will find excess water levels. But you wont win in small claims without more proof than I had which was impossible to get

    1 Votes
  • Va
    ValerieShulder Apr 06, 2009

    oh yes and i even had the mechanic fill out a letter stating the gas was bad. but it didnt matter to the judge. maybe if you can get nissan to fill something out as well (but they may decline to get involved, my mechanic was at a mom n pop garage.)

    2 Votes
  • Lo
    Lois52 Jun 26, 2009

    ME TOO!!! In Austin. I am currently completing a consumer complaint, which I am sending to the Austin and San Antonio Better Business Bureau, the local ABC affiliate stations' investigative reporter, the Austin-American Statesman. My advice: don't bother with yet another bureaucracy - take it to the agencies responsible for consumer protection. And send CC's to the following:
    caroline.[protected]@valero.com. My view: YOU don't have the burden of proof - they do. One of the points in my complaint reads as follows: << If Valero continues to deny my claim (including compensation resulting from all the additional time), I will require a legal document, signed by an attorney licensed by the State of Texas, stating that Valero is 100% fully certain, absolutely positive, with verifiable physical evidence, that there is absolutely no way their gasoline station could have supplied me with the bad gasoline that has caused so much difficulty. This letter will be made public.>>

    1 Votes
  • Ls
    lswin Aug 04, 2009

    It would be better if you gave the address and store number in this forum so people would know not to buy from these stores again.

    -1 Votes
  • Ig
    IGNATS Sep 09, 2009

    hey guys! same issue here - $1, 404 in damages to my new car - not even 2 years old. i have a sample of the gas and a notarized letter from my dealer - contacted BBB, DEC, weights and measures bureau, and Valero Corp itself - valero has the lock down on this lying crap - we will never see our money and i will never go back to any valero gas station ever again. i learned that, apparently, valero is KNOWN to have contaminated gas...lesson learned a little too late!!!

    1 Votes
  • Fi
    Fire_1 Sep 13, 2009

    Fact: Most of the general public do not understand that most gas supplied by their neighborhood "Gas Stations" is all the same and from the same supplier. The only difference may be the additives.
    Fact: Unless the storage tank is nearly empty and has water deliberately introduced to it from an an outsode source, it is very unlikly to have enough water in it that would not evaporate rather quickly.
    Fact: No! Valero does not have the burdon of proof-- YOU do! It is virtually impossible to proove how water in your tank came to be.
    Fact: Not all stores displaying the Valero sign are owned by Valero. Unless the store says "Corner Store", it is most likely a jobber location (they have an agreement with Valero to provide certain services and products).
    Fact: I am not, nor have I ever been a Valero employee. My father was an independant dealer for two major oil companies and I worked with him for years.

    1 Votes
  • Se
    serendipity121255 Nov 06, 2009

    I am going through the same problem...POOR QUALITY/CONTAMINATED FUEL...TESTED BY A REPUTABLE SOURCE! I have contacted 6 Valero "claims supervisors" and have been "dismissed" by all with not so much as an apology for the inconvenience caused. There MUST be something that can be done when so many customers have been "contaminated"!

    1 Votes
  • An
    andijtx May 16, 2010

    Twice I have been burned by Valero gas within a space of 3 months. The first time I thought it was the location, but it happened to me again in another city. Total for repairs so far is over $2, 400. Do not buy Valero gas! I also submitted proof from my dealership as well as a receipt fot the gas but have not heard back from Valero

    1 Votes
  • To
    ToddBlack May 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently went to this Valero gas station at 3909 Guadalupe Street, Austin, TX [protected] where I filled up an entire tank of their so called premium gas. The next time I went to start my brand new sierra with only 2200 miles on it, it would barely start and blew out a thick cloud of white smoke. My first reaction was a blown head gasket or worse, a cracked head, but being so new it couldn't have been that. I took my truck in to the dealer where they found no engine error codes, and was told it was most likely bad gas. If you value your time and more important your mode of transportation I would avoid anything to do with Valero like the plague. Luckily the crap gas had done no damage yet. I will be filing a complaint with whomever I can, but the only thing that will ever work is to get the word out and tell people not to buy their cheap watered down gas. I'm sure the execs at Valero could care less about our complaints while they're still selling a bad product.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    Mslk1lm Nov 09, 2010

    I've also has engine problems with it not starting the day after i had pumped full tank at valero with my 2000 Mercedes ml320 so I took it into the dealership. They found ran tests for 5 days on my car n finally found the problem n it was the gas. It was contaminated. I called valero n let the corporate office know and now they want the sample of the contaminated gas so they can run tests. But the owner of the gas station said that no else has reported such a case but me..maybe I'm the first one?

    1 Votes
  • Nu
    Nurse79 Jan 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also had bad gas in my 10 month old car-they thought it looked like E-85!! Lots of repairs and inconvenience. This just happened on 1/19/11 in Farmington Hills, MI. Anyone else??

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    KatMooreTx Mar 29, 2011

    On 3/21/11 I purchased gas from Valero Store, address 1764, 1116 N Hwy 377, Roanoke, TX. Within a few miles from the gas station I noticed that my car starting hesitating to accellerate at low speeds, and threatened to die when in idle. I took it to the dealership yesterday, and the mechanic pulled what looked like watered down tea out of my gas tank. At this point it looks like It's going to cost me $500 to get it fixed, but I won't know for sure until they get the fuel system cleaned out. I didn't know where to start to get started with my complaint and a request for Valero to reimburse me the expense, but it doesn't look like there is a chance that's going to happen.

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    badfuel719 Apr 18, 2011

    I would like to warn the community regarding Diamond Shamrock (Valero) gasoline. I filled my truck fuel up for $75.00 at the gas station at 601 W US Highway 50, Pueblo, CO 81008, and not even 24 hours later my 2008 Silverado completely died and stopped running in the middle of the road! I had to have my truck towed to Spradley and the dealership told me that the fuel I had just put in my truck was mostly water. They even gave me a sample of the bad gasoline and said it caused my truck to stop running, because the fuel pump and filter, fuel injection plugs, and other parts were ruined from the water in the fuel. This cost me $492.33 out of my own pocket to replace the parts, because under warranty this is not covered due to the fuel I filled the truck with.

    I contacted the company and made a complaint, it’s been 5 and 1/2 weeks and today I got a call back stating they are REFUSING to reimburse my money because they don't have other complaints that are like mine-even with the gasoline from the truck that you can obviously see the water to fuel ratio!!!

    This is aggravating and something needs to be done! The public needs to be warned.. Also its impossible to speak to the president/CEO of Valero because there is no contact information for him (Bill Kleese)

    If the media gets this story out and maybe investigates it, people will be aware of what putting this gas into your tank can do-especially at $3.59 or per gallon!

    1 Votes
  • Lu
    luisiscool Apr 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    No wonder I don't see not even a single person purchasing gas from the Valero Gas station here in my town. Thanks to all you people for sharing your compliants because I will Never go to Valero. I will always stick with Chevron. Sorry for all the inconviniences that Valero has caused to you.

    1 Votes
  • Ho
    Hot Tokyo Jun 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    No to VALERO GAS!!!
    I have a Mercedes Bens 500, and the gas from Velero Gas station in Inglewood Ca. on Centinela and La Brea blew out my fuel pump, and alot of more problems...
    My car would not start, at all!
    Who do I complain too?

    1 Votes
  • Rm
    rmcclel Jun 26, 2011

    My wife filled our new Infiniti FX35 (only 3 weeks old) with Valero gas on 6/24/11 @ The Milk and More Valero
    @ 2403 N Hervey Street in Hope, AR. She drove across the street to Wal-Mart to do some shopping. She came out, started the car and took off and it shuttered died and never started again. The car had to be towed to Little Rock, AR 2 hrs away to the nearest Infiniti dealer for service. My wife walked back to the Valero station and asked the cashier if they had any complaints of bad gas. The clerk said "NO" and gave her a number to the store gas supplier. The next day 6/25/11 the store was closed, yellow tape around the gas pumps and all of the pumps were bagged. No one there to answer the phone. I will find out on 6/27/11 if bad gas was the cause of the vehicles malfunction. I am sure that is the problem, why else would the store be closed.

    1 Votes
  • Fu
    Fuel-Testers Jun 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The sole reason (with 99% certainty) you all have had problems with (water contamination) at Valero stations is due to excess ethanol (alcohol) added to fuel and improper e10 storage. ALCOHOL ATTRACTS AND ABSORBS WATER. Ethanol blending tax credits/subsidies lead to a profit motive to over-blend ethanol above 10%. We (Fuel-Testers) receive hundreds of reports everyday from business/consumers who have purchased contaminated E10 gas - (Over-blended and water contamination/phase separation)- Warning: After phase separation most of ethanol is at bottom with water; Since high octane (113-115) ethanol is used to enhance octane for E10, the octane drops 2 to 4 points in upper layer: Do not discard bottom water/ethanol layer and run engine on sub-octane upper layer...Please visit fuel-testers or fueltestkit for more info - BTW, all stations have insurance for engine damage from contaminated gas sold...Corporate owned, major brand stations usually settle claims quickly to protect their image/reputation...Use credit card or save receipts; And of course always test gas ethanol percent, with inexpensive, re-useable, AFTK=Alcohol Fuel Test Kit, to find quality stations that always properly blend-in ethanol and monitor water levels in storage tanks daily...

    1 Votes
  • Da
    david193 Jul 03, 2011

    My wife filled the tank of our car. When she got home I saw that she had been charged for 14.8 gallons. Since our car only holds 13.2 gallons (and probably only had room for 11.5 that night — the low fuel light had just gone on), I went to the store to tell them. I showed the owner the receipt and the gas tank capacity in the owners manual, but I got nothing but head scratching.

    Now I don't see how I can trust these pumps again or any Valero pump for that matter.

    0 Votes
  • Jk
    JKDE Jul 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What is the make, model, and year of this car?

    1 Votes
  • Su
    SunshineGirl9 Sep 27, 2011

    I too have pumped a bad tank of gas into my 2007 Prius. I submitted my claim to Valero's "customer service". They denied my claim stating that they had not other complaints therefore they are not at fault.
    Really ? Maybe you could tell my car that ?
    I will be submitting my claim in small claims court along with over $ 850.00 in repairs.
    I will also be copying this thread of complaints to give to the Judge in our case. It's important to know what's happening to people all over the nation at the hands of a large corporation.
    I will never buy their gas again. Facebook will also get my story as well.

    0 Votes
  • I0
    I've got gas Oct 17, 2011

    Wife filled up our 2000 Subaru Impreza at a Stripes Valero store on Rodd Field road in Corpus Christi yesterday.The one nearest Saratoga Blvd. Pump #4 to be specific. We drove it less than 1 mile home. This morning the wife went for donuts about two miles away. I recieved a phone call from her stating the car would not restart after it became sluggish and died. It cost us $85 to have it towed to the house. I removed the fuel pump only to find it was completely clogged with a tea colored residue. I removed the fuel pump from the fuel tank and it too was coated with a heavy tea colored residue. The pump would not cycle when the key was turned to the "on" position is why I removed it to begin with. I replced the fliter with a new one and bench tested the fuel pump. It ran for a few seconds and locked up. I syphoned the fuel from the tank and it was laden with tea colored deposits particularly in the bottom of the tank. The tank itself was shiny clean on the inside.I phoned the store and apprised a young guy of the issue. He offered his concerns and stated that I should call to speak to a store manager the next day. He also notified me that the fuel tanks had just been topped off that morning and that I must have got the dregs from the last batch. I have purchased my last item from any retailer or convenience store that carries Valero gasoline. Period. I will not be persuing any attempt at futile litigation from the likes of what I have read above. I have more to do than argue with a brick wall about what I am quite sure is a fuel contamination issue from our last fill-up. Sweet dreams Valero and your Pi$$ poor quality control along with your rancid gas. OH and FYI, Flint Hills refinery in Corpus Christi produces ethenol free gas and it is sold at a few stations here in town. One being the L&M Suprette on Airline Rd. and I believe Rudy's Bar-B-Q on SPID. Cheers.

    0 Votes
  • Za
    zalzal Jun 03, 2012

    first this gas station Valero (Smart Stop Food Store) street sign said $ 3.26 p/g their prize at the pump was $3.34 on top of that the pump was 0.17 ahead and the last that machine was printing blank receipt (description). I walked inside to get my 0.17 cents back but I had no proves because the blank receipt, now i have to deal with the credit card. The name of that station is (Valero SMART STOP Food Store)

    0 Votes
  • No
    No Longer Customer Jun 04, 2012

    I was attempting to purchase some gasoline using my debit card when the cashier told me that I needed to hurry up because I was holding up the line.

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    JJB$ Jun 03, 2013

    Recently we purchased fuel at Valero and our car started hesitating almost immediately. My wife was able to drive the car to the house but then the car would not start again. I called Nissan Dealer and and they sent a tow truck to take the car back to the dealer since it was still under warranty (2012 Nissan Versa). I was told by the dealer the reason why the car would not start was because we were sold bad fuel.
    I called Valero and they stated I needed to pay for the repairs and then to sent them the receipts and they would investigate. I provided Valero all the information they requested and now they do not want to pay for the repairs ($650) dollars.
    The fuel was purchased in San Antonio, TX at the Valero Between Culebra and Bandera on 5/16/2013. I can't believe valero can get away with selling bad fuel to people and not taking responsibility for the product they sell. Another Customer who will NEVER visit valero again...

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    Fuel-Testers Company Nov 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Have any of you contacted your local (state) petroleum inspectors? Look under your state government, often a division under the DOA (Dept. of Agriculture), sometimes under the "Division of Weights & Measures", possibly called "Petroleum Products -Quality Standards" etc. Almost every state has a very active Dept. (annual certification is required for every public gas station - check the date on side of pump), and most will accept formal complaints, conduct an on-site visit within a few days, test fuel, (at no cost for you), issue fines, and sometimes shut-down gas pumps (when necessary if contaminated gasoline is being sold). There has been a dramatic increase in sale of contaminated fuel since ethanol is being added (E10 gas type) primarily since 2006-Onward. There are many reasons for this (too many to list here + now) but TOP reason is Alcohol (ethanol) Attracts Water---> Oil and Water Do Not Mix. 10% ethanol alcohol + 90% petroleum oils is a combination asking for problems. E10 gas is an unstable fuel with a short shelf life (because of water absorption)...E85 is actually more stable due to only 15% oil in mixture. (When max water absorbed, E10 gas will "phase separate" which is very damaging to engine). Ethanol alcohol also can/will deteriorate certain parts, since it is a strong solvent, cleanser and degreaser + much more...Many state sites now also accept contaminated gas complaints online and/or furnish phone contact numbers to report complaints. Examples: NY: http://www.agriculture.ny.gov/WM/wmpetrol.html PA: http://www.agriculture.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_2_75292_10297_0_43/AgWebsite/contact/WeightsMeasuresComplaint.aspx?navid=26&parentnavid=0& NJ: http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/press/gasstation.htm MN: http://mn.gov/commerce/weights-and-measures/consumers/fuel/Contamination/Water-and-Ethanol-Blends.jsp MN (or here): http://mn.gov/commerce/weights-and-measures/consumers/complaints/ If unable to locate your state's division to "report sale of contaminated gasoline", feel free to contact Fuel-Testers Company (FuelTestKit) via our website's "Contact Us" form page. Good Luck!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jahan singh Dec 22, 2013

    Hi, I am 4year manager of raceway convenient store. What I am reading is a lot of confusion about how this business operates. Neither the corporate nor regional level of convenience store business cares about Your complaints.We put sign is Window say customers are our friend, we value Your business, but what we mean is, customer is soooooooooooo stupid, thanks for Your money, now get the h#@#! Out of my store! I am just being honest.I have nothing against the business, and nothing against the customers, just a fair warning, We, The convenience store clerks, manager, ceo, and presidents are out to take Your money, thats it.We don't care about Your level of satisfaction, we don't care that we sold You a cup of coffee that ate a hole in Your stomach, we don't care that our overpriced gasoline made Your car explode.We Just want Your money! Thank You and " Please, come again"

    -1 Votes
  • Up
    UpsetcustomerRR May 29, 2014

    In April of 2014, I was at the Valero on Greenwood in Corpus Christi and filled up my tank. I began having problems immediately with the vehicle. I had to have the car towed and today I was told that I had disel in the vehicle. Has this happened to anyone?

    1 Votes
  • Ho
    Hot in Clovis Jul 09, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I filled my tank up on my 2004 Honda Element at the Valero at Bullard & Villa, in Clovis, CA., and drove home. After about 30 minutes of being home, I needed to run an errand, went out to start my vehicle, it wouldn't start. I took the car to the mechanic that looks after my car, (which is in pristine condition) and was told that I had gotten bad water downed gas. Do not buy gas from any Valero!!! period! As of today, I have had to change all the spark plugs as they were burnt and corroded from the water in the fuel. Car is still running horribly, white smoke out the tail pipe. It is going back to the mechanic today. I am hoping that the head is not cracked due to Valero's water down gas. What a nightmare!

    1 Votes
  • Th
    the sunshine kid Aug 12, 2014

    The VALERO @ 1488 and North Shore Dr. Magnolia, Tx. has the same freaking


    problem!! ... BAD GAS!!! ... DO NOT GET GASOLINE HERE!!! ... :O(

    1 Votes
  • Dj
    D.Jackson Nov 09, 2015

    I filled up w/Diesel in my 2014 Mercedes Blutec and car was slow to start and then would not start. Valero is denying the fuel claim saying the gas was tested and showed no problems. How can this be the case when you fill up and begin 3 days later the car will not start. Had to call a wrecker and car was at dealership for 2 weeks. $3000 later...no help from Valero! Tell everyone you know how awful they are to their customers!!
    D. Jackson
    Corpus Christi, Texas

    1 Votes
  • An
    Angel C. Dec 03, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased gas at a Valero store 2 weeks ago in El Paso, Texas on Zaragosa Road and Bethel. My car (a 2013 Camaro) wouldn't start the next day so I had a tow truck take my car to a local mechanic shop, where after a few days they gave up because they did not know what was wrong with the car. So I had to pay for another tow truck again to take it to the Chevy dealer. After a few days, they told me the gas had water in it. The total charge for the repairs is $1, 250 to fix it and $98 for the diagnostics. I contacted the Valero store where I was told by the manager that it wasn't them because they never had any other case like mine. I even went as far as requesting a gas sample from my car and sending it to him. He was lying because I found that one of my school teachers had the exact same thing happen to her the same day as me! I don't know what to do anymore as I don't have proof of the time and day I went there. It was them and they keep denying my problem! Who do I contact now???

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    Joseph A. Palacios Dec 22, 2015

    On November 12 2015 at 1:02 PM I filled up my vehicle with Gas from pump #5 at Coral Ridge Valero, Located at 11600 Wiles Road in Coral Springs, FL 33076. I drove home aprox. 2 miles from the station. My vehicle started bucking like a horse, and hesitating. my dash board looks like a Christmas tree with CHECK YOUR ENGINE, LOW TIRES, AIR BAG and other lights on. I drove back to the station right away and spoke to Mr. Haroon the station manager showing him how my vehicle was shaking, he showed me a print out which I was not able to understand and was not given a copy of it in order for me to consult with someone who could. He gave me a telephone number to call [protected] ext. 229 Ms. Ileana Miller at their legal department, she told me to get in touch with Mr. Luis Luque [protected]. I called him and left a message.
    I called my mechanic who advised me to buy( Sea Foam) a liquid that helps remove water from the bottom of my tank, and to bring him the vehicle as soon as possible. My mechanic (john) from G- Force removed the gas tank emptied it and cleaned it, his diagnosis was that the gasoline was contaminated with water and other sludge substance. it looked like tea. This incident cost me $574.16 . He suggested I change my fuel filter and
    that the two catalytic converters together with the spark plugs may be compromised .I spoke to Mr. Luque again since I left all the receipts, picture of pump # 5 with a plastic bag that was attached to it the following day. He claims that he sent the documents to Ms. Ileana Miller. I have left messages
    for Ms. Miller on 12/1.2015 at 2:31 PM and on 12/17/15 at11:45 AM as well as today 12/22/2015 at 11:00 AM. It seems like they do not want to acknowledge that they are selling contaminated gasoline, and just want to ignore my telephone calls. I guess I will have to get one of my attorney's to handle the situation whereby I will be asking a lot more than $574.00 plus court cost and attorney's fees.
    Joseph A. Palacios

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Michelle Owen Dec 12, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also got bad fuel from a Valero station (although mine is "privately owned", as they tell me). The owner knows that the fuel that day was contaminated, he had to shut down the store to fix it. My engine was totally destroyed, and I needed a new one. It cost over $3700. Valero has done nothing but pass the buck on this. I told them that the owner was refusing to give me his insurance information, and they just shrugged their shoulders. They sent me to the distributors (Sampson Bladen Oil) who are of no help.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frustratedinConroe Feb 10, 2017

    Same thing for me. $1100 in repairs to flush engine. I complained to TX dept of agriculture. So we will see. Have receipt and all dealership paperwork.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JeffJones2000 Dec 29, 2018

    I was at a Valero gas station on Midlothian Turnpike in Richmond Virginia just 2 days after Christmas day and only authorized $13.00 of gas with 87 Octane in it, when and while I was driving home to Beckley West Virginia, my car began acting up like it didn't wanna go up on mountain hills on interstate 64 West bound and just kept Hesitating slowing down to lower speeds then finally it cuts off when I'm pulling off the interstate road and saw and found out there was water in the gas tank with gas mixed into it from the next to the last gas pump on the right facing in front of that Valero gas station, and had to call my auto mechanic letting him know what was going on with my car and the bad gas from Valero on Midlothian Turnpike in Richmond VA, I just spent $1400 on a major car repair I recently had done on it and Now 6 days later another $188.00 just to fix that trouble from my gas tank plus a left back wheel bearing on top of it, I am submitting this complaint and hoping whoever is in charge gets a hold of that Valero store in Midlothian Turnpike in Richmond Virginia and have every gas pump there checked out, please let me know and get back to me at the following email, [protected]@gmail.com thank you and much regards, Jeff Jones

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions