Vacation Rentals By Owner [VRBO] Logo

Vacation Rentals By Owner [VRBO]

Having problems with Vacation Rentals By Owner [VRBO]?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

+1 877 202 4291 (Customer Service)
Suite 300, 1011 W. Fifth Street
Austin, Texas
United States - 78703

Complaints & Reviews

My vacation rental

VRBO has suspended my listing not giving sufficient time for me to provide requested documentation. A guests did damage to our property and it took a few days to get the estimate written up, mailed to me and the repairs done, and I tried to submit the documentation however my emails are being rejected. This is totally unfair I cannot get a resolution.

Karla & Jason Marshall
Listing #4620326

My vacation rental
My vacation rental
My vacation rental

  • Cg
    CG Eve Jul 27, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had the same issues with VRBO and absolutely do not like VRBO. I had a renter who did severe damage by ruining my master bedroom carpet, damaging an electric range, leaving a horrible mess that took 9 hours of cleaning and several trips up to my cabin for estimates and work that had to be done. The carpet has to be replaced as the pig guest spilled wine on the carpet and then used to bleach to clean up permanently staining the carpet. Pig guest paid a $600 damage deposit...damages and costs came to $4, 003.00. I sent in invoices, photos and documentation. VRBO said they could only allow carpet cleaning and a replacement element for the stove but could not pay for the extra cleaning time and work time to bring my cabin back to prior condition. $315.03 is what I could recover. When I claimed the $600 VRBO sent only $582.00 and kept $18 as a processing fee. I returned the pig guest $266.97 and then VRBO said case is still open and I risk being taken down if I don't send the other $18.00! VRBO has the $18.00...after spending a great deal of time explaining and replying to emails sent by VRBO explaining that they need to send the $18 out of their processing fee account did they finally understand what they did in error. Meanwhile I still have a carpet to replace out of my pocket. I rated this guest as horrible but was told that my rating does not appear for other owners to see because it has to protect the right of the renter! What about the rights of the property owners!!! Property owners be aware ... do not rent to unrated renters because they are probably like this pig guest and could be her! VRBO gets a -10 rating from me.

    0 Votes
  • Cg
    CG Eve Jul 27, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @CG Eve Guest renter was Yuanyan Pei and I rated her 1 star and woill never rent to her again.

    0 Votes

Refund

We rented a property in June 2020 .we called vrbo inquiring on canceling our trip due to covid -19. We just called to see if we cancelled we would get a refund. We then tried contacting the property owner and she never answered . We never received the security code to the property . The day after we were supposed to check in, we received an E-mail saying the owner cancelled our reservations. It has been 4 weeks now and no refund. We can not get in touch with the owner .and vrbo is no help . They say all they can do is try and contact the owner. They also can not get in touch with wiener!!!

  • Gm
    gmmann1775 Jul 30, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have the same problem from back in April. However the homeowner did refund my security deposit of $300.00 while keeping $3, 105.00 for himself. I filed a complaint against him with the Consumer Protection Division the State of Maryland but it's slow going because of Covid. If all states had done like Florida and made Short Term Rentals illegal it would have saved a lot of us headaches. These homeowners on VRBO get to set their own rules and the public needs to be aware. I guess I still have small claims court if all else fails. VRBO want even let me place a review on the homeowners site to warn others because I didn't stay their. Should of used Airbnb heard they took care of their customers. Good luck with your homeowner.
    Gary M.

    0 Votes

Payment downloads

When downloading the payments we have received, I realized that the 'Deposit Amount' column and 'Payable to You' column did not match the money we actually received in our account. We called a couple of times and here is what we found out. VRBO has not taken out the 'Service Fee' amount detailed on the worksheet and it is still included in our deposit amount listed on the worksheet, which we did not receive. They said it would be fixed but here we are a week plus later and not fixed. If using their worksheet for tax purposes, the figures are WRONG. This is a major mistake on VRBO's part and only adds to the many other accounting errors we have noticed. Their worksheets are so confusing, not very customer friendly. And, now we are waiting weeks to receive our money. VRBO says "it's unfortunate you haven't received your money but we have problems concerning cancellations and bookings due to COVID-19", well it's unfortunate alright. We are refunding cancellations due to COVID-19 but we are not getting deposits for new bookings. And, they think it's 'unfortunate'. They charge a hefty service fee to our customers so as to better/upgrade their systems and all it has been is a huge mess.

  • Cg
    CG Eve Jul 27, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree and am a property owner...VRBO's bookkeeping is horrendous and it seems there is a severe lack of communication between the different departments. I truly hate VRBO but now they are a conglamorant and have the whole vacation rental business in their laps...perhaps that is why they think that customer service is not important only getting money in their pockets.

    0 Votes

Terrible customer service

We booked this home for a long weekend to visit my son is Scottsdale. When we booked we paid in full because it was about 30 days out. After booking we ran into a few issues with my son being exposed and self quarantine and such. I reached out to the property manager BRENT PAULY. Our initial emails were responded to until I brought up possibly cancelling. His lack of customer service skills were unbelievable. Here are a few of his responses to us:
"There was a pandemic prior to you booking. If you are worried about being around someone who has been around someone else with Covid-19 maybe they should not come. You and your family had every intention of coming out here even with Covid-19 still being around. I am not sure what is changing now." WOW — .. After all that, things were ok with my son and we were going to keep the reservation. Then 7/3 Chicago issues an Emergency Order to self quarantine when returning from AZ starting on 7/6. We are all returning to Chicago and work outside of the house so that is not a possibility. Plus the increase of cases in AZ caused us to cancel our reservation. We reached out and received the same response.. if they rebook it we will get some type of refund. It was 3 days out at this time and no way would it be rebooked especially in AZ now. We asked for a credit to use for another time/location etc. Same scripted response... no we are outside of the cancellation period. This was our 1st and obviously last time to use VRBO. Their website says they advise the owner to show flexibility with cancellations during this Covid time. Some much for flexibility. Extremely inept customer service!! c

Non payment for booked rental by vrbo to owner

Owner # 560859 had guest book on 5/30/20 (Guest booking # HA-ZFT3NC), guest completed stay on 7/5/20. VRBO has not paid owner for this booking and keeps extending payout dates (funds now held by VRBO for 38 consecutive days after booking). Guest damage deposit is also being held for an extensive period. Basically VRBO is not paying owners or guests money owed.

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Refund

We had to cancel a booking, 2 days after it was booked on June 5, 2020 and we are STILL waiting for our refund! I am tired of hearing their excuse about COVID causing the delay! This is pure and simple thievery! We have used VRBO for many years, but this situation has caused us to find lodging elsewhere. I have called them and emailed them and while they say our refund has been processed...we still haven't received it. I wonder who's enjoying the benefits of OUR money?!

Refusing to refund my money

Last November I rented an apartment in Oaxaca, Mexico, for July 2020 through Vrbo. The Covid19 pandemic hit. I am in the most vulnerable group (79 years old with heart problems and diabetes) and I was forced to cancel my trip so I would not be exposed to the virus. I notified Vrbo in writing, explaining the circumstances. They acknowledged the cancellation but said that there would be no refund. Now they are holding over $ 1000.- of my money, unwilling to give it back to me.
I also had a booking with Airbnb which I also had to cancel. Airbnb answered within 48 hours and issued the proper refund.
Vrbo should follow the same fair policy during these hard times. They do not even have a customer service number. This complaint should be a warning to others to avoid a company that does not follow industry ethical standards.

  • Cg
    CG Eve Jul 27, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Good to know...I am a property owner and have received horrible service from VRBO. I am searching for a new provider who is easier to work with. I will look into AirBNB. It is very important to me to have good relationships with my guests and with my provider and I want my rights and property protected as well. I will check out AirBNB and hopefully be able to switch to them.
    I am sorry you are having problems with VRBO but am not at all surprised after the fiasco I just had with them.

    0 Votes

No refunds owner not responding

We made reservations in colorado in March. Due to cover the wedding we were going to was canceled and travel has been difficult. 60 days prior to the reservation we tried to cancel and get a refund. even thought the website has "free cancelations" they would only return their portion and not the owners portion of the almost $900 deposit. Each call into home away and vrbo led nowhere. no one would respond saying they would contact the owner. 2 months and multiple calls (at 20 minutes on hold each time and getting disconnected) with no results. no call backs and each call goes to a different agent that knows nothing and starts over. Terrible business and will never use these sites again!!! Total Rip OFF!!

Rental property

I went on HomeAway website (owned by VRBO) to plan my vacation. I made 3 separate reservations with different...

Coronavirus

We rented a house for two days end of March then the virus and we needed to cancel our trip.We were advised for vrbo there were no refunds allowed.We waited for owners reply about a credit we heard nothing. Got a letter stating vrbo was hoping the owners would work with the renters but ours didn't when they did contact after 2 tries she mentioned a credit then said vrbo gave us a refund for 27.00 out of the 504.00 we paid.Like anyone planned on a virus becoming an epidemic!Don't book with them so unfair

Didn't rest for all the running and noise upstairs

we rented this property from 03/05/2020 til 03/11/2020 and before we could get there Kim called my phone and texted me several times what time were we arriving. then when we arrived and she saw we were African Americans she started askin about my son who was on the reservation to stay there 6 people were on there my hubby, 2 sons, grandbaby, and mother then she stated that would be too many if he planned to stay there when I told her he wasn't cause he bought his girlfriend. I was sick and on vacation couldn't get proper rest from the kid running around upstairs, Kim kept texting me about stupid stuff even called my phone to ask who came over at 4 in the morning and left. In the 1st place the rental doesn't say that it was your basement cause I would have picked other options and how are you babysitting grown folks. When we left she texted me about a blanket that was in the drawer and some broken blue bowl that we have no idea what she talking about. My problem with this rental don't say you on sight, say you live upstairs and the rentals in the basement and my other problem is I am on vacation don't want to be bothered I don't know you. Then I definitely don't wanna hear stumping upstairs all night and early in the morning. Nothing was close by as she stated. barely anything to do. Before looking for stuff you started textin me talking bout stuff was missing that was there. I don't appreciate anything she done as far as my stay and being accused of taking stuff that is still there. If you don't want blacks staying there find out what color they are before they get there, my sons were very disappointed with this vacation. Lane peeping round corners acting like we criminals. I have stayed at several AirBNB and got perfect ratings and wasn't watched. Everybody there were grown, we have money and live just as good as you do and don't appreciate a vacation turning into a disaster. My hubby didn't get to celebrate his birthday cause we were not comfortable there. This was vacation in hell. If I could got my money back when I first got there I would have left, not used to staying in nobody's basement. Everybody asking where's the pictures of what being in hell for 6 days. I would like some type of refund so I can take me a decent vacation cause this definitely wasn't what I spent my money for. Couldn't even enjoy ourselves for being bound, I tried to be nice but after the review when I cleaned up the house even washed the towels and she gave me a 3 and friendliness, I didn't come to be your friend I came for a vacation. the things she did let us know she was prejudice and I will be taking this situation further cause I am not used to stuff like this I live in Indianapolis Indiana. God create us all equal. I have other witnesses, very disappointing trip

Party house, rental house

Since december 16th 2019 the address of 8348 stone creek drive chanhassen mn 55317 started renting out their home as a short term rental property, the house has sat vacant for two plus years and now its a rental, cars everywhere and people coming in and out all the time, no privacy at all its become a huge nuisance to our neighborhood and neighbors. Not knowing who is there it has a revolving door all the time worse on weekends. large party groups, cars pulling in and out plugging both sides of the streets we live in a safe or used to be safe neighborhood not so safe anymore, i have attached some photos and video of what our street and this place looks like every week and weekend, its only been on the rental for three months and it had to go. not fair to the us as tax payers and the owners don't even live in this city. the groups of people and the coolers out side in the snow and on the porch is a giveaway on what they are doing, if you look at the ass add it states to be kind and respect the neighbors and they have done none of this, we the add also states that sleeps 14, people well that just asking for a party pad, on street parking, ect. this home is on vrbo property number 9251168ha

Party house, rental house
Party house, rental house
Party house, rental house
Party house, rental house
Party house, rental house
Party house, rental house
Party house, rental house
Party house, rental house

  • Updated by JOE provo · Mar 09, 2020

    more from street angle this is one party

    Comments

Nehalem, or

On 1/28/2020 I was refused access to the home, although I paid for it. The owner incorrectly stated that a refund had been issued. Up until now I considered Starfish Point to be an upscale lodging provider - and for that reason I expected sound business practices and stellar customer service. Unfortunately I found that to not be true. The level of incompetence and poor customer service is alarming. For that reason I will be pursuing appropriate resolution thru Oregon Small Claims Court, including a full refund along with damages.

Booking/cancellation

I prepaid a vrbo from may 24 - 30, 2019. My conference was allowing me to travel to australia, and I extended my stay, and I booked a vrbo (first time). My conference was postponed, and then eventually indefinitely postponed. I had prepaid, and when I cancelled the property, the property manager stated that my funds would be placed in escroe until I could rebook. Little did I know, the conference was not financially solid, and they stated they would plan on a 2020 date. Well these funds are personal funds I used for an extended stay and I would simply like a refund. I am getting a run around and was told by vrbo staff that I should have cancelled with the property. I did! I feel used, abused, and ripped off by your system, and will never ever book again, and I will not recommend vrbo to anyone!! I am losing $3000 usd, am not a rich person and can never replace these funds.

  • Ka
    Kaye james Mar 17, 2020

    I just cancelled a reservation in Palm Springs. I cancelled because of the corona virus. The tennis tournament was cancelled because of the virus. The home owner told me that because everyone’s cancelling that I had couldn’t get a refund! Called vrbo and they talked her into a 50% refund? Out of 10 friends. I’m the only one who didn’t get a full refund! From now on I will do a hotel! It’s just not worth it

    1 Votes

Unfair rental policy

Do not rent through vrbo!!! Do not tent from ezstay new jersey. Do not rent from shelly lam. Do not rent the property in jersey city on pavonia ave!!
I rented the property and paid $3300.00 for 6 days shortly before before we were to go my son died unexpectedly. She said she would refund $1000. Over a month ago and never sent it. Now she doesn't respond to my messages at all. She kept the rent, the vrbo service fee and the cleaning fee. We paid a cleaning fee even though we were never there?? How do they even see this is legal?

  • Cg
    CG Eve Jul 27, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    VRBO should send you the service fee as the owner never receives that money nor do they receive the damage deposit monies as VRBO holds that in their coffers...you should request those amounts from VRBO and seek aadvice from an attorney on litigating against VRBO and the owner

    0 Votes

Fraud tolerance policy

VRBO was used to scam me and my partner, the "owner" being an employee or possibly the owner and an accomplice, who knows? The fact is this VRBO platform and their useless customer service policies enabled someone to bilk us out of over ten thousand dollars for a long-term rental in San Pancho, Mexico. We are NOT wealthy people, yet the "mystery" of how this has happened "twice" to the same owner (he told me this over the phone) goes unchecked by VRBO. Fraud is in their interest, apparently. I will never use this so-called "service" again. This scam will continue to be perpetrated and no one at the company gives a damn. Find another way to rent from real, decent people and a company that actually values repeat business.

  • Cg
    CG Eve Jul 27, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a property owner and find that VRBO is just as horrible to our services as well...maybe this isn't even the owner and fully rests on the shoulders of VRBO...you should seek advice from an attorney against VRBO as they are the entity that holds themselves out to protect both the renter and the property owner and they do not.

    0 Votes

Ungrounded blocking of amount on my credit card

On November 11th I tried to make a booking for a vacation house in Italy (Property # 8758555) for next summer. When trying to pay by Mastercard I received an error message saying the transaction could not be completed, probably because the amount exceeded the credit limit. When checking my bank account the next day, I saw an amount had been reserved. Contacting Worldline (provider of the MasterCard), they told me this reservation was made by VRBO.
Contacting customer service of VRBO, they confirmed that they have seen the attempt to make a booking, but could not find a reservation made on my creditcard.
This means that there is no legal ground for blocking an amount on my creditcard. Worldline then told me all that needed to be done was VRBO sending a mail or fax to them asking to relieve that reservation, which I asked VRBO to do.
Answer from VRBO is that they are not allowed to do so and will see at a higher level for a solution. One week later and several mails from my side, I still haven't had any response and the amount is still blocked on my creditcard. As long as this is the case, I cannot make another payment with my card. All I ask is for VRBO to send a mail to Worldline to release the reserved amount on my creditcard.

  • Cg
    CG Eve Jul 27, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    VRBO is horrible and treat property owners and renters with this same horrible customer service of passing the buck and never really taking care of any issues...seek an attorney for litigation against VRBO

    0 Votes

False advertising regarding availability of property

On July 12, 2019 we reserved (and paid a deposit) for property # 444415 for the dates 1/14/20 to 3/14/20. We received confirmation from VRBO on the same date that the reservation was confirmed.

On 9/12/2019, we received an email from the owner/manager Thomas Jackovics that the reservation was cancelled. He did not state a reason. We went back online immediately & noticed that the property was listed as available so we rebooked & paid the deposit figuring there that some glitch/error had occurred.

Assuming that all was good, we purchased airline tickets for the family. We received a balance due email from VRBO on 10/23/19 & immediately paid the balance only to receive an email on 10/24/19 from the owner stating that the reservation had been cancelled since the unit was booked for Jan & Feb of 2020. I called the ownerʻs contact number but the call went directly to voicemail.

We contacted VRBO by phone & the agent we spoke too tried to be helpful by calling the owner directly. The agent reported back that Mr. Jackovics was rude & had hung up on him. The agent then advised us to contact the owner/manager prior to booking to make sure the property is available. Seriously!

We would recommend that people avoid dealing with Thomas Jackovics at all costs. Weʻre sure he has other listings on VRBO. As for VRBO, I would reconsider dealing with them at all.

False advertising/strange questions

I just wanted someone to be aware of the strange situation I experienced with the following VRBO owner when making a reservation: https://www.vrbo.com/704564.

The property says that it sleeps 15 people.

After I made the reservation this past Saturday (Oct. 19) the owner accepted it and then asked me how many people where in my party and what their ages were, which I thought very strange since I've stayed in VRBOs before and have never been asked these questions.

But I went ahead and told him that my party consisted of eleven people between the ages of 14-54.

He then replied saying that he would be charging me for the "extra" person and that the "base price" was for only 10 people. Since the house is listed as sleeping 15 people, wouldn't this be considered false advertising?

I have attached a screen shot of the listing, a screen shot of the ages question and a screen shot of our further conversation.

I have since canceled my reservation, as I do not feel at all comfortable or safe dealing with this owner or staying at his property.

I also have to question his 51 five-star ratings. Did 51 people really OK him asking their ages and charging extra for more than 10 people? In a house that sleeps 15, I would imagine that all parties that stay there consist of more than 10 people.

False advertising/strange questions
False advertising/strange questions
False advertising/strange questions

Owner abruptly cancelled reservation, has not returned full refund.

VRBO Property #8486344ha
Reservation ID HA-W3JB9D
Booked: September 23-26, 2019, 3 nights.
Owner Name: Giuseppe

1st Payment: Paid on 04/18/19 E226.75
2nd Payment: Paid (due on 9/8/19, paid on 9/2) E491.25 Total Paid: E718.00

Issue: Received reminder from owner on 9/1 that second payment was due, despite 9/8 being listed as second payment date. On 9/3 I paid the remaining E491.25 by credit card to HomeAway. Almost immediately after receiving the payment, I received an email from the owner stating that he was cancelling our reservation, also dated 9/3. A VRBO invoice states that the owner then refunded me E81.88 and E245.63, for a total refund of E327.51 I believe that Giuseppi /Home Away still owes me E390.49
I contacted Giuseppi by email about this discrepancy. He did not provide details as to why he cancelled the reservation and told me that the remainder due would be refunded by HomeAway. To date I have not received this refund.
Thank you,
Sam Pronesti

Owner abruptly cancelled reservation, has not returned full refund.