SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Toyota corolla 141low fuel consumption rate

1
M Review updated:

I am from sri lanka. I am a customer who bought a brand new corolla 141 model car which has send sri lanka. We have been informed that the fuel consumption rate of the above vehicle will be around 12 - 13 km per liter, at the time of placing the order. Since our decision of purchase is more on the fuel consumption rate we placed the order. But after we received the vehicle we realized that the actual rate is only around 7 - 8 km per liter. We are totally dissatisfied and disappointed. Earlier corolla model were much more better than this. With new technologies such as vvti and etc these rates should have been improved. Please tell us is there any way to get this improved. At the moment we are in trouble by buying your vehicle, there are other brands who's fuel consumption is far more better than this. So it's very very important to get something done on this to improve the fuel consumption rate. Somehow we need a improvement. We need a quick reply for the betterment of the car. Vehicle id no issued by sri lanka rmv - [protected] chassie no jtdbz 42e209029249, engine no 3zz3101369 - melani

Responses

  • Ya
    Yasitha Liyanage Apr 30, 2009

    ya, I am also a person who use 141 model, now we are in a big trouble as it use to go only about 6 to 7 km /l .
    My question is, what are the main differences that course this kind of a difference when compared to 121 model?, but how ever 141 is perfect in all the other way.
    Yasith Liyanage,
    Colombo, Sri Lanka.

    3 Votes
  • Ja
    jayantha Jul 17, 2009

    We have the same car. Our experience with short running least fuel economy is 8-9 km/l . In longer run 12-13 km/l and some times 14 km/l. However, this car's economy is not as good as 121 and VIOS. We also think that if the fule economy could not be achieved, the Honda Civic 2008, 1.8 CC is much better valued option if you buy it for the duty free permit.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Charitha Sep 17, 2009

    Anyone who knows about vehicles will know that the fuel consumption will vary depending on the person who drives the vehicle & where he drives it. Specially a automatic transmission. My one does 14 kmpl on flat run, yes it doesn't do like NZE121. it could be due to the engine capacity NZE121 has a 1.5 L engine & ZZE141 has a 1.6 L engine.

    1 Votes
  • Up
    upul Liyanagge Oct 24, 2009

    this is a very poor performing car. Toyota must produce better car than toyota 121 especially Corollas. Toyota well understood that fuel economy is need of the hour. I have to think twice to buy a toyota in future.

    2 Votes
  • Ra
    Ratnamalala Oct 25, 2009

    We brouht a Toyota 141 for the special permit issued for professional in Sri Lanka. We thoght that this 141 would be definitely better fuel consumption car as I knew that the performance of corolla 121. However I was thoroughly dissapointed after using this car. Earlier we were in the opinion that toyota as a good customer caring company, this would have been considered and understood. However this 141 in city running it operates only 7-8 Kmpl where as corolla 121 operates 13 -14 kmpl. Everybody can see the difference and how we are in trouble. I thought that new model should be better than its older model. However this has been the other way. I buy toyotas and in future I have to think twice wheather to buy Toyota unless toyota is not solved this problem faced by their customers. I have anyway know that toyota take this seriously and is capable of handing this issue

    1 Votes
  • Na
    Namal Dec 03, 2009

    I too own a 141, within the city limits it does only 7 to 8 Km/L. and out stations 9 to 10. Compare to 121 and Carena, this perticular model does nothing. i wonder this issue could be due to the reason Toyota Lanka imported the modified version in order to tally with the Permit Holder's budget (2.5m-3M) not sure.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dineshr Dec 29, 2009

    Totally agree. This has a very bad fuel economy. I am in real trouble trying to sell this vehicle. The second hand market is very very poor in Sri Lanka for this vehicle. I totally agree that the 121 is far better superior than this. This is one of the worst cars i have driven in my lifetime.

    -1 Votes
  • Am
    amila athauda Jan 01, 2010

    haii guys don't worry i got a solution last April I bought a Toyota corolla 141 from toyota lanka so I also faced to the same trouble in first few days when you are using a automatic gear sys. you have to control your gears through your shift paddle but first of all you have to get a idea of it*..
    02. when you drive in a city CHANGE YOUR GEAR TO 3RD DON'T DRIVE WITH D" thats too impotent
    03.in new corolla you can reached to 0kmhs- 140kmhs without applying gear D.
    04.always try to drive with low RPM I recommended below 2
    05.few years back i owned a corolla 121 but in new corolla its more powerful than previous(same fuel rate)

    so if any doubt contact [email protected]
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2t5mEcrO4ak
    (it proved that you can reached to 120kmhs with 3rd don't worry about rpm it will reduced to 2 automatically)

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chaturanga Apr 01, 2010

    I am also an owner of 141, but as I drive my experience is about 14km/l. I think any one knows that the driver is responsible of the wastage of fuel. If you also try, you may have good feelings about 141.Thats true its not muck better than 121, but I'm very happy of 141 than 121.

    1 Votes
  • Gu
    Gunathilake Jun 26, 2010

    Are these posts about toyota 141 AXIO ?

    2 Votes
  • Ud
    Uditha Jul 13, 2010

    Is Corolla 141 AXIO is also the same or is it fuel efficient?

    1 Votes
  • So
    solid snake Jul 14, 2010

    Hi! Axio is a smaller car. It does around 10-12 km/l. fuel economy of a vehicle is based on the HW the vehicle uses. I have a toyota premio 'G' grade (authentic G grade) which has 2000cc power house + cvt-i gear system. Anybody would thunk this will not do more than 8km/l right? Well news flash- this does 13km/l in tight traffic and long runs more than 15km/l. Well no matter how hard I push the throttle the RPM does not exceed 3000 and quickly drps to 1200. Eventhough I'm over 120km /h run which is very quick on this car. So wht matters is the body size/weight of the car combining Engine capacity & technology(rec: dual vvti/d4 with cvt). If a car is big the engine shoul be bigger enough to maintain RPM in a lower rate-ex:allion 1.5 does 10 km/l(in good condition) &1.8does 12-14km/L .

    0 Votes
  • He
    Herath Jul 17, 2010

    Tell me about the second hand market on Toyota belta 1000 cc car.

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    Pubs Jul 22, 2010

    I also own a Toyota Corolla 141. In outstation rides she runs about 12 km/l... On average she has run 9 km/l.. Fuel efficiency would be higher as the engine gets older... as i guess...

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sameera gunawardena Aug 03, 2010

    Hi, what about 2006 or 2007 AXIO? Is it fuel efficient?

    0 Votes
  • Ak
    Akram_moh Aug 25, 2010

    Am just imported a Axio it's does 9-10 within the city, outstation wud do approx 12, all depends on the driving, try to keep the eco light on always.. do not use the "S' that meant for "Sports" where it's consum more fuel power more i believe if u run only on sports it wud do only 7-8

    0 Votes
  • Ds
    D S P A R De Silva Aug 31, 2010

    I am also a owner of toyota 141. its clear that this vehicle is the vehicle having most uneconomical fuel efficiency in the sri lanka today. Before buying this 141, I searched the toyota web and got information that it works 15.7km/l. But, it works only 7-8km/l on city and 10-11km/l on highway. when I inquired this problem from toyota lanka, they said that it will be ok after running about more than 10, 000km. But, now I understood that these all are lies. The truth is toyota has manufactured this special version for permit holders to their budgets and also get the maximum profit from such a 3rd world country like sri lanka because of no law for the protection of consumers. Now we have only following options.

    1. All the 141 ownwers must get together and insist toyota lanka to attennd this problem and discuss with toyota japan for asolution to this problem. somtimes this can be solve by a modification to the existing engine. They know well how to do it. We like to pay some reasonable amount for this modification

    2. Otherwise, we must take a legal action against toyota lanka and toyota japan for misleading of customers. Recently in America such a incident was happened for poor breaking system installed (for the same brand toyota) and all the vehicles were returned to japan for the rectification with toyota's cost. I am sure that our case is very similar to this case and we can win.

    Please send this message to everybody having a toyota 141.

    D.S.P.A.R.De Silva
    [email protected]

    2 Votes
  • Me
    melsakka Oct 30, 2010

    i bought toyota corola and gearbox is very bad

    1 Votes
  • Me
    melsakka Oct 30, 2010

    can you belive that all car makers pull cars when they find there is problems except toyota egypt

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sisira Oct 31, 2010

    I also totally agree with you. But what we can do for this. we already brought the car. If you are going to do some thing agents to toyota lanka. please inform us. we also joint with you
    Thanks
    Sisira
    [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    JayanNadeeka Nov 10, 2010

    I own a corolla 141. Now my car does 16-18 km/l after a very simple modification. This new unit+ installing price is around Rs.50000. Also they do an engine tune up too. contact me if u want further information.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBGQs6FudD8

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    gr*** May 21, 2019

    @JayanNadeeka Pls.let me know about the new unit which can improve the fuel rate and where to get it done etc. mail me at [email protected] Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Supun123 Dec 22, 2019

    @JayanNadeeka Please give me the informations

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mohamed shibley Jan 16, 2020

    @Supun123 Give me more information mhshibley @yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dasun Nov 12, 2010

    Can We have further information about your new unit?

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chamath Dec 28, 2010

    can somebody tell me about fuel consumption of 141 Diesel.. 2000cc

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    ranjulad Jan 08, 2011

    hello
    i am also a doctor who got a corolla 141 for the permit
    pls send me the unit that improves the fuel consuption
    pls send some information to my e-mail
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Pradeep Gunawardane Jan 13, 2011

    One of my friends 141 had the sudden acceleration problem and it run over 8 people at Base line railway station petrol shed. Luckly only 2 persons critically injured. People thought he was drunk and people beat him hard. This was shown in Sirasa TV. Now another incident is reported in Telecom car(Corolla 141). Be careful. Toyota Lanka is dumb

    0 Votes
  • Ik
    ikimitus Jan 30, 2011

    thank you all for the good advice, i think i will go for nze121 rather than nze141...

    0 Votes
  • In
    Indika Feb 16, 2011

    Yes . It is very true. I have a 141 and it does ave 8-9 km/hr. I think it is one of less fuel efficient cars today even when compared with high power engine such as 2000 cc. That was not expected and not told by Toyota Lanka when we buy the car brand new.
    from " No 1 car seller of the World "

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CHITHRAKA Mar 17, 2011

    IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR THOSE SERVICE THEIR CARS FROM TOYOTA LANKA
    Make sure your cars battery terminals are firmly fixed after the service.My father's yaris was serviced from toyota lanka several mouths ago and i found that (-) battery terminal was loose.This was found in an other toyota yaris of a university lecturer .
    so please check your cars battery terminals before you leave Toyota lanka, this may prevent your car gutted from fire.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Suraweera Aug 21, 2011

    I totally agree with this problem. Good car but extremely poor on fuel consumption.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thushara Jan 15, 2012

    Do you really know about Diesel corolla CE140 and fuel consumption of same?

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Janith Jan 18, 2012

    Toyota Corolla 141 is a fuel efficient vehicle. Most these vehecles import under government permits as brand new vehecles. therefore all brand new vecles take additional fuel in early stages. Axio is a recondition car thats why it named as high fuel efficient car. same in 121. After 45000 to 65 000 km running on the road 141 is also take low fuel for city running. Other hand most these 141's commonly used in city Aareas, if we can drive nearly 10000km in outsttion, it helps to boost overall engine performances of the car. thats the truth. please check it. I think Toyota Corolla 141 is a good car than Axio model.

    1 Votes
  • St
    Strada Feb 05, 2012

    Both toyota Altis (what you all called here as 141) and corolla axio is the same car [both NZE-141 model]. Only difference is that Axio is the domestic model (manufactured for Japanese standards) while Altis is the export model. There are few modifications in Altis compare to the Axio, since the Altis is being exported to countries with tropical climate (Heat package is added). Technology and mechanical/electronic components are same, but body and type of material that has been used may differ.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bandara dissanayake Feb 20, 2012

    I have a yoyota axio now getting abig noise from the gear box . sound is as plate touching.please advise me.thanks.
    mail adress is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Nu
    Nuvaiz May 03, 2012

    I am planing to purchase a registered 2008 model 141, already fixed the deal, this is for my official use and travel a lot, how can I maintain my car fuel in city limits at least by 10 or 11, please advice me. someone has mentioned about a unit, can you let me know the details about the unit. My mail id was given below. [email protected]

    Nuvaiz

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    janith cr Jul 11, 2012

    i wish to buy a 141 axio. is it a good idea or no? and how about the fuel consumption rate. please advice me that what is the best choice... 141 axio or 121 or other..
    please advice me...

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sisira Aug 16, 2012

    Mr D.S.P.A.R.De Silva
    Now I do not agree with you because I checked my corolla 141 fuel consumption from Katugastota to Anuradapura via Kurunegala. It was working 16.3 Km / lts
    Then I cheeked again from kaduruwela to Batticaloa and return same way It was working 16.5 km/lt
    But Anuradapura to Polonnaruwa It was working 13.9 Km/lt as we visited Atamasthana.
    From Polonnaruwa to Katugastota it was working only 13.3km/lt
    But normally in the kandy city it is working 8.0 ~9.0 Km/lt
    Sisira

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jagath gunasekera Oct 14, 2012

    I bought a brand new Corolla 141 Diesel model car .it is observed that common material fail of the gadget built for air condition flow vent regulating device (register)there are four numbers clips (left and right 2 and in middle two). the technical name of this is "register"but it is called for complete part and braking only moving middle part for holding for adjust AC direction of this "register".
    This small clips not available in local market.it is understood complete unit to be purchased very costly. Toyota company should do something in favour of customers.

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Hiran C Nov 11, 2012

    ok guys you all need to understand the fact that the fuel consumption obviously varies from one driver to the other. who are a bit hard on paddle would get couple of less kms than the slow movers. so there will be a 2/3km differences in the economies you guys get. all and all do not expect corolla 141 to be economical as 121 since its obviously a bigger car. i guess the 2000cc 141 would be better on fuel than 1600cc version since the engine is powered enough to push the heavier bigger body of 141. when it comes to axio it does better than export model 141 since its a much smaller and its fixed with a cvt tranny. generally if you see domestic models have been more economical than export models in most of jap cars ( mazda 3 vs axela, civic ferio etc ) someone had mentioned about a noise from axio gear box. dude axio has a cvt tranny which should be taken care of carefully. not a big deal but just you have to make sure that the oil changes are done on time. remember this is not automatic fluid you have to pour in. it is cvt fluid. i have seen quite a few of allion260s got shattered their cvt boxes as the owners have poured normal automatic fluid. allion 260 and axio are the very first toyota cars came to SL market with CVT tranny where as honda civics came 10 years ago with cvts.so such mistakes could happen commonly by toyota users. 7-8 kmpl is the general fuel economy of a 141. the fuel economies that the agents claim are under the controlled conditions where as in practical world it would be far less when you stop in traffic inch to inch and take 90 degrees bends from minute to minute in colombo road conditions. every time you stop your car in traffic and take bends remember it has to rev back as well so obviously it consumes more fuel.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Roshan per Dec 27, 2012

    I am writing this because many layman has written incorrect data which confuse a non tecnical person .So here is all the data i have found out correct to best of my knwoledge and ability. As end of the day its the fuel consumption that matters. As most of us drive cars in the city. Axio has proved its self that its more economical than 141. brand new cars needs to loosen up only 5000 km to improve fuel consumption. 1.6 3zze engine in 141 is an old 2000 built a older engine compared to Axio 1.5 1NZfe 2007 engine ...http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_ZZ_engine.
    .http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_NZ_engine
    So what Toyota did is to sell cars to Asia including Sri Lanka with an old engine for new body.
    Roshan (marine engineer) [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roshan per Dec 27, 2012

    actually 9th generation Corolla engine in a 10th gen Corolla Body can be safely assumed..

    0 Votes

Post your comment