Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
TD Bank

TD Bank review: rip off fees 47

C
Author of the review
3:39 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I have 2 issues with TDBANK

1. I missed transferring money from one TD Bank account to the other before a transaction posted and they hit me with a $70 overdraft fee! SEVENTY DOLLARS!

2. If you do not keep a minimum of $100 in your checking account every single day then you are assessed a $15 monthly fee.

PERHAPS THEY SHOULD HAVE NIXED THE CELEBRITY COMMERICIALS AND MARCHING BANDS AND SPENT SOME TIME ACTUALLY CARING ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS! I am going to find a local bank on Cape Cod that actually cares about my business!

I HATE THIS BANK!

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More TD Bank reviews & complaints

TD Bank - outrageous overdraft fees 69
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
TD Bank - overdraft fees?!? 52
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
TD Bank - extreme delay in posting direct deposits 8
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
TD Bank - fraud reimbursement and overdraft fees 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
TD Bank - exhorbitants fees!! hipocritical
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
TD Bank - horrible customer service 3
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
TD Bank - racist treatment 7
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
47 comments
Add a comment
H
H
Hunter2016
, CA
Mar 21, 2016 3:03 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

TD bank Brooklyn, NY is holding a fraudsters bank account.

In 2015, I was defrauded by account holder for $ 174000.

The TD investigators are aware of the account and can't say anymore
Protecting the clients privacy. The same account defrauded another Canadian 2.4 million.

So under the patriot act and companies ethics policy who is doing the checks and balances on this account.

Or is the bank too busy making money...

E
E
egreeneceo
Willingboro, US
Feb 12, 2011 11:57 pm EST

Is there any black managers or VP's or Assistant VP's that work for this company? I was at one of their recent award ceremonies and their was absolutely no Blacks, Hispanic, Indians, Chinese, Japanese, or Mexicans in the management group WTF! I have no ill towards any race having more than the other in a company but, DAMN! spread the wealth with a little of the other race and ethnic groups.

S
S
sarahross2b
Palm Bay, US
Nov 07, 2010 6:33 pm EST

TD BANK IS THE WORST BANK I HAVE EVER USED. OBVIOUSLY IF MY ACCOUNT IS UNDER 100.00 I DO NOT HAVE THE 15.00 TO SPARE FOR THEIR STUPID SERVICE FEE. WAY TO GO TD, LETS MAKE EVERYONE STRUGGLE EVEN MORE.

M
M
matt9881
Milltown, US
Aug 04, 2010 3:16 am EDT

THEY CHARGE YOU OVERDRAFT FEES EVEN WHEN YOUR ACCOUNT SHOWS YOU HAVE AN AVAILABLE BALANCE. THEY TOOK ALMOST $200.00 FROM MY ACCOUNT IN OVERDRAFT FEES OVER WHAT THEY SAID WAS $30.00 IN OVERDRAFTS. HOW CAN BANKS LIKE THIS BE ALLOWED TO ROB PEOPLE AND TAKE THEIR MONEY WITH NO PROOF OF WHY THEY TOOK IT. DO NOT USE TD BANK, THEY ARE TERRIBLE AND THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS AT ALL!

F
F
Foster
, US
Jun 09, 2010 9:40 am EDT

TD Bank is holding on to a check I deposited on Friday and refuses to answer me and tell me when they will clear it even though I have sent them 3 emails today - they keep passing it around to other employees. Also they have been charging me $15 per month for checking for years when they have an account that only charges $3 - they never bothered to tell me - they just kept charging.

E
E
Evalina1828
Old Bridge, US
Apr 21, 2010 11:08 am EDT

TD BANK IS CRIMINAL.. The chrage overdraft fees for money that was in the bank. Some new rule that they take
large bills first and then the small ones, so instead of charging me 35.00 once they charged me 245.00. I hate this bank, worst bank ever. STAY AWAY FROM TD BANK!

D
D
dumbconsumer
East Mo, US
Mar 21, 2010 8:46 am EDT

TD Bank is horrible. I have had problems with overdraft fees in the past but this should be illegal. A check was deducted from my account twice and TD will not reimburse all the subsequent overdraft fees. They blamed it on my bookkeeping.

!

Plus, there are seven fees and I have only had 3 transactions since this so called oversight.

I have heard of banks being evil but this is just robbery.

U
U
unknown 6666
Merrick, US
Mar 15, 2010 8:57 pm EDT

I am a young boy who has a savings account at TD Bank. Over the years, I've saved over $900! As a kid, i was very excited. The next time I went to deposit some money, the amount in my account was actully less then the amount I had even BEFORE my next $260 deposit. I had $720 at first, then after my $260 deposit, I had only ?$705? i dont under stand this!

C
C
Captain T
Staten Island, US
Feb 25, 2010 6:29 am EST

I woke up this morning to find an email alert from TD Bank. So I logged into my account to find I had an overdraft of 138.00. I knew my account was low but I saw sure i still had money in the account. After a review of the account I found $140 .00 of over draft fee's. How can they get away with that? Dose any know a good bank that I can do my baking with?

Y
Y
yvone
Markham, CA
Feb 03, 2010 6:30 pm EST

I would say the services of this branch is awful, and especially the manager (lady with short hair, one big eye one small eye). wondering if every staff treat customer all like her, TD will... tomorrow.

J
J
jeffrey pompper
penns grove, US
Jan 14, 2010 8:49 am EST

First of all i was told when i opened my account my soccial security dis check would clear the next day. So i when into the bank the next day and a weekend parttime teller gives me available credit of $315.00 monday comes around and i check my online account and it is charged with several overdrafts.Still haveing trouble with the smily faced custumer service rep that can't even get in touch with her suppervisor. Very dissipointed

F
F
fisicaro
Spring City, US
Dec 01, 2009 6:12 am EST

its december and again i have no money i get direct deposits from soc sec on the first and 3rd of the month and they arent there again they said they will be there but not until 9 am this is so insane i can see once but not every couple of months...this is the 4th banking error this year!then the lines were busy they took my number and name to call me back they did and put me on hold for 21 minutes how rude

S
S
ssss350
Coventry, US
Nov 03, 2009 6:42 am EST

proactive solution was stealing money fron my cheaking acct.TD bank did nothing but offered broken promis es.I'm calling banking and inserance to complain about them.maby if we all did this things would change

L
L
lee0273
Woodbine, US
Oct 06, 2009 7:41 pm EDT

im so mad with this bank i dont now where to begin they canceled my cards atms and the took 1000 dallors from me and told me that they dont a statement for my depost over drew my account i locked me out of my account online and over the phone i feel i i have been kicked in the face this is nuts

R
R
rushantina
Mahwah, US
Sep 30, 2009 12:24 pm EDT

The banking industry relies on their systems heavily for their business. They have been off line for how long now? I am pulling my accounts as soon as I can get my money and shorting the stock.

The most convenient bank went to completely non-functional. I want my commerce bank back!

U
U
Unsatisfied Customers for Life
Laval, CA
Jun 03, 2013 11:27 am EDT

TD Bank lacks professionalism and the staff lacks experience. The personnel is incompetent and are non caring. They do not knw how to process loans.

M
M
MIcko
, US
Apr 15, 2010 6:53 am EDT

Stay away! They will speak down to you on the phone. The movie "thank you for smoking"? ...you'll be reminded of that guy every time they try to waffle about why they're literally stealing money. How is the "regulatory" system allowing? Get your money out now.

D
D
Done4
Linden, US
Oct 01, 2009 6:43 pm EDT

Has anyone else been receiving overdraft fees? BTW I signed up with Wachovia online, and I WILL DEFINITELY BE CLOSING my TD account once I make sure these fees are properly taken care of!

A
A
agarhs
bklyn, US
Sep 07, 2009 5:52 pm EDT

open my account there ofr free checking, bounced a check while there was money in the accounts.
charged hefty fee twice and then started charging a monthly cycle fee without any notices

S
S
smarther now
Warwick, US
Apr 15, 2015 1:16 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Yes they are biggest banking rip off, as I closed my accounts, as I same case happen to me of those posted here.

J
J
Jazzy8567
, US
Jun 22, 2011 8:27 pm EDT

My boyfriend was tricked today into sending money to an company called acc. They were saying he had an outstanding loan of 945.49 dollars. They said that since he didn't pay the loan that the loan company sent it to collections department and now the lawyers at the lawfirm are "incharge " of it now. So my boyfriend knowing that he has not done a lone was scarred into paying it because they said if he doesn't pay his balance that he will be taken to court. They were able to tell him his name, social, address, phone number, ect. So they convinced him into sending them his card number and picture id threw fax because they sounded legit. After my boyfriend made the payment he later called me crying saying what just happen and he didn't understand. So I asked him questions like what loan company, what emails, when did this happen, where are they from, what's the number, what's the dates and he couldn't answer me. We then went to TD bank to file a fruad claim and explained to him it sounds like a scam, his bank did see that the money was taken out but still put 900 dollars bank in his account on hold until they investigated the matter!. We went back to my house and I was thinking something still isn't right!. So I did the research and used the info we did have:. I typed in scam on google and I typed in mark brown which was supposidly the guy that owns this company and I found a lot of ppl talking about the same guys and how they were tricked the same way my bf was and the ppl sounded middle eastern and that was all the verification I needed, . We then went to the local police station and filled a police report and explained what happen and now his case is under investigation and he has a chance of getting his money back;. I want to also get this story out there because I know we wernt the first this has happen to and we deffinatly won't be the last|. God bless! Oh and they also said they are from cali and they made him write a note apologizing to them.. These ppl are sick and will pay for this!

R
R
Renee Vance
Haverhill, US
Sep 16, 2013 2:17 pm EDT

I couldn't agree more. I recently closed on a personal loan with the bank and after finding out that they made a mistake on something noone took responsibility for it. I have called 8 different people to resolve this issue but yet to receive a phone call back. Horrible bank to do business with.

T
T
Td hell
, US
Sep 28, 2012 9:58 am EDT

This bank is a real rip off! They will kill you with fees! Don't bother buying that $2.00 cup of coffee trust me it will end up costing you $37.00 once they are done with fees! They make sure the clear your biggest check first so they can charge you $35.00 for every $2.00 item you bought and thought you had covered because guess what when you checked your account it says nothing is pending every thing looks accounted for but what they do is hold your payments next thing you know your paying $105.00 for 3 cups of coffee! You will buy something small using your card on a Thursday somehow it takes them until even the following Thursday to clear it basically whenever they they feel they can really screw you over. Beware!

T
T
TD Cracks
Miami, US
Aug 31, 2012 4:28 pm EDT

Ditto with American Vioce, their system is so fix to get you with overdraft fees, If you are like me that due to my sales profession going up and down, and run on a tight budget "THIS IS NOT THE BANK FOR YOU". They will get yo at some point.

N
N
NTrent
Dover, US
Aug 29, 2012 5:57 am EDT

They steal money from us everyday. They are all in the game now. We fall on hard times and then they got us. Let's face it, the U.S. is not the same place anymore. We all can't be rich with Mom and Dads money. Bottom line, lol, keep a hundred in your account at all times.

A
A
Amanda Acri
, US
Oct 01, 2011 1:51 pm EDT

Yes, of course there are highers up who are non-white. I am a former employee, and during my shift there were several teams or groups working, each with its own respective team lead and supervisor. I can think of at least five supervisors or team leads, for whom I worked directly, of non-white ethnicity, and actually very few of whom were white men. In addition, the President and CEO of TD Bank, Bharat Masrani, is Indian-American. Of course, the ratio of whites and non-whites would depend on the demographics of one's locality.

K
K
K.t.1
Brooklyn, US
Mar 28, 2011 8:58 pm EDT

TD bank is a scam! It was just 3 months since I opened the account and they already charged me a total of $140 in overdraft fees! They are very late in clearing checks... even cash deposited via ATM they cleared it like you were depositing a check. One time my husband deposited $750 check via ATM (the check was addressed to another person), the whole amount cleared in the morning (so we assumed we have the money already so we paid our bills). But during the afternoon, they removed the $750 and we ended up with a negative balance and overdraft fees! Then they informed me that they don't accept third party endorsements. Like I knew about that? I didn't encounter those problems with CHASE. Why they cleared it anyway? And they are very reluctant to reverse the fees. It's not my fault, [censor]s! They have the most disorganized online statement. I will be CLOSING THE ACCOUNT ASAP!

T
T
Tdbankhater
, AF
Mar 20, 2011 2:50 am EDT

now td is adding 2 dollar fees when ever you usa an atm card on atm machines at wawa. Wawa's atms are free but td bank makes sure you get slapped with a fee. This has been going on since march 2011, before that it was free. This is the last month I'll have an account with them. They are just too greedy.

A
A
American Vioce
Rancocas, US
Feb 04, 2011 5:17 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I had to pay over $300 in overdraft fees, just to get out of this discussing bank. They are becoming a sloppy institution. They don't care about Americans.

A
A
American Vioce
Rancocas, US
Feb 04, 2011 5:00 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Stay away from TD Bank, save your money.
Their online system is totally disengaged from reality. Sequence of transactions doesn’t jive with reality, so your balance becomes negative and TD Bank will change you with overdraft fees. Customer service would not help you at all. They did agree in local branch and suggested not to use online tools to check account balance or look at my transactions, instead they suggested to use a registry book (a paper version of my balance). It is 2011 and I should be able to check my balance and it should be accurate. One day I walked in local branch and asked for my balance; the teller said that they can only tell me what balance I had two day ago. Is this a bank institution or a joke? I think after they became TD Bank, they outsourced and modified transactions processing, because for many years with Commerce Bank I haven’t seen such discrepancy. Few month ago my balance went from $3000 to -$3000 (3k negative). They froze my account and also admitted that it was due to programming glitch. It happened on Friday, so they suggested to wait till Monday till they resolve this issue. I could not use my hard earned money entire weekend, I could not buy anything for my wife and kids. This is ridiculous. I’ve had a very discussing and frustrating experience with TD Bank and just want to let you know what I’ve been through, so you don’t go through this like many people did including myself. I switched to PNC bank and I really enjoy great online tools and awesome customer service. TD Bank will go out of business.

L
L
Leticia_FL
West Palm Beach, US
Nov 22, 2010 9:30 pm EST

MY APOLOGIES IF THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO YOUR COMPLAINT. TRYING TO GET TD BANK TO PAY FOR WHAT THEY HAVE DONE TO THEIR CUSTOMERS!

For those of you inquiring about a lawsuit and are interested in becoming a class member, there is a lawfirm working on putting a class action lawsuit together. The more complaints and proof the attorneys have, the better the chances are at winning a substantial amount. Substantial enough for TD Bank to improve their business practices. I just finished sending in my information to the Trief & Olk Law Firm.
There is also a website where the firm is retrieving complaints from Go to http://www.bank-overdraft.com/cases/td.htm

Here is what you should do:

1. Keep all receipts for your debit card transactions to support your actual date and time of transaction.

2. Print the daily transactions reports off of the website DAILY, EVERY SINGLE DAY (This REALLY shows how they are re-ordering transactions, if you could see mine you would shake your head! BIG TIME... I got these thieves GOOD).

3. Print the pending transactions as well.

4. When complaining to TD Bank, rather than calling them - email them through the website for documentation and proof.

Hope this helps.

IGNORE THE PEOPLE WHO TELL YOU TO BLAME YOURSELVES! AND DO SOMETHING THAT WILL BENEFIT YOU AND OTHERS! WELLS FARGO HAD TO PAYOUT $300 MIL. HOPEFULLY WE'LL EVENTUALLY GET ALL BANKS TO DO THE RIGHT THING!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO YOU AND YOURS!

L
L
Leticia_FL
West Palm Beach, US
Nov 22, 2010 8:51 pm EST

For those of you inquiring about a lawsuit and are interested in becoming a class member, there is a lawfirm working on putting a class action lawsuit together. The more complaints and proof the attorneys have, the better the chances are at winning a substantial amount. Substantial enough for TD Bank to improve their business practices. I just finished sending in my information to the Trief & Olk Law Firm.
There is also a website where the firm is retrieving complaints from Go to http://www.bank-overdraft.com/cases/td.htm

Here is what you should do:

1. Keep all receipts for your debit card transactions to support your actual date and time of transaction.

2. Print the daily transactions reports off of the website DAILY, EVERY SINGLE DAY (This REALLY shows how they are re-ordering transactions, if you could see mine you would shake your head! BIG TIME... I got these thieves GOOD).

3. Print the pending transactions as well.

4. When complaining to TD Bank, rather than calling them - email them through the website for documentation and proof.

Hope this helps.

T
T
typeav
Homestead, US
Oct 06, 2010 5:15 pm EDT

I have a business account, I have lost over $4000 in overdraft fees and yes doesnt matter how hard I try to avoid this fees they always hit the account. And to those slick that always jump saying ohhhhhhhhh if you dont have the funds dont used it, well...I do have the funds but they trick you in all the ways to hit you with the fees. The goverment doesnt do nothing, the law enforcement doesnt do nothing, the bank and our local politicians doesnt do nothing...My bank account is [protected], I hope that someday 1 judge makes them refund back all the overdraft fees that they have take from us like they ruled in California to Wells Fargo.

O
O
on_my_own
Attleboro, US
Jul 09, 2010 5:06 pm EDT

Well. perhaps the $15 account is actually better if you look at the details, but maybe not for you. They have a $100 minimum, or a fee, you choose.

T
T
TD Bank- Customer Care
Mt. Laurel, US
Mar 16, 2010 8:23 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am sorry to hear that. Did your parents talk to the store manager? OR call our [protected] number and exlain to them what happened. I would contact them but i don't see a name.

M
M
Michelle Natalie M.
Clifton Heights, US
Feb 25, 2010 12:11 am EST

Do you work on the weekends? What do you really expect? First, TD bank is open on the weekends but there is no way you can possibly think that management will be there alllll the time. Secondly, have you ever heard the word FRAUD?! Do you REALLY think that anyone can deposit a check into a NEW ACCOUNT and it will be RIGHT there the next day? Read the information they give you properly, it states in there SOMEWHERE that NEW ACCOUNTS can be held longer do to the fact that they check into things a little further. Do you want an account that you just open and then it already has a returned check? Well neither does the bank. Social Security or not, it could happen.

M
M
Michelle Natalie M.
Clifton Heights, US
Feb 25, 2010 12:05 am EST

What do you expect? If proactive was "stealing" money from your account why should the bank be responsible? That company once had to have your account information, you should have contacted them and then solved the problem directly with the company that was taking it. The bank can't fix your mistakes.

T
T
tdbank-tdbank
Philadelphia, US
Feb 02, 2010 3:15 pm EST

I am tired of being scammed for every dollar I make from this bank. They are unethical. I have started a blog at the below address. Leave a comment. Leave lots of comments. If I get enough interest, I will start writing to the powers that be in our state houses and Capitol Buildings. I am not well-versed in how this kind of thing works, but I have to believe that if enough people complain about their practices, someone will look into it

http://tdbank-tdbank.blogspot.com/

M
M
markgenny
, US
Dec 02, 2009 4:05 pm EST

I agree with all comments in this thread. They are 100% true and am really upset that commerce was bought out by TD Bank because I never had issues like this before. However you slice it... if by any formula possible they can arrange numbers so that in one day's transactions the arrangement of numbers ever shows negative that is how they arrange it. In addition, it will be arranged to maximize the number of $35 fees.

I have 2 business accounts and personal and need to find another bank now.

Also I would like to know why today... 12-02-09 the US/Canadian exchange rate is 1.0503 however if I were to cash a canadian check TODAY they would apply a rate of 1.0805. Is that normal to automatically give themselves 3% on an international check?

T
T
TD BANK SUCKS 123456
West Babylon, US
Nov 12, 2009 3:38 am EST

i deposited a check and they made 100 dollars available to me right away i used my card 3 times that day using the 100 dollars .the next day they charged me 3 fees of 35.00 each.because they said the check didnt clear yet. i called customer service, they just would not help at all, they really dont care, stay away from this bank, im waiting for my direct deposit to post right now .i cant go to work i need my money.they post deposits last so they nail you with as many fees as possible.td bank is a scam, they are actually stealing my money legally.

  1. TD Bank Contacts

  2. TD Bank phone numbers
    +1 (888) 751-9000
    +1 (888) 751-9000
    Click up if you have successfully reached TD Bank by calling +1 (888) 751-9000 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached TD Bank by calling +1 (888) 751-9000 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached TD Bank by calling +1 (888) 751-9000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached TD Bank by calling +1 (888) 751-9000 phone number
    100%
    Confidence score
    United States
    +1 (877) 700-2913
    +1 (877) 700-2913
    Click up if you have successfully reached TD Bank by calling +1 (877) 700-2913 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached TD Bank by calling +1 (877) 700-2913 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached TD Bank by calling +1 (877) 700-2913 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached TD Bank by calling +1 (877) 700-2913 phone number
    Canada
  3. TD Bank emails
  4. TD Bank address
    10 Great Falls Plz, Auburn, Maine, 04210-5915, United States
  5. TD Bank social media
  6. Laura
    Checked and verified by Laura This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 13, 2024