State Farm Insurance Companyripoff rates

State Farm auto policyholders: YOU ARE GETTING RIPPED OFF! I had a continuously running auto insurance policy with State Farm for THIRTY THREE YEARS. Only two damage claims put in during that run (no injuries, or damage to somebody else's property or person). A couple of years ago, they started raising the rates every six months for the same coverages. Recently, after yet another rate increase, I called my agent (it always takes THREE FREAKING DAYS OR MORE to reach my agent at a service center out of town), and asked why the rates keep going up and up, while OTHER COMPANIES are LOWERING their rates! Well, she didn't know, and told me she doesn't know who sets the rates at State Farm or why the increases. I convinced her to call SOMEBODY in the company for an answer, and she said she would e-mail the "Underwriting Department" and try to get an answer...give her a few days. What do you think? After TWO WEEKS, I called the service center, my agent was not available (as ususal), I left a message to call me back, and after another week of waiting: NOBODY CALLED. Here's the beauty part: I started to get price quotes from the other major Insurance Companies, and MOST of them had lower prices for the same coverage (I have a clean record). Dig this: I signed up with GEICO, who gave me MORE COVERAGE, FOR A FULL 30% LESS!!! Their service can't be worse than State Farm, (two weeks before an adjuster looked at my car years ago on a claim). I signed up, and called the damn service center (AGAIN, my agent wasn't there), and I cancelled the policy. A couple of days ago, I get a form letter from my "former State Farm agent" asking me to call her to GET A PRICE QUOTE ON AUTO INSURANCE (with all kinds of discounts, etc.) Do you believe them? DROP DEAD STATE FARM, YOU DON'T DESERVE GOOD CUSTOMERS!

Responses

  • Wp
    Wpayton5599 Mar 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Your questions are easily explainable. First, your rates went up because of the timing of your accidents. Unfortunately, regardless of how long you have been with an insurance company, if you have accidents within the last three years you are going to get hit hard. It sounds like you have an unresponsive agent which is a shame, because I have worked with State Farm Agents in the past and many of them are top notch. State Farm has unbelievably favorable ratings when it comes to service. I am glad that you switched and found a lower rate and better service.

    To answer your second question...All rates are decided by actuarial departments. Rates will fluctuate based on claims paid out. In most states, rate increases and decreases must be approved by the Department of Insurance in that state. But, your driving record will always be taken into account.

    Did you happen to have a Homeowners Policy that was cancelled with State Farm? That would severely effect your auto insurance rates because you would lose the discount as well. State Farm has pulled their home policies out of Florida completely.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rolex452 Mar 22, 2011

    Thanks for your concern, it is appreciated. However, of the two auto claims made during the last 33 years, one was made approx. 25 years ago, and the other was made 11 years ago. So, there is no "pattern" of accidents to speak of, and no serious traffic violations either. As far as other insurance with State Farm? Answer: THOSE CREEPS DON'T OFFER ANY OTHER KIND OF INSURANCE TO SOUTH FLORIDA RESIDENTS. You see, after Hurricane Andrew in 1992, State Farm pulled all property insurance out of South Florida over the next two years or so. The question remains: why did they consistantly raise my rates (as a safe driver with a LONG history of payments), while OTHER LARGE COMPANIES (like Geico), welcomed me with open arms, and offered me 20 TO 30% LOWER RATES??? They abide by the same actuarial information and standards as State Farm does. No, my friend, they are greedy ### who decided it was time to get rid of good long-term customers by severly overcharging them. And yes, the local agent was a ### altogether. Thanks for your attention.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    comps2010 Apr 28, 2011

    I just got a letter for an increase of $250, my plan? It's time to switch. I am trying to fight it but they sent it to me exactly when I have end of school exams so I have other more important responsibilities than fighting for a $250 which would give me another month worth of gas month. It is agreed, stay away for State Farm!

    0 Votes
  • Wp
    Wpayton5599 Apr 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is good that you have found another carrier. I do not blame you for wanting to leave with the rate increases and poor service. I live in California, and my rates with State Farm have gone down consistently. I have found them to be an upstanding company and I love the Select Service program for auto claims.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rolex452 Jun 26, 2011

    An update on the greedy folks at State Farm: Please notice their new commercials when the come on TV: they are saying that they have great service, and YOU SHOULD COME BACK TO, OR REMAIN WITH State Farm!!! I assume from their almost desperate pleas to the public to "COME BACK", that the public has gotten tired of their constant price hikes for service that is probably just "on par" with the other companies. Remember, I said in my original complaint that I did not have a PERSONAL, PRIVATE State Farm agent (they make a big deal about that on the commercial), but rather, somebody at a large service center would service me when I needed assistance, and that involved a MINIMUM of three to four working days to hook up with her! STAY AWAY motorists...they'll rip you off like they ripped me off, and I had a 33 year old policy with no accidents for more than ten years!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wp
    Wpayton5599 Aug 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    rolex...State Farm only has their clients deal with Agents' offices. They do not have a large service center. You can request an agent at any time.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rolex452 Aug 18, 2011

    Hello again, WPayton5599: I'm sorry to disagree with you, but here in South Florida, State Farm does have a service center of sorts, located in a small office building (for State Farm only), and it has a group of State Farm agents working there. When you have an auto claim, you must go to that location to have an adjuster look at your car, sign papers, etc. When I lost my original State Farm agent of many years (he retired), I was assigned an agent at this center, which by the way is quite far from where I live. I can furnish you with the address if you wish. I realize that I could "reassign" myself to a private agent elsewhere, but there was no reason for doing so, as I had such a clean record...I never had to go there! Thanks for your interest.

    0 Votes
  • Ps
    PSAP Jun 23, 2013

    I agree that people become victims of state farm insurance. I also would like to add that state farm agents are very unprofessional, they have very negative attitude toward people, and they are always very angry on the phone when you call them. In fact, State Farm treat people like a complete garbage, and they are able to make you feel like that if you call them. They even can not and don't want to answer a simple question when you ask them. They should either get some ethical trainings or people should stop bothering to get involved with State Farm and buy their insurances In this way State Farm will understand that they depend on the people, and people don't depend on them; their agents have their jobs because of us all.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem