Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Banks Regions Financial account closure for no reason
Regions Financial

Regions Financial review: account closure for no reason 10

C
Author of the review
4:29 pm EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I opened an account with Regions in December of 2005. I have only been in the negative twice in 2006. On September 21, 2009 I was sent a certified letter from the original Regions institution my account was created informing me that my account would be closed in ten days. I have until October 1, 2009 to contact all of my bill collectors that debit my account Monthly of the changes, as well as my job, which mandates direct deposit for my checks. I went into a branch, after being instructed to do so when the representative from my original bank could not explain, to see what could be the issue. Thinking it was a mistake seeing my account has not been in the negative, I was told that Regions Security had issued the closure of my account and that no explaination was given, or that matter needed under the deposit agreement...They can close an account for no reason or just because "something they did not like" occured in my account to make them want to close it. The representaive herself said it was ridiculous and that she has had another person years ago come in about the same issue. She was great and referred me to another bank. She is so sorry that the institution is losing such a good customer. It is ridiculous!

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Regions Financial reviews & complaints

Regions Financial - scam and abuse! 83
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Regions Financial - atm deposit not applied to account 88
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Regions Financial - notarized lien release letter 2
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Regions Financial - courtesy, but for whom? 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
10 comments
Add a comment
M
M
Manikqua Bush
, US
Jul 20, 2022 6:49 am EDT

so i just opened an account with regions right at a week ago on 07//22. i had a check deposited the same day i opened the account of 5,000 dollars they placed a hold on the check til 7/19 well the day of the 19th i go to check my account an my account had been closed with no reason given. not understanding y they closed it because the check had cleared. i called the 1800 number an was gave the run around no one could tell me why they closed it an to go into a branch to rsove the issue. i have 4996 dollars in my account an unable to access my fund..

C
C
Chelsea Cooper
, US
Jul 21, 2022 7:45 am EDT

They just did the same thing to me. I deposited a check from my union for 6300 the check has cleared and this bank has frozen my account and will give me no answers. To say that I am livid is an understatement . I’ve waisted so much time going to the branch and calling the 1800 number. Apparently is the “back office” they sit back and decide who and will get there money. In my whole 47 years as an American I have never gone through something like this, keeping MY money. And not even giving a reason just robbed me. Do not open an account with this bank!

S
S
Sissy1972
Salem, US
May 23, 2022 10:22 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Regions is not a good bank at all. They should be investigated they way they do business and treat their customers. You all are correct, if they cannot get a overdraft fee from you, they will close your account or deny direct deposits, check deposits etc. Honestly, any bank or even a Walmart Money card is better than Regions. Beware Stay Far Away.

M
M
Medtide
, US
Feb 18, 2020 2:31 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have been a business account holder since 2008 with Regions, I received a letter they were closing the account the day they froze it ... no explanation... I did have some fraudulent activity on the account, but why "fire" the customer? They did, and don't seem to care, cant find anyone to even talk to us. I'm angry and shocked. They will cost me both time and money.

C
C
Charlie Wood
, US
Sep 07, 2021 6:01 pm EDT
Replying to comment of Medtide

same here

J
J
Jan fahmy
, US
Nov 13, 2019 2:56 am EST

This is what happened to me today I recieved the same letter for account termination. After 12 years with Regions. Looks like if they can't get any fee charge out of your pocket. They will do that. SunTrust will be more than happy to get my funds $ . Regions are the loser guys

H
H
hriv
, US
Sep 10, 2019 4:00 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

THIS JUST HAPPENED TO ME! I have been with Regions since 2009.. but unfortunately the letter sent to me was not certified so I never received it and on Monday my husband and I both tried making purchases and our cards were declined (a first time ever for me). We are a household that has one checking account, one savings account and one credit card ALL WITH REGIONS. We both have been employed at the same jobs for 6 years and both have credit scores around 750. We are working middle class with 3 children under 5. All of our bills are set up through the online bill pay system and I have not been able to access my accounts or even pull my money out of the accounts, Regions shut down the online bill pay before I could even write down all of my payees account numbers and billing addresses so I have spent this whole day contacting all of these companies. My husbands payroll goes through Thursday along with half of our bills and we are still waiting to hear back from his human resources department if they can issue stop payment and deposit into our new account. I have never experienced such poor customer service. These accounts are how we pay our mortgage, our fuel, our groceries, EVERYTHING. This issue has effected our entire livelihood and possibly our positive billing history with all the companies we pay our bills to. To not send these letters certified or even the branch manager not make a call once corporate send these accounts that THEY HAVE THE OPTION TO INVESTIGATE ON THEIR OWN is absurd! Had someone made sure we were notified on something as important as our financial institution I would have been happy to withdrawal everything, have time to set up all on my online banking and switch our EFT with employers and move on. This was handled so poorly, disrespectfully, or inconsiderately. So unprofessional. STAY AWAY FROM REGIONS BANK!

B
B
Bashar aljabiri
, US
Sep 27, 2018 7:56 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Today I received a letter in the mail notifying me of termination of accounts. I was shocked! This was so abrupt and had no reasoning for, especially since I have been customer with Regions bank since 2012 .

These accounts are my family’s support! We pay all our expenses, auto bill pay setups, direct deposits and more! I got my dad to open an account with Reigons because I had felt happy with my service for years with them, and now he also received the same letter of termination! He is 78 years old he is a specialized OBGYN working for over 50 years, he doesn’t deserve to be treated like that.

I called the 1-800 number to get a better understanding of the situation and they simply informed me that they have no idea why I got this letter and couldn’t further assist me.

I don’t know who is responsible for this decision, but I know that you lost a good customer. If there was any reason for termination I should have been notified of this and gotten a chance to speak to someone about it not just be thrown off.

With due respect,

S
S
Southeast U.S.
Birmingham, US
Jun 22, 2011 10:30 pm EDT

You guys should consider yourselves lucky. They closed your accounts because you are overly responsible and they couldn't find a way to make money off of you with their ridiculous charges, penalties, and fees. Regions usually takes your money, so if this didn't happen to you; you're the lucky ones. I hope you will have better service at your new financial institution.

P
P
pauLSU
Greenwell Springs, US
Oct 19, 2009 3:03 pm EDT

got the same letter today for no reason! I have over $1000.00 in the account with at least $1000.00 direct dep. every other week and I can get NO answers anywhere!

  1. Regions Financial Contacts

  2. Regions Financial phone numbers
    +1 (800) 734-4667
    +1 (800) 734-4667
    Click up if you have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 734-4667 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 734-4667 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 734-4667 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 734-4667 phone number
    Report Fraud
    +1 (800) 472-2265
    +1 (800) 472-2265
    Click up if you have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 472-2265 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 472-2265 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 472-2265 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 472-2265 phone number
    Online Banking
    +1 (800) 295-8472
    +1 (800) 295-8472
    Click up if you have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 295-8472 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 295-8472 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 295-8472 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 295-8472 phone number
    Lost or Stolen
    +1 (800) 253-2265
    +1 (800) 253-2265
    Click up if you have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 253-2265 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 253-2265 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 253-2265 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 253-2265 phone number
    Credit Card
    +1 (800) 231-7493
    +1 (800) 231-7493
    Click up if you have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 231-7493 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 231-7493 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 231-7493 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 231-7493 phone number
    Revolving Credit / Home Equity Line
    +1 (800) 787-3905
    +1 (800) 787-3905
    Click up if you have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 787-3905 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 787-3905 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 787-3905 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 787-3905 phone number
    Client Services / Business & Commercial
    +1 (800) 986-2462
    +1 (800) 986-2462
    Click up if you have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 986-2462 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 986-2462 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 986-2462 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 986-2462 phone number
    Regions Mortgage
    +1 (877) 536-3286
    +1 (877) 536-3286
    Click up if you have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (877) 536-3286 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (877) 536-3286 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (877) 536-3286 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (877) 536-3286 phone number
    Regions Mortgage Origination Center
    +1 (800) 458-5890
    +1 (800) 458-5890
    Click up if you have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 458-5890 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 458-5890 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 458-5890 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Regions Financial by calling +1 (800) 458-5890 phone number
    International
    More phone numbers
  3. Regions Financial emails
  4. Regions Financial address
    2090 Parkway Office Circle, Birmingham, Alabama, 35244, United States
  5. Regions Financial social media
  6. Stan
    Checked and verified by Stan This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 14, 2024
Regions Financial Category
Regions Financial is ranked 31 among 403 companies in the Banks category

Most discussed Regions Financial complaints

added unauthorized charges!
1
(opinions to this review)