The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Readers DigestFraudulent company

I received a letter from Readers Digest stating that I had won a lotto contest from a recent drawing. I called the number and asked to speak with the person identified and was told that I needed to deposit the insurance check enclosed to insure the delivery of my prize.

While I wanted to get more details on the contest and tried to look it up on the internet and wasn't finding anything. So I decided to call RD and I spoke with a rep from Customer Service. I read him the letter and he apologized and told me the letter was a fraud.

I was devastated of course considering that this really had my hopes up due to me battling Leukemia. This was like an answer to my prayers but turned out to be another blow to my life.

The person on the letter that I spoke with stated to me that I was entered in this contest through my utility company and that I had won a lump sum of $525, 000. The were very reluctant to give me all the info until the insurance checks were processed through my bank which is what raised a red flag.

I am so glad that I id not tie the check in through my normal bank account nor did I give them my account number. I just cannot believe that this happened.

Responses

  • We
    westcross Sep 28, 2012

    I haven't had a problem with books arriving unordered, but I am still waiting for the promised Digests that didn't arrive last year and were then promised for this year!
    Expensive phone calls and emails all promised I would get the Digest, but nothing!

    0 Votes
  • Rd
    RDC Customer Care Feb 28, 2011

    My name is Sylvie. I work for Reader’s Digest in Customer Care and I just came across your post.

    I am sorry if an order was processed for you in error. It is not Reader’s Digest’s policy or intention to enter an order without a customer's authorization. An order can be generated by the inadvertent placement of a seal on a document, or the return of promotional material in a particular envelope.

    You mention that you would be calling our toll-free number and I trust that the matter has been resolved to your entire satisfaction.

    If you have not yet been in touch with us, please call us at [protected] or email us at [email protected] One of our agents will be most happy to review your account and make any necessary adjustment.

    Your patronage means a lot to us and we hope you will give us the opportunity to offer the service you have come to expect from Reader’s Digest.

    Sylvie Robert
    E-Care Coordinator

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kate J Feb 12, 2011

    I received a book in the mail from Readers Digest along with a bill for $30.71. I never ordered this book and now I am receiving a past due that I better pay this by 2/22/2017 or else. I have never been on a Readers Digest site so how could I have even ordered this. I see from the complaints that this happens quite often. I will be calling the 800 # that appears on this site on Monday to clear this up. I don't want to spend the money to send it back either. Waste of my time. Readers Digest used to be a reliable company but I wouldn't subscribe to that anymore. What a disappoitmen.

    0 Votes
  • A.Guy.From.London Aug 20, 2010

    Those Readers Digest contests are a huge scam. CBC Marketplace did a story on them a few years ago, you can watch it online. Region locked to Canada only.

    http://www.cbc.ca/marketplace/2017/how_not_to_win_500000/main.html

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    A Gutkneckt Nov 05, 2009

    Why do you people post these contests in your magazines and do not follow up on them? Is this some promotion to send out so your books are purchased? That makes me sick that your company does things like this.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Derek Belbin Oct 29, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yesterday I received an entry to a contest to win a wii sports from Readers Digest, when I entered the code the only thing that came up was a link to the complaints board.This kind of thing has happened several times before with R.D., the websites they give you are invalid this is a time waste and smacks of being a scam, someone should have the authority to investigate this ongoing practice of R.D., this kind of ploy just isn't acceptable.

    0 Votes
  • Nn
    N.Nagaraja Oct 14, 2009

    Dear Sir I tried to send an e-mail to [email protected] regarding nonreceipt of sweepstake documents, but the computer is not accepting the address. My account no.is [protected]. Kindly do the needful. Thanking you, yours truly, N.Nagaraja

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kellie Girl 1 Aug 30, 2009

    What is going on with this free ipod contest??? How do you enter??? I thought RD was a reputable company. Why not just quit all these stupid "sweepstakes" & contests anyway. It must take a plot of money to mail out all that paper. Why not donate that money to helping out low income families or something worthwhile?????

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beata slabon Aug 30, 2009

    this is the second contest i tried entering n i could not find, i just became a new subscriber to readers digest n i am not 2 happy with the nonsense contests that come with the mag .why send something that we people don't ask 4 n get us all happy 2 then find out that there is no such contest .this is unprofessional .

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frank Kenyon Cockburn Aug 26, 2009

    I wish to report the same problem. Card was distributed with current copy of Readers Digest.
    is www.rd.ca/ipodtouch. Is this a correct e-mail address?

    Frank K Cockburn
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    russfor274 Jul 25, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    could not find this surprise gift offer either
    Russ Qld Australia

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dachsp Jul 10, 2009

    I received a card stating that I am a prefered customer ( been a customer serveral years) if that is so why it the surprize not just sent or I can just log on to the site I am very dissapoint and like others may think hard re my books /etc.
    Are their not enough people trying to scam us --- I had one with the readers digest letter head stating had won a lot of money but on referal to police and others was told a scam so Readers Digest help us to help your sales make it plain and simple if it is honest
    these as there are --are wasting paper postage and harming our planet
    judy

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Connie Battel Jun 10, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How can Readers Digest continue to have these false contests? I thought that the magasine was so much better than this. I am totaly didapointed.!!! C.Battel

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam R. May 07, 2009

    The inset card said a free surprise gift is waiting for you...
    Found the website but it offers gifts for sale. Nothing is mentioned about free surprise gift.

    Readers used to be a quality booklet but in the past 15 years it has been falling on its face.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shirley Mar 13, 2009

    I received a card with my Readers Digest magazine that said as a preferred subscriber, i had a free gift coming to me, all I had to do was go to the website www.rd.ca/surprise.

    I got a surprise alright. when I went to the website there was nothing, no gift period.

    I thought Readers Digest was a reputable company but I'm beginning to have my doubts. Have any others out there received this same invite and had the same results.

    Shirley

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlotte Feb 07, 2009

    this is so not funny. free is no such thing in this world.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nathalie Remillard Nov 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just received a card in the mail with my readers digest monthly magazine advising to go to specific readers digest site and enter my access code. When trying to find the Readers Digest Site it cannot be found and no longer exists. My daughter really wanted an IPod for Christmas and this would have been great. The contest supposedly closes tomorrow and we cannot get the site. I also tried the normal Readers Digest site and looked at their contests and there is no contest for the IPod touch listed whatsoever.

    I have been a loyal readers digest customer for more than 15 years with the monthly magazine as well as a gift subscription for a relative and the condensed books subscriber as well.

    I will seriously be reconsidering renewal of my subscriptions with all Readers Digest products as a result of this false advertising.

    Norm Remillard
    New Liskeard, ON

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dea Nov 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It seems that every time I receive a chance to enter a contest( which is ever month)there is no such address & no such contest or it has finished before it starts!!...I would like to know why readers digest has become so distrustful...this company use to have such a good reputation & now everybody I talk to is very discussed with what is going on concerning these contest...I would like a repy please...thank you...a long time subcriber (since 1960)...Diane Lalonde.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joan s traylor Nov 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I order a subscription to Readers Digest, my credit card
    was charged immediately on 9/22/08. The person for
    whom I order the magazine never got it. I am a paralegal and know my way around the court system. If the magazine is not sent immediately, I will sue you in small
    claims court.

    I understand you have had numberous complaints before, and I wil not hesitate to take you to court.

    I will give you 15 days to send the magaZine and extend the
    subscription by 2 months.

    Joan Traylor

    0 Votes
  • By
    byron Oct 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Rd supposedly gives you a chance at a free ipod touch with an access code to enter but entry address is not there and this constitutes fraud in my books. This to me is a sellers scam and not worthy of the product nor the company!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Saundra Boro May 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This all seems so strange, I can not believe RD would intentionally try to pull the wool over the eyes of its readers for any reason. There would be way to much at risk... BUT... This is not the first time I have received this offer with my subscription. The powers that be must know by now something is going on. Why haven't they acted on this matter... Kinda makes you wonder??

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anneruth Strauss Apr 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    just went online to search for some help regards Readers Digestb who has been pestering me with letters re 'winners' etc. It started in February when i answered one of them ordering a book I was vaguely interestd in. Not a week goes by without a letter since., sayi9ng I have been 'selected' and need to do this that and the other. I opened noe more letters. Yestrday I got a parcel delivered in the gardenshed!!! and a bill of £19. I have NEVER ordered anything of the like. There is no return address. There is only a bill and xyz winner promises.
    I feel like having ### upon and want to throw it back at them. How can I do that? I still have all the unopened letters. I am ready to go to the papers!
    any advise someone?

    Anneruth

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    patricia hill Feb 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I can't believe that you would fraud so many people to think that they may get a free gift. For a special thank you gift. LOL it is not funny We buy your books and this is what you do to us. This isn't fair do you not think this will hurt your company hum let me see I think I will tell all my friends just how you fooled us in believing that this was real

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    patricia hill Feb 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    you send us a special thank you card to log in and geust what I got NOTHING I will nit grt your books every again.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Janice L Hafar Jan 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Okay, so I've read a lot of complaints about this "Surprise Gift". I also read that it wasn't a scam, just no instruction on how to enter. I would think Reader's Digest (web designer) would have put a little more into it. I am joining in on the 1000's of complaints. Trying to log in, I got denied. So "PLEASE!!!" let the Reader's Digest readers know what is going on with this web site.

    I would appreciate any help!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.