Popeyes Chickenhalal meat

1

I used to eat chicken at "Popeyes Chicken" very regularly until I found out that they use Halal-Meat and that means the chicken was slaughtered in a way, which is very cruel and the bird or animal suffers for a long time after its neck is cut a little for bleeding.
Canadian way of slaughtering is lot more humane and quick and therefore the animal doesn't suffer. The only reason Canada allows Halal slaughtering is because of the Muslim-Vote.

Responses

  • Bo
    Bob Roberts Jun 01, 2007

    Ordered at drive-thru at Josey Lane location in Farmers Branch, Texas, huge pothole at service window, took over 8 minutes at lunch to prepare order. Unfriendly employee never apologized for delay or appeared to have any interest in customer service, like a "Thank You" or any other courtesy.

    Arrived home with order, biscuit and chicken strip were missing from order. As a bonus they did not provide a receipt.

    Called Popeye's customer service and spoke to a very nice lady who had absolutely no authority to handle my problem. All she could do was "Take down my complaint and submit it to management".

    Supposedly "management" would evaluate my complaint and contact me if they deemed me worthy of a meal replacement.

    Guess I was not worthy because they never called.

    No more trips to POPEYES CHICKEN & BISCUITS for me!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark H. Childress Apr 11, 2008

    I have visited this restaurant 3 times in a one month period. Each time I order the same thing, a 3 piece combo meal to go. The first visit I payed for a 3 piece meal but received only a 2 piece meal. The second visit I ordered the 3 piece meal to go and informed the register person that I was shorted a piece of chicken the last time, so please make sure I have what I ordered. She complied and gave me an extra wing for my trouble. Today April the 11th 2008 I order a 3- piece meal to go. I get back to the office and again I have paid for 3- piece meal but have received a 2 piece meal. I call the restaurant and tell the manager my story. He apologizes and offers a free meal on my next visit. This is nice but all anyone wants is WHAT THEY ORDERED. One should not have to open and inventory their order, slowing down the process, that is the restaurants job.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe Apr 11, 2008

    Quit eating at fast food places if you want good service. I assume when you go to BK you want table service. For cheap food you get cheap service, go figure you cheap ###!

    1 Votes
  • Lu
    Luisa M. LeMoine Nov 24, 2008

    On Sunday 11/23/08 we placed an order of 23 mixed pieces w/two side orders (fries and red beans & rice) w/biscuits. We had to wait about 10 minutes for the biscuits and when we got home we did not have our order of fries. So all we had was the chicken, red beans & rice and the biscuits. The total for our order was $24.83 and on the receipt it had chk 3113. We drove about 20 miles to get our Sunday meal after attending our Sunday mass.

    Sincerely,
    Luisa M. LeMoine

    0 Votes
  • Ub
    UBAB Feb 24, 2009

    The Muslim vote is insignificant to the Canadian political spectrum

    Captive Bolt Stunning (CBS) - the method of stunning with a bolt into the head before slaughter - is the perfer method by animal rights organizations to slaugther animals has been shown to cause more pain to the animals than by Halal or Kosher methods.

    A study incorporating EEG (Electroencephalograph) with electrodes surgically implanted on the skull of 17 sheep and 15 calves, and conducted by Wilhelm Schulze et al. at the University of Veterinary Medicine in Germany concluded that "the slaughter in the form of a ritual cut is, if carried out properly, painless in sheep and calves according to EEG recordings and the missing defensive actions" (of the animals) and that "For sheep, there were in part severe reactions both in bloodletting cut and the pain stimuli" when Captive Bolt Stunning (CBS) was used. This study is cited by the German Constitutional Court in its permitting of dhabiha slaughtering.

    Schulze W, Schultze-Petzold H, Hazem AS, Gross R. Experiments for the objectification of pain and consciousness during conventional (captive bolt stunning) and religiously mandated (“ritual cutting”) slaughter procedures for sheep and calves. Deutsche Tierärztliche Wochenschrift 1978 Feb 5;85(2):62-6. English translation by Dr Sahib M. Bleher

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Max123 Jul 02, 2009

    For all you out there who like to comment without obtaining proper facts or knowledge,
    the halal way of slaughtering does drain the blood out of the body, but little do you know that when the throats of the animal are severed, the main senses that go to the brain of the animal are cut-off too. This causes it no pain and also cleanses the animal body from the blood impurities also. The "severe reactions" as stated above are caused by muscle contractions due to loss in blood which the animal canot sense.

    I request that next time all the facts obtained should be straight before things like these are posted in a manner that puts our religions name down.

    Offended Muslim Resident.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    IRISHISLE Jul 11, 2009

    I have been told you havn't had fried chicken till you've eaten theirs, not, I never had chicken that dried out ever...I'll never go back and will spread the word. All we heard in New Orleans was how this is the best, we were so glad when one finally came to Pa., WHAT A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    doba Dec 16, 2009

    I agree with offended Muslim Resident.Before posting things like these, please have your facts straight out first before making personal assumptions to the rational Islamic law that we have.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    j_em_em Jun 15, 2010

    I also agree with the Offended Muslim Resident. More times than none, people will just speak just to hear themselves speak, without researching their facts.

    Ignorance is not an excuse!

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Krisy Jun 29, 2010

    We went there at 11:00.there was one person in front of us at window. it took 8 minutes to get to window. we sat there almost four minutes & was then able to order. we get to window & pay & was asked to drive up. we would have a two minute wait. there were only two customers in store.we only ordered two orders of wicked chicken. after nine MORE minutes we got our food. we get home & chicken is undercooked & there were almost NO redbeans in the containers. obviousy they were not ready for business of any sort. from now on kfc all the way.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Virginia Jun 30, 2010

    The food was good but when you order you need to check your bags due to lack of knowledge when preparing your order they get confused very easily. this has happened more than once check your order throughly before you leave. I ended getting 12 pieces of chicken instead of 20 the girl doesn't know how to enter orders. I did call popeyes they said they would replace the 8 pieces of chicken but i think i will go the popeyes in round lake like i use to i never had a problem there. Ordering correctly is more important than not having enougn food for my family.

    1 Votes
  • 16
    16 year old boy Nov 30, 2010

    Simpson. You're argument was destroyed man. And they're right, you should get your facts straight first. Your "Canadian" way of slaughtering animals is cruel and not very humane. By the way might I add, the slaughtering of an animal in Islam is much more humane than any other way out there, meaning the blade must be sharp so as to end it as quickly as possible for the animal and that the animal is not kept in an uncomfortable, unclean sty . It is raised with caring, proper and fair treatment.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    coolkid Dec 04, 2010

    Very rude and very misbehaved people working, the trainees have no experience and they talk very rude, even the manager

    0 Votes
  • gesserfan Dec 10, 2010

    Uh who cares? its good going down isnt it?

    -1 Votes
  • In
    INFIDELS RULE Jan 12, 2011

    IT ISN'T ABOUT THE WAY THE ANIMAL IS KILLED THAT IS REPULSIVE. IT IS THE FACT THAT PROCEEDS FROM THE PURCHASE OF HALAL CERTIFIED FOODS ARE GOING TO MUSLIM TERRORIST ORGANIZATIONS SUCH AS THE MUSLIM BROTHERHOOD AND HAMAS.
    SO IF YOU EAT HALAL FOOD YOU TOO ARE SUPPORTING MUSLIM TERRORISTS!

    -2 Votes
  • Ma
    maksjan Jan 24, 2011

    Hi you “INFIDELS RULE”
    In islam people who kill others and terror them self are not Muslims, In fact they are kaffirs(non muslim). Most of those people are supported by USA which is a plan to destroy islam from inside, but it is not going to happen. Our religion is the best because nobody(person) has changed it.

    regular guy

    1 Votes
  • No
    No substitute for Halal Feb 02, 2011

    Popeyes Chicken just opened a new location near me and can't wait to go with the family to try it out. That's after I verify they do actually sell halal chicken. Don’t be angry with people that choose what they eat and you don’t care. The people that choose not to eat KFC and MacDonald meat, as hard that could have been for them, are being reworded with a place that caters to their needs. KFC and other franchises should take note if they would like a piece of this growing market. If they were getting some of the Muslim population they would not after Popeyes move in.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shockwave88 Mar 03, 2011

    well i am sikh and im not allowed to eat halal meat so it would be great if they had options :/ but what evs its all good just sayin

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rosh_Green_day Apr 18, 2011

    I thought halal meat was when they let the animal die peacefully and bless it after. Im vegetarian but my family is not being very supportive because im only 13. (my family is not vegetarian.) they say that popeyes kills the animals in a good way. So should i eat popeyes or not? im sooo confused =(

    from save the animals =)

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    molliewollie Apr 18, 2011

    Well don't say you're a vegetarian in one breath and then ask if you should eat meat in another...

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    tinamorgan Jun 12, 2011

    Saturday Feb 26 I decided to order Popeyes chicken for dinner for my daughter and I. We ordered chicken wings, fries with gravy and 6 biscuits. The lady I spoke to on the phone informed me that the food would be more than an hour to arrive although they were about a 2 minute drive from my apartment.
    It arrived more than an hour and am certian it sat under a warming light for that hour I was waiting. The friefs were rubber and soggy. The gravy was luke warm like the food. The wings were soggy and luke warm... no crisp at all... soggy and disgusting. The buiscits were ok but not fresh like when I have eaten in... I wanted my money back!! I was so freewaken hungry though i ate enough to stop the hunger pangs and trew the rest of my purchase in the garbage!!! Piss me off! I will never eat there again!

    0 Votes
  • Ot
    Otkon Jun 12, 2011

    Yeah, you sound like a fat, lazy, ignorant welfare mother. Maybe you should have your daughter, phone and car taken from you. And you're forced to walk to the organic health food store. Get lost, you wastrel slag.

    0 Votes
  • Ot
    Otkon Jun 12, 2011

    Yeah, you sound like a fat, lazy, ignorant welfare mother. Maybe you should have your daughter, phone and car taken from you. And then be forced to walk to the organic health food store. Get lost, you wastrel slag.

    0 Votes
  • To
    tomachico Jul 12, 2011

    Okay so, i think that regular guy and maksjan should chill. We're talking about chicken not religion. Yes it is relevant in a way but, people, it almost seems like your insecure about your believes. talking about USA is trying to destroy islam and the other talking about your funding terrorist. Lets just sit down in the same table eat chicken the way you want, stop looking at your fellow brothers plate and how it looks and eat your chicken, and kick back and have a good time.

    Geez.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jayadler1 Aug 02, 2011

    Ordering from Popeye's was the worst customer service experience of my life. I waited 46 minutes for my order of a 10-piece (5 spicy, 5 mild) chicken package and four sides. When the "manager" told me they had accidentally given my chicken to the person behind me in line (I had been shuttled to the parking lot, by then), I was offered "three 50% off coupons and 10 pieces of mild chicken" Here's the result:

    1) I was given four pieces of chicken -- 2 wings and 2 thighs.
    2) Two of the sides were wrong.
    3) The mashed potatoes looked dry.
    4) No coupons in my bag.

    Christie, the "real manager" responded to my request for immediate compensation with "Oh, that ain't gonna happen."

    My kids ended up eating Spaghetti-Os for dinner that night.

    If I can get just 50 people to boycott Popeye's forever, I will be a very happy man. Newspaper reporters, restaurant reviewers, or any potential Popeye's customers may contact me at [email protected] and I will be happy to respond.

    Thanks for nothing, Popeye's.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whollysmokes Aug 02, 2011

    consider Popeye's boycotted by me. Frankly I don't eat dere stinkin chicken anyway

    0 Votes
  • No
    NoMyths Nov 18, 2011

    Max123 directs his observation to those "who like to comment without obtaining proper facts or knowledge". Ok, what are the facts surrounding the halal way of slaughtering that "cleanses the animal body from the blood impurities" - what material or substance is being "cleansed" here? What is an impurity?

    0 Votes
  • Yw
    Y Walk Mar 10, 2012

    Popeye's location in Whitby
    awful service, requested one addition sauce for a $22 order, was told NO, it was on Head Office instructions. Asked the Manager ? if they would loose a customer over one extra sauce, again reiterated HO orders, despite never having this issue come up before. So I bought one extra sauce and they had to get a cashier to ring it up, charged me $0.26, asked them again if it was worth loosing a customer over $0.26, again told HO rules. So I left with my chicken pieces and wowed to never return.

    1 Votes
  • Yw
    Y Walk Mar 10, 2012

    They lost one customer tonite, but many will know about this over the next few days, hope it was worth it

    1 Votes
  • Ve
    VElmaa Jul 04, 2012

    Well its 3 months now and still no reply from Popeye’s corporate office nor the area Supervisor for the location on Hacks Cross Rd in Memphis, TN. But that’s ok. it’s been 3 months now and neither my family, friends, church member, coworker, strangers I meet nor myself has step foot inside that place. I tell anyone who listens about the BAD NON CUSTOMER SERVICE experience I received.

    All I wanted was an apology. But thats too hard because 3 months later, I still haven’t heard a simple ” fud git ’bout u”. That’s ok there are real restaurants in the same area that gets our $$$$$$$$$$$$.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    redwasp1910 Feb 06, 2013

    I ordered "4 piece, dark, mild with mashed potatoes and an extra side of red beans and rice". I got, " 3 piece, combo, spicy with mashed potatoes and No red beans and rice." WRONG!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    foxygrandma Feb 07, 2013

    People complain about some really weird things, but at the wrong place and time. I don't understand it, complain where and when it will do the most good. If you had complained when you got the wrong order, they would have corrected it.

    -2 Votes
  • Sh
    sheri thomas Feb 26, 2013

    went to the popeyes in perris calif. orderd 4 tues special 2 piece, went home & all our chicken was spicy.very mad could not eat any & to far to return..

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    foxygrandma Feb 27, 2013

    Why couldn't you eat it, even if it was spicy? If you were hungry, you would have.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David77 Feb 07, 2015

    I would like to bring about the point that halal certified foods funds terrorism. Please checkout the website http://islam4infidels.com

    1 Votes
  • Gc
    g.ca Mar 12, 2015

    https://pickeringpost.com/story/the-islamic-juggernaut-marches-on/3037

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BessWilder Oct 08, 2015

    If you are a Muslim, fine. But if you aren't, then eating the chickens that we're Muslim blessed for Allah, then it isn't very good. To each his own. I think if religion is going to be involved in public eating places, then there should be a sign of some sort indicating the food is Halal, or Kosher, etc. Let the consumer choose. Blessings to all.

    1 Votes
  • Br
    Brian Byley Jan 03, 2016

    I think Popeye should be required to give notice, whose preparing (killing) the Chicken meet. Had I known who was behind the meet being killed, I might have had second thoughts on eating there. But at the same time; I have no knowledge of which food is killed in other restaurants and super markets. My problem is their prayers being prayed over the meet.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    popeyes41610 Aug 03, 2016

    Friday, April 16, I had ate at Popeye's on Fulton Street NY, NY. I had two chicken wings and rice and beans. I had noticed a small piece of metal while I was chewing my rice and beans. I had spit it out and it was a staple! I had showed it to the young girl who had served my food. She did not apologize, but stated that they do not use staples and trashed it. The point is what if the staple cut my mouth or I could have swallowed it!?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem