The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
MTNbad service

I have a contract with mtn for 19 years. I have never had such bad service switched our one line to a data line they then forgot to do this after a month. Then after several phone calls they said its done. When we wanted to use this data line it did not work. Yet again after enquiring they forgot to rica the line after we did it in instore yet again I could not use the data. No apologies. Then we requested on one of our other lines a detalied bill this was suppose to take 48 hours it is now 9 days later no response this is pathetic.

Responses

  • Jo
    Jon Apr 03, 2009

    Why does mtn not answer the call at there call center. you hold on for ages. They want to switch off my phone for non payment.
    my account is up to date mtn!! [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Eg
    EGBEMAKINDE TAOFEEK OLADAYO Jun 22, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I CAN ONLY MAKE CALLS BUT CANNOT RECIEVED FOR THE PAST A MONTH TIL DATE AND I HAVE UNABLE TO SPEAK WITH YOUR CUSTOMER CARE.

    NAME: EGBEMAKINDE TAOFEEK OLADAYO
    MTN NO: [protected]
    STATE: OSUN
    CITY: IKIRE.
    EMAIL: sabur.[protected]@zenithbank.com

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carl69 Jun 29, 2009

    I AM SO DISGUSTED WITH MTN. THEY OFFER ABSOLUTELY NO SERVICE IN ANY WAY. I HAVE HAD A CONTRACT WITH MTN FOR THE LAST 4 YEARS. HOWEVER DUE TO THE GOOD DEALS THAT VODACOM HAS BEEN OFFERING I DECIDED TO NO LONGER CONTINUE WITH MTN AFTER MY CONTRACT WAS DUE TO EXPIRE. I HAVE FOLLOWED ALL THE CORRECT PROCEDURES BUT STILL NO SUCCESS. I SENT A ONE MONTH CANCELLATION LETTER BUT STILL THEY CARRIED ON BILLING ME. I THEN PROCEEDED TO PHONE THEM AND QUERY MY BILLING, I WAS TOLD THAT THE CONTRACT HAS BEEN CANCELLED AND THEY WOULD NOT BILL ME AGAIN. THEN I WAS BILLED ONCE AGAIN. THEY ARE SUCH LIARS. UNAWARE THAT I WAS GOING TO GET BILLED AGAIN, I WENT TO TAKE OUT A CONTRACT WITH VODACOM, THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY COULD PORT MY NUMBER, BUT MTN REFUSED, KEPT SAYING THAT I HAVE TERMINATED THE PORT WITH THEM PERSONALLY. WHENEVER I TRY AND PHONE THEIR CUSTOMER CARE, THEY ARE EITHER TOTALLY UNHELPFUL OR I GET CUT OFF. I WOULD KINDLY ADVISE ANY ONE NOT TO EVER DO BUSINESS WITH MTN.

    0 Votes
  • Or
    Orelia van den Bergh Jul 27, 2009

    I have been a client of MTN for more than 15 yrs. My phone is due for an upgrade and as I live in Heidelberg the closest Service Centre is The Glen Shopping Centre. I visited the centre almost 8 weeks ago to chose a phone, I am very particular in my phones and requested Kalebo to order me a HTC HD, he spoke to his manager and advised me that as the phone will be ordered on my name that I will not have the option to return or swap it, I had no problem with that. Kaleboadvised me further that the phone will be received by them in 3 to 4 weeks, well I followed up quite often, with the excuse that the phone has not arrived yet, on Thursday the 23d July at 16h30 Kalebo phoned and confirmed that the phone has arrived and that I could collect it the next day. Well I was hoping that the 7 week waiting period would justify the quality of the phone, Friday I drove to The Glen and waited about 30 min to be served. Once my number was called and a new package was explained to me the indian gentleman went to the back to get my phone he came back empty handed excplaining that my phone was handed to another client...how does that happen????????? My phone that was pre-ordered in my name that I waited for for 7 weeks was given to another client, how long did he wait for that phone, this is unexceptable, do I have to wait 7 week again. I requested MTN to have the phone sent to my home in Heidelberg as they made the error and they denied my request. I am requesting now that the phone be order in a matter of urgency and that the phone and document be sent to my home address, as I will not be pushed around and drive all that way for nothing. The service was terrible and no efford was made to appologise and resolve this issue in a matter of urgency.
    Proposed solution - Other -
    Solution description I would like the phone ordered as urgent and speedy as possible and delivered to my home with the documents to be sighned as the mistake was made by The Glen, by giving MY PHONE in error (or by doing a 'special favour' to the other client). I would like to resolve this matter as soon as possible.

    0 Votes
  • Ry
    Ryan Pietersen Sep 18, 2009

    hi dont know who to talk to just wanted to know where i can lay a complaint due to the bad service im receiving from MTN Paarl mall branch. I took my phone in a week ago for repairs call the repair centre a week later only to be told my phone has never arrived, so i called the store only to be put on hold for 20 min. and to be told the phone fell threw the draw and was lying in the back of the cupboard. and they will send it of this monday.so if i never called would my phone have ever been sent off ?? we will never know but they dont have kurtisey phones and thers no way they can make up for this lost time.
    so now im paying for a contract for wich i have no phone and will have to wait a month for.

    so if your board can help me out it will really be greatly appreciated...

    ryan [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Id
    I.D mothoagae Nov 23, 2009

    what is wrong with MTN do you have a customer service helpline? Since it doesnt seem to work and we never seem to get your national number without any probelm. i suggets you do something about this we cannot go on like this. if you value us as your customers then get a call centre going deal with this dissatisfaction please. what has happened to the golden role of customer service? from Prof I.D Mothoagae mobile number [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JENNIFER87 Jan 12, 2010

    MTN HAS THE WORST SERVICE EVER. CONSULTANTS DON;T KNOW HOW TO HANDLE QUERIES. I HAVE TO LOG ANOTHER QUERY FOR THE FIRST QUERY. CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?!!! MY BILL IS ALWAYS WRONG AND THEY JUST DONT LISTEN TO WHAT THE CUSTOMER WANTS OR NEEDS. I REGRET DEALING WITH MTN.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    Mselke Apr 08, 2011

    I totally agree..have had similar problems..being billed for numbers that were cancelled 6 months ago...promises of refund..ya right! Trying to get a statement by email...too difficult for them. Faulty phones with faulty software: Blackberry Storm 95/20 my husband is sitting without a pbhone but is paying for one..always in for repairs...we paid in R1000 but all they say is: We are out of stock.. He has had no phone for months...we run a big business! MTN you are losing my whole company account...up to R4000 a month because you are the most inefficient, useless company. If anyone has shares in MTN...get out fast...they are sliding!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Relebohile1609 Aug 23, 2011

    I sent my blackberry 9300 in for repairs at a store in Braamfontein, Johannesburg. That was 12 weeks ago(asof 27 May 2011). To date I have recieved no calls with regard to my cellphone's location. Monthly payements are being made for a phone I am not using. With no help from the store in Braamfontein I managed to find out that the phone was repaired in Midrand but now no one can give me any explanation on where it could be.

    The telephone i was given is not even working, this is the worst service i have ever recieved

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    parousseau Jun 12, 2013

    The NOKIA LUMIA 920 I have on contract from MTN will not start up after a factory reset that was done after no way could be found to change my MICROSOFT e-mail address. No support on network for a problem like this is being given. What is a return to factory settings application there for? Self destruct? I bought a new laptop from a local supplier because no laptops or modems were available in-store. All of this needed to be done immediately because my mother in law was admitted the night before for a leg amputation already suffering from Alzheimer's. Paperwork and arrangements had to be done quickly. I hoped MTN in Vryheid would provide me with the tools because my MTN contract for my LUMIA 920 was done with them. After buying having to buy the laptop and modem at ridiculous prices from local suppliers I had the problem of activating the modem account at MTN. Something I did because I wanted to be patriotic to the company I used for so many years (that includes using NOKIA phones). But customer service was so bad when phoning them. It was about 2 hours later after calls dropped while transferring me to people who had no idea of what I was talking about. Can you shed some light?

    Hello Pieter

    book peter | home Logout
    Mtn Complaint
    Previous report | Next report
    SUPPLIER
    Mtn
    INDUSTRY Telecommunications
    BRANCH / AREA Vryheid COUNTRY South Africa
    TIME / DATE 08:16 Mon 27 May PERSON RESPONSIBLE
    CUSTOMER ROUSSEAU View all reports by user 0
    2
    PROBLEM
    Mtn product support an...
    email reportpost report

    1
    view customer feedback rating & analysis
    INCIDENT Mon 20 May
    HEADLINE
    What is wrong with this picture?
    The NOKIA LUMIA 920 I have on contract from MTN will not start up after a factory reset that was done after no way could be found to change my MICROSOFT e-mail address. No support on network for a problem like this is being given. What is a return to factory settings application there for? Self destruct? I bought a new laptop from a local supplier because no laptops or modems were available in-store. All of this needed to be done immediately because my mother in law was admitted the night before for a leg amputation already suffering from Alzheimer's. Paperwork and arrangements had to be done quickly. I hoped MTN in Vryheid would provide me with the tools because my MTN contract for my LUMIA 920 was done with them. After buying having to buy the laptop and modem at ridiculous prices from local suppliers I had the problem of activating the modem account at MTN. Something I did because I wanted to be patriotic to the company I used for so many years (that includes using NOKIA phones). But customer service was so bad when phoning them. It was about 2 hours later after calls dropped while transferring me to people who had no idea of what I was talking about. Can you shed some light?
    Add a new Mtn Report
    Inappropriate report? Back
    Comments

    Relevant content (Last 5 Mtn product support and customer service Problems)
    No reports have been found that match your search criteria.

    about this ad

    about this ad

    Wed 12 June 2013
    Quick Search

    Hello Pieter

    book peter | home Logout
    Mtn Complaint
    Previous report | Next report
    SUPPLIER
    Mtn
    INDUSTRY Telecommunications
    BRANCH / AREA Vryheid COUNTRY South Africa
    TIME / DATE 16:05 Mon 10 Jun PERSON RESPONSIBLE Customer service
    CUSTOMER ROUSSEAU View all reports by user 0
    2
    PROBLEM
    Feedback / Response
    email reportpost report

    view customer feedback rating & analysis
    INCIDENT Mon 10 Jun
    HEADLINE
    Do you think your customers are fools?
    I made a complaint 27/05/13...I later wrote a comment on that complaint. Someone sent me a message on Facebook asking what my telephone number was after pasting my HP complaint on MTN's site in Facebook..."With warm regards, Willem". I sent him my phone number twice and had no response. Suddenly Miles told me he is sorry about the coverage. Nothing to do with my complaint! My phone that was sent in for repairs on 27/05/13 was repaired and sent back to the dealer the 31/05/13. Did someone contact me? NO! Well, it is 10/06/13 now...I phoned the technical centre now to find out if my phone is repaired a little sooner than "three weeks". And please take note of my previous complaint..."What is wrong with this picture? - 27/05/13" and don't send me apologies for your coverage! Do you think we are lepers and paupers waiting for a breadcrumb to fall from your tables in the form of a apology not even regarding the complaint!? And ironically I've still been telling people to use MTN because their coverage is still the best in the farming area we are situated in! Still being patriotic to this treacherous service provider. Shame on you if this is what your integrity is like.
    Add a new Mtn Report
    Inappropriate report? Back
    Comments

    Relevant content (Last 5 Feedback / Response Problems)

    Sure Services (aeg Agents)

    Pieter Rousseau · Receiving Manager at Empire Dairy
    Well, I went to my MTN dealer yesterday. The phone handed in on the 27'th that came back and was signed for on the 31'st could at first not be found. Had to get them to phone the technical department to confirm the return of the phone. They even brought me out all the boxes to show me that my phone is not there. After getting the name of the person who signed for it they only found it then after making me look like an idiot. It was the 11'th of June yesterday and up to then they didn't contact me. All I needed was to have my phone back and in a working condition. It was sent back so quickly because of physical damage, the cosmetics of the phone. A small little nick on the side of the phone. After 6 months of use something like that may have occurred. I sent it back in it's original box, with all the accessories in place. Maybe t...See More
    Reply · Like · Follow Post · about an hour ago

    Pieter Rousseau · Receiving Manager at Empire Dairy
    Well, went to dealer to pick up my phone. Ha-ha...the phone was sent back, not repaired and they forgot to let me know. Reason...physical damage, a small nick on the side of the phone...cosmetics. Because what they do is refurbish phones and sell them as new ones. Now I have to wait for another two weeks to get my phone back. Maybe you should just shove your phone and contract!
    Reply · Like · Follow Post · 21 hours ago
    Facebook social plugin

    RESPONSES

    MTN South Africa
    Hi there Pieter,
    So sorry for the inconvenience caused and lapse in service. Kindly advise what you would like us to resolve at this stage.
    We would like to assist.
    Regards
    Nonz.
    MTN Social Media Team

    MTN South Africa
    Hi Pieter,
    Kindly provide me with a contact number where I can reach you on.
    Warm regards,
    Willem
    MTN SM Team

    1:24pm
    Pieter Rousseau
    [protected]
    June 1

    8:20am
    Pieter Rousseau
    Hallo Willem, my nommer is [protected]. Pieter Rousseau.
    Monday

    4:42pm
    Pieter Rousseau
    Pieter Rousseau
    May 29 1:10pm MTN South Africa Hi there Pieter, So sorry for the inconvenience caused and lapse in service. Kindly advise what you would like us to resolve at this stage. We would like to assist. Regards Nonz. MTN Social Media Team May 29 6:54pm Pieter Rousseau Don't know if you read about the circumstances I'm in. But having to go and buy a laptop and modem from another dealer in my town because the MTN shop would only get stock in two weeks, followed by not having a phone if after I sent mine in for repairs and having to buy another one because n courtesy phones would be given...I think you would have a idea of what my problem is. Almost R10000 in a question of a week to be able to send and receive paperwork and stay in touch after mother in law was through surgery (amputation on a Alzheimer patient) in Pietermaritzburg and I am on a farm in Vryheid. What will you do to have this resolved? Because after the service I have been getting it just doesn't seem if MTN cares. Sorry to take it out on you Nonz. May 30 1:10pm MTN South Africa Hi Pieter, Kindly provide me with a contact number where I can reach you on. Warm regards, Willem MTN SM Team 1:24pm Pieter Rousseau xxxxxxxxxx June 1 8:20am Pieter Rousseau Hallo Willem, my nommer is xxxxxxxxxx. Pieter Rousseau.

    Pieter Rousseau
    Pieter Rousseau
    May 29 1:10pm MTN South Africa Hi there Pieter, So sorry for the inconvenience caused and lapse in service. Kindly advise what you would like us to resolve at this stage. We would like to assist. Regards Nonz. MTN Social Media Team May 29 6:54pm Pieter Rousseau Don't know if you read about the circumstances I'm in. But having to go and buy a laptop and modem from another dealer in my town because the MTN shop would only get stock in two weeks, followed by not having a phone if after I sent mine in for repairs and having to buy another one because n courtesy phones would be given...I think you would have a idea of what my problem is. Almost R10000 in a question of a week to be able to send and receive paperwork and stay in touch after mother in law was through surgery (amputation on a Alzheimer patient) in Pietermaritzburg and I am on a farm in Vryheid. What will you do to have this resolved? Because after the service I have been getting it just doesn't seem if MTN cares. Sorry to take it out on you Nonz. May 30 1:10pm MTN South Africa Hi Pieter, Kindly provide me with a contact number where I can reach you on. Warm regards, Willem MTN SM Team 1:24pm Pieter Rousseau xxxxxxxxxx June 1 8:20am Pieter Rousseau Hallo Willem, my nommer is xxxxxxxxxx. Pieter Rousseau.
    10 minutes ago
    Pieter Rousseau
    My comment on previous complaint:The picture keeps cracking...I finally resorted to my MTN dealer, made the phone's warranty deadline by one day. Phone has to be sent in for repairs. Will take three weeks. I asked if I could at least have a courtesy phone during this period in which it is important to stay in touch. NO! Is the reply. Had to spend more money to go and buy another phone that uses a micro sim. Expensive. All money spent because of MTN's lack of support, bad service and no intent of gaining more business from a existing customer. Reply · Like · Follow Post · May 30 at 8:06am
    15 minutes ago
    Pieter Rousseau
    book peter | home Logout Mtn Complaint Previous report | Next report SUPPLIER Mtn INDUSTRY Telecommunications BRANCH / AREA Vryheid COUNTRY South Africa TIME / DATE 08:16 Mon 27 May PERSON RESPONSIBLE CUSTOMER ROUSSEAU View all reports by user 0 2 PROBLEM Mtn product support an... email reportpost report 1 view customer feedback rating & analysis INCIDENT Mon 20 May HEADLINE What is wrong with this picture? The NOKIA LUMIA 920 I have on contract from MTN will not start up after a factory reset that was done after no way could be found to change my MICROSOFT e-mail address. No support on network for a problem like this is being given. What is a return to factory settings application there for? Self destruct? I bought a new laptop from a local supplier because no laptops or modems were available in-store. All of this needed to be done immediately because my mother in law was admitted the night before for a leg amputation already suffering from Alzheimer's. Paperwork and arrangements had to be done quickly. I hoped MTN in Vryheid would provide me with the tools because my MTN contract for my LUMIA 920 was done with them. After buying having to buy the laptop and modem at ridiculous prices from local suppliers I had the problem of activating the modem account at MTN. Something I did because I wanted to be patriotic to the company I used for so many years (that includes using NOKIA phones). But customer service was so bad when phoning them. It was about 2 hours later after calls dropped while transferring me to people who had no idea of what I was talking about. Can you shed some light?
    18 minutes ago
    Pieter Rousseau
    SUPPLIER Mtn INDUSTRY Telecommunications BRANCH / AREA Vryheid COUNTRY South Africa TIME / DATE 16:05 Mon 10 Jun PERSON RESPONSIBLE Customer service CUSTOMER ROUSSEAU View all reports by user 0 2 PROBLEM Feedback / Response email reportpost report 0 view customer feedback rating & analysis INCIDENT Mon 10 Jun HEADLINE Do you think your customers are fools? I made a complaint 27/05/13...I later wrote a comment on that complaint. Someone sent me a message on Facebook asking what my telephone number was after pasting my HP complaint on MTN's site in Facebook..."With warm regards, Willem". I sent him my phone number twice and had no response. Suddenly Miles told me he is sorry about the coverage. Nothing to do with my complaint! My phone that was sent in for repairs on 27/05/13 was repaired and sent back to the dealer the 31/05/13. Did someone contact me? NO! Well, it is 10/06/13 now...I phoned the technical centre now to find out if my phone is repaired a little sooner than "three weeks". And please take note of my previous complaint..."What is wrong with this picture? - 27/05/13" and don't send me apologies for your coverage! Do you think we are lepers and paupers waiting for a breadcrumb to fall from your tables in the form of a apology not even regarding the complaint!? And ironically I've still been telling people to use MTN because their coverage is still the best in the farming area we are situated in! Still being patriotic to this treacherous service provider. Shame on you if this is what your integrity is like.
    1 · 25 minutes ago

    MTN South Africa Hi Pieter, thank you for your messages. My apologies for the delay in getting back to you and for the inconvenience this must have caused you. I have followed up with my Inbox Team and they will contact you soon regarding this. Thank you for your patience. have a great day!
    Like · Reply · 22 hours ago

    Pieter Rousseau Well, I went to my MTN dealer yesterday. The phone handed in on the 27'th that came back and was signed for on the 31'st could at first not be found. Had to get them to phone the technical department to confirm the return of the phone. They even brought me out all the boxes to show me that my phone is not there. After getting the name of the person who signed for it they only found it then after making me look like an idiot. It was the 11'th of June yesterday and up to then they didn't contact me. All I needed was to have my phone back and in a working condition. It was sent back so quickly because of physical damage, the cosmetics of the phone. A small little nick on the side of the phone. After 6 months of use something like that may have occurred. I sent it back in it's original box, with all the accessories in place. Maybe that dealer should have had covers for NOKIA Lumia 920's. Up until now every time I walked in there they didn't have covers for the phone. Then he told me that these phones gets refurbished after something like that happened and gets put up for sale again, and that must be the reason my phone was returned and not replaced. So how many people is unknowingly walking around with used phones? I can still not say that phone was sent in with a nick I made on it. So far as I know the the Store Consultant booked it in and told me a replacement will be done. He made sure of the warranty terms..."the complete box in which the handset was packaged, together with it's contents, is returned with no physical damage (excluding normal wear and tear) or liquid damage". So what is normal wear and tear? After 6 months? I was given the box back and the phone was sent in for repairs that should take another 2 weeks. Still had no reply from your inbox team.
    Like · Reply · about an hour ago

    6 hours ago
    Like · 1 Comment · Remove


    MTN South Africa
    Hi Pieter, thank you for your message. I have followed up with the inbox team and they will be contacting you soon. Thanks, have a good day!

    Like · Reply · 5 hours ago

    And still no feedback from MTN!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions