MagicJackscam and cheating

H
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I ordered this from a TV ad on 5/15/08 which stated that you had 30 days to use it before being charged. I was charged immediately in the amount of $47.90. I finally received the Magic Jack and it does not work on my computer. There is not a telephone number for the company with the package nor is there one provided on their website.

Please advise smb!

Responses

  • Pa
    patinkw Jul 09, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had my Magic jack for years now and have never had a problem of any kind with it.
    Maybe I am one of the lucky ones or maybe the Company has changed it's ethics codes.
    I have been on their chat lines regarding hookup and setup without any problems.
    It has been hooked to my desktop computer, my laptop and my netbook without any problems whatever.
    And it still works well to this day!
    Would I buy another one...Yes I would
    But hopefully I will have as much good luck with the new one as I have had with the old one.
    Pat
    Kitchener On Canada

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Suevcats Jan 27, 2014

    I have bought 4 magic jacks over the past several years and encouraged several others to do the same. and I am also the proud owner of 5 years of service plus 1000 hrs of long distance calling. In 2013 I received an email advising of the new best magic jack adapter, you know the new 2014 model. Well don't buy it.Its bigger doesn't fit the usb ports on your computer well and It doesn't work as a stand alone device either. I have spent countless hours on the phone with MJ's techies and would get it set up so it works but the minute you shut it off your back at square one again. So I decided that the stand alone version wouldn't work . I plugged it into my deck top which was new at the end of 2013. It worked for a bit but gradually that " the best sound quality ever " couldn't be heard any more, People were calling in, it would ring but the line would be dead when you answered It. I called Magic Jack and asked if I could go back my previous model, Nope not unless I set it up on a new account. Finally after 3 years of trial and error I gave up and ordered a residential service from my local carrier. i have spent 350.00 for cheap crappy phone service so I guess you could say what a bargain that's 116.66 a year for phone service but truth be told it's frustratingly unreliable, it drops calls, nothing is free in the end, You only get what you pay for.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ron Le Blanc Jan 23, 2014

    Magic Jack is a joke. I bought the new magic jack plus last year, they sent me four and billed me for five!!! My bank reimbursed me for two and I returned two to Magic Jack. I am now trying to register my new product and I cannot. I was told my account is under review. I was told to wait 24-48 hours. Its now been a week. I try contacting them everyday and it's just a joke. They say you can ask at anytime to have your matter escalated to a manager, but that is a lie. I ask everyday and I am told the same thing. They'll get back to me. They are never going to get back to me. Their chat representatives can barely have a conversation with you. They barely speak any English, and when I asked where they were, they got offended and ended our chat. This is a joke. They are dishonest and unprofessional. What kind of company makes it this hard for their customers to actually be able to get a hold of them and speak with someone who can actually help them? How are they able to continue doing business this way? I see the endless amount of complaints here. Something has to be done about this!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    ramjet44 Jan 16, 2014

    When I purchased my MJ they advertised free texting. It never came w/my unit. Called & was told it would be a few months. Never happened.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenc Aug 05, 2013

    Customer service number and customer care contact details for MagicJack


    This company is owned by Ymax Corp. Here is their mailing address:

    MagicJack
    P.O. Box 6846
    West Palm Beach, FL 33405
    USA

    Telephone:

    [protected]

    or

    [protected] (you MAY get a live person here)

    or

    [protected]


    Fax:

    [protected].

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terry McIntyre Jan 12, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The have stop conference call with no warning Charged to keep you old phone number and then charge you to get it back. Might as well get rid of their customer service department, as well as their phone service. Neither one of them are worth the time or money.
    Take my advice .DO NOT DO BUSSNESS with this company sooner or latter you will be sorry. I'm sure was.

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    AgrievedDude Nov 21, 2012

    This is a chart transcript between Magic Jack and I:
    Please wait for a site operator to respond.

    You are now chatting with 'Anthony'

    Your Issue ID for this chat is LTK554085519869X

    Anthony: Hello, how may I help you?

    Owen: I am simply frustrated

    Anthony: May I know the exact nature of your problem with full details please?

    Owen: That's the only way I can start the story of my ordeal with Magic Jack

    Owen: I refer you to LTK554081103336X

    Anthony: Please wait while I check that for you

    Owen: you done?

    Anthony: Thank you for waiting.

    Anthony: As I have checked your previous chat, you wish to order a replacement device/

    Anthony: ?*

    Owen: In this ticket, I received an email from Magic Jack, telling me to return the defective equipment that had gulped over $170 in various payments to magic jack

    Owen: I sent the equipment back to magic jack

    Owen: The RMA number is RMA number, [protected]

    Owen: The email indicated that i will receive a replacement equipment when I return the old one

    Owen: I did

    Anthony: May I have the exact order number?

    Owen: I did not buy the equipment from Magic Jack

    Owen: I bought it from Radio Shack

    Owen: It was past the 30 days

    Owen: I did return the equipment back to MJ

    Owen: I have not received a replacement

    Anthony: If you purchase the device to the reseller then you need to return the device to them.

    Owen: I was told to return it back to Mj

    Owen: This is the email extract

    Owen: REFERENCE NUMBER: LTK554081103336X Please use this ticket number in any correspondence with us. SUBJECT: Dear Customer, Thank you for contacting us. Kindly return the defective power adapter to us and we will send you a replacement adapter. Send the defective adapter to: magicJack LP PO Box 6846 West Palm Beach, Fl 33405 Please include the following RMA number, [protected], along with your name and mailing address so we can send you the replacement adapter. Please feel free to contact us if you have any additional questions. Sincerely, magicJack Support

    Anthony: As I have checked it here the previous agent were not able to process a replacement device to you.

    Owen: Now, put yourself in my shoes, what will you do?

    Owen: Are you there?

    Owen: Was it a mistake to return the equipment as I was advised?

    Owen: Anthony, are you there

    Anthony: Yes, I am here.

    Anthony: Where did you return the device?

    Owen: The address contained in the email I have just shown you

    Owen: magicJack LP PO Box 6846 West Palm Beach, Fl 33405

    Owen: Is Magic Jack a scam?

    Anthony: One moment please...

    Anthony: Thank you for waiting.

    Anthony: Since you purchase the device to reseller you need to return the device to them.

    Owen: I have not made a single call from that number since June 2012

    Anthony: Also if you wish to order a placement device then you will have to pay for it.

    Owen: Did you understand that I was told to send it to FL and I did?
    Anthony: I understand that.

    Anthony: Again, you should return the device to the reseller.

    Owen: Are you still telling me to return an equipment that is in the possession of Magic Jack to Radio Shack?
    Anthony: Reseller have their own return policy.
    Owen: You understand that I was told to return the equipment to MJ and I followed instruction. And you, a supposedly living human being, are telling me to return an equipment that I had sent to you about 3 months ago to Radio Shack. You make this statement under a full claim of sanity? Interesting.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rev.Clarence Harris Oct 06, 2012

    I order magic jack almost 18 weeks ago, it was taking out of my accountand, I have not recieve the merchandise as of yet. I have bee on the phone several times with no results here is some of my latest chat with them on line..Please wait for a site operator to respond.
    1. You are now chatting with 'Priscilla'
    Your Issue ID for this chat is LTK554083407692X
    Priscilla: Hello, how may I help you?
    Clarence Harris: May I speak to an adminstrator NOT A % TOP AGENT
    Priscilla: Hello, Clarence.
    Clarence Harris: I would like a refund on the magic plus
    Priscilla: May I know what you mean by Administrator? I apologize, but I can only transfer you to our supervisor which are the top 10% agent.
    Clarence Harris: Someone who is not going to lie to me.. I have been waiting for 2 months and a half and have not recieved theMagic plus
    Priscilla: I'm sorry to hear that, Clarence.
    Priscilla: Would you mind giving me a few minutes to review your previous chats?
    Clarence Harris: I have already sent this info to the Consumer Administration here in Illinois as well as the BBB
    Priscilla: I will be right with you


    Priscilla: I will be right with you.
    Priscilla: Thank you for waiting. I'll be with you in just a moment.
    Priscilla: Thank you for patiently waiting, Clarence.
    Priscilla: I appreciate your patience


    .
    Priscilla: As I have checked here, your issue has already been reported. However, let me transfer you to our supervisors so that they can submit a follow up report on this.
    Priscilla: One moment please...
    Priscilla: I am transferring you to one of our top 10% agents as rated by our customers. Please hold while I transfer you.
    Please wait while I transfer the chat to the best suited site operator.
    You are now chatting with 'Mason'
    Your Issue ID for this chat is LTK554083407692X
    Mason: Hello. My name is Mason. To better assist you, let me put you on hold while I read your previous chat/s. Thank you.
    Clarence Harris: Please Just refund my money...16 weeks is to long to recieve anything.
    Mason: I'm still checking on your issue here. Please stay with me. Thank you.


    Clarence Harris: Please Just refund my money...16 weeks is to long to recieve anything.
    1. Mason: I'm still checking on your issue here. Please stay with me. Thank you.
    Mason: Thank you for waiting.
    Mason: I appreciate your patience.
    Mason: Is
    CLARENCE HARRIS
    3604 SILVERADO TRL
    NORMAL, IL [protected]
    US
    your complete mailing address?
    Clarence Harris: yes, I requested several weeks ago for a signature to be require for recieving it...because there has been a lot of theft in this new development of new homes
    Mason: I thank you for confirming it.
    Mason: One moment please...
    Please wait for a site operator to respond.
    1. You are now chatting with 'Priscilla'
    Your Issue ID for this chat is LTK554083407692X
    Priscilla: Hello, how may I help you?
    Clarence Harris: May I speak to an adminstrator NOT A % TOP AGENT
    Priscilla: Hello, Clarence.
    Clarence Harris: I would like a refund on the magic plus
    Priscilla: May I know what you mean by Administrator? I apologize, but I can only transfer you to our supervisor which are the top 10% agent.
    Clarence Harris: Someone who is not going to lie to me.. I have been waiting for 2 months and a half and have not recieved theMagic plus
    Priscilla: I'm sorry to hear that, Clarence.
    Priscilla: Would you mind giving me a few minutes to review your previous chats?
    Clarence Harris: I have already sent this info to the Consumer Administration here in Illinois as well as the BBB
    Priscilla: I will be right with you.
    Priscilla: Thank you for waiting. I'll be with you in just a moment.
    Priscilla: Thank you for patiently waiting, Clarence.
    Priscilla: I appreciate your patience.
    Priscilla: As I have checked here, your issue has already been reported. However, let me transfer you to our supervisors so that they can submit a follow up report on this.
    Priscilla: One moment please...
    Priscilla: I am transferring you to one of our top 10% agents as rated by our customers. Please hold while I transfer you.
    Please wait while I transfer the chat to the best suited site operator.
    You are now chatting with 'Mason'
    Your Issue ID for this chat is LTK554083407692X
    Mason: Hello. My name is Mason. To better assist you, let me put you on hold while I read your previous chat/s. Thank you.
    Clarence Harris: Please Just refund my money...16 weeks is to long to recieve anything.
    Mason: I'm still checking on your issue here. Please stay with me. Thank you.
    Mason: Thank you for waiting.
    Mason: I appreciate your patience.
    Mason: Is
    CLARENCE HARRIS
    3604 SILVERADO TRL
    NORMAL, IL [protected]
    USyour complete mailing address?
    Clarence Harris: yes, I requested several weeks ago for a signature to be require for recieving it...because there has been a lot of theft in this new development of new homes
    Mason: I thank you for confirming it.
    Mason: One moment please...
    Mason: Thank you for waiting.
    Mason: Have you tried checking the order you placed from us at your nearest postal office on your area?
    USPS Tracking: 9400110201258003806286
    Clarence Harris: DID THat several TImes
    Clarence Harris: they stated it was delivered
    Clarence Harris: Dont the company has a way that when it is been used to trace it down to found out who use it
    Clarence Harris: That way you can prosecute the person for using stolen merchandise
    Clarence Harris: I mean, I work for a Billion dollar company here at State Farm Insu. headquarters
    Mason: Is [email protected] your best contact e-mail?
    Clarence Harris: yes..or [email protected] my second email
    Mason: By the way, when said it was delivered, didn't you ask to get it?
    Clarence Harris: I check my box daily...it was not in there and now you are getting on my LAST NERVE
    Mason: Clarence, I apologize for the inconvenience that you have encountered. I just trying to help you here.
    Mason: I need to verify so I can figure this out.
    Clarence Harris: I been thru this with a least 5 10% agent and enough is enough!
    Mason: When you said above "it was delivered", who said it to you? Was it USPS?
    Clarence Harris: the office in Normal...I tell you what JUST REFUND MY MONEY ...OR I WILL HAVE THE BAK TO RESEND FOR IT WITH AN AFFADAVIT!
    Mason: Again Sir, I am just verifying here.
    Mason: So, I can figure your issue out.
    Clarence Harris: REFUND IS THAT HARD TO UNDERSTAND AN I ALSO NEED TO FIND THE ADDRESS TO THE CEO

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    babyisluvd Jul 09, 2012

    the above complaint was about Cinamuse.com

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    babyisluvd Jul 09, 2012

    i was also charged $3.00 just recently on my prepaid card which has left a balance of $2.00 on my card. i did not give them permission either. i tried watching movies and not able to watch. SOUNDS LIKE THEY ARE A SCAM AS WELL

    -1 Votes
  • Lo
    lourdes kutz Jul 09, 2012

    I bought a Magic jack on april 2, 2012. The first order was declined by the credit card, so I ask them to cancel the order and make a new transaction with a new credit card, I thought that was the best way to avoid problems since you can only deal with them thru emails and live chats. Well, they sent me two Magic jacks. I sent one back to them because I only needed one. After sending the product back to them they canceled my account and now they are telling me that my account is under review. It has been under review since april and this is costing me a lot more money than I thought because now I have to pay extra fees to my telephone company for breaking the account in two; one for the transfering number and the other for the DSL service. After so many live chats with them about trying to activate the account with them again, I realize that is a waisting time and I am going back to my phone company.
    Sincerely
    Lucy

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lourdes kutz Jul 09, 2012

    I bought a Magic Jack on april 2, 2012. The first order was declined by the credit card, so I ask them to cancel the first order and make a new transaction with a new credit card, I thoutht that was the best way to avoid problems becausive you can only deal with them thru email and live chats. Well, they sent me two Magic jacks. I sent one back to them because I only needed one. After returning one Magic jack they canceled my account and since april they are telling me that my account is under review. This has cost me a lot more money than I thought because now I have to pay my phone company extra fees for breaking the account in two, one for the transfering number and the other for the DSL connection. I am going back to my telephone company
    Sincerely
    Lucy

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jo Bowers Apr 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The same problem happened when I ordered the miracle slippers. I also got bombarded with add on sales items, and I did order an extra pair of slipers for my daughter-however, when I got to the end the final receipt showed 3 pair of slippers in my daughter's size. It took a couple of phone calls, but I did get it straightened out after a couple of days and I had the slippers within a week. You do have to be careful, because they do add things onto your order without your approval and there is no way to remove them. You don't even know about the add ons until the final receipt comes up on your screen and then it's too late...

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Schooled Apr 06, 2012

    There customer service agents do nothing and knows nothing. I purchase the magic jack plus and they said 30 day but my credit card was charged immediately. What a waste! The device doesn't work and they have been telling me for almost a month that they will be resolving this matter. They keep telling me that they are working on resolving the issue. The device does not work and they will not replace it. Magic Jack is a joke.

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    apg47 Feb 29, 2012

    it sucks I'm thinking of throwing in my sink disposal. It works when it wants to and if you do get a call off you'll eventually get cut off but i guess you get what you pay for.

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    Loren B Feb 02, 2012

    I just researched YMAX Communication Corp on the BBB site. They are accredited by the BBB. I think a good start would be to start making complaints on the BBB site. Here is the information the BBB has:

    Magic Jack aka MagicJack LP
    5700 Georgia Avenue
    West Palm Beach, FL 33405
    Additional Locations:
    PO Box 6846
    West Palm Beach, FL 33405
    BBB Review | File Complaint | Request a Quote
    Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Loren B Feb 02, 2012

    I won't post my experience because it's like so many posted on here. A class action lawsuit? That might be the best way to get these crooks out of the market.
    Company Info:

    magicJack is a subsidiary of YMAX Communication Corporation
    223 Sunset Avenue, Suite 223
    West Palm Beach, FL 33405
    [protected]/[protected]

    When you call it's a recording that gives [protected] for a live representative about billing questions. I haven't called that yet however I don't have any doubts that when I do call the live rep will be as full of obstacles and the techchat reps.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Yo Jan 26, 2012

    This is a very suspicious business organization.

    Very poor customer services. The only way to get any is to go through a "SLOW" live chat. I was surprised that they don't offer live/over-the-phone service; given that they are offering telephone communications service. (-- Think about this for a minute! ---) This is a very suspicious business organization.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Yo Jan 26, 2012

    Like the other complaint said; they charge to your card right away even though it is a 30-day trial and clearly said: "no charge to the card until after 30 days".

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs. Curtis Dec 07, 2011

    Hello, Magic Jack. I know you exist because you withdrew the money out of my account 30 days early. I 'm sending this mess back it doesn't work. At least not in our territory.
    I was willing to conrinue to wait for some one to contact me but time is runnung out on my thirty day agreement.
    I pray that your agreement is better than your product. Please refund all of my money.
    Mrs Curtis

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hashbrn Oct 09, 2011

    Time for a class action law suit against this company...

    I have had MAgic Jack for least 5 years/ if it works it does.
    What does not work is the Live Chat support, is ###, waste of time, and these idiots are brain dead.

    This thing, overseas, is terrible as-- it "Needs fairly fast internet" for any voice quality.
    I use Internationally, only!
    So, then calling to USA from travel.
    My issues all along is the rotten, BS, horrid, worthless Customer Service of magic jack.
    I do not know where they outsource from, but is a total waste of time to get anything done thru live chat.

    This company, is hidden so deep, there is not street address, or corportate phone number, ot C/S live number/
    Live chat is all, and that is 30 minutes with idiots, who are brain dead and do nothing!

    Think soon, other competing 4 G devices will be out, the simple Internet device is limited, andessentially not quality or reliable...
    Not worth the cost or annual sub rates for their phone number.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DaScot Sep 01, 2011

    Here's one for you all. PLEASE NOTE THAT I AM NOT EVEN A CUSTOMER OF MAGIC JACK...I keep getting a call from a Magic Jack number in Plant City. When I call it back it gives me a sales pitch and then says that the number does not receive calls. I contacted the "online customer chat" and after a bout twenty minutes was told that the number was inactive. When I asked why I am still receiving calls from an "inactive" number I was told to contact a "legal" officer as they couldn't discuss the issue with me as I was the complainant... WHAT? Anyway, when I asked "do you mean a ploice officer" they said "I guess so"... I asked them for a phonce number or an address and was directed to http://www.magicjack.com/techchat... what a load of chancers!

    0 Votes
  • Ct
    C. Thieme Jul 06, 2011

    I had service with Magic Jack for two months, then I kept getting a message that I needed to renew. They billed my charge card without my permission for a renewal I didnt need because I should of been good for a year. Then when I had my charge card company stop payment, Magic Jack disconected my service. Every time I chat with their company they say my acount is being reviewed someone will e-mail me. Its been two weeks, they never have . In the mean time I am without service. I believe this company makes enough money off first time buyers that they dont worry about keeping the ones they have. I can understand you get what you pay for, but I didnt even get that. They should aleast have a e-mail address that you can reply to. I give up. C. Thieme

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    windickey May 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a 2 yr service. Most of the time it hasn't worked right. I believe it has affected my computer by slowing it down and giving me a virus. There is no way to talk to a live person as it says on the website. I tried to make a call today and the screen popped up saying that I need to renew my subscription and it's only been a year.
    This outfit IS A SCAM! How can a business like this keep running ads on TV and selling it in stores when its FRAUD??? Julie

    1 Votes
  • Kh
    khadiga El Ghazaly Apr 07, 2011

    please send me my username. my majicjack # is [protected]
    my device is not working almost broken and I need another one
    my email is [email protected]
    I need a fast solution for I cannot work with it anymore although I paid for 6 years

    1 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim-Bo Apr 07, 2011

    Its a scam in the sense that they give you something that may or may not work, but no quality or real customer support is provided - so if it doesn't work you are out of luck.

    If you have problems you can only do a "live chat" with tech support who is probably on the other side of the world. They listen to your problem and then say an engineer will get back to you. Of course they dont - and when you "chat" again they rotate through the same speel again. They hide behind screen names like "Prince" - there could be 10 people using the name - and no way of speaking to anyone who is accountable. Pay $20 per year and guess what you get...

    1 Votes
  • Kh
    khadiga El Ghazaly Apr 06, 2011

    my email is [email protected] my magickjack # is [protected]
    I forgot my username and password
    please help me to start working again with magickjack.
    thank you

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    speakingout88 Mar 09, 2011

    Daniel Borislow

    5700 Georgia Ave
    West Palm Beach, FL 33405
    [protected]

    Lets you leave a message

    0 Votes
  • Kf
    kf4hvt Feb 14, 2011

    There corporate headquarters is (accroding to there Florida Corporate Report) Document Number F05000003375
    YMAX COMMUNICATIONS CORP.
    5700 GEORGIA AVE
    WEST PALM BEACH FL 33405

    Title CEOD
    BORISLOW, DANIEL
    P. O. BOX 6785
    WEST PALM BEACH FL 33405
    Title STD
    PETER, RUSSO
    P. O. BOX 6785
    WEST PALM BEACH FL 33405

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Manuela Jimenez Feb 12, 2011

    I feel better it I explaing my terrible experience on my native language, spanish!

    Compre este producto el el 20 de diciembre 2010.
    lo empeze a usar el 18 de enero. 2011. todo perfecto hasta el dia mas frustante de mi vida 7 de febrero de 2011.
    Por alguna razon cambio de usarlo en el telefono a headseat. Y por mas que lo trate de cambiar . no se pudo. chatee por horas y nunca me revolvieron.
    Entonces tenia que hablar a traves de la computadora. despues de hacer mil cosas. quede en que ni siquiera podia hablar por la computadora. trate de tener mi plata y me dijeron en radio shack que no podian darme mi dinero porqueno habia pagado la garantia. ESte es el peor producto que he comprado en mi vida. Y comentare a todos los que conozca que esto es una basura de producto.


    I bought this producto on December 30, 2010.
    I started usign it on January 18, by February 7 2011 for some reason the device was change from telephone to headseat. I chat for hours and nobody can't help me out.
    Then I was talking troug the computer then later on there was no way to speak at all.
    I tried to get my money back because I bought on Radio Shack but they said the reason they won't give me my money is because I did not paid the warranty. this is the worst product I ever buy in my life. I will all my friends now that this is the cheaper product in the world.
    I jus HATE MAGIC JACK!!! Odio este producto...

    0 Votes
  • P0
    P0em Jan 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This product works o.k. for me. You get what you pay for. Customer service, however, takes gas. I have been waiting for months to get my phone registered so that I can make a 911 call and when 911 gets the call they will also get a physical address. (If I am choking to death, for instance, an address available to them would be the only way they could find out who is making the "gah" noises.) I have tried over and over again to get customer service to respond. They tell me to be patient.

    0 Votes
  • Ae
    Aegis Nov 17, 2010

    This is the chat I had with Magic Jack (day 5 of chatting and still no service for incoming calls- replaced my magic jacks with Nettalk Duo- they have and actual customer service person to speak to)

    Please wait for a site operator to respond.
    You are now chatting with 'Andre'
    Your Issue ID for this chat is LTK43604953337X
    Andre: Hello, how may I help you?
    aegis: Nobody is able to help me.
    aegis: Please wait for a site operator to respond. You are now chatting with 'Randy' Your Issue ID for this chat is LTK43604952156X Randy: Hello, how may I help you? aegis: I have been chatting with magic jack since sat. My phone # has been routed improperly and I no longer receive calls aegis: This is the message I get: aegis: Please listen to this entire message. Your phone carrier has routed this call improperly. This call is being identified as a local call it should be identified as a long distance call. To complete this call please call sprint at [protected] or call [protected] wait for the dial tone and enter the number you are trying to reach. Randy: Let me check on that first, Aegis. Randy: I appreciate your further explanation about the matter. aegis: I called Sprint 20 times since sat and chatting with magic jack as well. NO HELP aegis: I have 5 magic jacks with the same problem. If they do not get resolved today I need to return the products and get my money back aegis: I already purchased a nettalk duo and for $10 more I get a live person on the phone. I will be happy to replace all my magicjacks with nettalk today Randy: One moment please... Randy: Thank you for patiently waiting, Aegis. Randy: I understand how frustrating this issue has become. Randy: As I have checked it here in your account, there are no problems found with your magicJack and it is doing fine, Aegis. Our engineers had already checked our system. aegis: call my number- [protected] and tell me that it is working fine Randy: Please allow me to inform you that the issue is not on the magicJack's end, Aegis. aegis: Yes, Sprint says the same. I heard this from both of you 50 times. Randy: May I know if you are using a cellphone to call your magicJack and got that recorded message, right? aegis: Any phone you use to call give you that message. Randy: I see. Randy: May I know if you can still call out from your magicJack, right? aegis: yes Randy: Okay. Randy: The issue should be resolved on the end of the other service providers, Aegis. This routing problem was on their end. aegis: I have these magic jack lines running for my business and I have a newspaper ad in the paper that cost me $548. I got zero calls from that ad when normally I get 100's of calls. This week I will be down over $15, 000 because of magic jack Randy: One moment please... Randy: I am transferring you to one of our top 10% agents as rated by our customers. Please hold while I transfer you. Please wait while I transfer the chat to the best suited site operator. You are now chatting with 'Destiny' Your Issue ID for this chat is LTK43604952156X aegis: I heard that before. They are no help either pass to the inventor. Brent Destiny: Hi, This is Destiny. Destiny: Would you mind giving me a moment to review your past chat? aegis: I mean, Dan Borislow Destiny: One moment please... Destiny: Thank you for waiting, again the problem is not here in our end, . the calls is associated to their phone carrier, . The callers should contact the customer service representatives and ask them to rout the calls properly . aegis: I did about 20 times. They say they have no connection with magic jack and that I must call your customer service #. Which a magic jack customer service # does not exist Destiny: We use Tech Chat to better assist you. By using Tech Chat, we can send you instant upgrade links and run several diagnostic tests, that cannot be done over the telephone. We are also able to see where you are located, what OS and Internet browser you are using. Lastly we can see that your Internet connection is working too.This will provide the best Customer care experience and keep you most satisfied. aegis: Heard that already and it is not working in your favor. I AM NOT A SATISFIED CUSTOMER!!! aegis: I took every measure to resolve this and magic jack is not able to stand by is product. I need a refund of all my magic jacks Destiny: I perfectly understand your situation, however I believe we are keep on repeating the same process. May I now end this chat session? Thank you Since we haven't heard from you, we must release this chat. Please click here should you need further assistance: www.magicJack.com/techchat
    Andre: Please wait while I check that for you
    Andre: We are aware of this issue already, I suggest that you chat us back later or tomorrow perhaps.
    Andre: Our engineers will make solution for this type if issue. And by tomorrow or later, we can fix this.
    aegis: I heard that already also.
    Andre: I suggest that try to hold until this issue is fixed. Do not worry, it will be resolve as soon as possible.
    aegis: 5 days passed and no fix yet
    Andre: I suggest that try to hold until this issue is fixed. Do not worry, it will be resolve as soon as possible.
    aegis: Enough damage has been caused to my business. Magic jack can no longer be trusted. I am extremely satisfied with the service I recent got from nettalk duo and will replace all my magicjacks. Give me your corporate office address so I can forward this to the state attorney general
    Andre: We do not disclose such informations.
    aegis: You have no corporate office just like you have not customer service number?
    aegis: Every companies corporate office is public information. Unless magic jack is not a licensed business with a legal tax ID!
    Andre: You may email us at [email protected]
    aegis: That is not what I asked for. I need the corporate office address so I can send a certified letter
    Andre: Here is our address:
    Andre: magicJack
    Andre: PO Box 6846
    Andre: West Palm Beach, FL 33405
    aegis: It public info:
    aegis: YMax Communications Corp. 223 Sunset Avenue, Suite 223 Palm Beach, Florida 33480 Telephone: [protected] Facsimile: [protected] Toll Free: [protected]
    aegis: I knew you would give me a P.O. Box
    Andre: Is there anything else I may help you with today?
    aegis: This chat ends like it started-"Nobody is able to help me."

    0 Votes
  • Rb
    rbsmith2000 Oct 10, 2010

    I have no complaints about my MagicJack which I bought in May 2010. I am running my entire house off of it and the performance is quite good. It is on a dedicated old Compaq laptop with USB 1.1 ports running WinXP-Home. It is wired directly to the router and we are on a cable modem that runs 7Mbps x 800kps. All phones ring, but they are all cordless with external power. I have cut the cord with Qwest, so the MJ is supplying all dialtone throughout the house. Once I had problems with a 800 number working, but when I looked at the laptop, there was a Norton AV compaint about magicjack.exe trying to contact my computer. I answered the question to always allow the interaction and it has been smooth sailing since then.

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    jdoathout Aug 07, 2010

    [email protected]

    Dear Joseph

    We have mailed you a free replacement magicJack. In the event a customer breaks their magicJack we do offer replacements for $20.00. For magicJacks under warranty a magicJack is free and we charge $9.95 shipping and handling.

    In your case we have waived the fee and mailed it to your Purling, NY address.

    We regret your inconvenience and hope the resolves your issue amicably.

    We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the future.

    Sincerely,

    Mary Kennon
    magicJack Customer Care

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    jdoathout Aug 06, 2010

    The current Ymax information is as follows:

    http://www.ymaxcorp.com/management.html
    Daniel Borislow
    Founder and Inventor
    Dan Borislow is the founder of YMAX Communications Corporation, a modern phone company with the largest competitive local exchange carrier (CLEC) network in the U.S, and inventor of the magicJack™.

    Borislow has been in the telecommunications industry for over twenty years and is recognized in the industry for pioneering the development of breakthrough technologies. He previously held the position of CEO and founder of publicly-held Tel-Save, Inc. At Tel-Save, Borislow revolutionized low-cost long-distance for more than four million America Online (AOL) customers. While with Tel-Save, he saved customers over 40% on their phone bills.

    Borislow received a Bachelor of Arts degree and honorary doctorate degrees from Widener University. He is an avid soccer player, dedicated deep sea fisherman, enjoys watching sports and has a Thoroughbred Horse Breeding Business.

    Donald A. Burns
    CEO and Chairman of the Board
    Donald A. Burns (Don) serves as Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board of YMax Corp., and is responsible for the day-to-day operations, leadership, and the financial integrity of the company. YMax Corp. offers a variety of telecom services, consumer products and software development through its subsidiary operating companies.

    Burns began his telecommunications career at ATX Communications, Inc. at its founding in 1985, shortly after the break-up of the Bell System. ATX survives as the first and longest continually operational super regional, full-service telecom company. He went on to found Telco Communications Group, Inc. (NASDAQ:TCGX) in 1993, where he served as Chief Executive Officer and Vice Chairman of the Board. TCGX revolutionized the way residential long distance customers could access discounted telephone rates while not changing their primary long distance company. 10-10 dialing brought reduced phone bills to millions that had been reluctant to change long distance carriers. TCGX thrived as the first publicly traded company that popularized 10-10 dialing, growing to a market capitalization of $1.2 billion in its three quarters as a public company with annual revenue topping $400 million in its first three years of operation. Bringing savings to millions of residential customers while growing a small business sales operation brought a sale of TCGX to Excel Communications Corp. (NYSE:ECI) in 1997. ECI was ultimately sold to Bell Canada Enterprises (NYSE:BCE).

    Peter Russo
    Chief Financial Officer
    Peter Russo currently holds the position of Chief Financial Officer of YMax Corporation where he is responsible for the financial and administrative management of the company.

    Russo has had a long and successful career in both the telecom and financial sectors. He was the Chief Financial Officer of Group Long Distance, Inc. (GLD), a publicly traded reseller of local and long distance services. GLD was licensed to resell services in 48 states. Prior to joining GLD, Russo was the Executive Vice President of State Bank of South Australia. (SBSA). Russo was the most senior ranking offshore officer of SBSA and in 1991 he became the youngest individual ever to serve as the Chief Officer of a New York branch of a foreign bank.

    Russo holds a B.B.A. degree from Pace University in New York.

    Airmail
    PO BOX 6785
    West Palm Beach, FL 33405


    Public Utility Commission

    CLEC Report

    Company: YMAX COMMUNICATIONS CORP.
    Tracking No: CL060004
    Type: Corporation Status: Active
    Approved: 02/02/2006 Relinquished:
    Provider Type: Facilities-based & Resale Cert Serv Area: Entire State of Texas
    Local Call Svc: No Service
    Dome. Long Dist: No Service
    Inter. Long Dist: No Service
    POTS: No Service ISDN: No Service
    ADSL: No Service HDSL: No Service
    SDSL: No Service RADSL: No Service
    VDSL: No Service OPT SVCS: No Service
    T1 Pvt Line: No Service T1 Fract: No Service
    56K Switch: No Service Frame Relay: No Service
    Wireless: No Service Long Dist: No Service
    Other: No Service
    Service Area Notes: Entire State of Texas
    Mailing Address
    Primary: Mailing / PO Box
    YMAX COMMUNICATIONS CORP
    P O BOX 6785

    WEST PALM BEACH, FL [protected]
    Main: [protected]
    Alt: --
    Fax: [protected]
    Email: [email protected]

    Contact
    YMAX COMMUNICATIONS CORP
    P O BOX 6785

    WEST PALM BEACH, FL [protected]
    Main: [protected]
    Alt: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    Email: [email protected]

    Company / Physical
    YMAX COMMUNICATIONS CORP
    5700 GEORGIA AVENUE

    WEST PALM BEACH, FL 33405
    Main: [protected]
    Alt: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    Email: [email protected]

    Authorized Rep
    YMAX COMMUNICATIONS CORP
    P O BOX 6785

    WEST PALM BEACH, FL [protected]
    Main: [protected]
    Alt: --
    Fax: [protected]
    Email: [email protected]

    Agent for Process
    YMAX COMMUNICATIONS CORP
    350 NORTH ST PAUL

    DALLAS, TX 75201
    Main: [protected]
    Alt: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    Email: [email protected]

    Associated Names
    Primary: YMAX CORPORATION

    Identification Numbers
    Certificate: 60744
    Type: SPCOA
    Date: 02/02/2006
    Note: SPCOA CERTIFICATION
    Filings: Certification

    [protected]
    Type: NOTIFICATION
    Date: 01/23/2007
    Note: NOTIFICATION - Contact/Address Updates.
    Filings: Notification, Contact List

    32224
    Type: DOCKET
    Date: 12/28/2005
    Note: SPCOA Application
    Filings: New

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    jdoathout Aug 06, 2010

    I am not sure if any one here has noticed voice quality issues, call drops and intermitten poweroutages on the device. After I bought it in a store I hooked it up via the usb cable and it worked ok for a month so I bought an extended 5 year plan. at this time the device was fine. After a while I noticed call drops poor quality and intermitten power bugs. I immediatley went and asked for support. I had to reset this turn volume up that and a whole bunch of stupid things I already had done (mind you within the time for warranty replacement service for free. this last month I had owned the device for a year with 15 tech support requests prior and I am not sure if you noticed the strange global weather patterns but I have, and the usb male connector on the magic jack was off in the usb extension cable it came with. I got out my IT pliers and pulled it out and felt the connections to see if it may have overheated and the solder came loose. Not the case. They were sticky. The were adheared to the device with Glue. People need to know that this is a faulty product in some cases. I am sure not all are made cheaply but a batch were, and the company refuses to do the right thing. I asked for my subscription to be cancelled on the 30th its still on, also I have not recieved my money back for the 5 years. I am sending the device vaccume sealed to my Satae AG and ask they pass it on to the FCC when they are done. If this sounds like your problems I would suggest you do the same.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rismap Jul 20, 2010

    i have order 2 magic jack for business since they offer local and long distance free for USA AND CANADA so my phone were working on and off, BUT AFTER 3 MONTH I JUST RECEIVE THIS MESSAGE ( YOUR OUTBOUND CALLING HAS BEEN SUSPENDED FOR EXESSIVE USAGE ) magic jack, WEB SITE AND TV ADD OFFER FREE LOCAL AND LONG DISTANCE even they block my local calls too. I PAID FOR $49.95 and 5years PLAN. THEY HAVE NO CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ALL, JUST CHAT HOURS AND HOURS NO ONE WILL GIVE YOU CLEAR ANSWER, I CHAT LIVE AND EXPLAIN THEY SAID ONLY 50 different phone number iam allow to call. i paid more then $150.00 to sign up FOR 5 YEARS. NOW NO REFUND AND I HAVE TO PAY AFTER 3 MONTH AGAIN NEW SIGN UP SERVICE, WHAT ABOUT MY 5 YEARS, MY SERVICE IS ENDING 2015, BIGGEST SCAM SCAM, DONT BELIEVE FOR FREE LONG DISTANCE.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leo omega Jul 13, 2010

    comcast and other cable companys are doing things to make majic jack run choppy. this is illegal. where is the class action law suite for that?

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Sc0rPs Jun 16, 2010

    I actually bought a total of four, for family members. All working great, I also used the extension cords so the actual product is not removed & inserted over & over. Although above all there is things to keep in mind:

    1) You pay $20 for a year or $60 for five, you should not expect the same support & staff as you do for a phone company with a monthly bill.

    2) Company is still relatively new, there is going to be growing pains

    I have five year plans on three of them, two of which I personally use as a land line (also when I travel) and a fax line. All work without a hitch and the lines are clear! All of them work great, and again I have to remind people you are saving every month and there is a price for that, which are mediocre service and currently unable to call some toll free numbers. I'm fine with both as the issues I did have got resolved by them (they were applying the 5 year plans to the right numbers) and there is always local numbers offered with those toll free numbers, plus I am pretty sure that issue will be fixed eventually.

    Most of the time I had a clear line, very rarely was there an issue with the call being choppy and a simple calling back clears it up.

    The original complaint was 2 years ago, since then there has been a lot of improvement in the service. From my experience the savings far outweigh any of the minor issues I had, and good enough to replace my land line permanently!

    A couple other issues is the magicjack menu pops up whenever you are calling, being called or hanging up. It sucks when you are doing other tasks especially gaming, I believe it is so you are forced to view any of their advertisements. There is work arounds...

    0 Votes
  • To
    topcatone Jun 08, 2010

    it works they have a number and you can use it with your alarm... make sure you disconnect the main line going to your house the other lines wont work. we switched to magic a year ago and saved 47 a month times 12...

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.