The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Lowe's Home Improvementroof installation

D Review updated:

We hired Lowe's to replace the roof on our home. Having the work guaranteed was important to us and they contractually guarantee their work. We paid $11K for the project. The installer removed the roof, threw the old roofing materials all over the lawn and left to complete other jobs he had started. This left the home open to the elements and when a tropical storm dumped 4" of rain in our area, it all ended up inside our home. We could not locate the roofer. After all the damage was done, we were told by a Lowe's representative that we needed to hire another roofer to close up the roof! "It is, after all, your investment. You need to find yourselves a roofer." We found one who was told by the store manager, district manager and Lowe's insurer (SRS) that he would be paid for his work two days after submitting his invoice. It is six months later and he is still not paid.
We are faced with hundreds of thousands in damages (11 rooms destroyed - house built in 1837), mold that is 317 times greater than outside samples taken and are not able to get Lowe's to honor their verbal or written agreements to "make it right." They will not take care of the mess they made and have hired a lawyer which means, I guess, that we must also.

roof installation
roof installation
roof installation
roof installation

Responses

  • Re
    Reid A K Jan 26, 2021

    I sure wish I had found this before I let Lowe’s roof my home. After their roofing project on my home and 2 rainy days I had leaks when I called about them the second time I was told it wasn’t their roof job. They said that is was my house that something was wrong with my house. Funny how my 10 year old roof stood up to several storm disasters and now since Lowe’s roofed it something is wrong with my house?! It seems with all these bad reviews we should be able to report them to someone. How is it that they can get away with ripping so many people off like that???!! I paid over $9000 for mine and it seems was done without replacing import parts of flashing. Wood trim I wanted replaced was not done. I had them come back to replace a wood trim board were about a foot of the wood was rotted. When I went to go see how it was going the guy had filled the rotted hold with probably about 2 lbs of caulking telling me it would be fine. Needless to say the last storm we had here in Texas 2019 I think it was my house accrued over $20, 000 in damages. Lowe’s is I would say a joke if it wasn’t so serious. This is unbelievable. I would never recommend Lowe’s for any projects. They are highly over rated and nothing but liars and thieves .

    0 Votes
  • Do
    don't use lowe's Jul 01, 2016

    We hired Lowe's to replace our roof mainly because the salesman told us "You know Lowe's will be here and we're going to make it right.", etc., etc. We've had several leaks and they would not help repair them at all. Their warranty only lasts one year and they obviously do not stand behind their work. Will never use them again for any roofing job.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hatchetman59 Sep 05, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    they charge 57 bucks each to replace plywood and they install osb which is not plywood.
    the crew was all non english speaking mexicans except for one
    thew cut out a hole for a power fan and slipped into the attic and burglarized
    pos job

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don't let Lowe;s install anything. Oct 29, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was a Project Specialist for lows for 4 years and you DO NOT want them to install a roof for you. It's amusing that no lows employee ever gets on your roof to measure inspect ect. during the whole process. ( if a lows employee gets on your roof, they will be fired for a safety violation) They lie and say the roof will be inspected by the installed sales dept. but what really happens is they just check to see if the lows sign is in your yard, name tags and lows shirts are worn and an oil shield ( usually a piece of cardboard) is under the contractors vehicle. They don't even check to see if the cleanup, nail sweep was performed. All from a person who knows very little about roofing. Plus you only get a one year labor warranty and will be bombarded with "lifetime warranty" talk from the salesperson who you will never see again after you give them your money. Be smart and get a local roofer with references and save big bucks and have a much better warranty.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doitright2day Aug 15, 2019

    @Don't let Lowe;s install anything. Funny how you were a Project Specialist for Lowe's for 4 years and don't know how to spell Lowe's?

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    vipergtsr Oct 14, 2012

    For all you people ### about lowes, lowes SUBCONTRACTS out, as does home depot. lowes didnt do the installation, another company they found did. You're basically buying your materials from lowes which is a retailer and using them to help you find someone to install it. Next time if you have any doubts, ask for the name of the company thats doing the work. Ex. like i did for the guys that put down my carpet and do some research on them. There are a lot of scams and fly-by-night companys out there, that work solo or do sub work. -A fellow contractor

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doitright2day Aug 15, 2019

    @vipergtsr Like you said, Lowe's subcontracts their roofing jobs and you are basically buying the material from Lowe's and they found the installer for you. In the state of Mass., the craftsmanship or labor warranty was the minimum required of 1-year and it's by the installer and not by Lowe's. The difference from Lowe's and what Home Depot was doing is that Home Depot took complete responsibility of the job. They gave a Lifetime manufacturers warranty on the shingles (50-years non-prorated on the GAF architectural shingles) combined with a 25-year craftsmanship or labor warranty by Home Depot, not the installer and the warranty is transferable. Both Home Depot and Lowe's also offer financing. It is irrelevant though, because Home Depot cancelled it's roofing, siding, gutter and insulation programs last February, 2019.

    1 Votes
  • 27
    2737barber Jul 17, 2012

    please do not hire lowes for any roofing work they ruin my roof .08/30/08 after hurricane
    in baton rouge louisiana.

    1 Votes
  • Rs
    RSWGoodGuys Jan 19, 2011

    Just full disclosure here- I am an employee with THD's Home Services program. I don't know much about Lowes's program, but our installers actually do well. They do take a small cut on each product they install, but the volume of work they get, and the guaranteed payment causes them to CHOOSE to work for us. They are also drug tested, reference/criminal background checked. This poor customer obviously had a nightmare experience. You'll find THD complaints out there too. What you won't hear as frequently online is about all of the times THD goes through and replaces a roof for the 2nd time beacause the GAF inspector comes out and notices a technical issue. Or about the times that we Re-replace 8 windows because the customer doesn't like the grid patterns. Or about siding replaced because the customer melts it with a gas grill (also bought at THD) Or about all of the nameless independent guys out there who give you a phony license/insurance (that you dont check out because it must be good if he gave me a #, right?) then take a deposit and leave you hanging until they get around to it. And if they do wind up getting the job done- Hopefully it lasts because they have no further business to do with you (no incentive to take any small loss on THIS job). We're in this business because the vast majority of independent guys wind up screwing customers at some point- even if its just because they go belly up (as 97%do w/in 5 years).

    2 Votes
  • Dr
    dragracer Aug 15, 2010

    do not allow retailers to be installers.. They pay the workers "minimum" dollar, and as the saying goes, "you get what you pay for"... With them always paying their help so little, there has to be a reason a qualified contractor would take such a cut...and that is usually because he IS NOT qualified... Not 100% of the time, because I'm sure there are a few that actually bust their butts to do the best job possible, but I would almost guarantee that there are more "scruffs" than professionals... That "Crystal Meth" is HELL on the brain...

    1 Votes
  • Te
    TechHelp Jan 13, 2010

    Mom just called about her roof which she has had multiple issues with since Lowe's was contracted to replace and said she has snow and ice in the attic along with mold in the bedroom. Lawyer time I guess.

    0 Votes
  • Tw
    twill Mar 30, 2009

    No comment really, except Lowe's & HD charge very top dollar, while paying the very least and adding on interest charges also.
    GUARANTEE???????????????

    Dude!! They are a retailer!! They sell... stuff!

    Sorry. Next time hire a roofer

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.