Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Light In The Box

Light In The Box review: rip off 29

M
Author of the review
12:27 am EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

This company is a classic online ripoff operation. They sell merchandise at cut-rate prices that is designed to look like it works — but nothing works. It's all a gimmick. The electronics are not even supplied with some of their merchandise — just a casing that looks real.

They are an online scam outfit that flourishes off first-time buyers who are deceived by the front that they put up online. You can't find them. You can't call them. You can't get a refund. You can't get a return. All you get is screwed.in my case, I lost several hundred dollars. It was the worst online experience of my life.

You'll never find anyone out there who ever goes near light in the box again. Avoid them like the plague. Stick to major retailers who can actually be held accountable.

Jul 13, 2011 4:38 am EDT
Light In The Box customer support contacts
Address

Beijing, CN

File a complaint Write a review
Dear Customers,

On behalf of LightInTheBox.com, I would like to apologize for whatever inconvenience you have experienced while shopping with us. We are continuously working on improving our products and service, so we very much value your feedback.

I would like to invite all customers with pending issues to please post your order number in your comments, this way we can investigate your case and contact you directly.

Otherwise, you can always contact our Customer Service team. They will do their best to offer the most suitable solution to your problem. You simply need to log into your LightInTheBox.com account and submit a ticket.

Please follow this link to read more about how to contact Customer Service: http://www.lightinthebox.com/knowledge-base/c5/a2746.html

Our Customer Service team will promptly reply to your inquiry, and should you need more help, you can submit a reply to Customer Service under their answer to the ticket in question. Thank you for your patience.

Regards,

LightInTheBox.com
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

More Light In The Box reviews & complaints

Light In The Box - terrible return/refund policy 56
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Light In The Box - bad business practice 74
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Light In The Box - poor customer service/dress made wrong the wrong size! 25
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Light In The Box - do not use this company! 254
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Light In The Box - email scam 7
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Light In The Box - 3 dresses 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
29 comments
Add a comment
G
G
Gary Dannenberg
, US
Dec 09, 2022 8:47 am EST

Took my $68.00 now, cant seem to find my "ticket"? Total thieves. never again.

[censored] THE CHINESE.

A
A
Angie Kicklighter
, US
Nov 13, 2022 6:05 pm EST

HORRIBLE! Cannot get any info to return $300 dresses! DO NOT USE THIS HORRIBLE COMPANY! SCAMMERS!

T
T
Tim Passmore
, US
Jun 29, 2022 8:00 pm EDT

Terrible return policy. Trying to return a dress that we paid a total of &155 for and if we’re lucky, by the time we get a refund, it will be less than $80. I thought I researched the company before purchase an they had a us address an phone but nope, just for show. Everything is done from China. Do not use this company. Scam 100%

S
S
Saveyourhardearnedmoney
, US
May 12, 2022 11:40 pm EDT

They are TERRIBLE! I ordered a blouse and then I couldn’t access the website to check tracking. There is zero possibility of reaching them and I was recently told by another unlucky consumer that they tried to return something and they wouldn’t return emails. (That’s the only way to contact them)…but you won’t reach them.

You might get your product, but be prepared to be stuck with whatever misleading junk they’ve sold you.

I work too hard for my money, and now it’s just, gone.

S
S
Saveyourhardearnedmoney
, US
May 12, 2022 11:39 pm EDT

They are TERRIBLE! I ordered a blouse and then I couldn’t access the website to check tracking. There is zero possibility of reaching them and I was recently told by another unlucky consumer that they tried to return something and they wouldn’t return emails. (That’s the only way to contact them)…but you won’t reach them.

You might get your product, but be prepared to be stuck with whatever misleading junk they’ve sold you.

I work too hard for my money, and now it’s just, gone.

R
R
Ruth Moneke
, US
Mar 19, 2018 4:34 pm EDT

LIGHT IN THE BOX NEEDS TO BE SUED! THIS IS THE THIRD TIME I HAVE ORDERED FROM THEM THINKING THE MAIL WAS SLOW...NO ...NOT THE CASE...THIS COMPANY IS CROOKED. I ORDERED 2 DRESSES FROM THEM IN XXL AND THEY KEPT SENDING A SIZE 4 DRESS INSTEAD. YOU CANNOT CALL THEM OR EMAIL THEM...THEY ARE NOT GOING TO RESPOND AND I THINK THE BBB SHOULD BAN THEM FROM DOING BUSINESS IN OUR COUNTRY OF THE UNITED STATES PERIOD. I AM NOT SURPRISED AT ALL THE COMPLAINTS I SEE. IF THEY CANNOT BE FAIR AND SQUARE WITH CUSTOMERS THEN DO NOT TRY EVERY AGAIN TO DO BUSINESS WITHIN THE UNITED STATES BECAUSE WE ARE NOT GOING TO PUT UP WITH IT ...WE ALL NEED TO COMPLAIN TO THE HIGHEST TO BAN THEM FROM DOING BUSINESS WITH THE U.S.

W
W
walkerd79
Midland, US
Dec 07, 2013 10:09 am EST

I am showing that the 5 tablets I payed for a over a week ago still have not shipped. I spent way too much $$$ to risk these Christmas presents for kids. Light in the box also withdrew an additional $8.xx from my bank account a few days ago. I am considering asking for my money back, but negative reviews I have read state that customers from that website never got in touch with a person. How do I look up international website business information?

W
W
walkerd79
Midland, US
Dec 07, 2013 6:58 pm EST

I am waiting on contact from this company. I was able to discover a couple of emails in China

A
A
Ann Whicker
, US
Jan 07, 2016 9:08 am EST

Ordered Dec 2nd amount of $12.79 went thru my bank on Dec 4th have not received these order #[protected]

R
R
Reviewer24564
,
Dec 29, 2015 11:06 am EST

I ordered a pink wig for my granddaughter for christmas. It arrived after approx 3 weeks and she loved it. I paid for postage and packaging. I then decided to order 2 more, they arrived today but DHL demanded £17 in VAT and advance payments ? I was NEVER informed of this added charge. I am absolutely discusted with this company!

D
D
Donna Sh
, US
Oct 14, 2015 11:46 am EDT

I ordered a few dresses sept 10. The order was not sent quick enough so i cancelled the order. I was assured they would issue credit to my card. Almost 700.00. No credit yet. Can't reach

T
T
Theresa Shuler
, US
Aug 11, 2015 9:29 pm EDT

were is my order its been 7 weeks . and I never recive my order, that's a shame/.

R
R
Randeep Singh
, US
Aug 09, 2015 12:02 am EDT

I found this site very useful and I have no complaint I just want to know about my orders [protected] placed on 31st July worth $244.66 and [protected] placed on 30th July worth $215.82. I forget my the email address and unable to sign in plz deliver my orders.

K
K
Ken2
Novi, US
Dec 13, 2014 6:56 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

By clicking on an email link (from LITB), I received a $4.00 credit towards my next purchase - valid for 2 days. I immediately placed an order, but there was no web box at checkout to obtain my $4.00 credit. I raised the issue immediately with LITB, and after much haggling they later advised that the time limit on the credit had expired.
Goodbye forever LITB.

N
N
Norma Redo
, MX
Jun 26, 2013 2:13 pm EDT

I have not received any news for the shipping of a lamp I purchase with the number 3575071

B
B
bgbb
, CA
May 16, 2014 1:52 am EDT

Well I had my first experience with this site, Lite and the box
I ordered 2 dresses, 2 shoes.
I think they return policy suck
they wont or just a fraction of the price you brought merchandise will give some money back.
Oh and what about the s and h, duties, other aplicable taxes, and the items they send me were ok, but
one dress wasnt even hemmed the bottom.
The other liooked ok, and 2 sandals roo. They were all come in the plastic bag one was riped one was a ziploc bag. After all for cheap bad qualaty stuff, and my damaged dress I can not see the refound, because on the 4 pcs items, I paid all those fees, shipping and handeling ect... And duty for 36. Dollars, I just about sat down, cheap damaged clothes, with no rtn policy and made in china, bad quality, and I can not even get my money back.
I think it would be only fair to pay me back at least all the fees for the damaged goods.
I will tell everyone DO NOT SHOPE THERE IT'S A RIPP OFF COMPANY!

B
B
b1989
, US
Oct 30, 2011 2:11 pm EDT

I ordered a dress for my cousin for my wedding off the site. When I learned it wasn't going to ship in time, I requested to cancel my order. Before it was shipped (a week before it was supposed to be shipped) they told me they would be charging me the price of the dress as a "handling" fee because it was specially made (a standard size! like no one will ever order that size again!?)

A horrible company. I would recommend to NOT buy from this stupid, ridiculous site!

C
C
CrissiHylz
, JM
Mar 25, 2013 12:31 pm EDT

If Light In The Box is receiving so many complaints and if they genuinely care for their customers, why won't they place telephone numbers where they can be contacted? Thanks ALOT for the heads up! I was just about to order from them! That would probably been a BIG mistake!

A
A
Ann Musticone
Tamworth, GB
Apr 26, 2012 7:01 pm EDT

My granddaughter aged 19 in the last few weeks ordered a stole from Light in the Box for £22.00 paid an extra £9.00 for shipping. It was promised in time for a wedding, this was not the case and my granddaughter tried to cancel the goods, but was informed it was to late and they suggested when it arrived she try to sell it on. The goods arrived yesterday and the courier required an additional £17.00 from my granddaughter, who was unable to pay. She is very upset and has had to tell the couriers she cannot take delivery of these goods. I am so disgusted with Light in the Box I will certainly not be recommended them to anyone.

W
W
Wendell seaforth
Toronto, CA
Nov 22, 2011 2:48 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

RE-TICKET 1173875 In June of this yearI purchased an Atlantis-Android Smartphone.The phone came with 2 batteries and worked well until the batteries needed recharging. However, the batteries did not appear to recharge as the LCD remained blank. I purchased two new batteries from Lightin the box. again the new batteries worked well but like the previous 2 did not appear to recharge as the LCD remained blank. I could therefore not use the phone. I contacted Lightin The Box and agreed to return the phone. Lightin the box would then check the phone and if found defective would send me a replacement phone. 7 days were stipulated for my reply. I replied within the 7 day period and told Lightin the box I had posted the phone to the China address they supplied. I was to wait for a response regarding the phone. Subsequently, I received an email giving me 7 days to say if I was satisfied that the issue had been resolved. How could I provide an answer to that question when I was awaiting a response fro Lightin The Box. Lightin The Box then closed my ticket 1173875.- Why? Not only did I pay for the phone but I also returned the phone and am now left with a bad experience. will I receive another phone. I prefer this. If not I want my money back. Wendell Seaforth. Canada [protected]

L
L
Lisa A King
Tupelo, US
Aug 30, 2011 9:12 pm EDT

I picked out a short sundress for my (4) bridesmaids to wear for my outdoor wedding. BIG MISTAKE! One bridesmaids' paypal account was charged twice for two orders (she only had one) she called to cancel the extra order but the smart people at Light/Box canceled both orders. That's one down. Of the other 3 only 1 bridesmaid received her dress (the day before the wedding) even though all the women had ordered with in the first week of September and paid $49.00 shipping. I tried emailing the company and even had a "live chat" with someone named Peter at the company. Nothing ever happened, not with emails or chatting. So the night before my wedding, my bridesmaids were running around town trying to find matching outfits to wear. Thank God I didn't order my wedding dress from them! So after everything, one bridesmaid ended up with a $100.00 sundress. Dress was $49 and the shipping was $49.83! Do your self a favor and never, EVER order from this site. If you go to their site and look at reviews, you will notice the reviews are ALL positive with the exact same spelling/punctuation mistakes! Any bride who thinks about ordering from Light/Box should find a comparable dress locally. THIS SITE IS A SCAM! DO NOT ORDER FROM THESE PEOPLE!

J
J
Janaeliza
, US
May 06, 2011 4:51 pm EDT

Stay away from this company! They are horrible to do business with! They just want your money and do not even give the refunds requested! Horrible!

S
S
Special Advocate
Saint Joseph, US
Sep 26, 2010 11:06 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Again--one more complaint about Light In The Box and advice to totally stay away from this scam! I bought one of their "Air Phone's" for $130.00 and it was a total joke! It would send txt messages in Chinese language if it sent any at all--you couldn't set central standard time on it--not all the features worked on it--and after 4 weeks of use the end of the charger got stuck in the phone and broke off and guess what, no charger in the US to fit it! STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCAM!

S
S
skeeterbite
Wasilla, US
Sep 15, 2010 5:03 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The day after I placed my order my credit card information was used in several locations in Taiwan. Visa told me they were "card present" transactions which means someone actually made a card using my numbers. I only used the card for a purchase from Light in the Box so I too would say STAY AWAY from this organization! They refunded me my $300 dress order but cost me $1000 in fraudulent charges that are still not resolved because the charges were "card present". I live in Alaska and there is no way I spent $1000 in Taiwan...

M
M
mnaeseth
Houston, US
Jun 28, 2010 4:48 pm EDT

I just got ripped off too. I bought a 7" in dash dvd player from them that was purported to play NTSC/ATSC movies as well as pickup TV signals here in the USA.

1) It ONLY plays PAL format dvds. (meaning anyone in the USA is screwed)
2) Only picks up foreign tv broadcasts. (again, if you are in the USA, you're screwed)

I have been trying to contact someone for a week and am getting nothing but endless auto-generated emails that don't even attempt to address or fix the problems. However, when you pose as someone about to buy something, you can get right through to a person via their chat service. If you try to use this chat service to complain about an order already purchased/shipped, you will be avoided like the plague.

LIKE EVERYONE MENTIONED ABOVE, THEY ARE THEIFS WHO WANT TO STEAL YOUR MONEY ONCE, THEN THEY WILL NEVER TALK TO YOU OR ANWER YOUR EMAILS EVER AGAIN.

AVOID ***** AVOID ***** AVOID ***** AVOID ***** AVOID ***** AVOID ***** AVOID ***** AVOID ***** AVOID ***** AVOID ***** AVOID ***** AVOID *****

A
A
ayame316
, US
May 07, 2010 8:15 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I wholeheartedly agree that anyone buying anything, no matter how little, should stay away from LightintheBox.com because I bought a costume for a convention, knowing I was taking a risk but I thought it would be ok because of the online chats they had and what seemed to be good customer service. The costume was also at a better price than anywhere else. However, when it got to me the size that I clearly stated was medium, had one part of the costume labelled small and of course it did not fit. All I wanted was an exchange, it turned into a hugely long email communication and they SAY that they want to help but either they can't understand what your problem is or they just don't feel like it. They said, "please reply to this email address so that we can keep track of your ticket #" makes sense right! WEll then I get an email straight back saying that they've "changed" how they do inquiries and now you had to go to the site to reply. But I couldn't reply, because they asked me to attach photos of the wrong product for "proof" and there is no way to attach photos on the site! Its all mixed up, such a hassle, my problem wasn't nearly as bad as other peoples, but still, no way I'm dealing with this again and sticking to my tried and true ebay!

L
L
Lady Sherry
Charlotte, US
Apr 05, 2010 8:10 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I don't know what to say, right now I'm sitting here with the poop face. I getting married July 18, 2010 and I just order the dress of my dreams off Light In The Box web site for $518.00. I'm already pushing for time and I don't need this drama. Denny if your reading this or if your really real I would really like to talk with you to assure that I gets my dress in a timely matter.[protected]. Now I left you my number online, that means I REALLY wanna talk to someone.

C
C
CakeOh
, US
Dec 14, 2009 5:51 pm EST

I checked them out and I saw that the images they use aren't even theirs. In some images they cut off the head of the model, and ironically enough they say that their images are copyrighted. Really is a rip-off company. Avoid buying from this site.

D
D
Denny_
, CN
Oct 19, 2009 5:30 am EDT

Dear customer,

On behalf of LightInTheBox.com, we apologize for the unpleasant experiences and the late reply. We are extremely concerned to read your comments. We would like to know more details so we can address this issue promptly.

You can reach me at Denny@lightinthebox.com. Include your order number and contact info (a reachable phone number is best) and we will assist you very soon.

Thanks and Regards,
Denny

  1. Light In The Box Contacts

  2. Light In The Box emails
  3. Light In The Box address
    Beijing, China
  4. Light In The Box social media
  5. Maria
    Checked and verified by Maria This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 17, 2024
Light In The Box Category
Light In The Box is ranked 48 among 1572 companies in the Online Shopping category
Trending companies