Hp Officejet J4550ink, printer quality, scanner not working, hp compatible catridges not working

1
T Review updated:

I had an HP all in one printer that served me well for 4 years until I wore the belt out. I thought it was a good enough product to buy another HP. I ended up buying an HP Officejet J 4550. I've had it for nearly 6 months. It has been the most disappointing piece of crap I've purchased.

I installed the driver that operates it. When I tried to use the scanner; it did not work. When I tried to use the fax, it did not work. I did manage to get it to print and copy, but the quality is sub-standard. Even when I tell it to print "Best" quality, it leaves lines throughout the photos. The text it prints gets cut off and you have to use certain fonts to get it to work properly. The blacks are not black enough. The ink runs out right away. I've spent a fortune in printer ink and when you re-fill the cartridges; it doesn't work. I tried to use the bigger black ink cartridge that is suppose to be compatible. 901 cartridges work. When I put in the 901XL HP printer ink, my computer through the HP program prompts me that it is not compatible and will not print so I'm out 30.00 there. I'm using the exact cartridge it tells me I should, but tells me it is incorrect. I haven't tried to talk to any tech support at HP, but have been reading people's complaints on-line. I'm filing a complaint to warn others. I'm feeling frustrated and ripped off.

The first HP all in one printer I had worked great until I wore out the belt. I did everything on it and the quality was good...not perfect...but decent. However, after this second one, I will be avoiding HP altogether.

Responses

  • Jw
    J Wilson Mar 15, 2009

    I own this printer and have the identical complaints. I just returned from a trip, plugged in my lap top, and the blasted printer says it has an incompatible cartridge. It's the same cartridge that worked when I left. The cartridge lasts less than a week with really, minimal usage. Don't buy it. After reading the same complaints from other people, I'm taking it back tomorrow.

    0 Votes
  • Wt
    wtbaac Mar 20, 2009

    The same happened to me. After using it for a while I had to refill my black cartridge. I've bought XL thinking it would be better but after 3 or 4 days of normal work suddenly appeared message about "incompadible print cartringe(s): [Tri-Color]". So my old (regular) cartridge is not good anymore (as it's said on printer display). & its almost full with ink!!! I've tried to clean cartridge surface & inside of printer but it worked just for a couple days & then again the same story. I'm so disappointed!!! I'd not recommend this AIO HP J4550 to anybody!!! Unfortunately I can't return it back but won't trust HP as I used to.

    0 Votes
  • Kb
    K Bain Mar 30, 2009

    The HP J 4550 was attractive and the HP reputation like a rock. But I had a lengthy and frustrating experience in getting its HP Solution Center installed with several HP phone calls. I continue to get update notices from HP but every time I have allowed the update it resulted in having to uninstall and reinstall the HP Solution Center software...a THREE HOUR PROCESS on each computer on my network.

    Now I find that 901 ink cartridges run out very fast and are really hard to find. Refilling attempts failed and an OEM 901XL cartridge produced few additional copies. Rumors are that the cartridges have circuitry that prevents them from being refilled. Great American companies have gone down the tubes because of fiascos like this one. Wake up, HP!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Apr 27, 2009

    Same complaints about ink, etc. And here I thought I was getting such a deal. What did I expect for $39?

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    cma May 26, 2009

    I too have the same problems with this HP model. HP customer service pretends they are not aware of any problem with this model... I will never buy an HP product again!

    0 Votes
  • Tj
    TJB May 29, 2009

    I had the printer for two months now and have the same complaints as all the others including false paper jam issues, poor alignment, and no color printing. HP service wants to send another unit. waist of time bad after bad. HP products have been very good in the past. Will not trust them now.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AM605 May 30, 2009

    I agree, this is one piece of all in one crap by HP.

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    ccp Sep 02, 2009

    I own this model, first time I tried to use for scanner, it is not working.

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    MJB007 Dec 04, 2009

    I bought this about a year ago and only use it occasionally at home. Once it just stopped making copies, for no reason. It started working again, inexplicably, but then ran out of ink pretty quickly. I replaced the cartiridge, it was working OK for about (I kid you not) 30 copies, and then bam -- I also got the "incompatible cartridge [Tri-Color]" error also. The instruction manul is also useless. My husband said we really bought a piece of garbage and I thought he was being impatient but reading all the comments here and after this latest incident, looks like I'll need to trash this and go buy a decent copier.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linkylaw Dec 04, 2009

    I thought this printer was a "bargain" at Cosco when I bought it. Now I know why it was so inexpensive - it's a piece of junk. I've had nothing but problems with this printer. It uses ink like no other printer I've ever owned; it seems all I do is buy ink for this hunk of junk.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ravi Jain Dec 18, 2009

    This printer is trash. I bought it from Costco last January. I used it very occasionally at place I could carry it because of its light weight. I used only the copying function. The paper started jamming and the colors and text were not coming out right.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reb Kornacki Jan 14, 2010

    Mine keeps giving me the tri color cartridge is out of ink when I'm positive it is not. I even got it to work again after trying about 100 things (reloading the software included). Then, a short time later it's giving me the same message. HP rep. said "too bad I didn't buy the extended warranty because then he could send me another one. (As if I'd ever want another one of these ###!! things).

    0 Votes
  • Lb
    LBRLADY Jan 15, 2010

    Guess what HP, I don't need the extended warranty, because I'm under 90 days and this
    POS is going back to Costco! I'm ashamed to admit I spent like $79, but even if was $39
    how much is your time and frustration worth? Not worth it
    Do not buy it

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mistijh Jan 20, 2010

    I hate the new J4550 printer. It costs me a fortune to use it-- it is ALWAYS out of ink, and the only ink that you can buy for it is the HP ink itself! I, like the original complaint states, had an HP combination scanner, printer, and fax for years that I really LOVED! (Up until it died, that is-- but it gave me many years of service).
    I am swearing off HP printers also. I print a LOT of pages because we use it for homeschooling, and I cannot afford to use a printer that costs me as much as using a photocopier at the library! Seriously! Kodak has been advertising that they are making printers for higher volume printing with less cost per cartridge. It's time to check them out I think. HP has plenty of my money already.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Camogirl911 Aug 24, 2011

    Same complaints, unfortunately I waited until long past my warranty expiration. I will not buy HP again. Tried several new cartridges, never printed correctly. Wish I had paid more attention to reviews before I purchased.. Learn the hard way I suppose...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MadatHP Dec 27, 2018

    Nope I am done with HP for the same reasons listed above. I have had HP for years and flat wore out many but I am tired of paying out the nose for tiny bit of ink. I would gladly pay much more for a quality printer that I knew was going to work when I need it to. I also have a Brother Laser that I have run many cases of paper through and it is still printing. This one I purchased because I need a fax machine and only occasionally print in color. I have suspected that this printer calls home frequently to report on what I am doing with it. HP leave the dirty work to Washington D.C. I like many others am done.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem