Hertz Italiana Spa Romaincorrect charged of 150€ after 5 months

1
P Review updated:

Last december I went to italy and rented a car at termini stazione ffss - railway station. I went to pisa and return to rome were a deliver the car. The car was paid by credit card and at january of 2010 it was charged. At that point everything was ok, but then, at may of 2010 I received a leter of the bank charging me 5 times 30€. Three times at 05-05-2101 and two times in 20-05-2010. Those charges were made by the hertz italiana spa roma.

I don´t know why they are charging me that amout. It's five charges of 30€.

What should I do?

Responses

  • Ma
    mark lowe Aug 30, 2010

    Hey Pedro,
    So what has happened? Did you get any explanation why they charged your card? Have they refunded you?
    A similar thing happened to me.
    I hired a car from Hertz, Rome. I had booked and paid for a car in advance and arrived in Rome with a voucher for the full rental. When we saw the car, we decided to upgrade to a larger vehicle. We were charged for the upgrade which we paid for on the spot in cash (unfortunately, as it turned out).
    Anyway, all went well, until several months after I had returned home, a charge appeared on my credit card for the cost of the upgrade which they said was never paid. Lesson learned = keep all receipts.
    Anyway, almost a year after the holiday, two charges of 30euro each appeared on my credit card statement, from Hertz Italia, with no explanation. So I queried the charges with my credit card company, whose policy is to just reverse the charges and enquire from the merchant as to the charges. After about a month I received a letter from my credit card company advising that the Hertz had withdrawn the charges, with no further explanation. After another couple of months, I received a notification from a collection agency in Rome acting on behalf of the Rome Municipality (Police Dept) advising that I owed two amounts of 100.20euro each for outstanding traffic infringements. Apparently the initial charges of 30euro were for infringements where I had driven in a restricted area without permission (which I was totally unaware of), and when the credit card company queried the charges, Hertz just decided rather than explain the charges to me they would just let the fines go and let the police or whoever deal with it as though I had refused to pay.
    I have sent several emails trying to explain the situation and have had zero reply. So I am now waiting. I gather more will follow, but it is frustrating when these companies just dis you as though they couldnt give a rats about you as a customer.
    Be good to hear any other similar stories.
    Mark
    Australia

    4 Votes
  • Gr
    Greg Dennis123 Nov 30, 2010

    The same thing just happened to me. Months after I was in Italy, three identical charges showed up on my credit card for 30 Euros each. Terrible. I'll get my credit card to cancel them if I can, but i will definitely avoid Hertz in the future.

    1 Votes
  • Ay
    aycon Jan 07, 2011

    Hey there!
    I experienced the same thing. I went to Sardegna island in September 2010. I paid rent for 2 weeks - everything with my credit card including full tank of gasoline, since i forgot to fill it. Anyway, on december 21st 2010, my cerditcard was charged again, this time for 36€ without any notice, explanation or anything. I dont know what to do next, i wrote to Hertz demanding an explanation. Waiting nof for 2 weeks.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    keith hewitt Feb 19, 2011

    Ive just recd my credit card statement with a Euro 36 charge. No idea whats its for so Googled " Hertz Italiana Spa Roma" and see that its a pretty common charge that has caught out a lot of people.

    1 Votes
  • NEVER RENT A CAR IN ITALY!!!
    Same scenario here. In November-2009 rented a car for 2 days in Florence to be returned in Rome. In March 2010 received 2 charges on my credit card for $ 40.48 for traffic violations. It's now March 2011 and I just received 2 traffic citations by mail for 126.10 euros each. ALL CHARGES were from HERTS ITALIANA SPA ROMA. Avoid this rental company at all costs, or just don't rent a car when traveling in Italy.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    George Xuereb Brennan Jun 25, 2011

    THIS SOUNDS LIKE AN INSTITUTIONALISED RIP OFF
    I ahve also received a charge of 36 Euros from HERTZ SPA ITALIANA many months after my visit to Italy, again without any explanation. This sounds like a recurring theme - whatever happened to being "presumed innocent until proven guilty"? I will not use HERTZ SPA ITALIANA again.
    George

    1 Votes
  • Gi
    GiorgosP Aug 18, 2011

    The same scenario to me now after 4 montsh 36 euros for...nothing! Giorgos
    I am going to contact my visa

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    waynew706867 Nov 02, 2011

    For any that have gotten these charges. Phone your credit card company and dispute these charges. Chances are they will remove them from your credit card without any questions. I firmly believe that this is a scam by HERTZ SPA ITALIANA.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pablo Davanzo Dec 12, 2011

    same here - highway robbery

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Emanuel1976 Dec 15, 2011

    I i´m from portugal and the same hapens to me. 3 months later 36.30 €, i´ve just made a reclamation in my bank and cancelled my credit card. I think this money is for administrative expenses between the police and hertz for traffic violations. i don´t understand it i didn´t made anything wrong. Anyone have this case resolved? Please respond to [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nanc100 Jan 13, 2012

    Same problem here. Rented car from Hertz in October. Just noticed a charge for $47.36 USD posted in December. I also had a parking ticket in Italy but paid for it before we turned the car back in. I'm disputing the charge with my credit card company.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Manuel Castro lahoz Jun 30, 2012

    Yes, yes, I always heard about problens in rent a car in South America, but now I know that in Italy that kind of trobles is usualy. And is interesting, only in Italy.
    I hope thta HErtz Intrenational do something about that.
    Manuel

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grumpy kiwi Aug 22, 2012

    I too have received several unapproved charges of 36E on my credit card. I rented a Hertz car in April and just now received 3 x 36E charges. I reading the comments here I have cancelled my card. Sounds like a scam, smells like a scam, taste like a scam.

    1 Votes
  • To
    TonyE1000 Aug 28, 2012

    Same thing happened to me with Hertz . Credit card charged 30 Euros 6 months after the rental for admin charges on a traffic violation which turned out to be wholly fictitious.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carla Cid Oct 19, 2012

    Same thing happened to us. We rented a car from Hertz this past August and we received a €36 charge x 3. It sounds very strange since there are so many people getting the same charge. Just found out tonight. I'm gonna get in touch with Hertz and see what they say. However it would be great to join forces to move a serious complaint to get our money back. Let me know if you wanna join me to put a collective complaint through. Thanks Carla ([email protected])

    0 Votes
  • S8
    s88 Dec 20, 2012

    Hello all,

    Hired a car from hertz at Bergamo airport in August 2012, and paid the bill in early September in full. ( though there was damage to the car which was never pointed out to us! i took photos of this as soon as we arrived at our hotel! I could not see them in the car park). I never damaged the car.
    I did receive a parking ticket which was in error as it clainmed we had been there overnight; we had not; i just failed to put the correct time on that blue disc in the window! We never new what it was for. So we parked legally for an hour and were not there overnight.
    Now in Dec Hertz have deducted another £30. surely that cannot be right.
    has anyone written to Hertz Italiana? If so do you have an address?
    Thanks,
    SB
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amyas martelli Mar 06, 2013

    Exactly the same happened to us with Hertz Italiana from their Fiumicino office in August 2012. In January 2013 we had 3 payments of 36.30 euros deducted from our credit card, which we know nothing about. We have complained to our credit card company, Lloydstsb, who have referred us back to Hertz. We have tried to contact them without success. This sort of thing is time-consuming and depressing beyond measure, and as the sums involved are relatively small we are inclined, like others, to let it go. No doubt they rely on this reaction to get away with it.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BeaHe Apr 29, 2013

    Hi,
    The same is happening to me now; I hired a car for 2 weeks in september 2012 paying was totally done by reservasionand now they remove € 42, 35 from my credit card extra on 24-4-13. I called my bank to do something about it; they are sending me a form to figth it.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joao F May 22, 2013

    I have the same problem, 4 months after the trip they are charging my credit card!!!

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tonemor Dec 11, 2013

    I thought I had the same problem... My credit card got charged 4-5 months after a trip to Tuscuny; same amount, 42 euros, was charged twice. As it turns out, after talking to Hertz in Norway (where I live), they could see that the fee was an administration fee (the bill is yet to come...) for driving in streets in Lucca and Siena. They could tell me the date and the time, which is accurate, and I remember us driving in to narrow streets, almost getting lost, and there where a lot of traffic signs that we unfortunately did not understand. So we have got billed for violating traffic regulation, unfortunately. I dont think we will rent a car in Italy again... I want to learn Italian first anyway!

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    yangjudong Mar 27, 2014

    same story! 42,7 euro。。。让人很纠结 还没去打电话 不过估计效果是一样的 das ist nicht gut!!! nach ca. 5 monaten zahle noch wieder. ohne vorherige kontakt. direkt von kreditkarte abgebucht.

    0 Votes
  • Sr
    Srecko Dec 04, 2014

    In Aug.2014 we rented car from Hertz in Spain. Fortunately did not pay by credit card. Four months after two invoices came with 40 euros each. The only explanation on them is administration fee. We contacted Hertz by e-mail provided on invoice asking for more details but they said they can not provide them. We contacted Hertz in Canada but have not received any response from them yet. Definitely will not rent a car from Hertz in Europe ever again.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    LeBlanc A. Mar 12, 2015

    I am having issues with Hertz Italiana as well!! I sent my parents to Florence on an all-inclusive paid surprise trip for their 50th Wedding Anniversary. I had already paid for the car on my card. My parents ended up having to stay an extra 3 days due to the Air France strike, this was September 2014. I had my Italian contact call Hertz to arrange the extra 3 days and they quoted us 70.12 Euros, no problem there. A month after my parents returned home to Canada, they had a charge on their credit card in the amount of $485.82 Canadian Dollars, much more than the 70.12 Euros we were quoted. I am still fighting them on this charge, 6 months after the fact and now my parents have received two more charged, one for 42.70 Euros and another for $262.02 Canadian Dollars. No authorization, no explanation. Hertz is scamming people and I will not put up with this!!!

    0 Votes
  • He
    HertzRomaSucks Apr 08, 2015

    We rented a car from Hertz in November 2014 and we got hit twice on the CC at around 40 EUR for the Hertz admin in December, once in Feb 2015, and again in March 2015. We called the CC company who is reversing the last two charges but is not helpful in preventing them in Hertz making the charges in the future. I would advise that you just cancel the CC

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ronnieba Dec 16, 2015

    We have the same problem. We rented a car from Hertz Roma. Everything was fine. Now they have charged us 3 times 45 € without any explanation. They still seem to use the same way of working as described above. Maybe they are cooperating with some local authority in order to make som more money

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    JimmySabbs Aug 30, 2017

    Hertz has no communication on this. If they are going to charge me, there should be prior communication. This is Fraud until proven otherwise

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris Pontikis Oct 25, 2017

    the same with me 31 euros 4 months after without an explanation . NEVER RENT FROM HERTZ AGAIN ...

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    miorgino Aug 14, 2018

    The charge of 36 euro is the cost that Hertz Italiana spend to invoice at the Police the customer informations when they take a fine (in general by camera or because people pass by the ZTL zone traffic limitated) So, be more curious
    to understand what's going on... Ask to the Hertz customer service employee at the desk, because in Italy the Police
    or the Vigili Urbani corps are very strict, in particular when you pass by ZTL, there is no escape for anyone.
    I agree whit all of you that spent 36 euro is humiliating but is the cost of the Italian burocracy.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jita Aug 23, 2018

    @miorgino I have just had the same, a charge of 30.50 Euro debited from my credit card 2 months after using a subsidiary of Hertz. I have no idea what this is about but possibly a traffic infringement in Pisa, but I can't be sure. Looking into it

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Jurgita Jur Jan 18, 2019

    @Jita Dear @miorgino. I have been charged the same amount twice in Italy from Hertz. Maybe, you were lucky to find out for what you've been charged. Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unsatisfied user888 Sep 19, 2018

    I am very doubtful of only police / admin charges from "Hertz Italiana Spa Roma" as I received 3 times a notification from my bank of 30.5 EUR charges on in june 2018 and 2 others in September 18 whereas the car was rented in Italy...in May.
    Anyway, with all the advertisement these company make, why is it not possible for them at least to send an automated e-mail informing of what they do, instead of making us all enquire.
    What a waste of time and absence of transparency.
    Hertz is going down in my esteem...

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harman Lin Jan 04, 2019

    Yes, similar to me, I rented October 2018 and returned on 7 Nov and everything clear and paid. And now in January 4 suddenly came with a EU 30.50 to my credit card. No information to my email and no receipt found in Hertz Account, what a mess! I have contacted through Hertz which seem to be USA Hertz head office. I wished they sort it out soonest, or otherwise, I will not rent from Hertz any more, any where in the world!!! I have not disputed to my bank with the credit card account.

    0 Votes
  • He
    HERTZscammers Jul 04, 2019

    @Harman Lin Hi same thing has happened to me.. I hired a car from Hertz on the 3rd JAN 2019 for 2 days. drove from Milan to Padova. 2 weeks ago on the June 23 2019, almost 6 months after the fact I receive an email from Hertz claiming I have over 5, 000 Euro in fines from Autostrada A4. This is surely a huge mistake on their part and I am sure Hertz has totalled all the fines that occurred with this car over the years and have sent them all to me. There is no way in hell I would have committed 5000 euro of fine in basically 2 days!! To top this off they have now charged my credit card 30.50 euro as well.. This is a massive scam by Hertz which appears from this blog to be going on for almost 10 years and probably longer...
    No wonder they are the cheapest car hire company in Italy initially until they sting you with the scam when you've arrived back home and there's not much you can do about it... TOTAL SCAMMERS HERTZ ITALIANA SPA ROMA

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harman Lin Jan 04, 2019

    Sorry, wrong typing, I have disputed to my bank right now.

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    llhill Jul 22, 2019

    It seems as if this is a scam. I rented the car from May 17 to May 20 from Rome to Pisa. I was charged correctly for these days on May 20th. I was then charged $34.49 four times (along with a foreign transaction fee of $1.03) erroneously on July 3. I have not received an email or any mail for that matter from Hertz Italiana Spa Roma IT. I called my credit card company to dispute these charges.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    flyingboozeman Jul 27, 2019

    I am just going to join the complaint bandwagon. I rented a car from FCO airport on 14th April and then dropped the car off in Florence on 15th. Basically rented the car for a night. I was charged the same amount that was on my receipt. Then in first week of July, I got a notification about a charge on my CC. Two charges for € 30.5 were made to my CC by Hertz Italiana Spa. A search for that charge led me here. It seems that this is a common practice by Hertz. Charging customers credit cards without any prior notice. Technically this is theft. I will dispute these charges with my CC company. Screw Hertz!

    0 Votes
  • 川島さん Sep 03, 2019

    I only use a virtual credit card to pay rental companies and cancel the card as soon as the transaction is completed, then I get a new card reissued in seconds free of charge.

    2 Votes
  • He
    HertzCustomer Oct 12, 2019

    I rented a car from Hertz in Rome Italy in August, 2 months later I get the charge of $33 out of nowhere. I did not have any tickets, and everything was paid off, including gas. It looks to me it is some kinda fraud from Hertz.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    T&A Feb 10, 2020

    The Hertz Italia scam is still going on, rented a car in Sicily in September 2019, got a charge of 30 Euros in January 2020 on my card from 'Hertz Italia Roma Spa' without any explanation. Disputed charge with my bank, cancelled the card, getting a new card issued as we speak. Must be Hertz, since this has not happened with any other car rental company in Europe and we do hire cars frequently.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem