The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Harley-Davidsontoo hot

Review updated:

I have a 2008 HD Ultra Glide. I received first degree burns on my thighs while sitting in traffic. Has any one else had problems with engine getting that hot to cause burns?

This new engine runs hot even when doing 60mph, but have not had any mechanical problems.

I think when a person purchases a vehicle it should be safe to drive without having to worry about getting burnt.

Are there any solutions to this problem?

Does anyone know of any class action law suites taking place because this type of injury or if HD is going to initiate a recall to prevent burns.

Responses

  • Ji
    Jimmie MCintyre Jun 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just bought 2011 HD Trike. After riding this bike for 40 miles, it feels like your leg is burning off. I've had other Harleys and never experienced this before. We went on vacation for 2 wks. and trip was cut short after getting 2nd degree burns on right leg and 1st degree burns on inside of upper crotch area on both legs. I spent the rest of the trip riding with a wet towel between my legs to ride on.
    Another friend of mine bought her trike on Saturday while we were on vacation and she too experienced the same thing after driving 40 miles. She had to pull off the road because she thought she was going to pass out. We will both be taking our trikes back to the dealership on Tuesday for them to fix this problem.
    JM-Eastern Shore HD Dealership

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bob G((((( May 13, 2010

    I have a 07 Ultraclasic and the first time in traffice I too burnt my theigh. The dealer did nothing. I did find some aftermarket heat deflecters. I have installed them and it is better or at least manageable.

    Maybe I shouldn't ride in the summer.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    BRIEN Sep 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I BOUGHT A 08 ULTRA. TOOK IT IN FOR THE 1000 MI CHECK UP. RAN THE BIKE 2500 MI AND CHECKED THE OIL. IT SHOWED IT WAS 8 OZ LOW. WENT TO THE DEALER AND SAID THAT WAS NORMAL. ALSO SAID THAT A QUART OF OIL I N 1000 MI WAS NORMAL. I NEED AN E-MAIL ADDRESS OR PHONE MO TO GET A HOLD OF SOMEONE THANK YOU

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dale Aug 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have another issue with HD. I own a 2006 Electraglide Standard. Bought it used with 5K on the odometer. Ran like a clock until 13K. I have this metal grinding noise similar to a coffee grinder grinding coffee on the right side of the engine. I've been living with this for the last 8K since no one at the dealer will lift a finger and truly investigate my problem. I finally found an independent HD certified mechanic who is pretty sure the trans bearings are shot or possibly cam tensioner bearings or cam chains, or the chain tensioners. All I know is that it's miserable to ride as the noise is constant above 35mph cold or hot. I'm getting desperate as my wife's Dyna makes the same noise. Any help is appreciated.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sueson Apr 18, 2019

    @Dale well I had my cam tensioners changed in November by licensed shop he left the old damn stock bearings in, it shattered, I am beyond pissed... the guy won't get back to me so I can even ask him a question. The cam tensioners need replaced every 30k or 40k is what zip was informed btw...an here this pos ruins my bike over a 25 dollar damn part...

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sueson Apr 18, 2019

    @Sueson sorry I was informed (not zip)

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bart taylor Aug 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ive got an 08 ultra and i agree..its to hot, , i wish someone could tell me a solution, , ive asked every tech i could find, , and all had different comments, , so i dont know what to do, , , please help, , thanks

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john whitledge Jul 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a 2008 Heritage softail and I'm with you. The dealer won't do anything. I just got off mine and decide to take some temperature readings of my own. The temperature sitting on top of the rear cylinder head is 297 deg and at the exhaust outlet is 597 deg. No wonder I'm burnt to a crisp...

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andrew Ranere Jul 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The dealer is not doing a god damn thing fyi...they told me it is because the EPA has required stricter emmissions and require that the bike runs extremely lean causing the pipes to be hotter than they ever have been before(they were hot before but bearable)Unless you have an 07 or 08 do not comment because the problem is serious!!!Do not buy a new 08 ultra!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kevin miller Jul 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    so what can i do to to decrease the heat my 2008 street glide puts out

    0 Votes
  • To
    tomax87 Jul 08, 2008

    The Dealership can correct this problem for you. Anyone that is into Harley's have known of this for sometime, where have you been?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.