H & R Blockh & r block is a nightmare!

1
H Review updated:

Paid for Peace of Mind Guarantee in 2003, H & R made error on my tax return, they actually admit it but deny my claim due to time constraints. Letter from IRS explaining problem did not reach me in timely manner due to multiple moves... IRS does not forward mail. Have filed an appeal... what a nightmare... H & R Block owes me over $1,300.00.

Responses

  • He
    Henry Simpson Apr 17, 2007

    H & R Block has done my taxes since I turned the taxable age of 18. Each and every year I purchase the "Peace Of Mind" guarantee. Well, this year my peace of mind was rudely disrupted. Since my tax preparer forgot to do one of my W2's I now owe the IRS a 100 dollars. You may say, is that all? Well, what happened to Peace Of Mind? Oh... That's right... It only covers keystroke errors and coffee stains from the ### who did my taxes to begin with. So, my point being, why did I pay this horrible company almost 500 dollars (RaL Loans, Fee's, what not) to get my money back? I paid the express RAL, to where you get your cash the same day. Well, I received a 1/4 of it and had to wait 2 days for the rest. That's not too express, so why was I still charged the express amount?

    This is for anyone who may live in the Ashland City Area of Tennessee. The HR Block on Hutton Place is totally unprofessional, and does not stick by their word. I also hope that god will have mercy on their scheming, knieving (spelling?) souls because I will never go there again. Rudeness is also in their policy. ###.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    Mcdonalds12 Feb 25, 2017

    @Henry Simpson That is too bad about the rudeness. The office here has very nice people. They really do want to help as much as possible, especially the receptionists.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Moran May 22, 2007

    We have been loyal customers to H&R Block for 12 years, & we've been buying the "peace of mind"(what a joke). We received a letter from IRS mid-March 07 for 05 taxes. I took it to H&R that day, & was told by manager "OH, this was our fault, don't worry, we'll have to pay it." 2 weeks later, I get a rude voicemail from her, claiming she's been trying to get ahold of us. (my phone is constantly transferred to my cell, I checked my bill, she never called once.) So I was told to pick up papers that day, (I thought they had taken care of it)so when I get there, she says the deadline is tomorrow, WE need to pay the almost 2,000.00 and they will reimburse us in 6-8 weeks. 9 or 10 weeks later we get a check in the mail for 147.00! this was the H&R Block in Yuma, AZ Foothills office. WE WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN!

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    john doe Dec 24, 2007

    100% agree!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jessica carnucci Jan 25, 2008

    H&R Block scam i went to h&r block on 1-23-08 they tell us about the rapid refund (what a joke). it sounded good and all getting the money back the same day.so they tell us we will see it in 1 or 2 days so 3 days go by and we call H&R block to see why we have no money yet so they tell us that our loan was denied the only way a loan can be denied is if you owe money wich i dont . so they give us a number wich is a recording telling us we have to wait 8 to 14 days so i called H&R Block and asked for my money back witch i paid for the rapid refund, they owe me 282.95 and i have yet to see it. NEVER GO TO H&R BLOCK !!!!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jay Jensen Jan 25, 2008

    We have gone to H and R block for the last 10 years and have had no issues...til this year! We went there in December to get the card that they give you early for Christmas gifts etc...they screwed that up at the time, denying mine and giving my husband one for 430 dollars that needs to be paid back at tax time..they told us our refund was going to be 1500 dollars etc. I got a denial in the mail as to why mine was denied, stating that I didnt use H and R block in the past....I have used them each and every year for the past ten years. I was upset so I called the 800 number, they told me I got denied because the girl that did my taxes messed it up and put us both under one social so it was denied because it was duplicated. I went to another h and r block office as we moved out of state and they told me I didnt qualify as neither one of us should have gotten it as we were only going to be getting 300 dollars back for a total return and it wouldnt cover the loan of the card that we got for 430.00. My husband was hot by this time, called the original office and they said, "oh well, too bad, its human error" . I thought that they are supposed to stand behind any errors that they make? Well, screw them, we are filing on our own with turbo tax ..why would we want to give all of our money to a bunch of crooks...we are never going back to H and R Block again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doug McBride Jan 29, 2008

    Well H & R Block forgot to file unemployment income on my taxes and the IRS sent me a letter saying I owed $937 with penalities. I tried to contact the local office filing the taxes during the summer and they were closed with no phone number to contact anyone (which they argue they had posted but did not). So the "Peace of MInd" was not filed in a timely manner (according to them even though they held in office for 2 months also).
    When I finally did catch them at the office they discovered the unemployment form (Form 1099 G - state tax form) in the file. The rep had not includeded it even though I gave to her on preparation.
    If you think H & R Block stands by their mistakes then you are wrong. And if this is "Peace of Mind" then I would rather lose sleep at night.
    I use Tax Cut and it is more accurate and is free to file federal taxes and only charge for state returns. They are fast and simple to use and hassle free.

    0 Votes
  • Ws
    wsi employee Feb 04, 2008

    Well, my sister went through H&R Blocks tax preparation course and passed with one of the best grades within her class. She completed the class in Arizona in December. All 1st year tax preparer's are not hired by H&R Block but by a staffing company. She has been in the field at 4 different branches within a district in hopes of getting 40 hours of work. Her phone calls to me daily are a nightmare and horrendous in regards to how all of the 1st year tax preparers are treated by the branch managers of H&R Block. All are atleast in their 60's!!! They are very unhappy people! They are rude to the "NEWBIES", tallk to them like they are children in school being scolded. They never seem to pay them the hard earned $ according to their time card and lets be real... at $10 per hour, surely they need every hour they are punched in for. Would be nice if this company would send out a Corporate HR person to speak to these individuals that pay to take the tax course only to be treated like DIRT!

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    Mcdonalds12 Feb 25, 2017

    @wsi employee The managers I have had are great! I am so sorry for her bad experience.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Victor Avidor Feb 17, 2008

    Oh Lord - I made a terrible mistake by going to those crooks too. I had computer problems at home, so I assumed I could fork over a few dollars for them to process my refund. A few dollars, eh? Try $460 in fees! I was thinking of suing them as they did not disclose any fees and I am disabled. They also prepared the return without my wife being there. Once they had performed the "service" how could we back out? Now I called to activate the debit card - when I enter a PIN the system does not recognize "security." An agent takes about 30 minutes to get a hold of and I found out they charge $1.50 per ATM transaction. (which of course they did not say anything about). Can a bunch of us get together and initiate yet another class action lawsuit? If I go arbitration, I cannot, but you guys sure can - and should. They are a bunch of no good crooks, period. What is disturbing is that they are engaged in all kinds of shenanigans which I believe will result in them being punished by the US Government, but for now they are showing a real contempt for operating with honesty or integrity.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tracey Feb 20, 2008

    My husband and I have gotten our taxes done through H & R Block for many years with no problems. This year we made the mistake of putting our refund in the emerald savings account. When we could finally access our money, my husband tried to transfer the money from the savings to checking(the debit card). The ATM wouldn't let him so I called the 800 number. The rep said to do a withdrawal directly from savings. Well the ATM wouldn't let us take out the full amount, so my husband figured we'd take out what we could and do another withdrawal the next day. So he went to the ATM today and tried to take out the balance of what should've been on the card (about $1500.) It said "Insufficient funds." so my husband called the 800 number and it tells him our balance is $490 some dollars!!! Where is the other thousand? Now I have been on hold for over an hour and am still waiting to talk to a live person!!!

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    MikeV Apr 02, 2008

    To Holly, the original poster - Penalty and Interest starts accumulating from the time of the due date of the return, even if the IRS does not discover the error until years later. The P & I does not stop accumulating until the taxes are paid. H&R Block has a financial interest in stopping the P & I as soon as possible since they are paying it. There HAS to be a time constraint, and if you are so hard for the IRS to get in contact with due to multiple moves, that is not the IRS's fault nor H&R Block's fault. The IRS has a specific change of address form (Form 8822), which would allow them to contact you promptly.

    Several of the other comments on here sound to me to be valid 'Peace of Mind' claims. To Doug McBride, you should take your complaint to a district manager as well as should Karen Moran. I have not known 'Peace of Mind' claims to take that long to process. To Henry Simpson, it was not apparent from your post whether the W-2 in question was brought in to the tax preparer. I've seen people 'forget' to bring in a W-2 or file early knowing that another W-2 still hasn't been received. A situation like this would not qualify for 'Peace of Mind', nor the standard guarantee as it was not an H&R Block error. Was it in the file, such as Doug McBride's unemployment form?

    The 'Peace of Mind' program includes more than mistakes from 'the ### who did my taxes'. It also includes possible computer bugs or application of tax theory. Karen Moran, if you did actually purchase the 'Peace of Mind' you should receive the full $2000.00 - not only P&I, but the original taxes too. The 'Peace of Mind' program would have cost you an additional $30 in fees. However, H&R Block's 'standard guarantee' which does not cost anything extra, only pays for the P&I, not the extra taxes. Maybe this is why you only got $147, or maybe they are splitting up the amount into multiple checks and you will get the rest in another check.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danielle Dymon Apr 04, 2008

    I had my taxes done this year for the first time with H&R Block. NEVER AGAIN.
    1 w-2 is all I had to be completed. No other paperwork or forms to complete. That's it. Had the money efiled and direct deposited. No problem. WRONG. I got my money from fed and state in 2 business days flat. Wow, I thought that's great. Not exactly. My deposited amounts didn't matchmy tax forms, so I took everything back in to get an explaination. My tax preparer, admitted that she made an error in the paper work and had applied me for the $29.95 RAC loan. She admitted that she thought it was necessary paperwork to have my refund direct deposited and that she, as the preparer, didn't know that she was applying me for a loan, but thought it was just more paperwork that had to be done so that my refund could be deposited. She admitted she made theeroor and that I never applied for the rapid loan. $29.95 is the fees for the loan, and I was told "to bad for you", I should have examined the paperwork a little closer before I signed it, to ensure what I was signing, was what I wanted. I didn't want this loan and the preparer admitted she didn't know it was a loan paper. So when was I suppose to ask about it and what was the preparers answer for it? The manager states that since the money has been recieved and no computer were committed in the calculations, I am out of luck. Never again, nor will I ever ask someone to go to H&R Block. Why is there no law regulations for consumer protection from these kinds of people?

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jenn Apr 18, 2008

    i completely agree with all these comments towards hr block. i feel they are a ripe off. ti spoke to someone at the irs and they said they were a ripe off to me. i went to them this year to get my taxes done. i was trying for that ral refund and was denied so i waited the over 15 days and called the irs they told me my check would be deposited the next day. next day no money. hr block put the wrong account information in there. i called irs and they said there was nothing they could do from there end and when i called hr block they told me not to worry that i would get a check from the irs in3-4 weeks. ahhhhh not what i 300 and something dollars for and when i called them they gave me an attitude and ask what i wanted them to do about it!!! they were very rude. i will be doing my own taxes this year and hr block can go bankrupt for all i care.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jenny Laguna Apr 25, 2008

    WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!! For some reason we thought we'd spare ourselves time versus doing it ourselves with taxonline.com (as we'd always done), and pay H&R Block to do it for us. Here's the result:
    - had to deal with someone who had NO idea of what they were doing
    - charged us $460 to do our federal and two state taxes
    - did not do our state taxes - sent them to another office, who then lost them, then refused to file and extension (even though we'd scheduled to do taxes the week prior to the deadline)
    - made us go through hell - we had to call & visit many offices to try and locate our paperwork (unsuccessfully) and we had to scramble to file our own extensions (California one sucks)
    - made us feel like idiots - giving away our money to waste our time and do (not do) a very sh*tty job.

    SAVE TIME AND MONEY - DO IT YOURSELF. DON'T TRUST THIS IRRESPONSIBLE COMPANY.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    joe Apr 30, 2008

    My 90 year father is very indepentent so he always goes and has the taxes done. He never wants me to go for him. This year i didnt make a fuss and he went but came back and could not tell me how much he was getting back... and NO hardcopies of the taxes. One red flag. since i do the bills i finally saw where the money was direct deposited... but it was... for state 48.00 and for federal 120.00. second red flag...because for the last 8 years he has got back at least a total of 1000.00. I called h & r... they said i could come and get a hard copy. If i do and i do the taxes over on turbotax and see they were wrong... will the irs listen to me???

    0 Votes
  • As
    ashley May 07, 2008

    I get my taxes done at h and r block every year. This year I did them online at h and r .com because my employer offerers a discount. Everything went fine... but i cannot get a copy of my 2007 taxes to save my life. I tried to login to my account its not there, I tried the local office i go to... they cant help me, i try to get someone to call me back for online help - i have to pay $30. So if anyone has a number... please i just want my taxes so i can fill out my.

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry Jul 03, 2008

    Just wanted to let you guys know H & R block messed up my taxes, they gave me back too much, when I only had 2 pieces of information to claim for income tax! How do u mess that up?... Now they are calling creditors since they claim I have to pay them the extra money back. I filed a reassessment to the government but I was rejected, with no explanation as to why...SCAMMERS!!!

    0 Votes
  • No
    not lazy Jul 14, 2008

    it sounds like a lot of you are either lazy or lazy. If you've been getting your taxes done at the same company for years, then you might need to pay more attention at the tax desk rather than throw your unorganized papers on a desk and ask them to be filed. If they were done correctly the year before continue to use that person. Common sense bring common results. H and R Block is one of the only few tax companies that will allow you to follow their imput on your return line for line. If you have errors then stop being lazy and be more accountable for your information. You wouldn't go to a military recruiting station and sign anything without reading it first. Then there are the ones who just sign anything and then want to complain about there own actions. If you didn't want those fees, when the tax preparer stoped at that screen you had an option to pay directly out your pocket options 1-2 or have your fees witheld from your refund. 5 different options. Now it shows 3-5 in bold letters it states how much the cost is. You can do it yourself, go to a place that provides free preparations, or pay h and r block but either way, you are responsible for ensuring your information was done correctly. Do they need to brush for you also? Grow up people and stop the madness.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David L Jul 21, 2008

    Company Address:
    2464 West Clay
    St Charles MI 63301

    Country:
    United States

    Company Phone
    636-947-1670

    Incident
    We used the services of H&R Block, Wentzville (falling under the St Charles, MO office) for our 2006 tax return. We purchased their Peace of Mind guarantee at the time. We were audited by the IRS for the tax return and it was revealed that H&R Block made substantial errors in the return totalling over $13, 840 which we were informed we now owed. When we filed in 2006 H&R we originally refunded by federal and state (California) authorities over $6, 300. So we now had to return not only the $6, 300+ we had been refunded but also an additional $7, 000+. We needed to pay the IRS $9, 712 - and we are told to expect, due to the errors, that the states of CA and MO will claim from us another additional $1, 900 when they are finished assessing the new filing. H&R Block admitted the very significant mistake (and in actual fact, in the process of determining the new, correct amount owed, discovered another basic but substantial error in their calculations and methods - while this resulted in less owed, it still underlines the fact that they made two very large errors). H&R Block honored the Peace of Mind guarantee by paying us (June 12, 2008) a check for $7, 330.47. This included their standard guarantee for penalty and interest ($2, 300, 47) plus the maximum allowed under the guarantee of $5, 000. In short, we still needed to pay $9, 712. H&R Block legal department has written to us (Regina Akers, Senior Paralegal) to inform us that they will not consider additional payments above and beyond what their Peace of Mind guarantee promises. Letter dated July 18, 2008. We believe this is unacceptable. Never in our wildest imagination, and I gather from discussions I have had with H&R Block representatives, that such substantial errors should ever be made by a professional tax prepare.

    Damage Resulting
    We are out of pocket to the tune of over $13, 000 when we cannot afford to pay.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Fuzi Aug 18, 2008

    I filed my 2007 income taxes at a H&R Block office in Surprise, AZ. on Feb. 16, 2008. I thought the emerald master card would be a better way to get my money. What a "BIG MISTAKE". I have yet to receive my refund for $244.00...even though it's not in the thousands it's still my money. I have called and faxed the District office located on Union Hills in Peoria, AZ. The distrcit manger Susanne Bernadalli has given me excuses after excuses. H&R Block has sent me to collections to a company called HSBC. HSBC told me they are collecting $395.04 from me for a loan I took out on Feb. 22, 2008 and had given me a master card number ending in different numbers from the one given to me from H&R Block. I have being trying to resolve this and have gotten nowhere. The latest excuse by Susanne (District Manager) is that she and her boss said, I took out a loan in San Francisco in 2006. That was not so...I received my full 2006 income tax refund directly from the IRS. I had no problems for 2006...or ever had any problems until this year. I called the IRS to locate my 2007 income taxes and they said they sent it to me in Feb. 26, 2008 direct depositing it into my bank account and to call the bank if I did not receive it. I have no bank accounts...what bank would I call...so I have been calling H&R Block along with their collection agency HSBC. NO HELP FROM EITHER ONE OF THEM. H&R BLOCK SHOULD BE ACCOUNTABLE AND HAVE A PERSON IN CHARGE FOR ALL Of ARIZONA OTHER THAN THEIR DISTRCIT OFFICES...DON'T TRUST H&R BLOCK in ARIZONA.

    2 Votes
  • Cj
    CJ Nov 29, 2008

    I agree with ALL of the above complaints. But I must say that our experience with H&R Block's bank or the "emerald card" has been even worse. Half hour waits on the phone are nothing, I have wasted much more time than that just to be hung-up on. I have been charged for these calls repeatedly. I have been lied to constantly. I have encountered the most extremely rude customer service people, "you are a rich American...who care if we steal hundreds of dollars from you..." They tell you to Fax them at bogus numbers, then say they didn't get it.
    I must tell you all that we do have a case. Class action or otherwise. The thing we need to do (as I am doing) is to get a save records of everything. All phone calls, length, time, date, person spoken to if possible (hang-ups happen here), fax verifications, letters written by anyone involved (INCLUDING the POST-MARKED ENVELOPE!), and any other evidence you might gather. Some of these things may seem unimportant, but if you need to sue they are the winning information. I have had to do this before but it has never gone to court. I have gone to arbitrators who have informed the company that I have proof that will gain me triple damages plus legal expenses within moments in court. At this point, the company will pay to keep it quiet. Happy Hunting!

    1 Votes
  • Cj
    CJ Nov 29, 2008

    I forgot to mention that when you are done collecting the information, you can send it to your congressional office along with a SIGNED letter explaining your problem and REQUESTING their HELP. This is a legal release that allows them to tackle the issue on your behalf. This is FREE and VERY EFFECTIVE. I be there Monday morning.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    linda Jan 21, 2009

    I am another example of how the peace of mind from HR block DOES NOT WORK. It is simply a BIG LIE! Paid for it when I did my taxes and got a letter from the IRS stating that I owed them more than $1000. It happened that it was H&R Block's error. More than six months passed and I never got my money back. The amazing part is that I spoke with every single staff at different offices, including the corporate office and every one of them avoided me and said your case is pending (FOR SIX MONTHS). They stated they will call me back every time and never did. It is very frsutrating when there is no one to talk to, or any answer about my case. They even ended up saying that I did not paid for peace of mind, but THANK GOD, I had a copy of the receipt. It is like they all knew I was just another costumer complaining about their well known trap of the peace of mind.
    Horrible experience.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sal Jan 21, 2009

    H and Dunb R BLock SUCK!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe corona Jan 26, 2009

    h&r block told me that i am getting my income tax in two to three days and a month later i have not recive nothing

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beki Jan 27, 2009

    I will never go to H&R block in Lander, WY again. Not only did they whiz through my return, but they did not ask me to look over the info before submitting it, because there were 5 other people waiting behind me and they wanted to just get it done quickly. Not only did they get my info wrong, but I'm out about $1, 000 minimum, and thanks to reassuring me I didn't need to read what I was signing, there isn't a damn thing i can do about it now. I called the IRS and they basically told me I'm SOL, the fault is on me.
    I strongly urge Lander, WY people to NOT go to this H&R block office. The people were rude, and very unprofessional and one lady even raised her voice at me when I voiced my concern. DON'T GO TO LANDER, WY H&R BLOCK FOLKS!!! YOU'LL GET SCREWED!!!
    ~Irate

    0 Votes
  • Re
    rere Jan 27, 2009

    ### hr block, i hope a few get robbed this year...

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    ex tax preparer Jan 28, 2009

    when you use h & r block if you do not like the fees that it costs to file your return then pick up your papers and walk our!! lazy ignorant people!! you owe them nothing if you are not satisfied with anything and are not obligate to file. if you need a copy of a tax return go to any block office and they can pull it from thier tax vault program. some offices charge you to get a second copy only because lots of ###s throw it away right after they walk out the door when everyone knows you should keep your return with you for 7 freakin years. like onther person commented before every thing they type in is right in front of your freaking face. maybe if people who live off of their earned income credit and don't want to work a real job cause they would lose the free stuff that they didn't earn, would bring 6 screaming brats that terrorize every employee in the office they might have enought sence to pay attention and listen to what is going on!!! If you would look at the screen for PEACE OF MIND it clearly states if they make an error, not if you forget this w-2 or you claim 15 kids and none of them are yours or when you flat out lie to the person doing your taxes. if also states that the plan is only good for 3 (THREE) years. they can't control what the irs does and that it took them to long to find errors. most errors are discovered the same tax year. ACCOUNTABLITY PEOPLE don't sign it if you don't read it. if you do 1 your stupid and 2 its your own damn fault for not reading it cause your stupid. i am sick to death with so many people in this country that it always someone elses fault and they are so freaking perfect...wrong your lazy and you have people who don't want to work and don't want to pay anything in and then ### when they dont get 8000 dollars back on their return cause they think the irs owes them something!!! when Obamha gets done with the tax laws you people will really have something to gripe about cause he is going to stop all refunds and you will only be able to get back what you actually over pay. h & r block is not the BANK, THE IRS, OR YOUR MOMMY so quit blaming them cause you are a loser

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lissa Feb 07, 2009

    For the ex tax preparer. You really need to find what in life would make you a happy person. First I am not lazy. I work 3 jobs, have two sons and I am in college. When Obama...not Obamha, completes his new tax laws, this has nothing to do with the injustice that H and R Block has done to hard working families. We have the right to receive what our government tells us we can receive. H and R Block screwed up my taxes and now the IRS wants 4300.00. I followed all of the rules, I paid for my preperation and I purchased their Peace of Mind insurance. At my cost. I turned in 5...look 5. I must be lazy. 5 W2's. The employee at H and R Block requested that she do my taxes after hours so she could shovel in more victems, and call me with my return amount the next day. I agreed. Did she ask me how I filed the year before? Would I need to have paid someone over three hundred dollars if I new the answers? No. She only put 3 W2's on my return. And did not claim my return from the following year. Because like I said before, she wanted to shovel in more clients. Now when I received and returned my audit form to H and R Block they lost it. For 3 weeks no one looked at my audit because they misplaced it. FUNNY... But I did not turn in my W2's. It is not our fault, we are not losers and as a matter of fact, be very careful who you blame. What is wrong with this country is people like you sticking their nose where it does not belong. Trying to make people feel like less then they are because misary loves company and you are probally worse company then the 6 BRATS that a wonderful single mother brought into the office. Oh and for those of us that you are calling stupid, it is ok. We do not mind. Afterall it is the opinion of someone who does not approve the 8000 thousand dollar refund... Have a good day...

    Sincerely,

    Lissa

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shalove Feb 13, 2009

    Is there anyway one could file a law suit against H&R Block for having their employees provide false information? The guy that did my taxes CLEARLY said i will not be charged for paying bills using my Emerald card, that's funny, being that i am being charged $1.95 per use for withdrawing and over the phone payments. The Atm i used had no money and they still charged me for using that ATM. H&R Block has taught me a valuable lesson, LEARN TO DO MY OWN TAXES!!!

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    YouToo Feb 14, 2009

    what no one knows because this is never stated is Block does no checking on these Tax Pros they paid to "learn" and then they are hired with no reference check, no background check, no training, that pro you ahd do your taxes knew nothing more than you about taxes they use computer software to do taxes they punch in numbers nothing more, then sell you product which is a joke, use the free online software or pay a CPA, Block is never worth the money!

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    Mcdonalds12 Feb 25, 2017

    @YouToo That is not true. Background checks are done.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnnieq Feb 26, 2009

    I had use H & R Block for the last three years. And last year they had over charged me 120.oo because they had done a long form on me, even though I did't have a business last year.This year I used them again. I went to the one inside wal-mart on the east side of odessa, because I thought it didn't matter. The manager was the one that had done my taxes. I realized that something was wrong so I tried talking to her, and she said that she didn't make a mistake and if I wanted to fix it there was going to be a 90.00 chardge. So, I took it back to the people that had done my taxes last year. They ammended it and they said that was owed 50. for charges and 279.00 because she put the amounts on the wrong lines. And they had also told me that the manager that done it the first time didn't even know what she was doing and because they said that they are hard on finding people to work for them and anyone can do it with their 8 week course.."THAT SHOULD MAKE PEOPLE WONDER WHO IS DOING THEIR TAXES" !!!After all of that they had said that 279.00 will get to me in 6 to 8 weeks. and the 50.00 will be sent to me in 8 to 15 days. It's been a month... Also I find out that they made mistakes on the ammended one as well... so I had the IRS Fix it and they found aditional 1, 114.00 on my taxes. and that will also take another 8 to 12 weeks before I get that amount... AND THEY ALSO CHARGED ME AGAIN FOR A LONG FORM... SO I WILL NEVER GO TO THEM AGAIN...AND IM GOING TO MAKE SURE EVERBODY WILL KNOW WHAT KIND OF CROOKS H&R BLOCK IS ON MY WEB PAGE...SO IF YOU HAVE COMPLAINTS YOU CAN EMAIL ME AT [email protected] and I will post it to tagged and myspace page. so everbody can see it...

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bob Mar 07, 2009

    H & R Block charged me $554.00 to do taxes that took my previous accountant (now moved out of State) 1 hour to do, out the door. I am a very good bookeeper and am informed before going to the preparer, but like to have other's coomplete my taxes because they supposedly "know the tax program".

    My previous accountant / tax preparer charged $100 / hour. Asking H & R block up front of what cost should be they can not give you an answer other than "after we put everything in then we will know". Of Course, at the end of session you can choose not to have prepared document submitted. What a crock! My wife and I spent nearly 2 hours with the preparer that had to make numerous phone calls to another office because she could not figure how depreciation and rental housing went into their system. This from a 5 year H & R Block Vetran! After, spending 2 hours with this office in Midland, Michigan, wasting time with incompetance and coached the preparer along in their own program to complete. I was ready to leave. Questioning the fee of $542.00 I was shocked. I tried negotiating with office manager and was advised to contact the District Manager about the unfairness of the charge. All I got was lip service. Figuring we already put too much time into the 2008 returns we paid and got out. After settling a bit, I called corporate business office in Kansas made a formal complaint with no response back. Of course I called to check status 3 or 4 times and get "I will upgrade your complaint status to priority, you should here back from somebody in a couple of days". It would have been satisfied with paying up to $250.00 - but, not happy.

    The peace of mind I agree that is a scam. That only does cover their mistakes in calculations. Not entry errors or your errors.

    I will never use this rip off service again. A matter of fact I might even apply for a job at H & R Block. Side note! My family owns a dairy farm and has very complicated taxes. They go to a privatley owned H & R Block and were charged $380.00. Wow... most Lawyers charge $200 / hour.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuck Mar 25, 2009

    H&R Block WHAT A JOKE!!! For 15 minutes of typing 2 W-2's and a mortgage statement, the lady says it will cost $412 to file my taxes!!! WTF?!?!? That kind of money is like 5% of my annual income! They try and make it sound like you have to pay after they've done all their "work" but I told them no freakin way. They did however tell me that I had to pay a $29 consulting fee. Horrible horrible horrible.

    Also try typing in "H&R Block scam" into Google and see how their PR department has set up a webpage warning about scams so their website will be the top search after people get ripped off! H&R BLOCK YOU ARE A SCAM! Nice try but try erasing all the other results that talk about your scam!

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    Cyd Blytz Apr 21, 2009

    We just filed a week ago paid about 300.00 for a 2 day anticipation loan got denied the loan they did not contact us THEY CLOSED THEIR OFFICE FOR A WEEK! We were not given a # to contact, and when you finnaly get some one they act like your bothering them. We will never use Block again they have found a way to sccam more money out of the tax payer . I think I'll just go back to doing my own taxes; and forget block

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MIchael Taylor May 09, 2009

    We filled our 2007 tax return in year 2008. H&R Block in Memphis Tn made a error on the tax return of 1001 dollars. Then when we went and filled our 2008 tax return in the year 2009, we found out that they made another error on our tax return for the year 2007 that was my wife's social security Disability which my wife asked the person who done our taxes at H&R BLock five times whether the disability had to be claimed on our tax and they told us no because we were not married long enough(we were married only three months at that time). Now we have to pay another $315 to the IRS. When it all came down to it, we had to pay the IRS with penalty and late charges $1560. Before the local H&R Block office closed in Memphis, the office superviser tole us in late march, she claimed the peace of mind program claim to get us our money. Then when the store closed in April, there was no claim to be found. So we talked to another one of their stores that was open all year round that would not take care of the problem. So my wife called the 1-800 number, when contacted the district manager top refile the peace of mind claim which was joke. After all the time my wife spent on the phone with H&R Block with her disabilities and her being stressed out, they told us that it was their fault both times. So get this, they only want to give us $16 in penalty and late charges for both claims. I they admit their fault and wanted to pay penalty and late charges. Why can't they pay for the whole thing????

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rivett May 09, 2009

    DO YOUR OWN TAXES!!! These companies hire dipshits. If you want to pay someone, go find a reputable CPA. Don't go to a "chain" store to do your taxes you dummies.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    MIchael Taylor May 09, 2009

    That's why people use H&R Block and other tax chains because they are supposed to know because they are supposed to know what they are doing. I mean that that's what they get paid to do taxes. smartass

    1 Votes
  • Re
    rebootd Apr 16, 2010

    I have been using H&R Block for about six years, and until now merely thought them expensive. Now, I will never use H&R Block again, and specifically because of a Shelton, CT representative named Lisa Dias. The reps there asked us to drive back to their office 6 times over the course of three days, in each instance begging us for more time. The last day was April 15th, deadline day, and included four visits by us, beginning at 11 am and not finishing until almost 10 PM. The H&R Block reps gave us wildly different numbers on our tax return each time we went, varying by as much as $2000. The first rep we spoke to, Lisa Dias, was (besides being dressed to go night-clubbing) demonstrably and quite obviously incompetent; repeatedly asking other reps to help her understand what she was doing. When we questioned the numbers, she became defensive and sharply commented that we should defer to her opinion. The second and third reps who worked on our not-that-complicated return were less offensive, but again gave us different numbers with very little technical explanation of our questions. Needless to say, we are totally without confidence in the accuracy of our tax return this year, and we will be paying more money for a private, real tax accountant to check and amend it. To add insult to this frustration, when I privately (to my spouse in the cubicle), after this marathon ordeal at about 9 PM on April 15th, expressed my opinion of their incompetence, Lisa Dias stood up from across the room and began verbally berating us, yelling that she was a professional and that she wasn't going to take comments like that from us. Her manager and other reps had to pull her away. No one apologized to us. If I were managing this site, Lisa would have been fired on the spot. This is the most unprofessional company I have ever done business with. They clearly hire unqualified people off the street, there is very little supervision or quality control, and we ended up with a tax return that is likely late (the post office doors were closed by the time H&R Block was done with this nonsense) and likely incorrect. I have filed a complaint with the FTC as well, and my spouse pointed out that now there is a deranged woman out there with all of our personal information in her possession. H&R Block offered no assurances or apologies. The other reps in the room simply avoided eye contact with us after her ravings. We paid $213 for this experience, plus lost wages for the day my spouse had to take off of work, plus gasoline for the two-hour drive I had to make because of them. I don't know yet how much it will cost for us to pay an accountant to fix our return.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MoonCat13 Jun 01, 2010

    "Peace of Mind" only covers your return for 3 years. And it's YOUR responsibility to inform the IRS of an adress change every time you move. Don't be blaming others for your own oversight!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    susan2004 Jun 09, 2010

    we had our 2008 taxes done at hr office in mesa their corporate office andtheir preparer did not add my wifes 2 w2s we recived letter from irs saying we owe them 1566.00 we called since we did purchase the aggrement and recived a check for 69.00 i have been using these people since 89 and will never return to them we have filed with the bbb and are trying to get this out to all the news channels and arizona republic and looks like we will also have to be getting an attorny to help with the matter

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem